DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/02/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
LIST OF REFERENCES USED
REFERENCE 1
Sun et al., US 10,483,895 B2, issued Nov. 19, 2019, “Method and apparatus for wireless power transfer to an independent moving cart.”
REFERENCE 2
Ogasawara, JPH09224366, published Aug. 26, 1997, “Linear motor in which a moving element does not move even when a power source is turned off.” English translation relied upon.
REFERENCE 3
Zhang, CN106429712A, published Feb. 22, 2017, “Elevator safety device.” English translation relied upon. [VERIFY translation and figure numerals in IFW before filing.]
REFERENCE 4
Takasan et al., US 5,927,657, issued Jul. 27, 1999, “Antenna mounting structure for movable member conveying system.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
CLAIMS 1–4 AND 7–9: REJECTED UNDER 35 U.S.C. § 103 OVER REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2
A linear transport system, wherein the linear transport system comprises: at least a stationary unit and at least a movable unit, wherein the linear transport system further comprises a drive for driving said movable unit, wherein the drive comprises a linear motor, and wherein the linear motor comprises a stator and a rotor, wherein the stator comprises one or a plurality of said stationary unit, and wherein the rotor is arranged on said movable unit and comprises one or a plurality of magnets; wherein said stationary unit comprises an energy transmitting coil, wherein said movable unit comprises an energy receiving coil, wherein said movable unit comprises a fixing device, wherein the fixing device is arranged to fix said movable unit in the linear transport system, wherein the fixing device comprises a movable element, wherein the movable element is movable between a first position and a second position, and wherein the movable element triggers a mechanical fixing of the movable element unit in the first position.
CLAIM 1 — ANALYSIS
Reference 1 discloses a linear transport system in the form of an independent moving cart system having a track 10 made from track segments 12 and 14, with movers 100 traveling along the track 10. The track 10, track segments 12 and 14, rails 20, drive coils 50, and primary winding 172 are stationary structures. The mover 100 is a movable unit.
Reference 1 discloses that the transport system includes at least one stationary unit and at least one movable unit. The stationary unit is met by the track 10 and/or track segments 12 and 14, including the rail 20, drive coils 50, and primary winding 172. The movable unit is met by the mover 100.
Reference 1 discloses a drive for driving the movable unit. The drive is the linear drive system including the series of drive coils 50 along the track 10 and the drive magnets 140 mounted to the mover 100. The electromagnetic field generated by the drive coils 50 interacts with the drive magnets 140 on the mover 100 to control movement of the mover 100 along the track 10.
Reference 1 discloses that the drive comprises a linear motor having a stator and a rotor. The stationary drive coils 50 arranged along the track 10 constitute the stator portion of the linear motor because they are fixed to the stationary track structure and generate the electromagnetic field. The drive magnets 140 mounted on the mover 100 constitute the rotor portion because they are carried by the moving portion and interact with the stationary electromagnetic field.
Reference 1 discloses that the stator comprises one or a plurality of stationary units. The drive coils 50 are arranged along the track segments 12 and 14. The track segments 12 and 14 are stationary units of the system. Therefore, the stationary units include the stator components.
Reference 1 discloses that the rotor is arranged on the movable unit and comprises one or a plurality of magnets. The drive magnets 140 are mounted to the mover 100 and include separate magnet segments. The drive magnets 140 therefore correspond to the claimed magnets on the rotor arranged on the movable unit.
Reference 1 discloses that the stationary unit comprises an energy transmitting coil. Reference 1 discloses primary winding 172 arranged along the track segment. The primary winding 172 includes forward and reverse conduction paths 173 and 175 and may be formed as a coil along the length of a track segment. The primary winding 172 transmits energy to the mover 100 and therefore corresponds to the claimed energy transmitting coil.
Reference 1 discloses that the movable unit comprises an energy receiving coil. Reference 1 discloses secondary winding 182 mounted on the mover 100. The secondary winding 182 is positioned proximate the primary winding 172, separated by air gap 180, so that power is transferred inductively from the primary winding 172 to the secondary winding 182. The secondary winding 182 therefore corresponds to the claimed energy receiving coil.
Reference 1 does not expressly disclose that the mover 100 includes the claimed fixing device. Reference 2 teaches this feature. Reference 2 discloses a linear motor having a mover 4 traveling along a guide rail 2 and further discloses an electromagnetic brake device 10 fixed to the mover 4. Reference 2 explains that the electromagnetic brake device 10 prevents movement of the mover 4 when power is turned off. The electromagnetic brake device 10 therefore corresponds to a fixing device arranged to fix a movable unit in a linear transport system.
Reference 2 discloses that the fixing device comprises a movable element. The movable element is the movable-side yoke 14 together with the brake pad 18 attached to the back surface of the movable-side yoke 14. The movable-side yoke 14 is movable relative to the fixed-side yoke 11 and is guided by pin 15 and groove 16.
