DETAILED ACTION
The examiner has considered the response filed by applicants on February 4, 2026. Applicant’s arguments were not persuasive; as such, the following rejection has been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagy et al. (10,710,004).
The instant claims are drawn to a process for treating an alkyl aromatic oxidate stream used for alkylene oxide production, the process comprising:
The claims are also drawn to a process for the co-production of an alkene oxide and styrene monomer, starting from the oxidation of ethylbenzene.
Nagy et al. teach a process for upgrading a waste stream in a propylene oxide/styrene co-production process. The waste stream is generated from a POSM process, wherein ethylbenzene is oxidized to form ethylbenzene hydroperoxide (presence of a small amount of alkali may be used to improve oxidation rate and selectivity); the hydroperoxide is reacted with propylene to form propylene oxide and 1-phenyl ethanol. Propylene oxide and 1-phenyl ethanol may be separated, and the latter can be dehydrated to produce styrene monomer. A heavy organic sodium containing low value product stream resulting from such separation processes is used as the waste stream to be treated according to the invention (col. 11, lines 34 to 60).
According to the invention, the waste stream is contacted with water and carbon dioxide, whereby sodium is extracted from the organic stream, followed by separation of an aqueous sodium salt-containing slurry phase from an organic phase comprising a reduced sodium content relative to the organic stream. Contacting the waste stream with water and carbon dioxide mya be done at a temperature in the range of 20 to 100°C, at ambient, or above ambient pressure (col. 5, line 57, to col. 8, line 48). The method may include repeating the contacting (washing) and separating steps one or more times on the organic phase (abstract).
The process taught by Nagy et al. does not actively comprise a step wherein an alkyl aromatic oxidate stream is contacted with an aqueous alkali solution prior to washing and separation cycles in the presence of water and carbon dioxide. However, Nagy et al. teach, by way of reference, that in the POSM process, various distillation steps are employed to separated unreacted reagents, as well as various product streams, and one or more caustic treatment steps may be employed in order to reduce the acidic characteristics of various streams. During such processes, a heavy residue stream containing relatively high amounts of sodium compounds is formed (col. 1, lines 25-40).
In view of this disclosure by Nagy et al., it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art that a product stream resulting from a POSM process may undergo a step, wherein the stream is contacted with an aqueous alkali solution, e.g., a caustic solution, in order to reduce any acidic characteristics of such streams, prior to being subjected to the one or more washing steps in the presence of water and carbon dioxide, taught by Nagy et al., for reducing the sodium content in the organic phase of a POSM process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argue that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the Nagy reference to support the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to provide an alkylaromatic oxidate stream comprising (i) an alkyl aromatic hydroperoxide compound, (ii) at least on undesired compound, and (iii) an organic solvent; and then contact such a stream with an aqueous alkali solution to form a mixture.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument. Nagy et al. teach a process for upgrading a waste stream in a propylene oxide/styrene coproduction process (e.g., a POSM process). A stream from a POSM process would comprise ethylbenzene hydroperoxide, ethylbenzene, propylene oxide, and organic sodium compounds. Nagy et al. does not teach an example wherein such a stream is contacted with an aqueous alkali solution; however, the reference expressly teaches that in the POSM process, one or more caustic treatment steps may be employed to reduce acidic characteristics of various streams (col. 1, lines 32-36), and that in conventional process for removing sodium from waste streams produced in POSM processes, one or more caustic treatment steps are often utilized (col. 4, lines 38-40).
In view of these teachings from Nagy et al., the examiner contends that the rejection of record is proper.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIKARL A WITHERSPOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692