DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/31/2025 regarding claims 1-18 in the remarks are fully considered but not persuasive.
(i) Applicant argues that “the Office has applied two different interpretations of ‘feedback time’ of claim 1 based on Bae, which is unreasonable and renders the rejection of claim 1 as being improper” and thus the limitation(s) of “wherein the first information is useable to indicate a feedback time of the first CSI being after a first time” is/are not addressed by the prior art (please see page 12 of 19 under arguments and remarks).
(i) (Response) As clearly indicated in the previous Office Action and maintained in this Final Office Action, said CSI is transmitted on a PUCCH resource in a slot (construed as said feedback time) after the time T+X (construed as said first time). For example, as indicated in figure 16 (which is also relied upon in the previous and current Office Action), transmission of PUCCH3 (for the CSI) occurs after time point T+X (which examiner has clearly established T+X as said first time). Even paragraph [0277] of the prior art clearly states: “For example, the UE may transmit the CSI on a PUCCH resource configured in a slot starting after the point in time T+X”. And so clearly, transmission of CSI occurs on a slot corresponding to a PUCCH resource (i.e., PUCCH3, please see Figure 16 and paragraph [0277] as clearly disclosed) which is after the time T+X. Thus, examiner maintains that interpretation of feedback time as said configured slot for PUCCH resource and time T+X as said first time is proper and not unreasonable as argued by applicant.(ii) Applicant also argues “However, Kim, as applied by the Office, does not disclose or suggest “wherein the first information is useable to indicate a feedback time of first channel state information(CSI); and feeding back the first CSI based on the first information in response to the feedback time of the first CSI being after a first time” (please see page 12 of 19, last two paragraphs under arguments and remarks).
(ii) (Response) As indicated earlier in section (i) (Response), examiner has explained how the previously applied prior art Bae address the limitation(s) and thus respectfully the argument that Kim does not address the deficiencies of Bae is not necessary.
(iii) Similarly, applicant argues that Bae does not address the limitation(s) of “wherein the first information is useable to indicate a feedback time of first channel state information (CSI), the feedback time of the first CSI is after a first time” as recited in independent claims 7 and 13 (please see page 13 of 19 under arguments and remarks).
(iii) (Response) Please refer to section (i) (Response) regarding examiner’s explanation on how the previously applied prior art Bae address the above limitation(s).
(iv) Applicant argues that regarding dependent claim 2, the Office has failed to consider each of the limitation(s) of claim 2 (please see page 16 of 19 under arguments and remarks).
(iv) (Response) Depend claim 2 recite limitation(s) in alternate language form and thus not all the limitation(s) are to be addressed by the prior art(s). As noted in the previous Office Action, examiner relied on paragraph [0331] of Oh when addressing one of the preset conditions, i.e., the limitation(s) “a quantity of ports of CSI-RS resources fails to exceed a preset port quantity”. Examiner explained the preset condition as said number of ports of the reference signal is 4 or less (please see paragraph [0331]). Thus, examiner maintains that claim 2 is addressed by the previously applied prior art Oh.
(v) Applicant argues that for the reason(s) as mentioned for dependent claim 2, the limitation(s) of dependent claims 8 and 14 are not addressed by the prior art of record (please see page 16 of 19 under arguments and remarks).
(v) (Response) Please refer to section (iv)(Response) regarding examiner’s explanation on how Oh address the limitation(s) as recited in dependent claim 2. Thus, examiner maintains that dependent claims 8 and 14 are addressed by the prior art of record.
(vi) Applicant argues that for the same reason(s) as mentioned above for claims 1, 7 and 13, dependent claims 4-6, 10-12, 16-18 are not addressed by the previously applied prior art(s).
(vi) (Response) Please refer to section (i)(Response) regarding examiner’s explanation on how the limitation(s) is addressed by the previously applied prior art.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1, 7 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0396298) in view of Kim (US PG Pub. No. 2019/0165846).