Reference 2 discloses that the movable element is movable between a first position and a second position. When coil 13 is excited, the movable-side yoke 14 is attracted toward fixed-side yoke 11 against the force of coil spring 17, and brake pad 18 separates from the stationary surface so that the brake is released. This corresponds to the second position. When coil 13 is demagnetized, coil spring 17 moves movable-side yoke 14 so that brake pad 18 presses the stationary surface and applies braking. This corresponds to the first position.
Reference 2 discloses that the movable element triggers a mechanical fixing of the movable unit in the first position. In the brake-applied position, brake pad 18 physically contacts a stationary surface, such as stator 1, guide rail 2, or a roller, and mechanically resists movement of mover 4. This physical engagement is mechanical, and it fixes or impedes the mover by applying braking force. In the combined system, the movable-side yoke 14 and brake pad 18 would be mounted to mover 100 of Reference 1 and would mechanically fix or impede movement of the mover 100 relative to the stationary track 10 when in the brake-applied first position.
CLAIM 1 — MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide the electromagnetic brake device 10 of Reference 2 on the mover 100 of Reference 1 because both references concern rail-guided or track-guided linear motor transport systems in which a movable body travels along a stationary path. Reference 2 expressly addresses the known safety problem that a mover may continue moving or fall when power is turned off. Adding the brake device 10 to Reference 1’s mover 100 would predictably prevent unintended movement, improve safety during power loss, and permit stable holding of a mover at a work station. The modification is a straightforward use of a known brake/fixing device on a known moving carriage structure and yields the predictable result of a mover that can be mechanically restrained when desired.
The linear transport system according to claim 1, wherein the energy receiving coil is equipped to receive energy from the energy transmitting coil.
CLAIM 2 — ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the linear transport system of claim 1 as explained above.
Reference 1 discloses that secondary winding 182 on mover 100 is positioned proximate primary winding 172 on the track segment. Reference 1 discloses that power is transferred inductively between primary winding 172 and secondary winding 182 across air gap 180. The secondary winding 182 is therefore equipped to receive energy from the primary winding 172. The secondary winding 182 corresponds to the claimed energy receiving coil, and primary winding 172 corresponds to the claimed energy transmitting coil.
CLAIM 2 — MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
The added limitation of claim 2 is taught directly by Reference 1. The motivation to combine Reference 1 with Reference 2 remains the same as for claim 1. A person of ordinary skill would have retained Reference 1’s inductive power transfer because it already supplies power to the mover 100 and would predictably support mover-mounted electrical loads, including the electromagnet coil used in Reference 2’s brake device.
The linear transport system according to claim 1, wherein the movable element is configured to be held in the second position with the aid of an electromagnet, wherein the electromagnet is configured to be supplied with a current with the aid of the energy transmitting coil and energy receiving coil, respectively, wherein a reset element acts against a force generated by the electromagnet, and wherein movement of the movable element into the first position is adapted to be effected by the reset element.
CLAIM 3 — ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the linear transport system of claim 1 as explained above.
Reference 2 discloses that the movable element is held in the second position with the aid of an electromagnet. In Reference 2, coil 13, fixed-side yoke 11, and movable-side yoke 14 form the electromagnetic actuator. When coil 13 is excited, movable-side yoke 14 is attracted toward fixed-side yoke 11 against the force of coil spring 17. This moves brake pad 18 away from the stationary braking surface and holds the brake in the released position. That released position corresponds to the claimed second position.
Reference 2 discloses that the electromagnet is supplied with current. The current is supplied to coil 13 to generate the electromagnetic force that attracts movable-side yoke 14 toward fixed-side yoke 11.
Reference 1 teaches the claimed way of supplying the current with the aid of the energy transmitting coil and energy receiving coil. Reference 1 discloses primary winding 172 on the stationary track and secondary winding 182 on the mover 100. Reference 1 further discloses that power received by secondary winding 182 is supplied to electrical loads on the mover 100 through mover-mounted power circuitry, including power converter 260 and electrical load 300. In the combined system, coil 13 of Reference 2 is a mover-mounted electrical load, and the power received through secondary winding 182 would be used to supply current to coil 13.
Reference 2 discloses a reset element acting against a force generated by the electromagnet. Coil spring 17 acts against the electromagnetic attraction force generated by coil 13. When coil 13 is energized, the magnetic force pulls movable-side yoke 14 toward fixed-side yoke 11, and coil spring 17 opposes that movement.
Reference 2 discloses movement of the movable element into the first position by the reset element. When coil 13 is demagnetized, coil spring 17 moves movable-side yoke 14 away from fixed-side yoke 11 so that brake pad 18 presses the stationary surface and applies the brake. The spring-driven brake-applied position corresponds to the claimed first position.
