DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 9-10 that modifying Mace with the structure of Nikittin would remove compact airway adapter as desired in Mace, as there would no longer be an emission of radiation across the flow passage.
Examiner’s position is that the teachings of Nikittin that are used are not to place both the light source and detector on the same side of the gas chamber. Rather, the teachings of Nikittin used are directed to replacing elements that exist in Mace with elements of Nikittin, in order to improve the invention of Mace.
Mace Figure 6 shows an optical axis that starts with light source 252, goes through window 40, the gas chamber, window 42 to detector 254.
A modified Nikittin Figure 3 below shows an optical axis that starts at light source 306 and goes through the gas chamber to detector 308. The presence of a mirror in the gas chamber does not alter the sequence of these elements along the axis the light travels, and it is this order that the examiner uses to correlate the invention of Nikittin with the invention of Mace.
As the sequence of elements along the optical axis is deemed to be equivalent, examiner’s position is that it would be obvious to add Nikittin’s mirror arrangement 312 and light guiding element 314 to the invention of Mace, in the regions of the lens next to Mace’s element 252 and that thin rectangle next to detector 254, respectively, to gain the stated benefits.
While the Figures show the elements of Nikittin as larger than the elements of Mace, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2145(III). In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to use the elements of Nikitin in the invention of Mace, in order to improve the light transmission through the gas and to the detector.
Applicant argues on page 9 that Nikittin teaches to modify Mace by providing a light source and detector on the same side of a gas cell, changing the operating principles of Mace.
Examiner’s position is that in the Office Action dated 3/4/26, the teachings of Nikittin brought to the invention of Mace are: paragraph 20 refers to having the radiation source comprise a mirror and a light source, paragraph 22 refers to the mirror arrangement being located between the light source and the gas sample, paragraph 23 refers to the location of a light guide relative to the mirror and the gas sample, paragraph 24 refers to the location of the light guide and the gas sample being between the mirror and the detector, paragraph 25 refers to a control unit and data analysis, and paragraph 26 refers to having the light guide next to the detector and window. None of these teachings require the arrangement of Nikittin Figure 3 with the light source and detector on the same side of the gas sample.
Applicant argues on pages 10-11 that the references do not teach a gas cuvette that is located between a light guiding element and a mirror element, and Nikittin cannot be used to teach this deficiency as the Office Action admits Nikittin does not teach this (paragraph 8).
Examiner’s position is that paragraph 8 acknowledges that the physical location of elements shown in Nikittin is different from that of Mace, that is, Nikittin Figure 3 shows the light source, mirror, guiding element and detector are all on the same side of the gas chamber while Mace Figure 6 has the light source and detector on opposite sides. However, paragraphs 9 and 10 indicate that the physical location is not the teaching to be used, but rather the relative positions of those elements along the optical axis between the light source and detector. See the Mace Figure 6 and the modified Nikittin Figure 3, above, in which the orders of the light source, gas chamber and detector are shown as equivalent along the optical axis.
Applicant argues on page 11 that Iwanaka does not cure the deficiencies of Mace, Nikittin & Harvey.
Examiner’s position is that the rejection of claim 1 does not have deficiencies.
Applicant argues on pages 11-12 that Konishi does not cure the deficiencies of Mace, Nikittin & Harvey.
Examiner’s position is that the rejection of claim 1 does not have deficiencies.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“control unit” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-11, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mace et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20020029003) in view of Nikittin et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20220236173) in view of Harvey (United States Patent 3614243), the combination of which is hereafter referred to as “MNH”.
