DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant' s arguments, filed 6/12/2026, have been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Applicants have amended their claims, 6/12/2026, and therefore rejections newly made in the instant office action have been necessitated by amendment.
Claims 1-4, 6-17, and 19-22 are the currently pending claims hereby under examination. Claims 5 and 18 have been canceled. Claim 22 has been newly added.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 16 recites “rotating mechanism configured to rotate” (line 3) and “position adjusting mechanism configured to move” (line 5). The term “mechanism”, when used in combination with purely functional language, is a nonspecific nonce word that does not recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed functions under Williamson v. Citrix. Accordingly, the limitations are construed to cover the corresponding structures disclosed in the specification and statutory equivalents (see Specification ¶[0055]–[0061], for details of the driving device D, rotating mechanism R, and position adjusting mechanism T.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 7, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “the inner surface of the guide member is not parallel to the outer surface of the pressing device” and “the first plate is not parallel to the second plate” in lines 4-5. Claim 6 depends from claim 1 and therefore incorporates claim 1, which recites “the inner surface of the guide member is parallel to the pressing device” in lines 8-9. It is unclear what geometric relationship is required because claim 1 requires the guide-member inner surface to be parallel to the pressing device, while claim 6 requires that same inner surface to be nonparallel to an outer surface of the pressing device. The Instant Application at ¶[0069] describes the parallel arrangement by stating that guide member 51 is parallel to pressing device 1 and that inner surface 51i is parallel to an outer surface of swab coupling member 11. In contrast, ¶[0112] describes the inclined arrangement by stating that the inner surface of guide member 51′ and the outer surface of pressing device 1 form an acute angle. For purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets “parallel to the pressing device” as including the longitudinal outer surface of the pressing device, consistent with ¶[0069]. Under that working interpretation, claim 6 requires a nonparallel relationship that is inconsistent with the inherited parallel relationship. Because the claim language and specification do not establish another relationship that permits both requirements to be satisfied, claim 6 is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b).
Claim 7 recites “the guide member is connected to the support body and rotates relative to the support body, and an acute angle formed between the guide member and the first direction is variable” in lines 4-5. Claim 7 depends from claim 6 and therefore incorporates claim 1. Claim 1 recites “the inner surface of the guide member is parallel to the pressing device” in lines 8-9, while claim 6 recites that “the inner surface of the guide member is not parallel to the outer surface of the pressing device” in lines 4-5. The Instant Application at ¶[0069] describes the parallel arrangement by stating that guide member 51 is parallel to pressing device 1 and that inner surface 51i is parallel to an outer surface of swab coupling member 11. In contrast, ¶[0112]-[0113] describe the rotatable arrangement as a nonparallel guide in which rotation changes the acute angle between guide member 51′ and first direction D1. For purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets claim 7 as requiring the angularly adjustable inclined-guide arrangement described at ¶[0112]-[0113] while retaining the remaining inherited structure. This working interpretation does not resolve how the inherited parallel relationship can remain satisfied together with the nonparallel relationship of claim 6 and the variable guide angle of claim 7. Accordingly, claim 7 is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b).
Claim 14 recites “the guide member is inclined to form an acute angle relative to the first direction, and thus the inner surface of the guide member is not parallel to the swab coupling member” in lines 3-4. Claim 14 depends from claim 10 and therefore incorporates claim 10, which recites “the inner surface of the guide member is parallel to the pressing device” in lines 11-12, while also reciting that “the pressing device comprises: a swab coupling member; and a swab” in lines 6-8. It is unclear what geometric relationship is required because claim 10 requires the guide-member inner surface to be parallel to the pressing device, while claim 14 requires that same inner surface to be nonparallel to the swab coupling member forming part of the pressing device. The Instant Application at ¶[0069] describes the parallel arrangement by stating that inner surface 51i of guide member 51 is parallel to an outer surface of swab coupling member 11, whereas ¶[0112] describes the inclined arrangement as one in which guide member 51′ is not parallel to pressing device 1. For purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets “parallel to the pressing device” as requiring the guide-member inner surface to be parallel to the longitudinal pressing-side structure, including the swab coupling member. Under that working interpretation, the limitation added by claim 14 is inconsistent with the inherited parallel relationship. Because the claim language and specification do not establish another relationship that permits both requirements to be satisfied, claim 14 is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b).
Claim 20 recites “the guide member is inclined to form an acute angle relative to the first direction, and thus is not parallel to the swab coupling member” in lines 2-3. Claim 20 depends from claim 17 and therefore incorporates claim 17, which recites that the guide member “has a plate shape and extends in the first direction” and that “the inner surface of the guide member is parallel to the pressing device” in lines 18-19 and 20 respectively, while the pressing device includes the swab coupling member. The Instant Application at ¶[0069] describes the parallel arrangement by stating that guide member 51 is parallel to pressing device 1 and that inner surface 51i is parallel to an outer surface of swab coupling member 11. In contrast, ¶[0112]-[0113] describe the inclined and rotatable arrangement as one in which guide member 51′ is not parallel to pressing device 1. For purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets “parallel to the pressing device” as requiring the guide-member inner surface to be parallel to the longitudinal swab coupling member. Under that working interpretation, claim 20 requires the guide member to be nonparallel to the swab coupling member and therefore conflicts with the inherited parallel relationship. Accordingly, claim 20 is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b).
Claims 6, 7, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 6 depends from claim 1 and recites “the inner surface of the guide member is not parallel to the outer surface of the pressing device” in lines 4-5. Claim 1 recites “the inner surface of the guide member is parallel to the pressing device” in lines 8-9. Under the working interpretation set forth above and consistent with the disclosure at ¶[0069], the inherited parallel relationship includes the relationship between the guide-member inner surface and the longitudinal outer surface of the pressing device. Claim 6 replaces that inherited relationship with a nonparallel relationship. Accordingly, claim 6 does not include every limitation of claim 1 and is not a proper dependent claim under 35 U.S.C. § 112(d).
Claim 7 depends from claim 6 and therefore incorporates claim 1. Claim 1 recites “the inner surface of the guide member is parallel to the pressing device” in lines 8-9, while claim 7 recites that “the guide member is connected to the support body and rotates relative to the support body, and an acute angle formed between the guide member and the first direction is variable” in lines 4-5. Under the working interpretation set forth above, claim 7 inherits from claim 6 the nonparallel relationship that is inconsistent with the parallel relationship incorporated from claim 1. Claim 7 further requires the guide-member angle to be variable. Accordingly, claim 7, through its dependency from claim 6, does not retain every limitation incorporated from claim 1 and is not a proper dependent claim under 35 U.S.C. § 112(d).
Claim 14, which depends from claim 10, recites “the guide member is inclined to form an acute angle relative to the first direction, and thus the inner surface of the guide member is not parallel to the swab coupling member” in lines 3-4. Claim 10 recites “the inner surface of the guide member is parallel to the pressing device” in lines 11-12 and “the pressing device comprises: a swab coupling member; and a swab” in lines 6-8. Under the working interpretation set forth above and consistent with the disclosure at ¶[0069], the inherited parallel relationship includes the relationship between the guide-member inner surface and the longitudinal swab coupling member. Claim 14 replaces that inherited relationship with a nonparallel relationship. Accordingly, claim 14 does not include every limitation of claim 10 and is not a proper dependent claim under 35 U.S.C. § 112(d).
Claim 20, which depends from claim 17, recites “the guide member is inclined to form an acute angle relative to the first direction, and thus is not parallel to the swab coupling member” in 2-3. Claim 17 recites that the guide member “has a plate shape and extends in the first direction” and that “the inner surface of the guide member is parallel to the pressing device” in lines 18-19 and 20 respectively, while the pressing device includes the swab coupling member. Under the working interpretation set forth above and consistent with the disclosure at ¶[0069], the inherited parallel relationship includes the relationship between the guide-member inner surface and the longitudinal swab coupling member. Claim 20 replaces that inherited relationship with a nonparallel relationship. Accordingly, claim 20 does not include every limitation of claim 17 and is not a proper dependent claim under 35 U.S.C. § 112(d).
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-9, 17, 19, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rew et al. (WO 2022/080857 A1), hereinafter Rew (citations to Rew are to the English translation of record), in view of Benning (US 2011/0099738 A1), hereinafter Benning, and further in view of Demus et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,607,492), hereinafter Demus.
Regarding claim 1, Rew teaches a robot pressing mechanism (Rew, ¶[0028]: “The rod moving manipulator (320) can be configured as a robot arm, and the sample collection drive unit (330) can be configured as a Stewart Platform”, wherein Rew provides a robotically driven specimen collection mechanism).
Rew further teaches a pressing device extending in a first direction (Rew, ¶[0029]: “The swab (20) can be a medium for collecting a sample, for example, a cotton swab” and “the rod (20) advances outward from the collection hole (350) ... [and] enters the nasal cavity or throat of the subject”, wherein rod holding portion 12 together with rod 20 corresponds to the pressing device and extends along the insertion direction in which rod 20 is advanced into the nasal cavity, herein the first direction).