CLAIM 3 — MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to supply Reference 2’s coil 13 using the inductive power transfer arrangement of Reference 1 because Reference 1 already provides contactless power to the mover 100 for mover-mounted electrical loads. Supplying a mover-mounted electromagnetic brake coil from that available mover power would avoid additional cables or sliding contacts, preserve the independent movement of the mover, and predictably allow the brake to be held released during powered operation while automatically engaging upon loss of current.
The linear transport system according to claim 1, wherein the linear transport system comprises a guide rail, wherein the movable units are movable along the guide rail by the drive, wherein the movable unit comprises rollers, wherein the rollers roll on running surfaces of the guide rail, and wherein movement along the guide rail is impeded by the fixing device.
CLAIM 4 — ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the linear transport system of claim 1 as explained above.
Reference 1 discloses that the linear transport system comprises a guide rail. The rail 20 is mounted to track 10 and includes track portion 24 along which the mover 100 runs.
Reference 1 discloses that the movable units are movable along the guide rail by the drive. Mover 100 travels along rail 20 on track 10. Movement is driven by the interaction between the stationary drive coils 50 and the drive magnets 140 mounted to mover 100.
Reference 1 discloses that the movable unit comprises rollers. The mover 100 includes rollers 110 mounted to the top member 104 and bottom member 106.
Reference 1 discloses that the rollers roll on running surfaces of the guide rail. Rollers 110 engage and run along track portion 24 of rail 20. The surfaces of track portion 24 contacted by rollers 110 correspond to running surfaces of the guide rail.
Reference 2 discloses that movement along the guide rail is impeded by the fixing device. Reference 2’s electromagnetic brake device 10 includes brake pad 18, movable-side yoke 14, coil 13, and coil spring 17. When coil 13 is demagnetized, coil spring 17 causes brake pad 18 to press against a stationary surface and apply braking. Reference 2 further teaches that the brake pad may press against the stator, the side or upper surface of the guide rail, or a roller of the mover. In the combined system, the brake device 10 mounted to mover 100 impedes movement of the mover 100 along rail 20.
CLAIM 4 — MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 2’s brake device 10 to impede movement of Reference 1’s mover 100 along rail 20 because Reference 1’s mover is rail-guided and roller-supported, and Reference 2’s brake is designed to restrain a rail-guided linear motor mover. Applying the brake to a rail-guided mover is a predictable safety and positioning improvement that directly addresses unintended movement along the guide path.
The linear transport system according to claim 4, wherein the movable element comprises a first brake pad, wherein the first brake pad contacts the guide rail when the movable element is arranged in the first position.
CLAIM 7 — ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the linear transport system of claim 4 as explained above.
Reference 2 discloses that the movable element comprises a brake pad. Brake pad 18 is attached to movable-side yoke 14 and moves with movable-side yoke 14 as part of the brake device 10. Brake pad 18 corresponds to the claimed first brake pad.
Reference 2 discloses that the brake pad contacts a stationary braking surface when the movable element is in the brake-applied position. Reference 2 further teaches that the brake pad may press against the side surface or upper surface of the guide rail. In the combined system, the guide rail is rail 20 of Reference 1. Therefore, when the movable-side yoke 14 and brake pad 18 are in the first position, brake pad 18 contacts rail 20 and impedes movement of mover 100.
CLAIM 7 — MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to configure the brake pad 18 of Reference 2 to contact the rail 20 of Reference 1 because Reference 2 expressly identifies guide-rail contact as a suitable braking surface. Rail contact provides a simple and predictable frictional braking interface for a rail-guided mover and allows the fixing device to restrain the mover without requiring substantial changes to the linear drive structure.
The linear transport system according to claim 4, wherein the movable element comprises a second brake pad, wherein the second brake pad contacts one of the rollers when the movable element is arranged in the first position.
CLAIM 8 — ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the linear transport system of claim 4 as explained above.
Reference 2 discloses a brake pad 18 moved by movable-side yoke 14. Reference 2 also teaches that the brake pad may press against a roller of the moving element. When configured for roller braking, brake pad 18 corresponds to the claimed second brake pad.
Reference 1 discloses rollers 110 on mover 100. In the combined system, Reference 2’s brake pad 18 is positioned to contact one of Reference 1’s rollers 110 when movable-side yoke 14 is in the brake-applied first position. Contacting roller 110 mechanically restricts roller rotation and thereby impedes movement of mover 100 along rail 20.
CLAIM 8 — MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to apply Reference 2’s roller-contact braking option to Reference 1’s mover 100 because Reference 1’s movement depends on rollers 110 rolling on rail 20, and braking a roller predictably impedes movement of the mover. Reference 2 expressly recognizes roller braking as an alternative brake-pad contact arrangement, and applying that arrangement to Reference 1’s rollers would have required only routine mechanical positioning of the brake pad relative to a roller.
