Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9-12, 14-17, 19 & 20 are pending and presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2022-0049935, filed on 4/22/2022.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 11, 12, 16 & 17 have been amended.
Rejection of claims 1, 2, 5-7, 10-12, 15-17 & 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on Gao et al. (US 2024/0089061)(herein after “Gao”) in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0322349)(herein after “Kim”) and further in view of He et al. (2023/0073130) have been withdrawn based on amendments to claims 1, 6, 11 & 16. However, after further consideration, new grounds of rejections of claims 1, 2, 5-7, 10-12, 15-17, 19 & 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on Gao in view of Kim and further in view of new references Gao et al. (US 2023/0132212)(herein after “Gao2”) and Seok et al. (US 2024/0314808)(herein after “Seok”) and Jung et al. (US2022/0061094)(herein after “Jung”) have been introduced.
Rejection of claims 4, 9, 14 & 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on Gao in view of Kim and He and further in view of Chatterjee et al. (US 2024/0155636)(herein after “Chatterjee”) have been withdrawn based on amendments to claims 1, 6, 11 & 16. However, after further consideration, new grounds of rejections of claims 4, 9, 14 & 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on Gao in view of Kim and Gao2 and Seok and Jung and further in view of Chatterjee have been introduced.
Rejection of claims 1, 6, 11 & 16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been introduced based on amendments to these claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 12/8/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9-12, 14-17, 19 & 20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejections are made under 35 USC 103 in view of new references Gao et al. (US 2023/0132212)(herein after “Gao2”) and Seok et al. (US 2024/0314808)(herein after “Seok”) and Jung et al. (US2022/0061094)(herein after “Jung”).
Regarding claim 1, applicant’s arguments with respect to this claim have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground of rejection presented in this Office action. Hence a new ground of rejection is further made in view of new references Gao and Seok and Jung.
Regarding claims 6, 11 & 16, applicant submits that amendments to these claims are similar to claim 1 and for the same arguments made above amendments to these claims traverse the 35 USC 103 rejections made in the previous office action final rejection dated 10/7/2025. Examiner agrees and withdraws these rejections. However, for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner introduces new grounds of rejections to these claims under 35 USC 103 in view of new references Gao and Seok and Jung.
Regarding claims 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10, 12, 14, 15, 17, 19 & 20, applicant submits that these claims traverse the 35 USC 103 rejections made in the previous office action final rejection dated 10/7/2025 due to amendments to claims 1, 6, 11 & 16 and due to their dependency on claims 1, 6 11 or 16. Examiner agrees and withdraws these rejections. However, for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner introduces new grounds of rejections to these claims under 35 USC 103 in view of new references Gao and Seok and Jung.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6, 11 & 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "receiving, from the base station, the PDSCH repetitive reception on the first number of PDCCH and the second number of PDSCH”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting this limitation as "receiving, from the base station, the PDSCH repetitive reception on the first number of PDSCH and the second number of PDSCH”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "transmitting, to the terminal, the PDSCH repetitive transmission on the first number of PDCCH and the second number of PDSCH”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting this limitation as " transmitting, to the terminal, the PDSCH repetitive transmission on the first number of PDSCH and the second number of PDSCH”.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "receive, from the base station, the PDSCH repetitive reception on the first number of PDCCH and the second number of PDSCH”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting this limitation as "receive, from the base station, the PDSCH repetitive reception on the first number of PDSCH and the second number of PDSCH”.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "transmit, to the terminal, the PDSCH repetitive transmission on the first number of PDCCH and the second number of PDSCH”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting this limitation as " transmit, to the terminal, the PDSCH repetitive transmission on the first number of PDSCH and the second number of PDSCH”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 10-12, 15-17 & 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (US 2024/0089061)(herein after “Gao”) in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0322349)(herein after “Kim”) and further in view of Gao et al. (US 2023/0132212)(herein after “Gao2”) and Seok et al. (US 2024/0314808)(herein after “Seok”) and Jung et al. (US2022/0061094)(herein after “Jung”).
