DETAILED ACTION
Claims 6, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15-18 are withdrawn from consideration. A complete action on the merits of pending claims 1-5, 7, 10, 11, 14, 19 and 20 appears below.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/6/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 10, 14, 19, and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Onik US 6379348.
Regarding claims 1, 19, and 20, Onik teaches an elongated medical needle assembly (Fig. 3 col 10 lines 9-15 it can have a sharp point), including: an elongated electrically-conductive flexible tube assembly having a distal portion (Fig. 3 exposed RF shaft 30 and distal 20, everything has some flexibility claim 11 is rejected with another reference because of the specificity) defining an elongated lumen extending longitudinally along an entire length of the elongated electrically-conductive flexible tube assembly toward the distal portion configured to be maneuvered (Fig. 3 50), at least in part, within the patient and toward the biological feature; and a first electrically-insulated layer covering, at least in part, an outer surface of the elongated electrically-conductive flexible tube assembly (Fig. 3 proximal 20); and a second electrically-insulated layer covering, at least in part, the distal portion of the elongated electrically-conductive flexible tube assembly (Fig. 3 distal 20).
Regarding claim 2, Onik teaches further comprising an electrically-exposed outer surface being located proximate to the distal portion, and also located between the first electrically-insulated layer and second electrically-insulated layer (Fig. 3 segment 40).
Regarding claim 3, Onik teaches wherein the electrically-exposed outer surface being configured to selectively emit energy toward the biological feature of the patient in response to selective movement of the energy along the elongated electrically-conductive flexible tube assembly toward the electrically-exposed outer surface (col 6 lines 4-6).
Regarding claim 7, Onik teaches wherein the elongated electrically-conductive flexible tube assembly includes two tubes having, respectively, a larger diameter proximal shaft section and a smaller diameter distal shaft section, with the electrically-exposed outer surface positioned on a distal shaft section (Fig. 3 proximal sheath 20 vs shaft 30).
Regarding claim 10, Onik teaches wherein: the elongated electrically-conductive flexible tube assembly includes: a proximal tube (Fig. 3 proximal sheath 20); and a distal tube; and the electrically-exposed outer surface is located on the distal tube and is spaced apart from the proximal tube (Fig. 3 shaft 30).
Regarding claim 14, Onik teaches wherein: the elongated electrically-conductive flexible tube assembly includes: a proximal tube (Fig. 3 proximal sheath 20); and a distal tube (Fig. 3 30); and the proximal tube and the distal tube are adhered together (Fig. 3 and col 5 lines 50-65).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onik in view of Brown US 20020120263.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Onik teaches the elongated electrically-conductive flexible tube assembly includes: a proximal tube; and a distal tube (Fig. 3 insulating layers 20 are sheaths).
Onik does not explicitly teach the electrically-exposed outer surface includes a surface roughness that is greater than the surface roughness of a reminder of the proximal tube and a distal tube; and the electrically-exposed outer surface includes a surface roughness that is greater than the surface roughness of a reminder of the distal tube.
Brown, in an analogous device, teaches where the conductive tissue engaging surfaces are rougher than the rest of the device (par. [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the electrically exposed surfaces of Onik to be rough, as in Brown. The rough texture allows for the electrical surface to break through thin insulating layers surrounding tissue (par. [0059]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onik in view of Hovda US 6468270.
Regarding claim 11, Onik teaches and the electrically-exposed outer surface is spaced apart from a portal lumen of the elongated lumen at the distal portion (Fig. 7 and col 4 lines 39-41 the shafts can have open ends).
Onik does not explicitly teach the elongated electrically-conductive flexible tube assembly is configured to form a single curve having a single radius; the electrically-exposed outer surface is located at a distal-most section of the single curve when in the elongated electrically-conductive flexible tube assembly is in its original, curved shape.
Hovda, in an analogous device, teaches where the conductive area 360 can be flexible and have a curve where the insulating surface is distal the curve making the conductive area the distal most section of the curve (Fig. 15C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the tube of Onik to have the ability to curve, as in Hovda. Flexible tubes allow for the electrodes to be selectively placed on tissue (Hovda col 14 lines 10-13).
Conclusion
/R.T.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/LINDA C DVORAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794