DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species B, reading on claims 16-20, in the reply filed on 27 May 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0131407 A1 Khy et al. (Khy) in view of US 2022/0062794 A1 to Yamamoto et al. (Yamamoto) and further in view of WO 2020/209036 A1 to Iiyama et al. (Iiyama).
As to claims 16 and 17, Khy teaches an electrolysis system comprising an electrolyzer cell (2) configured to convert water into oxygen gas and hydrogen gas using electrolysis, wherein the electrolyzer cell outputs a solution (26) comprising water and entrained, liquified, hydrogen gas; and a degasser (18) operatively coupled downstream of the electrolyzer (2) to receive the water solution therefrom and the degasser (18) output degassed water for recirculation to the electrolyzer cell (2) through, at least, a catholyte cooler considered a tank for at least temporarily storing the water (Paragraphs 0098-0104; Figure 1). However, Khy fails to teach that the degasser is a membrane degasser.
However, Yamamoto also discusses degassing a water stream and teaches an improved degasser in terms of increased size and flow rate without performance deterioration comprising a membrane contactor comprising a central tube forming a water flow path (10) in a first direction, from bottom (6A) to top (6B), the central tube surrounded by a plurality of elongated membrane members extending parallel to the tube such that the gas to be removed flows through the plurality of elongated membrane members (Paragraphs 0002, 0004, 0005, 0054, 0055, 0061 and 0062; Figures 4 and 5). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute the membrane degasser of Yamamoto for the degasser of Khy in order to allow for an improved degasser in terms of increased size and flow rate without performance deterioration as taught by Yamamoto.
However, Yamamoto fails to further teach that the membrane contactor is provided with a sweep gas through the plurality of membrane members, instead teaching a vacuum.
However, Iiyama also discusses membrane degassers and teaches that a sweep gas, supplied to the area collector the degassed gas in a countercurrent fashion, improves the degassing performance (Paragraphs 0026 and 0036; Figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the vacuum of the membrane degasser of Yamamoto with a countercurrent sweep gas flow as in Iiyama in order to improve the degassing performance as taught by Iiyama. Thus in combination an apparatus performing the functional language of “wherein the water solution flows through an interior of the membrane degasser in a first direction and a strip gas flows through the interior of the membrane degasser in a second direction, wherein the second direction is opposite the first direction such that the strip gas separates and removes the liquefied hydrogen gas from the water solution to generate a degassed water” (MPEP 2114).
As to claim 18, the combination of Khy, Yamamoto and Iiyama teaches the apparatus of claim 17. Khy further teaches that the apparatus comprises a gas separator tank (16) operatively coupled between the electrolyzer cell (2) and the membrane degasser (18), the gas separator tank (16) configured to receive the water solution output by the electrolyzer cell (2) and remove at least a portion of the liquefied hydrogen gas from the water solution to generate a reduced gas water solution (Paragraphs 0101 and 0102; Figure 1).
As to claim 19, the combination of Khy, Yamamoto and Iiyama teaches the apparatus of claim 18. The apparatus of the combination is capable of performing the functional language of “wherein the reduced gas water solution incudes less than 1 percent of liquified hydrogen gas” based upon, at least, the starting gas composition after exiting the electrolysis cell, and operating conditions such as the flow rates through the membrane degasser (MPEP 2114).
As to claim 20, the combination of Khy, Yamamoto and Iiyama teaches the apparatus of claim 16. Khy further teaches that the apparats comprises a pump (14) for directing water through the system (Paragraph 0098; Figure 1). Khy fails to specifically teach that the pump is operatively connected between the pump and the electrolysis cell; however, the location of the pump is a mere rearrangement of parts (MPEP 2144.04 VI C).
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794