Response to Arguments
Applicant’s representative field arguments on 04/24/2026 with respect to independent claim 1 has been considered and are not persuasive. Specifically, applicant presented arguments on Pages 10-12 that the combination of Pang and KO does not teach “wherein the active time duration of the DTX configuration and the another active time duration of the UE DRX configuration are aligned.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that the combination Pang and KO does not teach “wherein the active time duration of the DTX configuration and the another active time duration of the UE DRX configuration are aligned.” Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
The combination of Pang and KO, specifically KO teaches period-based transmission behavior in which retransmission resources are selected and scheduled with respect to the receiving UE’s DRX active/on-duration timing. See ([0160], [0172]). The STX-related transmission behavior therefore operates according to configured transmission periods and is temporally coordinated with the DRX active duration. Accordingly, KO teaches DTX-related transmission timing that is configured and coordinated with the DRX active time duration, thereby teaching alignment between the active time duration of the DTX configuration and the active time duration of the DRX configuration.
Therefore, as shown above the combination of Pang and KO teaches the amended limitations of claim 23,29 and 30.
With regards to applicant’s argument that KO’s reference effective filing date does not qualify as prior art, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The examiner is attaching to this office action a translated copy of the foreign priority document in English for reference. Therefore, as it is clearly recited in the translated document, Ko clearly discloses the claimed invention on page 48 that, in a DTX case where HARQ feedback is not received, the TX UE selects or reselects retransmission resources within the RX UE’s ON duration or Active duration, thereby coordinating retransmission timing with the RX UE Active duration.
Also, page 52 discloses that, upon determining that a DTX has occurred, the TX UE triggers resource reselection for the next retransmission resource and selects the reselected resource within the RX UE’s ON duration, Active duration, or expected extended Active duration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-11, 23-24, 26-27 and 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pang et al. (US 2016/0081137 A1; hereinafter "Pang"), in view of KO et al. (US 2024/0334534 A1; hereinafter “KO”).
Regarding claim 1, Pang teaches an apparatus for wireless communication (FIG. 6 user equipment 60), comprising:
at least one processor (FIG. 6 a processor 61);
one or more memories coupled with the processor ([0165] The processor 61 and the memory 62 are connected to each other by using a bus system 63); and
instructions stored in the one or more memories and operable, when executed by the at least one processor ([0166] The memory 62 is configured to store an instruction that enables the processor 61 to perform the following operation), to cause the apparatus to:
receive a discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration associated with a user equipment (UE) transmission configuration ([0166] receiving, by the user equipment 60, discontinuous transmission DTX configuration information sent from a network side, [0128] In FIG. 3 step 304, the UE calculates a transmission pattern of the DPCCH); and indicating an active time duration for a UE transmission associated with the UE transmission configuration ([0130] the UE uses the following formula to calculate a series of time points (that is, the transmission pattern of the DPCCH) at which the DPCCH needs to be sent, [0134] control information, such as power control information and pilot information, of the DPCCH is sent according to the series of sending time points that are in the transmission pattern of the DPCCH);
receive a UE discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration ([0142] In FIG. 4, the receiving unit 41 receives discontinuous transmission DTX configuration information sent from a network side, [0139] a DTX configuration procedure is also applicable to a discontinuous reception DRX feature in the non-dedicated connected state) indicating another active time duration for the apparatus to monitor for and receive downlink data ([0072] the UE sends the DPCCH for a period of time according to the first DTX cycle, and then sends the DPCCH according to the longer second DTX cycle, [0130] The UE calculates a transmission pattern of the DPCCH using a second DTX cycle after a period of inactivity, [0131] DTX_cycle and DTX_offset, so as to form the transmission pattern of the DPCCH); and
transmit the UE transmission during the active time duration indicated in the DTX configuration ([0074] sending the DPCCH at a time point that is corresponding to the frame number and the subframe number of sending the DPCCH, [0134] After the UE enters a DTX state control information of the DPCCH is sent according to the series of sending time points that are in the transmission pattern of the DPCCH and obtained by means of calculation in the foregoing step 304, [0166] the user equipment 60 sends, according to the transmission pattern, the DPCCH to a serving base station of the user equipment 60).
However, Pang does not teach wherein the active time duration of the DTX configuration and the another active time duration of the UE DRX configuration are aligned.
