DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/20/2023 and 3/27/2024 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and a copy with initials is attached herewith.
Drawings
4. The drawings were received on 4/20/2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1 and 7-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen et al (CN 110176630 A as cited on IDS dated 3/27/24; see IDS provided translation for citations) in view of Xu (US 20110189548 A1) and Macholl (US 2861016 A).
Regarding claim 1, Wen discloses an electrolyte suitable for use in a lithium ion battery comprising an electrolyte. Wen teaches that electrolyte comprises a non-aqueous organic solvent, a lithium salt, and an additive comprising a fluorinated ketone
[paragraph 0009, 0028, 0046-0047, 0050, 0068, 0091, 0096, 0112, 0115, 0181]. Wen remains silent about an Ag salt in the electrolyte. However, it is known in the art to utilize Ag salt such as AgPF6 in order to render a thinner and less resistive interphase, consequently lowers the migration resistance to a naked Li ion across the interphase as taught by Xu [Abstract; paragraph 0009, 0012, 0016-0017, 0028, 0030, 0041] and to utilize Ag salt like silver sulphate in order to increase the overcharge life of the battery as taught by Macholl [column 1, line 65-72; column 2, line 5-10, 47-50; column 3, line 1-5]. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 7-9, Wen teaches that the fluorinated ketone is represented by Chemical Formula
wherein R10 and R11 are each independently selected from C1 to C20 fluoroalkyl [paragraph 0088-0092].
Regarding claim 10, Wen teaches that the fluorinated ketone is represented by Chemical Formula
[paragraph 0177].
Regarding claim 11, Wen teaches that the fluorinated ketone is about 1.0 wt% to about 10.0 wt% in amount based on a total weight of the electrolyte [paragraph 0093].
Regarding claim 12, Xu teaches that the Ag salt comprises AgPF6 [paragraph 0041].
Regarding claim 13, Xu teaches that the Ag salt is about 0.1 wt% to about 10.0 wt% in amount based on a total weight of the electrolyte [paragraph 0033; Table 1].
Regarding claim 14, Wen teaches that the fluorinated ketone is about 1.0 wt% to about 10.0 wt% in amount based on a total weight of the electrolyte [paragraph 0093]. And Xu teaches that the Ag salt is about 0.1 wt% to about 10.0 wt% in amount based on a total weight of the electrolyte [paragraph 0033; Table 1].
Regarding claims 15-18, Wen teaches that the additive further comprises a compound represented by Chemical Formula
[paragraph 0184] and the amount to be used is obvious to skilled artisan in the art.
Regarding claim 19, Wen teaches that the fluorinated ketone is about 1.0 wt% to about 10.0 wt% in amount based on a total weight of the electrolyte [paragraph 0093]. And Xu teaches that the Ag salt is about 0.1 wt% to about 10.0 wt% in amount based on a total weight of the electrolyte [paragraph 0033; Table 1].
Therefore, the additive is about 1.0 wt% to about 30.0 wt% in amount based on a total weight of the electrolyte.
Regarding claim 20, Wen teaches that the electrolyte further comprises one or more other additives, and the one or more other additives comprise at least one selected from the group consisting of vinylene carbonate (VC), fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC), lithium tetrafluoroborate (LiBF4) [paragraph 0043].
Regarding claims 21-22, Wen teaches a rechargeable lithium battery comprising a positive electrode comprising a positive electrode active material; a negative electrode comprising a negative electrode active material; a separator between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and the electrolyte of claim 1 [paragraph 0113 -0158]. Since the battery of Wen is similar to the claimed battery, it is expected that
the negative electrode would have a density of greater than or equal to about 1.6 g/cc.
9. Claim(s) 2-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen et al (CN 110176630 A) in view of Xu (US 20110189548 A1) and Macholl (US 2861016 A) as applied in claim 1 and further in view of Segawa et al (US 20060068283 A1).
Regarding claims 2-6, Wen remains silent about the fluorinated ketone represented by a formula as claimed. However, Segawa teaches a non-aqueous electrolytic solution comprising a fluorinated ketone represented by a formula
wherein Rf1 and Rf2 each independently represents a fluorinated aliphatic group, or Rf1 and Rf2 together form a cyclic group, Q represents a fluorinated or non-fluorinated alkylene group or a bond, and n represents 0 or 1.
Segawa teaches that the fluorinated ketone exhibits effective properties of flame resistance, non-combustibility, and self-extinguishing fire characteristics. In addition, it provides an effective electrolytic solutions for electrochemical energy devices [Abstract; paragraph 0003-0011, 0019-0023; claim 1-3].
It is within the technical grasp of a skilled artisan to provide R values with different fluoroalkylene groups and atoms and would have been obvious.
Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
11. Claims 1-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of copending Application No. 18487986 (reference application). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter in the instant patent application encompasses the claimed subject matter as recited in the 268 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/MUHAMMAD S SIDDIQUEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723