DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/18/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Amendments to the claims have overcome the objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 12/18/2025.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner’s note - The recitation “an electronic circuit assembly” has not been given patentable weight, because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of the limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure, and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 10-11, 13-14, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2017/0237171 – of record; “Kim”) in view of Delaveaud et al. (US 6,750,825; “Delaveaud” or “Dela”).
Claim 1: Kim discloses (figs. 3, 4a, 4b and annotated fig. 3 above) “An electronic circuit assembly (see Examiner’s note above), comprising:
a multi-layer substrate (multilayered substrate 105) having a feed portion (FP), a transition portion (TP), and an antenna portion (AP), the multi-layer substrate including a first dielectric layer (110s) and a second dielectric layer (any dielectric layer 110f other than dielectric layer 110s);
the feed portion (FP) comprising a first metallization layer (M1), a first ground layer (GL1) (a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that any of the metallization layers 120f can be interpreted as ground layers), and a first dielectric structure formed by the first dielectric layer (110s) and having a first height (H1) between the first metallization layer (M1) and the first ground layer (GL1), the first ground layer (GL1) formed by a second metallization layer (M2) disposed between the first dielectric layer (110s) and the second dielectric layer (any dielectric layer 110f other than dielectric layer 110s), the second metallization layer (M2) terminating at a tapered portion of the first metallization layer (M1) (see fig. 4a, where M2 terminates at line 161, which is at a tapered portion of M1), wherein the second metallization layer does not extend into the antenna portion (AP);
the transition portion (TP) comprising the tapered portion of the first metallization layer (M1), a second ground layer (GL2) formed by a third metallization layer (M3), and a second dielectric structure including the first dielectric layer (110s) and the second dielectric layer (any of the dielectric layers 110f other than 110s),
the second dielectric structure having a second height (H2) between the first metallization layer (M1) and the second ground layer (GL2);
the second height (H2) comprising a value greater than the first height (H1); and
the antenna portion (AP) comprising a portion of the first metallization layer (M1), the second ground layer (GL2) and a portion of the second dielectric structure (central area 160 comprises dielectric layers 110s and 110f of multilayered substrate 105, ¶49);
the antenna portion (AP) having an antenna element (antenna patch 140).
Kim does not disclose wherein the second metallization layer does not extend into the transition portion. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the size of the second metallization layer, which forms the first ground layer (GL1), can be varied in order to, e.g., determine the antenna radiation pattern (as taught by Dela in col. 9, lines 1-2), reduce unwanted parasitic capacitance and lower impedance mismatches which would decrease the efficiency of the antenna. And, if the size of the second metallization were reduced, the second metallization layer would not extend into the transition portion.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the assembly of Kim wherein the second metallization layer does not extend into the transition portion, according to the teachings of Dela. Doing so allows for the antenna characteristics and radiation pattern to be chosen according to user requirements.
Claim 2: the modified Kim discloses the electronic circuit assembly of claim 1.
Kim does not disclose “wherein the antenna portion is configured to generate an antenna frequency in the range of approximately 12 to 18 gigahertz”.
However, Kim teaches a millimeter waveband with an expanded bandwidth (¶24). Kim also teaches an antenna patch (140) which may have various forms (¶56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the antenna portion of Kim wherein the antenna portion is configured to generate an antenna frequency in the range of approximately 12 to 18 gigahertz. Doing so enables communication with electronic devices in desired frequency ranges.
Claim 4: the modified Kim discloses the electronic circuit assembly of claim 1.
Kim also discloses “wherein the tapered portion of the transition portion (annotated fig. 4, TP) comprises a gradual widening of the first metallization layer (150) (see fig. 4a)”.
Claim 5: the modified Kim discloses the electronic circuit assembly of claim 1.
Kim does not explicitly disclose “wherein the antenna element of the antenna portion comprises a length and width, and wherein the length, width, and second dielectric height are configured to generate an antenna frequency in the range of approximately 12 to 18 gigahertz”.