Regarding Claims 1 & 11, Gao discloses a terminal, and a method performed by the terminal in a wireless communication system, comprising: at least one transceiver (Fig 17 & [0135] disclose a wireless communication device comprising one or more transceivers.);
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver (Fig 17 & [0135] disclose the wireless communication devices includes one or more processors that are communicatively coupled with the one or more transceivers through radio front end circuitry configured to condition signals between the one or more processors and one or more antennas.); and
at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination (Fig 17 & [0135] disclose the wireless communication devices includes memory storing software (i.e. instructions) and communicatively coupled to the one or more processors so that software stored in the memory and be executed by the one or more processors.) to cause the terminal, and the method performed by the terminal, to:
receive, from a base station, first configuration information for a first search space associated with a first control resource set (CORESET) and second configuration information for a second search space associated with a second CORESET, wherein the first search space and the second search space are linked to have a same search space linking index for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetitive reception ([Fig 5A & [0086] discloses a method performed by a wireless device comprising the wireless device receiving, from a wireless node, a first configuration of a first CORESET associated with a first Search Space (SS) and second configuration of a second CORESET associated with a second SS, wherein the two SS are linked. [0100] discloses that the first SS and the second SS that are linked may have a same PDCCH candidate index (i.e. same search space linking index). [0085] discloses the search space linking may support PDCCH repetition. Fig 4 & [0082] disclose that wireless node that wireless device receives from may be a base station.);
receive, from the base station, a first PDCCH of the PDCCH repetitive reception in a first time instance based on the first configuration information, wherein the first PDCCH is received on at least one first subband based on first frequency monitoring location information included in the first configuration information (Fig 5A & [0086] disclose receiving, from a wireless node that may be a base station, a first PDCCH in a first PDCCH candidate, which may be a first PDCCH of a PDCCH repetition, at a first monitoring occasion in a first slot of the first SS. [0008]-[0020] disclose that a PDCCH candidate consists of Control Channel Elements (CCEs) in a CORESET and that a CCE consists of resource element groups (REGs), each REG equal to one Resource Block (RB) during one OFDM symbol. Thus, receiving a PDCCH in a first PDCCH candidate comprises receiving a PDCCH in a first subband based on a first frequency monitoring location consisting of resources elements over frequency (RBs) and time (OFDM symbols) based on a first CORESET configuration. Thus, disclosed is receiving a first PDCCH based on a first CORESET configuration information, wherein the first PDCCH is received on a first subband based on first frequency monitoring location information consisting of a set resource element groups included in the first CORESET configuration.);
receive, from the base station, a second PDCCH of the PDCCH repetitive reception in a second time instance which is different from the first time instance based on the second configuration information, wherein the second PDCCH is received on at least one second subband based on second frequency monitoring location information included in the second configuration information (Fig 5A & [0086] disclose receiving, from a wireless node that may be a base station, a second PDCCH in a second PDCCH candidate, which may be a second PDCCH of the PDCCH repetition, at a second monitoring occasion in a second slot of the second SS (a broadest reasonable interpretation is that the second monitoring occasion is at a different time instance that the first monitoring occasion). [0008]-[0020] disclose that a PDCCH candidate consists of Control Channel Elements (CCEs) in a CORESET and that a CCE consists of resource element groups (REGs), each REG equal to one Resource Block (RB) during one OFDM symbol. Thus, receiving a PDCCH in a second PDCCH candidate comprises receiving a PDCCH in a second subband based on a second frequency monitoring location consisting of resources elements over frequency (RBs) and time (OFDM symbols) based on a second CORESET configuration. Thus, disclosed is receiving a second PDCCH based on a second CORESET configuration information, wherein the second PDCCH is received on a second subband based on second frequency monitoring location information consisting of a set resource element groups included in the second CORESET configuration.),
Gao fails to disclose wherein the PDCCH is received on an unlicensed band.
However, Kim teaches wherein the PDCCH is received on an unlicensed band ([0008] discloses a device receiving a PDCCH in a frequency unit (i.e. subband) within a Bandwidth Part (BWP) for an unlicensed band based on frequency allocation information in a CORESET configuration.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a terminal in a wireless communication system, and a method performed by the terminal, comprising at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the terminal, and the method performed by the terminal, to: receive, from a base station, first configuration information for a first search space associated with a first control resource set (CORESET) and second configuration information for a second search space associated with a second CORESET, wherein the first search space and the second search space are linked to have a same search space linking index for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetitive reception; receive, from the base station, a first PDCCH of the PDCCH repetitive reception in a first time instance based on the first configuration information, wherein the first PDCCH is received on at least one first subband based on first frequency monitoring location information included in the first configuration information; and receiving, from the base station, a second PDCCH of the PDCCH repetitive reception in a second time instance which is different from the first time instance based on the second configuration information, wherein the second PDCCH is received on at least one second subband based on second frequency monitoring location information included in the second configuration information, as disclosed by Gao, wherein the PDCCH is received on an unlicensed band, as taught by Kim. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE, and a method performed by the UE, that can identify, link and receive PDCCH candidates by the UE in unlicensed spectrum bands to take advantage of available unlicensed spectrum and more efficiently monitor for control information to improve power savings and lower latency.
