Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending;
Claims 1-8 and 16-20 are currently withdrawn;
Claims 1, 9, 11, and 16 are currently amended.
Status of Rejections and Objections Pending Since the Office Action of 02/26/2026
The 112(b) rejection of claim 11 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment;
The 102(a)(2) rejections of claims 9-15 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment and replaced with new 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 05/07/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 9-15 under 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive in regards to the prior art not teaching the newly added amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kim in view of Song.
However, Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in regards to arguments outside of the newly added amendments.
Applicant argues that “Applicant’s claim is architecturally and structurally distinct Kim” (See Remarks, page 9) such that the Applicant’s claimed prismatic container is a unified body, not two case halves bonded together such as in Kim. As such, Applicant argues that Kim’s structure does not read on the “unified prismatic container with defined side, end, top, and bottom portions” of the Applicant’s claim (see Remarks, pg. 10). The examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim language requires “a prismatic body, the prismatic container including a body portion composed of opposed first and second side portions, opposed first and second end portions, a bottom portion, and a top portion (claim 9, lines 2-4). Kim teaches a prismatic body (fig. 1; [0055]). By default, a prismatic body contains 6 walls. Further, Kim specifically defines all 6 walls, including “opposed first and second side portions, opposed first and second end portions, a bottom portion, and a top portion” in reference to the embodiments shown in figures 10-15. In the case of the embodiment of figure 10, for example, the case includes a lower surface portion 610b-L (corresponding to the claimed bottom portion) side portions 610b-S3, 610b-S2 (corresponding to the claimed opposed first and second end or side portions), side portions 610b-S1 and 620b-S1 (corresponding to the claimed opposed first and second end or side portions), and upper surface portion 620b-U (corresponding to the claimed top portion). These components constitute the first case 610b and second case 620b, which together constitute the battery case 600b, interpreted as the claimed prismatic body (Kim [0114]-[0116]). A similar statement can be made for the other embodiments of Kim as well.
Applicant also argues that “the prismatic container is a separately recited element from the first and second terminals”, and that the non-rejection of 02/26/2026 “conflates the terminal with the entire battery case structure”, and therefore “there is no structural separation between the container body and the terminal” as is required by instant claim 9 (Remarks, pg.10). The examiner respectfully disagrees. In Kim, the terminals and prismatic container are separately defined. Kim defines the prismatic case, interpreted as the claimed prismatic container, as including a first case, a second case, and an insulation bonding portion (Kim [0054]-[0055]). Kim then separately defines the first case and the second case as terminals (Kim [0084]). While each terminal constitutes a portion of the prismatic container, the terminals themselves cannot be defined as the same as the container. The container is inclusive of all three parts, including the insulation bonding portion, combined.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 102(a)(2) rejection under Yeo have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US-20240014518-A1) in view of Song et al. (US 20160079574 A1), hereinafter Song.
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches a tabless prismatic battery cell assembly, comprising: a prismatic container ([0006]; figs. 1-2, 4-15), the prismatic container including a body portion composed of opposed first and second side portions, opposed first and second end portions, a bottom portion, and a top portion ([0006]; figs. 1-2, 4-15; the body is a rectangular prism with 6 walls; see fig. 10 and [0116]-[0117] for each wall listed individually); an electrode stack (fig. 3; [0036]; [0065]), the electrode stack being composed as a plurality of anodes interleaved with a plurality of cathodes (fig. 3; [0065]; anodes 400; [0069]); wherein each of the plurality of anodes includes a first current collector having an uncoated anode current collector portion that extends in a first direction away from the electrode stack (fig. 3; [0069] anode current collectors 410; [0067] current collectors included protruding section 410P extend in direction d2); wherein each of the plurality of cathodes includes a second current collector having an uncoated cathode current collector portion thereof that extends in a second direction away from the electrode stack, wherein the second direction is opposite to the first direction (fig. 3; [0069] cathode current collectors 310; [0066] the protruding portions of the cathode current collectors 310P that are uncoated extend in a direction d1; [0068] d1 and d2 are opposite); a first terminal, the first terminal being joined to the uncoated anode current collector portions of the first current collectors of the plurality of anodes ([0085] the case 620 functions as the negative electrode terminal; figs. 1-15); and a second terminal, the second terminal being joined to the uncoated cathode current collector portions of the second current collectors of the plurality of cathodes ([0085] the case 610 functions as the positive electrode terminal; figs. 1-15), wherein the uncoated anode current collector portions of the plurality of anodes directly join to the first terminal without tab connections intermediate to the uncoated anode current collector portions and the first terminal; and wherein the uncoated cathode current collector portions of the plurality of cathodes are directly joined to the second terminal without tab connections intermediate to the uncoated cathode current collector portions and the second terminal ([0084] the second protruded portions 410P are directly connected to the case 620 that serves as an electrode terminal; the first protruded portions 310p are directly connected with the first case 610 that functions as an electrode terminal) .