As per claim 1:
Bae teaches an apparatus (see Figure 2, paragraph [0068], first wireless device 100) comprising:
at least one processor (see Figure 2, processor(s) 102);
and a non-transitory computer readable medium configured to store non-transitory instructions (see paragraph [0079], memory 104 for storing instructions or programs), the at least one processor being configured to execute the non- transitory instructions thereby causing the apparatus to perform operations (see paragraph [0079], the stored instructions are executed by the at least one processor to perform operations) comprising:
receiving first information (see paragraph [0272], UE receiving DCI triggering a CSI report over a PUCCH. Figure 16, paragraph [0276] illustrates PUCCH resources available for A-CSI triggered by DCI. That is, PUCCH1 to PUCCH4. See paragraph [0276], the PUCCH1 to PUCCH4 represent PUCCH resources according to a periodic configuration, wherein the PUCCH1 precedes PUCCH2 in time, PUCCH2 precedes PUCCH3 in time and PUCCH3 precedes PUCCH4 in time. Note: Examiner is reading said periodic configuration as said first information), wherein the first information is useable to indicate a feedback time of first channel state information (CSI) (paragraph [0277] discloses periodicity and offset of a PUCCH resource may be determined by a CSI configuration associated with the triggered CSI);
feeding back the first CSI based on the first information in response to the feedback time of the first CSI being after a first time (see Figure 16, paragraph [0277], based on the received DCI, UE may transmit CSI on a PUCCH resource configured in a slot after the point in time T+X. Note: Examiner is reading said slot configured for the PUCCH as said feedback time and T+X as said first time),
wherein the first time is determined based on a second time and a first processing delay (see paragraph [0277], T is a point in time at which DCI triggering CSI is received and X is a minimum CSI computation time from DCI reception. Note: Examiner is reading said minimum CSI computation time X as said first processing delay and T as said second information),
or the first time is determined based on the second time and a second processing delay (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art).
Bae does not clearly teach wherein the first processing delay is a first CSI processing delay determined in response to a preset condition being met,
the second processing delay is a second CSI processing delay determined in response to the preset condition failing to be met, and the second processing delay is greater than the first processing delay;
and the second time is:
a time at which the first CSI starts to be measured,
an end moment of a last symbol of the first information,
a time of a first symbol of a CSI measurement resource for measuring the first CSI,
a start moment of a computing processing unit occupied by the first CSI,
a start moment of a next symbol after the first information ends,
or determined based on the first information.
Kim teaches wherein the first processing delay is a first CSI processing delay determined in response to a preset condition being met (see paragraph [0256] discloses the minimum processing time, Z, after receiving CSI triggering DCI and before performing CSI reporting. Examiner is reading said Z as the first processing delay. Paragraphs [0357]-[0359] and table 7 defines said Z as the minimum required number of symbols for PDCCH detection/decoding time for receiving DCI triggering a CSI report, channel estimation time and CSI calculation time. As illustrated in table 7 said Z is also associated with a subcarrier spacing (SCS). Note: Examiner is reading said minimum required number symbols for PDCCH detection/decoding time and the associated subcarrier spacing as said preset condition),
the second processing delay is a second CSI processing delay determined in response to the preset condition failing to be met, and the second processing delay is greater than the first processing delay (Note: This limitation relies on a limitation recited in alternate form and thus NOT addressed by the prior art);
and the second time (see Figure 16, explicitly states: “Reception time of last OFDM symbol of AP CSI triggering DCI”) is:
a time at which the first CSI starts to be measured (see paragraph [0513], discloses the time offset of a CSI reference resource is derived from Z with respect to the given CSI latency),
an end moment of a last symbol of the first information (see Figure 16, explicitly states: “Reception time of last OFDM symbol of AP CSI triggering DCI”),
a time of a first symbol of a CSI measurement resource for measuring the first CSI (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not clearly addressed by the prior art),
a start moment of a computing processing unit occupied by the first CSI (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not clearly addressed by the prior art),
a start moment of a next symbol after the first information ends (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not clearly addressed by the prior art),
or determined based on the first information (see paragraph [0240], first CSI reporting timing follows a PUSCH time domain allocation value indicated by DCI, and subsequent CSI reporting follows a periodicity which is configured by RRC).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the CSI reporting procedure (as disclosed in Kim) into Bae as a way of determining a CSI reference resource as close as possible to the CSI reporting time, thereby preventing a resource (a few symbols) from being wasted without being used (please see paragraph [0803] of Kim). Therefore, by reporting the CSI at the determined reporting time, only the most recent CSI is received (please see paragraph [0803] of Kim).