In an analogous art, KO teaches wherein the active time duration of the DTX configuration and the another active time duration of the UE DRX configuration are aligned ([0160] a transmitting UE determines whether a receiving UE has extended an SL DRX active time duration such that a retransmission resource is included within the extended active time duration, and determines whether the active time duration has been extended based on whether DTX has occurred, [0172] during SL DRX operation, retransmission is performed over a reserved resource belonging to a transmission period when DTX occurs, without reselecting a retransmission resource outside the on-duration or active time duration of the receiving UE, thereby teaching alignment between the active time duration of the DTX configuration and the active time duration of the UE DRX configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HARQ feedback taught by KO within the system of Pang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce power consumption to perform SL communication efficiently with enhanced user experience (KO [0168]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Pang and KO, specifically Pang teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor ([0166] instruction that enables the processor 61 to perform), further cause the apparatus to:
receive a semi-static indication or a dynamic indication of a DTX active status for the DTX configuration ([0068] receiving, by the UE, an indication that is sent by the network side by using the system broadcast or the RRC dedicated signaling and that is used to indicate that the UE adopts all or a part of the DTX configuration information, [0078] the serving base station can deliver an activation/deactivation indication to the UE that supports the capability, [0138] the serving base station of the UE activate/deactivate the DTX of the UE according to an HS-SCCH order),
the DTX active status indicating whether the DTX configuration is active or inactive for uplink transmissions of the apparatus ([0062] the DTX capability information is used to indicate that the UE supports DTX in the non-dedicated connected state, [0078] The serving base station of the UE can control activation and deactivation of the DTX of the UE, [0142] In FIG. 4. the receiving unit 41 receives discontinuous transmission DTX configuration information sent from a network side, the determining unit 42 determines a transmission pattern of a dedicated physical control channel DPCCH according to the DTX configuration information).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Pang and KO, specifically Pang teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor ([0166] instruction that enables the processor 61 to perform), further cause the apparatus to:
receive a semi-static indication or a dynamic indication of an active status for the UE transmission configuration ([0068] receiving, by the UE, an indication that is sent by the network side, [0078] The serving base station of the UE can control activation and deactivation of the DTX of the UE. Specifically, the serving base station first needs to obtain the DTX capability information of the UE, and then can deliver an activation/deactivation indication to the UE that supports the capability, [0138] In this case, the serving base station of the UE activate/deactivate the DTX of the UE according to an HS-SCCH order),
the active status indicating whether the UE transmission configuration is active or inactive with respect to the DTX configuration ([0068] receiving, by the UE, an indication used to indicate that the UE adopts all or a part of the DTX configuration information, [0078] The serving base station of the UE can control activation and deactivation of the DTX of the UE, [0142] receives discontinuous transmission DTX configuration information sent from a network side. When the user equipment 40 is in a non-dedicated connected state, the determining unit 42 determines a transmission pattern of a dedicated physical control channel DPCCH according to the DTX configuration information).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Pang and KO, specifically Pang teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor ([0166] instruction that enables the processor 61 to perform), further cause the apparatus to:
receive the UE transmission configuration associated with the UE transmission in a same message or a different message than a message including the DTX configuration ([0006] receiving, by a UE, discontinuous transmission DTX configuration information sent from a network side. When the UE is in a non-dedicated connected state, determining, by the UE, a transmission pattern of a dedicated physical control channel DPCCH according to the DTX configuration information, [0078] the serving base station can deliver an activation/deactivation indication to the UE, and performs, by using the HS-SCCH order, an activation/deactivation control on the DTX of the UE).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Pang and KO, specifically Pang teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor ([0166] instruction that enables the processor 61 to perform), further cause the apparatus to:
receive another DTX configuration indicating another active time duration aligned with the active time duration ([0072] These parameters are used to configure the second DTX cycle, so that a sending cycle can be changed after the discontinuous transmission is implemented for a certain period of time. If the second cycle is an integral multiple of the first cycle, the UE sends the DPCCH for a period of time according to the first DTX cycle, and then sends the DPCCH according to the longer second DTX cycle, so as to further reduce the uplink interference, [0131] DTX_cycle and DTX_offset are the first DTX cycle and the resource DTX offset that are in the DTX configuration information in the foregoing embodiment, so as to form the transmission pattern of the DPCCH); and
receive a semi-static indication or a dynamic indication of another active status for a different configuration associated with another UE transmission ([0068] receiving, by the UE, an indication that is sent by the network side by using the system broadcast or the RRC dedicated signaling and that is used to indicate that the UE adopts all or a part of the DTX configuration information, [0078] the serving base station can deliver an activation/deactivation indication to the UE that supports the capability, [0138] the serving base station of the UE may activate/deactivate the DTX of the UE according to an HS-SCCH order),
the another active status indicating whether the different configuration is active or inactive with respect to the another DTX configuration ([0062] the DTX capability information of the UE in the non-dedicated connected state is used to indicate to the network side that the UE supports DTX in the non-dedicated connected state, [0078] The serving base station of the UE can control activation and deactivation of the DTX of the UE, [0142] receives discontinuous transmission DTX configuration information sent from a network side. When the user equipment 40 is in a non-dedicated connected state, the determining unit 42 determines a transmission pattern of a dedicated physical control channel DPCCH according to the DTX configuration information).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Pang and KO, specifically Pang teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor ([0166] instruction that enables the processor 61 to perform), further cause the apparatus to:
receive a message associated with the DTX configuration ([0006] receiving, by a UE, discontinuous transmission DTX configuration information, [0142] the receiving unit 41 receives discontinuous transmission DTX configuration information);
wherein the DTX configuration includes a parameter for the UE transmission, and the message reconfigures the parameter ([0071] the DTX configuration information includes a first DTX cycle (UE DTX cycle 1); a DPCCH transmission length and a resource DTX offset parameter, [0072] the DTX configuration information includes a second DTX cycle. If the second cycle is an integral multiple of the first cycle, the UE sends according to the first DTX cycle and the second DTX cycle, [0078] the serving base station performs, by using the HS-SCCH order, an activation/deactivation control on the DTX of the UE).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Pang and KO, specifically Pang teaches wherein the DTX configuration indicates a time extension of the active time duration of a DTX cycle ([0072] If the second cycle is an integral multiple of the first cycle, the UE sends the DPCCH for a period of time according to the first DTX cycle, and then sends the DPCCH according to the longer second DTX cycle, [0119] an Inactivity Threshold for UE DTX cycle 2 (time at which the UE enters the cycle 2), [0131] When the UE has no data transmission, the UE first uses the first DTX cycle (UE DTX cycle1). After a period of time (Inactivity Threshold for UE DTX_cycle2), the UE starts to use the second DTX cycle (UE DTX cycle 2)), and
the time extension is triggered in response to uplink or downlink activity during the another active time duration of the UE DRX configuration ([0133] If the UE receives downlink data in the period in which the implicit resource release timer runs, the UE restarts the timer, [0135] the UE starts to calculate, when the implicit resource release timer starts, the transmission pattern of the DPCCH and starts to discontinuously send the DPCCH).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Pang and KO, specifically Pang teaches wherein the DTX configuration ([0110] the DTX configuration information) indicates:
a start time for a DTX cycle ([0072] a second DTX cycle (UE DTX cycle 2); a DPCCH transmission length in the second DTX cycle; and time (Inactivity Threshold for UE DTX cycle 2) for starting the second DTX cycle);
the active time duration during the DTX cycle ([0112] discloses a MAC DTX cycle used for discontinuous transmission at the MAC layer, and [0111] discloses a time of sending the DPCCH in advance for uplink transmission);
an inactive time duration during the DTX cycle ([0113] discloses a MAC Inactivity Threshold at which the UE enters the MAC DTX);
a time delay prior to the start time for the DTX cycle ([0111] discloses that the UE starts sending the DPCCH several timeslots before transmission of the E-DPCCH); and
a time duration or periodicity of the DTX cycle ([0112] discloses a MAC DTX cycle used for discontinuous transmission at the MAC layer).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Pang and KO, specifically Pang teaches wherein the DTX configuration ([0110] the DTX configuration information) indicates a time extension of the active time duration of a DTX cycle ([0072] If the second cycle is an integral multiple of the first cycle, the UE sends the DPCCH for a period of time according to the first DTX cycle, and then sends the DPCCH according to the longer second DTX cycle, [0119] an Inactivity Threshold for UE DTX cycle 2 (time at which the UE enters the cycle 2), [0131] When the UE has no data transmission, the UE first uses the first DTX cycle (UE DTX cycle1). After a period of time (Inactivity Threshold for UE DTX_cycle2), the UE starts to use the second DTX cycle (UE DTX cycle 2)), and
the time extension is triggered in response to uplink or downlink activity during the active time duration ([0111] when the UE has uplink data that needs to be sent, the UE needs to start to send, in several timeslots before an E-DPCCH needs to be transmitted, the DPCCH to adjust the power, [0133] If the UE receives downlink data in the period in which the implicit resource release timer runs, the UE restarts the timer).
Regarding claim 23, Pang teaches an apparatus for wireless communication (FIG. 7 the network side device 70), comprising:
at least one processor (FIG. 7 a processor 71);
one or more memories coupled with the at least one processor ([0170] The processor 71 and the memory 72 are connected to each other by using a bus system 73); and
instructions stored in the one or more memories and operable, when executed by the at least one processor ([0171] The memory 72 is configured to store an instruction that enables the processor 71 to perform the following operation), to cause the apparatus to:
transmit a discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration associated with a user equipment (UE) transmission configuration ([0166] receiving, by the user equipment 60, discontinuous transmission DTX configuration information sent from a network side, [0128] In FIG. 3 step 304, the UE calculates a transmission pattern of the DPCCH) and indicating an active time duration for a UE transmission associated with the UE transmission configuration ([0130] the UE uses the following formula to calculate a series of time points (that is, the transmission pattern of the DPCCH) at which the DPCCH needs to be sent, [0134] control information, such as power control information and pilot information, of the DPCCH is sent according to the series of sending time points that are in the transmission pattern of the DPCCH);
transmit a UE discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration ([0142] In FIG. 4, the receiving unit 41 receives discontinuous transmission DTX configuration information sent from a network side, [0139] a DTX configuration procedure is also applicable to a discontinuous reception DRX feature in the non-dedicated connected state) indicating another active time duration for a UE to monitor for and receive downlink data ([0072] the UE sends the DPCCH for a period of time according to the first DTX cycle, and then sends the DPCCH according to the longer second DTX cycle, [0130] The UE calculates a transmission pattern of the DPCCH using a second DTX cycle after a period of inactivity, [0131] DTX_cycle and DTX_offset, so as to form the transmission pattern of the DPCCH); and
receive the UE transmission during the active time duration indicated in the DTX configuration ([0074] sending the DPCCH at a time point that is corresponding to the frame number and the subframe number of sending the DPCCH, [0134] After the UE enters a DTX state control information of the DPCCH is sent according to the series of sending time points that are in the transmission pattern of the DPCCH and obtained by means of calculation in the foregoing step 304, [0166] the user equipment 60 sends, according to the transmission pattern, the DPCCH to a serving base station of the user equipment 60),
However, Pang does not teach wherein the active time duration of the DTX configuration and the another active time duration of the UE DRX configuration are aligned.
