Response to Amendment
This is a Final Office action in response to communications filed on January
20, 2026. Applicant amended claims 1, 4, 9, and 15. Accordingly, Examiner withdraws the objection to claim 15. Applicant added claim 21. Claims 1-21 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 3-9, 12-14, 16-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable under US 20200268303 A1 (“Oliva”) in view of CN 114008483 A (“Steinberg”).
In regards to claim 1, Oliva discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
A toilet training device, comprising: a processor ([0018], “a system comprising … a toilet … a data processor”);
a housing encompassing the processor ([0018], “a system comprising … a detection unit … comprising … a data processor”);
a plurality of light-based time of flight (TOF) sensors;
a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs);
a sensor enclosure encompassing the plurality of light-based TOF sensors ([0018], “a system comprising ... a detection unit ... comprising: ... one or more ... sensors”);
and a clip attached to the housing and the sensor enclosure ([0032], “FIG. 1 shows an exemplary detection unit ... comprising support ... that functions to attach the detection unit ... The support ... can be a clamp, a hanger, a hook, a suction cup, ... or other suitable devices for attaching the unit”);
wherein the clip is configured to attach to a rim of a toilet bowl ([0018], “the detection unit is mounted to the bowl by means of a hook, a clamp, a hanger, a suction cup, a magnet, a bolt, a screw or a bracket” Examiner notes that the detection unit is attached to the rim of the toilet bowl. See annotated Oliva FIG. 1.) pointing the light-based TOF sensors towards a water surface inside the toilet bowl ([0020], “the detecting … comprises activating … detectors to collect data upon detection of motion with a motion sensor” Examiner notes that a motion sensor can be a light-based Time-of-Flight (ToF) sensor.);
wherein each light-based TOF sensor is configured to: project a plurality of light beams towards the toilet bowl;
receive light reflected from an object in a path of the light beams;
make measurements of a distance between the light-based TOF sensor and the nearby object;
and make measurements of a signal strength of the reflected light;
wherein the processor is configured to: generate a contour map from the distance measurements by the plurality of light-based TOF sensors ([0081], “the method … designs Difference of Gaussians (DoG) filters to compute a saliency map.” Examiner notes that Difference of Gaussians (DoG) filters can also be used to compute a contour map.);
identify one or more zones of interest as the water surface based on the distance measurements ([0044], “Distance from the laser to the object is determined by principles of trigonometric triangulation using the distance between the camera and the laser and the angle at which the light reflected from the object strikes the camera” Examiner notes that trigonometric triangulation is a foundational method for determining distance.);
store ([0035], “Doppler radar …, sending data to a processor … which in turn stores data in memory”) signal strength measurements from the one or more zones of interest as a still-water calibration point ([0082], “data from Doppler measurements is used to determine whether excreta is urine or feces and the relative water content of each” Examiner notes that Doppler measurements can detect signal strength.);
identify changes in the signal strength measurements from the one or more zones of interest relative to the still-water calibration point ([0082], “data from Doppler measurements is used to determine whether excreta is urine or feces and the relative water content of each” Examiner notes that Doppler measurements can detect signal strength and identify changes in the signal strength);
determine excrement is released in the toilet bowl when at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements are outside a signal strength range ([0018], “provided herein is a system comprising … a computer configured to receive … data … determine an amount of urine and/or feces deposited into the toilet bowl, and a processor to execute the code”);
and turn the LEDs on and off a plurality of times in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl ([0018], “provided herein is a system comprising … a computer configured to receive … data … determine an amount of urine and/or feces deposited into the toilet bowl, and a processor to execute the code”).
Steinberg discloses
a plurality of light-based time of flight (TOF) sensors (page 2, paragraph 6, “the flight time (TOF) optical sensor may include a controller, a sensing array and a reading unit.” Examiner notes that a flight time optical sensor is another name for a time of flight sensor.);
a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) (page 8, paragraph 1, “the light source may be a ... light emitting diode (LED)”);
wherein each light-based TOF sensor is configured to: project a plurality of light beams towards the toilet bowl (page 31, paragraph 1, “TOF sensor may be used in … electronic … systems that may require … reflected light” Examiner notes that a light beam is reflected light.);
receive light reflected from an object in a path of the light beams (page 31, paragraph 1, “TOF sensor may be used in … electronic … systems that may require … reflected light”);
make measurements of a distance between the light-based TOF sensor and the nearby object (page 33, paragraph 3, “TOF sensor may … provide … measurement values” Examiner notes that TOF sensors measure the distance between themselves and other objects.);
and make measurements of a signal strength of the reflected light (page 33, paragraph 3, “TOF sensor may … provide … measurement values” Examiner notes that TOF sensors can measure signal strength.);
and turn the LEDs on and off a plurality of times (page 8, paragraph 1, “the light source may be a ... light emitting diode (LED)”).
Oliva and Steinberg combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of systems for determining human waste amounts in toilet bowls and detecting objects in the surrounding environment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a toilet training device, comprising: a processor; a housing encompassing the processor, a sensor enclosure encompassing the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; and a clip attached to the housing and the sensor enclosure; wherein the clip is configured to attach to a rim of a toilet bowl pointing the light-based TOF sensors towards a water surface inside the toilet bowl; wherein the processor is configured to: generate a contour map from the distant measurements by the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; identify one or more zones of interest as the water surface based on the distant measurements; identify changes in the signal strength measurements; determine excrement is released in the toilet bowl when at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements are outside a signal strength range, in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl, as disclosed by Oliva, a plurality of light-based time of flight (TOF) sensors; a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs); wherein each light-based TOF sensor is configured to: project a plurality of light beams towards the toilet bowl; receive light reflected from an object in a path of the light beams; make measurements of a distance between the light-based TOF sensor and the nearby object; and make measurements of a signal strength of the reflected light; and turn the LEDs on and off a plurality of times, as disclosed by Steinberg, to provide a flight time (TOF) optical sensor, a light emitting diode (LED), and a detection unit for a survey technology that scans the surrounding environment and detects the object in the surrounding environment. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an optical sensor, a light emitting diode, and a detection unit to improve the effectiveness of a survey technology that scans the environment and detects objects in the environment.