As to claim 1, Mace teaches a gas measuring device for determining the concentration of a gas component in a breathing gas mixture of a living being (Abstract “An integrated airway adapter capable of monitoring any combination of respiratory flow, O.sub.2 concentration, and concentrations of one or more of CO.sub.2, N.sub.2O, and an anesthetic agent in real time”), the gas measuring device comprising:
a radiation source adapted to emit light radiation in a wavelength range of 2.5 µm to 12.5 µm (the claimed range is within the infrared band (.78 µm to 1000 µm), and paragraph 0098 teaches “radiation of one or more specified infrared wavelengths”);
a sample gas cuvette (Figure 1, paragraph 0072 “airway adapter 20” and the portion defined by the U-shaped element 36) comprising a hollow body for receiving the respiratory gas mixture (Figure 1, tube through the middle, paragraph 0072 “flow passage 34”), the sample gas cuvette further comprising:
an inlet cuvette window configured as an inlet of the light radiation into the sample gas cuvette (Figure 6, paragraph 0091 “first window 40”);
an outlet cuvette window configured as an outlet of the light radiation from the sample gas cuvette (Figure 6, paragraph 0091 “second window 42”);
a gas inlet configured to supply the breathing gas mixture into the sample gas cuvette (Figure 4, the tube opening at the left towards the “M”); and
a gas outlet configured to output the breathing gas mixture from the sample gas cuvette (Figure 4, the tube opening to the right towards the “F”);
a detector arrangement comprising at least two bandpass filter elements for filtering the light radiation and at least two detector elements for receiving the filtered light radiation (Figure 6, paragraph 0094 “In addition to one or more infrared sensors, Infrared detector 254 may include any combination of other components, including a reference sensor, optics (e.g., lenses, filters, mirrors, beam splitters, etc.)” and paragraph 0089 teaches the use of bandpass filters “a filter 259 is disposed between luminescable material 232 and detector 258 so as to prevent wavelengths of electromagnetic radiation other than those emitted from luminescable material 232 from interfering with the luminescence and luminescence-quenching measurements obtained with detector 258” and it would be obvious to have the filters for detector 254 be similar, for the same reason).
Mace does not teach the radiation source comprises a mirror arrangement and a light source. However, it is known in the art as taught by Nikittin. Nikittin teaches gas cell (Figure 3) into which a beam is directed and light extracted (Figure 3 with light source 306 and detector 308)”) wherein the radiation source comprises a mirror arrangement (Figure 1, paragraph 0023 “The first thermally-insulating optical element 112 and second thermally-insulating optical element 114 may each be realized, for example, by a tube with reflective internal walls”) and a light source (paragraph 0023 “light source 106”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the radiation source comprise a mirror arrangement and a light source, in order to better direct light going into the gas chamber in a desired manner.
Mace as modified by Nikittin above does not teach the hollow body having a cross-section that varies over a length of the sample gas cuvette. However, it is known in the art as taught by Harvey. Harvey teaches a gas cell (Figure 4 shows cell 44 with gas flow ports 21 & 22 and windows 29 & 38) with a hollow body (Figure 4, element 44) having a cross-section that varies over a length of the sample gas cuvette (Figure 4 shows gas chamber 44 with a tapered shape along the axis of the light beam, column 3:5 “conical bore of the inner gas cell member 19”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the hollow body having a cross-section that varies over a length of the sample gas cuvette, in order to permit the analysis of smaller samples of gases.
Mace as modified by Harvey and Nikittin above does not teach the mirror arrangement being arranged upstream of the sample gas cuvette with respect to a longitudinal axis of the sample gas cuvette. However, it is known in the art as taught by Nikittin. Nikittin teaches the mirror arrangement being arranged upstream of the sample gas cuvette with respect to a longitudinal axis of the sample gas cuvette (Figure 1, tube 112 is between the light source 106 and the gas chamber 104). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the mirror arrangement being arranged upstream of the sample gas cuvette with respect to a longitudinal axis of the sample gas cuvette, in order to better focus the light into the chamber in a desired manner.
Mace as modified by Harvey and Nikittin above does not teach a light guide element comprising a hollow body, the light guide element having a cross-section that varies over a length of the light guide element, the light guide element being located downstream of the mirror arrangement and the light source with respect to the longitudinal axis of the sample gas cuvette. However, it is known in the art as taught by Nikittin. Nikittin teaches a light guide element comprising a hollow body (paragraph 0031 “a variety of thermally-insulating, light-guiding optical elements that form a single unitary part and may be configured to direct light, such as those comprising light pipes, light guides, hollow light guides with reflective internal walls”), the light guide element having a cross-section that varies over a length of the light guide element (Figure 3, paragraph 0044 “the second thermally-insulating light guide 314 may also have a tapered cylindrical shape”), the light guide element being located downstream of the mirror arrangement and the light source with respect to the longitudinal axis of the sample gas cuvette (Figure 3, light guide 314 is downstream from light source 306 and mirrored tube 312). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have a light guide element comprising a hollow body, the light guide element having a cross-section that varies over a length of the light guide element, the light guide element being located downstream of the mirror arrangement and the light source with respect to the longitudinal axis of the sample gas cuvette, in order to increase the effective size of the detector area.