As per claim 7:
Bae teaches a method (see abstract) comprising:
sending first information (see paragraphs [0015], [0272], UE receiving DCI triggering a CSI report over a PUCCH from the network. Figure 16, paragraph [0276] illustrates PUCCH resources available for A-CSI triggered by DCI. That is, PUCCH1 to PUCCH4. See paragraph [0276], the PUCCH1 to PUCCH4 represent PUCCH resources according to a periodic configuration, wherein the PUCCH1 precedes PUCCH2 in time, PUCCH2 precedes PUCCH3 in time and PUCCH3 precedes PUCCH4 in time. Note: Examiner is reading said periodic configuration as said first information), wherein the first information is useable to indicate a feedback time of first channel state information (CSI) (paragraph [0277] discloses periodicity and offset of a PUCCH resource may be determined by a CSI configuration associated with the triggered CSI), the feedback time of the first CSI is after a first time (see Figure 16, paragraph [0277], based on the received DCI, UE may transmit CSI on a PUCCH resource configured in a slot after the point in time T+X. Note: Examiner is reading said slot configured for the PUCCH as said feedback time and T+X as said first time),
and the first time is determined based on a second time and a first processing delay (see paragraph [0277], T is a point in time at which DCI triggering CSI is received and X is a minimum CSI computation time from DCI reception. Note: Examiner is reading said minimum CSI computation time X as said first processing delay and T as said second information),
or the first time is determined based on the second time and a second processing delay (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art).
Bae does not clearly teach wherein the first processing delay is a first CSI processing delay determined in response to a preset condition being met,
the second processing delay is a second CSI processing delay determined in response to the preset condition failing to be met, and the second processing delay is greater than the first processing delay;
and the second time is:
a time at which the first CSI starts to be measured,
an end moment of a last symbol of the first information,
a time of a first symbol of a CSI measurement resource for measuring the first CSI,
a start moment of a computing processing unit occupied by the first CSI,
a start moment of a next symbol after the first information ends, or
determined based on the first information.
Kim teaches wherein the first processing delay is a first CSI processing delay determined in response to a preset condition being met (see paragraph [0256] discloses the minimum processing time, Z, after receiving CSI triggering DCI and before performing CSI reporting. Examiner is reading said Z as the first processing delay. Paragraphs [0357]-[0359] and table 7 defines said Z as the minimum required number of symbols for PDCCH detection/decoding time for receiving DCI triggering a CSI report, channel estimation time and CSI calculation time. As illustrated in table 7 said Z is also associated with a subcarrier spacing (SCS). Note: Examiner is reading said minimum required number symbols for PDCCH detection/decoding time and the associated subcarrier spacing as said preset condition),
the second processing delay is a second CSI processing delay determined in response to the preset condition failing to be met, and the second processing delay is greater than the first processing delay (Note: This limitation relies on a limitation recited in alternate form and thus NOT addressed by the prior art);
and the second time (see Figure 16, explicitly states: “Reception time of last OFDM symbol of AP CSI triggering DCI”) is:
a time at which the first CSI starts to be measured (see paragraph [0513], discloses the time offset of a CSI reference resource is derived from Z with respect to the given CSI latency),
an end moment of a last symbol of the first information (see Figure 16, explicitly states: “Reception time of last OFDM symbol of AP CSI triggering DCI”),
a time of a first symbol of a CSI measurement resource for measuring the first CSI (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not clearly addressed by the prior art),
a start moment of a computing processing unit occupied by the first CSI (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not clearly addressed by the prior art),
a start moment of a next symbol after the first information ends (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not clearly addressed by the prior art), or
determined based on the first information (see paragraph [0240], first CSI reporting timing follows a PUSCH time domain allocation value indicated by DCI, and subsequent CSI reporting follows a periodicity which is configured by RRC).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the CSI reporting procedure (as disclosed in Kim) into Bae as a way of determining a CSI reference resource as close as possible to the CSI reporting time, thereby preventing a resource (a few symbols) from being wasted without being used (please see paragraph [0803] of Kim). Therefore, by reporting the CSI at the determined reporting time, only the most recent CSI is received (please see paragraph [0803] of Kim).