In regards to claim 3, Oliva discloses
wherein at least a set of LEDs in the plurality of the LEDs are positioned on a motorized LED ring of the toilet training device, wherein the processor is configured to rotate the motorized ring in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl ([0043], “the detection unit employs … light 3D scanners … light 3D scanners … use a … LED projected light. These 3D scanners project a light pattern consisting of bars, blocks or other shapes onto an object.”).
In regards to claim 4, Oliva discloses
wherein the signal strength range is a first signal strength range, wherein the processor is configured to ([0082], “data from Doppler measurements is used to determine whether excreta is urine or feces and the relative water content of each” Examiner notes that Doppler measurements can detect signal strength.):
determine the excrement is released in the toilet bowl when the changes in the signal strength measurements ([0082], “data from Doppler measurements is used to determine whether excreta is urine or feces and the relative water content of each” Examiner notes that Doppler measurements can detect signal strength.) are inside a second signal strength range and at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements are outside the first range, wherein the first signal strength range is within the second signal strength range ([0018], “a system comprising: … a toilet comprising a toilet bowl for receiving excreta” Examiner notes that the processor may be configured to determine when excreta is deposited in the toilet bowl based on changes in signal strength within a specified range.);
determine the toilet bowl is flushed when at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements ([0082], “data from Doppler measurements is used to determine whether excreta is urine or feces and the relative water content of each” Examiner notes that Doppler measurements can detect signal strength.) are outside the second signal strength range ([0028], “The tank … is adapted to hold water and to discharge water into the toilet bowl … with a flush of water.” Examiner notes that the processor may be configured to determine whether the toilet bowl is flushed based on signal strength.);
and turn the LEDs on and off a plurality of times in response to determining the toilet bowl is flushed ([0018], “provided herein is a system comprising … a computer configured to receive … data … determine an amount of urine and/or feces deposited into the toilet bowl, and a processor to execute the code” Examiner notes that a processor may execute code to turn LEDs on and off.).
In regards to claim 5, Oliva does not disclose wherein at least a set of LEDs in the plurality of the LEDs are covered by a light diffuser and light reflector.
Steinberg discloses wherein at least a set of LEDs in the plurality of the LEDs are covered by a light diffuser and light reflector (page 8, paragraph 1, “the light source may be a ... light emitting diode (LED)” Examiner notes that LEDs are often covered by both a diffuser and a reflector.).
Oliva and Steinberg combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of systems for determining human waste amounts in toilet bowls and detecting objects in the surrounding environment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a toilet training device, comprising: a processor; a housing encompassing the processor, a sensor enclosure encompassing the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; and a clip attached to the housing and the sensor enclosure; wherein the clip is configured to attach to a rim of a toilet bowl pointing the light-based TOF sensors towards a water surface inside the toilet bowl; wherein the processor is configured to: generate a contour map from the distant measurements by the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; identify one or more zones of interest as the water surface based on the distant measurements; identify changes in the signal strength measurements; determine excrement is released in the toilet bowl when at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements are outside a signal strength range, on and off a plurality of times in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl, wherein the signal strength range is a first signal strength range, wherein the processor is configured to: determine the excrement is released in the toilet bowl when the changes in the signal strength measurements are inside a second range and at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements are outside the first range, wherein the first range is within the second range; determine the toilet bowl is flushed when at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements are outside the second range; and turn the LEDs on and off a plurality of times in response to determining the toilet bowl is flushed, as disclosed by Oliva, wherein at least a set of LEDs in the plurality of the LEDs are covered by a light diffuser and light reflector, as disclosed by Steinberg, to provide a light emitting diode (LED) for a survey technology that scans the surrounding environment and detects the object in the surrounding environment. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a light emitting diode to improve the effectiveness of a survey technology that scans the environment and detects objects in the environment.
In regards to claim 6, Oliva does not disclose wherein the light reflector is rotatable.
Steinberg discloses
wherein the light reflector is rotatable (page 9, line 2, “the reflector can undergo … rotation”).
Oliva and Steinberg combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of systems for determining human waste amounts in toilet bowls and detecting objects in the surrounding environment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a toilet training device, comprising: a processor; a housing encompassing the processor, a sensor enclosure encompassing the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; and a clip attached to the housing and the sensor enclosure; wherein the clip is configured to attach to a rim of a toilet bowl pointing the light-based TOF sensors towards a water surface inside the toilet bowl; wherein the processor is configured to: generate a contour map from the distant measurements by the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; identify one or more zones of interest as the water surface based on the distant measurements; identify changes in the signal strength measurements; determine excrement is released in the toilet bowl when at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements are outside a signal strength range, on and off a plurality of times in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl, wherein the signal strength range is a first signal strength range, wherein the processor is configured to: determine the excrement is released in the toilet bowl when the changes in the signal strength measurements are inside a second range and at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements are outside the first range, wherein the first range is within the second range; determine the toilet bowl is flushed when at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements are outside the second range; and turn the LEDs on and off a plurality of times in response to determining the toilet bowl is flushed, as disclosed by Oliva, wherein at least a set of LEDs in the plurality of the LEDs are covered by a light diffuser and light reflector and wherein the light reflector is rotatable, as disclosed by Steinberg, to provide a light emitting diode (LED) and a reflector for a survey technology that scans the surrounding environment and detects the object in the surrounding environment. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a light emitting diode and a reflector to improve the effectiveness of a survey technology that scans the environment and detects objects in the environment.
