This office action is in response to remarks filed on 12/19/2025.
Claims 1, 3-8, and 10-20 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 8, 15, and 16 are amended. Claims 2 and 9 are canceled.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1, 8, 15, and 16 have been considered based on amendments.
112(f) interpretation for claim 1 and 15 is withdrawn.
112(b) rejection for claim 1 and 15 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10, 13-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maheshwari et al (US20210398417A1) (hereinafter "Maheshwari") in view of Xiao et al (US20220297721A1) (hereinafter "Xiao"), Liu et al (WO2018103213A1) (hereinafter "Liu"), Holmberg et al (US20200187488A1) (hereinafter "Holmberg"), and Chadha et al (US20190277822A1) (hereinafter "Chadha").
Regarding claim 1, Maheshwari discloses a detection system comprising:
a plurality of data collecting devices in a detection network, the data collecting device comprising ([0028] The system 100 may include one or more environmental probes (e.g., smart environmental probes), such as an illustrative environmental probe 102):
a wireless communication module configured to ([0029] the environmental probe 102 includes a processor 104 (e.g., one or more processors), … one or more wireless interfaces 116):
connect to the detection network ([0028] The various devices (e.g., the environmental probe 102, the smart device hub 140, and the mobile device 150) of the system 100 may be communicatively coupled to each other via one or more networks 160);
operate in any one of a plurality of network protocols ([0011] The environmental probes may communicate via one or more network protocols);
transmit the environmental data ([0040] the environmental probe 102 is configured to transmit the environmental measurement data to an environmental probe hub device);
a power processing module, comprising ([0039] the processor 104 may determine whether a power level associated with the environmental probe 102 fails to satisfy (e.g., is less than) a power level threshold.):
the sensor assembly configured to collect the environmental data; and ([0029] the environmental probe 102 includes a processor 104 (e.g., one or more processors), a memory 106, one or more environmental sensors such as an air temperature sensor 108, a gas sensor 110, a soil surface temperature sensor 112, a soil pH sensor 113, a moisture sensor 114)
a power supply assembly configured to provide electrical power to the data collecting device, the power supply assembly including a power source and a power management circuit ([0032] The solar panel 120 may be configured to power the other components of the environmental probe 102. [0039] the processor 104 may determine whether a power level associated with the environmental probe 102 fails to satisfy (e.g., is less than) a power level threshold.), wherein the power source includes a rechargeable battery and a non-rechargeable battery ([0032] The battery 118 may include any type of rechargeable and/or removable/replaceable battery).
Maheshwari fails to disclose a system configured to: provide time synchronization for transmission of environmental data.
However, Xiao discloses a system configured to: provide time synchronization for transmission of environmental data ([0022] So that the sensors can obtain environmental data accurately, which can ensure driving safety of the transportation equipment. Multi-sensor synchronization includes time synchronization and space synchronization.).
Maheshwari and Xiao are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of multi-sensor networking.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maheshwari and Xiao to create a system configured to: provide time synchronization for transmission of environmental data.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to synchronize the timing of transmissions so that data can be obtained accurately.
Maheshwari fails to disclose a system comprising: a processing unit configured to activate a sensor assembly at a preset sensor time period based on the time synchronization; a protocol management submodule configured to, according to the time synchronization, communicate the environmental data from the sensor assembly to the wireless communication module.
However, Liu discloses a system comprising: a processing unit configured to activate a sensor assembly at a preset sensor time period based on the time synchronization (Pg. 6, [0011] the vehicle geographic location information is acquired every predetermined time and various types of environmental sensors are activated);
a protocol management submodule configured to, according to the time synchronization, communicate the environmental data from the sensor assembly to the wireless communication module (Pg. 6, [0011] since the environmental information does not change much in a short period of time under normal circumstances, in order to save power and reduce data transmission, the vehicle geographic location information is acquired every predetermined time and various types of environmental sensors are activated Pg. 3, [0004] a communication module, configured to send the vehicle geographic location information and the environmental information to the weather station server.).
Maheshwari and Liu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of monitoring environmental data using remote sensors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maheshwari and Liu to create a system comprising: a processing unit configured to activate a sensor assembly at a preset sensor time period based on the time synchronization; a protocol management submodule configured to, according to the time synchronization, communicate the environmental data from the sensor assembly to the wireless communication module.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to save power and reduce data transmission by monitoring environmental data only at specific time periods, since the environmental information may not change much in a short period of time.
Maheshwari fails to disclose a system wherein the rechargeable battery serves as a first power source until an energy level of the rechargeable battery reaches a predetermined limit according to the power management circuit, and the non-rechargeable battery serves as a second power source when the energy level is at the predetermined limit.