However, Kim does teach (¶56) that the antenna patch (140) may have various forms such as a square shape, which has a length and a width. Kim also teaches (¶64) that the central area (160) of dielectric which lies below the antenna patch (140) (and which has a second dielectric height, H2) may be adjusted to resonate in the desired frequency band. Para. 0051 of Kim further teaches that this central dielectric area (160) may have various shapes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modify the antenna portion of Kim, wherein the antenna portion comprises a length and width, and wherein the length, width, and second dielectric height are configured to generate an antenna frequency in the range of approximately 12 to 18 gigahertz. Doing so enables communication with devices in desired frequency ranges.
Claim 7: the modified Kim discloses the electronic circuit assembly of claim 1.
Kim discloses “wherein the multi-layer substrate comprises antenna power circuitry on the first dielectric structure (transmission line 150 provides power to the antenna patch 140)”.
Claim 10: Kim discloses (figs. 3, 4a, 4b and annotated fig. 3 above), “An electronic circuit assembly comprising:
a substrate (multilayered substrate 105) having first (110s), second (any of the dielectric layers 110f other than 110s and the bottom dielectric layer), and third (bottom dielectric layer) dielectric layers and a feed portion (FP), a transition portion (TP) and an antenna portion (AP);
the feed portion (FP) comprising a first metallization layer (ML1) on the first dielectric layer (110s) and a second metallization layer (M2) between the first (110s) and second (any of the dielectric layers 110f other than 110s and the bottom dielectric layer) dielectric layers;
the feed portion (FP) having a first dielectric height (H1) between the first (M1) and second (M2) metallization layers;
the transition portion (TP) comprising a tapered portion (see fig. 4a) of the first metallization layer (M1) and a third metallization layer (M3) on the third dielectric layer (bottom dielectric layer), the second metallization layer (M2) terminating at the tapered portion (TP) of the first metallization layer (M1), wherein the second metallization layer does not extend into the antenna portion (AP),
the transition portion (TP) having a second dielectric height (H2) between the first (M1) and third (M3) metallization layers,
the second dielectric height (H2) comprising a value greater than the first dielectric height (H1); and
the antenna portion (AP) comprising a portion of the first metallization layer (M1) having an antenna element (140),
the antenna portion (AP) having a third dielectric height (H2) equal to the second dielectric height (H2)”.
Kim does not disclose wherein the second metallization layer does not extend into the transition portion. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the size of the second metallization layer, which forms the first ground layer (GL1), can be varied in order to, e.g., determine the antenna radiation pattern (as taught by Dela in col. 9, lines 1-2), reduce unwanted parasitic capacitance and lower impedance mismatches which would decrease the efficiency of the antenna. And, if the size of the second metallization were reduced, the second metallization layer would not extend into the transition portion.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the assembly of Kim wherein the second metallization layer does not extend into the transition portion, according to the teachings of Dela. Doing so allows for the antenna characteristics and radiation pattern to be chosen according to user requirements.
Claim 11: the modified Kim discloses the electronic circuit assembly of claim 10.
Kim does not disclose “wherein the antenna portion is configured to generate an antenna frequency in the range of approximately 12 to 18 gigahertz”.
However, Kim teaches a millimeter waveband with an expanded bandwidth (¶24). Kim also teaches an antenna patch (140) which may have various forms (¶56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the antenna portion of Kim wherein the antenna portion is configured to generate an antenna frequency in the range of approximately 12 to 18 gigahertz. Doing so enables communication with electronic devices in desired frequency ranges.
Claim 13: the modified Kim discloses the electronic circuit assembly of claim 10.
Kim also discloses “wherein the first tapered portion of the transition portion (TP) comprises a gradual widening of the first metallization layer (150) (see fig. 4a)”.
Claim 14: the modified Kim discloses the electronic circuit assembly of claim 10.
Kim does not explicitly disclose “wherein the antenna element of the antenna portion comprises a length and width, and wherein the length, width, and the third dielectric height are configured to generate an antenna frequency in the range of approximately 12 to 18 gigahertz”.
However, Kim does teach (¶56) that the antenna patch (140) may have various forms such as a square shape, which has a length and a width. Kim also teaches (¶64) that the central area (160) of dielectric which lies below the antenna patch (140) (and which has a third dielectric height, H2) may be adjusted to resonate in the desired frequency band. Para. 0051 of Kim further teaches that this central dielectric area (160) may have various shapes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modify the antenna portion of Kim, wherein the antenna portion comprises a length and width, and wherein the length, width, and the third dielectric height are configured to generate an antenna frequency in the range of approximately 12 to 18 gigahertz. Doing so enables communication with devices in desired frequency ranges.