Kim fails to teach wherein the uncoated anode current collector portions of the plurality of anodes are folded and overfolded to overlap and wherein the uncoated cathode current collector portions of the plurality of cathodes are folded and overfolded.
Song is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries ([0003]). Song teaches wherein the uncoated anode current collector portions of the plurality of anodes are folded and overfolded to overlap and wherein the uncoated cathode current collector portions of the plurality of cathodes are folded and overfolded ([0062]; [0007] first and second bent non-coated portions of the first and second polar plates; [0008] z shape of bend; figs. 3-4).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim such as to fold and overfold the uncoated cathode and anode current collector portions. Doing so allows for a battery with improved durability and safety while compensating for the steps, preventing or reducing damage (Song [0062]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 9. Kim also teaches wherein one of the opposed first and second side portions, the opposed first and second end portions, the bottom portion, or the top portion is fabricated from an electrically conductive material and is arranged as the first terminal ([0085] second case 620 as the first terminal; [0015] metal material; [0084] metal material with excellent electrical conductivity).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 10. Kim also teaches wherein the one of the opposed first and second side portions, the opposed first and second end portions, the bottom portion, or the top portion is joined to the uncoated anode current collector portions of the first current collectors of the plurality of anodes (figs. 1-15 protruding portions 410P are connected to the first terminal 620; [0067]; [0071]-[0075]; [0084]-[0086]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 10. Kim also teaches wherein the one of the opposed first and second side portions, the opposed first and second end portions, the bottom portion, or the top portion is joined to the uncoated anode current collector portions of the plurality of anodes via one of a laser weld, a solder weld, or an electrically conductive paste ([0075] welding bonding is preferably used).
Regarding claim 13, modified Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 10. Kim also teaches wherein the one of the opposed first and second side portions, the opposed first and second end portions, the bottom portion, or the top portion is electrically isolated ([0062] first terminal 620 is electrically isolated from 610 via an insulation bonding portion; [0014]-[0018]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 9. Kim also teaches wherein the first terminal is electrically isolated and arranged on one of the opposed first and second side portions, the opposed first and second end portions, the bottom portion, or the top portion ([0062]; [0014]-[0018]; first terminal 620 is electrically isolated from 610; figs. 1-2 and 4-15 first terminal 620 is on 610, which includes one of the opposed surfaces listed above; alternatively, see fig. 10 and [0116]-[0117]; protruding portions 410P are bonded to 620-U, which is on 620b-S1 or alternatively on 610b-S1 and 620-U is electrically isolated from 610b including 610b-S1).
Regarding claim 15, modified Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 14. Kim also teaches wherein the second terminal is electrically isolated and arranged on one of the opposed first and second side portions, the opposed first and second end portions, the bottom portion, or the top portion ([0073]; the second terminal is 610 for the cathode fig. 10 and [0116]-[0117]; protruding portions 310P are bonded to lower surface portion 610b-L, which is on 610b-S2, 610b-S3, 610b-S1, and 620b-S1, and is electrically isolated from 620b including 620b-S1 and 620b-U).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP 2005339939 A teaches an energy storage device wherein uncoated portions of the negative electrode sheet extend outside the insulating sheet from the stacked sheet ([0009]). The uncoated portions are folded multiple times ([0012]) such as to act as a spacer ([0010]), reducing the difference in thickness between the stacked thickness in the active material coated section and the thickness in the uncoated section, therefore mitigating the stress on the assembly when the stacked section of the uncoated section is compressed to fix to the current collection terminal ([0006]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722