Response to Amendment
The amendment filed October 1, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-12 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on October 1, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pp. 8 and 9 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues that Huawei fails to teach “first indication information indicates the first relay device to receive, through a first unicast connection corresponding to first security, configuration information from the first user equipment” of claim 1 because Applicant contends that Huawei “does not describe [the Link Identifier Update Request message to the UE-to-UE Relay] indicates to the relay device that it should expect to receive additional configuration information through the unicast connection.” Examiner disagrees.
Huawei describes that the Link Identifier Update Request message from UE1 to the UE-to-UE Relay, where the message includes UE1’s Layer-2 ID, which is the first indication information, and the message includes UE1's new Layer-2 ID, which is configuration information from the first user equipment (see pp. 5-7, section 6.9.2.2). Under BRI, the claims as presented do not require that the “configuration information from the first user equipment” needs to be received in a different message from the message that includes the indication information. Thus, Huawei’s the Link Identifier Update Request message from UE1 to the UE-to-UE Relay, in addition to the remaining cited portions of Huawei, teaches “first indication information indicates the first relay device to receive, through a first unicast connection corresponding to first security, configuration information from the first user equipment” of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-10, 13-16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huawei and HiSilicon (“KI#4, Sol#9: Update on protocol stacks for Layer 2 UE-to-UE Relay,” 3GPP TSG-WG SA2 Meeting $141E, S2-2007212 (publication date: October 02, 2020)) (referred to herein as “Huawei”).
Regarding claim 1, Huawei teaches “[a] relay communication method, comprising: receiving, by a first relay device, first indication information from first user equipment, wherein the first indication information indicates the first relay device to receive, through a first unicast connection corresponding to first security, configuration information from the first user equipment, and the configuration information is used for a second unicast connection for communication between the first user equipment and second user equipment through the first relay device” (see pp. 5 – 7, section 6.9.2.2 and FIG. 6.9.2.2-1; UE1 (first user equipment) establishes a secured unicast link [which is the Management Link #1] (i.e., first unicast connection corresponding to first security) with the UE-to-UE Relay (first relay device) for link management purposes, if such a link is not already established. UE1 updates its identifiers (i.e., Layer-2 ID, security information and optionally Application Layer ID and IP address/prefix) and sends a Link Identifier Update Request message to the UE-to-UE Relay (first relay device) via the management link (first unicast connection). The message includes UE1's new Layer-2 ID (i.e., configuration information from the first user equipment) and an indication (e.g. "extended link" indication) which specifies that the message is related to an extended link (second unicast connection). The message also includes the UE-to-UE Relay's Layer-2 ID and UE1's Layer-2 ID (first indication information) used to identify the extended link (second unicast connection). An "extended" unicast link (second unicast connection) is established between two peer UEs [i.e., UE1 and UE2] via a UE-to-UE Relay (i.e., through the first relay device) . . . described in clause 6.9.2.1 with end-to-end security enabled. Thus, UE1’s (first user equipment) new Layer-2 ID (configuration information from the first user equipment) is used for the "extended" unicast link (second unicast connection) with UE2 (second user equipment) via the UE-to-UE Relay (through the first relay device);
Huawei also teaches “receiving, by the first relay device, first configuration information from the first user equipment through the first unicast connection corresponding to the first security” (see pp. 5 – 7, section 6.9.2.2 and FIG. 6.9.2.2-1; UE1 (first user equipment) establishes a secured unicast link [which is the Management Link #1] (i.e., first unicast connection corresponding to the first security) with the UE-to-UE Relay (first relay device); UE1 updates its identifiers (i.e., Layer-2 ID, security information and optionally Application Layer ID and IP address/prefix) and sends a Link Identifier Update Request message to the UE-to-UE Relay (first relay device) via the management link (first unicast connection). The message includes UE1's new Layer-2 ID (i.e., first configuration information from the first user equipment)); and
Huawei further teaches “communicating, by the first relay device, with the first user equipment based on the first configuration information through the second unicast connection” (see pp. 1, 2, 5 – 7, section 6.9.2.2 and FIG. 6.9.2.2-1; UE-to-UE Relay (first relay device) saves UE1's new Layer-2 ID (first configuration information) in its mapping table, while preserving the current one, and updates its own Layer-2 ID to replace the current UE-to-UE Relay L2 ID used on the extended link (the second unicast connection)and known by UE2. It (i.e., the first relay device) replies with Link Identifier Update Response message including its new UE-to-UE Relay Layer-2 ID (which is based on the UE1’s new Layer-2 ID, thus, based on the first configuration) and the "extended link" indication); Source/Target UEs send messages to the UE-to-UE Relay and receive messages through the UE-to-UE Relay; the UE-to-UE Relay assigns itself two Relay-L2 IDs when a unicast link (the second unicast connection) is established between two peer UEs [i.e., UE1 (the first user equipment) and UE2] via the UE-to-UE Relay (the first relay device). The first Relay-L2 ID (which as discussed above, can be based on UE1’s new Layer-2 ID (the first configuration information)) is used when forwarding a message to the target UE. The second Relay-L2 ID is used when forwarding a message to the source UE; Thus, the UE-to-UE Relay (the first relay device) is in communication with UE1 (the first user equipment) based on a UE-to-UE Relay Layer-2 ID, which is based on the UE1’s new UE Layer-2 ID (the first configuration information) received from UE1 (the first user equipment)).