======
CLAIMS 5–6: REJECTED UNDER 35 U.S.C. § 103 OVER REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 3
The linear transport system according to claim 4, wherein said guide rail comprises bore holes for engaging the movable element, wherein the movable element is at least partially arranged in one of the bore holes in the first position.
CLAIM 5 — ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the linear transport system of claim 4 as explained above.
Reference 1 and Reference 2 do not expressly disclose bore holes in the guide rail for engaging the movable element. Reference 3 teaches this feature.
Reference 3 discloses a guide rail 1 having locking holes 31. Reference 3 further discloses a positioning pin 32 configured to engage a locking hole 31. The locking holes 31 correspond to the claimed bore holes, and positioning pin 32 corresponds to a movable element configured to engage the bore holes.
Reference 3 discloses that positioning pin 32 is at least partially arranged in locking hole 31 in the locked position. The locked position corresponds to the claimed first position because the movable element is engaged with the guide rail and mechanically prevents movement.
In the combined system, Reference 1 provides the track-based linear motor transport system, Reference 2 provides the mover-mounted fixing/braking device, and Reference 3 provides the additional known positive-locking interface in which a movable pin engages a hole in a guide rail. The rail 20 of Reference 1 would be provided with locking holes corresponding to locking holes 31 of Reference 3, and the mover-mounted fixing device would include a movable pin corresponding to positioning pin 32 for engagement with those holes.
CLAIM 5 — MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to supplement the brake/fixing device of Reference 2 with the positive pin-in-hole locking structure of Reference 3 because friction braking and positive locking are known alternative or complementary ways to restrain a guided moving body. The bore-hole and pin arrangement provides a predictable improvement in holding strength and positional certainty, particularly where the mover must be fixed at a work station or must resist movement under drive or external load. The modification would have yielded the predictable result of a mover that can be positively locked to the guide rail at discrete positions.
The linear transport system according to claim 5, wherein the movable element is configured to fix the movable unit to withstand movements triggered by the drive.
CLAIM 6 — ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 3 teaches the linear transport system of claim 5 as explained above.
Reference 1 discloses that movement of mover 100 is triggered by the linear drive system, including drive coils 50 interacting with drive magnets 140. Therefore, Reference 1 teaches drive-triggered movement of the movable unit.
Reference 3 discloses that positioning pin 32 engages locking hole 31 in guide rail 1. When pin 32 is inserted into hole 31, the pin-and-hole structure forms a positive mechanical engagement that resists translation of the moving body relative to the guide rail. In the combined system, when the movable element corresponding to positioning pin 32 engages a bore hole corresponding to locking hole 31 in rail 20, the mover 100 is fixed relative to the rail 20 and can withstand movement forces generated by the drive.
CLAIM 6 — MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to configure the movable locking element to withstand movement triggered by the drive because the purpose of a positive pin-in-hole lock is to resist forces that would otherwise cause translation. Since Reference 1’s mover 100 is driven by electromagnetic forces, a person of ordinary skill would have understood that a rail-engaging pin should be sized, positioned, and configured to resist those forces when the mover is intended to remain fixed. This provides the predictable result of a positive mechanical hold that is stronger and more positionally definite than friction braking alone.
======
CLAIM 9: REJECTED UNDER 35 U.S.C. § 103 OVER REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 4
The linear transport system according to claim 1, wherein the stationary unit comprises a stationary antenna and the movable unit comprises a movable antenna, wherein the movable unit comprises a controller, wherein the controller is configured to control the fixing device based on a signal transmitted from the stationary antenna to the movable antenna.
CLAIM 9 — ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the linear transport system of claim 1 as explained above.
Reference 1 and Reference 2 do not expressly disclose the claimed stationary antenna, movable antenna, and controller controlling the fixing device based on a signal transmitted from the stationary antenna to the movable antenna. Reference 4 teaches the communication architecture.
Reference 4 discloses a carriage conveying system having a ground-side conveyance control device 6 and transporting vehicles 4A to 4C moving along guide rail 3. Reference 4 discloses ground transmission antenna 35 and ground receptor antenna 36 connected to ground modem 34. The ground transmission antenna 35 and ground receptor antenna 36 are stationary-side communication elements and correspond to the claimed stationary antenna.
Reference 4 discloses vehicle-side transmission antenna 29 and receptor antenna 30 connected to modem 31 on the transporting vehicle. These vehicle-side antennas are mounted on the movable transporting vehicle and correspond to the claimed movable antenna.
Reference 4 discloses conveyance controller 26 on each transporting vehicle. The modem 31 extracts communication signals and provides digital instruction signals to conveyance controller 26. The conveyance controller 26 then controls vehicle operation, such as operation motor 17, in accordance with the received instruction signals. Conveyance controller 26 corresponds to the claimed controller on the movable unit.