Rew further teaches a support device connected to the pressing device (Rew, ¶[0032]-[0033]: rod fixing device 100 includes “a body part (11) having a rod through hole (111) through which a rod (20) can pass” and “a rod holding part (12)”, wherein rod holding portion 12 is received in body part 11 and holds rod 20 in path 112, such that body part 11 corresponds to the support-side structure connected to the pressing-side rod holding portion 12 and rod 20).
Also, regarding claim 1, Rew does not expressly disclose the support device moving in the first direction relative to the pressing device. Rather, Rew teaches that path 112 “holds the rod (20) so that the rod (20) can slide a predetermined distance” (Rew, ¶[0033]), thereby providing relative mobility within rod fixing device 100. However, Rew does not expressly teach supporting rod holding portion 12 together with retained rod 20 for longitudinal movement relative to body part 11 such that the support-side structure moves in the first direction relative to that pressing-side assembly.
Rew further does not teach a flat spring configured to connect the pressing device to the support device, wherein the support device comprises a guide member that has a plate shape and extends in the first direction, the guide member has the inner surface coupled to the flat spring, and the inner surface of the guide member is parallel to the pressing device and is spaced apart from the pressing device in a direction crossing the first direction. Rather, Rew teaches elastic member 40 for applying elastic force to rod 20 through auxiliary device 50 (Rew, ¶[0036]). However, Rew does not teach that elastic member 40 is the recited flat spring or the recited plate-shaped guide and spring relationship.
Rew further does not teach wherein the flat spring comprises: a first plate coupled to the pressing device and extending from one end of a third plate in an opposite direction to the first direction; a second plate coupled to the inner surface of the guide member and extending from the other end of the third plate in the opposite direction to the first direction; and the third plate bent once and directly coupled to the first plate and the second plate to connect one end of the first plate and one end of the second plate.
Benning teaches a linear bearing in which center member assembly 14 is movable axially relative to fixed-position members associated with housing 37, with leaf springs 24 and 38 extending between the movable assembly and fixed-position members (Benning, Abstract; Figs. 1A-5; ¶[0005], [0016]-[0020]). Benning teaches that the leaf springs are made from “straight strip spring material” and that each spring is “bent 180° in its operative position”, wherein axial movement causes a portion of the spring to bend, the bent portion to roll along the spring, and another portion to relax (Benning, ¶[0017]-[0019]). Accordingly, Benning teaches a flat rolling leaf spring having a movable-side longitudinal portion, a support-side longitudinal portion, and a single approximately 180-degree bent portion directly joining the two longitudinal portions.
Benning further depicts oppositely facing rolling leaf springs at opposite ends of center member assembly 14 (Benning, Figs. 1A and 4; ¶[0019]-[0020]). Accordingly, a selected Benning spring may be installed with its bent portion facing one axial direction and its two longitudinal portions extending from the bend in the opposite axial direction.
Demus teaches a linear adjusting device having carrier body 2 provided with “four straight lined rails 11 with plate-like form” and adjusting body 1 “adjustable in linear direction along its longitudinal axis”, wherein the insides of rails 11 and outsides of adjusting body 1 form lay-down tracks 3 and 4 (Demus, Figs. 1-2; col. 5, l. 55-col. 6, l. 8). Demus further teaches that the U-legs of its bending springs lie against the respective lay-down tracks and that the “free longitudinal ends of the U-legs of strip-shaped bending springs 5 are fixed to lay-down tracks 3 and 4, respectively” (Demus, Fig. 1; col. 6, ll. 9-31). Thus, Demus teaches a plate-shaped support-side guide extending along the longitudinal movement direction, an inner guide surface parallel to and laterally spaced from the movable member, and spring attachment to the opposing movable-side and guide-side surfaces.
Benning and Demus are reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventors. The Instant Application describes connecting a support device to a pressing device for relative movement through a flat spring and explains that the elastic arrangement permits an automated robot to press a target while flexibly coping with unexpected movement of the target (Instant Application, ¶[0068]-[0072], [0105]-[0107]). The Instant Application further explains that the pressing mechanism is not limited to a swab and may be used with other pressing structures in medical, semiconductor, and other robotic applications (Instant Application, ¶[0067]). Benning addresses guided axial movement using rolling leaf springs, while Demus addresses accurate, low-friction guidance between relatively movable members, teaching adjustment “nearly without friction”, “great guiding accuracy”, and “very smooth adjusting movements” (Benning, ¶[0021], [0028]; Demus, col. 1, l. 67-col. 2, l. 10). Accordingly, Benning and Demus would logically have commended themselves to one of ordinary skill considering how to provide controlled, accurately guided relative movement between the pressing and support structures described by the inventors.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the separate-component embodiment of Rew in view of Benning and Demus by supporting rod holding portion 12, together with rod 20 retained therein in its loaded sample-collection position, for limited longitudinal movement relative to body part 11 using Benning's rolling leaf-spring linear bearing, and by providing Demus's plate-like longitudinal guide on the support side and fixing the opposite spring ends to the pressing-side and guide-side spring-supporting surfaces. Rew supplies rod 20 to rod fixing device 100, moves rod 20 along path 112 “to be fixed” for sample collection, and subsequently removes rod 20 (Rew, ¶[0030], [0048], [0051]). Benning provides guided axial movement with lateral stiffness, very little play, and substantially no friction, while Demus provides accurate longitudinal spring guidance (Benning, ¶[0021], [0028]; Demus, col. 5, ll. 1-34). As part of the proposed modification, detection part 30 would be retained on the support side associated with body part 11 and positioned downstream of the movable rod-side assembly. Rod 20 would remain retained by rod holding portion 12 with its downstream end positioned to load detection part 30, while elastic member 40 would act on rod 20 through elastic member auxiliary device 50. Accordingly, reaction force applied to rod 20 at the sample collection point would continue to be transmitted through rod 20 to the body-mounted detection part 30, while elastic member 40 and auxiliary device 50 provide the compliant axial relationship that permits the introduced displacement between rod holding portion 12 and body part 11 rather than rigidly fixing those structures together. Rew teaches that detection part 30 is positioned downstream of rod holding portion 12, may contact the downstream end of rod 20, and detects force applied to rod 20, while elastic member 40 applies elastic force to the rod through auxiliary device 50 (Rew, ¶[0034]-[0036]). Benning further shows that its rolling leaf-spring bearing may operate together with a separate spring acting between the movable assembly and housing (Benning, Fig. 4; ¶[0022]). Thus, the Benning and Demus structures provide guided low-friction relative movement, while Rew's elastic member 40 and auxiliary device 50 provide the compliant axial reaction through which rod 20 remains force-responsive to the support-side detection arrangement.
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make the modification because Rew detects force transmitted through rod 20 and stops further advancement when the force rapidly increases at the sample collection point in order to reduce pain to the subject, while Benning and Demus provide accurate guidance for relatively movable structures (Rew, ¶[0013], [0050]; Benning, ¶[0021], [0028]; Demus, col. 5, ll. 1-34). In the resulting arrangement, rod holding portion 12 together with retained rod 20 forms the pressing device, and body part 11 together with the incorporated plate-like guide forms the support device. The movable-side longitudinal portion of the Benning spring forms the first plate fixed to the outer pressing-side spring-supporting surface, the support-side longitudinal portion forms the second plate fixed to the inner surface of the plate-like guide, and the single rolling bend forms the third plate bent once and directly coupled to the first and second plates. The plate-like guide extends in the first direction with its inner surface parallel to and spaced from the pressing device in a direction crossing the first direction. By installing the selected Benning spring with its bend facing the insertion direction, the first and second plate portions extend from the bent third plate in the opposite direction to the first direction, and the support device is permitted to move in the first direction relative to the pressing device while the rolling flat spring elastically deforms.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Rew does not expressly teach wherein a width of the third plate is not constant. Rather, the Benning rolling leaf spring incorporated regarding claim 1 is not required to have a varying width through the curved portion corresponding to the third plate.
Benning further teaches spring 58 having “straight sides, with the width of the spring increasing from one end to the other” and teaches that “[v]arious spring response curves are possible by modifying the shape and/or varying the thickness of the leaf springs” (Benning, Fig. 10D; ¶[0023]). Thus, Benning teaches an increasing-width, straight-sided rolling leaf-spring configuration as one of the disclosed spring geometries for controlling spring response.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected Benning’s disclosed increasing-width spring 58 configuration for the Benning rolling leaf spring already incorporated into Rew regarding claim 1. Benning expressly identifies the spring shape as a design variable for obtaining different spring response curves (Benning, ¶[0023]). The modification would retain Benning’s same rolling leaf-spring bearing operation while using one of Benning’s disclosed spring profiles. Because the curved third-plate region is part of the continuous longitudinally tapered spring, the width through that curved region is not constant, as recited.