Regarding claim 2, Huawei teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the first indication information comprises identification information of the second unicast connection” (see pp. 5 – 7, section 6.9.2.2 and FIG. 6.9.2.2-1; send the Link Identifier Update Request message to the UE-to-UE Relay via the management link. The message [] includes the UE-to-UE Relay's Layer-2 ID and UE1's Layer-2 ID (the first indication information) used to identify the extended link (the second unicast connection)).
Regarding claim 3, Huawei teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “sending, by the first relay device, second indication information to the second user equipment, wherein the second indication information indicates the second user equipment to receive, through a third unicast connection corresponding to third security, second configuration information from the first relay device, wherein the second configuration information is used for the second unicast connection” (see pp. 5 – 7, section 6.9.2.2 and FIG. 6.9.2.2-1; UE2 (second user equipment) establishes a secured unicast link (third unicast connection corresponding to third security) with the UE-to-UE Relay (first relay device) for extended unicast link management, if no such management link already exists. UE-to-UE Relay (the first relay device) saves UE2's new Layer-2 ID in its mapping table, while preserving the current one, and updates its [i.e., the UE-to-UE Relay’s (the first relay device’s)] own Layer-2 ID to replace the current UE-to-UE Relay L2 ID used on the extended link and known by UE1. It [UE-to-UE Relay; the first relay device] replies [to UE2; the second user equipment] with Link Identifier Update Response message including its new UE-to-UE Relay Layer-2 ID (second indication information) and the "extended link" (the second unicast connection) indication (second configuration information from the first relay device). UE2 sends a Link Identifier Update Response message to UE1 [via the “extended link”; the second unicast connection] including the new UE-to-UE Relay L2 ID (i.e., the second configuration information is used for the second unicast connection)).
Regarding claim 4, Huawei teaches the method of claim 3, and further teaches “wherein the second indication information comprises identification information of the second unicast connection” (see pp. 5 – 7, section 6.9.2.2 and FIG. 6.9.2.2-1; the UE-to-UE Relay (the first relay device) receives a Link Identifier Update Request message from UE2 that includes UE2’s Layer-2 ID used to identify the extended link (the second unicast connection), and updates its own UE-to-UE Layer-2 ID (the second indication information). The UE-to-UE Relay (the first relay device’s) sends Link Identifier Update Response message including its new UE-to-UE Relay Layer-2 ID (the second indication information) and the "extended link" (second unicast connection) indication. The UE-to-UE Relay’s Layer-2 ID (the second indication information) is used on the extended link (the second unicast connection). Since the peer UEs are configured to use the UE-to-UE Relay Layer-2 ID (the second indication information) on the established extended link (the second unicast connection) between the two peer UEs, the UE-to-UE Relay Layer-2 ID (the second indication information) can identify the extended link (the second unicast connection). Additionally, since the UE-to-UE Relay Layer-2 ID (the second indication information) is based on the UE2’s Layer-2 ID, which is also used to identify the extended link (the second unicast connection), the UE-to-UE Relay Layer-2 ID (second identification information) can identify the extended link (the second unicast connection)).
Regarding claim 6, Huawei teaches the method of claim 3, and further teaches “wherein the sending, by the first relay device, the second indication information to the second user equipment comprises: sending, by the first relay device, a third unicast connection establishment request message or a third security establishment complete message to the second user equipment, wherein the second indication information is included in the third unicast connection establishment request message or the third security establishment complete message” (see pp. 4 – 7; as part of the security establishment process of the extended link between two peer UEs (i.e., between the first user equipment and the second user equipment), the UE-to-UE Relay (the first relay device) transmits sends a security establishment message (i.e., security establishment complete message) to one of the peer UEs (e.g., UE2; the second user equipment), where the message specifies the UE-to-UE Relay Layer-2 ID (the second indication information)).
