DETAILED ACTION
Amendment filed on 06/02/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-20 are pending. Claims 1, 3-4, 7-10, 15, 18 and 20 have been amended. Claim 2 has been canceled without prejudice.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (Gao), US Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0065374 A1, and further in view of Kirch et al. (Kirch), US Patent Application Publication No. US 2024/0111955 A1.
As to independent claim 1, Gao discloses a method for training a model configured to perform a named entity recognition task, the method comprising:
receiving, with a processor, a sentence and ground truth labels as training inputs (paragraph [0025]: receiving one or more sets of training data, each set of training data may include a training text (sentence) and its corresponding name entity tags and relation labels, wherein the training text may be unstructured text (sentence); paragraphs [0026], [0058]: the ground truth can be named entity tags and relation labels for the training texts);
determining, with the processor, a text embedding representing the sentence using the model based on the sentence (paragraph [0018]: for the named entity recognition (NER) task, various types of word representations of an unstructured text (sentence) is determined, wherein the word representations may include word embeddings (text embeddings);
determining, with the processor, an attention vector using the model based on the text embedding (paragraph [0037]: attention-based subword encoder sublayer is designated to differentiate these subwords and considering their importance, for example, the attention layer will generate an importance score for each subword based on the dot product of attention weight vector and the encoding of the subword; paragraph [043]: the received input may be fed to a convolutional layer, e.g., a CNN, to generate a set of vector representations (attention vectors) of phrases in the sentence);
determining, with the processor, an attended text embedding using the model
based on the text embedding and the attention vector (paragraph [0043]: an attention layer may be applied to the input layer to learn critical words for relation classification, for example, the attention layer may be a multihead attention layer, and the importance score for each word in the attention mechanism may be based on the dot product of the attention vector and the vector representation of the word);
determining, with the processor, named entity recognition labels for individual
words of the sentence using the model based on the attended text embedding (paragraphs [0008]-[0009]: determining a plurality of word representations of an unstructured text and tagging entities in the unstructured text by performing a named entity recognition task on the plurality of word representations);
determining, with the processor, a first training loss based on the named entity
recognition labels and the ground truth labels (Figure 5 and paragraphs [0060]-[0061]: model training device may calculate a loss associated with named entity recognition (NER) and a loss associated with relation extraction (RE), respectively, the losses may be calculated according to a loss function, which may be a weighted average of the losses of the NER part and the RE part; and
refining, with the processor, the model using the first training loss (paragraphs [0062]-[0064]: the model training device may adjust sets of parameters for optimization).
As pointed out about that Gao discloses “determining, with the processor, an attention vector using the model based on the text embedding” above. Gao, however, does not disclose determining, with the processor, an attention vector based on the text embedding and a label-word relation matrix representing relations between respective words in a vocabulary and respective labels in a plurality of labels.
In the same field of endeavor, Kirch discloses an input text can be a natural language text, where the words in the natural language text are converted into embeddings and inserted into an embedding matrix during pre-processing (paragraph [0009]). Kirch further discloses in paragraph [0033] that a Neural Capsule Entity Disambiguator receives the natural language text as input, for example, the text input is “John Smith is an artis. John likes to paint” passed to the Neural Capsule Entity Disambiguator is converted to embedding, where 9 embeddings in the text input having values corresponding to the words comprising embedding vector, wherein each word embedding in the embedding vector is itself a vector. Kirch further discloses in paragraph [0034] that the features of in text are identified during pre-processing and fed into the Named Entity Disambiguation (NED) model, wherein the feature are converted to numerical representations and included with each word embedding that the feature is relevant to, as feature embeddings, and the embedding vector is converted to a two dimensional input, where each sentence is inserted into a row resulting in an embedding matrix (paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Gao, to incorporate determining, with the processor, an attention vector based on the text embedding and a label-word relation matrix representing relations between respective words in a vocabulary and respective labels in a plurality of labels, as taught by Kirch for the purpose of identifying if a word in the input is a named entity or not a named entity.
As to dependent claim 3, Gao and Kirch disclose generating, prior to training the model, the label-word relation matrix based on the predetermined vocabulary and the plurality of labels (Kirch, paragraphs [0028], [0046]).
As to dependent claim 4, Gao and Kirch disclose the generating the label-word relation matrix further comprising:
determining a plurality of word embeddings representing all words in the predetermined vocabulary using the model (Kirch, paragraphs [0028], [0046]);
determining a plurality of label embeddings representing all labels in the plurality
of labels using the model (Kirch, paragraphs [0028], [0046]); and
determining the label-word relation matrix based on the plurality of word embeddings and plurality of label embeddings (Kirch, paragraphs [0028], [0046]).