Mace as modified by Harvey and Nikittin above does not teach the light guide element and the sample gas cuvette being located between the mirror arrangement and the detector arrangement. However, it is known in the art as taught by Nikittin. Nikittin teaches the light guide element and the sample gas cuvette being located between the mirror arrangement and the detector arrangement (Figure 1, light guide 114 and mirrored tube 112 are between light source 106 and detector 108). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the light guide element and the sample gas cuvette being located between the mirror arrangement and the detector arrangement, in order to make it easier for the detector to sense incoming light.
While Mace teaches the use of a digital processor (paragraph 0041), Mace as modified by Harvey and Nikittin above does not teach a control unit configured to detect signals from the at least two detector elements and to determine the concentration of the gas component in the breathing gas mixture from the signals from the at least two detector elements. However, it is known in the art as taught by Nikittin. Nikittin teaches a control unit configured to detect signals (paragraph 0022 “The electronic assembly 110 may be configured to receive information from the light detector”) from the at least two detector elements (paragraph 0050 “some light detectors may have a dual or quad sensor element arrangement”, additionally Mace teaches multiple detectors) and to determine the concentration of the gas component in the breathing gas mixture from the signals from the at least two detector elements (paragraph 0022 “The electronic assembly 110 may be configured to infer a concentration of the gas received by the gas sample cell 104 based on the information received from the light detector”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have a control unit configured to detect signals from the at least two detector elements and to determine the concentration of the gas component in the breathing gas mixture from the signals from the at least two detector elements, in order to automate the gas monitoring and avoid operator negligence.
While Mace teaches the claimed order of optical operations (light is generated by element 252, manipulated (in this case an unlabeled lens), crosses the gas cuvette, is further manipulated (by that unlabeled vertical bar, which paragraph 0094 indicates can be e.g. lenses, filters, etc), then enters detector 254), Mace as modified by Harvey and Nikittin above does not explicitly teach the sample gas cuvette being located between the light guiding element and the mirror arrangement. However, it is known in the art as taught by Nikittin. Nikittin teaches a sample gas cuvette (Figure 3, element 304) being located between the light guiding element (Figure 3, element 313) and the mirror arrangement (Figure 3, element 312). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify the invention of Mace with the optical elements of Nikittin and have the light guiding element be located adjacent to the detector arrangement and the outlet cuvette window, the sample gas cuvette being located between the light guiding element and the mirror arrangement, in order to better direct the light along a desired path.
As to claim 2, MNH teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition Nikittin teaches the light guide element or the sample gas cuvette or both the light guide element and the sample gas cuvette are formed with reflective surfaces on an inside thereof (regarding Figure 3, elements 312 & 314, paragraph 0031 teaches “a variety of thermally-insulating, light-guiding optical elements that form a single unitary part and may be configured to direct light, such as those comprising light pipes, light guides, hollow light guides with reflective internal walls”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the light guide element or the sample gas cuvette or both the light guide element and the sample gas cuvette are formed with reflective surfaces on an inside thereof, in order to better direct the light in a desired manner, e.g. to collimate the light from the light source towards the reflective element.
Harvey teaches the sample gas cuvette is located axially between the light guide element and the mirror arrangement with respect to the longitudinal axis of the sample gas cuvette (in Figure 4, the light travels through the long axis of the gas chamber, between ends 25 and 54, column 2:42-43 “the transmission of radiation from one end, 25, to the other end, 54, of the outer gas cell member 20” and placing this cell in the invention of Mace as modified by Nikittin would read on the claimed locations). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the sample gas cuvette be located axially between the light guide element and the mirror arrangement with respect to the longitudinal axis of the sample gas cuvette, in order to allow for variable path lengths while maintaining a gas flow.
