DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 9/22/26 is acknowledged.
NOTE: the Examiner thanks the Applicant’s representative for identifying correctly the three groups. The Examiner agrees with the Applicant’s clarification of the three groups.
Claims 1-10 and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/22/26.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “attachment portion protruding” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
For example, the written specification discloses that the “attachment portion” is element (15). Figure 4 shows element (15), however, the Examiner cannot distinguish how element (15) protrudes from the main body. Additionally, the Examiner is not clear what is element (16). Does Figure 4 is the cover in the cylindrical configuration? Does element (15) is the “tab” and element (16) comprise the “slot”? Correction or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Francis et al US Patent Pub. 2002/0123789A1.
Francis et al discloses a biological cover formed of a biological material (paragraphs 13 and 21), comprising a main body of the biological material in a cylindrical configuration having a first cylinder diameter; and at least one fold in the main body, wherein the at least one fold is configured to at least partially unfold upon radial dilation of the biological material to permit enlargement of the cylindrical configuration to a second cylinder diameter. See paragraph 24.
Regarding claims 16 and 17 see paragraph 21 disclosing pericardium tissue, therefore, the pericardium comprises collagen.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, the Examiner interpreted the sutures in paragraph 45 as the protrusions, the sutures are used to attach the cover to the stent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francis et al US Patent Pub. 2002/0123789A1 in view of Levi et al US Patent Pub. 2014/0249614A1.
Francis et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Additionally, Francis in paragraph 24 discloses a cover having overlapping portions or crimped portions. However, Francis is silent regarding having a cover with at least one tab and at least one opening, wherein the at least one tab is arranged through the at least one opening to form a tab-and-slot connection.
Levi et al discloses a stent having a sheath covering the stent. The sheath can have multiple configurations (see Figs. 7A-C), one configuration is a rolled no overlap configuration (Fig. 7A), second an oval-shaped (Fig. 7B) and a third an overlap rolled configuration (Fig. 7C). One of the embodiments of the Levi et al as shown in Figs. 16 and 17 (See paragraphs 175-179) discloses a sheet that includes two tabs and a slot at the other end for the purpose of avoiding the unraveling of the sheet too far to assure proper stent covering and alignment.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the overlapping cover of the Francis et al reference with the overlap cover having the tabs and slot of the Levi et al reference in order to avoid the unraveling of the sheet too far to assure proper stent covering and alignment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Pub. 2010/0122698A1 --- See Figure 2 disclosing attachment portion protruding from body.
US Patent --- See Figs. 1-2B showing tabs extending along a slot creating a connection.
/ALVIN J STEWART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 10/14/26