However, Holmberg discloses a system wherein the rechargeable battery serves as a first power source until an energy level of the rechargeable battery reaches a predetermined limit according to the power management circuit, and the non-rechargeable battery serves as a second power source when the energy level is at the predetermined limit ([0091] This power selection circuitry automatically selects which battery type will provide the electrical power to the main electronics based on which type of battery is installed and whether the voltage levels of the batteries exceeds a minimal threshold level. [0093] It is possible for example, that the rechargeable batteries would initially be selected to be the power source. As the rechargeable batteries are depleted, the power selection circuitry switches to the primary (non-rechargeable) batteries).
Maheshwari and Holmberg are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of powering remote devices using batteries.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maheshwari and Holmberg to create a system wherein the rechargeable battery serves as a first power source until an energy level of the rechargeable battery reaches a predetermined limit according to the power management circuit, and the non-rechargeable battery serves as a second power source when the energy level is at the predetermined limit.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize downtime of a device.
Maheshwari fails to disclose a system wherein the wireless communication module is further configured to automatically select one of the plurality of network protocols based on a location of the data collecting device or a received network protocol received from another data collecting device
However, Chadha discloses a system wherein the wireless communication module is further configured to automatically select one of the plurality of network protocols based on a location of the data collecting device or a received network protocol received from another data collecting device ([0080] Various communication protocols and mechanisms for delivering information between the local monitoring units, e.g., between wearable and stationary monitoring units, and/or between the local monitoring units and remote units, e.g., the remote computing unit 104, may be used. In some instances short-range wireless communications may be used between a local monitoring unit and a local network unit such as a WiFi modem or other transceiver which may include, WiFi (802.11b/g/n 2.4 GHz), LiFi, Bluetooth (e.g., Bluetooth low energy, enhanced data rate), and nearfield communications. In some instances, the local network unit may use a wireless or wired link to the internet. In some examples, communication between the local monitoring units and between the cloud computing unit and the local monitoring units may use low power, long range wireless loT communication protocols such as LoRaWAN LPWAN (narrowband loT (NB-IoT)), and Cat M1 (LTE Cat M1). Additionally, communication between the local monitoring units and between the cloud computing unit and the local monitoring units may use conventional cellular communications protocols such as 3G, 4G, and 5G. Similarly, the system may have hardware and/or software supporting global positioning satellite (“GPS”) or other location determining protocol (e.g., by WiFi or any other signal triangulation determined from access points).).
Maheshwari and Chadha are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of utilizing various communication protocols for delivering information between local and remote monitoring units.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maheshwari and Chadha to create a system wherein the wireless communication module is further configured to automatically select one of the plurality of network protocols based on a location of the data collecting device or a received network protocol received from another data collecting device.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to communicate using a protocol suitable for the range of the data collecting device.
Regarding claim 3, Maheshwari fails to disclose the system, wherein the non-rechargeable battery serves as the second power source until the rechargeable battery is recharged such that the energy level is not at the predetermined limit.
However, Holmberg discloses the system, wherein the non-rechargeable battery serves as the second power source until the rechargeable battery is recharged such that the energy level is not at the predetermined limit ([0093] It is possible for example, that the rechargeable batteries would initially be selected to be the power source. As the rechargeable batteries are depleted, the power selection circuitry switches to the primary (non-rechargeable) batteries, which in turn are depleted to the point that switching back to the rechargeable batteries provides for continued use of the apparatus.).
Maheshwari and Holmberg are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of powering remote devices using batteries.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maheshwari and Holmberg to create the system, wherein the non-rechargeable battery serves as the second power source until the rechargeable battery is recharged such that the energy level is not at the predetermined limit.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize downtime of a device.
Regarding claim 6, Maheshwari discloses the system, wherein the sensor assembly includes a plurality of sensors configured to detect the environmental data, the environmental data relating to any one or more of carbon dioxide, carbon monoxide, nitrogen dioxide, temperature, and humidity ([0030] The air temperature sensor 108 may be configured to measure a temperature of the air surrounding the environmental probe 102. The gas sensor 110 may be configured to measure the levels of one or more particular fire-indicative gases, such as smoke, carbon dioxide (CO2), carbon monoxide (CO)).
Regarding claim 7, Maheshwari discloses the system, wherein the wireless communication module is configured to operate in any one of a plurality of operation modes including a LoRa end-node, a LoRaWAN end-node, a LoRa repeater mode, and a LoRa to LoRaWAN mode based on the received network protocol of the other data collecting device ([0059] The environmental probes P1-P9 may be configured to wirelessly communicate amongst one another. For example, the environmental probes P1-P9 may be configured to form a mesh network to enable communication of environmental measurement data, alert state information, position data, error information, and the like, between the environmental probes P1-P9 … and in other implementations any of the environmental probes P1-P9 may be configured to communicate with others of the environmental probes P1-P9 or the smart device hub using any of a Wi-Fi protocol (e.g., an IEEE 802.11 compliant protocol), a Bluetooth protocol, a BLE protocol, a Zigbee protocol, another type of low power communication protocol, a LoRa protocol).