As to dependent claim 5, Gao discloses the generating the label-word relation matrix further comprising: determining each element of the label-word relation matrix by determining a dot product of a respective word embedding from the plurality of word embeddings and a respective label embedding from the plurality of label embeddings (paragraphs [0037], [0043]).
As to dependent claim 6, Gao and Kirch disclose the generating the label-word relation matrix further comprising: normalizing each element of the label-word relation matrix using a normalization operation (Gao, paragraph [0043], Kirch, paragraph [0047]).
As to dependent claim 7, Gao and Kirch disclose wherein the plurality of labels include: compound labels each indicating both a named entity type and a label boundary; decomposed entity labels indicating a named entity type (Gao, paragraphs [0018], [0034], [0039]); and
decomposed label boundaries indicating a label boundary (Gao, paragraphs [0018], [0034], [0039]).
As to dependent claim 8, Gao and Kirch disclose the generating the label-word relation matrix further comprising:
receiving a label-label relation matrix representing relations between respective labels in the plurality of labels and respective other labels in the plurality of labels (Kirch, Figure 8, paragraph [0048]);
receiving a word-word relation matrix representing relations between respective
words in the predetermined vocabulary and respective other words in the predetermined vocabulary (Kirch, Figure 8, paragraph [0046]); and
augmenting the label-word relation matrix by multiplying the label-label relation
matrix and the word-word relation matrix with the label-word relation matrix (Gao, paragraph [0043]; Kirch, paragraphs [0046], [0048]) .
As to dependent claim 9, Gao and Kirch disclose wherein: each element of the label-label relation matrix represents a similarity in meaning between a respective label from the plurality of labels and a respective other label from the plurality of labels (Kirch, paragraph [0042]); and
each element of the word-word relation matrix represents a similarity in meaning
between a respective word from the predetermined vocabulary and a respective other word from the predetermined vocabulary (Kirch, paragraph [0042]).
As to dependent claim 10, Gao and Kirch disclose the determining the attention vector further comprising:
determining the attention vector as a sequence of attention values, each attention value in the attention vector corresponding to a respective word in the sentence and being determined based on a subset of elements in the label-word relation matrix representing relations between the respective word and the plurality of labels (Gao, paragraphs [0043], [0044]; Kirch, paragraph [0008]).
As to dependent claim 11, Gao and Kirch disclose the determining the attention vector further comprising: determining each attention value in the attention vector based on an element in the label-word relation matrix representing a label in the plurality of labels that has a strongest relation with the respective word (Gao, paragraph [0041]; Kirch, paragraph [0042]).
As to dependent claim 12, Gao and Kirch disclose the determining the attention vector further comprising: determining the attention vector as a sequence of attention values, each corresponding to a respective word in the sentence, each attention value in the attention vector being determined based on a subset of elements in the label-word relation matrix representing (i) relations between the respective word and the plurality of labels and (ii) relations between at least one word adjacent to the respective word and the plurality of labels (Kirch, paragraphs [0047]-[0048]).
As to dependent claim 13, Gao and Kirch disclose the determining the attention vector further comprising at least one of:
weighting the subset of elements in the label-word relation matrix with a weight
matrix (Kirch, paragraph [0042]); and
offsetting the subset of elements in the label-word relation matrix with an offset
matrix.
As to dependent claim 14, Gao and Kirch disclose the determining the attention vector further comprising: modifying the sequence of attention values in the attention vector depending on a pattern in the attention vector (Gao, Figure 5).
As to dependent claim 15, Gao and Kirch disclose wherein the pattern is positional relationship between (i) at least one first word in the sentence corresponding to attention values in the attention vector with respect to a particular label of the plurality of labels that exceed a predetermined threshold and (ii) at least one second word in the sentence corresponding to an entity that is to be labeled with the particular label (Gao, paragraph [0044]).
As to dependent claim 17, Gao discloses the determining the attended text embedding further comprising:
determining the attended text embedding by multiplying the text embedding with
the attention vector (Gao, paragraphs [0037], [0043]).