Regarding claim 7, Huawei teaches “[a] relay communication method, comprising: sending, by first user equipment, first indication information to a first relay device, wherein the first indication information indicates the first relay device to receive, through a first unicast connection corresponding to first security, configuration information from the first user equipment, and the configuration information is used for a second unicast connection for communication between the first user equipment and second user equipment through the first relay device” (see pp. 5 – 7, section 6.9.2.2 and FIG. 6.9.2.2-1; UE1 (first user equipment) establishes a secured unicast link [which is the Management Link #1] (i.e., first unicast connection corresponding to first security) with the UE-to-UE Relay (first relay device) for link management purposes, if such a link is not already established. UE1 updates its identifiers (i.e., Layer-2 ID, security information and optionally Application Layer ID and IP address/prefix) and sends a Link Identifier Update Request message (first indication information) to the UE-to-UE Relay (first relay device) via the management link (first unicast connection). The message includes UE1's new Layer-2 ID (i.e., configuration information from the first user equipment) and an indication (e.g. "extended link" indication) which specifies that the message is related to an extended link (second unicast connection). An "extended" unicast link (second unicast connection) is established between two peer UEs [i.e., UE1 and UE2] via a UE-to-UE Relay (i.e., through the first relay device) . . . described in clause 6.9.2.1 with end-to-end security enabled. Thus, UE1’s (first user equipment) new Layer-2 ID (configuration information from the first user equipment) is used for the "extended" unicast link (second unicast connection) with UE2 (second user equipment) via the UE-to-UE Relay (through the first relay device));
Huawei also teaches “sending, by the first user equipment, first configuration information to the first relay device through the first unicast connection corresponding to the first security” (see pp. 5 – 7, section 6.9.2.2 and FIG. 6.9.2.2-1; UE1 (first user equipment) establishes a secured unicast link [which is the Management Link #1] (i.e., first unicast connection corresponding to the first security) with the UE-to-UE Relay (first relay device); UE1 updates its identifiers (i.e., Layer-2 ID, security information and optionally Application Layer ID and IP address/prefix) and sends a Link Identifier Update Request message to the UE-to-UE Relay (first relay device) via the management link (first unicast connection). The message includes UE1's new Layer-2 ID (i.e., first configuration information from the first user equipment) and an indication (e.g. "extended link" indication) which specifies that the message is related to an extended link (second unicast connection)); and
Huawei further teaches “communicating, by the first user equipment, with the first relay device based on the first configuration information through the second unicast connection” (see pp. 5 – 7, section 6.9.2.2 and FIG. 6.9.2.2-1; UE-to-UE Relay (first relay device) saves UE1's new Layer-2 ID (first configuration information) in its mapping table, while preserving the current one, and updates its own Layer-2 ID to replace the current UE-to-UE Relay L2 ID used on the extended link (the second unicast connection)and known by UE2. It (first relay device) replies with Link Identifier Update Response message including its new UE-to-UE Relay Layer-2 ID (which is based on the UE1’s new Layer-2 ID, thus, based on the first configuration) and the "extended link" indication).
Regarding claim 8, Huawei teaches the method of claim 7, and further teaches “wherein the first indication information comprises identification information of the second unicast connection” (see pp. 5 – 7, section 6.9.2.2 and FIG. 6.9.2.2-1; the Link Identifier Update Request message (the first indication information) to the UE-to-UE Relay via the management link. The message includes UE1's new Layer-2 ID and an indication (e.g. "extended link" indication) which specifies that the message is related to an extended link (second unicast connection)).
Regarding claim 9, Huawei teaches the method of claim 7, and further teaches “receiving, by the second user equipment, second indication information from the first relay device, wherein the second indication information indicates the second user equipment to receive, through a third unicast connection corresponding to third security, second configuration information from the first relay device, wherein the second configuration information is used for the second unicast connection” (see pp. 5 – 7, section 6.9.2.2 and FIG. 6.9.2.2-1; UE2 (second user equipment) establishes a secured unicast link (third unicast connection corresponding to third security) with the UE-to-UE Relay (first relay device) for extended unicast link management, if no such management link already exists. UE-to-UE Relay (the first relay device) saves UE2's new Layer-2 ID in its mapping table, while preserving the current one, and updates its own Layer-2 ID to replace the current UE-to-UE Relay L2 ID used on the extended link and known by UE1. It [UE-to-UE Relay; the first relay device] replies [to UE2; the second user equipment] with Link Identifier Update Response message (second indication information) including its new UE-to-UE Relay Layer-2 ID (second configuration information from the first relay device) and the "extended link" indication (the second unicast connection). UE2 sends a Link Identifier Update Response message to UE1 [via the “extended link”; the second unicast connection] including the new UE-to-UE Relay L2 ID (i.e., the second configuration information is used for the second unicast connection)).