Regarding claim 8, Maheshwari discloses a detection method, the method including:
providing a plurality of data collecting devices to connect to a detection network ([0028] The system 100 may include one or more environmental probes (e.g., smart environmental probes), such as an illustrative environmental probe 102), the plurality of data collecting devices configured to operate in any one of a plurality of network protocols ([0011] The environmental probes may communicate via one or more network protocols);
collecting, through the data collecting device, the environmental data ([0029] the environmental probe 102 includes a processor 104 (e.g., one or more processors), a memory 106, one or more environmental sensors such as an air temperature sensor 108, a gas sensor 110, a soil surface temperature sensor 112, a soil pH sensor 113, a moisture sensor 114);
providing electrical power to the data collecting device including providing a power source and a power management circuit ([0032] The solar panel 120 may be configured to power the other components of the environmental probe 102. [0039] the processor 104 may determine whether a power level associated with the environmental probe 102 fails to satisfy (e.g., is less than) a power level threshold.), wherein the power source includes a rechargeable battery and a non-rechargeable battery ([0032] The battery 118 may include any type of rechargeable and/or removable/replaceable battery);
transmitting the environmental data; and ([0040] the environmental probe 102 is configured to transmit the environmental measurement data to an environmental probe hub device).
Maheshwari fails to disclose a method including: time synchronizing for transmission of environmental data.
However, Xiao discloses a method including: time synchronizing for transmission of environmental data ([0022] So that the sensors can obtain environmental data accurately, which can ensure driving safety of the transportation equipment. Multi-sensor synchronization includes time synchronization and space synchronization.).
Maheshwari and Xiao are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of multi-sensor networking.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maheshwari and Xiao to create a method including: time synchronizing for transmission of environmental data.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to synchronize the timing of transmissions so that data can be obtained accurately.
Maheshwari fails to disclose a method including: activating the data collecting device based on the time synchronizing.
However, Liu discloses a method including: activating the data collecting device based on the time synchronizing (Pg. 6, [0011] the vehicle geographic location information is acquired every predetermined time and various types of environmental sensors are activated);
Maheshwari and Liu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of monitoring environmental data using remote sensors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maheshwari and Liu to create a method including: activating the data collecting device based on the time synchronizing.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to save power and reduce data transmission by monitoring environmental data only at specific time periods, since the environmental information may not change much in a short period of time.
Maheshwari fails to disclose a method wherein the rechargeable battery serves as a first power source until an energy level of the rechargeable battery reaches a predetermined limit according to the power management circuit, and the non-rechargeable battery serves as a second power source when the energy level is at the predetermined limit.
However, Holmberg discloses a method wherein the rechargeable battery serves as a first power source until an energy level of the rechargeable battery reaches a predetermined limit according to the power management circuit, and the non-rechargeable battery serves as a second power source when the energy level is at the predetermined limit ([0091] This power selection circuitry automatically selects which battery type will provide the electrical power to the main electronics based on which type of battery is installed and whether the voltage levels of the batteries exceeds a minimal threshold level. [0093] It is possible for example, that the rechargeable batteries would initially be selected to be the power source. As the rechargeable batteries are depleted, the power selection circuitry switches to the primary (non-rechargeable) batteries).
Maheshwari and Holmberg are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of powering remote devices using batteries.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maheshwari and Holmberg to create a method wherein the rechargeable battery serves as a first power source until an energy level of the rechargeable battery reaches a predetermined limit according to the power management circuit, and the non-rechargeable battery serves as a second power source when the energy level is at the predetermined limit.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize downtime of a device.
Maheshwari fails to disclose a method, including: automatically selecting a network protocol from the plurality of network protocols based on a location of the data collecting device or a received network protocol received from another data collecting device.
However, Chadha discloses a method, including: automatically selecting a network protocol from the plurality of network protocols based on a location of the data collecting device or a received network protocol received from another data collecting device ([0091] This power selection circuitry automatically selects which battery type will provide the electrical power to the main electronics based on which type of battery is installed and whether the voltage levels of the batteries exceeds a minimal threshold level. [0093] It is possible for example, that the rechargeable batteries would initially be selected to be the power source. As the rechargeable batteries are depleted, the power selection circuitry switches to the primary (non-rechargeable) batteries).