In an analogous art, KO teaches wherein the active time duration of the DTX configuration and the another active time duration of the UE DRX configuration are aligned ([0160] a transmitting UE determines whether a receiving UE has extended an SL DRX active time duration such that a retransmission resource is included within the extended active time duration, and determines whether the active time duration has been extended based on whether DTX has occurred, [0172] during SL DRX operation, retransmission is performed over a reserved resource belonging to a transmission period when DTX occurs, without reselecting a retransmission resource outside the on-duration or active time duration of the receiving UE, thereby teaching alignment between the active time duration of the DTX configuration and the active time duration of the UE DRX configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HARQ feedback taught by KO within the system of Pang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce power consumption to perform SL communication efficiently with enhanced user experience (KO [0168]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Pang and KO, specifically Pang teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor ([0171] instruction that enables the processor 71 to perform), further cause the apparatus to:
transmit a semi-static indication or a dynamic indication of a DTX active status for the DTX configuration ([0068] receiving, by the UE, an indication that is sent by the network side by using the system broadcast or the RRC dedicated signaling and that is used to indicate that the UE adopts all or a part of the DTX configuration information, [0078] the serving base station can deliver an activation/deactivation indication to the UE that supports the capability, [0138] the serving base station of the UE activate/deactivate the DTX of the UE according to an HS-SCCH order),
the DTX active status indicating whether the DTX configuration is active or inactive for uplink transmissions of the UE ([0062] the DTX capability information is used to indicate that the UE supports DTX in the non-dedicated connected state, [0078] The serving base station of the UE can control activation and deactivation of the DTX of the UE, [0142] In FIG. 4. the receiving unit 41 receives discontinuous transmission DTX configuration information sent from a network side, the determining unit 42 determines a transmission pattern of a dedicated physical control channel DPCCH according to the DTX configuration information).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Pang and KO, specifically Pang teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor ([0171] instruction that enables the processor 71 to perform), further cause the apparatus to:
transmit a semi-static indication or a dynamic indication of an active status for the UE transmission configuration associated with the UE transmission ([0068] receiving, by the UE, an indication that is sent by the network side, [0078] The serving base station of the UE can control activation and deactivation of the DTX of the UE. Specifically, the serving base station first needs to obtain the DTX capability information of the UE, and then can deliver an activation/deactivation indication to the UE that supports the capability, [0138] In this case, the serving base station of the UE activate/deactivate the DTX of the UE according to an HS-SCCH order),
the active status indicating whether the UE transmission configuration is active or inactive with respect to the DTX configuration ([0068] receiving, by the UE, an indication used to indicate that the UE adopts all or a part of the DTX configuration information, [0078] The serving base station of the UE can control activation and deactivation of the DTX of the UE, [0142] receives discontinuous transmission DTX configuration information sent from a network side. When the user equipment 40 is in a non-dedicated connected state, the determining unit 42 determines a transmission pattern of a dedicated physical control channel DPCCH according to the DTX configuration information).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Pang and KO, specifically Pang teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor ([0171] instruction that enables the processor 71 to perform), further cause the apparatus to:
transmit another DTX configuration indicating another active time duration aligned with the active time duration ([0072] These parameters are used to configure the second DTX cycle, so that a sending cycle can be changed after the discontinuous transmission is implemented for a certain period of time. If the second cycle is an integral multiple of the first cycle, the UE sends the DPCCH for a period of time according to the first DTX cycle, and then sends the DPCCH according to the longer second DTX cycle, so as to further reduce the uplink interference, [0131] DTX_cycle and DTX_offset are the first DTX cycle and the resource DTX offset that are in the DTX configuration information in the foregoing embodiment, so as to form the transmission pattern of the DPCCH); and
transmit a semi-static indication or a dynamic indication of another active status for a different configuration associated with another UE transmission ([0068] receiving, by the UE, an indication that is sent by the network side by using the system broadcast or the RRC dedicated signaling and that is used to indicate that the UE adopts all or a part of the DTX configuration information, [0078] the serving base station can deliver an activation/deactivation indication to the UE that supports the capability, [0138] the serving base station of the UE may activate/deactivate the DTX of the UE according to an HS-SCCH order),
the another active status indicating whether the different configuration is active or inactive with respect to the another DTX configuration ([0062] the DTX capability information of the UE in the non-dedicated connected state is used to indicate to the network side that the UE supports DTX in the non-dedicated connected state, [0078] The serving base station of the UE can control activation and deactivation of the DTX of the UE, [0142] receives discontinuous transmission DTX configuration information sent from a network side. When the user equipment 40 is in a non-dedicated connected state, the determining unit 42 determines a transmission pattern of a dedicated physical control channel DPCCH according to the DTX configuration information).