As per claim 13:
Bae teaches an apparatus (see paragraph [0068], second wireless device 200 could be BS 200 as shown in figure 2) comprising:
at least one processor (see Figures 2 and 3, processor(s) 202 or 120);
and a non-transitory computer readable medium configured to store non-transitory instructions, the at least one processor being configured to execute the non- transitory instructions thereby causing the apparatus to perform operations (see paragraph [0079], memory 204 for storing instructions or programs and executed by processor operably connected to memory) comprising:
sending first information (see paragraphs [0015], [0272], UE receiving DCI triggering a CSI report over a PUCCH from the network. Figure 16, paragraph [0276] illustrates PUCCH resources available for A-CSI triggered by DCI. That is, PUCCH1 to PUCCH4. See paragraph [0276], the PUCCH1 to PUCCH4 represent PUCCH resources according to a periodic configuration, wherein the PUCCH1 precedes PUCCH2 in time, PUCCH2 precedes PUCCH3 in time and PUCCH3 precedes PUCCH4 in time. Note: Examiner is reading said periodic configuration as said first information), wherein the first information is useable to indicate a feedback time of first channel state information (CSI) (paragraph [0277] discloses periodicity and offset of a PUCCH resource may be determined by a CSI configuration associated with the triggered CSI),
the feedback time of the first CSI is after a first time (see Figure 16, paragraph [0277], based on the received DCI, UE may transmit CSI on a PUCCH resource configured in a slot after the point in time T+X. Note: Examiner is reading said slot configured for the PUCCH as said feedback time and T+X as said first time),
and the first time is determined based on a second time and a first processing delay (see paragraph [0277], T is a point in time at which DCI triggering CSI is received and X is a minimum CSI computation time from DCI reception. Note: Examiner is reading said minimum CSI computation time X as said first processing delay and T as said second information),
or the first time is determined based on the second time and a second processing delay (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art).
Bae does not clearly teach wherein the first processing delay is a first CSI processing delay determined in response to a preset condition being met,
the second processing delay is a second CSI processing delay determined in response to the preset condition failing to be met, and the second processing delay is greater than the first processing delay;
and the second time is:
a time at which the first CSI starts to be measured,
an end moment of a last symbol of the first information,
a time of a first symbol of a CSI measurement resource for measuring the first CSI,
a start moment of a computing processing unit occupied by the first CSI,
a start moment of a next symbol after the first information ends,
or determined based on the first information.
Kim teaches wherein the first processing delay is a first CSI processing delay determined in response to a preset condition being met (see paragraph [0256] discloses the minimum processing time, Z, after receiving CSI triggering DCI and before performing CSI reporting. Examiner is reading said Z as the first processing delay. Paragraphs [0357]-[0359] and table 7 defines said Z as the minimum required number of symbols for PDCCH detection/decoding time for receiving DCI triggering a CSI report, channel estimation time and CSI calculation time. As illustrated in table 7 said Z is also associated with a subcarrier spacing (SCS). Note: Examiner is reading said minimum required number symbols for PDCCH detection/decoding time and the associated subcarrier spacing as said preset condition),
the second processing delay is a second CSI processing delay determined in response to the preset condition failing to be met, and the second processing delay is greater than the first processing delay (Note: This limitation relies on a limitation recited in alternate form and thus NOT addressed by the prior art);
and the second time (see Figure 16, explicitly states: “Reception time of last OFDM symbol of AP CSI triggering DCI”) is:
a time at which the first CSI starts to be measured (see paragraph [0513], discloses the time offset of a CSI reference resource is derived from Z with respect to the given CSI latency),
an end moment of a last symbol of the first information (see Figure 16, explicitly states: “Reception time of last OFDM symbol of AP CSI triggering DCI”),
a time of a first symbol of a CSI measurement resource for measuring the first CSI (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not clearly addressed by the prior art),
a start moment of a computing processing unit occupied by the first CSI (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not clearly addressed by the prior art),
a start moment of a next symbol after the first information ends (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not clearly addressed by the prior art),
or determined based on the first information (see paragraph [0240], first CSI reporting timing follows a PUSCH time domain allocation value indicated by DCI, and subsequent CSI reporting follows a periodicity which is configured by RRC).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the CSI reporting procedure (as disclosed in Kim) into Bae as a way of determining a CSI reference resource as close as possible to the CSI reporting time, thereby preventing a resource (a few symbols) from being wasted without being used (please see paragraph [0803] of Kim). Therefore, by reporting the CSI at the determined reporting time, only the most recent CSI is received (please see paragraph [0803] of Kim).
4. Claims 2, 3, 8, 9, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae in view of Kim and further in view of Oh (US PG Pub. No. 2024/0032057).
As per claim 2:
Bae in view of Kim teaches the apparatus according to claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the preset condition is at least one of:
a quantity of CSI-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources fails to exceed a preset CSI-RS resource quantity threshold,
a quantity of ports of CSI-RS resources fails to exceed a preset port quantity threshold,
a quantity of candidate ranks fails to exceed a preset rank quantity threshold,
or a quantity of candidate precoding matrices fails to exceed a preset precoding matrix quantity threshold;
and the CSI-RS resource is useable for measuring the first CSI, and one of:
a rank indicator (RI) is useable to indicate a target rank in response to the first CSI comprising the RI, and the target rank is one of the candidate ranks;
or a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), is useable to indicate a target precoding matrix in response to the first CSI comprising the PMI, and the target precoding matrix is one of the candidate precoding matrices.