Reference 2 discloses the fixing device, namely electromagnetic brake device 10, including coil 13, movable-side yoke 14, coil spring 17, and brake pad 18. The brake device 10 is controlled by energizing and de-energizing coil 13. In the combined system, the controller corresponding to Reference 4’s conveyance controller 26 would control coil 13 of Reference 2’s brake device based on a signal transmitted from Reference 4’s ground transmission antenna 35 to the vehicle-side receptor antenna 30.
Thus, the combined system includes a stationary antenna, a movable antenna, a movable-unit controller, and control of the fixing device based on a signal transmitted from the stationary antenna to the movable antenna.
CLAIM 9 — MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use the stationary-to-movable communication system of Reference 4 to control the brake/fixing device of Reference 2 in the mover of Reference 1 because Reference 4 teaches that operating instructions can be transmitted from a stationary control device to a moving carriage and used by a carriage-mounted controller to control carriage functions. Reference 2’s brake device is an electrically controllable carriage function because coil 13 determines whether the brake is released or applied. Applying Reference 4’s communication/control arrangement to Reference 2’s brake in Reference 1’s mover would predictably allow remote command of braking or release without separate communication cables, improving operational control and safety.
======
CLAIMS 10–13 AND 16–17: REJECTED UNDER 35 U.S.C. § 103 OVER REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2
A movable unit of a linear transport system, wherein a rotor is arranged on said movable unit and comprises one or a plurality of magnets, wherein the movable unit comprises an energy receiving coil, wherein the movable unit comprises a fixing device, wherein the fixing device is configured to fix the movable unit in the linear transport system, wherein the fixing device comprises a movable element, wherein the movable element is movable between a first position and a second position, and wherein the movable element triggers a mechanical fixing of the movable unit in the first position.
CLAIM 10 — ANALYSIS
Reference 1 discloses a movable unit of a linear transport system. The movable unit is mover 100, which travels along track 10 of the independent moving cart system.
Reference 1 discloses that a rotor is arranged on the movable unit and comprises one or a plurality of magnets. The drive magnets 140 are mounted to mover 100. The drive magnets 140 interact with stationary drive coils 50 along track 10 and function as the moving rotor portion of the linear motor.
Reference 1 discloses that the movable unit comprises an energy receiving coil. Mover 100 includes secondary winding 182. The secondary winding 182 receives power inductively from primary winding 172 across air gap 180.
Reference 1 does not expressly disclose the claimed fixing device. Reference 2 teaches a fixing device configured to fix a movable unit in a linear transport system. Reference 2 discloses electromagnetic brake device 10 mounted to mover 4. The brake device 10 prevents movement of mover 4 when the brake is applied, including when power is turned off.
Reference 2 discloses that the fixing device comprises a movable element. The movable element is movable-side yoke 14 together with brake pad 18, which moves relative to fixed-side yoke 11 and is guided by pin 15 and groove 16.
Reference 2 discloses that the movable element is movable between a first position and a second position. When coil 13 is energized, movable-side yoke 14 is attracted toward fixed-side yoke 11 and brake pad 18 separates from the braking surface. This is the second position. When coil 13 is demagnetized, coil spring 17 moves movable-side yoke 14 so brake pad 18 presses the braking surface. This is the first position.
Reference 2 discloses that the movable element triggers mechanical fixing of the movable unit in the first position. In the first position, brake pad 18 physically presses a stationary surface, such as stator 1 or guide rail 2, or alternatively a roller, and mechanically prevents or impedes movement of mover 4. In the combined system, the same brake device 10 mounted to Reference 1’s mover 100 fixes mover 100 in the linear transport system when brake pad 18 is applied.
CLAIM 10 — MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide Reference 1’s mover 100 with Reference 2’s brake device 10 because Reference 2 teaches a compact electromagnetic brake for a linear motor mover that prevents movement when power is turned off. Applying that brake to Reference 1’s mover 100 would predictably improve power-loss safety, controlled stopping, and positional holding while preserving the mover-based architecture of Reference 1.
The movable unit according to claim 10, wherein the energy receiving coil is equipped to receive energy from an energy transmitting coil.
CLAIM 11 — ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the movable unit of claim 10 as explained above.
Reference 1 discloses that secondary winding 182 on mover 100 is arranged to receive energy from primary winding 172 on the stationary track. The primary winding 172 corresponds to the energy transmitting coil. The secondary winding 182 corresponds to the energy receiving coil. Because energy is inductively transferred from primary winding 172 to secondary winding 182 across air gap 180, the secondary winding 182 is equipped to receive energy from the energy transmitting coil.
CLAIM 11 — MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
The added limitation of claim 11 is taught directly by Reference 1. A person of ordinary skill would have retained the secondary winding 182 of Reference 1 in the combined movable unit because it provides contactless power to mover-mounted loads and is fully compatible with adding Reference 2’s brake device as an additional mover-mounted electrical/mechanical subsystem.