Regarding claim 3, the modified Rew does not teach wherein the width of the third plate increases in a direction from the first plate to the second plate. Rather, as modified regarding claim 2, Benning spring 58 has “the width of the spring increasing from one end to the other”, but the modification regarding claim 2 does not specify the orientation of that asymmetric profile relative to the first plate and the second plate (Benning, Fig. 10D; ¶[0023]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have oriented Benning’s increasing-width spring profile so that the width increases through the third plate from the first-plate side toward the second-plate side. Benning expressly teaches that “[v]arious spring response curves are possible by modifying the shape and/or varying the thickness of the leaf springs” (Benning, ¶[0023]), thereby identifying spring outline as a design parameter. Implementing Benning’s asymmetric increasing-width spring necessarily requires selecting its longitudinal orientation between the two spring attachment sides. Selecting the orientation with the narrower portion toward the first-plate side and the wider portion toward the second-plate side retains the same end attachments and approximately 180-degree rolling bend while providing the recited direction of width increase.
Regarding claim 6, the modified Rew teaches the first plate is coupled to the outer surface of the pressing device, and the second plate is coupled to the inner surface of the guide member. In the arrangement established regarding claim 1, the movable-side longitudinal portion of the Benning rolling leaf spring is coupled to the pressing-side surface corresponding to Demus lay-down track 3, while the support-side longitudinal portion is coupled to the inner surface of the plate-like guide corresponding to Demus lay-down track 4. Demus teaches that the “free longitudinal ends of the U-legs of strip-shaped bending springs 5 are fixed to lay-down tracks 3 and 4, respectively” (Demus, Fig. 1; col. 6, ll. 9-31).
Also, regarding claim 6, the modified Rew does not expressly teach wherein the inner surface of the guide member is not parallel to the outer surface of the pressing device, and the first plate is not parallel to the second plate. Rather, the arrangement incorporated regarding claim 1 uses opposing spring-supporting surfaces extending parallel to the longitudinal adjustment direction.
Demus further teaches that the lay-down tracks “need not to be straight and parallel ones to the adjusting path along it”, provided that the bending springs unrolling on the lay-down tracks remain perpendicular to the adjusting path (Demus, col. 5, ll. 1-20). Although Demus states that it is “more preferable” for the lay-down tracks to run parallel to the adjusting path, Demus expressly identifies a nonparallel track arrangement as an available configuration subject to the stated spring-orientation condition.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the guide-side spring-supporting surface of the modified Rew according to Demus's expressly disclosed nonparallel-track alternative while retaining the movable-side spring-supporting surface along the longitudinal pressing-side structure. In the resulting arrangement, the guide-side spring-supporting surface and second plate extend at the selected nonparallel angle, while the pressing-side spring-supporting surface and first plate retain their longitudinal orientation. Accordingly, the inner surface of the guide member is not parallel to the outer surface of the pressing device, and the first plate is not parallel to the second plate, as recited. Demus expressly teaches that its rolling-spring arrangement remains operative with a lay-down track that is not parallel to the adjusting path when the stated spring-orientation condition is maintained (Demus, col. 5, ll. 1-20). A person of ordinary skill therefore would have recognized the nonparallel guide-side track as a disclosed alternative for accommodating the spring-support geometry while retaining Demus's rolling guidance. For purposes of the alternative prior-art analysis, the Examiner interprets claim 6 in accordance with the inclined embodiment described at ¶[0112] as requiring the guide-member inner surface to be nonparallel to the outer surface of the pressing device and the corresponding first and second plate portions to be nonparallel. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 evaluates that nonparallel geometry while retaining the remaining claim 1 structure. The Examiner separately maintains the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 112(d) because claim 6, through its dependency from claim 1, also formally incorporates the inconsistent parallel relationship. The prior-art rejection does not depend upon the parallel and nonparallel relationships being simultaneously satisfied. Under that interpretation, the resulting arrangement provides the nonparallel surfaces and plate portions recited in claim 6.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Rew teaches wherein the first plate is fixed to the outer surface of the pressing device, and the second plate is fixed to the inner surface of the guide member. As established regarding claim 1, the movable-side longitudinal portion of Benning's rolling leaf spring corresponds to the first plate coupled to the pressing device, and the support-side longitudinal portion corresponds to the second plate coupled to the inner surface of the plate-like guide member. Demus expressly teaches the corresponding fixed spring-end relationship, wherein the “free longitudinal ends of the U-legs of strip-shaped bending springs 5 are fixed to lay-down tracks 3 and 4, respectively, along the whole strip width” (Demus, Fig. 1; col. 6, ll. 9-31). Accordingly, in the modification established regarding claim 1, the movable-side end of the Benning rolling leaf spring is fixed to the outer spring-coupling surface of the pressing device and the support-side end is fixed to the inner surface of the guide member, as recited.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Rew does not teach the guide member and the flat spring are each provided in plurality, and the plurality of guide members and the plurality of flat springs are equally spaced apart from each other around the pressing device. Rather, the modification established regarding claim 1 incorporates a plate-like guide according to Demus and a rolling flat spring according to Benning between the pressing device and support device, but does not provide a plurality of such guide members and flat springs around the pressing device.
Demus further teaches an embodiment having “four straight lined rails 11 with plate-like form” arranged around adjusting body 1, wherein the rails are “arranged symmetrically to each other along the sides of a square” and adjusting body 1 is positioned in the middle between the rails (Demus, Figs. 1-2; col. 5, l. 55-col. 6, l. 8). Demus further teaches that the bending springs are arranged in a plurality of groups around adjusting body 1, including four groups positioned at the respective sides of the adjusting body (Demus, col. 3, ll. 30-48; claims 2-3). Thus, Demus teaches providing a plurality of spring-supporting guide arrangements symmetrically distributed around the movable member.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Rew in view of Demus by providing the plate-like guide and Benning rolling flat-spring arrangement incorporated regarding claim 1 at a plurality of circumferential positions around the pressing device according to Demus's disclosed four-sided arrangement. Demus teaches arranging the spring groups around the adjusting body to increase torsional rigidity and provide stable guidance, and further teaches a symmetrical four-sided arrangement in which the spring groups cooperate in supporting and guiding the adjusting body (Demus, col. 3, ll. 30-48). One of ordinary skill therefore would have been motivated to distribute the previously incorporated guide-and-spring arrangements symmetrically around Rew's pressing-side assembly to provide increased torsional rigidity and stable circumferential guidance during the relative axial movement established regarding claim 1. The resulting arrangement provides a plurality of plate-like guide members and a corresponding plurality of Benning rolling flat springs equally spaced around the pressing device, as recited.
Regarding claim 17, Rew teaches a nasopharyngeal swab sampling method comprising: aligning a swab of a robot pressing mechanism in front of the nasal cavity of the human body (Rew, ¶[0047]-[0049]: nose fixation device 200 is positioned at the subject’s nose, rod 20 is supplied to rod fixing device 100, and sample collection drive unit 330 is driven to “proceed to the nose fixing device (200) attached to the nose of the subject”, wherein rod 20 corresponds to the swab positioned for insertion into the nasal cavity).
Rew further teaches moving the swab, which is aligned in front of the nasal cavity, in a first direction to insert the swab into the nasal cavity (Rew, ¶[0050]: “By driving the sample collection drive unit (330), the rod (20) ... advances to the nasal cavity of the subject”, wherein the direction in which rod 20 advances into the nasal cavity corresponds to the first direction).
Rew further teaches pressing the human body by using the swab in a state in which the swab is inserted into the nasal cavity (Rew, ¶[0050]: “when the upstream end of the rod (20) reaches the sample collection point, the pressure or force increases rapidly”, wherein rod 20 contacts and applies force to the sample collection site after insertion).
Rew further teaches wherein the robot pressing mechanism comprises: a pressing device extending in the first direction and including a swab coupling member which extends in the first direction and to which the swab is fixed (Rew, ¶[0032]-[0033], [0048]: rod fixing device 100 includes “a rod holding part (12)” having path 112 that holds rod 20, and rod 20 “moves along the path (112) of the rod holding part (12) to be fixed”, wherein rod holding portion 12 corresponds to the swab coupling member and rod holding portion 12 together with retained rod 20 corresponds to the pressing device extending in the first direction).
Rew further teaches a support device (Rew, ¶[0032]-[0033]: rod fixing device 100 includes “a body part (11) having a rod through hole (111) through which a rod (20) can pass” and “a rod holding part (12)”, wherein body part 11 corresponds to the support-side structure associated with rod holding portion 12).
Also, regarding claim 17, Rew does not expressly disclose a support device that moves in the first direction relative to the swab coupling member. Rather, Rew teaches that path 112 “holds the rod (20) so that the rod (20) can slide a predetermined distance” (Rew, ¶[0033]), thereby providing relative mobility within rod fixing device 100. However, Rew does not expressly teach supporting rod holding portion 12 together with retained rod 20 for axial movement relative to body part 11 such that body part 11 moves in the first direction relative to rod holding portion 12.
Rew further does not teach a flat spring configured to connect the swab coupling member to the support device, wherein the pressing of the human body by using the swab comprises: moving the support device in the first direction; and elastically deforming the flat spring by using the support device that moves in the first direction, wherein the support device further comprises a guide member that has a plate shape and extends in the first direction, the guide member has the inner surface coupled to the flat spring, and the inner surface of the guide member is parallel to the pressing device and is spaced apart from the swab coupling member in a direction crossing the first direction. Rather, Rew teaches elastic member 40 for applying elastic force to rod 20 through auxiliary device 50 (Rew, ¶[0036]). However, Rew does not teach that elastic member 40 is the recited flat spring or the recited plate-shaped guide and spring relationship, or that pressing is performed by relative support-side movement that elastically deforms such a flat spring.