Claim 16: the modified Kim discloses the electronic circuit assembly of claim 10.
Kim discloses “wherein the substrate comprises antenna transmission circuitry (transmission line 150) on the first dielectric layer (dielectric layer 110s)”.
Claim 17: the modified Kim discloses the electronic circuit assembly of claim 10.
Kim also discloses “wherein the second metallization layer (M2) comprises a ground layer (a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the second metallization layer is a flat, conductive surface which can reflect RF waves and can therefore function as a ground layer)”.
Claim 18: the modified Kim discloses the electronic circuit assembly of claim 10.
Kim also discloses “wherein the third metallization layer comprises a ground layer (¶50, ground layer 120g)”.
Claim 19: Kim discloses (figs. 3, 4a, 4b and annotated fig. 3 above) “A method for constructing an electric circuit assembly (see Examiner’s note above), comprising the steps of:
providing a substrate (multilayered substrate 105) having first (110s), second (any of the dielectric layers 110f other than 110s and the bottom dielectric layer), and third (bottom) dielectric layers and a feed portion (FP), a transition portion (TP), and an antenna portion (AP);
forming the feed portion (FP) by providing a first metallization layer (M1) on the first dielectric layer (110s) and a second metallization layer (M2) between the first (110s) and second (any of the dielectric layers 110f other than 110s and the bottom dielectric layer) dielectric layers;
the feed portion (FP) having a first dielectric height (H1) between the first (M1) and second (M2) metallization layers;
forming the transition portion (TP) by providing a tapered portion (see fig. 4a) of the first metallization layer (M1) and a third metallization layer (M3) on the third (bottom) dielectric layer, the second metallization layer (M2) terminating at the tapered portion of the first metallization layer (M1), wherein the second metallization layer (M2) does not extend into the antenna portion,
the transition portion (TP) having a second dielectric height (H2) between the first (M1) and third (M3) metallization layers,
the second dielectric height (H2) comprising a value greater than the first dielectric height (H1); and
forming the antenna portion (AP) by providing a portion of the first metallization layer (M1) with an antenna element (140),
the antenna portion (AP) having a third dielectric height (H2) equal to the second dielectric height (H2)”.
Kim does not disclose wherein the second metallization layer does not extend into the transition portion. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the size of the second metallization layer, which forms the first ground layer (GL1), can be varied in order to, e.g., determine the antenna radiation pattern (as taught by Dela in col. 9, lines 1-2), reduce unwanted parasitic capacitance and lower impedance mismatches which would decrease the efficiency of the antenna. And, if the size of the second metallization were reduced, the second metallization layer would not extend into the transition portion.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the assembly of Kim wherein the second metallization layer does not extend into the transition portion, according to the teachings of Dela. Doing so allows for the antenna characteristics and radiation pattern to be chosen according to user requirements.
Claim 3, 8-9, 12, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Delaveaud, and further in view of Pettus (US 2008/0252543 – of record).
Claim 3: the modified Kim discloses the electronic circuit assembly of claim 1.
Kim does not disclose “wherein the feed portion comprises a differential transmission feed and the antenna portion comprises a second antenna element”.
Pettus teaches (see fig. 6 below) “wherein the feed portion comprises a differential transmission feed (differential transmission lines 126 & 128) and the antenna portion comprises a second antenna element (second patch antenna 124)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Pettus to the electronic circuit assembly of Kim in view of Dela, wherein the feed portion comprises a differential transmission feed and the antenna portion comprises a second antenna element. Doing so eliminates the need for a matching balun (¶19, lines 19-21 of Pettus).
Claim 8: the modified Kim discloses the electronic circuit assembly of claim 1.
Kim does not disclose “wherein the antenna portion comprises a portion of the first metallization layer that transitions from a differential transmission line to a single-ended transmission line”.