Regarding claim 29, Pang teaches a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (abstract), comprising:
receiving a discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration associated with a user equipment (UE) transmission configuration ([0166] receiving, by the user equipment 60, discontinuous transmission DTX configuration information sent from a network side, [0128] In FIG. 3 step 304, the UE calculates a transmission pattern of the DPCCH) and indicating an active time duration for a UE transmission associated with the UE transmission configuration ([0130] the UE uses the following formula to calculate a series of time points (that is, the transmission pattern of the DPCCH) at which the DPCCH needs to be sent, [0134] control information, such as power control information and pilot information, of the DPCCH is sent according to the series of sending time points that are in the transmission pattern of the DPCCH);
receiving a UE discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration ([0142] In FIG. 4, the receiving unit 41 receives discontinuous transmission DTX configuration information sent from a network side, [0139] a DTX configuration procedure is also applicable to a discontinuous reception DRX feature in the non-dedicated connected state) indicating another active time duration for the UE to monitor for and receive downlink data ([0072] the UE sends the DPCCH for a period of time according to the first DTX cycle, and then sends the DPCCH according to the longer second DTX cycle, [0130] The UE calculates a transmission pattern of the DPCCH using a second DTX cycle after a period of inactivity, [0131] DTX_cycle and DTX_offset, so as to form the transmission pattern of the DPCCH); and
transmitting the UE transmission during the active time duration indicated in the DTX configuration ([0074] sending the DPCCH at a time point that is corresponding to the frame number and the subframe number of sending the DPCCH, [0134] After the UE enters a DTX state control information of the DPCCH is sent according to the series of sending time points that are in the transmission pattern of the DPCCH and obtained by means of calculation in the foregoing step 304, [0166] the user equipment 60 sends, according to the transmission pattern, the DPCCH to a serving base station of the user equipment 60),
However, Pang does not teach wherein the active time duration of the DTX configuration and the another active time duration of the UE DRX configuration are aligned.
In an analogous art, KO teaches wherein the active time duration of the DTX configuration and the another active time duration of the UE DRX configuration are aligned ([0160] a transmitting UE determines whether a receiving UE has extended an SL DRX active time duration such that a retransmission resource is included within the extended active time duration, and determines whether the active time duration has been extended based on whether DTX has occurred, [0172] during SL DRX operation, retransmission is performed over a reserved resource belonging to a transmission period when DTX occurs, without reselecting a retransmission resource outside the on-duration or active time duration of the receiving UE, thereby teaching alignment between the active time duration of the DTX configuration and the active time duration of the UE DRX configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HARQ feedback taught by KO within the system of Pang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce power consumption to perform SL communication efficiently with enhanced user experience (KO [0168]).
Regarding claim 30, Pang teaches a method of wireless communication at a network entity (abstract), comprising:
transmitting a discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration associated with a user equipment (UE) transmission configuration ([0166] receiving, by the user equipment 60, discontinuous transmission DTX configuration information sent from a network side, [0128] In FIG. 3 step 304, the UE calculates a transmission pattern of the DPCCH) and indicating an active time duration for a UE transmission associated with the UE transmission configuration ([0130] the UE uses the following formula to calculate a series of time points (that is, the transmission pattern of the DPCCH) at which the DPCCH needs to be sent, [0134] control information, such as power control information and pilot information, of the DPCCH is sent according to the series of sending time points that are in the transmission pattern of the DPCCH);
transmitting a UE discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration ([0142] In FIG. 4, the receiving unit 41 receives discontinuous transmission DTX configuration information sent from a network side, [0139] a DTX configuration procedure is also applicable to a discontinuous reception DRX feature in the non-dedicated connected state) indicating another active time duration for a UE to monitor for and receive downlink data ([0072] the UE sends the DPCCH for a period of time according to the first DTX cycle, and then sends the DPCCH according to the longer second DTX cycle, [0130] The UE calculates a transmission pattern of the DPCCH using a second DTX cycle after a period of inactivity, [0131] DTX_cycle and DTX_offset, so as to form the transmission pattern of the DPCCH); and
receiving the UE transmission during the active time duration indicated in the DTX configuration ([0074] sending the DPCCH at a time point that is corresponding to the frame number and the subframe number of sending the DPCCH, [0134] After the UE enters a DTX state control information of the DPCCH is sent according to the series of sending time points that are in the transmission pattern of the DPCCH and obtained by means of calculation in the foregoing step 304, [0166] the user equipment 60 sends, according to the transmission pattern, the DPCCH to a serving base station of the user equipment 60),
However, Pang does not teach wherein the active time duration of the DTX configuration and the another active time duration of the UE DRX configuration are aligned.