As to claim 4, MNH teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition the invention of Mace as modified by Nikittin teaches
the light guide element extends so as to be tapered between the radiation source and the sample gas cuvette (for claim 1, Nikittin Figure 3 element 314 was identified as the claimed light guide element, but as claim 1 does not specify where in the optical axis the claimed element is positioned, Figure 3 element 312 may be identified as the claimed light guide element, and as such the position of Nikittin element 312 satisfies claim 4’s limitation of being between the radiation source (Nikittin element 306) and the sample gas cuvette (Nikittin element 304));
the light radiation from the radiation source passes through the light guide element through the inlet cuvette window into the sample gas cuvette, through the outlet cuvette window to the detector arrangement (in Mace Figure 6, light from source 252 passes through a lens shape, and this is where the light guide of Nikittin would be present (see Nikittin Figure 3 where guide 312 is between light source 306 and chamber 304), then through window 40, the gas flow area (the center square), window 42 and detector 254).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the claimed arrangement of optical elements, in order to better channel the light that comes from the light source to the gas in a desired manner (i.e. to increase or decrease the intensity of the light to modify the chances of an interaction).
MNH does not teach the sample gas cuvette extends so as to be expanded between the sample gas cuvette and the detector arrangement. However, Harvey teaches a tapered gas chamber (Figure 4) and as the positioning of the tapered chamber would affect the function of the chamber, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose the direction from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2145(X)B. In this case, it would have been obvious to try the taper in both directions (i.e. left or right) and choose the one that worked best in that situation.
As to claim 5, MHN teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, with the exception of a length of the light guide element is a value in a range of 2.5 mm to 5.0 mm. However, Mace teaches the flow passage is on the order of tens of millimeters (paragraph 0140 “Ribs 21 preferably define a 22 mm diameter and reduce the weight of airway adapter 20'”) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date that the other optical elements would be of the same scale. It has been held by the courts that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)A. In this case, the light guide element would be in the claimed size range in order to better fit into the invention of MNH.
As to claim 6, MNH teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, with the exception of the light guide element is formed as a truncated pyramid. However, Nikittin teaches a light guide element is shaped as a tapered square prism and as a tapered rectangular prism (Figure 4, elements 414 & 415, see paragraph 0051). The shape of the light guide is therefore a results-effective variable and it would be obvious to change that variable to one of a finite number of possibilities (i.e. the shape of the prism), in order to modify both the width and height of the final beam profile. See MPEP 2144.05(II). In this case the claimed shape would be used in order to change the final dimensions of the light profile to best match the detector shape.
MNH does not teach the sample gas cuvette is formed as a truncated pyramid. However, as Nikittin teaches a variety of gas chamber shapes including a cylinder, an ovoid cylinder and a rectangular prism (see paragraph 0038), the shape of the gas chamber is therefore a results-effective variable and it would be obvious to change that variable to one of a finite number of possibilities (i.e. the shape of the chamber), in order to use a chamber geometry that lest impedes the light transmission. See MPEP 2144.05(II). In this case the claimed shape would be used in order to improve the light path through the detector.
As to claim 7, MNH teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition Nikittin teaches the sample gas cuvette, or the light guide element or both the sample gas cuvette, and the light guide element are formed as a truncated pyramid or as a truncated cone (Figure 4, paragraph 0050 “tapered cylindrical thermally-insulating light guide 412”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the sample gas cuvette, or the light guide element or both the sample gas cuvette, and the light guide element are formed as a truncated pyramid or as a truncated cone, in order to concentrate the light into a desired distribution across the sensor elements.
As to claim 8, MNH teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition Nikittin teaches the light guide element is formed as a truncated cone (Figure 4, paragraph 0050 “tapered cylindrical thermally-insulating light guide 412”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the light guide element be formed as a truncated cone, in order to concentrate the light into a desired distribution across the sensor elements.
Harvey teaches the sample gas cuvette is formed as a truncated cone (Figure 4 shows gas chamber 44, see column 3:5 “conical bore of the inner gas cell member 19”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the sample gas cuvette be formed as a truncated cone, in order to permit the analysis of smaller samples of gases.