Pettus teaches “wherein the antenna portion comprises a portion of the first metallization layer (¶23, lines 1-5; “The patch antenna elements are formed onto a substrate by depositing metal onto the substrate”) that transitions from a differential transmission line to a single-ended transmission line (see fig. 6, where differential transmission line 126 transitions to a single-ended transmission line at 126A)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Pettus to the electronic circuit assembly of Kim in view of Dela, wherein the antenna portion comprises a portion of the first metallization layer that transitions from a differential transmission line to a single-ended transmission line. Doing so eliminates the need for a matching balun (¶19, lines 19-21).
Claim 9: the modified Kim discloses the electronic circuit assembly of claim 1.
Kim does not disclose “wherein the antenna portion comprises a portion of the first metallization layer that transitions from a differential transmission line to a single-ended transmission line connected to the antenna element”.
Pettus teaches “wherein the antenna portion comprises a portion of the first metallization layer (¶23, lines 1-5; “The patch antenna elements are formed onto a substrate by depositing metal onto the substrate”) that transitions from a differential transmission line to a single-ended transmission line connected to the antenna element (see fig. 6, where differential transmission line 126 transitions to a single-ended transmission line at 126A and is connected to antenna element 122)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Pettus to the electronic circuit assembly of Kim in view of Dela, wherein the antenna portion comprises a portion of the first metallization layer that transitions from a differential transmission line to a single-ended transmission line connected to the antenna element. Doing so eliminates the need for a matching balun (¶19, lines 19-21).
Claim 12: the modified Kim discloses the electronic circuit assembly of claim 10.
Kim does not disclose “wherein the feed portion comprises a differential transmission feed and the antenna portion comprises a second antenna element”.
Pettus teaches (see fig. 6 below) “wherein the feed portion comprises a differential transmission feed (differential transmission lines 126 & 128) and the antenna portion comprises a second antenna element (second patch antenna 124)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Pettus to the electronic circuit assembly of Kim in view of Dela, wherein the feed portion comprises a differential transmission feed and the antenna portion comprises a second antenna element. Doing so eliminates the need for a matching balun (¶19, lines 19-21 of Pettus).
Claim 15: the modified Kim discloses the electronic circuit assembly of claim 10.
Kim does not disclose “wherein the antenna portion comprises an inset feed”.
Pettus teaches “wherein the antenna portion (fig. 6, patch antenna 122) comprises an inset feed”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Pettus to the electronic circuit assembly of Kim in view of Dela, wherein the antenna portion comprises an inset feed. Doing so permits improved antenna return loss by optimizing impedance matching at the antenna feeding point.
Claim 20: the modified Kim discloses the method of claim 19.
Kim does not disclose “wherein the step of forming the feed portion comprises forming a differential transmission feed and forming the antenna portion comprises forming a second antenna element”.
Pettus teaches “wherein the step of forming the feed portion comprises forming a differential transmission feed (fig. 6, differential transmission lines 126 & 128) and forming the antenna portion comprises forming a second antenna element (fig. 6, second patch antenna 124)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Pettus to the electronic circuit assembly method of Kim in view of Dela, wherein the step of forming the feed portion comprises forming a differential transmission feed and forming the antenna portion comprises forming a second antenna element. Doing so eliminates the need for a matching balun (¶19, lines 19-21).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Delaveaud, and further in view of Zahn et al. (US 5,061,938 – of record; hereinafter Zahn).
Claim 6: the modified Kim discloses the electronic circuit assembly of claim 1.
Kim does not explicitly disclose “wherein the antenna portion comprises an effective dielectric constant value that is different than that of the feed portion”.
Zahn teaches (annotated fig. 4 below) “wherein the antenna portion (AP) comprises an effective dielectric constant value that is different than that of the feed portion (FP) (see claim 2 of Zahn; “the space between the substrate and base plate can be filled with a dielectric material with a dielectric constant different from the substrate dielectric constant”)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Zahn to the electronic circuit assembly of Kim in view of Dela, wherein the antenna portion comprises an effective dielectric constant value that is different than that of the feed portion. This allows for signal leakage in the electronic circuit assembly to be minimized, which increases efficiency and gain (col. 1, lines 20-32 of Zahn).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/18/2025 with respect to the claims have been fully considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendment of claims 1, 10 and 19.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNA N HAMADYK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845