Gao fails to disclose first downlink control information (DCI) received in the first PDCCH schedules a first number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) for a PDSCH repetitive reception; second DCI received in the second PDCCH schedules a second number of PDSCH for a PDSCH repetitive reception; and receiving, from the base station, the PDSCH repetitive reception on the first number of PDCCH and the second number of PDSCH, wherein the first number of PDSCH indicated by the first DCI and the second number of PDSCH indicated by the second DCI are different.
However, Gao2 further teaches first downlink control information (DCI) received in the first PDCCH schedules a first number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) for a PDSCH repetitive reception; second DCI received in the second PDCCH schedules a second number of PDSCH for a PDSCH repetitive reception (Fig 7 & [0152] disclose a first PDSCH1 being scheduled by a first DCI1 in a first PDCCH1, received by UE 604, for a particular TB, and a second PDSCH2 being scheduled by a second DCI2 in a second PDCCH2, received by UE 604, for the same TB (i.e. scheduling for a PDSCH repetitive reception by UE 604).); and
receiving, from the base station, the PDSCH repetitive reception on the first number of PDCCH and the second number of PDSCH, wherein the first number of PDSCH indicated by the first DCI and the second number of PDSCH indicated by the second DCI are different (Fig 8 and [0104], [0125] & [0153] disclose that the two PDSCHs (i.e. the PDSCH repetitive reception) are received by UE 604, from TRPs that can include base station antennas, through PDSCH1 (i.e. a first number of PDCCH) and PDSCH2 (i.e. a second number of PDSCH). [0072] discloses that one embodiment comprises receiving two or more PDSCHs scheduled by two or more DCIs. A broadest reasonable interpretation is that three PDSCHs are scheduled by two DCIs (e.g. two PDSCHs scheduled by DCI1 and one PDSCH scheduled by DCI2), in which case the number of PDSCH indicated by first DCI1 would be different than the second number of PDSCH indicated by second DCI2.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a terminal in a wireless communication system, and a method performed by the terminal, comprising at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the terminal, and the method performed by the terminal, to: receive, from the base station, a first PDCCH of the PDCCH repetitive reception in a first time instance based on the first configuration information; and receive, from the base station, a second PDCCH of the PDCCH repetitive reception in a second time instance which is different from the first time instance based on the second configuration information, as disclosed by Gao, wherein first downlink control information (DCI) received in the first PDCCH schedules a first number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) for a PDSCH repetitive reception; second DCI received in the second PDCCH schedules a second number of PDSCH for a PDSCH repetitive reception; and receiving, from the base station, the PDSCH repetitive reception on the first number of PDCCH and the second number of PDSCH, wherein the first number of PDSCH indicated by the first DCI and the second number of PDSCH indicated by the second DCI are different, as further taught by Gao2. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE, and a method performed by the UE, where the UE receives a PDSCH repetitive reception for a single TB through a number of PDSCHs scheduled by a first DCI in a first PDCCH in a first CORESET and a different number of PDSCHs scheduled by a second DCI in a second PDCCH in a second CORESET, in order to improve the likelihood the UE can successfully decode the TB by using combining techniques that utilize all the received PDSCHs.
Gao fails to disclose wherein a first bitmap of the first frequency location information indicates the at least one first subband for the first CORESET, and a second bitmap of the second frequency monitoring location information indicates the at least one second subband for the second CORESET, wherein the first bitmap and the second bitmap are indicated respectively.