The movable unit according to claim 10, wherein the movable element is configured to be held in the second position with the aid of an electromagnet, wherein the electromagnet is configured to be supplied with a current with the aid of the energy receiving coil, wherein a reset element acts against a force generated by the electromagnet, and wherein movement of the movable element to the first position is adapted to be effected by the reset element.
CLAIM 12 — ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the movable unit of claim 10 as explained above.
Reference 2 discloses that the movable element is held in the second position with the aid of an electromagnet. Coil 13, fixed-side yoke 11, and movable-side yoke 14 form an electromagnet arrangement. When coil 13 is energized, movable-side yoke 14 is attracted toward fixed-side yoke 11 and holds brake pad 18 away from the braking surface. This corresponds to holding the movable element in the second position.
Reference 1 discloses that the movable unit comprises secondary winding 182, which receives energy from primary winding 172. Reference 1 further discloses that mover-mounted power circuitry supplies power to electrical loads on the mover 100. In the combined system, Reference 2’s electromagnet coil 13 is supplied with current using energy received by secondary winding 182, because coil 13 is a mover-mounted electrical load.
Reference 2 discloses a reset element acting against the force generated by the electromagnet. Coil spring 17 acts against the magnetic attraction created when coil 13 is energized.
Reference 2 discloses that movement of the movable element to the first position is effected by the reset element. When coil 13 is demagnetized, coil spring 17 moves movable-side yoke 14 so that brake pad 18 presses against the stationary surface and applies the brake. This corresponds to movement into the first position by the reset element.
CLAIM 12 — MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to power Reference 2’s electromagnet coil 13 from Reference 1’s mover-side secondary winding 182 because Reference 1 expressly provides contactless power to support mover-mounted electrical loads. This configuration predictably creates a fail-safe brake: current received through secondary winding 182 holds the brake released during powered operation, and removal of current allows coil spring 17 to apply the brake.
The movable unit according to claim 10, wherein the movable unit is movable along a guide rail of the linear transport system by a drive, wherein the movable unit comprises rollers, wherein the rollers roll on running surfaces of the guide rail, and wherein movement along the guide rail is impeded by the fixing device.
CLAIM 13 — ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the movable unit of claim 10 as explained above.
Reference 1 discloses that mover 100 is movable along a guide rail of the linear transport system by a drive. The guide rail is rail 20 on track 10. The drive includes stationary drive coils 50 and drive magnets 140 on mover 100.
Reference 1 discloses that mover 100 comprises rollers. The rollers are rollers 110 mounted to top member 104 and bottom member 106 of mover 100.
Reference 1 discloses that rollers 110 roll on running surfaces of rail 20. Rollers 110 engage track portion 24 of rail 20 and support movement of mover 100 along the rail.
Reference 2 discloses that movement along the guide rail is impeded by the fixing device. Brake device 10 applies brake pad 18 to a stationary surface, such as stator 1 or guide rail 2, or to a roller, thereby preventing or impeding movement of mover 4. In the combined system, brake device 10 impedes movement of mover 100 along rail 20.
CLAIM 13 — MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 2’s brake device 10 to impede Reference 1’s mover 100 along rail 20 because braking a rail-guided mover is a predictable safety and positioning improvement. The combination uses Reference 2’s known brake on Reference 1’s known rail-guided mover to prevent undesired movement along the guide rail.
The movable unit of claim 13, wherein the movable element comprises a first brake pad, wherein the first brake pad is movable towards the guide rail when the movable element is moved towards the first position.
CLAIM 16 — ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the movable unit of claim 13 as explained above.
Reference 2 discloses that the movable element comprises a brake pad. Brake pad 18 is attached to movable-side yoke 14 and moves with movable-side yoke 14. Brake pad 18 corresponds to the claimed first brake pad.
Reference 2 discloses that brake pad 18 moves toward a stationary braking surface when the movable-side yoke 14 is moved toward the brake-applied position. Reference 2 further teaches that the brake pad may press against the guide rail. In the combined system, the guide rail is rail 20 of Reference 1, and brake pad 18 is movable toward rail 20 when movable-side yoke 14 moves toward the first position.
CLAIM 16 — MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to configure Reference 2’s brake pad 18 to move toward Reference 1’s rail 20 because Reference 2 teaches guide-rail contact as a suitable brake-pad arrangement, and rail-contact braking predictably impedes movement of a rail-guided mover. The modification is a routine mechanical placement of a brake pad relative to the guide rail.
The movable unit according to claim 13, wherein the movable element comprises a second brake pad, wherein the second brake pad contacts one of the rollers when the movable element is arranged in the first position.
CLAIM 17 — ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the movable unit of claim 13 as explained above.
Reference 2 discloses brake pad 18 as part of the movable brake structure. Reference 2 further teaches that the brake pad may be pressed against a roller of the moving element. When configured for roller contact, brake pad 18 corresponds to the claimed second brake pad.