As to claim 9, MNH teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 7, with the exception of a pyramid angle or a cone angle of the light guide element is a value in a range 7.5° to 20.0°. However, Harvey teaches a cone shape, and as the shape of the cone affects the amount of gas in the chamber, the shape is therefore a results-effective variable and it would be obvious to change that shape (i.e. the angle of the cone) to one of a finite number of possibilities, in order to find the one that worked best in that situation. See MPEP 2144.05(II). In this case the claimed range of angles would be used in order to minimize the gas needed while maintaining effective results.
As to claim 10, MNH teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 7, with the exception of an inlet opening of the light guide element is a value in a range 2.0 mm to 4.0 mm. However, Mace teaches the flow passage is on the order of tens of millimeters (paragraph 0140 “Ribs 21 preferably define a 22 mm diameter and reduce the weight of airway adapter 20'”) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date that the other optical elements would be of the same scale. It has been held by the courts that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)A. In this case, the light guide element would be in the claimed size range in order to better fit into the invention of MNH.
As to claim 11, MNH teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 7, with the exception of explicitly teaching any of the claimed ratios or ranges. However, MNH teaches all of the claimed elements (e.g. light guide element, cone angle, sample gas cuvette, inlet opening, etc) as indicated in the above claims, and the values of these elements would obviously affect the overall performance of the invention. As such the dimensions and ratios of those dimensions are therefore results-effective variables and it would be obvious to change those variables to one of a finite number of possibilities (e.g. the ratio of the gas cuvette to the size of the gas inlet), in order to modify both the width and height of the final beam profile (e.g. in order to study how the refresh rate of the gas affects performance). See MPEP 2144.05(II), also 2144.04(IV)(A). In this case the claimed ratios and ranges would be modified to optimize the size & shape of the invention for a particular gas (e.g. you might want a high gas refresh rate if the gas you’re studying has a lot of water vapor and you want to avoid condensation).
As to claim 18, MNH teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition Nikittin teaches the light guiding element (Figure 3, element 314) is located adjacent to the detector arrangement (Figure 3, element 308) and the outlet cuvette window (Figure 3, element 305, which corresponds to Mace’s Figure 6, element 42, when the teachings of Nikittin are applied to Mace). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the light guiding element be located adjacent to the detector arrangement and the outlet cuvette window, in order to aid in light transmission in a desired manner.
As to claim 19, MNH teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition Mace teaches the outlet cuvette window (Figure 6, element 42) is located adjacent to the detector arrangement (Figure 6, element 254).
Mace as modified by Harvey and Nikittin above does not teach the light guide element being located between the sample gas cuvette and the mirror arrangement. However, Mace teaches optical elements between the light source and the window to the gas chamber (Figure 6, there is a lens between light source 252 and window 40), and Nikittin teaches the use of optical elements along the light path to guide & shape the light as desired (Figure 3, light guides 312 & 314), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to use place the claimed elements in the claimed position, as there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of placing optical elements along the optical path and it would take only ordinary engineering experience to modify the invention of Mace as modified by Harvey and Nikittin to read on the claimed arrangement with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2145(X)B.
As to claim 20, MNH teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 19, with the exception of the inlet cuvette window is located adjacent to the light guide element. However, Mace Figure 6 shows optical elements (a lens) adjacent to the window to the gas chamber (element 40), and Nikittin teaches the use of optical elements along the light path to guide & shape the light as desired (Figure 3, light guides 312 & 314), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to use place the claimed elements in the claimed position, as there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of placing optical elements along the optical path and it would take only ordinary engineering experience to modify the invention of Mace as modified by Harvey and Nikittin to read on the claimed arrangement with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2145(X)B.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MNH, and further in view of Iwanaka et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20230050424).
As to claim 3, MNH teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition the invention of Mace as modified by Nikittin teaches
the sample gas cuvette extends between the radiation source and the light guide element (Nikittin Figure 3, gas sample cell 304 is between light source 306 and light guide 314);
the light guide element extends between the sample gas cuvette and the detector arrangement (Nikittin Figure 3, light guide 314 is between gas sample cell 304 and detector 308);
the light radiation from the radiation source passes through the inlet cuvette window into the sample gas cuvette, through the outlet cuvette window and through the light guide element to the detector arrangement (in Mace Figure 6, light from source 252 enters the gas flow area (the center square) through window 40, out through window 42 and that space between the window 42 and detector 254 is where the light guide of Nikittin would be present (see Nikittin Figure 3 where guide 314 is between chamber 304 and detector 308)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the claimed arrangement of optical elements, in order to better channel the light that comes from the gas to the detector in a desired manner (i.e. to increase or decrease the amount of light per unit area on the detector).