Maheshwari and Chadha are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of utilizing various communication protocols for delivering information between local and remote monitoring units.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maheshwari and Chadha to create a method, including: automatically selecting a network protocol from the plurality of network protocols based on a location of the data collecting device or a received network protocol received from another data collecting device.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to communicate using a protocol suitable for the range of the data collecting device.
Regarding claim 10, Maheshwari fails to disclose the method, wherein the non-rechargeable battery serves as the second power source until the rechargeable battery is recharged such that the energy level is not at the predetermined limit.
However, Holmberg discloses the method, wherein the non-rechargeable battery serves as the second power source until the rechargeable battery is recharged such that the energy level is not at the predetermined limit ([0093] It is possible for example, that the rechargeable batteries would initially be selected to be the power source. As the rechargeable batteries are depleted, the power selection circuitry switches to the primary (non-rechargeable) batteries, which in turn are depleted to the point that switching back to the rechargeable batteries provides for continued use of the apparatus.).
Maheshwari and Holmberg are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of powering remote devices using batteries.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maheshwari and Holmberg to create the method, wherein the non-rechargeable battery serves as the second power source until the rechargeable battery is recharged such that the energy level is not at the predetermined limit.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize downtime of a device.
Regarding claim 13, Maheshwari discloses the method, wherein the data collecting device includes a plurality of sensors configured to detect the environmental data, the environmental data relating to any one or more of carbon dioxide, carbon monoxide, nitrogen dioxide, temperature, and humidity ([0030] The air temperature sensor 108 may be configured to measure a temperature of the air surrounding the environmental probe 102. The gas sensor 110 may be configured to measure the levels of one or more particular fire-indicative gases, such as smoke, carbon dioxide (CO2), carbon monoxide (CO)).
Regarding claim 14, Maheshwari discloses the method, wherein the data collecting device is configured to operate in any one of a plurality of operation modes including a LoRa end-node, a LoRaWAN end-node, a LoRa repeater mode, and a LoRa to LoRaWAN mode based on the received network protocol of the other data collecting device ([0059] The environmental probes P1-P9 may be configured to wirelessly communicate amongst one another. For example, the environmental probes P1-P9 may be configured to form a mesh network to enable communication of environmental measurement data, alert state information, position data, error information, and the like, between the environmental probes P1-P9 … and in other implementations any of the environmental probes P1-P9 may be configured to communicate with others of the environmental probes P1-P9 or the smart device hub using any of a Wi-Fi protocol (e.g., an IEEE 802.11 compliant protocol), a Bluetooth protocol, a BLE protocol, a Zigbee protocol, another type of low power communication protocol, a LoRa protocol).
Regarding claim 15, Maheshwari discloses a detection device comprising:
a wireless communication module configured to ([0029] the environmental probe 102 includes a processor 104 (e.g., one or more processors), … one or more wireless interfaces 116):
connect to a detection network ([0028] The various devices (e.g., the environmental probe 102, the smart device hub 140, and the mobile device 150) of the system 100 may be communicatively coupled to each other via one or more networks 160);
operate in any one of a plurality of network protocols ([0011] The environmental probes may communicate via one or more network protocols);
transmit the environmental data ([0040] the environmental probe 102 is configured to transmit the environmental measurement data to an environmental probe hub device);
a power processing module, comprising ([0039] the processor 104 may determine whether a power level associated with the environmental probe 102 fails to satisfy (e.g., is less than) a power level threshold.):
the sensor assembly configured to collect the environmental data; and ([0029] the environmental probe 102 includes a processor 104 (e.g., one or more processors), a memory 106, one or more environmental sensors such as an air temperature sensor 108, a gas sensor 110, a soil surface temperature sensor 112, a soil pH sensor 113, a moisture sensor 114)
a power supply assembly configured to provide electrical power to the detection device, the power supply assembly including a power source and a power management circuit ([0032] The solar panel 120 may be configured to power the other components of the environmental probe 102. [0039] the processor 104 may determine whether a power level associated with the environmental probe 102 fails to satisfy (e.g., is less than) a power level threshold.), wherein the power source includes a rechargeable battery and a non-rechargeable battery ([0032] The battery 118 may include any type of rechargeable and/or removable/replaceable battery).
Maheshwari fails to disclose a device configured to: provide time synchronization for transmission of environmental data.
However, Xiao discloses a device configured to: provide time synchronization for transmission of environmental data ([0022] So that the sensors can obtain environmental data accurately, which can ensure driving safety of the transportation equipment. Multi-sensor synchronization includes time synchronization and space synchronization.).
Maheshwari and Xiao are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of multi-sensor networking.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maheshwari and Xiao to create a device configured to: provide time synchronization for transmission of environmental data.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to synchronize the timing of transmissions so that data can be obtained accurately.