Reference 1 discloses rollers 110 on mover 100. In the combined system, Reference 2’s brake pad 18 contacts one of Reference 1’s rollers 110 when movable-side yoke 14 is in the first position. This contact restricts rotation of roller 110 and impedes movement of mover 100 along rail 20.
CLAIM 17 — MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 2’s roller-contact brake arrangement with Reference 1’s roller-supported mover because Reference 1’s movement depends on rollers 110, and restricting a roller predictably restricts mover movement. Reference 2 expressly recognizes roller contact as an option, and applying that option to Reference 1’s roller structure would have been a routine and predictable implementation.
======
CLAIMS 14–15: REJECTED UNDER 35 U.S.C. § 103 OVER REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 3
The movable unit according to claim 13, wherein the movable element is configured to at least partially engage a bore hole of the guide rail in the first position.
CLAIM 14 — ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the movable unit of claim 13 as explained above.
Reference 3 discloses a movable locking element in the form of positioning pin 32 and a guide rail 1 having locking holes 31. Reference 3 discloses that positioning pin 32 engages a locking hole 31 in the guide rail to lock the moving body relative to the guide rail.
In the combined system, Reference 1’s rail 20 is provided with bore holes corresponding to Reference 3’s locking holes 31, and the movable element includes a pin corresponding to Reference 3’s positioning pin 32. When in the first position, the pin at least partially engages one of the bore holes in rail 20, thereby mechanically fixing mover 100 relative to the rail.
CLAIM 14 — MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include Reference 3’s pin-in-hole locking arrangement in the fixing device of the combined Reference 1 and Reference 2 system because pin-in-hole engagement is a known positive-locking mechanism for rail-guided motion. The arrangement predictably provides more definite positional fixation than friction braking alone and is useful where the mover must remain fixed at a predetermined position.
The movable unit according to claim 14, wherein the movable element is configured to fix the movable unit to withstand movements triggered by the drive.
CLAIM 15 — ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 3 teaches the movable unit of claim 14 as explained above.
Reference 1 discloses that mover 100 is moved by the linear drive system, including drive coils 50 and drive magnets 140. These structures trigger movement of the movable unit.
Reference 3 discloses that positioning pin 32 engages locking hole 31. When the pin is inserted into the hole, the engagement blocks relative movement between the moving body and the guide rail. In the combined system, the movable element corresponding to positioning pin 32 fixes mover 100 relative to rail 20 and withstands movement that would otherwise be triggered by the electromagnetic drive.
CLAIM 15 — MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to configure the pin-in-hole locking element to withstand drive-triggered movement because resisting movement is the ordinary purpose of a mechanical lock. Where Reference 1’s drive can generate movement forces, the positive lock of Reference 3 would predictably provide the required holding force to prevent the mover from being displaced when the fixing device is engaged.
======
CLAIM 18: REJECTED UNDER 35 U.S.C. § 103 OVER REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 4
The movable unit according to claim 10, wherein the movable unit comprises a movable antenna, and wherein the movable unit comprises a controller, wherein the controller is configured to control the fixing device based on a signal received from the movable antenna.
CLAIM 18 — ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the movable unit of claim 10 as explained above.
Reference 4 discloses that each transporting vehicle includes vehicle-side transmission antenna 29 and receptor antenna 30 connected to modem 31. These antennas are mounted on the movable transporting vehicle and correspond to the claimed movable antenna.
Reference 4 discloses that each transporting vehicle includes conveyance controller 26. The modem 31 extracts communication signals received by receptor antenna 30 and provides corresponding instruction signals to conveyance controller 26. Conveyance controller 26 then controls vehicle operation based on those received instruction signals.
Reference 2 discloses the fixing device in the form of electromagnetic brake device 10, which is controlled by energizing or de-energizing coil 13. In the combined system, the movable-unit controller corresponding to Reference 4’s conveyance controller 26 controls coil 13 of Reference 2’s brake device based on a signal received through Reference 4’s movable antenna 30. Thus, the controller controls the fixing device based on a signal received from the movable antenna.
CLAIM 18 — MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 4’s movable antenna and movable-unit controller to control Reference 2’s brake device on Reference 1’s mover because Reference 4 teaches receiving stationary-side instruction signals at a moving carriage and using a carriage controller to control carriage functions. Reference 2’s brake device is an electrically controlled carriage function. The combination predictably enables remote braking and release commands without requiring a dedicated communication cable to the moving unit.
======
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments filed in response to the prior Office action have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the reasons below.
PRÜSSMEIER-BASED REJECTION WITHDRAWN
Applicant argues that the previously applied Prüssmeier reference is not available as prior art in view of Applicant’s priority/common-ownership assertions. The Office acknowledges Applicant’s argument. The prior rejection relying on Prüssmeier as the primary reference is withdrawn and is not maintained in this action.
