Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the remark entered on December 9, 2025.
Claim 2-4, 9-11, 16-17 & 22-39 pending in the instant application.
Claim 2-3, 9, 11 & 16-17 are amended.
Claim 1, 5-8, 12-15 & 18-21 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks filed 12/09/2025, pages 9-13, regarding the rejection of claim 2 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant asserts that Lert in view of Yamashita do not disclose the limitations of a code reader that reads and identifier at the object, and register the object identified by the information acquired from the code reader.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees because Yamashita teaches the above claim limitations as outlined below. In Paragraph [0042], The register 110 is equipped with a barcode reader. When the clerk 109 uses a barcode reader to read a barcode printed on a product purchased by the customer 107, the barcode reader acquires and stores a product's identification on a storage unit of the register 110, and registering of product as objects with position information within product/map information/shelf tables as pre-existing files. Thus the combination of Lert in view of Yamashita teach of a code reader that reads and identifier at the object, and register the object identified by the information acquired from the code reader.
Applicant's remarks filed 07/24/2025, pages 13-22, regarding the rejection of claims 9 & 16 have been fully considered, and are moot upon further consideration and a new ground(s) of rejection made under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lert, Jr. et al. (US 2017/0313514 A1) (hereinafter Lert) in view of Yamashita (US 2018/0002109 A1) (hereinafter Yamashita), further in view of Seagraves et al. (WO 2018/067127 A1) (hereinafter Seagraves), and further in view of Danelski (US 2008/0183328 A1) (hereinafter DanelskI) for claim 9 and Lert, Jr. et al. (US 2017/0313514 A1) (hereinafter Lert) in view of Yamashita (US 2018/0002109 A1) (hereinafter Yamashita), and further in view of Danelski (US 2008/0183328 A1) (hereinafter DanelskI) for claim 16 as outlined below.
In response to Applicant’s remark that Examiner’s previously-cited references do not show the Applicant’s newly-recited claim limitations, the Examiner directs Applicant’s attention to the rejection of claims 9 & 16 below, where Applicant’s newly-recited claim limitations are addressed by Danelski and are rejected for the reasons outlined below.
Applicant's remarks filed 12/09/2025, page 13-22, regarding the rejection of claims 3-4, 9-11, 17 & 22-39 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant relies on the patentability of the claims from which these claims depend to traverse the rejection without prejudice to any further basis for patentability of these claims based on the additional elements recited.
Examiner respectfully disagrees because the combination of Lert and Yamashita teach or suggest claims 2, the combination of Lert, Yamashita, Seagraves, and Danelski teach or suggest claim 9, and the combination of Lert, Yamashita, and Danelski teach or suggest claim 16. Thus, claims 3-4, 9-11, 17 & 22-39 are also rejected for the similar reasons as outlined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 16-17, 23-26 & 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lert, Jr. et al. (US 2017/0313514 A1) (hereinafter Lert) in view of Yamashita (US 2018/0002109 A1) (hereinafter Yamashita).
Regarding claim 2, Lert discloses an apparatus [Abstract, order fulfillment system, as apparatus] comprising:
a camera assembly including an image sensor that captures images within its field of view [Paragraph [0271], Fig. 21A, machine-vision subsystem 534 attached to arm bar containing camera assembly, wherein cameras contain image sensors to capture images within camera’s field of view (FOV)]; and
a controller in electrical communication with the camera assembly [Paragraph [0267]-[0272], Fig. 21A, Cameras and target illuminators connected to vision computer workstation control computer, as control board assembly, that activates two target illuminators and displays captured images from MVS onto screen], the controller configured to: acquire information about an object [Paragraph [0267]-[0272], Fig. 21A, Picker interface where workstation control computer receives information from picker using display screen 536], associate a location within the field of view of the image sensor with the object [Paragraph [0271]-[0272], Fig. 21A, Cameras and target illuminators are programmed to track and follow picker’s hands, wherein the target illuminators are able to be aimed at any location within any Tote in camera’s FOV]; detect change within the field of view of the image sensor corresponding to placement or removal of the object based on images acquired from the camera assembly [Paragraph [0271]-[0272], Fig. 21A, MVS captures "before" image of P-Tote and target O-Totes; workstation control computer displays on screen the number of caches remaining to be picked for current order-line and synthesizes voice input of same information through headphones. MYS tracks motion of picker's hands during a pick by means of camera looking down on P-Tote and verifies that picker is picking correct SKU; when hand clears pick zone with picked each],
However, Lert does not explicitly disclose the controller configured to
acquire information about an object from a code reader that reads an identifier at the object;
register the object identified by the information from the code reader at the associated location; and link the registered object to a pre-existing file that includes a list of objects being tracked or registered by the apparatus.
