DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 03/10/2026 change the scopes of the previously presented claims. New grounds of rejections are applied to the currently amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 34 and 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 34 and 42-43 recites the limitation "the second indication" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8-10, 16, 18, 23-24, 29-31, 35-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park (US 2022/0159679).
Park discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 1, a sidelink communication method performed by a first terminal device (see UE1 in Fig. 12 or UE 100 in Fig. 15) or a chip of the first terminal device, comprising:
receiving, by an access stratum of the first terminal device, from an upper layer of the first terminal device, first indication information indicating that first data or first signaling supports first DRX, wherein the first DRX is groupcast SL DRX or broadcast SL DRX (see “transmitting application information from an application layer to a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) layer, generating sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) information based on the application information in the V2X layer, transmitting the SL DRX information from the V2X layer to an access stratum (AS) layer, and communicating with a second UE by applying the SL DRX information in the AS layer” recited in paragraph [0031]; and see “Referring to FIG. 12, when a UE initiates SL communication, the UE may transit its location information (absolute location information, relative location information, or a Zone ID), a groupcast/broadcast destination L2 ID, and an SL DRX configuration to a BS by SL UE information” recited in paragraph [0151], and Fig 12 shows that the UE1 AS layer receiving sidelink configuration from the UE1 higher layer for transmitting groupcast/broadcast message to UE2);
obtaining a first SL resource, wherein the first SL resource corresponding to the first DRX (see “When the BS allocates a radio resource configuration required for SL communication to the UE that has transmitted the SL UE information, the BS may transmit groupcast/broadcast destination L2 IDs and SL DRX configurations of neighboring UEs in the radio resource configuration to the UE” recited in paragraph [0151]);
sending, to a second terminal device, the first data or the first signaling on the first SL resource in a groupcast or broadcast manner (see Fig. 12, wherein UE1 AS layer transmit groupcast/broadcast message to UE2 based on the sidelink DRX configuration).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the first indication information indicates that a destination associated with the first data supports the groupcast SL DRX or broadcast SL DRX (see “When the BS allocates a radio resource configuration required for SL communication to the UE that has transmitted the SL UE information, the BS may transmit groupcast/broadcast destination L2 IDs and SL DRX configurations of neighboring UEs in the radio resource configuration to the UE” recited in paragraph [0151]).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the first signaling comprises one or more of : a connection establishment request message, an announcement message, a solicitation message, or a response message of the solicitation message (see Fig. 12, wherein the sidelink DRX configuration of neighboring UE received by UE1 AS layer may be considered as an announcement message or a response message for the location information that solicitates the UE1 higher layer and the responding base station).
Regarding claim 9, receiving third indication information, wherein the third indication information indicates that second data or second signaling supports second DRX, and the second DRX is groupcast or broadcast SL DRX; and activating the second DRX in response to determining, based on the third indication information, that data or signaling to be received supports the second DRX (see Fig. 13, wherein the UE1 AS layer receives the sidelink DRX configuration from UE1 higher layer as the first indication information and receives, from UE2, sidelink broadcast channel including UE2s own sidelink DRX configuration as the third indication information, and finally UE1 AS layer transmits groupcast/broadcast message accordingly).
Regarding claim 10, determining that a plurality of pieces of data or signaling exist and destinations associated with the plurality of pieces of data or signaling support the second DRX (see “Thus, the UE may obtain the SL DRX configuration of the neighboring UE. The TX UE may transmit a connectionless groupcast/broadcast message in the SL DRX On-Duration of the RX UE based on the obtained SL DRX configuration” recited in paragraph [0154], wherein the data must exists to be transmitted, and the SL DRX configuration of the neighboring UE include the configuration for the second DRX and represents indication of destinations associated with the plurality of pieces of data that support the second DRX).