In an analogous art, KO teaches wherein the active time duration of the DTX configuration and the another active time duration of the UE DRX configuration are aligned ([0160] a transmitting UE determines whether a receiving UE has extended an SL DRX active time duration such that a retransmission resource is included within the extended active time duration, and determines whether the active time duration has been extended based on whether DTX has occurred, [0172] during SL DRX operation, retransmission is performed over a reserved resource belonging to a transmission period when DTX occurs, without reselecting a retransmission resource outside the on-duration or active time duration of the receiving UE, thereby teaching alignment between the active time duration of the DTX configuration and the active time duration of the UE DRX configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HARQ feedback taught by KO within the system of Pang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce power consumption to perform SL communication efficiently with enhanced user experience (KO [0168]).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Pang and KO, specifically KO teaches wherein the instructions ([0005] instructions), when executed by the at least one processor ([0005] processors), further cause the apparatus to:
send a random access channel (RACH) transmission within an inactive time duration during a DTX cycle associated with the DTX configuration ([0054] discloses a RACH for transmitting an initial control message, [0075] discloses a DTX_cycle in DTX configuration information, and [0188] discloses determining that a DTX has occurred and selecting a retransmission resource within an on-duration or active time duration of the receiving UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HARQ feedback taught by KO within the system of Pang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce power consumption to perform SL communication efficiently with enhanced user experience (KO [0168]).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Pang and KO, specifically Pang teaches wherein the DTX configuration is associated with one or more serving cells ([0017], [0035] disclose sending DTX configuration information to a UE so that the UE sends DPCCH to a serving base station of the UE, and [0077], [0154] disclose that the UE receives an HS-SCCH order sent by the serving base station so as to activate/deactivate the DTX of the UE).
Claims 3,12-22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pang, in view of KO, and further in view of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki et al. (US 2024/0397424 A1; hereinafter "Khoshkholgh").
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Pang and KO, specifically Pang teaches wherein the apparatus is a UE (FIG. 6 user equipment 60), and the DTX configuration ([0110] the DTX configuration information) is for:
configured grant (CG) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (CG-PUSCH) transmissions of the UE ([0112] discloses a MAC DTX cycle used for discontinuous transmission at the MAC layer, wherein the RNC restricts the UE from sending the E-DCH to implement uplink discontinuous transmission of the DPCCH, thereby configuring discontinuous uplink transmissions of the UE); and
other uplink transmissions of the UE ([0111] a UE DTX long preamble length (time of sending the DPCCH in advance); when the UE has uplink data that needs to be sent).
However, the combination of Pang and Ko does not teach scheduling request (SR) transmissions of the UE.
In an analogous art, Khoshkholgh teaches scheduling request (SR) transmissions of the UE ([0199] uplink control signaling may comprise scheduling requests (SR), [0272] the MAC entity may be configured with one or more SR configurations and an SR prohibit timer during which the UE may not transmit the SR, [0501] a scheduling request (SR) is a first uplink signal and a start of an SR prohibit timer corresponding to the SR is delayed from the transmission occasion of the SR, thereby controlling SR transmission timing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SR configuration taught by Khoshkholgh within the system of Pang and KO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device with enhanced user experience (Khoshkholgh [0227]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Pang, KO and Khoshkholgh, specifically Khoshkholgh teaches wherein the UE transmission configuration is a scheduling request (SR) configuration, the UE transmission is an SR ([0272] A Scheduling Request (SR) is used, by the wireless device, for requesting UL-SCH resources for new transmission), and
the instructions ([0209] instructions), when executed by the at least one processor ([0209] FIG. 15 processing system 1518), further cause the apparatus (FIG. 15 wireless device 1502) to:
receive the SR configuration associated with the SR ([0272] the MAC entity is received with SR configuration (via the one or more RRC configuration parameters)); and receive a message indicating an active status of the SR configuration ([0272] the SR prohibit timer is a duration during which the wireless device may be not allowed to transmit the SR, the wireless device may stay active while SR prohibit timer is running, [0278] based on determining that the SR prohibit timer being running or expired), the active status indicating whether the SR configuration is active ([0278] timer expired and SR triggered) or inactive ([0278] SR prohibit timer running) ([0293] SR is transmitted and is pending).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SR configuration taught by Khoshkholgh within the parameter of Pang and KO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device with enhanced user experience (Khoshkholgh [0227]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Pang, KO and Khoshkholgh, specifically Khoshkholgh teaches wherein the instructions ([0209] instructions), when executed by the at least one processor ([0209] FIG. 15 processing system 1518), further cause the apparatus (FIG. 15 wireless device 1502) to:
receive a SR resource configuration associated with the SR configuration ([0272] the MAC entity is received with SR configuration (via the one or more RRC configuration parameters)), wherein the message indicates another active status of the SR resource configuration ([0278] based on determining that the SR prohibit timer being running or expired, [0293] an SR is transmitted and is pending based on evaluating the DRX active time conditions), and the another active status indicates whether the SR resource configuration is active or inactive ([0278], [0293] this active status indicates whether the SR resource configuration is active, such as when the SR prohibit timer is expired/stopped or the SR is running, [0278] or inactive, such as when the SR prohibit timer is running).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SR configuration taught by Khoshkholgh within the parameter of Pang and KO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device with enhanced user experience (Khoshkholgh [0227]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Pang, KO and Khoshkholgh, specifically Khoshkholgh teaches wherein the message indicates a time duration for the active status of the SR configuration ([0272] the SR prohibit timer is a duration during which the wireless device may be not allowed to transmit the SR. The wireless device may stay active while the SR prohibit timer is running, [0278] based on determining that the SR prohibit timer being running or expired).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SR configuration taught by Khoshkholgh within the parameter of Pang and KO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device with enhanced user experience (Khoshkholgh [0227]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Pang, KO and Khoshkholgh, specifically Khoshkholgh teaches wherein the SR configuration is associated with a prohibit timer, the message modifies a timer status of the prohibit timer, and the timer status indicates whether the prohibit timer is started, restarted, or stopped ([0272] a SR configuration comprises a SR prohibit timer (e.g., sr_ProhibitTimer), and the MAC entity is configured via the one or more RRC configuration parameters, [0278] based on determining that the SR prohibit timer being running, the wireless device waits for another SR transmission occasion after the SR prohibit timer being expired/stopped).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a SR prohibit timer taught by Khoshkholgh within the parameter of Pang and KO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device with enhanced user experience (Khoshkholgh [0227]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Pang, KO and Khoshkholgh, specifically Khoshkholgh teaches wherein the instructions ([0209] instructions), when executed by the at least one processor ([0209] In FIG. 15, executed by the processing system 1518), further cause the apparatus to:
receive a logical channel configuration associated with the SR configuration ([0272] the MAC entity of the wireless device is configured with one or more SR configurations (e.g., via the one or more RRC configuration parameters), [0273] Each logical channel is mapped to zero or one SR configuration configured by the at least one message),
wherein the logical channel configuration indicates a transmission status of the SR ([0262] the configuration parameters comprise a SR delay timer (e.g., logicalChannelSR-DelayTimer), a SR mask parameter (e.g., logicalChannelSR-Mask), [0272] a SR configuration comprises a SR prohibit timer (e.g., sr_ProhibitTimer)),
the transmission status indicates whether a transmission of the SR is enabled, disabled, or delayed in response to available data for a logical channel, and the message modifies the transmission status of the logical channel configuration ([0262] a SR delay timer application indicator (e.g., logicalChannelSR-DelayTimerApplied), a SR delay timer (e.g., logicalChannelSR-DelayTimer), a SR mask parameter (e.g., logicalChannelSR-Mask), [0273] configured by the at least one message, [0278] based on determining that the SR prohibit timer being running, the wireless device may wait for another SR transmission occasion after the SR prohibit timer being expired/stopped).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SR configurations taught by Khoshkholgh within the parameter of Pang and KO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device with enhanced user experience (Khoshkholgh [0227]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Pang, KO and Khoshkholgh, specifically Khoshkholgh teaches wherein the instructions ([0209] computer program instructions), when executed by the at least one processor ([0210] FIG. 15 processor 1518), further cause the apparatus to:
receive a plurality of SR configurations including the SR configuration ([0037] A base station communicates with a mix of wireless devices, [0272] the MAC entity of the wireless device is configured with zero, one or more SR configurations (e.g., via the one or more RRC configuration parameters)),
wherein the message indicates the active status of only the SR configuration or other active statuses of each of the plurality of SR configurations ([0273] Each logical channel is mapped to zero or one SR configuration configured by the at least one message, [0278] based on the SR being triggered, the wireless device set/initialize the SR_COUNTER of the SR configuration to a first value (e.g., 0), [0279] based on the one or more uplink grants being received, the wireless device cancels the pending SR, and/or stop the SR prohibit timer, [0272] the wireless device stay active while sr_ProhibitTimer is running).