MNH does not teach the sample gas cuvette is tapered between the radiation source and the light guide element. However, Harvey teaches a tapered gas chamber (Figure 4) and as the positioning of the tapered chamber would affect the function of the chamber, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose the direction from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2145(X)B. In this case, it would have been obvious to try the taper in both directions (i.e. left or right) and choose the one that worked best in that situation.
MNH does not teach the light guide expands between the sample gas cuvette and the detector arrangement. However, it is known in the art as taught by Iwanaka. Iwanaka teaches a waveguide between a light source and a detector (Figure 2 has electrons hitting scintillator 109 and producing photons, which are guided by waveguide 110 to detector 111), in which the light guide expands between the light source [the sample gas cuvette of Mace] and the detector arrangement (Figure 2, “paragraph 0039 an optical path is expanded by the light guide 110”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the light guide expand between the sample gas cuvette and the detector arrangement, in order to avoid detector saturation.
Harvey teaches the radiation source is located axially opposite an outlet opening of the sample gas cuvette with respect to the longitudinal axis of the sample gas cuvette (in Figure 4, the light travels through the long axis of the gas chamber, between ends 25 and 54, column 2:42-43 “the transmission of radiation from one end, 25, to the other end, 54, of the outer gas cell member 20”, indicating the light source must exist to the left of the gas chamber, and an opening on the right, column 2:18-19 “a crystal 17, through which radiation may pass” corresponding to the applicant’s Figure 7, window 62 and outlet opening 53). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the radiation source be located axially opposite an outlet opening of the sample gas cuvette with respect to the longitudinal axis of the sample gas cuvette, in order to insure the light travels along a known path length through the gas.
Claims 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MNH, and further in view of Konishi et al (United States Patent 5596210).
As to claims 12-13, MNH teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, with the exception of a silicon window arranged on the light inlet side (claim 12) or the light exit side (claim 13) of the light guide element. However, it is known in the art as taught by Konishi. Konishi teaches a light guide with an end cap (interpreted as a window) comprising a silicon layer (Figure 8, column 8:3-5 “A reflection preventing film 106 of silicon dioxide, for example, is also formed at the light emitting end of the light guide 10”) and the silicon window is arranged on the light inlet side or the light exit side of the light guide element (Abstract “Reflection preventing films of silicon dioxide are formed on both the output end and the input end of the light guide.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have a silicon window arranged on the light inlet side or the light exit side of the light guide element, in order to enhance the transmission efficiency.
As to claims 14, MNH teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, with the exception of an inlet silicon window arranged on a light inlet side of the light guide element and an outlet silicon window is arranged on the light guide element on a light exit side. However, it is known in the art as taught by Konishi. Konishi teaches a light guide with an end cap (interpreted as a window) comprising a silicon layer (Figure 8, column 8:3-5 “A reflection preventing film 106 of silicon dioxide, for example, is also formed at the light emitting end of the light guide 10”) and such silicon windows are arranged on both the light inlet side and the light exit side of the light guide element (Abstract “Reflection preventing films of silicon dioxide are formed on both the output end and the input end of the light guide.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have an inlet silicon window arranged on a light inlet side of the light guide element and an outlet silicon window arranged on the light guide element on a light exit side, in order to enhance the transmission efficiency.
MNH as modified by Konishi above does not teach an optical path outside the sample gas cuvette and/or a length of the light guide element is reduced by a value in a range of 2.0 to 4.0 times a cumulative thicknesses of the silicon windows. However, MNH as modified by Konishi teaches all of the claimed elements (e.g. light guide element, windows, etc) as indicated above, and the dimensions of these elements would obviously affect the overall performance of the invention. As such the dimensions and respective values of those dimensions are therefore results-effective variables and it would be obvious to change those variables to one of a finite number of possibilities (e.g. the respective length of the light guide and thickness of the window), in order to maintain a desired optical path length. See MPEP 2144.05(II). In this case the claimed dimensions would be modified to insure a desired path length.