Rew further does not teach wherein the flat spring comprises: a first plate that has one end fixed to the swab coupling member and extends from one end of a third plate in an opposite direction to the first direction; a second plate that has one end fixed to the inner surface of the guide member and extends from the other end of the third plate in the opposite direction to the first direction; and the third plate that has a curved shape and is bent once and directly connected to the other end of the first plate and the other end of the second plate.
Benning teaches a linear bearing in which center member assembly 14 is movable axially relative to fixed-position members associated with housing 37 using rolling leaf springs extending between the movable assembly and fixed support-side members (Benning, Abstract; Figs. 1A-5; ¶[0005], [0016]-[0020]). Benning teaches that the leaf springs are made from “straight strip spring material” and are “bent 180° in [their] operative position”, wherein axial movement causes a portion of the spring to bend, the bent region to roll, and another portion to relax (Benning, ¶[0017]-[0019]). Benning further depicts oppositely facing rolling leaf springs, thereby teaching a selected spring orientation in which the curved bend faces one axial direction while both longitudinal portions extend from the bend in the opposite axial direction (Benning, Figs. 1A and 4; ¶[0019]-[0020]).
Demus teaches carrier body 2 provided with “four straight lined rails 11 with plate-like form” surrounding adjusting body 1, which is “adjustable in linear direction along its longitudinal axis” (Demus, Figs. 1-2; col. 5, l. 55-col. 6, l. 8). Demus further teaches that the “free longitudinal ends of the U-legs of strip-shaped bending springs 5 are fixed to lay-down tracks 3 and 4, respectively” (Demus, Fig. 1; col. 6, ll. 9-31). Accordingly, Demus teaches a support-side guide spaced laterally from a longitudinally movable member and fixed spring-end attachment to the movable-side and guide-side structures.
Benning and Demus are reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventors. The Instant Application explains that the support device moves relative to the pressing device through elastic deformation of a flat spring and that, during pressing, this arrangement allows the robot to cope flexibly with unexpected movement of the target (Instant Application, ¶[0068]-[0072], [0105]-[0107]). Benning provides rolling leaf-spring guidance for axial movement, while Demus teaches adjustment “nearly without friction”, “great guiding accuracy”, and “very smooth adjusting movements” using spring-supported longitudinal guidance (Benning, ¶[0021], [0028]; Demus, col. 1, l. 67-col. 2, l. 10). Accordingly, Benning and Demus would logically have commended themselves to one of ordinary skill considering how to provide accurately guided relative movement between the pressing and support structures described by the inventors.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rew's separate-component rod fixing device 100 in view of Benning and Demus by supporting rod holding portion 12 together with rod 20 retained therein in its loaded sample-collection position for limited longitudinal movement relative to body portion 11 using Benning's rolling leaf-spring linear bearing, and by providing Demus's plate-like longitudinal guide and fixed spring-end arrangement between the swab-coupling and support-side structures. Rew loads rod 20 into rod holding portion 12 “to be fixed” for sample collection and later removes it (Rew, ¶[0048], [0051]). Benning and Demus provide low-friction, accurately guided relative axial movement (Benning, ¶[0021], [0028]; Demus, col. 5, ll. 1-34). As part of the proposed modification, detection part 30 would be retained on the support side associated with body portion 11 and positioned downstream of the moving rod-side assembly, while elastic member 40 and auxiliary device 50 would remain arranged to apply elastic force to rod 20. Rew expressly teaches that detection part 30 may contact the downstream end of rod 20 and detect force applied to rod 20, while elastic member 40 applies elastic force to rod 20 through auxiliary device 50 (Rew, ¶[0034]-[0036]). Accordingly, the introduced movement of rod holding portion 12 relative to body portion 11 would be accommodated by the elastic arrangement while retaining the downstream force-transmitting relationship between rod 20 and detection part 30. In the resulting arrangement, rod holding portion 12 corresponds to the swab coupling member, body portion 11 and the incorporated plate-like guide correspond to the support device, the movable-side longitudinal portion of the Benning spring forms the first plate, the support-side longitudinal portion forms the second plate coupled to the inner surface of the plate-like guide, and the approximately 180° rolling portion forms the curved third plate bent once and directly connected to the first and second plates. The guide has a plate shape and extends in the first direction with its inner surface coupled to the flat spring, parallel to the pressing device, and spaced from the swab coupling member in a direction crossing the first direction. The selected Benning spring is oriented with the curved bend toward the insertion direction so that the first and second longitudinal portions extend from the respective ends of the curved third plate in the opposite direction to the first direction. During pressing, sample collection drive unit 330 advances the support-side body toward the sample collection point. Once the swab encounters tissue resistance, the rod-side assembly is opposed by the tissue while elastic member 40 acting between the support side and rod side deforms, permitting body portion 11 to continue its limited movement in the first direction relative to rod holding portion 12. That relative displacement rolls and elastically deforms the connecting Benning flat spring. Thus, the support device moves in the first direction relative to the swab coupling member and the flat spring is elastically deformed by that support-side movement. During that relative movement, force applied to rod 20 remains transmitted from the downstream end of rod 20 to support-side detection part 30, and Rew's control unit stops further advancement when the detected force rapidly increases (Rew, ¶[0034]-[0036], [0050]).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Rew does not expressly teach wherein the width of the third plate is not constant. Rather, the Benning rolling flat spring incorporated regarding claim 17 is not required to have a varying width through the curved rolling portion corresponding to the third plate.
Benning further teaches spring 58 having “straight sides, with the width of the spring increasing from one end to the other” and further teaches that “[v]arious spring response curves are possible by modifying the shape and/or varying the thickness of the leaf springs” (Benning, Fig. 10D; ¶[0023]). Thus, Benning teaches a rolling leaf spring having a nonconstant longitudinal width profile.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Rew by selecting Benning's disclosed increasing-width spring 58 configuration for the rolling flat spring incorporated regarding claim 17. Benning expressly identifies spring shape as a design variable for obtaining different spring response curves (Benning, ¶[0023]). A person of ordinary skill therefore would have been motivated to select Benning's disclosed increasing-width spring configuration to obtain a desired spring-response characteristic while retaining the same rolling leaf-spring operation. Because the curved rolling portion corresponding to the third plate forms part of the continuous increasing-width spring, the width of the third plate is not constant, as recited.
Regarding claim 22, the modified Rew does not expressly teach wherein the support device has a pressing device through-hole sufficient to pass the pressing device therethrough in the first direction. Rew teaches body part 11 having “a rod through hole (111) through which a rod (20) can pass” and teaches that rod holding portion 12 “can be inserted into the body portion (11)” (Rew, ¶[0032]-[0033]). Those disclosures establish passage of rod 20 and receipt of rod holding portion 12, but do not by themselves establish an opening sufficient for the entire pressing device, mapped to rod holding portion 12 together with retained rod 20, to move through body part 11.
Demus teaches carrier body 2 supporting four plate-like rails 11 around adjusting body 1, wherein “[i]n the middle between rails 11, an adjusting body 1” is arranged and is “adjustable in linear direction along its longitudinal axis” (Demus, Figs. 1-2; col. 5, l. 55-col. 6, l. 8). Thus, Demus teaches a longitudinally movable central member received within a surrounding carrier-side guide structure with clearance for movement along the adjustment direction.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further configured Rew's body part 11 and the incorporated Demus carrier-side guide structure with a central longitudinal opening providing clearance sufficient for rod holding portion 12 together with retained rod 20 to translate through the support-side structure. The claim 1 modification already supports rod holding portion 12 and retained rod 20 for longitudinal movement relative to body part 11, and Demus teaches accommodating a longitudinally movable central body within surrounding carrier-side rails. Providing the corresponding clearance would prevent interference with the relative travel introduced by the Benning bearing while retaining Demus's surrounding guidance. In the resulting arrangement, the support device has a pressing-device through-hole sufficient for the pressing device to pass therethrough in the first direction, as recited.
Claims 4, 10-15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rew et al. (WO 2022/080857 A1), hereinafter Rew (citations to Rew are to the English translation of record), in view of Benning (US 2011/0099738 A1), hereinafter Benning, further in view of Demus et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,607,492), hereinafter Demus, and further in view of van der Tas (van der Tas, S.G., Weight Compensation for the NANOMEFOS, DCT 2007.060, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven (2007)), hereinafter van der Tas.
The modified Rew teaches the limitations of claim 3 as discussed above.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Rew teaches wherein the third plate has a trapezoidal shape so that the width of the third plate increases constantly in the direction from the first plate to the second plate. As discussed regarding claims 2 and 3, Benning teaches spring 58 having “straight sides, with the width of the spring increasing from one end to the other” (Benning, Fig. 10D; ¶[0023]), and the increasing-width profile is oriented so that the width increases from the first-plate side toward the second-plate side. The straight-sided increasing-width profile provides a trapezoidal shape having a constant rate of width increase.