However, Seok further teaches wherein a first bitmap of the first frequency location information indicates the at least one first subband for the first CORESET, and a second bitmap of the second frequency monitoring location information indicates the at least one second subband for the second CORESET, wherein the first bitmap and the second bitmap are indicated respectively ([0320] discloses a base station configuring resources in a frequency domain using two different bitmaps, a first bitmap containing a first indication (i.e. first frequency location information) of a first resource on a frequency domain (i.e. a first subband) for odd-numbered CORESETs (i.e. a first CORESET), and a second bitmap containing a second indication (i.e. second frequency location information) of a second resource on a frequency domain (i.e. a second subband) for even-numbered CORESETs (i.e. a second CORESET).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a terminal in a wireless communication system, and a method performed by the terminal, comprising at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the terminal, and the method performed by the terminal, to: receive, from a base station, first configuration information for a first search space associated with a first control resource set (CORESET) and second configuration information for a second search space associated with a second CORESET, wherein the first search space and the second search space are linked to have a same search space linking index for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetitive reception; receive, from the base station, a first PDCCH of the PDCCH repetitive reception in a first time instance based on the first configuration information, wherein the first PDCCH is received on at least one first subband based on first frequency monitoring location information included in the first configuration information; and receive, from the base station, a second PDCCH of the PDCCH repetitive reception in a second time instance which is different from the first time instance based on the second configuration information, wherein the second PDCCH is received on at least one second subband based on second frequency monitoring location information included in the second configuration information, as disclosed by Gao, wherein a first bitmap of the first frequency location information indicates the at least one first subband for the first CORESET, and a second bitmap of the second frequency monitoring location information indicates the at least one second subband for the second CORESET, wherein the first bitmap and the second bitmap are indicated respectively, as further taught by Seok. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE, and a method performed by the UE, where the UE receives a first bitmap containing a first indication of a first subband for a first CORESET, and a second bitmap containing a second indication of a second subband for a second CORESET, as part of a PDCCH repetitive reception in order to improve reception performance of the PDCCH through the use of combining techniques for the PDCCH repetitive reception across the first and second subbands that may have different fading characteristics.
Gao fails to disclose wherein the first bitmap and the second bitmap have the same value.
However, Jung further teaches wherein the first bitmap and the second bitmap have the same value ([0179] discloses a base station transmitting a first bitmap with a value set to ‘1100’ through a first subband #1 (e.g. that may be part of configuration information for a first CORESET) and transmitting a second bitmap with the same value ‘1100’ through a second subband #2 (e.g. that may be part of configuration information for a second CORESET).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a terminal in a wireless communication system, and a method performed by the terminal, comprising at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the terminal, and the method performed by the terminal, to: receive, from a base station, first configuration information for a first search space associated with a first control resource set (CORESET) and second configuration information for a second search space associated with a second CORESET, wherein the first search space and the second search space are linked to have a same search space linking index for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetitive reception; receive, from the base station, a first PDCCH of the PDCCH repetitive reception in a first time instance based on the first configuration information, wherein the first PDCCH is received on at least one first subband based on first frequency monitoring location information included in the first configuration information; and receive, from the base station, a second PDCCH of the PDCCH repetitive reception in a second time instance which is different from the first time instance based on the second configuration information, wherein the second PDCCH is received on at least one second subband based on second frequency monitoring location information included in the second configuration information, wherein a first bitmap of the first frequency location information indicates the at least one first subband for the first CORESET, and a second bitmap of the second frequency monitoring location information indicates the at least one second subband for the second CORESET, wherein the first bitmap and the second bitmap are indicated respectively, as disclosed by Gao in view of Seok, wherein the first bitmap and the second bitmap have the same value, as further taught by Jung . The motivation to do so would be to have a UE, and a method performed by the UE, where the UE receives a first bitmap containing a first indication of a first subband for a first CORESET, and a second bitmap containing a second indication of a second subband for a second CORESET, as part of a PDCCH repetitive reception, wherein the value of the first and second bitmaps are the same, in order to improve reception performance of the PDCCH through the use of combining techniques for the PDCCH repetitive reception across different slots of the first and second subbands (which may be the same subband) that may have different fading characteristics.
Regarding Claims 2, 7, 12 & 17, Gao in view of Kim and Gao2 and Seok and Jung disclose the methods of claims 1 & 6, the terminal of claim 11 and the base station of claim 16.
Gao discloses wherein the first PDCCH is repeated for the at least one first subband and the second PDCCH is repeated for the at least one second subband (Fig 3 & [0027] disclose a PDCCH may be repeated. [0028] discloses that the PDCCH is repeated in two PDCCH candidates. [0008] discloses that a PDCCH candidate consists of Control Channel Elements (CCEs) in a CORESET and that a CCE consists of resource element groups (REGs), each REG equal to one Resource Block (RB) during one OFDM symbol. Thus, repeating a PDCCH in two PDCCH candidates comprises repeating a first PDCCH in a first subband based on a first frequency monitoring location consisting of resources elements over frequency (RBs) and time (OFDM symbols) based on a first CORESET configuration, and repeating a second PDCCH in a second subband based on a second frequency monitoring location consisting of resources elements over frequency (RBs) and time (OFDM symbols) based on a second CORESET configuration.).