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SR configurations taught by Khoshkholgh within the parameter of Pang and KO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device with enhanced user experience (Khoshkholgh [0227]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Pang, KO and Khoshkholgh, specifically Khoshkholgh teaches wherein the apparatus is a UE (FIG. 15 wireless device 1502), and wherein the message is a unicast message for the UE, a multicast message for a plurality of UEs including the UE, or a broadcast message for a serving cell including the UE ([0137] In the downlink, a base station transmits (e.g., unicast, multicast, and/or broadcast) one or more Reference Signals (RSs) to a UE (e.g., PSS, SSS, CSI-RS, DMRS, and/or PT-RS, as shown in FIG. 5A)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SR configurations taught by Khoshkholgh within the parameter of Pang and KO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device with enhanced user experience (Khoshkholgh [0227]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Pang, KO and Khoshkholgh, specifically Khoshkholgh teaches wherein the SR configuration is associated with a plurality of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources for a bandwidth part (BWP), and the SR configuration is associated with a logical channel, a secondary cell (SCell) beam failure recovery, or a consistent listen-before-talk (LBT) failure recovery ([0272] an SR configuration consists of a one or more PUCCH resources for SR across different BWPs and cells for SCell beam failure recovery and for consistent LBT failure recovery, at most one PUCCH resource for SR is configured per BWP, [0273] each SR configuration corresponds to one or more logical channels and/or to SCell beam failure recovery and/or to consistent LBT failure recovery. Each logical channel, SCell beam failure recovery, and consistent LBT failure recovery is mapped to zero or one SR configuration (configured by the one or more RRC configuration)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SR configurations taught by Khoshkholgh within the parameter of Pang and KO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device with enhanced user experience (Khoshkholgh [0227]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Pang, KO and Khoshkholgh, specifically Khoshkholgh teaches wherein the instructions ([0209] computer program instructions), when executed by the at least one processor ([0210] FIG. 15 processor 1518), further cause the apparatus to:
receive a SR resource configuration associated with the SR configuration and configuring a parameter for the SR, wherein the message reconfigures the parameter for the SR ([0272] an SR configuration consists of a one or more PUCCH resources for SR across different BWPs and cells, and a SR configuration comprises a SR prohibit timer (e.g., sr_ProhibitTimer) and a maximum number of SR transmission (e.g., sr_TransMax), [0273] Each logical channel is mapped to zero or one SR configuration configured by the at least one message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SR configurations taught by Khoshkholgh within the parameter of Pang and KO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device with enhanced user experience (Khoshkholgh [0227]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Pang, KO and Khoshkholgh, specifically Khoshkholgh teaches wherein the message indicates an effect time of the SR configuration, and the effect time indicates when the active status or a reconfiguration of the SR configuration takes effect ([0273] Each logical channel is mapped to zero or one SR configuration configured by the at least one message, [0278] based on the SR being triggered, the wireless device set/initialize the SR_COUNTER of the SR configuration, [0279] based on the one or more uplink grants being received, the wireless device cancels the pending SR, and/or stop the SR prohibit time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SR configurations taught by Khoshkholgh within the parameter of Pang and KO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device with enhanced user experience (Khoshkholgh [0227]).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Pang, KO and Khoshkholgh, specifically Khoshkholgh teaches wherein the message activates, deactivates or reconfigures the SR configuration based on a UE capability ([0273] Each logical channel is mapped to zero or one SR configuration configured by the at least one message, [0280] the wireless device releases PUCCH resource and/or cancel the pending SR, [0238] In an example, the wireless device supports a baseline processing capability, [0037] Wireless devices have some specific capabilities depending on wireless device category and/or capability).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SR configurations taught by Khoshkholgh within the parameter of Pang and KO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device with enhanced user experience (Khoshkholgh [0227]).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Pang and KO, specifically Pang teaches wherein the DTX configuration ([0110] the DTX configuration information) is for:
configured grant (CG) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (CG-PUSCH) transmission of the UE;
other uplink transmissions of the UE ([0111] a UE DTX long preamble length (time of sending the DPCCH in advance); when the UE has uplink data that needs to be sent).
However, the combination of Pang and Ko does not teach scheduling request (SR) transmissions of the UE.
In an analogous art, Khoshkholgh teaches scheduling request (SR) transmissions of the UE ([0199] uplink control signaling may comprise scheduling requests (SR), [0272] the MAC entity may be configured with one or more SR configurations and an SR prohibit timer during which the UE may not transmit the SR, [0501] a scheduling request (SR) is a first uplink signal and a start of an SR prohibit timer corresponding to the SR is delayed from the transmission occasion of the SR, thereby controlling SR transmission timing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SR configuration taught by Khoshkholgh within the system of Pang and KO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device with enhanced user experience (Khoshkholgh [0227]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2021/0329677 A1 (Huang) discloses a method and apparatus for reducing power consumption for carrier aggregation in a wireless communication system.
US 2022/0361247 A1 (AWAD et al.) discloses a method for transmitting data or receiving data by a communications device is provided.
US 2025/0142626 A1 (YAN et al.) discloses an information processing method, an information processing apparatus, a device, and a computer readable storage medium.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413