Yamashita teaches of the controller configured to acquire information about an object from a code reader that reads an identifier at the object; register the object identified by the information from the code reader at the associated location; and link the registered object to a pre-existing file that includes a list of objects being tracked or registered by the apparatus [Paragraph [0032]-[0038] & [0042]-[0059], Figs. 4A-4C, The register 110 is equipped with a barcode reader. When the clerk 109 uses a barcode reader to read a barcode printed on a product purchased by the customer 107, the barcode reader acquires and stores a product's identification on a storage unit of the register 110, and registering of product as objects with position information within product/map information/shelf tables as pre-existing files].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the system of Yamashita as above, to provide a shelf space allocation management device and a shelf space allocation management method, which can efficiently carry out image recognition of products so as to check the allocation of products and the number of products on shelves (Yamashita, Paragraphs [0009]).
Regarding claim 23, Lert and Yamashita disclose the apparatus of claim 2, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Yamashita teaches wherein the controller is further configured to update the pre-existing file in real time upon detecting the placement or removal of the object [Paragraph [0032]-[0038] & [0043]-[0063], Figs. 4A-6, Production allocation inspect and updating of shelf space allocation table in real time].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the system of Yamashita as above, to provide a shelf space allocation management device and a shelf space allocation management method, which can efficiently carry out image recognition of products so as to check the allocation of products and the number of products on shelves (Yamashita, Paragraphs [0009]).
Regarding claim 24, Lert and Yamashita disclose the apparatus of claim 2, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Yamashita teaches wherein the pre-existing file includes metadata for each object, the metadata comprising at least one of: object identifier, timestamp, user ID, or object dimensions [Paragraph [0032]-[0038] & [0043]-[0063], Figs. 4A-6, Product ID, Product image, shelf ID, position information].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the system of Yamashita as above, to provide a shelf space allocation management device and a shelf space allocation management method, which can efficiently carry out image recognition of products so as to check the allocation of products and the number of products on shelves (Yamashita, Paragraphs [0009]).
Regarding claim 25, Lert and Yamashita disclose the apparatus of claim 2, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Yamashita teaches wherein the controller is further configured to retrieve object information from a code label affixed to the object using an optical code reader [Paragraph [0061], the clerk 109 reads product information with a barcode reader so as to carry out an input process, and then the register 110 transmits to the product management device 10 a product ID of the purchased product and the number of products being purchased].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the system of Yamashita as above, to provide a shelf space allocation management device and a shelf space allocation management method, which can efficiently carry out image recognition of products so as to check the allocation of products and the number of products on shelves (Yamashita, Paragraphs [0009]).
Regarding claim 26, Lert and Yamashita disclose the apparatus of claim 2, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Yamashita teaches wherein the controller is further configured to compare the detected object with entries in the pre-existing file to verify object identity [Paragraph [0052], For example, the product recognition part 15 compares an image captured by the image acquisition part 14 with images of various products registered in the product table so as to specify an image of product having features closest to a captured image as a product reflected in the captured image.].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the system of Yamashita as above, to provide a shelf space allocation management device and a shelf space allocation management method, which can efficiently carry out image recognition of products so as to check the allocation of products and the number of products on shelves (Yamashita, Paragraphs [0009]).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lert, Jr. et al. (US 2017/0313514 A1) (hereinafter Lert) and Yamashita (US 2018/0002109 A1) (hereinafter Yamashita) in view of Becker et al. (US 2013/0293684 A1) (hereinafter Becker), and further in view of Danelski (US 2008/0183328 A1) (hereinafter Danelski).