Withdrawal of the Prüssmeier-based rejection is not an indication that the claims are allowable. The pending claims remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over the new combinations set forth above.
APPLICANT’S NARROW CONSTRUCTION OF “MECHANICAL FIXING” IS NOT PERSUASIVE
Applicant argues that “mechanical fixing” requires a mechanical fastener, mechanical joint, coupling, or non-frictional positive lock, and that a friction brake such as Reference 2’s brake pad 18 is outside the scope of the claims. This argument is not persuasive.
During examination, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. The specification describes “fixing” broadly enough to include complete immobilization, preventing movement, suppressing movement, slowing movement, and braking movement. The specification also expressly describes embodiments in which a first brake pad contacts the guide rail and a second brake pad contacts a roller. Therefore, the specification itself confirms that the claimed fixing device and mechanical fixing are not limited to a pin-in-hole fastener or non-frictional coupling.
The dependent claims also confirm this interpretation. Claim 4 recites that movement along the guide rail is “impeded” by the fixing device. The word “impeded” does not require absolute locking or a rigid fastener. Claims 7 and 16 specifically recite a brake pad contacting or moving toward the guide rail. Claims 8 and 17 specifically recite a brake pad contacting a roller. These claims would be inconsistent with Applicant’s proposed interpretation if frictional brake-pad engagement were excluded from “mechanical fixing.”
Accordingly, under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification and the claim set, “mechanical fixing” encompasses a mechanical brake pad physically engaging a stationary structure or roller to prevent, suppress, slow, or impede movement.
REFERENCE 2 TEACHES A MECHANICAL FIXING DEVICE UNDER THE PROPER CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Reference 2 discloses electromagnetic brake device 10 mounted to mover 4 of a linear motor. Brake device 10 includes fixed-side yoke 11, coil 13, movable-side yoke 14, coil spring 17, and brake pad 18. When coil 13 is energized, movable-side yoke 14 is attracted toward fixed-side yoke 11 and the brake is released. When coil 13 is de-energized, coil spring 17 moves movable-side yoke 14 so brake pad 18 presses a stationary surface and applies the brake.
This is a mechanical fixing within the meaning of the pending claims. The brake pad 18 is a physical mechanical structure. It physically contacts the stationary part or roller. That physical contact mechanically resists movement of the mover. Reference 2 further states that the purpose of the brake device is to prevent movement of the moving element when power is turned off. Thus, Reference 2 teaches the claimed fixing device, movable element, first and second positions, electromagnet, reset element, and brake-pad fixing arrangements.
Applicant’s characterization of Reference 2 as “only” a friction brake does not avoid the rejection because the pending claims themselves cover brake-pad embodiments.
THE BORE-HOLE LIMITATIONS ARE ADDRESSED BY REFERENCE 3, NOT BY AN OVERREADING OF REFERENCE 2
Applicant’s argument that Reference 2 does not disclose bore holes does not overcome the rejections of claims 5, 6, 14, and 15. The present rejection relies on Reference 3 for the bore-hole and pin-engagement limitations. Reference 3 discloses guide rail 1, locking holes 31, and positioning pin 32. Reference 3 therefore supplies the additional positive-locking structure required by the bore-hole dependent claims.
The Office is not relying on Reference 2 alone for the bore-hole limitations. Reference 2 is relied upon for the general mover-mounted fixing/braking device, and Reference 3 is relied upon for the additional known positive pin-in-hole locking feature.
THE COMBINATION WITH REFERENCE 3 IS NOT HINDSIGHT
Applicant’s hindsight argument is not persuasive. The reason to combine does not come from Applicant’s disclosure. Reference 2 independently recognizes the problem of unintended mover movement when power is turned off and provides an electromagnetic brake to prevent movement. Reference 3 independently teaches positive mechanical locking by engagement of a movable pin with a hole in a guide rail. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that friction braking and positive pin-in-hole locking are known mechanical restraint techniques that may be used separately or together depending on the desired holding force and positional certainty.
The combination provides a predictable result: the mover can be braked by a brake pad and, where discrete-position holding is desired, can be positively fixed by engagement of a movable element with a bore hole in the guide rail.
THE COMMUNICATION LIMITATIONS ARE ADDRESSED BY REFERENCE 4
Claims 9 and 18 require antenna-based communication and controller control of the fixing device. Reference 4 teaches ground-side antennas 35 and 36, vehicle-side antennas 29 and 30, modem 31, conveyance controller 26, and transmission of instruction signals from a stationary control device to a moving vehicle. Reference 2 teaches that brake device 10 is electrically controlled by coil 13. It would have been obvious to use the vehicle-side controller of Reference 4 to control the coil 13 of Reference 2’s brake device based on received stationary-side instructions, because brake application and release are ordinary controllable vehicle functions.
Applicant’s arguments therefore do not overcome the rejections set forth in this action.
======
Conclusion
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615