Maheshwari fails to disclose a device comprising: a processing unit configured to activate a sensor assembly at a preset sensor time period based on the time synchronization; a protocol management submodule configured to, according to the time synchronization, communicate the environmental data from the sensor assembly to the wireless communication module.
However, Liu discloses a device comprising: a processing unit configured to activate a sensor assembly at a preset sensor time period based on the time synchronization (Pg. 6, [0011] the vehicle geographic location information is acquired every predetermined time and various types of environmental sensors are activated);
a protocol management submodule configured to, according to the time synchronization, communicate the environmental data from the sensor assembly to the wireless communication module (Pg. 6, [0011] since the environmental information does not change much in a short period of time under normal circumstances, in order to save power and reduce data transmission, the vehicle geographic location information is acquired every predetermined time and various types of environmental sensors are activated Pg. 3, [0004] a communication module, configured to send the vehicle geographic location information and the environmental information to the weather station server.).
Maheshwari and Liu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of monitoring environmental data using remote sensors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maheshwari and Liu to create a device comprising: a processing unit configured to activate a sensor assembly at a preset sensor time period based on the time synchronization; a protocol management submodule configured to, according to the time synchronization, communicate the environmental data from the sensor assembly to the wireless communication module.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to save power and reduce data transmission by monitoring environmental data only at specific time periods, since the environmental information may not change much in a short period of time.
Maheshwari fails to disclose a device wherein the rechargeable battery serves as a first power source until an energy level of the rechargeable battery reaches a predetermined limit according to the power management circuit, and the non-rechargeable battery serves as a second power source when the energy level is at the predetermined limit.
However, Holmberg discloses a device wherein the rechargeable battery serves as a first power source until an energy level of the rechargeable battery reaches a predetermined limit according to the power management circuit, and the non-rechargeable battery serves as a second power source when the energy level is at the predetermined limit ([0091] This power selection circuitry automatically selects which battery type will provide the electrical power to the main electronics based on which type of battery is installed and whether the voltage levels of the batteries exceeds a minimal threshold level. [0093] It is possible for example, that the rechargeable batteries would initially be selected to be the power source. As the rechargeable batteries are depleted, the power selection circuitry switches to the primary (non-rechargeable) batteries).
Maheshwari and Holmberg are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of powering remote devices using batteries.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maheshwari and Holmberg to create a device wherein the rechargeable battery serves as a first power source until an energy level of the rechargeable battery reaches a predetermined limit according to the power management circuit, and the non-rechargeable battery serves as a second power source when the energy level is at the predetermined limit.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize downtime of a device.
Maheshwari fails to disclose a device the wireless communication module is further configured to automatically select one of the plurality of network protocols based on a location of the detection device or a received network protocol received from another detection device.
However, Chadha discloses a device wherein the wireless communication module is further configured to automatically select one of the plurality of network protocols based on a location of the detection device or a received network protocol received from another detection device ([0080] Various communication protocols and mechanisms for delivering information between the local monitoring units, e.g., between wearable and stationary monitoring units, and/or between the local monitoring units and remote units, e.g., the remote computing unit 104, may be used. In some instances short-range wireless communications may be used between a local monitoring unit and a local network unit such as a WiFi modem or other transceiver which may include, WiFi (802.11b/g/n 2.4 GHz), LiFi, Bluetooth (e.g., Bluetooth low energy, enhanced data rate), and nearfield communications. In some instances, the local network unit may use a wireless or wired link to the internet. In some examples, communication between the local monitoring units and between the cloud computing unit and the local monitoring units may use low power, long range wireless loT communication protocols such as LoRaWAN LPWAN (narrowband loT (NB-IoT)), and Cat M1 (LTE Cat M1). Additionally, communication between the local monitoring units and between the cloud computing unit and the local monitoring units may use conventional cellular communications protocols such as 3G, 4G, and 5G. Similarly, the system may have hardware and/or software supporting global positioning satellite (“GPS”) or other location determining protocol (e.g., by WiFi or any other signal triangulation determined from access points).).
Maheshwari and Chadha are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of utilizing various communication protocols for delivering information between local and remote monitoring units.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maheshwari and Chadha to create a device the wireless communication module is further configured to automatically select one of the plurality of network protocols based on a location of the detection device or a received network protocol received from another detection device.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to communicate using a protocol suitable for the range of the data collecting device.
Regarding claim 16, Maheshwari discloses the device, wherein the plurality of network protocols includes any one or more of a LoRa (Low Range) network protocol and a LoRaWAN (Low Range Wide Area Network) network protocol. ([0059] the environmental probes P1 and P2 may be configured to communicate with the smart hub device via a Wi-Fi network, however, the Wi-Fi network may not extend to the environmental probes P3-P9, and as such, the environmental probes P1 and P2 may be configured to communicate with the environmental probes P3-P9 using other protocols, such as a Bluetooth protocol, a BLE protocol, a Zigbee protocol, another type of low power communication protocol.).