Regarding claim 3, Lert and Yamashita disclose the apparatus of claim 2, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Lert discloses further comprising: a lighting assembly housing one or more light sources including a directional light source secured to a laser assembly [Paragraph [0271], Fig. 21A, Target illuminators, as lighting assembly, being a laser or spotlight, are mounted with camera assembly, being able to be aimed at any location within any Tote in camera’s FOV].
However, Lert and Yamashita do not explicitly disclose of a lighting assembly rotatably coupled to the mount body, wherein the controller is in electrical communication with the lighting assembly to control an articulation of the one or more light sources relative to a mount body.
Becker teaches of a lighting assembly rotatably coupled to the mount body, wherein the controller is in electrical communication with both the camera assembly and the lighting assembly to control an articulation of the one or more light sources relative to a mount body [Paragraph [0026], [0030] & [0082], Housing 22 includes a first/second cameras 24 & 26, projector 28; projector 28 emits light 30 onto a surface 32 of an object 34, and transmits a pattern formed a swept line of light or a swept point of light, or be automatically rotated to different directions, as articulating light assembly].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the rotatable line scanner and control boards and circuitry of Becker as above, to rotate and direct the line scanner in different directions to eliminate multipath interface, and include the control circuit boards to activate and actuate the automatic program operations (Becker, Paragraphs [0082] & [0108]).
However, Lert, Yamashita, and Becker do not explicitly disclose in response to a request to retrieve the object, the controller is configured to determine the registered location of the object based on the information acquired about the object, and control the directional light source to illuminate the object or the location that the object is located to guide retrieval of the object; the controller is configured to control the directional light source to illuminate the associated location to guide placement of the object; and in response to a request to retrieve the object, the controller is configured to determine the registered location of the object based on the information acquired about the object and control the directional light source to illuminate the object or the location that the object is located to guide retrieval of the object.
Danelski teaches in response to a request to retrieve the object, the controller is configured to determine the registered location of the object based on the information acquired about the object, and control the directional light source to illuminate the object or the location that the object is located to guide retrieval of the object; the controller is configured to control the directional light source to illuminate the associated location to guide placement of the object; and in response to a request to retrieve the object, the controller is configured to determine the registered location of the object based on the information acquired about the object and control the directional light source to illuminate the object or the location that the object is located to guide retrieval of the object [Paragraph [0021]-[0032], Customer order, as request to retrieve object, wherein the laser light system 20 is designed and placed so that system 20 can direct the laser light 25 to each location or to each reflector 35 of an inventory system 30. Inventory system 30 includes warehouse storage 31 with a plurality of racks, 33, 34, and a plurality of storage locations 32 on each rack. Each storage location may have a bin, as shown, or the storage location may simply be a designated area on the tiers or shelves of the rack. Each bin or storage location preferably, but not necessarily has a reflector 35 for receiving visible light 25 from the laser light source 22. When laser light illuminates a particular storage location or reflector, an inventory specialist knows that is the bin or storage location from which parts should be picked, or into which parts should be placed].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the laser light system of Danelski as above, to provide a picking system that is both cost-effective and efficient (Danelski, Paragraphs [0008]-[0011]).