Regarding Claims 5 & 15, Gao in view of Kim and Gao2 and Seok and Jung disclose the method of claim 1 and the terminal of claim 11.
Gao discloses wherein the first PDCCH is received from a first transmission and reception point (TRP) and the second PDCCH is received from a second TRP different from the first TRP (Fig 3 & [0027] discloses PDCCH repetition from multiple TRPs at different times where a first PDCCH is received by a UE from a first TRP 1 and a second PDCCH is received by a UE from a second TRP 2 different from the first TRP 1.).
Regarding Claims 6 & 16, Gao discloses a base station, and a method performed by the base station in a wireless communication system, comprising: at least one transceiver (Fig 14 & [0129] disclose a radio access node that may be a base station that includes one or more radio units with one or more transmitters and one or more receivers (i.e. one or more transceivers).);
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver (Fig 14 & [0129] disclose the base station includes a control system with one or more processors that are connected with (i.e. communicatively coupled with) the one or more radio units.); and
at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination (Fig 14 & [0129] disclose the base station includes memory storing software (i.e. instructions) and communicatively coupled to the one or more processors so that software stored in the memory and be executed by the one or more processors.) to cause the base station, and the method performed by the base station, to:
transmit, to a terminal, first configuration information for a first search space associated with a first control resource set (CORESET) and second configuration information for a second search space associated with a second CORESET, wherein the first search space and the second search space are linked to have a same search space linking index for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetitive reception ([0074] discloses that a base station wirelessly transmits signals. [Fig 6A & [0088] discloses a method performed by a base station comprising configuring a wireless node or device (i.e. by transmitting configuration information to the wireless node or device) with a first configuration of a first CORESET associated with a first Search Space (SS) and second configuration of a second CORESET associated with a second SS, wherein the two SS are linked. [0100] discloses that the first SS and the second SS that are linked may have a same PDCCH candidate index (i.e. same search space linking index). [0085] discloses the search space linking may support PDCCH repetition.);
transmit, to the terminal, a first PDCCH of the PDCCH repetitive transmission in a first time instance based on the first configuration information, wherein the first PDCCH is transmitted on at least one first subband based on first frequency monitoring location information included in the first configuration information (Fig 6A & [0088] disclose transmitting to a wireless node or device a first PDCCH in a first PDCCH candidate, which may be a first PDCCH of a PDCCH repetition, at a first monitoring occasion in a first slot of the first SS. [0008]-[0020] disclose that a PDCCH candidate consists of Control Channel Elements (CCEs) in a CORESET and that a CCE consists of resource element groups (REGs), each REG equal to one Resource Block (RB) during one OFDM symbol. Thus, transmitting a PDCCH in a first PDCCH candidate comprises transmitting a PDCCH in a first subband based on a first frequency monitoring location consisting of resources elements over frequency (RBs) and time (OFDM symbols) based on a first CORESET configuration. Thus, disclosed is transmitting, to a wireless node or device, a first PDCCH based on a first CORESET configuration information, wherein the first PDCCH is transmitted on a first subband based on first frequency monitoring location information consisting of a set resource element groups included in the first CORESET configuration.); and
transmit, to the terminal, a second PDCCH of the PDCCH repetitive transmission in a second time instance which is different from the first time instance based on the second configuration information, wherein the second PDCCH is transmitted on at least one second subband based on second frequency monitoring location information included in the second configuration information (Fig 6A & [0088] disclose transmitting to a wireless node or device a second PDCCH in a second PDCCH candidate, which may be a second PDCCH of the PDCCH repetition, at a second monitoring occasion in a second slot of the second SS (a broadest reasonable interpretation is that the second monitoring occasion is at a different time instance that the first monitoring occasion). [0008]-[0020] disclose that a PDCCH candidate consists of Control Channel Elements (CCEs) in a CORESET and that a CCE consists of resource element groups (REGs), each REG equal to one Resource Block (RB) during one OFDM symbol. Thus, transmitting a PDCCH in a second PDCCH candidate comprises transmitting a PDCCH in a second subband based on a second frequency monitoring location consisting of resources elements over frequency (RBs) and time (OFDM symbols) based on a second CORESET configuration. Thus, disclosed is transmitting, to a wireless node or device, a second PDCCH based on a second CORESET configuration information, wherein the second PDCCH is transmitted on a second subband based on second frequency monitoring location information consisting of a set resource element groups included in the second CORESET configuration.).