Regarding claim 16, a communication apparatus (see UE1 in Fig. 12 or UE 100 in Fig. 15), comprising:
at least one processor, and a memory storing instructions for execution by the at least one processor (see Processor 102 and memory 104 in Fig. 15);
to cause the communication apparatus to perform operations comprising:
receiving, by an access stratum of the communication apparatus, from an upper layer of the first terminal device, first indication information indicating that first data or first signaling supports first DRX, wherein the first DRX is groupcast SL DRX or broadcast SL DRX (see “transmitting application information from an application layer to a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) layer, generating sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) information based on the application information in the V2X layer, transmitting the SL DRX information from the V2X layer to an access stratum (AS) layer, and communicating with a second UE by applying the SL DRX information in the AS layer” recited in paragraph [0031]; and see “Referring to FIG. 12, when a UE initiates SL communication, the UE may transit its location information (absolute location information, relative location information, or a Zone ID), a groupcast/broadcast destination L2 ID, and an SL DRX configuration to a BS by SL UE information” recited in paragraph [0151], and Fig 12 shows that the UE1 AS layer receiving sidelink configuration from the UE1 higher layer for transmitting groupcast/broadcast message to UE2);
obtaining a first SL resource, wherein the first SL resource corresponding to the first DRX (see “When the BS allocates a radio resource configuration required for SL communication to the UE that has transmitted the SL UE information, the BS may transmit groupcast/broadcast destination L2 IDs and SL DRX configurations of neighboring UEs in the radio resource configuration to the UE” recited in paragraph [0151]);
sending, to a second terminal device, the first data or the first signaling on the first SL resource in a groupcast or broadcast manner (see Fig. 12, wherein UE1 AS layer transmit groupcast/broadcast message to UE2 based on the sidelink DRX configuration).
Regarding claim 18, wherein the first indication information indicates that a destination associated with the first data supports the groupcast SL DRX or broadcast SL DRX (see “When the BS allocates a radio resource configuration required for SL communication to the UE that has transmitted the SL UE information, the BS may transmit groupcast/broadcast destination L2 IDs and SL DRX configurations of neighboring UEs in the radio resource configuration to the UE” recited in paragraph [0151]).
Regarding claim 23, receiving third indication information, wherein the third indication information indicates that second data or second signaling supports second DRX, and the second DRX is groupcast or broadcast SL DRX; and activating the second DRX in response to determining, based on the third indication information, that data or signaling to be received supports the second DRX (see Fig. 13, wherein the UE1 AS layer receives the sidelink DRX configuration from UE1 higher layer as the first indication information and receives, from UE2, sidelink broadcast channel including UE2s own sidelink DRX configuration as the third indication information, and finally UE1 AS layer transmits groupcast/broadcast message accordingly).
Regarding claim 24, activating the second DRX in response to determining, based on the third indication information, that data or signaling to be received support the second DRX (see “Thus, the UE may obtain the SL DRX configuration of the neighboring UE. The TX UE may transmit a connectionless groupcast/broadcast message in the SL DRX On-Duration of the RX UE based on the obtained SL DRX configuration” recited in paragraph [0154], wherein the data must exists to be transmitted, and the SL DRX configuration of the neighboring UE include the configuration for the second DRX and represents indication of destinations associated with the plurality of pieces of data that support the second DRX).
Regarding claim 29, wherein the first signaling comprises one or more of : a connection establishment request message, an announcement message, a solicitation message, or a response message of the solicitation message (see Fig. 12, wherein the sidelink DRX configuration of neighboring UE received by UE1 AS layer may be considered as an announcement message or a response message for the location information that solicitates the UE1 higher layer and the responding base station).
Regarding claim 30, a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by a communication apparatus (see UE1 in Fig. 12 or UE 100 in Fig. 15) to perform operations, the operations comprising:
receiving, by an access stratum of the communication apparatus, from an upper layer of the first terminal device, first indication information indicating that first data or first signaling supports first DRX, wherein the first DRX is groupcast SL DRX or broadcast SL DRX (see “transmitting application information from an application layer to a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) layer, generating sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) information based on the application information in the V2X layer, transmitting the SL DRX information from the V2X layer to an access stratum (AS) layer, and communicating with a second UE by applying the SL DRX information in the AS layer” recited in paragraph [0031]; and see “Referring to FIG. 12, when a UE initiates SL communication, the UE may transit its location information (absolute location information, relative location information, or a Zone ID), a groupcast/broadcast destination L2 ID, and an SL DRX configuration to a BS by SL UE information” recited in paragraph [0151], and Fig 12 shows that the UE1 AS layer receiving sidelink configuration from the UE1 higher layer for transmitting groupcast/broadcast message to UE2);
obtaining a first SL resource, wherein the first SL resource corresponding to the first DRX (see “When the BS allocates a radio resource configuration required for SL communication to the UE that has transmitted the SL UE information, the BS may transmit groupcast/broadcast destination L2 IDs and SL DRX configurations of neighboring UEs in the radio resource configuration to the UE” recited in paragraph [0151]);
sending, to a second terminal device, the first data or the first signaling on the first SL resource in a groupcast or broadcast manner (see Fig. 12, wherein UE1 AS layer transmit groupcast/broadcast message to UE2 based on the sidelink DRX configuration).