Regarding claim 4, Lert, Yamashita, Becker, and Danelski disclose the apparatus of claim 3, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Lert discloses wherein the controller communicates with the lighting assembly to point the light at the location associated with the object by controlling an articulation of at least one of the one or more light sources in response to the images [Paragraph [0271]-[0272], Fig. 21A, Cameras and target illuminators are programmed to track and follow picker’s hands, wherein the target illuminators are able to be aimed at any location within any Tote in camera’s FOV, wherein MVS captures "before" image of P-Tote and target O-Totes; workstation control computer displays on screen the number of caches remaining to be picked for current order-line and synthesizes voice input of same information through headphones. MVS tracks motion of picker's hands during a pick by means of camera looking down on P-Tote and verifies that picker is picking correct SKU; when hand clears pick zone with picked each].
Claims 9-11 & 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lert, Jr. et al. (US 2017/0313514 A1) (hereinafter Lert) in view of Yamashita (US 2018/0002109 A1) (hereinafter Yamashita), further in view of Seagraves et al. (WO 2018/067127 A1) (hereinafter Seagraves), and further in view of Danelski (US 2008/0183328 A1) (hereinafter DanelskI).
Regarding claim 9, Lert discloses an apparatus comprising:
a camera assembly housing at least two cameras that capture image information within their fields of view [Paragraph [0271], Fig. 21A, machine-vision subsystem 534 attached to arm bar containing camera assembly, wherein cameras contain image sensors to capture images within camera’s field of view (FOV)]; and
a control-board assembly being in communication with the camera assembly to receive image information captured by the cameras [Paragraph [0267]-[0272], Fig. 21A, Cameras and target illuminators connected to vision computer workstation control computer, as control board assembly, that activates two target illuminators and displays captured images from MVS onto screen], the control-board assembly housing control boards including a processor [Paragraph [0267]-[0272], Fig. 21A, vision computer workstation control computer, contains a CPU] configured to receive and process images captured by the camera assembly [Paragraph [0267]-[0272], Fig. 21A, Cameras and target illuminators connected to vision computer workstation control computer, as control board assembly, that activates two target illuminators and displays captured images from MVS onto screen]; and detect from the images a change corresponding to placement or removal of the object [Paragraph [0271]-[0272], Fig. 21A, MVS captures "before" image of P-Tote and target O-Totes; workstation control computer displays on screen the number of caches remaining to be picked for current order-line and synthesizes voice input of same information through headphones. MYS tracks motion of picker's hands during a pick by means of camera looking down on P-Tote and verifies that picker is picking correct SKU; when hand clears pick zone with picked each].
However, Lert does not disclose the processor configured to associate a location within a field of view of the camera assembly where the images are captured with the object; register the object at the associated location; and link the registered object to a pre-existing file that includes a list of objects being tracked or registered by the apparatus.
Yamashita teaches of the processor configured to associate a location within a field of view of the camera assembly where the images are captured with the object; register the object at the associated location; and link the registered object to a pre-existing file that includes a list of objects being tracked or registered by the apparatus [Paragraph [0032]-[0038] & [0043]-[0059], Figs. 4A-4C, Registering of product as objects with position information within product/map information/shelf tables as pre-existing files].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the system of Yamashita as above, to provide a shelf space allocation management device and a shelf space allocation management method, which can efficiently carry out image recognition of products so as to check the allocation of products and the number of products on shelves (Yamashita, Paragraphs [0009]).
Lastly, Lert and Yamashita do not explicitly disclose the camera assembly having a mounting surface upon which one of the at least two cameras is fixed.
Seagraves teaches the camera assembly having a mounting surface upon which one of the at least two cameras is fixed [Paragraph [0011]-[0023], frame member 102a, as mounting surface with mounted camera and depth sensor].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the adjustable platform height of Seagraves as above, to facilitate the mounting of camera sensors to be positioned with an appropriate field of view (Seagraves, Paragraphs [0019]).
However, Lert, Yamashita, and Seagraves do not disclose wherein the processor is further configured to determine the registered location of the object for guiding retrieval or placement of the object.
