DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 7-12 and 21-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-12, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamilton et al (US 2020/0232762) [hereinafter Hamilton] in view of Zimmer (US 2020/0143667).
Regarding claim 1, Hamilton discloses a system comprising: a viewing optic 10/3800 having a body 38 with a first end (side with eye piece 56) and a second end (side with objective lens 54) and having a center axis 44 (Par. 0194; Fig. 1B);
an objective lens system 16 disposed within the body; an eyepiece lens 18 disposed within the body; an erector lens system 25 disposed within the body; the objective lens system, eyepiece lens, and erector lens system forming an optical system having a first focal plane, the first focal plane proximate the objective lens system and having a first reticle 55 (Par. 0196; Fig. 1c);
a picatinny mount configured to couple to the viewing optic (Fig. 44);
a laser rangefinder 3830 coupled to a top portion of the body of the viewing optic (Fig. 44);
a remote 8300 configured to control operations of the viewing optic (Par. 0527; Fig. 83, Par. 0710: “FIG. 83 is a representative depiction of a keypad with three buttons. A remote keypad associated with a viewing optic has 3 buttons. The top button 8305 is used to increase the brightness of the display, the middle button 8310 is used to fire the laser rangefinder to range a target and the bottom button 8315 is used to decrease the brightness of the display. The functionality of each button depends on the mode of operation.”).
Hamilton fails to disclose an illumination device having a first light source that emits a broad light beam and a second light source that emits a focused light beam, the illumination device coupled to the picatinny mount and a connector coupling the illumination device to the remote.
Zimmer teaches that it is known in the art of firearm systems to provide an illumination device 890 having a first light source that emits a broad light beam and a second light source that emits a focused light beam (Fig. 8A; Par. 0077-0079: “firearm accessory 890 (e.g., visible illumination and/or laser; or infrared illumination and/or laser”),
the illumination device coupled to the picatinny mount (Par. 0007: “the modular electronic switch system is configured to engage with a mounting interface for firearm accessories (e.g., KeyMod or M-LOK® negative space mounting slots, or a Picatinny rail interface)”) and a connector coupling the illumination device to the remote 100, 200, 300, 400, 500, 600, 700, 800 (Fig. 3; Par. 0069: a power-consuming accessory (e.g., a two-way radio, an illumination device, a laser aiming module, a thermal imager, a night vision device, a laser range finder, etc”; Par. 0044: “the modular electronic switch system 300 can be used to operate three separate power-consuming firearm accessories”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Hamilton such that the remote controlled multiple firearm accessories including an illumination device that emits a broad light beam and a second light source that emits a focused light beam, in view of Zimmer, to obtain the desired result providing an illumination device for helping in target identification and a remote that controls multiple firearm accessories.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hamilton and Zimmer, as applied to claim 1 above, further discloses wherein the illumination device emits visible light or infrared light, or near infrared light or short-wave infrared light (Zimmer: Fig. 8a-8b; Par. 0078).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hamilton and Zimmer, as applied to claim 1 above, further teaches wherein the illumination device emits visible light (Zimmer: Fig. 8a-8b; Par. 0078).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hamilton and Zimmer, as applied to claim 1 above, further teaches wherein the remote is configured to allow a user to select the first light source or the second light source (Zimmer: Fig. 8a-8b; Par. 0078).
Regarding claim 9, Hamilton further discloses wherein the viewing optic further comprises an active display configured to generate an image that is projected to the first focal plane (Par. 0019).
Regarding claim 10, Hamilton further discloses wherein the connector has a single lead (Fig. 38).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Hamilton and Zimmer, as applied to claim 1 above, further teaches wherein the connector has a double lead (Fig. 3; Par. 0044).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Hamilton and Zimmer, as applied to claim 1 above, further teaches wherein the illumination device is powered by the viewing optic or the remote (Zimmer; Par. 0029: The modular electronic switch system 100 can be used to operate (e.g., turn on/off [understood as power]) power-consuming firearm accessories (e.g., an illumination device, a laser aiming module, etc.)
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Hamilton and Zimmer, as applied to claim 1 above, further teaches wherein the second light source emits visible light or infrared light, or near infrared light or short wave infrared light (Zimmer: Fig. 8a-8b; Par. 0078).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Hamilton and Zimmer, as applied to claim 1 above, further teaches wherein the second light source emits visible light (Zimmer: Fig. 8a-8b; Par. 0078).
Claims 4-5 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hamilton and Zimmer, as applied to claims 1-3, 7, and 9-11, and further in view of Teetzel et al (US 2019/0249958) [hereinafter Teetzel].
Regarding claims 4-5 and 23-24, The combination of Hamilton and Zimmer further teaches wherein the intensity or brightness is adjustable (Zimmer; Par. 0075: “the switches 712, 714 of the modular electronic switch system 700 can be set to facilitate the following functions of a weapon mounted device when pressed. For example, in some implementations, pressing a switch 712, 714 may cause the weapon mounted device… increase/decrease brightness) but does not expressly disclose wherein the illumination device has at least one Light Emitting Diode.
Teetzel teaches that it is known in the art of illumination devices to provide an illumination module comprises at least one light emitting diode (flashlight head with LEDs; Par. 0094).
Applicant should note that "when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield predictable results." KSR at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams 383 US 39, 50-51 (1966)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have modified the combination of Hamilton and Zimmer such that light was an LED, in view of Teetzel, because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention. The replacement would be expected to yield a device which generates a light source.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hamilton and Zimmer, as applied to claims 1-3, 7, and 9-11, and further in view of Chambers (US 2020/0348104).
Regarding claim 8, Hamilton does not expressly disclose wherein the illumination device has a pogo pin target header for coupling to the connector.
Chambers teaches it is known in the art to provide magnetic pogo pin for coupling firearm accessories (Par. 0003,0010)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the combination of Hamilton and Zimmer, such that the illumination device has a pogo pin target header for coupling to the connector, in view of Chambers, to obtain the desired result of providing a quick release connector arrangement.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA E FREEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641