DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3 and 6-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20040162465 A1 to Carrillio.
Regarding Claim 1, Carrillio discloses a medical device comprising inter alia:
a body (192) defining an opening through which a wire is extendible (space within 192, FIG. 12);
an upper wire guiding portion (labeled “upper” in annotated FIG. 12) having a first surface (surface labeled “1st” surface of “upper” portion that forms part of slot 304 in annotated FIG. 12) and a second surface opposite to the first surface (surface labeled “2nd” surface of “upper” portion in annotated FIG. 12);
a lower wire guiding portion (labeled “lower” in annotated FIG. 12) coupled with the body (via 208), the lower wire guiding portion having a first surface (surface labeled “1st” surface of “lower” portion in annotated FIG. 12) and a second surface opposite the lower wire guiding portion first surface (surface labeled “2nd” surface of “lower” portion that forms part of slot 304 in annotated FIG. 12), wherein the lower wire guiding portion first surface faces the upper wire guiding portion second surface (the “1st” surface of the “lower” portion faces in the generally direction of the “2nd” surface of the “upper” portion”);
a plurality of wire locking features, wherein a first wire locking feature of the plurality of locking features is disposed on the upper wire guiding portion second surface and a second wire locking feature of the plurality of locking features is disposed on the lower wire guiding portion second surface (the locking features in both the upper and lower portions, are located in and formed by both the 1st and 2nd surfaces of both the upper and lower portions); and
a wire contacting feature (250) extending from the upper wire guiding portion second surface toward the lower wire guiding portion first surface (250 extends from the 2nd surface of the upper portion generally in the direction of and “towards” the first surface of the lower portion), the wire contacting feature configured to contact the wire to bias the wire toward the upper wire guiding portion second surface (see FIG. 12).
Regarding Claim 2, Carrillio discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of wire locking features is configured to provide an audible or haptic indication in response to a guidewire being placed in contact therewith during insertion of the wire (the locking features are surfaces are capable of being an audible noise when a guidewire is tapped against the locking features).
Regarding Claim 3, Carrillio discloses wherein each of the plurality of wire locking features includes a slot that is aligned with an axis and a well, wherein the slot includes a tapered wall that extends towards the axis and the well (see below in annotated FIG. 12).
Regarding Claims 6 and 7, Carrillio discloses wherein a channel is defined between the upper wire guiding portion and the lower wire guiding portion, wherein the channel extends along a center axis that is substantially perpendicular to a center axis that the opening extends along (see horizontal axis of the “channel” that is perpendicular to vertical center axis of opening in 192 in annotated FIG. 12).
Regarding Claim 8, Carrillio discloses wherein the medical device comprises a cap through which the wire is extendible (cap on top of 192, FIG. 12).
Regarding Claim 9, Carrillio discloses wherein the cap comprises an opening (opening in cap on top of 192) and the body comprises a barb that is configured to engage the cap opening to connect the cap and the body (arced connector that attaches 192 to cap, FIG. 12).
Regarding Claim 10, Carrillio discloses wherein the plurality of wire locking features are arranged where two of the plurality of wire locking features are at the upper wire guiding portion and one of the plurality of wire locking features is at the lower wire guiding portion (there are a total of 4 wire locking features, 2 at each of the upper and lower guiding portions).
Regarding Claim 11, Carrillio discloses a medical device comprising inter alia:
a body (192) defining an opening through which a wire is extendible (space within 192, FIG. 12);
a wire guiding portion having an upper portion (labeled “upper” in annotated FIG. 12) and a lower portion (labeled “lower” in annotated FIG. 12), the wire guiding portion being coupled with the body (via 208), the wire guiding portion configured to guide the wire along an axis (see guidewires being guided by wire guiding portions in FIG. 12);
at least two wire locking features configured to hook the wire at the wire guiding portion (labeled above in annotated FIG. 12), the at least two wire locking features each comprising a slot extending in opposite direction along a slot axis substantially perpendicular to the axis (see horizontal axis of “channel” that is perpendicular to vertical axis of opening in 192 in annotated FIG. 12);
and
a wire contacting feature (250) extending from the wire guiding upper portion toward the wire guiding lower portion (250 extends from the 2nd surface of the upper portion generally in the direction of and “towards” the first surface of the lower portion), the wire contacting feature configured to contact the wire to bias the wire toward the wire guiding portion (see FIG. 12).