Regarding claim 10, Huawei teaches the method of claim 3, and further teaches “wherein the second indication information comprises identification information of the second unicast connection” (see pp. 5 – 7, section 6.9.2.2 and FIG. 6.9.2.2-1; Link Identifier Update Response message (second indication information) including its new UE-to-UE Relay Layer-2 ID (second configuration information)).
Regarding claim 12, Huawei teaches the method of claim 9, and further teaches “wherein the receiving, by the second user equipment, the second indication information from the first relay device comprises: receiving, by the second user equipment, a third unicast connection establishment request message or a third security establishment complete message from the first relay device, wherein the second indication information is included in the third unicast connection establishment request message or the third security establishment complete message” (see pp. 4 – 7; as part of the security establishment process of the extended link between two peer UEs (i.e., between the first user equipment and the second user equipment), the UE-to-UE Relay (the first relay device) transmits sends a security establishment message (i.e., security establishment complete message) to one of the peer UEs (e.g., UE2 (the second user equipment); i.e., received by the second user equipment), where the message specifies the UE-to-UE Relay Layer-2 ID (the second indication information).
Regarding claims 13–16 and 18, they are the apparatus corresponding to the method claims 1–4, and 6 that have been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1–4, and 6. Claims 13–16 and 18 are rejected under the same rational as claims 1–4, and 6.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, they are the apparatus corresponding to the method claims 7 and 8 that have been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claims 7 and 8. Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under the same rational as claims 7 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huawei in view of Liang et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0337618).
Regarding claim 5, Huawei teaches the method of claim 1. While Huawei teaches “receiving, by the first relay device, the first indication information from the first user equipment” of claim 5, it does not appear to explicitly teach “wherein the receiving, by the first relay device, the first indication information from the first user equipment comprises: receiving, by the first relay device, a first unicast connection establishment request message or a first security establishment complete message from the first user equipment, wherein the first indication information is included in the first unicast connection establishment request message or the first security establishment complete message” as recited in claim 5. However, a relay device receiving a unicast connection establishment request message including indication information is well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Liang teaches “wherein the receiving, by the first relay device, the first indication information from the first user equipment comprises: receiving, by the first relay device, a first unicast connection establishment request message or a first security establishment complete message from the first user equipment, wherein the first indication information is included in the first unicast connection establishment request message or the first security establishment complete message” (see ¶¶ [0054], [0055], [0065] – [0075], [0335], [0336]; the first terminal device (first user equipment) sends the first request message to the network device (relay device) (i.e., receiving by the relay device), the first request message being used to request, from the network device, the related information of the unicast connection between the first terminal device and the second terminal device; the first request message may be a unicast connection establishment request message; the unicast connection establishment request message may include at least one of the following: a target terminal ID; a link ID of the unicast connection; resource related information of a target terminal; capability information of the target terminal (i.e., the first indication information)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Huawei to incorporate the teachings of Liang to transmit/receive a unicast connection establishment request message including indication information. The suggestion to do so would have been to allow network/relay device to determine corresponding related information of the unicast connection to complete a unicast connection (see ¶ [0076] of Liang).
Regarding claim 11, Huawei teaches the method of claim 7. While Huawei teaches “sending, by the first user equipment, the first indication information to the first relay device” of claim 11, it does not appear to explicitly teach “wherein the sending, by the first user equipment, the first indication information to the first relay device comprises: sending, by the first user equipment, a first unicast connection establishment request message or a first security establishment complete message to the first relay device, wherein the first indication information is included in the first unicast connection establishment request message or the first security establishment complete message” as recited in claim 11. However, a user equipment sending a unicast connection establishment request message including indication information is well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Liang teaches “wherein the sending, by the first user equipment, the first indication information to the first relay device comprises: sending, by the first user equipment, a first unicast connection establishment request message or a first security establishment complete message to the first relay device, wherein the first indication information is included in the first unicast connection establishment request message or the first security establishment complete message” (see ¶¶ [0054], [0055], [0065] – [0075], [0335], [0336]; the first terminal device (first user equipment) sends the first request message to the network device (relay device) (i.e., receiving by the relay device), the first request message being used to request, from the network device, the related information of the unicast connection between the first terminal device and the second terminal device; the first request message may be a unicast connection establishment request message; the unicast connection establishment request message may include at least one of the following: a target terminal ID; a link ID of the unicast connection; resource related information of a target terminal; capability information of the target terminal (i.e., the first indication information)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Huawei to incorporate the teachings of Liang to transmit/receive a unicast connection establishment request message including indication information. The suggestion to do so would have been to allow network/relay device to determine corresponding related information of the unicast connection to complete a unicast connection (see ¶ [0076] of Liang).
Regarding claim 17, it is the apparatus corresponding to the method claim 5 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 5. Claim 17 is rejected under the same rational as claim 5.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SRIHARSHA REDDY VANGAPATY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/ supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475