Gao fails to disclose transmitting on an unlicensed band;
However, Kim teaches transmitting on an unlicensed band (Fig 8 & [0119] disclose wireless communication between a base station and a UE where the base station transmits in an unlicensed band to the UE. [0008] discloses a device receiving a transmission from a base station of a PDCCH in a frequency unit (i.e. subband) within a Bandwidth Part (BWP) for an unlicensed band based on frequency allocation information in a CORESET configuration.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a base station in a wireless communication system, and method performed by the base station, comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the base station, and the method performed by the base station, to: transmit, to a terminal, first configuration information for a first search space associated with a first control resource set (CORESET) and second configuration information for a second search space associated with a second CORESET, wherein the first search space and the second search space are linked to have a same search space linking index for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetitive reception; transmit, to a terminal, a first PDCCH of the PDCCH repetitive transmission in a first time instance based on the first configuration information, wherein the first PDCCH is transmitted on at least one first subband based on first frequency monitoring location information included in the first configuration information; and transmit, to a terminal, a second PDCCH of the PDCCH repetitive transmission in a second time instance which is different from the first time instance based on the second configuration information, wherein the second PDCCH is transmitted on at least one second subband based on second frequency monitoring location information included in the second configuration information, as disclosed by Gao, wherein the transmitting is in a unlicensed band, as taught by Kim. The motivation to do so would be to have a base station, and a method performed by the base station, that can identify, link and transmit PDCCH candidates by the base station in unlicensed spectrum bands to enable a UE to more efficiently monitor for control information to improve power savings and lower latency.
Gao fails to disclose first downlink control information (DCI) transmitted in the first PDCCH schedules a first number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) for a PDSCH repetitive reception; second DCI transmitted in the second PDCCH schedules a second number of PDSCH for a PDSCH repetitive reception; and transmitting, to the terminal, the PDSCH repetitive reception on the first number of PDCCH and the second number of PDSCH, wherein the first number of PDSCH indicated by the first DCI and the second number of PDSCH indicated by the second DCI are different.
However, Gao2 further teaches first downlink control information (DCI) transmitted in the first PDCCH schedules a first number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) for a PDSCH repetitive reception; second DCI transmitted in the second PDCCH schedules a second number of PDSCH for a PDSCH repetitive reception (Fig 7 & [0152] disclose a first PDSCH1 being scheduled by a first DCI1 in a first PDCCH1, transmitted by TRP1, for a particular TB, and a second PDSCH2 being scheduled by a second DCI2 in a second PDCCH2, transmitted by TRP2, for the same TB (i.e. scheduling for a PDSCH repetitive reception by UE 604). [0124] discloses that TRP1 and TRP2 may be part of a gNB (i.e. a base station).); and
transmitting, to the terminal, the PDSCH repetitive reception on the first number of PDCCH and the second number of PDSCH, wherein the first number of PDSCH indicated by the first DCI and the second number of PDSCH indicated by the second DCI are different (Fig 8 and [0104], [0124] & [0153] disclose that the two PDSCHs (i.e. the PDSCH repetitive reception) are received by UE 604, and transmitted from TRP1 and TRP2 that both may be part of a gNB, through PDSCH1 (i.e. a first number of PDCCH) and PDSCH2 (i.e. a second number of PDSCH). [0072] discloses that one embodiment comprises receiving two or more PDSCHs scheduled by two or more DCIs. [0007] discloses that the PDSCHs may be transmitted by the gNB. A broadest reasonable interpretation is that three PDSCHs are scheduled by two DCIs (e.g. two PDSCHs scheduled by DCI1 and one PDSCH scheduled by DCI2), in which case the number of PDSCH indicated by first DCI1 would be different than the second number of PDSCH indicated by second DCI2.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a base station in a wireless communication system, and method performed by the base station, comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the base station, and the method performed by the base station, to: transmit, to a terminal, a first PDCCH of the PDCCH repetitive reception in a first time instance based on the first configuration information; and transmit, to the terminal, a second PDCCH of the PDCCH repetitive reception in a second time instance which is different from the first time instance based on the second configuration information, as disclosed by Gao, wherein first downlink control information (DCI) transmitted in the first PDCCH schedules a first number of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) for a PDSCH repetitive reception; second DCI transmitted in the second PDCCH schedules a second number of PDSCH for a PDSCH repetitive reception; and transmitting, to the terminal, the PDSCH repetitive reception on the first number of PDCCH and the second number of PDSCH, wherein the first number of PDSCH indicated by the first DCI and the second number of PDSCH indicated by the second DCI are different, as further taught by Gao2. The motivation to do so would be to have a base station, and a method performed by the base station, where the base station transmits a PDSCH repetitive reception for a single TB through a number of PDSCHs scheduled by a first DCI in a first PDCCH in a first CORESET and a different number of PDSCHs scheduled by a second DCI in a second PDCCH in a second CORESET, in order to improve the likelihood a UE can successfully receive and decode the TB by using combining techniques that utilize all the received PDSCHs.