Regarding Claim 12, Carrillio discloses wherein the at least two wire locking features each comprise a well and the slot includes a tapered wall that extends towards the slot axis and the well (see below in annotated FIG. 12).
Regarding Claim 13, Carrillio discloses wherein at least one of the at least two wire locking features is configured to provide a tactile feedback of the wire being engaged in each of the at least two wire locking features (the locking features are surfaces are capable of being an audible noise when a guidewire is tapped against the locking features).
Regarding Claim 14, Carillio discloses where the wire guiding upper portion has a first surface (surface labeled “1st” surface of “upper” portion that forms part of slot 304 in annotated FIG. 12) and a second surface opposite the first surface (surface labeled “2nd” surface of “upper” portion in annotated FIG. 12) and the wire guiding lower portion is coupled with the body (via 208), the wire guiding lower portion having a first surface (surface labeled “1st” surface of “lower” portion in annotated FIG. 12) and a second surface (surface labeled “2nd” surface of “lower” portion that forms part of slot 304 in annotated FIG. 12 opposite to the wire guiding lower portion first surface, where the wire guiding lower portion first surface faces the wire guiding upper portion second surface (the “1st” surface of the “lower” portion faces in the generally direction of the “2nd” surface of the “upper” portion”).
Regarding Claim 15, Carrillo discloses wherein a first of the at least two wire locking features is disposed at the wire guiding upper portion and a second of the at least two wire locking features is disposed on the wire guiding lower portion (there are a total of 4 wire locking features, 2 at each of the upper and lower guiding portions).
Regarding Claim 16, Carrillo discloses the medical device of claim 15, wherein the first of the at least two wire locking features is disposed at the wire guiding upper portion second surface and the second of the at least two wire locking features is disposed on the wire guiding lower portion second surface (the locking features in both the upper and lower portions, are located in and formed by both the 1st and 2nd surfaces of both the upper and lower portions).
Regarding Claim 17, Carrillio discloses a wire guide for guiding a wire, the wire guide comprising inter alia:
an upper wire guiding portion (labeled “upper” in annotated FIG. 12) and a having a first surface (surface labeled “1st” surface of “upper” portion that forms part of slot 304 in annotated FIG. 12) and a second surface opposite to the first surface (surface labeled “2nd” surface of “upper” portion in annotated FIG. 12);
a lower wire guiding portion (labeled “lower” in annotated FIG. 12) opposite the upper wire guiding portion, the lower wire guiding portion having a first surface (surface labeled “1st” surface of “lower” portion in annotated FIG. 12) and a second surface (surface labeled “2nd” surface of “lower” portion that forms part of slot 304 in annotated FIG. 12) opposite the lower wire guiding portion first surface, wherein the lower wire guiding portion first faces the upper wire guiding portion second surface (the “1st” surface of the “lower” portion faces in the generally direction of the “2nd” surface of the “upper” portion”);
a plurality of wire locking features, wherein a first wire locking feature of the plurality of locking features is disposed on the upper wire guiding portion second surface and a second wire locking feature of the plurality of locking features is disposed on the lower wire guiding portion second surface (the locking features in both the upper and lower portions, are located in and formed by both the 1st and 2nd surfaces of both the upper and lower portions); and
a wire contacting feature (250) extending from the upper wire guiding portion second surface toward the lower wire guiding portion first surface (250 extends from the 2nd surface of the upper portion generally in the direction of and “towards” the first surface of the lower portion), the wire contacting feature configured to contact the wire to bias the wire toward the upper wire guiding portion second surface (see FIG. 12).
Regarding Claim 18, Carrillio discloses wherein each of the plurality of wire locking features includes a slot that is aligned with an axis and a well, wherein the slot includes a tapered wall that extends towards the axis and the well (see below in annotated FIG. 12).
Regarding Claim 19, Carrillio discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of wire locking features is configured to provide an audible or haptic indication in response to a guidewire being placed in contact therewith during insertion of the wire (the locking features are surfaces are capable of being an audible noise when a guidewire is tapped against the locking features).
Regarding Claim 20, Carrillio discloses wherein a first of the plurality of wire locking features is disposed at the upper wire guiding portion and a second of the plurality of wire locking features is disposed on the lower guiding portion (there are a total of 4 wire locking features, 2 at each of the upper and lower guiding portions).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN P DOUGHERTY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791