The modified Rew further teaches wherein the third plate has a U-shaped structure bent about 180 degrees. Benning teaches that each rolling leaf spring is made from “straight strip spring material” and is “bent 180° in its operative position”, wherein axial movement causes one spring region to bend, the bent region to roll along the spring, and another region to relax (Benning, ¶[0017]-[0019]). The approximately 180-degree curved rolling portion corresponds to the third plate as established regarding claim 1.
However, the modified Rew does not teach so as to make the flat spring generate a constant elastic restoring force regardless of a bent position of the third plate. Benning teaches that “[v]arious spring response curves are possible by modifying the shape and/or varying the thickness of the leaf springs” (Benning, ¶[0023]), but does not teach that its individual increasing-width rolling leaf spring is configured to generate a positive constant elastic restoring force as the position of the approximately 180-degree bent region changes. Benning's separate teaching that its opposed double-ended bearing has “substantially Zero spring rate” concerns the net response of the complete bearing system and is not relied upon as teaching the claimed restoring force of an individual flat spring (Benning, ¶[0021], [0028]).
van der Tas teaches a constant-force arrangement using trapezium-shaped leaf springs. van der Tas teaches that “[t]wo trapezium shaped leaf springs are bent towards each other”, that “[a]t point A a force is created which is constant over a certain distance due to the angle α”, and that “[w]hen point A is moved downwards more material must be bent and more energy will be stored in the material” (van der Tas, Appendix A.1, p. 14, Fig. A.1). van der Tas defines the resulting spring force as Fspring = πEt³α/(12r) and the increasing spring width according to b = b0 + αx (van der Tas, Appendix A.1, pp. 14-15), thereby teaching a linearly tapered leaf-spring arrangement configured to maintain constant force as progressively different portions of the spring are bent during movement.
van der Tas is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventors. The Instant Application identifies maintaining a constant elastic restoring force irrespective of the deformation position of the bent third plate as a means for pressing a target at uniform force and avoiding damage (Instant Application, ¶[0084], [0098], [0107]). van der Tas addresses the same type of spring-design problem by configuring a progressively bending tapered leaf spring to produce a constant force over a required displacement and identifies simplicity, cost, and the absence of external energy sources as advantages of the spring construction (van der Tas, p. 6; Appendix A.1, pp. 14-15). Although van der Tas concludes that the calculated leaf-spring forces are insufficient for its particular 750 N weight-compensation requirement and available space, that application-specific force limitation does not criticize use of the disclosed tapered-spring relationship for a lower-force constant-force application (van der Tas, pp. 13, 15).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Rew in view of van der Tas by configuring Benning's already trapezoidal, increasing-width rolling leaf spring according to the constant-force tapered-spring relationship taught by van der Tas. Rew is concerned with controlling the force applied through rod 20 and stopping advancement when the detected force rapidly increases at the sample collection point in order to reduce pain to the subject (Rew, ¶[0013], [0050]). Benning expressly identifies spring shape as a design variable for obtaining different spring response curves, while van der Tas teaches the particular longitudinal taper relationship for maintaining constant force as progressively more spring material is bent (Benning, ¶[0023]; van der Tas, Appendix A.1, pp. 14-15). The mechanical relationship is compatible because Benning's rolling operation causes the approximately 180° bent region to migrate along successive longitudinal locations of the leaf spring, while van der Tas defines spring width as a function of longitudinal position, b = b₀ + αx, so that successive portions entering the bend have the width relationship selected for the constant-force response. van der Tas further relates taper angle, spring thickness, bend radius, and resulting force, providing a reasonable expectation that the width profile could be configured for Benning's rolling bend while retaining the same spring-end attachments and rolling operation (van der Tas, Appendix A.1, pp. 14-15). One of ordinary skill therefore would have been motivated to use van der Tas's constant-force taper in Benning's rolling spring to provide the claimed constant elastic restoring force during the compliant movement established regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Rew teaches a nasopharyngeal swab sampling apparatus comprising: a pressing device (Rew, ¶[0005]: “The present invention aims to provide a device capable of automatically collecting specimens without medical personnel” and “can be usefully used in robotic specimen collection devices”; ¶[0029]: “The swab (20) can be a medium for collecting a sample, for example, a cotton swab” and “the rod (20) advances outward from the collection hole (350) ... [and] enters the nasal cavity or throat of the subject”, wherein rod holding portion 12 together with rod 20 corresponds to the pressing device).
Rew further teaches wherein the pressing device comprises: a swab coupling member; and a swab which is coupled to the swab coupling member and extends from the swab coupling member in the first direction (Rew, ¶[0032]-[0033]: rod fixing device 100 includes “a rod holding part (12)” having path 112 that “holds the rod (20)”; ¶[0029]: “the rod (20) advances outward from the collection hole (350) ... [and] enters the nasal cavity or throat of the subject”, wherein rod holding portion 12 corresponds to the swab coupling member and rod 20 corresponds to the swab extending from rod holding portion 12 in the insertion direction, herein the first direction).
Rew further teaches a support device associated with the pressing device (Rew, ¶[0032]-[0033]: rod fixing device 100 includes “a body part (11) having a rod through hole (111) through which a rod (20) can pass” and “a rod holding part (12)”, wherein body portion 11 receives rod holding portion 12 and corresponds to the support-side structure).
Also, regarding claim 10, Rew does not expressly teach the support device that moves in a first direction relative to the pressing device; and a flat spring that has one end fixed to the pressing device and the other end fixed to the support device, wherein the support device comprises a guide member that has a plate shape and extends in the first direction, the guide member has the inner surface coupled to the flat spring, and the inner surface of the guide member is parallel to the pressing device and is spaced apart from the swab coupling member in a direction crossing the first direction, and wherein the flat spring is coupled to the pressing device and the support device and includes a first plate, a second plate, and a third plate, the first plate extending from one end of the third plate in an opposite direction to the first direction, the second plate extending from the other end of the third plate in the opposite direction to the first direction, and the third plate bent once and directly coupled to the first plate and the second plate. Rather, Rew teaches that rod holding portion 12 is inserted into body portion 11 and that path 112 “holds the rod (20) so that the rod (20) can slide a predetermined distance”, and further teaches elastic member 40 for applying elastic force to rod 20 through auxiliary device 50 (Rew, Fig. 4; ¶[0033], [0036]). Rew further teaches that rod 20 moves along path 112 of rod holding portion 12 “to be fixed” before sample collection is performed (Rew, ¶[0048]). However, Rew does not expressly teach supporting rod holding portion 12 together with retained rod 20 for longitudinal movement relative to body portion 11 by the recited rolling flat-spring and plate-shaped guide arrangement.
Benning teaches a linear bearing having center member assembly 14 movable axially relative to fixed-position members associated with housing 37, with leaf springs extending between the relatively movable structures (Benning, Figs. 1A-5; ¶[0016]-[0020]). Benning teaches that the leaf springs are formed from “straight strip spring material” and that each spring is “bent 180° in its operative position”, wherein movement of center member assembly 14 causes one portion of the spring to bend, another portion to roll, and another portion to relax (Benning, ¶[0017]-[0019]). Accordingly, Benning teaches a rolling flat spring having a first longitudinal plate portion coupled to one of the relatively movable structures, a second longitudinal plate portion coupled to the other structure, and a single approximately 180° rolling bent portion directly joining the first and second longitudinal portions. Benning further depicts oppositely facing rolling springs, thereby permitting selection of a spring orientation in which the bent portion faces one axial direction and both longitudinal portions extend from the bent portion in the opposite axial direction (Benning, Figs. 1A and 4; ¶[0019]-[0020]).