Danelski teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine the registered location of the object for guiding retrieval or placement of the object [Paragraph [0021]-[0032], Customer order, as request to retrieve object, wherein the laser light system 20 is designed and placed so that system 20 can direct the laser light 25 to each location or to each reflector 35 of an inventory system 30. When laser light illuminates a particular storage location or reflector, an inventory specialist knows that is the bin or storage location from which parts should be picked, or into which parts should be placed].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the laser light system of Danelski as above, to provide a picking system that is both cost-effective and efficient (Danelski, Paragraphs [0008]-[0011]).
Regarding claim 10, Lert, Yamashita, Seagraves, and Danelski disclose the apparatus of claim 9, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Further Seagraves teaches wherein the at least two cameras include a RGB (red green blue) camera and a depth camera [Paragraphs [0018]-[0019], Camera 122 and depth sensor 124].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the adjustable platform height of Seagraves as above, to facilitate the mounting of camera sensors to be positioned with an appropriate field of view (Seagraves, Paragraphs [0019]).
Regarding claim 11, Lert, Yamashita, Seagraves, and Danelski disclose the apparatus of claim 9, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Lert discloses wherein the control-board assembly communicates with a lighting assembly to point light emitted by the directional light source at the location associated with an object by controlling an articulation of at least one of the one or more light sources in response to the images [Paragraph [0271]-[0272], Fig. 21A, Cameras and target illuminators are programmed to track and follow picker’s hands, wherein the target illuminators are able to be aimed at any location within any Tote in camera’s FOV, wherein MVS captures "before" image of P-Tote and target O-Totes; workstation control computer displays on screen the number of caches remaining to be picked for current order-line and synthesizes voice input of same information through headphones. MVS tracks motion of picker's hands during a pick by means of camera looking down on P-Tote and verifies that picker is picking correct SKU; when hand clears pick zone with picked each].
Regarding claim 29, Lert, Yamashita, Seagraves, and Danelski disclose the apparatus of claim 9, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Yamashita teaches wherein the controller is further configured to update the pre-existing file in real time upon detecting the placement or removal of the object [Paragraph [0032]-[0038] & [0043]-[0063], Figs. 4A-6, Production allocation inspect and updating of shelf space allocation table in real time].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the system of Yamashita as above, to provide a shelf space allocation management device and a shelf space allocation management method, which can efficiently carry out image recognition of products so as to check the allocation of products and the number of products on shelves (Yamashita, Paragraphs [0009]).
Regarding claim 30, Lert, Yamashita, Seagraves, and Danelski disclose the apparatus of claim 9, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Yamashita teaches wherein the pre-existing file includes metadata for each object, the metadata comprising at least one of: object identifier, timestamp, user ID, or object dimensions [Paragraph [0032]-[0038] & [0043]-[0063], Figs. 4A-6, Product ID, Product image, shelf ID, position information].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the system of Yamashita as above, to provide a shelf space allocation management device and a shelf space allocation management method, which can efficiently carry out image recognition of products so as to check the allocation of products and the number of products on shelves (Yamashita, Paragraphs [0009]).
Regarding claim 31, Lert, Yamashita, Seagraves, and Danelski disclose the apparatus of claim 9, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Yamashita teaches wherein the controller is further configured to retrieve object information from a code label affixed to the object using an optical code reader [Paragraph [0061], the clerk 109 reads product information with a barcode reader so as to carry out an input process, and then the register 110 transmits to the product management device 10 a product ID of the purchased product and the number of products being purchased].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the system of Yamashita as above, to provide a shelf space allocation management device and a shelf space allocation management method, which can efficiently carry out image recognition of products so as to check the allocation of products and the number of products on shelves (Yamashita, Paragraphs [0009]).