Regarding claim 17, Maheshwari fails to disclose the device, wherein the non-rechargeable battery serves as the second power source until the rechargeable battery is recharged such that the energy level is not at the predetermined limit.
However, Holmberg discloses the device, wherein the non-rechargeable battery serves as the second power source until the rechargeable battery is recharged such that the energy level is not at the predetermined limit ([0093] It is possible for example, that the rechargeable batteries would initially be selected to be the power source. As the rechargeable batteries are depleted, the power selection circuitry switches to the primary (non-rechargeable) batteries, which in turn are depleted to the point that switching back to the rechargeable batteries provides for continued use of the apparatus.).
Maheshwari and Holmberg are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of powering remote devices using batteries.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maheshwari and Holmberg to create the device, wherein the non-rechargeable battery serves as the second power source until the rechargeable battery is recharged such that the energy level is not at the predetermined limit.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to minimize downtime of a device.
Regarding claim 19, Maheshwari discloses the device, wherein the sensor assembly includes a plurality of sensors configured to detect the environmental data, the environmental data relating to any one or more of carbon dioxide, carbon monoxide, nitrogen dioxide, temperature, and humidity ([0030] The air temperature sensor 108 may be configured to measure a temperature of the air surrounding the environmental probe 102. The gas sensor 110 may be configured to measure the levels of one or more particular fire-indicative gases, such as smoke, carbon dioxide (CO2), carbon monoxide (CO)).
Regarding claim 20, Maheshwari discloses the device, wherein the wireless communication module is configured to operate in any one of a plurality of operation modes including a LoRa end-node, a LoRaWAN end-node, a LoRa repeater mode, and a LoRa to LoRaWAN mode based on the received network protocol of the other data collecting device ([0059] The environmental probes P1-P9 may be configured to wirelessly communicate amongst one another. For example, the environmental probes P1-P9 may be configured to form a mesh network to enable communication of environmental measurement data, alert state information, position data, error information, and the like, between the environmental probes P1-P9 … and in other implementations any of the environmental probes P1-P9 may be configured to communicate with others of the environmental probes P1-P9 or the smart device hub using any of a Wi-Fi protocol (e.g., an IEEE 802.11 compliant protocol), a Bluetooth protocol, a BLE protocol, a Zigbee protocol, another type of low power communication protocol, a LoRa protocol).
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maheshwari in view of Xiao, Liu, Holmberg, and Chadha as applied to claims 1, 8, or 15 above, and further in view of Dhawan et al (US20220398840A1) (hereinafter "Dhawan") and Tremsin et al (US20200348446A1) (hereinafter "Tremsin").
Regarding claim 4, Maheshwari, as modified by Xiao, Liu, Holmberg, and Chadha, discloses the system further comprising:
at least one network gateway configured to provide a communication interoperability interface between the plurality of network protocols ([0059] Such examples are illustrative and are not limiting, and in other implementations any of the environmental probes P1-P9 may be configured to communicate with others of the environmental probes P1-P9 or the smart device hub using any of a Wi-Fi protocol (e.g., an IEEE 802.11 compliant protocol), a Bluetooth protocol, a BLE protocol, a Zigbee protocol, another type of low power communication protocol, a LoRa protocol, a cellular protocol, or another type of communication protocol);
wherein the plurality of network protocols includes any one or more of a LoRa (Low Range) network protocol and a LoRaWAN (Low Range Wide Area Network) network protocol ([0059] the environmental probes P6-P9 within Zone 3 may be spaced sufficiently apart from each other and the remaining environmental probes that the environmental probes P6-P9 are configured to communicate with the environmental probes P1-P5 or the smart hub device using a LoRa protocol or a cellular protocol), and wherein the environmental data relates to the presence or absence of a wildfire; and ([0026] The environmental probe (e.g., a processor of the environmental probe) may compare the environmental measurement data to one or more thresholds to determine an alert state associated with the location. For example, the alert state may indicate detection of a wildfire)
Maheshwari, as modified by Xiao, Liu, Holmberg, and Chadha, fails to disclose the system further comprising: a network server for providing network services including data processing, storage, application and device management, and resource sharing, the network server connected to the at least one network gateway.