Demus teaches a linear adjusting device having carrier body 2 provided with “four straight lined rails 11 with plate-like form” surrounding adjusting body 1, wherein adjusting body 1 is movable along its longitudinal axis and the inner surfaces of rails 11 and outer surfaces of adjusting body 1 form lay-down tracks extending along the longitudinal direction (Demus, Figs. 1-2; col. 5, l. 55-col. 6, l. 8). Demus further teaches that the U-legs of the bending springs lie along the respective tracks and that the “free longitudinal ends of the U-legs of strip-shaped bending springs 5 are fixed to lay-down tracks 3 and 4, respectively, along the whole strip width” (Demus, Fig. 1; col. 6, ll. 9-31). Thus, Demus teaches a plate-shaped support-side guide extending along the direction of relative movement, having an inner spring-supporting surface parallel to and laterally spaced from the movable structure, and teaches fixing the respective spring ends to the movable-side and support-side structures.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rew's separate-component rod fixing device 100 in view of Benning and Demus by supporting rod holding portion 12 together with rod 20 retained therein in its loaded sample-collection position for limited longitudinal movement relative to body portion 11 using Benning's rolling leaf-spring linear bearing, and by providing the support-side spring attachment with Demus's plate-like longitudinal guide and fixed spring-end arrangement. The Instant Application identifies relative spring-supported movement between a pressing device and support device as a way to press a target while coping with unexpected target movement (Instant Application, ¶[0068]-[0072], [0105]-[0107]). Benning and Demus are reasonably pertinent to that problem because they teach low-friction, accurately guided movement between relatively movable structures (Benning, ¶[0021], [0028]; Demus, col. 5, ll. 1-34). As part of the proposed modification, detection part 30 would be retained on the support side associated with body portion 11 and positioned downstream of the moving rod-side assembly, while elastic member 40 and auxiliary device 50 would remain arranged to apply elastic force to rod 20. Thus, as rod holding portion 12 together with retained rod 20 moves relative to body portion 11, the elastic member accommodates that relative displacement while the downstream end of rod 20 remains positioned to transmit the applied axial force to detection part 30. Rew expressly teaches that detection part 30 is positioned downstream of rod holding portion 12, may contact the downstream end of rod 20, and detects force applied to rod 20, while elastic member 40 applies elastic force to rod 20 through auxiliary device 50 (Rew, ¶[0034]-[0036]). Benning further shows its rolling bearing operating with a separate spring between the movable assembly and housing (Benning, Fig. 4; ¶[0022]). Thus, the added rolling bearing and Demus guide provide guided relative movement, while Rew's elastic member 40 and auxiliary device 50 accommodate the relative axial displacement and the downstream relationship between rod 20 and detection part 30 preserves detection of force applied through rod 20. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use these known guiding structures to provide accurately guided, low-friction relative axial movement while retaining Rew's force-responsive specimen-collection operation (Rew, ¶[0013], [0050]). The modification retains rod holding portion 12 and retained rod 20 as the pressing-side structure and body portion 11 as the support-side structure, with the movable-side longitudinal portion of Benning's rolling spring forming the first plate, the support-side longitudinal portion forming the second plate coupled to the inner surface of Demus's plate-like guide, and the approximately 180° rolling portion forming the third plate. Selecting the Benning spring orientation having the bend facing the insertion direction results in the first and second plate portions extending from the third plate in the opposite direction to the first direction.
Also, regarding claim 10, the modified Rew does not teach so as to make the flat spring generate a constant elastic restoring force regardless of a bent position of the third plate. Benning teaches that the approximately 180° bent region moves along the rolling leaf spring during axial displacement and teaches that different spring response curves may be obtained by modifying spring shape, but does not teach that an individual rolling leaf spring is configured to maintain a positive constant restoring force as the bent position changes (Benning, ¶[0019]-[0023]). Benning's substantially zero spring-rate teaching concerns the net response of its opposed double-ended bearing system and is not relied upon as teaching the claimed restoring force of an individual flat spring (Benning, ¶[0021], [0028]).
Benning further teaches spring 58 having “straight sides, with the width of the spring increasing from one end to the other” and teaches that “[v]arious spring response curves are possible by modifying the shape and/or varying the thickness of the leaf springs” (Benning, Fig. 10D; ¶[0023]). Thus, Benning teaches an increasing-width, straight-sided rolling leaf-spring configuration as one of its disclosed spring geometries for obtaining a selected spring response.
van der Tas teaches a progressively bending leaf-spring arrangement configured to produce constant force over displacement. Specifically, van der Tas teaches that “[t]wo trapezium shaped leaf springs are bent towards each other”, that “[a]t point A a force is created which is constant over a certain distance due to the angle α”, and that “[w]hen point A is moved downwards more material must be bent and more energy will be stored in the material” (van der Tas, Appendix A.1, p. 14, Fig. A.1). van der Tas further defines the increasing spring width according to b = b₀ + αx and the corresponding spring force according to Fspring = πEt³α/(12r) (van der Tas, Appendix A.1, pp. 14-15). Thus, van der Tas teaches configuring the longitudinal taper of a progressively bending leaf spring so that the generated force remains constant as progressively different portions of the spring become bent.
van der Tas is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventors. The Instant Application explains that a trapezoidal flat spring may generate a constant elastic restoring force irrespective of the bent position and thereby press a target at constant force (Instant Application, ¶[0084], [0098], [0107]). van der Tas addresses that same spring-design problem by teaching a progressively bending tapered leaf spring configured to produce constant force over displacement (van der Tas, p. 6; Appendix A.1, pp. 14-15). Accordingly, van der Tas would logically have commended itself to one of ordinary skill considering how to configure the claimed flat spring so that the restoring force remains constant as the bent position changes.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Rew by selecting Benning's disclosed increasing-width spring 58 configuration and configuring its longitudinal width profile according to van der Tas's constant-force taper relationship. Benning identifies spring shape as a design variable for obtaining different response curves, and Rew controls advancement in response to force applied through rod 20 (Benning, ¶[0023]; Rew, ¶[0013], [0050]). Benning's rolling operation causes the approximately 180° bent region to migrate along successive longitudinal locations of the spring, while van der Tas defines width as a function of longitudinal position, b = b₀ + αx, and relates the taper angle, spring thickness, bend radius, and force. Applying that relationship along Benning's spring therefore provides successive spring portions entering the rolling bend with the width profile selected to maintain the constant-force response as the bent position changes (van der Tas, Appendix A.1, pp. 14-15). The modification changes the spring width profile without changing Benning's spring-end attachments or approximately 180° rolling-bend operation, providing a reasonable expectation of retaining the rolling bearing while producing the claimed constant elastic restoring force.
Regarding claim 11, the modified Rew teaches wherein a width of the third plate is not constant. The Benning spring 58 increasing-width profile previously incorporated regarding claim 10 supplies a longitudinally varying width through the rolling leaf spring (Benning, Fig. 10D; ¶[0023]). Because the approximately 180° rolling portion corresponding to the third plate traverses that varying-width spring, the width of the third plate is not constant, as recited.
Regarding claim 12, the modified Rew teaches wherein the width of the third plate increases in a direction from the one end to the other end. As established regarding claim 10, Benning's spring 58 configuration is incorporated into the rolling flat spring, wherein Benning teaches spring 58 having “straight sides, with the width of the spring increasing from one end to the other” (Benning, Fig. 10D; ¶[0023]). Because the rolling portion corresponding to the third plate forms part of this increasing-width spring, the width of the third plate increases in a direction from the one end to the other end, as recited.
Regarding claim 13, the modified Rew teaches wherein the third plate has a trapezoidal shape, and thus the width of the third plate increases constantly in the direction from the one end to the other end. As established regarding claims 10-12, Benning's spring 58 configuration is incorporated into the rolling flat spring, and Benning teaches spring 58 having “straight sides, with the width of the spring increasing from one end to the other” (Benning, Fig. 10D; ¶[0023]). The straight-sided increasing-width profile forms a trapezoidal shape and provides a constant rate of width increase from the one end of the third plate toward the other end, as recited.
Regarding claim 14, the modified Rew does not expressly teach wherein the guide member is inclined to form an acute angle relative to the first direction, and thus the inner surface of the guide member is not parallel to the swab coupling member. Rather, the claim 10 arrangement uses a plate-like guide extending generally with the longitudinal movement direction and a rolling spring configured for the constant-force response established above. Claim 14 further requires a particular angular relationship between that guide and the first-direction reference and specifically between the guide inner surface and the swab coupling member.
Demus further teaches that the lay-down tracks “need not to be straight and parallel ones to the adjusting path along it”, provided that the bending springs unrolling on the lay-down tracks maintain the required orientation relative to the adjusting path (Demus, col. 5, ll. 1-20). Although Demus identifies the parallel arrangement as more preferable, Demus therefore teaches that the spring-supporting guide surface may be arranged nonparallel to the longitudinal adjustment direction.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Rew by arranging Demus's plate-like guide according to Demus's disclosed nonparallel-track alternative at a selected fixed acute angle relative to the first direction. Demus expressly teaches that its spring-supported guidance remains operative when the lay-down track is not parallel to the adjustment path, provided that the disclosed spring-orientation condition is maintained (Demus, col. 5, ll. 1-20). A person of ordinary skill therefore would have recognized a fixed inclined guide as an available spring-support geometry.
Because claim 14 depends from claim 10, the inclined arrangement must also retain the constant elastic restoring force as the bent position of the third plate changes. Inclining the guide may change the bend radius encountered by successive portions of the rolling spring and therefore the constant-force configuration established regarding claim 10 cannot merely be assumed to remain unchanged. However, Benning expressly teaches that different spring response curves may be obtained by modifying the spring shape and/or varying its thickness (Benning, ¶[0023]), and van der Tas teaches that the spring force is related to spring thickness, taper angle, and bend radius according to Fspring = πEt³α/(12r) (van der Tas, Appendix A.1, pp. 14-15). For the selected fixed inclined geometry, the change in bend radius over the operating displacement is a predetermined geometric condition. One of ordinary skill therefore would have been able to vary the thickness of successive longitudinal portions of the Benning spring so that the t³/r relationship compensates for the change in bend radius as the bent region progresses along the spring, while retaining the taper relationship established regarding claim 10. Benning expressly identifies spring thickness as a design variable for controlling spring response, and van der Tas provides the relationship among thickness, bend radius, taper angle, and resulting force. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of maintaining the constant elastic restoring force required by claim 10 while using Demus's selected fixed inclined guide geometry.