Regarding claim 32, Lert, Yamashita, Seagraves, and Danelski disclose the apparatus of claim 9, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Yamashita teaches wherein the controller is further configured to compare the detected object with entries in the pre-existing file to verify object identity [Paragraph [0052], For example, the product recognition part 15 compares an image captured by the image acquisition part 14 with images of various products registered in the product table so as to specify an image of product having features closest to a captured image as a product reflected in the captured image.].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the system of Yamashita as above, to provide a shelf space allocation management device and a shelf space allocation management method, which can efficiently carry out image recognition of products so as to check the allocation of products and the number of products on shelves (Yamashita, Paragraphs [0009]).
Claim(s) 16-17 & 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lert, Jr. et al. (US 2017/0313514 A1) (hereinafter Lert) in view of Yamashita (US 2018/0002109 A1) (hereinafter Yamashita), and further in view of Danelski (US 2008/0183328 A1) (hereinafter Danelski).
Regarding claim 16, Lert discloses an apparatus comprising:
a camera assembly housing at least two cameras that capture image information within their fields of view, the camera assembly having a mounting surface upon which one of the at least two cameras is fixed [Paragraph [0271], Fig. 21A, machine-vision subsystem 534 attached to arm bar containing camera assembly, wherein cameras contain image sensors to capture images within camera’s field of view (FOV)]; and
a control-board assembly in communication with the camera assembly to receive image information captured by the cameras [Paragraph [0267]-[0272], Fig. 21A, Cameras and target illuminators connected to vision computer workstation control computer, as control board assembly, that activates two target illuminators and displays captured images from MVS onto screen], the control-board assembly housing control boards including a processor [Paragraph [0267]-[0272], Fig. 21A, vision computer workstation control computer, contains a CPU] configured to receive and process images captured by the camera assembly [Paragraph [0267]-[0272], Fig. 21A, Cameras and target illuminators connected to vision computer workstation control computer, as control board assembly, that activates two target illuminators and displays captured images from MVS onto screen]; and detect from the image information a change corresponding to placement or removal of the object [Paragraph [0271]-[0272], Fig. 21A, MVS captures "before" image of P-Tote and target O-Totes; workstation control computer displays on screen the number of caches remaining to be picked for current order-line and synthesizes voice input of same information through headphones. MYS tracks motion of picker's hands during a pick by means of camera looking down on P-Tote and verifies that picker is picking correct SKU; when hand clears pick zone with picked each].
However, Lert does not explicitly disclose the processor configured to associate a location within the field of view of the camera assembly where the images are captured with the object; register the object at the associated location; and link the registered object to a pre-existing file that includes a list of objects being tracked or registered by the apparatus.
Yamashita teaches of the processor configured to associate a location within the field of view of the camera assembly where the images are captured with the object; register the object at the associated location; and link the registered object to a pre-existing file that includes a list of objects being tracked or registered by the apparatus [Paragraph [0032]-[0038] & [0043]-[0059], Figs. 4A-4C, Registering of product as objects with position information within product/map information/shelf tables as pre-existing files].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the system of Yamashita as above, to provide a shelf space allocation management device and a shelf space allocation management method, which can efficiently carry out image recognition of products so as to check the allocation of products and the number of products on shelves (Yamashita, Paragraphs [0009]).
However, Lert does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to determine the registered location of the object for guiding retrieval or placement of the object.
Danelski teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine the registered location of the object for guiding retrieval or placement of the object [Paragraph [0021]-[0032], Customer order, as request to retrieve object, wherein the laser light system 20 is designed and placed so that system 20 can direct the laser light 25 to each location or to each reflector 35 of an inventory system 30. When laser light illuminates a particular storage location or reflector, an inventory specialist knows that is the bin or storage location from which parts should be picked, or into which parts should be placed].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the laser light system of Danelski as above, to provide a picking system that is both cost-effective and efficient (Danelski, Paragraphs [0008]-[0011]).