However, Dhawan discloses the system further comprising: a network server for providing network services ([0050] the server can be on a cloud-computing platform, a fog network and/or one or more edge devices) including data processing ([0170] This information is communicated to the server 100 comprising an artificial intelligence and machine learning framework which then can look through a potential flame, setting off a caution to firefighting staff, confining the blaze and following its development, and foresee the advancement of the fire with the continuous data of wind and firefighting conditions. The system by processing and analysing the data stream is capable of performing operations related to fire recognition and fire control.), storage ([0178] The server 500 comprises a memory 502, a database 504 and a processor 508.), application and device management ([0066] the ground-based controller comprises an Internet of Things based device management system (IoT).), and resource sharing ([0122] As referred herein, “cloud-computing platform” refers to the use of remote public or private computing resources—known as the cloud—to process and analyze data on demand. Cloud computing analytics helps streamline the process of gathering, integrating, analyzing, and presenting insights to enhance situational awareness and decision making.), the network server connected to the at least one network gateway ([0169] The system described herein comprises a plurality of self-steering unmanned aerial devices 120, a ground-based controller 150, a communication device 152, and a server 100. The plurality of self-steering unmanned aerial devices 120 is communicatively coupled to the server 100 via a communication network through the communication device 152. [0182] the cloud-computing platform comprising an artificial intelligence and machine learning framework 600 embedded in a cloud network 606, processes the data obtained from a fog network 604 and/or one or more edge computing devices.);
Maheshwari, as modified by Xiao, Liu, Holmberg, and Chadha, and Dhawan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of utilizing remote detection devices to record environmental data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maheshwari, as modified by Xiao, Liu, Holmberg, and Chadha, with Dhawan to create the system further comprising: a network server for providing network services including data processing, storage, application and device management, and resource sharing, the network server connected to the at least one network gateway.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to aggregate, process, or analyze the environmental data collected from the remote devices.
Maheshwari, as modified by Xiao, Liu, Holmberg, and Chadha, fails to disclose the system wherein the sensor assembly includes a filter configured to improve measurement accuracy, the filter configured as any one or more of a bandpass filter, a neutral density filter, a chemical filter, and a particulate filter.
However, Tremsin disclose the system wherein the sensor assembly includes a filter configured to improve measurement accuracy, the filter configured as any one or more of a bandpass filter, a neutral density filter, a chemical filter, and a particulate filter ([0011] Two narrow-bandpass filters (which can be formed by a combination of broad bandpass filters, as shown in FIG. 5.c and 5.d) are installed on two cameras: one covering emission spectral line(s) and the other next to emission line(s) … The processed image illustrates only pixels with active flames are seen).
Maheshwari, as modified by Xiao, Liu, Holmberg, and Chadha, and Tremsin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of fire detection and remote sensing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maheshwari, as modified by Xiao, Liu, Holmberg, and Chadha, with Tremsin to create the system wherein the sensor assembly includes a filter configured to improve measurement accuracy, the filter configured as any one or more of a bandpass filter, a neutral density filter, a chemical filter, and a particulate filter.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve measurement accuracy of a fire event by processing data only relevant to active flames.
Regarding claim 11, Maheshwari, as modified by Xiao, Liu, Holmberg, and Chadha, discloses the method further comprising:
providing a communication interoperability interface between the plurality of network protocols ([0059] Such examples are illustrative and are not limiting, and in other implementations any of the environmental probes P1-P9 may be configured to communicate with others of the environmental probes P1-P9 or the smart device hub using any of a Wi-Fi protocol (e.g., an IEEE 802.11 compliant protocol), a Bluetooth protocol, a BLE protocol, a Zigbee protocol, another type of low power communication protocol, a LoRa protocol, a cellular protocol, or another type of communication protocol);
wherein the plurality of network protocols includes any one or more of a LoRa (Low Range) network protocol and a LoRaWAN (Low Range Wide Area Network) network protocol; and ([0059] the environmental probes P6-P9 within Zone 3 may be spaced sufficiently apart from each other and the remaining environmental probes that the environmental probes P6-P9 are configured to communicate with the environmental probes P1-P5 or the smart hub device using a LoRa protocol or a cellular protocol)
wherein the environmental data relates to the presence or absence of a wildfire ([0026] The environmental probe (e.g., a processor of the environmental probe) may compare the environmental measurement data to one or more thresholds to determine an alert state associated with the location. For example, the alert state may indicate detection of a wildfire).
Maheshwari, as modified by Xiao, Liu, Holmberg, and Chadha, fails to disclose the method further comprising: providing network services including data processing, storage, application and device management, and resource sharing.
However, Dhawan discloses the method further comprising: providing network services including data processing ([0170] This information is communicated to the server 100 comprising an artificial intelligence and machine learning framework which then can look through a potential flame, setting off a caution to firefighting staff, confining the blaze and following its development, and foresee the advancement of the fire with the continuous data of wind and firefighting conditions. The system by processing and analysing the data stream is capable of performing operations related to fire recognition and fire control.), storage ([0178] The server 500 comprises a memory 502, a database 504 and a processor 508.), application and device management ([0066] the ground-based controller comprises an Internet of Things based device management system (IoT).), and resource sharing ([0122] As referred herein, “cloud-computing platform” refers to the use of remote public or private computing resources—known as the cloud—to process and analyze data on demand. Cloud computing analytics helps streamline the process of gathering, integrating, analyzing, and presenting insights to enhance situational awareness and decision making.).