Gao fails to disclose wherein a first bitmap of the first frequency location information indicates the at least one first subband for the first CORESET, and a second bitmap of the second frequency monitoring location information indicates the at least one second subband for the second CORESET, wherein the first bitmap and the second bitmap are indicated respectively, and wherein the first bitmap and the second bitmap have the same value.
However, Seok further teaches wherein a first bitmap of the first frequency location information indicates the at least one first subband for the first CORESET, and a second bitmap of the second frequency monitoring location information indicates the at least one second subband for the second CORESET, wherein the first bitmap and the second bitmap are indicated respectively ([0320] discloses a base station configuring resources in a frequency domain using two different bitmaps, a first bitmap containing a first indication (i.e. first frequency location information) of a first resource on a frequency domain (i.e. a first subband) for odd-numbered CORESETs (i.e. a first CORESET), and a second bitmap containing a second indication (i.e. second frequency location information) of a second resource on a frequency domain (i.e. a second subband) for even-numbered CORESETs (i.e. a second CORESET).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a base station in a wireless communication system, and method performed by the base station, comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the base station, and the method performed by the base station, to: transmit, to a terminal, first configuration information for a first search space associated with a first control resource set (CORESET) and second configuration information for a second search space associated with a second CORESET, wherein the first search space and the second search space are linked to have a same search space linking index for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetitive reception; transmit, to the terminal, a first PDCCH of the PDCCH repetitive reception in a first time instance based on the first configuration information, wherein the first PDCCH is transmitted on at least one first subband based on first frequency monitoring location information included in the first configuration information; transmit, to the terminal, a second PDCCH of the PDCCH repetitive reception in a second time instance which is different from the first time instance based on the second configuration information, wherein the second PDCCH is transmitted on at least one second subband based on second frequency monitoring location information included in the second configuration information, as disclosed by Gao, wherein a first bitmap of the first frequency location information indicates the at least one first subband for the first CORESET, and a second bitmap of the second frequency monitoring location information indicates the at least one second subband for the second CORESET, wherein the first bitmap and the second bitmap are indicated respectively, as further taught by Seok. The motivation to do so would be to have a method where a base station transmits a first bitmap containing a first indication of a first subband for a first CORESET, and a second bitmap containing a second indication of a second subband for a second CORESET, as part of a PDCCH repetitive reception in order to improve reception performance of the PDCCH at a receiving UE through the use of combining techniques for the PDCCH repetitive reception across the first and second subbands that may have different fading characteristics.
Gao fails to disclose wherein the first bitmap and the second bitmap have the same value.
However, Jung further teaches wherein the first bitmap and the second bitmap have the same value ([0179] discloses a base station transmitting a first bitmap with a value set to ‘1100’ through a first subband #1 (e.g. that may be part of configuration information for a first CORESET) and transmitting a second bitmap with the same value ‘1100’ through a second subband #2 (e.g. that may be part of configuration information for a second CORESET).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a base station in a wireless communication system, and method performed by the base station, comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the base station, and the method performed by the base station, to: transmit, to a terminal, first configuration information for a first search space associated with a first control resource set (CORESET) and second configuration information for a second search space associated with a second CORESET, wherein the first search space and the second search space are linked to have a same search space linking index for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetitive reception; transmit, to the terminal, a first PDCCH of the PDCCH repetitive reception in a first time instance based on the first configuration information, wherein the first PDCCH is transmitted on at least one first subband based on first frequency monitoring location information included in the first configuration information; and transmit, to the terminal, a second PDCCH of the PDCCH repetitive reception in a second time instance which is different from the first time instance based on the second configuration information, wherein the second PDCCH is transmitted on at least one second subband based on second frequency monitoring location information included in the second configuration information, wherein a first bitmap of the first frequency location information indicates the at least one first subband for the first CORESET, and a second bitmap of the second frequency monitoring location information indicates the at least one second subband for the second CORESET, wherein the first bitmap and the second bitmap are indicated respectively, as disclosed by Gao in view of Seok, wherein the first bitmap and the second bitmap have the same value, as further taught by Jung . The motivation to do so would be to have a base station, and a method performed by the base station, where the base station transmits a first bitmap containing a first indication of a first subband for a first CORESET, and a second bitmap containing a second indication of a second subband for a second CORESET, as part of a PDCCH repetitive reception, wherein the value of the first and second bitmaps are the same, in order to improve reception performance of the PDCCH at a receiving UE through the use of combining techniques for the PDCCH repetitive reception across different slots of the first and second subbands (which may be the same subband) that may have different fading characteristics.