Regarding claim 17, Lert, Yamashita, and Danelski disclose the apparatus of claim 16, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Lert discloses wherein the control-board assembly operates the directional light source by communicating with a directional light source [Paragraph [0271], Fig. 21A, Target illuminators, as lighting assembly, being a laser or spotlight, are mounted with camera assembly, being able to be aimed at any location within any Tote in camera’s FOV] to point the light at a location associated with an object by controlling an articulation of at least one of the one or more light sources in response to the images [Paragraph [0271]-[0272], Fig. 21A, Cameras and target illuminators are programmed to track and follow picker’s hands, wherein the target illuminators are able to be aimed at any location within any Tote in camera’s FOV, wherein MVS captures "before" image of P-Tote and target O-Totes; workstation control computer displays on screen the number of caches remaining to be picked for current order-line and synthesizes voice input of same information through headphones. MVS tracks motion of picker's hands during a pick by means of camera looking down on P-Tote and verifies that picker is picking correct SKU; when hand clears pick zone with picked each].
Regarding claim 35, Lert, Yamashita, and Danelski disclose the apparatus of claim 16, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Yamashita teaches wherein the controller is further configured to update the pre-existing file in real time upon detecting the placement or removal of the object [Paragraph [0032]-[0038] & [0043]-[0063], Figs. 4A-6, Production allocation inspect and updating of shelf space allocation table in real time].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the system of Yamashita as above, to provide a shelf space allocation management device and a shelf space allocation management method, which can efficiently carry out image recognition of products so as to check the allocation of products and the number of products on shelves (Yamashita, Paragraphs [0009]).
Regarding claim 36, Lert, Yamashita, and Danelski disclose the apparatus of claim 16, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Yamashita teaches wherein the pre-existing file includes metadata for each object, the metadata comprising at least one of: object identifier, timestamp, user ID, or object dimensions [Paragraph [0032]-[0038] & [0043]-[0063], Figs. 4A-6, Product ID, Product image, shelf ID, position information].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the system of Yamashita as above, to provide a shelf space allocation management device and a shelf space allocation management method, which can efficiently carry out image recognition of products so as to check the allocation of products and the number of products on shelves (Yamashita, Paragraphs [0009]).
Regarding claim 37, Lert, Yamashita, and Danelski disclose the apparatus of claim 16, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Yamashita teaches wherein the controller is further configured to retrieve object information from a code label affixed to the object using an optical code reader [Paragraph [0061], the clerk 109 reads product information with a barcode reader so as to carry out an input process, and then the register 110 transmits to the product management device 10 a product ID of the purchased product and the number of products being purchased].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the system of Yamashita as above, to provide a shelf space allocation management device and a shelf space allocation management method, which can efficiently carry out image recognition of products so as to check the allocation of products and the number of products on shelves (Yamashita, Paragraphs [0009]).
Regarding claim 38, Lert, Yamashita, and Danelski disclose the apparatus of claim 16, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Yamashita teaches wherein the controller is further configured to compare the detected object with entries in the pre-existing file to verify object identity [Paragraph [0052], For example, the product recognition part 15 compares an image captured by the image acquisition part 14 with images of various products registered in the product table so as to specify an image of product having features closest to a captured image as a product reflected in the captured image.].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the system of Yamashita as above, to provide a shelf space allocation management device and a shelf space allocation management method, which can efficiently carry out image recognition of products so as to check the allocation of products and the number of products on shelves (Yamashita, Paragraphs [0009]).
Claim(s) 22, 27, 34 & 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lert, Jr. et al. (US 2017/0313514 A1) (hereinafter Lert) and Yamashita (US 2018/0002109 A1) (hereinafter Yamashita) in view of Shakes et al. (US 2015/0221021 A1) (hereinafter Shakes).
Regarding claim 22, Lert and Yamashita disclose the apparatus of claim 2, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
However, Lert and Yamashita do not explicitly disclose wherein the pre-existing file is stored in a remote server accessible via a network connection.
Shakes teaches wherein the pre-existing file is stored in a remote server accessible via a network connection [Paragraph [0078]-[0090], Internet accessible web server 600 storing databases].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the system of Shakes as above, to verify that the correct items are in the order (Shakes, Paragraphs [0009]).