As to dependent claim 18, Gao and Kirch disclose wherein the sentence is one of a plurality of sentences, the method further comprising:
determining, with the processor, for each respective sentence in the plurality of
sentences, a respective difficulty using the label-word relation matrix, each respective
difficulty indicating a difficulty of performing a named entity recognition task with
respect to the respective sentence (Kirch, paragraphs [0041], [0042]);
scheduling, with the processor, the plurality of sentences into a sequence of
sentences, using a curriculum learning technique in which sentences having a relatively
lower named entity recognition difficulty are sequenced earlier than sentences having a
relatively higher named entity recognition difficulty (Kirch, paragraphs [0041], [0042]); and
feeding, with the processor, during training, the plurality of sentences into the
model according to the scheduled sequence of sentences (Kirch, paragraphs [0041], [0042]).
As to dependent claim 19, Gao and Kirch disclose wherein the sequence of sentences is organized into training batches, each training batch having a respective ratio of (i) sentences having a relatively lower difficulty and (ii) sentences having a relatively higher difficulty (Kirch, paragraphs [0041], [0042]), the scheduling further comprising:
setting, the respective ratio for each training batch in sequence of sentences,
depending on a performance of the model with respect to a previous training batch in the sequence of sentences (Kirch, paragraphs [0041], [0042]).
As to dependent claim 20, Gao discloses determining a classification label for the sentence as a whole using the model (Figure 6 and paragraphs [0068]-[0071]);
determining a second training loss based on the classification label and the ground truth labels (Figure 5 and paragraphs [0060]-[0061]); and
refining the model jointly using the first training loss and the second training loss (Figure 5 and paragraphs [0060]-[0061]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao and Kirch as discussed in claims 1, 3-15 and 17-20 above, and further in view of Kirch et al. (Kirch_0193368), US Patent Application Publication No. US 2024/0193368 A1.
As to dependent claim 16, Gao and Kirch, however, do not disclose the modifying further comprising: reducing the attention values in the attention vector corresponding to the at least one first word; and increasing attention values in the attention vector corresponding to the at least one second word.
In the same field of endeavor, Kirch_0193368 discloses in paragraphs [0032], [0035], [0036] and [0039] that Each Neural Capsule Embedding Network is configured to identify and classify named entities having a specific span length. M is a defined maximum span length, which is 32 in the preferred embodiment, such that the 32 Neural Capsule Embedding Networks are each configured to an assigned span length of 1 through 32. A Neural Capsule Embedding Network configured to span length 1 205 is tasked with identifying 1 word span named entities. A Neural Capsule Embedding Network configured to span length 2 210 is tasked with identifying 2 word span named entities. A Neural Capsule Embedding Network configured to span length 3 215 is tasked with identifying 3 word span named entities. A Neural Capsule Embedding Network configured to span length 4 220 is tasked with identifying 4 word span named entities, and so on.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the systems of Gao and Kirch, to incorporate reducing the attention values in the attention vector corresponding to the at least one first word; and increasing attention values in the attention vector corresponding to the at least one second word, as taught by Kirch_0193368 for the purpose of identifying named entities of longer span lengths
Response to Arguments
In the Remarks, Applicant argues in substance that
Gao does not anticipate a label-word relation matrix representing relations between respective words in a predetermined vocabulary and respective labels in a plurality of labels.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, Examiner has used Kirch (‘1955) reference for teaching this limitation. Kirch discloses an input text can be a natural language text, where the words in the natural language text are converted into embeddings and inserted into an embedding matrix during pre-processing (paragraph [0009]). Kirch further discloses in paragraph [0033] that a Neural Capsule Entity Disambiguator receives the natural language text as input, for example, the text input is “John Smith is an artis. John likes to paint” passed to the Neural Capsule Entity Disambiguator is converted to embedding, where 9 embeddings in the text input having values corresponding to the words comprising embedding vector, wherein each word embedding in the embedding vector is itself a vector. Kirch further discloses in paragraph [0034] that the features of in text are identified during pre-processing and fed into the Named Entity Disambiguation (NED) model, wherein the feature are converted to numerical representations and included with each word embedding that the feature is relevant to, as feature embeddings, and the embedding vector is converted to a two dimensional input, where each sentence is inserted into a row resulting in an embedding matrix (paragraph [0035]). Thus, Kirch teaches “a label-word relation matrix representing relations between respective words in a predetermined vocabulary and respective labels in a plurality of labels”.
The combination of Gao and Kirch fails to teach “a label-word relation matrix representing relations between respective words in a predetermined vocabulary and respective labels in a plurality of labels”.
In reply to this argument, Examiner disagrees and pointed out how Kirch teaches limitation. Please see the reply to argument A above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37CFR 1.136(a).
/CHAU T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2177