Regarding Claims 10 & 20, Gao in view of Kim and Gao2 and Seok and Jung disclose the method of claim 6 and the base station of claim 16.
Gao discloses wherein the first PDCCH is transmitted via a first transmission and reception point (TRP) and the second PDCCH is transmitted via a second TRP different from the first TRP (Fig 3 & [0027] discloses PDCCH repetition from multiple TRPs at different times where a first PDCCH is transmitted from a first TRP 1 and a second PDCCH is transmitted from a second TRP 2 different from the first TRP 1.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of Claim 6 and the base station of claim 16, as disclosed by Gao in view of Kim and further in view of He, wherein the first PDCCH is transmitted from a first transmission and reception point (TRP) and the second PDCCH is transmitted from a second TRP different from the first TRP, as further disclosed by Gao. The motivation to do so would be to have a base station, and a method performed by the base station, where the base station can enhance reliability and coverage in transmitting PDCCH candidates in unlicensed spectrum bands through PDCCH repetition at different TRPs.
Claims 4, 9, 14 & 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (US 2024/0089061)(herein after “Gao”) in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0322349)(herein after “Kim”) and Gao et al. (US 2023/0132212)(herein after “Gao2”) and Seok et al. (US 2024/0314808)(herein after “Seok”) and Jung et al. (US2022/0061094)(herein after “Jung”), as applied to claims 1, 6, 11 & 16 respectively, and further in view of Chatterjee et al. (US 2024/0155636)(herein after “Chatterjee”).
Regarding Claims 4, 9, 14 & 19, Gao in view of Kim and Gao2 and Seok and Jung disclose the methods of Claim 1 & 6, the terminal of claim 11 and the base station of claim 16.
Gao fails to disclose wherein a PDCCH monitoring occasion of the first search space and a PDCCH monitoring occasion of the second search space are within a same channel occupancy time (COT).
However, Chatterjee further teaches wherein a PDCCH monitoring occasion of the first search space and a PDCCH monitoring occasion of the second search space are within a same channel occupancy time (COT) ([0066] discloses a first default search space set group (SSSG) with frequent PDCCH monitoring occasions and a second SSSG that does not include frequent PDCCH monitoring occasions with a same channel occupancy time (COT) allowing a UE to switch between the PDCCH monitoring occasions of the first SSSG and the PDCCH monitoring occasions of the PDCCH monitoring occasions of the second SSSG within the COT).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the methods of claims 1 & 6, the terminal of claim 11 and the base station of claim 16, as disclosed by Gao in view of Kim and Gao2 and Seok and Jung, wherein a PDCCH monitoring occasion of the first search space and a PDCCH monitoring occasion of the second search space are within a same channel occupancy time (COT), as further taught by Chatterjee. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE, a method performed by the UE, a base station and a method performed by the base station, where a UE can switch from more frequent to less frequent monitoring occasions, within a COT, to save battery life when identifying, linking and receiving PDCCH candidates within CORESETs and associated SSs, by the UE and transmitted by the base station, in unlicensed spectrum.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wang et al. (WO 2020035060) discloses a Data Transmission Method and Apparatus, Base Station, Terminal, and Computer Readable Storage Medium.
Zhang et al. (US 2024/0106609) discloses Methods and Apparatus of Restriction on Linked EPDCCH Candidates for EPDCCH Soft Combining.
Khoshnevisan et al. (US 20230318747) discloses Control Channel Repetition for Higher Bands.
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419