Oh teaches wherein the preset condition is at least one of:
a quantity of CSI-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources fails to exceed a preset CSI-RS resource quantity threshold (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art),
a quantity of ports of CSI-RS resources fails to exceed a preset port quantity threshold (see paragraph [0331], the Z and Z’ symbols are defined when the number of ports of the reference signal is 4 or less. Paragraph [0327] discloses Z and Z’ represents respective valid times the UE may perform valid CSI report after receiving DCI),
a quantity of candidate ranks fails to exceed a preset rank quantity threshold (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art),
or a quantity of candidate precoding matrices fails to exceed a preset precoding matrix quantity threshold (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art);
and the CSI-RS resource is useable for measuring the first CSI (Note: Limitation(s) relies on a limitation recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art), and one of:
a rank indicator (RI) is useable to indicate a target rank in response to the first CSI comprising the RI, and the target rank is one of the candidate ranks (Note: Limitation(s) relies on a limitation recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art);
or a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), is useable to indicate a target precoding matrix in response to the first CSI comprising the PMI, and the target precoding matrix is one of the candidate precoding matrices (Note: Limitation(s) relies on a limitation recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the CSI reporting time values determined based on the number of ports (as disclosed in Oh) into both Bae and Kim as a way of satisfying a delay requirement (please see paragraph [0331] of Oh).
As per claim 3:
Bae in view of Kim and further in view of Oh teaches the apparatus according to claim 2.
Bae and Kim do not teach wherein a preset CSI-RS resource quantity threshold is 1, a preset port quantity threshold is M,
M is a positive integer,
a preset rank quantity threshold is 1,
a preset precoding matrix quantity threshold is N,
and N is an integer greater than or equal to 1.
Oh teaches wherein a preset CSI-RS resource quantity threshold is 1 (Note: Limitation(s) relies on a limitation recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art),
a preset port quantity threshold is M, M is a positive integer (see paragraph [0331], the Z and Z’ symbols are defined when the number of ports of the reference signal is 4 or less),
a preset rank quantity threshold is 1 (Note: Limitation(s) relies on a limitation recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art),
a preset precoding matrix quantity threshold is N (Note: Limitation(s) relies on a limitation recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art),
and N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (Note: Limitation(s) relies on a limitation recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the CSI reporting time values determined based on the number of ports (as disclosed in Oh) into both Bae and Kim as a way of satisfying a delay requirement (please see paragraph [0331] of Oh).
Claim 8 is rejected in the same scope as claim 2.
Claim 9 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
Claim 14 is rejected in the same scope as claim 2.
Claim 15 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
5. Claims 4-5, 10-11 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae in view of Kim and further in view of Lee (US PG Pub. No. 2020/0177254).
As per claim 4:
Bae in view of Kim teaches the apparatus according to claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the preset condition is at least one:
a quantity of CSI-reference signal (RS) resources fails to exceed a preset CSI-RS resource quantity threshold,
a quantity of candidate ranks corresponding to at least one CSI-RS resource fails to exceed a preset rank quantity threshold,
or a quantity of candidate precoding matrices corresponding to the at least one CSI-RS resource fails to exceed a preset precoding matrix quantity threshold;
the CSI-RS resource is useable for measuring the first CSI, and one of:
a rank indicator (RI) is useable to indicate a target rank in response to the first CSI comprising the RI, and the target rank is one of the candidate ranks;
or a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) is useable to indicate a target precoding matrix in response to the first CSI comprising the PMI, and the target precoding matrix is one of the candidate precoding matrices.