In regards to claim 7, Oliva discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the light reflector is a motorized rotatable light reflector,
wherein the processor is configured to rotate the motorized rotatable light reflector in response to determining the toilet is flushed ([0018], “provided herein is a system comprising … a computer configured to receive … data … and a processor to execute the code” Examiner notes that a processor can be configured to rotate the motorized rotatable light reflector when toilet is flushed.).
Steinberg discloses
wherein the light reflector is a motorized rotatable light reflector (page 30, paragraph 1, “the … system … may be fixed to the stationary object …, which may include a motor”)
Oliva and Steinberg combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of systems for determining human waste amounts in toilet bowls and detecting objects in the surrounding environment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a toilet training device, comprising: a processor; a housing encompassing the processor, a sensor enclosure encompassing the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; and a clip attached to the housing and the sensor enclosure; wherein the clip is configured to attach to a rim of a toilet bowl pointing the light-based TOF sensors towards a water surface inside the toilet bowl; wherein the processor is configured to: generate a contour map from the distant measurements by the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; identify one or more zones of interest as the water surface based on the distant measurements; identify changes in the signal strength measurements; determine excrement is released in the toilet bowl when at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements are outside a signal strength range, on and off a plurality of times in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl, wherein the signal strength range is a first signal strength range, wherein the processor is configured to: determine the excrement is released in the toilet bowl when the changes in the signal strength measurements are inside a second range and at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements are outside the first range, wherein the first range is within the second range; determine the toilet bowl is flushed when at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements are outside the second range; and turn the LEDs on and off a plurality of times in response to determining the toilet bowl is flushed, as disclosed by Oliva, wherein at least a set of LEDs in the plurality of the LEDs are covered by a light diffuser and light reflector, wherein the light reflector is rotatable, and wherein the light reflector is a motorized rotatable light reflector, as disclosed by Steinberg, to provide a light emitting diode (LED), a reflector, and a motor for a survey technology that scans the surrounding environment and detects the object in the surrounding environment. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a light emitting diode, a reflector, and a motor to improve the effectiveness of a survey technology that scans the environment and detects objects in the environment.
In regards to claim 8, Oliva does not disclose wherein at least some of the LEDs are multicolor LEDs, wherein turning the LEDs on and off comprises displaying different colors and patterns by the multicolor LEDs.
Steinberg discloses
wherein at least some of the LEDs are multicolor LEDs, wherein turning the LEDs on and off comprises displaying different colors and patterns by the multicolor LEDs (page 8, paragraph 1, “the light source may be a ... light emitting diode (LED)” Examiner notes that LEDs can be multicolor.).
Oliva and Steinberg combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of systems for determining human waste amounts in toilet bowls and detecting objects in the surrounding environment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a toilet training device, comprising: a processor; a housing encompassing the processor, a sensor enclosure encompassing the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; and a clip attached to the housing and the sensor enclosure; wherein the clip is configured to attach to a rim of a toilet bowl pointing the light-based TOF sensors towards a water surface inside the toilet bowl; wherein the processor is configured to: generate a contour map from the distant measurements by the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; identify one or more zones of interest as the water surface based on the distant measurements; identify changes in the signal strength measurements; determine excrement is released in the toilet bowl when at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements are outside a signal strength range, on and off a plurality of times in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl, wherein the signal strength range is a first signal strength range, wherein the processor is configured to: determine the excrement is released in the toilet bowl when the changes in the signal strength measurements are inside a second range and at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements are outside the first range, wherein the first range is within the second range; determine the toilet bowl is flushed when at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements are outside the second range; and turn the LEDs on and off a plurality of times in response to determining the toilet bowl is flushed, as disclosed by Oliva, wherein at least some of the LEDs are multicolor LEDs, wherein turning the LEDs on and off comprises displaying different colors and patterns by the multicolor LEDs, as disclosed by Steinberg, to provide a light emitting diode (LED) for a survey technology that scans the surrounding environment and detects the object in the surrounding environment. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a light emitting diode to improve the effectiveness of a survey technology that scans the environment and detects objects in the environment.
In regards to claim 9, Oliva discloses
wherein the processor is configured to display a first set of colors and patterns by the multicolor LEDs in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl ([0018], “a system comprising: … a toilet comprising a toilet bowl for receiving excreta” Examiner notes that the processor may be configured to determine when excreta is deposited in the toilet bowl and subsequently display colors and patterns from multicolor LEDs.), wherein the processor is configured to display a second set of colors and patterns by the multicolor LEDs in response to determining the toilet bowl is flushed, and wherein the first and second sets are different ([0028], “The tank … is adapted to hold water and to discharge water into the toilet bowl … with a flush of water.” Examiner notes that the processor may be configured to determine when the toilet bowl is flushed and subsequently display colors and patterns of multicolor LEDs, which are different from the other set of multicolor LEDs.).
In regards to claim 12, Oliva discloses
wherein the clip comprises first and second ends, wherein the first end comprises a first non-slip pad, wherein the second end comprises a second non-slip pad, and wherein the first and second non-slip pads are configured to hold to the rim of the toilet bowl ([0032], “FIG. 1 shows an exemplary detection unit ... comprising support ... that functions to attach the detection unit ... The support ... can be a clamp, a hanger, a hook, a suction cup, ... or other suitable devices for attaching the unit” Examiner notes that a suction cup has a non-slip function.).