For purposes of the alternative prior-art analysis, the Examiner interprets claim 14 in accordance with the inclined embodiment described at ¶[0112] as requiring the guide member to be inclined at an acute angle relative to the first direction and its inner surface to be nonparallel to the swab coupling member. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 evaluates that inclined geometry while retaining the remaining claim 10 limitations, including the constant-force limitation discussed above. The Examiner separately maintains the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 112(d) because claim 14, through its dependency from claim 10, also formally incorporates the inconsistent parallel relationship. The prior-art rejection does not depend upon the parallel and nonparallel relationships being simultaneously satisfied.
Regarding claim 15, the modified Rew teaches further comprising a driving device which is coupled to the support device and moves the support device (Rew, ¶[0026]: “the rod fixing device (100) moves according to the operation of the sample collection drive unit (330)”, wherein, as established regarding claim 10, body part 11 together with the incorporated plate-like guide forms the support device carried as part of rod fixing device 100, such that sample collection drive unit 330 corresponds to the driving device coupled to and moving the support device; see also Rew, ¶[0029]: “The rod fixing device (100) is maintained in the sample collection drive unit (330) and moves to a point where sample collection is possible according to the operation of the sample collection drive unit (330)”).
Regarding claim 21, the modified Rew teaches wherein the third plate has a U-shaped structure bent about 180 degrees. Benning teaches that each rolling leaf spring is formed from “straight strip spring material” and is “bent 180° in its operative position”, wherein axial movement causes a portion of the spring to bend, the bent portion to roll along the spring, and another portion to relax (Benning, ¶[0017]-[0019]). The approximately 180° curved rolling portion corresponds to the third plate as established regarding claim 17.
However, the modified Rew does not teach so as to make the flat spring generate a constant elastic restoring force regardless of a bent position of the third plate. Rather, Benning teaches movement of the approximately 180° bent region along the rolling leaf spring as the relatively movable structures move, but does not teach that the rolling flat spring is configured to generate a constant elastic restoring force as the position of that bent region changes.
Benning further teaches spring 58 having “straight sides, with the width of the spring increasing from one end to the other” and teaches that “[v]arious spring response curves are possible by modifying the shape and/or varying the thickness of the leaf springs” (Benning, Fig. 10D; ¶[0023]). Thus, Benning teaches an increasing-width rolling leaf-spring configuration as one of its disclosed spring geometries for obtaining a selected spring response.
van der Tas teaches a progressively bending leaf-spring arrangement configured to provide constant force over displacement. Specifically, van der Tas teaches that “[t]wo trapezium shaped leaf springs are bent towards each other”, that “[a]t point A a force is created which is constant over a certain distance due to the angle α”, and that “[w]hen point A is moved downwards more material must be bent and more energy will be stored in the material” (van der Tas, Appendix A.1, p. 14, Fig. A.1). van der Tas further defines the increasing spring width according to b = b₀ + αx and the corresponding spring force according to Fspring = πEt³α/(12r) (van der Tas, Appendix A.1, pp. 14-15). Thus, van der Tas teaches configuring a progressively bending tapered leaf spring so that the generated force remains constant as progressively different portions of the spring become bent.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Rew by selecting Benning's increasing-width spring 58 configuration for the rolling flat spring incorporated regarding claim 17 and configuring that longitudinal width profile according to the constant-force tapered-spring relationship taught by van der Tas. Benning identifies spring shape as a design variable for obtaining different spring response curves, while van der Tas teaches the particular taper relationship for maintaining constant force as progressively different portions of a leaf spring become bent (Benning, ¶[0023]; van der Tas, Appendix A.1, pp. 14-15). The teachings are mechanically compatible because Benning's approximately 180° rolling bend migrates along successive longitudinal locations of the spring during relative movement, while van der Tas defines the spring width as a function of longitudinal position, b = b₀ + αx. Applying van der Tas's relationship along Benning's spring provides the successive portions entering the rolling bend with the width profile selected for the constant-force response, and van der Tas's relationship among taper angle, thickness, bend radius, and force provides a reasonable expectation of configuring the spring without changing Benning's end attachments or rolling-bend operation. A person of ordinary skill therefore would have been motivated to use that known constant-force geometry to provide a controlled restoring-force response during relative movement of Rew's swab-coupling and support structures. The resulting rolling flat spring retains the U-shaped third plate bent about 180° while generating a constant elastic restoring force as the bent position of the third plate changes, as recited.
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rew et al. (WO 2022/080857 A1), hereinafter Rew (citations to Rew are to the English translation of record), in view of Benning (US 2011/0099738 A1), hereinafter Benning, further in view of Demus et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,607,492), hereinafter Demus, and further in view of McCabe (U.S. Patent No. 9,691,364 B1), hereinafter McCabe.
With respect to claim 7, the modified Rew teaches the limitations of claim 6 as discussed above.
With respect to claim 20, the modified Rew teaches the limitations of claim 17 as discussed above.
Regarding claim 7, the modified Rew teaches wherein the support device further comprises a support body configured to support the guide member, wherein the pressing device passes through the support body in the first direction. As established regarding claim 1, body part 11 carries the incorporated plate-like guide and forms the support-side body. Rew teaches rod fixing device 100 including “a body part (11) having a rod through hole (111) through which a rod (20) can pass” and further teaches that rod holding portion 12 “can be inserted into the body portion (11)” (Rew, ¶[0032]-[0033]). Demus teaches a longitudinally movable central adjusting body received between surrounding carrier-side rails (Demus, Figs. 1-2; col. 5, l. 55-col. 6, l. 8). Consistent with the clearance modification discussed regarding claim 22, providing a central longitudinal opening sufficient for rod holding portion 12 together with retained rod 20 to extend and move through the support-side body would prevent interference with the relative travel introduced by the rolling bearing. In the resulting arrangement, the pressing device passes through the support body in the first direction, as recited.
Also, regarding claim 7, the modified Rew does not teach the guide member is connected to the support body and rotates relative to the support body, and an acute angle formed between the guide member and the first direction is variable. Rather, under the working interpretation applied regarding claim 6, the guide member is positioned at a selected nonparallel angle relative to the longitudinal pressing-side structure, but Demus does not teach making that angular position variable relative to the support body.
McCabe teaches changing the angular support provided beneath a leg of a U-shaped flat spring relative to an underlying support body. McCabe teaches that “[a]djusting the force of the pre-tensioned U-shaped flat spring is achieved by tilting the spring’s position relative to the body a few degrees”, and Figs. 5C and 5D show a wedge or shim producing opposite nonparallel tilt directions that respectively decrease and increase the force required to reach the initial position (McCabe, Figs. 5C-5D; col. 13, l. 56-col. 14, l. 7; col. 20, ll. 41-61). McCabe further teaches that “lever mechanisms, thumb wheels or setscrews” may be positioned to tilt the U-shaped spring and thereby “globally tune the spring force” (McCabe, col. 14, ll. 1-7).
McCabe is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventors. The Instant Application explains that changing the angle between the guide member and support body changes the initial shape of the flat spring and thereby controls the elastic restoring force and pressing intensity (Instant Application, ¶[0113], [0119]-[0120]). McCabe likewise addresses controlling the force of a U-shaped flat spring by changing its angular relationship to the supporting body and expressly teaches adjustable tilt mechanisms for tuning spring force (McCabe, col. 13, l. 56-col. 14, l. 7). Accordingly, McCabe would logically have commended itself to one of ordinary skill addressing the inventor's stated problem of controlling restoring force by adjusting the angular support of the flat spring.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Rew in view of McCabe by mounting Demus's rail 11 to the support body through an angularly adjustable support arrangement so that rail 11 may rotate relative to the support body and its acute angle relative to the first-direction reference may be varied. McCabe teaches changing the angular support of a U-shaped flat spring relative to its body to vary the spring-force response and expressly identifies lever mechanisms, thumb wheels, or setscrews for providing that tilt adjustment (McCabe, Figs. 5C-5D; col. 13, l. 56-col. 14, l. 7). The modification changes the angular setting of the guide-side support while retaining the rolling-spring arrangement and the relative longitudinal movement established regarding claim 1. For purposes of the alternative prior-art analysis, the Examiner interprets claim 7 in accordance with the inclined and rotatable embodiment described at ¶[0112]-[0113] as requiring an inclined guide member whose angular position relative to the support body and first-direction reference is variable. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 evaluates that angularly adjustable inclined-guide geometry together with the remaining inherited structure. The Examiner separately maintains the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 112(d) because claim 7, through claims 6 and 1, also formally incorporates the inconsistent parallel relationship. The prior-art rejection does not depend upon the parallel and nonparallel relationships being simultaneously satisfied. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to provide the adjustable guide mounting to permit selection of the spring-force response for the operating condition, as taught by McCabe. Under that interpretation, rail 11 is connected to and rotatable relative to the support body and the acute angle formed between the guide member and the first direction is variable, as recited.
Regarding claim 20, the modified Rew does not teach wherein the guide member is inclined to form an acute angle relative to the first direction, and thus is not parallel to the swab coupling member, and the support device further comprises a support body configured to support the guide member, wherein the swab coupling member passes through the support body in the first direction, and the guide member is connected to the support body and rotates relative to the support body. Rew teaches body part 11 having “a rod through hole (111) through which a rod (20) can pass” and teaches that rod holding portion 12 “can be inserted into the body portion (11)” (Rew, ¶[0032]-[0033]). As established regarding claim 17, rod holding portion 12 corresponds to the swab coupling member, while body part 11 and the incorporated guide structure correspond to the support-side structure. Passage of rod 20 through hole 111 and receipt of rod holding portion 12 do not by themselves establish an opening through which rod holding portion 12 passes, and Rew also does not teach the recited inclined and rotatable guide relationship.