As to claim 15, MNH teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, with the exception of an inlet silicon window is arranged on a light inlet side of the light guide element and an outlet silicon window is arranged on the light guide element on a light exit side. However, it is known in the art as taught by Konishi. Konishi teaches a light guide with an end cap (interpreted as a window) comprising a silicon layer (Figure 8, column 8:3-5 “A reflection preventing film 106 of silicon dioxide, for example, is also formed at the light emitting end of the light guide 10”) and such silicon windows are arranged on both the light inlet side and the light exit side of the light guide element (Abstract “Reflection preventing films of silicon dioxide are formed on both the output end and the input end of the light guide.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have an inlet silicon window arranged on a light inlet side of the light guide element and an outlet silicon window arranged on the light guide element on a light exit side, in order to enhance the transmission efficiency.
MNH as modified by Konishi above does not teach a ratio of the length of the light guide element to the length of the sample gas cuvette is reduced according to the cumulative thicknesses of the silicon windows. However, MNH as modified by Konishi teaches all of the claimed elements (e.g. light guide element, windows, etc) as indicated above, and the dimensions of these elements would obviously affect the overall performance of the invention. As such the dimensions and ratio of those dimensions are therefore results-effective variables and it would be obvious to change those variables to one of a finite number of possibilities (e.g. the respective length of the light guide and thickness of the window), in order to maintain a desired optical path length. See MPEP 2144.05(II). In this case the claimed dimensions would be modified to insure a desired path length.
As to claim 16, MNH teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, with the exception of an inlet silicon window is arranged on the light guide element on a light inlet side. However, it is known in the art as taught by Konishi. Konishi teaches a light guide with an end cap (interpreted as a window) comprising a silicon layer (Figure 8, column 8:3-5 “A reflection preventing film 106 of silicon dioxide, for example, is also formed at the light emitting end of the light guide 10”) and such a silicon window is arranged on the light inlet side of the light guide element (Abstract “Reflection preventing films of silicon dioxide are formed on both the output end and the input end of the light guide.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have an inlet silicon window is arranged on the light guide element on a light inlet side, in order to enhance the transmission efficiency.
MNH as modified by Konishi does not teach the inlet silicon window replaces a portion of the light guide element and a thickness of the inlet silicon window is less than the replaced portion of the light guide element. However, MNH as modified by Konishi teaches all of the claimed elements (e.g. light guide element, windows, etc) as indicated above, and the dimensions of these elements would obviously affect the overall performance of the invention. As such the dimensions and sum of those dimensions are therefore results-effective variables and it would be obvious to change those variables to one of a finite number of possibilities (e.g. the respective length of the light guide and thickness of the window), in order to maintain a desired optical path length. See MPEP 2144.05(II). In this case the claimed dimensions would be modified to insure a desired path length.
As to claim 17, MNH teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, with the exception of an outlet silicon window is arranged on the light guide element on a light exit side. However, it is known in the art as taught by Konishi. Konishi teaches a light guide with an end cap (interpreted as a window) comprising a silicon layer (Figure 8, column 8:3-5 “A reflection preventing film 106 of silicon dioxide, for example, is also formed at the light emitting end of the light guide 10”) and such a silicon window is arranged on the light exit side of the light guide element (Abstract “Reflection preventing films of silicon dioxide are formed on both the output end and the input end of the light guide.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have an outlet silicon window is arranged on the light guide element on a light exit side, in order to enhance the transmission efficiency.
MNH as modified by Konishi does not teach the outlet silicon window replaces a portion of the light guide element and a thickness of the outlet silicon window is less than the replaced portion of the light guide element. However, MNH as modified by Konishi teaches all of the claimed elements (e.g. light guide element, windows, etc) as indicated above, and the dimensions of these elements would obviously affect the overall performance of the invention. As such the dimensions and sum of those dimensions are therefore results-effective variables and it would be obvious to change those variables to one of a finite number of possibilities (e.g. the respective length of the light guide and thickness of the window), in order to maintain a desired optical path length. See MPEP 2144.05(II). In this case the claimed dimensions would be modified to insure a desired path length.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.C.U/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 /MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877