Maheshwari, as modified by Xiao, Liu, Holmberg, and Chadha, and Dhawan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of utilizing remote detection devices to record environmental data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maheshwari, as modified by Xiao, Liu, Holmberg, and Chadha, with Dhawan to create the method further comprising: providing network services including data processing, storage, application and device management, and resource sharing.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to aggregate, process, or analyze the environmental data collected from the remote devices.
Claims 5, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maheshwari in view of Xiao, Liu, Holmberg, and Chadha as applied to claims 1, 8, or 15 above, and further in view of Sydir et al (US20190104519A1) (hereinafter "Sydir").
Regarding claim 5, Maheshwari, as modified by Xiao, Liu, Holmberg, and Chadha, fails to disclose the system, wherein the time synchronization includes any one or more of duty cycling, time-slotted communication, coordinated sensing, power-efficient routing, and reduced idle listening.
However, Sydir discloses the system, wherein the time synchronization includes any one or more of duty cycling, time-slotted communication, coordinated sensing, power-efficient routing, and reduced idle listening ([0013] In synchronized and scheduled MAC system, time is divided into periods (e.g., slots) and the transmissions between nodes happen within the slots. To have a common understanding of the slot timing, the nodes in a network maintain time synchronization. Synchronized networks have the advantage that communications between nodes can be scheduled, such that nodes know when to transmit and receive, which can reduce the amount of idle listening.).
Maheshwari, as modified by Xiao, Liu, Holmberg, and Chadha, and Sydir are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of data collection and aggregation, where sensors are deployed in a target area.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maheshwari, as modified by Xiao, Liu, Holmberg, and Chadha, with Sydir to create the system, wherein the time synchronization includes any one or more of duty cycling, time-slotted communication, coordinated sensing, power-efficient routing, and reduced idle listening.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce the amount of idle listening.
Regarding claim 12, Maheshwari, as modified by Xiao, Liu, Holmberg, and Chadha, fails to disclose the method, wherein the time synchronization includes any one or more of duty cycling, time-slotted communication, coordinated sensing, power-efficient routing, and reduced idle listening.
However, Sydir discloses the method, wherein the time synchronization includes any one or more of duty cycling, time-slotted communication, coordinated sensing, power-efficient routing, and reduced idle listening ([0013] In synchronized and scheduled MAC system, time is divided into periods (e.g., slots) and the transmissions between nodes happen within the slots. To have a common understanding of the slot timing, the nodes in a network maintain time synchronization. Synchronized networks have the advantage that communications between nodes can be scheduled, such that nodes know when to transmit and receive, which can reduce the amount of idle listening.).
Maheshwari, as modified by Xiao, Liu, Holmberg, and Chadha, and Sydir are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of data collection and aggregation, where sensors are deployed in a target area.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maheshwari, as modified by Xiao, Liu, Holmberg, and Chadha, with Sydir to create the method, wherein the time synchronization includes any one or more of duty cycling, time-slotted communication, coordinated sensing, power-efficient routing, and reduced idle listening.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce the amount of idle listening.
Regarding claim 18, Maheshwari, as modified by Xiao, Liu, Holmberg, and Chadha, fails to disclose the device, wherein the time synchronization includes any one or more of duty cycling, time-slotted communication, coordinated sensing, power-efficient routing, and reduced idle listening.
However, Sydir discloses the device, wherein the time synchronization includes any one or more of duty cycling, time-slotted communication, coordinated sensing, power-efficient routing, and reduced idle listening ([0013] In synchronized and scheduled MAC system, time is divided into periods (e.g., slots) and the transmissions between nodes happen within the slots. To have a common understanding of the slot timing, the nodes in a network maintain time synchronization. Synchronized networks have the advantage that communications between nodes can be scheduled, such that nodes know when to transmit and receive, which can reduce the amount of idle listening.).
Maheshwari, as modified by Xiao, Liu, Holmberg, and Chadha, and Sydir are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of data collection and aggregation, where sensors are deployed in a target area.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maheshwari, as modified by Xiao, Liu, Holmberg, and Chadha, with Sydir to create the device, wherein the time synchronization includes any one or more of duty cycling, time-slotted communication, coordinated sensing, power-efficient routing, and reduced idle listening.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce the amount of idle listening.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15, and associated dependent claims have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419