In regards to claim 13, Oliva discloses
further comprising a height adjustable retention tab connecting the sensor enclosure to the clip, wherein the height adjustable retention tab is configured to adjust a height of the sensor enclosure after the toilet training device is connected to the toilet rim ([0032], “FIG. 1 shows an exemplary detection unit ... comprising support ... that functions to attach the detection unit ... The support ... can be a clamp, a hanger, a hook, a suction cup, ... or other suitable devices for attaching the unit” Examiner notes that a clamp may have a retention tab and that retention tabs are height adjustable. Examiner also notes that the detection unit is connected to the toilet rim. See annotated Oliva FIG. 1.).
In regards to claim 14, Oliva discloses
further comprising a housing rotation mechanism connecting the housing to the clip, wherein the housing rotation mechanism is configured to rotate the housing after the toilet training device is connected to the toilet rim ([0047], “Referring to FIG. 10, toilet ... comprises ... brackets ... that function to attach the detection unit to a toilet” Examiner notes that the brackets may be rotatable. See annotated Oliva FIG. 10.).
In regards to claim 16, Oliva discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
further comprising a transparent sensor enclosure cover configured to cover an opening of the sensor enclosure through which the light-based TOF sensors transmit light beams and receive light reflections, wherein the processor is configured to calibrate each of the plurality of light-based TOF sensors by: sending one or more signals to each of the plurality of light-based TOF sensors to transmit a light beam and receive the light reflection back ([0018], “provided herein is a system comprising … a computer configured to receive … data … and a processor to execute the code” Examiner notes that by sending signals a processor can be configured to calibrate TOF sensors.);
storing a time that the light is reflected back to the light-based TOF sensor ([0018], “provided herein is a system comprising … a computer configured to receive … data … and a processor to execute the code” Examiner notes that a processor can be configured to store light reflection times.);
determining an offset of the reflected light and an angle of the reflected light ([0018], “provided herein is a system comprising … a computer configured to receive … data … and a processor to execute the code” Examiner notes that a processor can be configured to determine a reflected light offset and angle.);
and calibrating the sensor’s measurements for cross talk using the time the light is reflected back, the offset of the reflected light, and the angle of the reflected light ([0018], “provided herein is a system comprising … a computer configured to receive … data … and a processor to execute the code” Examiner notes that a processor, using the reflected light’s offset and angle and the time light is reflected back, can be configured to calibrate the sensor’s measurements.).
Steinberg discloses
further comprising a transparent sensor enclosure cover configured to cover an opening of the sensor enclosure through which the light-based TOF sensors transmit light beams and receive light reflections (page 2, paragraph 6, “the flight time (TOF) optical sensor may include a controller, a sensing array and a reading unit.” Examiner notes that many TOF sensors use transparent covers.)
Oliva and Steinberg combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of systems for determining human waste amounts in toilet bowls and detecting objects in the surrounding environment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a toilet training device, comprising: a processor; a housing encompassing the processor, a sensor enclosure encompassing the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; and a clip attached to the housing and the sensor enclosure; wherein the clip is configured to attach to a rim of a toilet bowl pointing the light-based TOF sensors towards a water surface inside the toilet bowl; wherein the processor is configured to: generate a contour map from the distant measurements by the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; identify one or more zones of interest as the water surface based on the distant measurements; identify changes in the signal strength measurements; determine excrement is released in the toilet bowl when at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements are outside a signal strength range, on and off a plurality of times in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl, wherein the processor is configured to calibrate each of the plurality of light-based TOF sensors by: sending one or more signals to each of the plurality of light-based TOF sensors to transmit a light beam and receive the light reflection back; storing a time that the light is reflected back to the light-based TOF sensor; determining an offset of the reflected light and an angle of the reflected light; and calibrating the sensor’s measurements for cross talk using the time the light is reflected back, the offset of the reflected light, and the angle of the reflected light, as disclosed by Oliva, further comprising a transparent sensor enclosure cover configured to cover an opening of the sensor enclosure through which the light-based TOF sensors transmit light beams and receive light reflections, as disclosed by Steinberg, to provide a flight time (TOF) optical sensor for a survey technology that scans the surrounding environment and detects the object in the surrounding environment. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of an optical sensor to improve the effectiveness of a survey technology that scans the environment and detects objects in the environment.
In regards to claim 17, Oliva does not disclose wherein the light-based TOF sensors comprise one or more of infrared TOF sensors, visible or invisible laser based TOF sensors, light detection and ranging (LIDAR) sensors, and visible light TOF sensors.
Steinberg discloses
wherein the light-based TOF sensors comprise one or more of infrared TOF sensors, visible or invisible laser based TOF sensors, light detection and ranging (LIDAR) sensors, and visible light TOF sensors (page 6, paragraph 3 – page 7, line 1, “the sensor of the laser radar can … detect light reflected from … the object” Examiner notes that LIDAR is a type of laser radar.).
Oliva and Steinberg combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of systems for determining human waste amounts in toilet bowls and detecting objects in the surrounding environment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a toilet training device, comprising: a processor; a housing encompassing the processor, a sensor enclosure encompassing the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; and a clip attached to the housing and the sensor enclosure; wherein the clip is configured to attach to a rim of a toilet bowl pointing the light-based TOF sensors towards a water surface inside the toilet bowl; wherein the processor is configured to: generate a contour map from the distant measurements by the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; identify one or more zones of interest as the water surface based on the distant measurements; identify changes in the signal strength measurements; determine excrement is released in the toilet bowl when at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements are outside a signal strength range, on and off a plurality of times in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl, as disclosed by Oliva, wherein the light-based TOF sensors comprise one or more of infrared TOF sensors, visible or invisible laser based TOF sensors, light detection and ranging (LIDAR) sensors, and visible light TOF sensors, as disclosed by Steinberg, to provide a laser radar sensor for a survey technology that scans the surrounding environment and detects the object in the surrounding environment. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a laser radar sensor to improve the effectiveness of a survey technology that scans the environment and detects objects in the environment.
