DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments have overcome the previous rejections based on 35 USC section 112(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 8, 12, 14, 15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0374155 by Chen.
As to claim 1, Chen teaches a method implemented by a service layer entity (Framework in Figure 4) supporting an a service (services in Figure 6) through a set of Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) (APIs in Figure 6), the method comprising: detecting a first device to connect to the service (paragraph 83-87); identifying a first API by performing a lookup to a library (In Figure 4, Common Device Mgmt Layer stores multiple device objects, which shown in Figure 5, each have an application profile, which in Figure 6, each have multiple APIs associated) of the first device (paragraphs 59 and 89, in Figure 12, the Framework provides the device’s application profile to client app and as shown in Figure 6, this includes information which identifies APIs), wherein the library comprises a plurality of APIs (As shown in Figures 4-6, the Common Device Mgmt Layer stores device objects, which store application profiles, which store APIs); instantiating a first scripted request resource (paragraph 90, device’s hardware profile and internal implementation inside the device object) defined in the first API (paragraphs 89 and 90, the client app sends API call P50 and the API call is translated to device’s hardware profile and internal implementation inside the device object), wherein the instantiated first scripted request resource is hosted by the service layer entity (Figure 4, the device object is hosted in the framework), is configured with information including a target (the hardware identified in the hardware profile is considered a target), is used to define an operation supported by the first API (paragraph 91, step P56 in Figure 12, the hardware profile and internal implementation define operations of the actual devices), and includes parameters required by the first device (paragraph 55), wherein the instantiated first scripted request resource hosted by the service layer entity can be discovered by an application (Figure 11) and can be used by the application to interact with the first device by sending a trigger request to cause the service layer entity to generate a request primitive targeting the first device (Figure 12) without the application having to build and send the request to do so (paragraph 91), and wherein the application does not need to be aware of the parameters required by the first device (paragraph 55, internal implementation is invisible to framework and outside world); and controlling behaviors of the first device based on the first scripted request resource including generating the request primitive targeting the first device in response to receiving the trigger request from the application (paragraphs 90-93).
As to claim 5, Chen teaches the method further comprising: receiving a request to update an attribute of the first scripted request resource (paragraphs 103-106, the subscription is a request to update an attribute related to the event subscription); and updating, based on the request to update the attribute of the first scripted request resource, the attribute of the first scripted request resource (paragraph 103-106, the subscriptions could be changed by the client app at any time).
As to claim 7, Chen teaches the request primitive comprises the updated attribute (paragraph 105 and 106, the updated attribute changes how the device object operates).
As to claims 8 and 15, they are rejected for the same reasoning as claim 1.
As to claims 12 and 19, they are rejected for the same reasoning as claim 5.
As to claim 14, it is rejected for same reasoning as claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 6, 9-11, 13, 16-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0374155 by Chen in view of U.S. Patent Number 10,088,818 to Matthews et al.
As to claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 16, and 17, Chen teaches the subject matter of claim 1, however Chen does not explicitly teach that the first scripted request resource further comprises one or more conditions for triggering scripted requests to the first device.
Matthews teaches a method of using a first scripted request comprises conditions for triggering requests to the device and automatically communicating information to the device based on the conditions being met (col. 27, lines 38-50 and col. 28, lines 47-64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the consumer device networking art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Chen regarding providing commands for different types of devices with the teachings of Matthews regarding implementing the commands as conditional because both references manage the same types of devices so the conditional commands taught by Matthews could not change the operation of the Chen invention in any manner.
As to claims 4, 11, and 18, Chen teaches the subject matter of claim 1, however Chen does not explicitly teach that the first scripted request resource is autonomously created based on detecting repetitive request patterns in the service layer entity.
Matthews teaches a method of autonomously creating a scripted request resource based on detecting repetitive request patterns in the service layer entity (col. 24, lines 15-35, col. 27, lines 55-64 and col. 29, lines 4-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the consumer device networking art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Chen regarding providing commands for different types of devices with the teachings of Matthews regarding creating scripting resources based on repetitive patterns because both references manage the same types of devices so the pattern recognition could be useful to the client app user of Chen for managing such devices.
As to claims 6, 13, and 20, Chen teaches the subject matter of claims 5, 12, and 19, however Chen does not explicitly teach detecting a condition of the first scripted request resource has been met, based on the updated attribute of the first scripted request resource, for triggering a scripted request to the first device.
Matthew teaches detecting a condition of a first scripted request resource has been met, based on the updated attribute of the first scripted request resource, for triggering a scripted request to the first device (col. 28, lines 32-64 show how the conditions modified in Figure 11B of Matthews are met to trigger scripted requests).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the consumer device networking art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Chen regarding providing commands for different types of devices with the teachings of Matthews regarding triggering scripted requests in response to conditions being met because both references manage the same types of devices so conditional triggering may be useful to the client app user of Chen for managing such devices.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS B BLAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454