Regarding claim 31, wherein the first indication information indicates that a destination associated with the first data supports the groupcast SL DRX or broadcast SL DRX (see “When the BS allocates a radio resource configuration required for SL communication to the UE that has transmitted the SL UE information, the BS may transmit groupcast/broadcast destination L2 IDs and SL DRX configurations of neighboring UEs in the radio resource configuration to the UE” recited in paragraph [0151]).
Regarding claim 35, receiving third indication information, wherein the third indication information indicates that second data or second signaling supports second DRX, and the second DRX is groupcast or broadcast SL DRX; and activating the second DRX in response to determining, based on the third indication information, that data or signaling to be received supports the second DRX (see Fig. 13, wherein the UE1 AS layer receives the sidelink DRX configuration from UE1 higher layer as the first indication information and receives, from UE2, sidelink broadcast channel including UE2s own sidelink DRX configuration as the third indication information, and finally UE1 AS layer transmits groupcast/broadcast message accordingly).
Regarding claim 36, activating the second DRX in response to determining, based on the third indication information, that data or signaling to be received support the second DRX (see “Thus, the UE may obtain the SL DRX configuration of the neighboring UE. The TX UE may transmit a connectionless groupcast/broadcast message in the SL DRX On-Duration of the RX UE based on the obtained SL DRX configuration” recited in paragraph [0154], wherein the data must exists to be transmitted, and the SL DRX configuration of the neighboring UE include the configuration for the second DRX and represents indication of destinations associated with the plurality of pieces of data that support the second DRX).
Regarding claim 37, wherein the first signaling comprises one or more of : a connection establishment request message, an announcement message, a solicitation message, or a response message of the solicitation message (see Fig. 12, wherein the sidelink DRX configuration of neighboring UE received by UE1 AS layer may be considered as an announcement message or a response message for the location information that solicitates the UE1 higher layer and the responding base station).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32-33 and 38-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claims 1, 16 and 30 above, and further in view of Zhao (US 11,903,013 B2).
Park discloses the features as shown above.
Park does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 32, 38 and 40, sending a first request message to a network device, wherein the first request message is for requesting the first SL resource; and receiving information about the first SL resource from the network device; regarding claims 33, 39 and 41, wherein before the sending a first request message to a network device, the operations further comprises: sending second indication information to the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates that an SL resource required by data or signaling corresponding to a destination is the first SL resource; regarding claims 42-43, wherein the first request message is one of: an SL SR, an SL BSR, and a UAI message, and the second indication message is comprised in a SUI message.
Zhao discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 32, 38 and 40, sending a first request message to a network device, wherein the first request message is for requesting the first SL resource; and receiving information about the first SL resource from the network device (see Fig. 4, wherein the UE sends the BSR reporting to request resource allocation in step 3).
Regarding claims 33, 39 and 41, wherein before the sending a first request message to a network device, the operations further comprises: sending second indication information to the network device (see Fig. 4, wherein before sending the BSR reporting to request resource allocation in step 3, the UE first sends an auxiliary information report in step 0), wherein the second indication information indicates that an SL resource required by data or signaling corresponding to a destination is the first SL resource (see “The auxiliary information includes at least each logical channel identifier of the sidelink interface of the user equipment and its corresponding QoS parameters, or includes at least each logical channel identifier of the sidelink interface of the sidelink user equipment and its corresponding QoS parameters, and the wireless access technology that each logical channel expects to use” recited in column 11, lines 13-21).
Regarding claims 42-43, wherein the first request message is one of: an SL SR, an SL BSR, and a UAI message (see BSR reporting in step 3 of Fig. 4), and the second indication message is comprised in a SUI message (see “Step 0: the sidelink user equipment reports the auxiliary information” recited in column 11, lines 13-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Park using features, as taught by Zhao, in order to ensure that the sidelink data can be transmitted by using reasonable wireless access technology (see column 6, line 65- column 7, line 31 of Zhao).
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Zhao.
Park discloses the features as shown above.
Park does not disclose the following features: regarding claim 34, wherein the first request message is one of: an SL SR, an SL BSR, and a UAI message, and the second indication message is comprised in a SUI message.
Zhao discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 34, wherein the first request message is one of: an SL SR, an SL BSR, and a UAI message (see BSR reporting in step 3 of Fig. 4), and the second indication message is comprised in a SUI message (see “Step 0: the sidelink user equipment reports the auxiliary information” recited in column 11, lines 13-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Park using features, as taught by Zhao, in order to ensure that the sidelink data can be transmitted by using reasonable wireless access technology (see column 6, line 65- column 7, line 31 of Zhao).
Conclusion
/JUTAI KAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473