In regards to claim 18, Oliva does not disclose wherein the light-based TOF sensors comprise one or more of Single Photon Avalanche Diode (SPAD) sensors, LIDARs, laser distance sensors, photodiodes, avalanche photodiodes, and phototransistors.
Steinberg discloses
wherein the light-based TOF sensors comprise one or more of Single Photon Avalanche Diode (SPAD) sensors, LIDARs, laser distance sensors, photodiodes, avalanche photodiodes, and phototransistors (page 6, paragraph 3 – page 7, line 1, “the sensor of the laser radar can … detect light reflected from … the object” Examiner notes that LIDAR is a type of laser radar.).
Oliva and Steinberg combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of systems for determining human waste amounts in toilet bowls and detecting objects in the surrounding environment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a toilet training device, comprising: a processor; a housing encompassing the processor, a sensor enclosure encompassing the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; and a clip attached to the housing and the sensor enclosure; wherein the clip is configured to attach to a rim of a toilet bowl pointing the light-based TOF sensors towards a water surface inside the toilet bowl; wherein the processor is configured to: generate a contour map from the distant measurements by the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; identify one or more zones of interest as the water surface based on the distant measurements; identify changes in the signal strength measurements; determine excrement is released in the toilet bowl when at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements are outside a signal strength range, on and off a plurality of times in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl, as disclosed by Oliva, wherein the light-based TOF sensors comprise one or more of Single Photon Avalanche Diode (SPAD) sensors, LIDARs, laser distance sensors, photodiodes, avalanche photodiodes, and phototransistors, as disclosed by Steinberg, to provide a laser radar sensor for a survey technology that scans the surrounding environment and detects the object in the surrounding environment. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a laser radar sensor to improve the effectiveness of a survey technology that scans the environment and detects objects in the environment.
In regards to claim 19, Oliva discloses
further comprising a wireless transceiver ([0054], “transceiver … can be configured for … communication … and can connect to a receiver”), wherein the processor is configured to send one or more signals to a peripheral device through the wireless transceiver to turn a plurality of LEDs of the peripheral device on or off a plurality of times in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl ([0018], “provided herein is a system comprising … a computer configured to receive … data … and a processor to execute the code” Examiner notes that a processor can be configured to send signals to a peripheral device through the transceiver and to turn on and off LEDs responding to excrement deposited in the toilet bowl.).
In regards to claim 21, Oliva discloses
wherein identifying the one or more zones of interest as the water surface comprises: detecting peaks and valleys in the contour map ([0081], “the method … designs Difference of Gaussians (DoG) filters to compute a saliency map.” Examiner notes that Difference of Gaussians (DoG) filters can also be used to compute a contour map and detect peaks and valleys in the contour map.);
and setting the valleys as the one or more zones of interest corresponding to the water surface ([0081], “the method … designs Difference of Gaussians (DoG) filters to compute a saliency map.” Examiner notes that Difference of Gaussians (DoG) filters can set a valley as a zone of interest.).
Claims 2, 10-11, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable under Oliva in view of Steinberg, and US 20100209898 A1 (“Ward”).
In regards to claim 2, Oliva does not disclose one or more speakers; wherein the processor is configured to play sound comprising one or more of music, a plurality of tunes, and spoken words through the speaker in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl.
Ward discloses
one or more speakers ([0015], “Mounted to the top cover … is a sound emitting device, such as speaker/amplifier … that delivers a pre-recorded audio message at selected intervals”);
wherein the processor is configured to play sound comprising one or more of music, a plurality of tunes, and spoken words through the speaker in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl ([0008], “toilet-training device to be secured on an article of clothing worn by a child … with a recorder for recording a caregiver's audio message to the child, … speaker for playing the recorded message, a processor/controller in data communication with … the recorder and the speaker.”).
Oliva and Ward combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of systems for determining human waste amounts in toilet bowls and toilet training. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a toilet training device, comprising: a processor; a housing encompassing the processor, a sensor enclosure encompassing the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; and a clip attached to the housing and the sensor enclosure; wherein the clip is configured to attach to a rim of a toilet bowl pointing the light-based TOF sensors towards a water surface inside the toilet bowl; wherein the processor is configured to: generate a contour map from the distant measurements by the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; identify one or more zones of interest as the water surface based on the distant measurements; identify changes in the signal strength measurements; determine excrement is released in the toilet bowl when at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements are outside a signal strength range, on and off a plurality of times in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl, as disclosed by Oliva, one or more speakers; wherein the processor is configured to play sound comprising one or more of music, a plurality of tunes, and spoken words through the speaker in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl, as disclosed by Ward, to provide a sound emitting device and a toilet trainer for infant teaching devices. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a sound emitting device and a toilet trainer to improve the effectiveness of an infant teaching device.
In regards to claim 10, Oliva does not disclose one or more speakers; wherein the processor is configured to play sound comprising one or more of music, a plurality of tunes, and spoken words through the speaker in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl or the toilet is flushed.
Ward discloses
one or more speakers ([0015], “Mounted to the top cover … is a sound emitting device, such as speaker/amplifier … that delivers a pre-recorded audio message at selected intervals”);
wherein the processor is configured to play sound comprising one or more of music, a plurality of tunes, and spoken words through the speaker in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl or the toilet is flushed ([0008], “toilet-training device to be secured on an article of clothing worn by a child … with a recorder for recording a caregiver's audio message to the child, … speaker for playing the recorded message, a processor/controller in data communication with … the recorder and the speaker.” Examiner notes that the processor of Oliva may be configured to play sound after excreta is deposited in the toilet bowl or the toilet is flushed.).
