DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards (US2013/0017910A1) in view of Chausse (US6386789), and further in view of Lissner (US6636606).
Regarding Claim 1, Edwards teaches a spherical member made up of a first spherical half member and a second spherical half member (Paragraph 17, FIG 1), a stem portion provided on an interior planar surface of the first spherical half member (Paragraph 18, FIG 2A, Component 107), and a quick release button provided on the second spherical half member (Paragraph 22, Component 126). Edwards also teaches a detent mechanism (Paragraph 21, FIG 3), and a motivation for adding a quick release system (Paragraph 15, “the ease of use… may be further enhanced with the inclusion of a quick release or attachment mechanism in the knob or attachment stud”). Edwards does not teach a specifically spring biased detent mechanism provided within the second spherical half member. Chausse teaches a spring biased detent mechanism (Paragraph 19). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing to modify Edward’s quick release system by adding a spring detent mechanism as taught by Chausse, as Chausse discloses that “Ball type locking pins are used in many different applications where two elements are to be releasably secured together” (Paragraph 4), and his “ball type locking pins” include spring mechanisms. Edwards also does not teach an annular lip provided on the second spherical half member and surrounding said quick release button. Lissner teaches an annual lip for protecting against unintentional activation of a button (Claim 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing to modify Edward’s quick release system by adding an annular lip as taught by Lissner, as it is common knowledge that adding a raised edge can prevent the accidental depression of a button.
Regarding Claim 2, Edwards teaches a stem portion with an annular shoulder portion thereabout (Paragraph 21, Component 107).
Regarding Claim 3, Chausse teaches a stem portion is provided with an enlarged head (FIG 4).
Regarding Claim 4, Chausse teaches the spring biased detent mechanism is provided with a slidable sleeve having an inner sleeve shoulder portion (Paragraph 25, Components 139 and 140).
Regarding Claim 5, Chausse teaches the inner sleeve shoulder portion engages a plurality of spherical elements (Paragraph 6, FIG 4).
Regarding Claim 6, Chausse teaches the slidable sleeve is provided with an annular recess to selectively receive a plurality of spherical elements (Paragraph 11, FIG 18 and 19).
Regarding Claim 7, Edwards teaches the tennis racquet training device… comprising a plurality of weights, wherein the plurality of weights is adjustable (Paragraph 20, Component 105).
Regarding Claim 8, a tennis racquet having a grid of strings is inherent both to the construction of a tennis racquet and its place with a tennis racquet training device. Edwards teaches the racquet training device is releasably secured to the racquet (Paragraph 7). All other limitations of this claim were addressed in Paragraph 5 of this non-final rejection.
Regarding Claim 9, Edwards teaches the stem portion of the first spherical half member is secured through the grid of strings, and wherein the second spherical half member having the spring biased detent mechanism is mounted on the stem portion of the first spherical half member (Paragraph 7).
Regarding Claim 10, Edwards teaches a quick release button (Paragraph 21, FIG 3), a stem portion and a receiving portion (Paragraph 18, FIG 2A, Component 107), and the ability to put a device around the strings of a tennis racquet (Paragraph 7). Edwards’ device is capable of being placed at different positions on the tennis racquet. The method steps outlined in Claim 10 naturally and obviously occur when reading Edwards in view of Chausse and further in view of Lissner. For example, after the spherical elements are unlocked with the press release button being actuated, a user would inherently pull the members apart to attach the spherical members to the strings of a racquet.
/R.F.N./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3711 /EUGENE L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3711