DETAILED ACTION
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The last clause of claim 1 and claim 13 recites—wherein a total thermal expansion of the device carrier between the second portion of the device carrier and the mounting surface of the device carrier is substantially equal to a total thermal expansion of the device between the second integrated circuit and the portion of the device mounted to the mounting surface, at each of a plurality of temperatures within a specific operating temperature range—is indefinite.
There is no specific operational temperature range, thus, the examiner is unable to evaluate the thermal property set forth by the equivalency above. Hence it is an unsearchable limitation. Moreover, the limitation is defining the invention in terms of the result to be achieved, without providing structural limitations necessary for achieving the result.
For examination purposes, the examiner shall consider the total thermal expansion of the two main structures to be similar such that the device operates without thermal failure.
Claims 12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (US 2022/0179159 A1, herein “Wu”).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Wu discloses in Fig. 9A an apparatus comprising:
a circuit interconnection structure (land grid array LGA substrate 904, Para [0197]) comprising a first surface and a second surface, with a cavity (opening 910) formed through an entire thickness between the first surface and the second surface;
a first integrated circuit (laser modules 212) comprising a first port (conductively coupled to (904 via submount), the first integrated circuit mounted on the first surface of the circuit interconnection structure;
a device carrier (photonic integrated circuit 902 and HBM 906) comprising a first portion of the device carrier that fits within at least a portion of the cavity (high bandwidth memory HBM stack or digital modules 906), wherein a second portion (902) of the device carrier rigidly connected to the first portion of the device carrier is attached to the first surface of the circuit interconnection structure (LGA 904); and
a device (HBM 906) positioned within the first portion of the device carrier and mounted to a mounting surface of the device carrier that is substantially parallel to the first surface of the circuit interconnection structure (904), the device comprising a second integrated circuit (HBM stack of two or more dynamic random access memory integrated circuits, Para [0046]) comprising a second port (conductive contacts, Para [0217]).
Wu further teaches photonic computing platform integrates photonic integrated circuit, hybrid/digital analog integrated circuits, laser modules etc. in an environment that is compatible with various thermal dissipation mechanisms that result in more controllable thermal environment (Para [0131]). This disclosures suggests Wu’s design is concerned with the devices with varying thermal expansion coefficient that can affect device integrity.
Regarding the method steps of claims 13-21, the steps of forming, mounting, inserting, positioning etc. is not patentably distinct from the apparatus. The assembly of the apparatus would necessarily disclose the generic method steps of claims 13-21. Therefore, the rejection of the method claims are included with the rejection of the device claims.
Claims 2 and 14. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the connection between the first port of the first integrated circuit (laser module 212) and the second port of the second integrated circuit (HBM 906) comprises an optical beam that is emitted from the first port of the first integrated circuit (laser 212 to prism 230, and coupled into the device carrier 902 also PIC device) and received into the second port of the second integrated circuit (Para [0204]-[0205], [0208], [0215]-[0217]),.
Claim 3. The apparatus of claim 2, further comprising one or more optical components mounted to the device carrier and configured to focus, expand, or change a direction of propagation the optical beam (lens 220 focuses (collimates) the beam, prism 230 changes a direction of the beam, and the grating coupler 228 expands the beam into various wavelengths).
Claims 4 and 15. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the connection between the first port of the first integrated circuit and the second port of the second integrated circuit comprises a wirebond connected to the first port of the first integrated circuit and connected to the second port of the second integrated circuit (Para [0202]-[0203]).
Claim 5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the connection between the first port of the first integrated circuit (laser 212) and the second port of the second integrated circuit (HBM 906) corresponds to an alignment between the first port of the first integrated circuit (laser 212) and the second port of the second integrated circuit associated with a specific height relative to the first surface. Fig. 9A shows the components (212, 220, 230) are calibrated, aligned, and mounted/couple to the first surface of the circuit interconnection structure which have waveguides therein for receiving the incoming light signals (Para [0125]).
Claims 6 and 16. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the circuit interconnection structure (904) comprises a printed circuit board (PCB). Land Grid Array (LGA 904), similar to LGA substrate 202, provides an array of contacts 204 on the top (e.g., in the form of pins, or contacts for solder-based mounting) for providing electrical connectivity for an array of input/output signals provided by an array of contacts 206 that form an LGA footprint on the bottom of the interposer 208. Alternatively, any other surface-mount packaging structure can be used to provide electrical input/output connectivity. Thus, the examiner considers the LGA 202 or 904 to be a PCB (Para [0197]).
Claims 7 and 17. The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the PCB comprises at least one of a high-density interconnect (HDI) PCB, a high-density buildup (HDBU) substrate, a semi-rigid flex, or a substrate-like PCB (SLP). Wu discloses the LGA substrate can have an interposer 208 on the top of the LGA substrate that provides electrical signal paths for communication among different devices that are mounted on top of the interposer wherein the input/output connectivity is arrayed (Para [0197]). Thus, the examiner considers the LGA in Wu discloses high-density interconnect.
Regarding Claims 8, 9, and 18, the device comprises a temperature control element thermally, thermos-electric cooler, (heat sink not shown in the figure or another thermoelectric cooler 272 shown in Fig. 2G) coupled to the mounting surface of the device carrier and thermally coupled to the second integrated circuit (Fig. 2G, Para [0200]).
Claims 10 and 19. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the circuit interconnection structure provides one or more electrical connections with one or more respective electrical contacts on the first integrated circuit (Para [0197]).
Claims 11 and 20. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second portion of the device carrier rigidly connected to the first portion of the device carrier comprises a structure extending horizontally from a substantially vertical wall of the device carrier. Fig. 9A shows the second portion of the device carrier (HBM 906) is rigidly connected to the first portion (PIC 902). HBM 906 has a horizontal dimension that extends horizontally from one side wall of the cavity 910 to the other sidewall. There are two HBM occupying the cavity 910; both extends horizontally from one side wall of the cavity to the other sidewall. Since the claim is silent to the whether the second portion of the device is connected to the sidewall or any measurable value of such extension, the examiner considers the horizontal dimension of the HBM 906 anticipates the limitations of claims 11 and 20.
Claims 12 and 21. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the wall of the device carrier comprises a plurality of materials having different coefficients of thermal expansion. At least the optical elements, conductor pads, grid ball array will contribute to the plurality of materials having different coefficients of thermal expansion.
Conclusion
/ERIN D CHIEM/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874