Oliva and Ward combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of systems for determining human waste amounts in toilet bowls and toilet training. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a toilet training device, comprising: a processor; a housing encompassing the processor, a sensor enclosure encompassing the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; and a clip attached to the housing and the sensor enclosure; wherein the clip is configured to attach to a rim of a toilet bowl pointing the light-based TOF sensors towards a water surface inside the toilet bowl; wherein the processor is configured to: generate a contour map from the distant measurements by the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; identify one or more zones of interest as the water surface based on the distant measurements; identify changes in the signal strength measurements; determine excrement is released in the toilet bowl when at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements are outside a signal strength range, on and off a plurality of times in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl, as disclosed by Oliva, one or more speakers; wherein the processor is configured to play sound comprising one or more of music, a plurality of tunes, and spoken words through the speaker in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl or the toilet is flushed, as disclosed by Ward, to provide a sound emitting device and a toilet trainer for infant teaching devices. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a sound emitting device and a toilet trainer to improve the effectiveness of an infant teaching device.
In regards to claim 11, Oliva does not disclose wherein the processor is configured to play different sounds in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl or the toilet is flushed.
Ward discloses
wherein the processor is configured to play different sounds in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl or the toilet is flushed ([0008], “toilet-training device to be secured … for playing the recorded message, a processor/controller in data communication with … the recorder and the speaker.” Examiner notes that the processor of Oliva may be configured to play a sound after excreta is deposited in the toilet bowl and then configured to play a different sound after the toilet is flushed.).
Oliva and Ward combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of systems for determining human waste amounts in toilet bowls and toilet training. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a toilet training device, comprising: a processor; a housing encompassing the processor, a sensor enclosure encompassing the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; and a clip attached to the housing and the sensor enclosure; wherein the clip is configured to attach to a rim of a toilet bowl pointing the light-based TOF sensors towards a water surface inside the toilet bowl; wherein the processor is configured to: generate a contour map from the distant measurements by the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; identify one or more zones of interest as the water surface based on the distant measurements; identify changes in the signal strength measurements; determine excrement is released in the toilet bowl when at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements are outside a signal strength range, on and off a plurality of times in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl, as disclosed by Oliva, one or more speakers; wherein the processor is configured to play sound comprising one or more of music, a plurality of tunes, and spoken words through the speaker in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl or the toilet is flushed, and wherein the processor is configured to play different sounds in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl or the toilet is flushed, as disclosed by Ward, to provide a sound emitting device and a toilet trainer for infant teaching devices. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a sound emitting device and a toilet trainer to improve infant teaching devices.
In regards to claim 15, Oliva discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
further comprising a pressure sensor connected to the clip;
wherein the pressure sensor is configured to measure a pressure applied by a seat of the toilet;
wherein the processor is configured to: receive pressure measurements from the pressure sensor ([0018], “provided herein is a system comprising … a computer configured to receive … data … and a processor to execute the code” Examiner notes that a processor can be configured to receive pressure measurements from the pressure sensor.);
in response to determining the pressure measurements have changed more than a threshold: update the contour map from the distance measurements by the plurality of light-based TOF sensors ([0018], “provided herein is a system comprising … a computer configured to receive … data … and a processor to execute the code” Examiner notes that a processor can be configured to update the contour map based on pressure measurement changes.);
and update the zones of interest as the water surface based on the distance measurements ([0018], “provided herein is a system comprising … a computer configured to receive … data … and a processor to execute the code” Examiner notes that a processor can be configured to update the zones.).
Ward discloses
further comprising a pressure sensor connected to the clip ([0020], “The … technology allows for the capacity sensor to support up to twenty-one general purpose … functions.” Examiner notes that a capacitive sensor can be a pressure sensor.);
wherein the pressure sensor is configured to measure a pressured applied by a seat of the toilet ([0020], “The … technology allows for the capacity sensor to support up to twenty-one general purpose … functions.” Examiner notes that a capacity sensor can be configured to measure pressure.);
Oliva and Ward combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of systems for determining human waste amounts in toilet bowls and toilet training. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a toilet training device, comprising: a processor; a housing encompassing the processor, a sensor enclosure encompassing the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; and a clip attached to the housing and the sensor enclosure; wherein the clip is configured to attach to a rim of a toilet bowl pointing the light-based TOF sensors towards a water surface inside the toilet bowl; wherein the processor is configured to: generate a contour map from the distant measurements by the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; identify one or more zones of interest as the water surface based on the distant measurements; identify changes in the signal strength measurements; determine excrement is released in the toilet bowl when at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements are outside a signal strength range, on and off a plurality of times in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl, as disclosed by Oliva, further comprising a pressure sensor connected to the clip and wherein the pressure sensor is configured to measure a pressured applied by a seat of the toilet, as disclosed by Ward, to provide a capacity sensor for infant teaching devices. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a capacity sensor to improve infant teaching devices.
In regards to claim 20, Oliva discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
further comprising a wireless transceiver ([0054], “transceiver … can be configured for … communication … and can connect to a receiver”), wherein the processor is configured to send one or more signals to a peripheral device through the wireless transceiver to play sound ([0018], “provided herein is a system comprising … a computer configured to receive … data … and a processor to execute the code” Examiner notes that a processor can be configured to send signals to a peripheral device through the transceiver and to play sound responding to excrement deposited in the toilet bowl.) comprising one or more of music, a plurality of tunes, and spoken words
through a speaker of the peripheral device in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl.