Lee teaches wherein the preset condition (see paragraph [0131], CSI restriction level) is at least one:
a quantity of CSI-reference signal (RS) resources fails to exceed a preset CSI-RS resource quantity threshold (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art),
a quantity of candidate ranks corresponding to at least one CSI-RS resource fails to exceed a preset rank quantity threshold (see paragraph [0133], maximum rank supported may indicate or be used to determine CSI restriction level. For example, a CSI reporting type with a higher maximum rank (or a larger number of candidate values) may require or use a higher CSI restriction level than a CSI reporting type with a lower maximum rank (or a smaller number of candidate values)),
or a quantity of candidate precoding matrices corresponding to the at least one CSI-RS resource fails to exceed a preset precoding matrix quantity threshold (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art);
the CSI-RS resource is useable for measuring the first CSI (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art), and one of:
a rank indicator (RI) is useable to indicate a target rank in response to the first CSI comprising the RI, and the target rank is one of the candidate ranks (see paragraphs [0132]-[0133], discloses either using a higher maximum rank (or larger number of candidate values) or a lower maximum rank (or a smaller number of candidate values) to determine the CSI restriction level);
or a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) is useable to indicate a target precoding matrix in response to the first CSI comprising the PMI, and the target precoding matrix is one of the candidate precoding matrices (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the CSI restriction level (as disclosed in Lee) into both Bae and Kim as a way of supporting a CSI processing time range based on the CSI reporting type (please see paragraph [0129] of Lee).
As per claim 5:
Bae in view of Kim teaches the apparatus according to claim 1 with the exception of
wherein the preset condition is at least one:
a quantity of CSI-reference signal (RS) resources fails to exceed 1,
a quantity of candidate ranks corresponding to at least one CSI-RS resource fails to exceed a preset rank quantity threshold,
or each candidate rank corresponding to the at least one CSI-RS resource corresponds to one candidate precoding matrix, wherein the preset rank quantity threshold is R, and R is an integer greater than 1.
Lee teaches wherein the preset condition (see paragraph [0131], CSI restriction level) is at least one:
a quantity of CSI-reference signal (RS) resources fails to exceed 1 (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art),
a quantity of candidate ranks corresponding to at least one CSI-RS resource fails to exceed a preset rank quantity threshold (see paragraphs [0132]-[0133], discloses either using a higher maximum rank (or larger number of candidate values) or a lower maximum rank (or a smaller number of candidate values) to determine the CSI restriction level. Paragraph [0107] discloses said CSI reporting timings related to the transmitted CSI-RSs),
or each candidate rank corresponding to the at least one CSI-RS resource corresponds to one candidate precoding matrix, wherein the preset rank quantity threshold is R, and R is an integer greater than 1 (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the CSI restriction level (as disclosed in Lee) into both Bae and Kim as a way of supporting a CSI processing time range based on the CSI reporting type (please see paragraph [0129] of Lee).
Claim 10 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4.
Claim 11 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
Claim 16 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4.
Claim 17 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
6. Claims 6, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae in view of Kim and further in view of Li (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0224134).
As per claim 6:
Bae in view of Kim teaches the apparatus according to claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the operations further comprise:
determining a rank useable for a first downlink data channel transmission as a rank of the first CSI, the first downlink data channel transmission being closer to a first moment than other downlink data channel transmission,
or determining a precoding matrix useable for a first downlink data channel transmission as a precoding matrix of the first CSI, the first downlink data channel transmission being closer to the first moment than other downlink data channel transmission wherein the first moment is a current moment, a feedback moment of the first CSI, or a measurement moment of the first CSI.
Li teaches wherein the operations further comprise:
determining a rank useable for a first downlink data channel transmission as a rank of the first CSI, the first downlink data channel transmission being closer to a first moment than other downlink data channel transmission (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art),
or determining a precoding matrix useable for a first downlink data channel transmission as a precoding matrix of the first CSI (see Figure 3A, paragraph [0130], UE may receive CSI-RS 325 and may transmit a CSI report including a PMI 335, associated with RX0 to the base station. The base station may receive the CSI and transmit PDSCH in a slot 305 using a precoder associated with the PMI 335 for RX0. In such cases, the base station may transmit a single PDSCH within slot 305 and may not transmit a second PDSCH using a second precoder associated with a second receive antenna port), the first downlink data channel transmission being closer to the first moment than other downlink data channel transmission (see paragraph [0134], multiple PDSCH are transmitted in slot 305 using common precoder associated with RX0 and RX1) wherein the first moment is a current moment (see paragraphs [0130], [0134], PDSCH transmitted with in slot 305 and thus current time), a feedback moment of the first CSI (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternative form and thus not addressed by the prior art), or a measurement moment of the first CSI (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternative form and thus not addressed by the prior art).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the transmission of PDSCH within a slot using a given precoder (as disclosed in Li) into both Bae and Kim as a way of enabling a receive antenna switching at a UE for a single PDSCH transmission (please see paragraph [0132] of Li).
Claims 12 and 18 are rejected in the same scope as claim 6.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PRINCE A MENSAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
PRINCE AKWASI. MENSAH
Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474