Demus teaches carrier body 2 supporting “four straight lined rails 11 with plate-like form”, with adjusting body 1 positioned between the rails and movable along its longitudinal axis (Demus, Figs. 1-2; col. 5, l. 55-col. 6, l. 8). Demus further teaches that the lay-down tracks “need not to be straight and parallel ones to the adjusting path along it”, provided that the bending springs unrolling on the tracks maintain the disclosed orientation relative to the adjusting path (Demus, col. 5, ll. 1-20). Thus, Demus teaches a support body supporting the plate-like guide structure around a longitudinally movable central member and expressly permits the spring-supporting guide surface to be inclined relative to the longitudinal movement direction.
McCabe teaches changing the angular position of a U-shaped flat spring relative to its supporting body, stating that “[a]djusting the force of the pre-tensioned U-shaped flat spring is achieved by tilting the spring's position relative to the body a few degrees” (McCabe, col. 13, l. 56-col. 14, l. 7). McCabe further teaches that “lever mechanisms, thumb wheels or setscrews” may be positioned to tilt the spring and thereby “globally tune the spring force” (McCabe, col. 14, ll. 1-7). Accordingly, McCabe teaches an angularly adjustable spring-support arrangement in which the angular position of the spring-supporting structure may be changed relative to the supporting body.
McCabe is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventors. The Instant Application explains that changing the angle between the guide member and support body changes the initial shape of the flat spring and controls the resulting elastic restoring force and pressing intensity (Instant Application, ¶[0113], [0119]-[0120]). McCabe similarly teaches controlling the force of a U-shaped flat spring by changing its angular relationship to the supporting body and identifies adjustable tilt mechanisms for tuning spring force (McCabe, col. 13, l. 56-col. 14, l. 7). Accordingly, McCabe would logically have commended itself to one of ordinary skill addressing the inventor's stated problem of controlling restoring force through guide-angle adjustment.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Rew in view of Demus and McCabe by configuring the support-side body around rod holding portion 12 according to Demus's surrounding-carrier arrangement, providing a central longitudinal opening with clearance sufficient for rod holding portion 12 to extend and move through the support body, and mounting Demus's plate-like rail 11 to that support body through an angularly adjustable support according to McCabe. The claim 17 combination already supports rod holding portion 12 for limited longitudinal movement relative to body part 11, while Demus teaches a longitudinally movable central adjusting body received between surrounding carrier-side rails. Providing corresponding clearance through the support-side body would prevent interference with that relative movement and retain Demus's surrounding guidance. Demus also expressly permits a spring-supporting track to be nonparallel to the longitudinal adjustment path, and McCabe teaches angular adjustment of a U-shaped spring support relative to its body to tune spring-force response. For purposes of the alternative prior-art analysis, the Examiner interprets claim 20 in accordance with the inclined and rotatable embodiment described at ¶[0112]-[0113] as requiring the guide member to be inclined and nonparallel to the swab coupling member and to rotate relative to the support body. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 evaluates that inclined and rotatable geometry together with the remaining inherited claim 17 structure. The Examiner separately maintains the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 112(d) because claim 20, through its dependency from claim 17, also formally incorporates the inconsistent parallel relationship. The prior-art rejection does not depend upon the parallel and nonparallel relationships being simultaneously satisfied. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the disclosed support features so that the guide orientation could be selected while the swab-coupling member remains longitudinally movable through the support body. Under that interpretation, rod holding portion 12 passes through the support body in the first direction, rail 11 is supported by and rotatable relative to the support body, and the guide may be positioned at an acute angle relative to the first direction and nonparallel to the swab coupling member, as recited.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rew et al. (WO 2022/080857 A1), hereinafter Rew (citations to Rew are to the English translation of record), in view of Benning (US 2011/0099738 A1), hereinafter Benning, further in view of Demus et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,607,492), hereinafter Demus, further in view of van der Tas (van der Tas, S.G., Weight Compensation for the NANOMEFOS, DCT 2007.060, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven (2007)), hereinafter van der Tas, and further in view of Wang et al. (Wang et al., Design of a Low-Cost Miniature Robot to Assist the COVID-19 Nasopharyngeal Swab Sampling, IEEE Transactions on Medical Robotics and Bionics, Vol. 3, No. 1, pp. 289-293 (2021)), hereinafter Wang.
The modified Rew teaches the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above
Regarding claim 16, the modified Rew does not fully teach wherein the driving device comprises: a rotating mechanism configured to rotate the support device around an axis parallel to the first direction; and a position adjusting mechanism configured to move the support device in the first direction. Rather, Rew teaches that sample collection drive unit 330 moves rod fixing device 100 and may be configured as a Stewart Platform, thereby providing movement of the support-side assembly in the first direction, and further teaches controlling sample collection drive unit 330 to rotate rod 20 after the sample collection point is reached (Rew, ¶[0028]-[0029], [0050]). However, Rew's express rotation teaching concerns rod 20 rather than rotation of the claimed support device, and Rew does not expressly establish structures that are the same as or equivalent to the corresponding rotating-mechanism and position-adjusting-mechanism structures identified above under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Wang teaches a nasopharyngeal swab robot having an active two-degree-of-freedom end-effector for actuating a swab (Wang, Sec. II.A, Fig. 2). Wang teaches that, within the supporting case, “a leadscrew driven linear stage actuated by a stepper motor was mounted” and that “[a] geared stepper motor is attached to the front end of the linear stage to control the following rotation link.” Wang further teaches that a swab gripper is attached to the rotation link and that the swab is assembled to the swab gripper (Wang, Sec. II.A, Fig. 2). Wang explains that the end-effector provides prismatic and rotational movement and further teaches that “the swab can be translated and rotated simultaneously, in both directions of each axis” (Wang, Sec. II.A-II.B, Figs. 2-3).
Under the interpretation pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 112(f), Wang's geared stepper motor and rotation link provide structure equivalent to the corresponding rotating mechanism R identified above. The corresponding structure of the Instant Application uses an actuator such as a motor and/or a power-transmission device such as a gear and belt to rotate the carried robot pressing mechanism around an axis parallel to the first direction. Wang likewise uses a geared motor driving a rotation link carrying the swab gripper, thereby performing the identical rotation function in substantially the same way, by motor-driven rotary transmission to the carried sampling assembly, to obtain substantially the same rotational result (Wang, Sec. II.A, Fig. 2).
Wang's lead-screw-driven linear stage likewise provides structure equivalent to the corresponding position-adjusting structure identified above. The corresponding structure of the Instant Application includes third arm T3 slidingly coupled to rotating mechanism R so as to move rotating mechanism R and the attached robot pressing mechanism in the first direction. Wang similarly mounts the geared rotation mechanism at the front end of an actuated linear stage, such that the linear stage translates the carried rotation mechanism and attached sampling structure along the insertion direction. Wang therefore performs the identical positioning function in substantially the same way, by actuated linear translation of the carried rotating assembly, to obtain substantially the same result of moving the carried assembly in the first direction (Wang, Sec. II.A-II.B, Figs. 2-3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Rew in view of Wang by implementing the translation and rotation functions of Rew's sample collection drive unit 330 using Wang's lead-screw-driven linear stage and geared-motor rotation-link arrangement, with the rod fixing assembly carried by the linear and rotational mechanisms. Rew already teaches advancing and retracting rod fixing device 100 using sample collection drive unit 330, rotating retained rod 20 during sample collection, and that the driving method of sample collection drive unit 330 may be implemented using a known kinematic mechanism (Rew, ¶[0029], [0031], [0048], [0050]). Wang teaches a compact kinematic arrangement specifically for nasopharyngeal swab sampling that provides axial translation and rotation about the swab insertion axis. A person of ordinary skill therefore would have been motivated to use Wang's known two-degree-of-freedom drive arrangement to implement Rew's disclosed axial movement and rotation functions with dedicated mechanisms providing predictable translation and rotation. In the resulting arrangement, the lead-screw-driven linear stage moves body part 11 and the incorporated guide forming the support device in the first direction, while the geared stepper motor and rotation link rotate the carried rod fixing assembly, including the support device, around an axis parallel to the first direction.
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. §103
Applicant's arguments filed 6/12/2026, pages 8-14, regarding the previous 103 rejections of claims 1-4, 6-17, and 19-21 have been fully considered but are moot because the present grounds do not rely on the prior combinations or on any prior reference for a teaching or matter specifically challenged by Applicant. The present rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 instead rely principally on Rew in view of Benning and Demus, with van der Tas, Wang, and McCabe additionally relied upon for certain claims, as set forth above.
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to AARON MERRIAM whose telephone number is (703) 756-
5938. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:00 am - 5:00 pm.
information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO
Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/AARON MERRIAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ADAM J EISEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791