Ward discloses
comprising one or more of music, a plurality of tunes, and spoken words
through a speaker of the peripheral device in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl ([0008], “toilet-training device … with a recorder for recording a caregiver's audio message to the child, … speaker for playing the recorded message, a processor/controller in data communication with … the recorder and the speaker.”).
Oliva and Ward combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of systems for determining human waste amounts in toilet bowls and toilet training. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a toilet training device, comprising: a processor; a housing encompassing the processor, a sensor enclosure encompassing the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; and a clip attached to the housing and the sensor enclosure; wherein the clip is configured to attach to a rim of a toilet bowl pointing the light-based TOF sensors towards a water surface inside the toilet bowl; wherein the processor is configured to: generate a contour map from the distant measurements by the plurality of light-based TOF sensors; identify one or more zones of interest as the water surface based on the distant measurements; identify changes in the signal strength measurements; determine excrement is released in the toilet bowl when at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements are outside a signal strength range, on and off a plurality of times in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl, further comprising a wireless transceiver, and wherein the processor is configured to send one or more signals to a peripheral device through the wireless transceiver to play sound, as disclosed by Oliva, comprising one or more of music, a plurality of tunes, and spoken words through a speaker of the peripheral device in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl, as disclosed by Ward, to provide a toilet trainer, a recorder, and a speaker for infant teaching devices. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a toilet trainer, a recorder, and a speaker to improve infant teaching devices.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claims 1-21 remain pending in this application. With respect to claim 1, Applicant argues that “Oliva, Steinberg, or their combination do not disclose or suggest a toilet training device that includes a processor that is configured to (i) generate a contour map from TOF distance measurements, (ii) identify water- surface zones of interest based on those TOF distance measurements, (iii) store signal strength measurements from the zones of interest as a still-water calibration point, and (iv) determine excrement release based on deviations of signal-strength measurements from that still-water calibration point” (See AMENDMENT AND RESPONSE TO OFFICE ACTION, REMARKS, Rejection of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103, page 9, paragraph 3) and “there is no motivation to combine Oliva and Steinberg. Steinberg is non- analogous art and provides no motivation to combine”. Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks. Regarding claim 1, Oliva discloses a toilet training device, comprising: a processor ([0018], “a system comprising … a toilet … a data processor”); a housing encompassing the processor ([0018], “a system comprising … a detection unit … comprising … a data processor”); a sensor enclosure encompassing the plurality of light-based TOF sensors ([0018], “a system comprising ... a detection unit ... comprising: ... one or more ... sensors”); and a clip attached to the housing and the sensor enclosure ([0032], “FIG. 1 shows an exemplary detection unit ... comprising support ... that functions to attach the detection unit ... The support ... can be a clamp, a hanger, a hook, a suction cup, ... or other suitable devices for attaching the unit”); wherein the clip is configured to attach to a rim of a toilet bowl ([0018], “the detection unit is mounted to the bowl by means of a hook, a clamp, a hanger, a suction cup, a magnet, a bolt, a screw or a bracket” Examiner notes that the detection unit is attached to the rim of the toilet bowl. See annotated Oliva FIG. 1.) pointing the light-based TOF sensors towards a water surface inside the toilet bowl ([0020], “the detecting … comprises activating … detectors to collect data upon detection of motion with a motion sensor” Examiner notes that a motion sensor can be a light-based Time-of-Flight (ToF) sensor.); wherein the processor is configured to: generate a contour map from the distance measurements by the plurality of light-based TOF sensors ([0081], “the method … designs Difference of Gaussians (DoG) filters to compute a saliency map.” Examiner notes that Difference of Gaussians (DoG) filters can also be used to compute a contour map.); identify one or more zones of interest as the water surface based on the distance measurements ([0044], “Distance from the laser to the object is determined by principles of trigonometric triangulation using the distance between the camera and the laser and the angle at which the light reflected from the object strikes the camera” Examiner notes that trigonometric triangulation is a foundational method for determining distance.); store ([0035], “Doppler radar …, sending data to a processor … which in turn stores data in memory”) signal strength measurements from the one or more zones of interest as a still-water calibration point ([0082], “data from Doppler measurements is used to determine whether excreta is urine or feces and the relative water content of each” Examiner notes that Doppler measurements can detect signal strength.); identify changes in the signal strength measurements from the one or more zones of interest relative to the still-water calibration point ([0082], “data from Doppler measurements is used to determine whether excreta is urine or feces and the relative water content of each” Examiner notes that Doppler measurements can detect signal strength and identify changes in the signal strength); determine excrement is released in the toilet bowl when at least some of the changes in the signal strength measurements are outside a signal strength range ([0018], “provided herein is a system comprising … a computer configured to receive … data … determine an amount of urine and/or feces deposited into the toilet bowl, and a processor to execute the code”); in response to determining the excrement is released in the toilet bowl ([0018], “provided herein is a system comprising … a computer configured to receive … data … determine an amount of urine and/or feces deposited into the toilet bowl, and a processor to execute the code”) and Steinberg discloses a plurality of light-based time of flight (TOF) sensors (page 2, paragraph 6, “the flight time (TOF) optical sensor may include a controller, a sensing array and a reading unit.” Examiner notes that a flight time optical sensor is another name for a time of flight sensor.); a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) (page 8, paragraph 1, “the light source may be a ... light emitting diode (LED)”); wherein each light-based TOF sensor is configured to: project a plurality of light beams towards the toilet bowl (page 31, paragraph 1, “TOF sensor may be used in … electronic … systems that may require … reflected light” Examiner notes that a light beam is reflected light.); receive light reflected from an object in a path of the light beams (page 31, paragraph 1, “TOF sensor may be used in … electronic … systems that may require … reflected light”); make measurements of a distance between the light-based TOF sensor and the nearby object (page 33, paragraph 3, “TOF sensor may … provide … measurement values” Examiner notes that TOF sensors measure the distance between themselves and other objects.); and make measurements of a signal strength of the reflected light (page 33, paragraph 3, “TOF sensor may … provide … measurement values” Examiner notes that TOF sensors can measure signal strength.); and turn the LEDs on and off a plurality of times (page 8, paragraph 1, “the light source may be a ... light emitting diode (LED)”).
