Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II, drawn to claims 9-15, in the reply filed on 01/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-8 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/09/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the first portions" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the sake of examination, “the first portions” are being interpreted to mean the current collector coated with anode active material as defined in paragraphs [0037]-[0038] of the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US-20240014518-A1).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches a tabless prismatic battery cell assembly, comprising: a prismatic container ([0006]; figs. 1-2, 4-15), the prismatic container including a body portion composed of opposed first and second side portions, opposed first and second end portions, a bottom portion, and a top portion ([0006]; figs. 1-2, 4-15; the body is a rectangular prism with 6 walls; see fig. 10 and [0116]-[0117] for each wall listed individually); an electrode stack (fig. 3; [0036]; [0065]), the electrode stack being composed as a plurality of anodes interleaved with a plurality of cathodes (fig. 3; [0065]; anodes 400; [0069]); wherein each of the plurality of anodes includes a first current collector having an uncoated anode current collector portion that extends in a first direction away from the electrode stack (fig. 3; [0069] anode current collectors 410; [0067] current collectors included protruding section 410P extend in direction d2); wherein each of the plurality of cathodes includes a second current collector having an uncoated cathode current collector portion thereof that extends in a second direction away from the electrode stack, wherein the second direction is opposite to the first direction (fig. 3; [0069] cathode current collectors 310; [0066] the protruding portions of the cathode current collectors 310P that are uncoated extend in a direction d1; [0068] d1 and d2 are opposite); a first terminal, the first terminal being joined to the uncoated anode current collector portions of the first current collectors of the plurality of anodes ([0085] the case 620 functions as the negative electrode terminal; figs. 1-15); and a second terminal, the second terminal being joined to the uncoated cathode current collector portions of the second current collectors of the plurality of cathodes ([0085] the case 610 functions as the positive electrode terminal; figs. 1-15).
Regarding claim 10, Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 9. Park also teaches wherein one of the opposed first and second side portions, the opposed first and second end portions, the bottom portion, or the top portion is fabricated from an electrically conductive material and is arranged as the first terminal ([0085] second case 620 as the first terminal; [0015] metal material; [0084] metal material with excellent electrical conductivity).
Regarding claim 11, Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 10. Park also teaches wherein the one of the opposed first and second side portions, the opposed first and second end portions, the bottom portion, or the top portion is joined to the first portions of the first current collectors of the plurality of anodes (figs. 1-15; the non-protruding portion of the anode current collectors 410 that are coated with anode active material 420 (interpreted as the first portions) are connected to the first terminal 620 via the protruding portions 410P; [0067]; [0071]; [0074]).
Regarding claim 12, Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 10. Park also teaches wherein the one of the opposed first and second side portions, the opposed first and second end portions, the bottom portion, or the top portion is joined to the uncoated anode current collector portions of the plurality of anodes via one of a laser weld, a solder weld, or an electrically conductive paste ([0075] welding bonding is preferably used).
Regarding claim 13, Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 10. Park also teaches wherein the one of the opposed first and second side portions, the opposed first and second end portions, the bottom portion, or the top portion is electrically isolated ([0062] first terminal 620 is electrically isolated from 610 via an insulation bonding portion; [0014]-[0018]).
Regarding claim 14, Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 9. Park also teaches wherein the first terminal is electrically isolated and arranged on one of the opposed first and second side portions, the opposed first and second end portions, the bottom portion, or the top portion ([0062]; [0014]-[0018]; first terminal 620 is electrically isolated from 610; figs. 1-2 and 4-15 first terminal 620 is on 610, which includes one of the opposed surfaces listed above; alternatively, see fig. 10 and [0116]-[0117]; protruding portions 410P are bonded to 620-U, which is on 620b-S1 or alternatively on 610b-S1 and 620-U is electrically isolated from 610b including 610b-S1).
Regarding claim 15, Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 14. Park also teaches wherein the second terminal is electrically isolated and arranged on one of the opposed first and second side portions, the opposed first and second end portions, the bottom portion, or the top portion ([0073]; the second terminal is 610 for the cathode fig. 10 and [0116]-[0117]; protruding portions 310P are bonded to lower surface portion 610b-L, which is on 610b-S2, 610b-S3, 610b-S1, and 620b-S1, and is electrically isolated from 620b including 620b-S1 and 620b-U).
Alternatively, claims 9 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yeo et al. (US-20240136673-A1), hereinafter Yeo.
Regarding claim 9, Yeo teaches a tabless prismatic battery cell assembly, comprising: a prismatic container (figs. 1-2 rectangular/cuboid container; [0047]), the prismatic container including a body portion composed of opposed first and second side portions, opposed first and second end portions, a bottom portion, and a top portion (figs. 1-2), the electrode stack being composed as a plurality of anodes interleaved with a plurality of cathodes ; wherein each of the plurality of anodes includes a first current collector having an uncoated anode current collector portion that extends in a first direction away from the electrode stack; wherein each of the plurality of cathodes includes a second current collector having an uncoated cathode current collector portion thereof that extends in a second direction away from the electrode stack, wherein the second direction is opposite to the first direction (first electrodes 111 and second electrodes 112; with electrode uncoated portions 111a and 112a; [0031]-[0035]; figs. 1-2 and 5); a first terminal, the first terminal being joined to the uncoated anode current collector portions of the first current collectors of the plurality of anodes; and a second terminal, the second terminal being joined to the uncoated cathode current collector portions of the second current collectors of the plurality of cathodes (terminals 140 and 150 are connected to the electrode uncoated portions 111a and 112a via first and second current collector plates 120 and 130; [0031]-[0038]; figs. 1-2 and fig. 5).
Regarding claim 14, Yeo teaches all of the limitations of claim 9. Yeo also teaches wherein the first terminal is electrically isolated and arranged on one of the opposed first and second side portions, the opposed first and second end portions, the bottom portion, or the top portion (first terminal 140 is arranged on the top portion; figs. 1-2; [0032]; insulated with the gasket 174, coupling member 175, and insulating member 180; [0051]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 15, Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 14. Park also teaches wherein the second terminal is electrically isolated and arranged on one of the opposed first and second side portions, the opposed first and second end portions, the bottom portion, or the top portion (second terminal 150 is arranged on the top portion; figs. 1-2; [0032]; insulated with the gasket 174, coupling member 175, and insulating member 180; [0051]-[0053]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US-20240347879-A1 teaches a prismatic battery cell including a layer stack with a plurality of anode layers alternatively stacked with a plurality of cathode layers, wherein uncoated current collector “conductor tracks” are electrically contacted to a first cover and an anode terminal disposed on and electrically connected to the first cover ([0039]; [0002]).
/M.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1722 /NIKI BAKHTIARI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722