Regarding claim 27, Lert and Yamashita disclose the apparatus of claim 2, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
However, Lert and Yamashita do not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is further configured to assign a unique identifier to each registered object and store the identifier in the pre-existing file.
Shakes teaches wherein the controller is further configured to assign a unique identifier to each registered object and store the identifier in the pre-existing file [Paragraph [0063], For example, identification codes on individual items or on paperwork associated with an order may be read, either manually or via a reading device, as the order is being processed. In one embodiment, control system 300 may use the identification codes as part of tracking the progress of an order through a processing station or through the order fulfillment center].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the system of Shakes as above, to verify that the correct items are in the order (Shakes, Paragraphs [0009]).
Claim(s) 34 & 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lert, Jr. et al. (US 2017/0313514 A1) (hereinafter Lert), Yamashita (US 2018/0002109 A1) (hereinafter Yamashita), and Danelski (US 2008/0183328 A1) (hereinafter Danelski) in view of Shakes et al. (US 2015/0221021 A1) (hereinafter Shakes).
Regarding claim 34, Lert, Yamashita, and Danelski disclose the apparatus of claim 16, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
However, Lert and Yamashita do not explicitly disclose wherein the pre-existing file is stored in a remote server accessible via a network connection.
Shakes teaches wherein the pre-existing file is stored in a remote server accessible via a network connection [Paragraph [0078]-[0090], Internet accessible web server 600 storing databases].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the system of Shakes as above, to verify that the correct items are in the order (Shakes, Paragraphs [0009]).
Regarding claim 39, Lert, Yamashita, and Danelski disclose the apparatus of claim 16, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
However, Lert and Yamashita do not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is further configured to assign a unique identifier to each registered object and store the identifier in the pre-existing file.
Shakes teaches wherein the controller is further configured to assign a unique identifier to each registered object and store the identifier in the pre-existing file [Paragraph [0063], For example, identification codes on individual items or on paperwork associated with an order may be read, either manually or via a reading device, as the order is being processed. In one embodiment, control system 300 may use the identification codes as part of tracking the progress of an order through a processing station or through the order fulfillment center].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the system of Shakes as above, to verify that the correct items are in the order (Shakes, Paragraphs [0009]).
Claims 28 & 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lert, Jr. et al. (US 2017/0313514 A1) (hereinafter Lert), Yamashita (US 2018/0002109 A1) (hereinafter Yamashita), Seagraves et al. (WO 2018/067127 A1) (hereinafter Seagraves), and Danelski (US 2008/0183328 A1) (hereinafter Danelski) in view of Shakes et al. (US 2015/0221021 A1) (hereinafter Shakes).
Regarding claim 28, Lert, Yamashita, Seagraves, and Danelski disclose the apparatus of claim 9, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
However, Lert, Yamashita, Seagraves, and Danelski do not explicitly disclose wherein the pre-existing file is stored in a remote server accessible via a network connection.
Shakes teaches wherein the pre-existing file is stored in a remote server accessible via a network connection [Paragraph [0078]-[0090], Internet accessible web server 600 storing databases].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the system of Shakes as above, to verify that the correct items are in the order (Shakes, Paragraphs [0009]).
Regarding claim 33, Lert, Yamashita, Seagraves, and Danelski disclose the apparatus of claim 9, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
However, Lert, Yamashita, and Seagraves do not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is further configured to assign a unique identifier to each registered object and store the identifier in the pre-existing file.
Shakes teaches wherein the controller is further configured to assign a unique identifier to each registered object and store the identifier in the pre-existing file [Paragraph [0063], For example, identification codes on individual items or on paperwork associated with an order may be read, either manually or via a reading device, as the order is being processed. In one embodiment, control system 300 may use the identification codes as part of tracking the progress of an order through a processing station or through the order fulfillment center].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lert with the system of Shakes as above, to verify that the correct items are in the order (Shakes, Paragraphs [0009]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487