DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-27 and 29-30 are pending.
Claim 28 has been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 09/16/2025 have been considered but they are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 16, 18-19, 24 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220393794 A1), hereinafter Wang, in view of Yang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240224376 A1), hereinafter Yang.
With respect to claim 1, Wang teaches An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (fig. 4 [0136-0137], UE), comprising:
at least one processor ([0160], processor); and
memory coupled with the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to (fig. 7, [0160], memory coupled with the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to):
receive one or more configuration messages for one or more configured grants for uplink transmissions (fig. 4 [0136-0137], UE receives configuration messages/configured control message for configured grants for uplink transmissions);
wherein the one or more configuration messages (fig. 4 [0136-0137], UE receives configuration messages/configured control message); and
transmit a data message in accordance with each of the one or more configured grants (fig. 4 [0138], UE transmits data in accordance with the determined configured grants/CG).
Although Wang teaches wherein the one or more configuration messages as set forth above. Wang does not explicitly teach comprise a first configuration message indicating retransmission is not enabled for a first configured grant.
However, Yang teaches comprise a first configuration message indicating retransmission is not enabled for a first configured grant ([0138-0147], configuration message/control information indicating retransmission is not enabled/disable for a configured grant, [0147], parameter cg-RetransmissionTimer is introduced: the duration after a configured grant (re)transmission of a HARQ process when the UE shall not autonomously retransmit that HARQ process, cg-RetransmissionTimer could be set to large value, i.e., effectively disable UE autonomous retransmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang, comprise a first configuration message indicating retransmission is not enabled for a first configured grant, into the teachings of Wang, so that only DG retransmission is allowed in order to meet delay bound of XR (Yang, [0147]).
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Wang and Yang teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Wang does not explicitly teach set a retransmission timer to a zero value in accordance with the first configuration message indicating retransmission is not enabled for the first configured grant.
However, Yang teaches set a retransmission timer to a zero value in accordance with the first configuration message indicating retransmission is not enabled for the first configured grant (0099, 0102-0103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang, set a retransmission timer to a zero value in accordance with the first configuration message indicating retransmission is not enabled for the first configured grant, into the teachings of Wang, so that only DG retransmission is allowed in order to meet delay bound of XR (Yang, [0147]).
With respect to claim 16, the combination of Wang and Yang teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Wang teaches receive control information associated with scheduling a retransmission of the data message associated with the first configured grant (0137-0138]).
Wang does not explicitly teach ignore the control information in accordance with the first configuration message indicating retransmission is not enabled for the first configured grant.
However, Yang teaches ignore the control information in accordance with the first configuration message indicating retransmission is not enabled for the first configured grant ([0138-0147]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang, ignore the control information in accordance with the first configuration message indicating retransmission is not enabled for the first configured grant, into the teachings of Wang, so that only DG retransmission is allowed in order to meet delay bound of XR (Yang, [0147]).
With respect to claim 18, the combination of Wang and Yang teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Wang teaches the one or more configured grants comprise a second configured grant (0032]), the second configured grant is associated with a retransmission timer (0042]), and the retransmission timer is associated with one or more of a configured grant timer parameter (0140, 0144]).
With respect to claim 19, Wang teaches An apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (fig. 4 [0136-0137], gNB), comprising:
at least one processor (fig. 9, [0164], processor); and
memory coupled with the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to (fig. 9, [0164], memory coupled with the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to):
transmit one or more configuration messages for one or more configured grants for uplink transmissions (fig. 4 [0136-0137], gNB transmits configuration messages/configured control message for configured grants for uplink transmissions),
wherein the one or more configuration messages (fig. 4 [0136-0137], UE receives configuration messages/configured control message); and
receive a data message in accordance with each of the one or more configured grants (fig. 4 [0138], gNB receives data in accordance with the determined configured grants/CG).
Although Wang teaches wherein the one or more configuration messages as set forth above. Wang does not explicitly teach comprise a first configuration message indicating retransmission is not enabled for a first configured grant.
However, Yang teaches comprise a first configuration message indicating retransmission is not enabled for a first configured grant ([0138-0147], configuration message/control information indicating retransmission is not enabled/disable for a configured grant, [0147], parameter cg-RetransmissionTimer is introduced: the duration after a configured grant (re)transmission of a HARQ process when the UE shall not autonomously retransmit that HARQ process, cg-RetransmissionTimer could be set to large value, i.e., effectively disable UE autonomous retransmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang, comprise a first configuration message indicating retransmission is not enabled for a first configured grant, into the teachings of Wang, so that only DG retransmission is allowed in order to meet delay bound of XR (Yang, [0147]).
