DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-19 in the reply filed on 8/13/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/13/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: the acronym CBD should be fully defined the first time it is used to ensure clarity. In claim 12, Ziplock should use lowercase Z. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent No 6,280,783 (BLASCHKE).
BASCHKE teaches a pre-mixed dough (col. 2, line 66 to col. 3, line 10). Whether the pre-mixed dough is from a pet treat recipe or for a human is an intended use that does not result in a structural difference of the dough.
The product is packaged (col. 10, lines 22-30).
The pre-mix dough is pre-cut in shapes (col. 3, lines 30-40).
The dough can be in a plurality of pieces (see Fig. 1).
Given the dough is in a plurality of pieces, the dough can be baked without needing to mix ingredients.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent No 6,280,783 (BLASCHKE) in view Agha, Eva, Peanut Butter Pumpkin Dog Treats, The Curious Chickpea, accessed at https://www.thecuriouschickpea.com/peanut-butter-pumpkin-dog-treats/#mv-creation-335-jtr; 10/19/2021 (AGHA).
As to claim 2, BASCHKE teaches a pre-mixed dough (col. 2, line 66 to col. 3, line 10).
The product is packaged (col. 10, lines 22-30).
The pre-mix dough is pre-cut in shapes (col. 3, lines 30-40).
The dough can be in a plurality of pieces (see Fig. 1).
BLASCHKE does teach the addition of egg, flour, salt and water (see Table 11) .
BLASCHKE is silent as to the additional claimed ingredients such as peanut butter, canned pumpkin and cinnamon.
AGHA teaches making dog treats with oat and almond flour, flaxseed, cinnamon, salt, peanut butter and canned pumpkin puree (see Ingredients, pg. 19/27). Peanut butter and pumpkin puree naturally contain water. Indeed, on page 6 the peanut butter and pumpkin are referenced as wet ingredients. The shape of the treats are bones. At pg. 19 the treats are shown as being well rated (i.e., 4/7/5.0) and characterized as a healthy, delicious treat on pg. 1.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the recipe of AGHA in BLASCHKE, as AGHA teaches the recipe is directed to a healthy, delicious treat.
The applicant is also respectfully reminded that while food items are patentable, the culinary creativity of chefs is not the type of creativity which meets the standards for patentability. See General Mills v. Pillsbury Co.,378 F.2d 666 (8th Cir.1967) (first commercially successful one step mix for angel food cakes is not patentable because of nonobviousness standard since alleged invention is only the exact proportion of an already known leavening agent). In this regard, courts have taken the position that new recipes or formulas for cooking food which involve the addition or elimination of common ingredients, or for treating them in ways which differ from the former practice, do not amount to invention merely because it is not disclosed that, in the constantly developing art of preparing food, no one else ever did the particular thing upon which the applicant asserts his right to a patent. In re Levin, 178 F.2d 945, 948 (C.C.P.A.1949) (butter substitute not patentable).
As to claim 3, BLASHKE is silent as to a treat with peanut butter, and cinnamon
ASGHA teaches that 192 g flour (i.e., oat and flour), 128g peanut butter, 130g canned pumpkin, 1 tsp flaxseed (3.2 g), a pinch of salt (i.e., 0.5g) and ½ tsp cinnamon (0.7 g). This is approximately 454.4 g (see Ingredients). This is flour in an amount of about 42%, peanut butter is in amount of about 28%, and canned pumpkin in an amount of about 29%, The salt is in amount of about 0.1 % and ground cinnamon is an amount of about 0.15%. Water is optional, as claimed.
However, it would have bene obvious to vary the ingredients of the ASGHA recipe based on the desired taste.
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BASCHKE and ASGHA, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0091144 (MCGARRAH)
The references above are silent as to adding CBD.
However, MCGARRAH teaches that the addition of CBD provides health benefits such as reducing inflammation [0005].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled to add CBD to the product of the reference above, as CBD has health benefits such as reducing inflammation.
As to clam 5, BLASCHKE teaches forming the dough in squares (see Figure 3).
As to claims 6-8, BASCHKE teaches a product packaged (col. 10, lines 22-30) in a block with score/pre-cut grooves (see Figure 3 and col. 2, lines 15-25).
At col. 8, lines 1-2, designs or images can be used (i.e., a plurality of indicia)
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BASCHKE, ASGHA, and MCGARRAH as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No 2013/0202750 (RADLEY).
As to claim 9, BASHCKE teaches that packaging but does not teach a baking tray (col. 3, lines 35-40).
The references above do not teach a disposable, microwavable and oven safe tray.
However, RADLEY provides the consumer with a product that requires only a minimum of manipulation, clean up and expense by the consumer [0037]. It is suitable for a conventional oven or microwave oven [0039]. The term “baking tray” refers to a flat receptacle used for supporting a product to be baked in the oven. The baking tray may have a raised edge or rim, or may be flat without a raised edge or rim. The baking tray may be a single layer, or multiple layers [0040]. The tray is disposable [0037].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art use the tray of RADLEY in the references above, requiring a minimum of manipulation, clean up and expense by the consumer.
