Election/Restrictions
Claims 18-20 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on January 12, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on January 12, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the search for both inventions would not be a burden for the examiner. This is not found persuasive because the search for a cabinet/compartments with a distinct hinge (claims 1-17) is vastly different from that of a storage system retrieval system method (claims 18-20). The method claims are not concerned with the hinge and the product claims are not concerned with the method of retrieving product from a cabinet/compartments. Note: claims 16 and 17 are merely directed to a generic controller with sensors located within the cabinet and not to the detailed retrieving method claimed in claims 18-20. Class 312/A47B is a mechanical class having cabinets with hinges classified therein. The cabinets being usable in residential and commercial spaces. Class 705/G06Q is a class including computer/electronic controlled retail systems and their methods of operation classified therein. See references 10,586,411 and 2012/0158606 where the cabinet class 312 is not a consideration even though a cabinet is part of the invention. Residential cabinets not being found therein The searches are completely different and would be a burden for the examiner. Finally, if the elected claims are found allowable, since the hinges are not limitations in the method claims, no rejoinder will be made.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Servies et al (CA3108584). Services teaches a storage system (Fig. 2) comprising: a base compartment with a hollow interior space defined by a back wall (20), a top wall (countertop; paragraph 0031), a bottom wall (35), a first sidewall (15A), a second sidewall (15B), and an opening formed opposite to the back wall (see Fig. 2), the first sidewall and the second sidewall being connected to opposing sides of the back wall by a hinge structure (65), each hinge structure comprising: a first hinge column (85) mounted on each side of the back wall; and a second hinge column (80) mounted on a side of each of the first sidewall and the second sidewall and connected to the first hinge column (via 90,115,120), wherein each of the first hinge column and the second hinge column include a ridged arm (95) and a grooved arm (see annotated figure below) disposed at a right angle with respect to the ridged arm.
For claim 7, Servies further teaches that each first hinge column engages each second hinge column to position each sidewall of the base compartment at a 0 degree angle with respect to the back wall in a collapsed configuration (Fig. 4A).
For claim 9, Servies further teaches that one or more adjustable compartments (drawer 45) are attached to the base compartment (paragraph 0005,0028).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakins et al (2011/0037360) in view of Servies et al (CA3108584). Jakins teaches a storage system (Figs. 1A-E) comprising: a base compartment including a back wall (a; see annotated figure below), a top wall (b) , a bottom wall (c), a first sidewall (d), and a second sidewall (e) defining a hollow interior space and an opening disposed opposite to the back wall (Fig. 1D), each sidewall of the base compartment being connected to opposing sides of the back wall. There is an adjustable compartment (114) connected to the base compartment, the adjustable compartment including a back wall (f), a top wall (g), a bottom wall (h), a first sidewall (i), and a second sidewall (j) defining a hollow interior space and an opening disposed opposite to the back wall, each sidewall of the adjustable compartment being connected to opposing sides of the back wall and wherein one of the first or second sidewalls of the adjustable compartment is connected to one of the first or second sidewalls of the base compartment by a hinge structure (118). For claim 10, Jakins fails to teach hinges between the rear walls and side walls of the base compartment and adjustable compartment, respectively, and fails to teach the hinge construction claimed between these walls and between the compartments. Servies teaches a storage system (Fig. 2) comprising: a base compartment with a hollow interior space defined by a back wall (20), a top wall (countertop; paragraph 0031), a bottom wall (35), a first sidewall (15A), a second sidewall (15B), and an opening formed opposite to the back wall (see Fig. 2), the first sidewall and the second sidewall being connected to opposing sides of the back wall by a hinge structure (65), each hinge structure comprising: a first hinge column (85) mounted on each side of the back wall; and a second hinge column (80) mounted on a side of each of the first sidewall and the second sidewall and connected to the first hinge column (via 90,115,120), wherein each of the first hinge column and the second hinge column include a ridged arm (95) and a grooved arm (see annotated figure below) disposed at a right angle with respect to the ridged arm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage system of Jakins by adding hinges, such as is taught by Servies, between the rear walls and side walls of the base compartment and adjustable compartment, to provide knockdown furniture for easy storage and transport when the system is not in use and to use the hinges of Servies between the compartments of Jakins, to simplify construction of the system by needing one type of hinge.
For claim 11, Jakins in view of Servies further teaches that the adjustable compartment is movable between 0 and 180 degrees with respect to the base compartment.
For claim 12, Jakins in view of Servies further teaches that when the system is in a closed configuration, the opening of the base compartment abuts the opening of the adjustable compartment.
For claim 13, Jakins in view of Servies further teaches a plurality of storage subcomponents (drawers shown in Fig. 1C of Jakins) that are disposed within the hollow interior spaces of the base compartment and the adjustable compartment.
For claim 14, Jakins in view of Servies further teaches that the plurality of storage subcomponents include at least one of a shelving kit, container insert, hanging rod, cabinet door, drawer, retaining bar, hook or hanger, receptacle, or rack (see Fig. 1C of Jakins).
For claim 15, although the first storage system embodiment of Jakins (shown in Figs. 1A-E) fails to teach a linear movement device attached to each of the bottom walls of the base compartment and the adjustable compartment, in a further embodiment (Fig. 5B), wheels (140) are disclosed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage system of Jakins by adding wheels on the bottom walls of the compartments, to allow easy transporting of the storage system and to allow easy movement of the adjustable compartment relative to the base compartment.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakins et al (2011/0037360) in view of Servies et al (CA3108584) as applied to claims 10-15 above, and further in view of Han et al (2016/0058181). As stated above, Jakins in view of Servies teaches the limitations of claim 10, including a storage system. For claims 16 and 17, Jakins in view of Servies fails to teach a controller and sensors within the compartments. Han teaches a storage system having compartment with a controller (58) configured to receive instructions from one or more user devices (68,78). One or more sensors (110; see Fig. 2) disposed within the compartment, the one or more sensors being communicatively connected to the controller (see claim 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage system of Jakins in view of Servies by adding a controller and sensors, such as is taught by Han, within the compartments, to be able to catalog and/or retrieve items from there within.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References 20160166057; 7261384; 20030102141; 3865051; 3282634;1480945; and 4836626 teach various cabinet structures.
Wilkens
February 5, 2026
/JANET M WILKENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637