With respect to claim 24, this claim recites the apparatus of claim 6, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 29, Wang teaches A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (fig. 4 [0136-0137], UE), comprising:
receiving one or more configuration messages for one or more configured grants for uplink transmissions (fig. 4 [0136-0137], UE receives configuration messages/configured control message for configured grants for uplink transmissions);
wherein the one or more configuration messages (fig. 4 [0136-0137], UE receives configuration messages/configured control message); and
transmitting a data message in accordance with each of the one or more configured grants (fig. 4 [0138], UE transmits data in accordance with the determined configured grants/CG).
Although Wang teaches wherein the one or more configuration messages as set forth above. Wang does not explicitly teach comprise a first configuration message indicating retransmission is not enabled for a first configured grant.
However, Yang teaches comprise a first configuration message indicating retransmission is not enabled for a first configured grant ([0138-0147], configuration message/control information indicating retransmission is not enabled/disable for a configured grant, [0147], parameter cg-RetransmissionTimer is introduced: the duration after a configured grant (re)transmission of a HARQ process when the UE shall not autonomously retransmit that HARQ process, cg-RetransmissionTimer could be set to large value, i.e., effectively disable UE autonomous retransmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang, comprise a first configuration message indicating retransmission is not enabled for a first configured grant, into the teachings of Wang, so that only DG retransmission is allowed in order to meet delay bound of XR (Yang, [0147]).
With respect to claim 30, Wang teaches A method for wireless communication at a network entity (fig. 4 [0136-0137], gNB), comprising:
transmitting one or more configuration messages for one or more configured grants for uplink transmissions (fig. 4 [0136-0137], gNB transmits configuration messages/configured control message for configured grants for uplink transmissions),
wherein the one or more configuration messages (fig. 4 [0136-0137], UE receives configuration messages/configured control message); and
receiving a data message in accordance with each of the one or more configured grants (fig. 4 [0138], gNB receives data in accordance with the determined configured grants/CG).
Although Wang teaches wherein the one or more configuration messages as set forth above. Wang does not explicitly teach comprise a first configuration message indicating retransmission is not enabled for a first configured grant.
However, Yang teaches comprise a first configuration message indicating retransmission is not enabled for a first configured grant ([0138-0147], configuration message/control information indicating retransmission is not enabled/disable for a configured grant, [0147], parameter cg-RetransmissionTimer is introduced: the duration after a configured grant (re)transmission of a HARQ process when the UE shall not autonomously retransmit that HARQ process, cg-RetransmissionTimer could be set to large value, i.e., effectively disable UE autonomous retransmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang, comprise a first configuration message indicating retransmission is not enabled for a first configured grant, into the teachings of Wang, so that only DG retransmission is allowed in order to meet delay bound of XR (Yang, [0147]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, in view of Yang, and further in view of Kanamarlapudi et al. (Pub. No.: US 20140177464 A1), hereinafter Kanamarlapudi
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Wang and Yang teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Yang teaches monitor a downlink control channel for control information associated with scheduling a retransmission of the data message ([0185, 0395]), and indicates retransmission is enabled for a second configured grant ([0095, 0334-0335]).
The combination of Wang and Yang does not explicitly teach in accordance with a second configuration message, and the second configuration message is one of the one or more configuration messages.
However, Kanamarlapudi teaches in accordance with a second configuration message, and the second configuration message is one of the one or more configuration messages ([0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang, in accordance with a second configuration message, and the second configuration message is one of the one or more configuration messages, into the teachings of Wang and Yang, in order to enhanced status retransmissions (Yang, [0002]).
Claims 4 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, in view of Yang, and further in view of SRIVASTAV et al. (Pub. No.: US 20180145800 A1), hereinafter SRIVASTAV
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Wang and Yang teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Yang teaches for control information in accordance with the first configuration message indicating retransmission is not enabled for the first configured grant ([0138-0147]).
The combination of Wang and Yang does not explicitly teach select not to monitor a downlink control channel. However, SRIVASTAV teaches select not to monitor a downlink control channel ([0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang, select not to monitor a downlink control channel, into the teachings of Wang and Yang, in order to reduce power consumption in a user equipment (SRIVASTAV, [0002]).
With respect to claim 22, this claim recites the apparatus of claim 4, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 7-15, 17, 20-21, 23 and 25-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIET TANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469