As to claim 10, BASCHKE teaches that the dough products can be wrapped. The wrapping would naturally protect the dough form air and moisture (col. 10, lines 25-30).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BASCHKE, ASGHA, MCGARRAH and RADLEY as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0217610 (KOWALEWSKI).
The references above are silent as to using a ziplock mechanism.
However, KOWALEWSKI teaches adding a zip lock mechanism so that packaging can be resealed [0038].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled to add a ziplock mechanism to the product of the references above, as KOWALEWSKI teaches that this allows the package to be sealed and resealed.
Claims 13-15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent No 6,280,783 (BLASCHKE) in view Agha, Eva, Peanut Butter Pumpkin Dog Treats, The Curious Chickpea, accessed at https://www.thecuriouschickpea.com/peanut-butter-pumpkin-dog-treats/#mv-creation-335-jtr; 10/19/2021 (AGHA) and United States Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0202750 (RADLEY).
As to claim 13, BASCHKE teaches a pre-mixed dough (col. 2, line 66 to col. 3, line 10).
The product is packaged (col. 10, lines 22-30).
The pre-mix dough is pre-cut in shapes (col. 3, lines 30-40).
The dough can be in a plurality of pieces (see Fig. 1).
Given the dough is in a plurality of pieces, the dough can be baked without needing to mix ingredients.
BLASCHKE is silent as to adding pumpkin, peanut butter, and other ingredients.
AGHA teaches making dog treats with oat and almond flour, flaxseed, cinnamon, salt, peanut butter and canned pumpkin puree (see Ingredients, pg. 19/27). Peanut butter and pumpkin puree naturally contain water. Indeed, on page 6 the peanut butter and pumpkin are referenced as wet ingredients. The shape of the treats are bones. At pg. 19 the treats are shown as being well rated (i.e., 4/7/5.0) and characterized as a healthy, delicious treat on pg. 1.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the to use the recipe of AGHA in BLASCHKE, as AGHA teaches the recipe is directed a healthy, delicious treat.
BASHCKE teaches that packaging can include a baking tray (col. 3, lines 35-40).
BASCHKE teaches that the dough products can be wrapped. The wrapping would naturally protect the dough form air and moisture (col. 10, lines 25-30).
The references above do not teach a disposable, microwavable and oven safe tray.
However, RADLEY provides the consumer with a product that requires only a minimum of manipulation, clean up and expense by the consumer [0037]. It is suitable for a conventional oven or microwave oven [0039]. The term “baking tray” refers to a flat receptacle used for supporting a product to be baked in the oven.
As to claims 14 and 15, the references above do not teach a disposable, microwavable and oven (pg. 9, lines 1-5) safe tray.
However, as noted above, RADLEY provides the consumer with a product that requires only a minimum of manipulation, clean up and expense by the consumer. The baking tray may have a raised edge or rim, or may be flat without a raised edge or rim. The baking tray may be a single layer, or multiple layers [0040]. The tray is disposable [0037].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art use the tray of RADLEY in the references above, a minimum of manipulation, clean up and expense by the consumer.
As to claim 17, BASCHKE teaches a pre-mixed dough (col. 2, line 66 to col. 3, line 10).
The product is packaged (col. 10, lines 22-30).
The pre-mix dough is pre-cut in shapes (col. 3, lines 30-40).
The dough can be in a plurality of pieces (see Fig. 1).
At col. 3, lines 5-10, the product is in a block shape that can include grooves (co. 5, lines 45-50). At col. 8, lines 1-2, designs or images can be used.
As to claim 19, BLASHKE is silent as to adding pumpkin, cinnamon and peanut butter.
ASGHA teaches that 192 g flour (i.e., oat and flour), 128g peanut butter, 130g canned pumpkin, 1 tsp flaxseed (3.2 g), a pinch of salt (i.e., 0.5g) and ½ tsp cinnamon (0.7 g). This is approximately 454.4 g (see Ingredients). This is flour in an amount of about 42%, peanut butter is in amount of about 28%, and canned pumpkin in an amount of about 29%, The salt is in amount of about 0.1 % and ground cinnamon is an amount of about 0.15%. Water is optional, as claimed.
However, it would have bene obvious to vary the ingredients of the ASGHA recipe based on the desired taste.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BASCHKE, ASGHA, RADLEY as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0217610 (KOWALEWSKI).
The references above are silent as to using a ziplock mechanism.
However, KOWALEWSKI teaches adding a zip lock mechanism so that packaging can be resealed [0038].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled to add a ziplock mechanism to the product of the references above, as KOWALEWSKI teaches that this allows the package to be sealed and resealed.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BASCHKE, ASGHA, and RADLEY and as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0091144 (MCGARRAH).
The references above are silent as to adding CBD.
However, MCGARRAH teaches that the addition of CBD provides health benefits such as reducing inflammation [0005].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled to add CBD to the product of the references above, as CBD has health benefits such as reducing inflammation.
Relevant Art Not Relied Upon
WO2016207587 – teaches a disposable oven safe tray.
Conclusion
/PHILIP A DUBOIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791