MPEP § 2111 discusses proper claim interpretation, including giving claims their
broadest reasonable interpretation (“BRI”) in light of the specification during examination. Under BRI, the words of a claim must be given their plain meaning unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification, and it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification into the claim. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the BRI is broader than what is argued. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1, as obvious by Oliva in view of Steinberg, is maintained. Consequently, the rejections of dependent claims 2-21 are maintained.
Furthermore, MPEP 2141.01(a) discusses obviousness regarding analogous art. Under MPEP 2141.01(a), a reference is analogous to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor (even if it addresses a different problem): or (2) the reference is reasonable pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). Examiner notes that combined Oliva and Steinberg are pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. Therefore, the rejections of claim 1 and dependent claims 2-21, as obvious over Oliva in view of Steinberg, are maintained.
With regards to Applicant’s request “that the Examiner provide documentary evidence (e.g., a standard reference or additional prior art) supporting each noticed fact, as contemplated by MPEP § 2144.03”, (See AMENDMENT AND RESPONSE TO OFFICE ACTION, REMARKS, Rejection of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103, page 10, paragraph 3), Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s request. MPEP 2144.03 discusses reliance on common knowledge in the art or “well known” prior art. To adequately traverse a finding based on official notice, under MPEP 2144.03, an Applicant must specifically point out the supposed errors in the Examiner’s action, which would include stating why the noticed fact is not considered to be common knowledge or well-known in the art. A mere request by the Applicant that the Examiner provide documentary evidence in support of an officially-noticed fact is not a proper traversal. See 37 CFR 1.111(b). See also Chevenard, 139 F.2d at 713, 60 USPQ at 241. A general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without any reference to the examiner’s assertion of official notice would be inadequate. Examiner notes that the common knowledge or well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art because Applicant’s traverse was inadequate in that it broadly requested documentary evidence for supporting each noticed fact without specifically pointing out the supposed errors in the Examiner’s actions.
With respect to claim 15, Applicant argues that “Ward's disclosure regarding a sensor in a child-oriented training device does not disclose or suggest a pressure sensor connected to a clip of a toilet rim-mounted device, configured to measure pressure applied by a toilet seat and trigger updating of a TOF-derived contour map and zones of interest as claimed”, (See AMENDMENT AND RESPONSE TO OFFICE ACTION, REMARKS, Rejection of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103, page 12, paragraph 3-page 13, lines 1-2). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks. However, Oliva discloses wherein the processor is configured to: receive pressure measurements from the pressure sensor ([0018], “provided herein is a system comprising … a computer configured to receive … data … and a processor to execute the code” Examiner notes that a processor can be configured to receive pressure measurements from the pressure sensor.); in response to determining the pressure measurements have changed more than a threshold: update the contour map from the distance measurements by the plurality of light-based TOF sensors ([0018], “provided herein is a system comprising … a computer configured to receive … data … and a processor to execute the code” Examiner notes that a processor can be configured to update the contour map based on pressure measurement changes.); and update the zones of interest as the water surface based on the distance measurements ([0018], “provided herein is a system comprising … a computer configured to receive … data … and a processor to execute the code” Examiner notes that a processor can be configured to update the zones.) and Ward discloses further comprising a pressure sensor connected to the clip ([0020], “The … technology allows for the capacity sensor to support up to twenty-one general purpose … functions.” Examiner notes that a capacitive sensor can be a pressure sensor.); wherein the pressure sensor is configured to measure a pressured applied by a seat of the toilet ([0020], “The … technology allows for the capacity sensor to support up to twenty-one general purpose … functions.” Examiner notes that a capacity sensor can be configured to measure pressure.).
MPEP § 2111 discusses proper claim interpretation, including giving claims their
broadest reasonable interpretation (“BRI”) in light of the specification during examination. Under BRI, the words of a claim must be given their plain meaning unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification, and it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification into the claim. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the BRI is broader than what is argued. Therefore, the rejection of claim 15, as obvious by Oliva in view of Steinberg and Ward, is maintained.
With respect to the “New Claim” and “dependent claim 21” (See AMENDMENT AND RESPONSE TO OFFICE ACTION, REMARKS, Rejection of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103, page 13, paragraph 1), Oliva discloses wherein identifying the one or more zones of interest as the water surface comprises: detecting peaks and valleys in the contour map ([0081], “the method … designs Difference of Gaussians (DoG) filters to compute a saliency map.” Examiner notes that Difference of Gaussians (DoG) filters can also be used to compute a contour map and detect peaks and valleys in the contour map.); and setting the valleys as the one or more zones of interest corresponding to the water surface ([0081], “the method … designs Difference of Gaussians (DoG) filters to compute a saliency map.” Examiner notes that Difference of Gaussians (DoG) filters can set a valley as a zone of interest.).
MPEP § 2111 discusses proper claim interpretation, including giving claims their
broadest reasonable interpretation (“BRI”) in light of the specification during examination. Under BRI, the words of a claim must be given their plain meaning unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification, and it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification into the claim. Therefore, claim 21, as obvious by Oliva in view of Steinberg, is rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LISA H ANTOINE
Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715