DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2, says “RSCO”, this should be “RSOC”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fasching et al. (USPUB 2022/0190619) in view of Van Phouc (US 5,633,573).
As to Claim 1, Fasching discloses an information handling system, comprising: a battery; and a processor configured to determine that a relative state of charge (RSOC) on the battery is above a threshold RSOC, and when the RSOC is above the threshold RSOC, to determine that an initial temperature of the battery is within a first range, and to discharge the battery to below the threshold RSOC in response to the determining that the time rate of temperature increase is greater than the first slope (Paragraphs 187-188). Fasching does not expressly state to determine that a time rate of temperature increase on the battery is greater than a first slope, the first slope being determined based upon the first range. Van Phouc discloses to determine that a time rate of temperature increase on the battery is greater than a first slope, the first slope being determined based upon the first range (Column 2, lines 6-59). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this invention to take the teachings of Van Phouc’s temperature monitoring and control and add it to the device of Fasching in order to more accurately control and monitor the RSOC of the battery.
As to Claim 2, Fasching and Van Phouc discloses the information handling system of claim 1, further comprising: a first load that is selectably coupled to the battery; and a second load coupled to the battery, the second load being associated with an operation of the information handling system (Fasching Paragraph 109-111).
As to Claim 3, Fasching and Van Phouc discloses the information handling system of claim 2, wherein, in discharging the battery, the processor is further configured to discharge the battery by coupling the first load to the battery (Fasching Paragraph 111).
As to Claim 4, Fasching and Van Phouc discloses the information handling system of claim 2, wherein, in discharging the battery, the processor is further configured to discharge the battery by increasing a current on the second load (Fasching Paragraph 66)
As to Claim 5, Fasching and Van Phouc discloses the information handling system of claim 2, wherein, in discharging the battery, the processor is further configured to discharge the battery by coupling the first load to the battery and by increasing a current on the second load (Fasching Paragraphs 66 and 102).
As to Claim 6, Fasching and Van Phouc discloses the information handling system of claim 1, wherein the processor includes a battery management unit associated with the battery (Fasching Paragraph 77).
As to Claim 7, Fasching and Van Phouc discloses the information handling system of claim 1, wherein the processor includes a baseboard management controller (Figure 1B, Element 112).
As to Claim 8, Fasching and Van Phouc discloses the information handling system of claim 7, wherein the baseboard management controller includes a BIOS application programming interface (Figure 1B, Element 112).
As to Claim 10, Fasching and Van Phouc discloses the information handling system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured, when the RSOC is above the RSOC threshold, to determine that the initial temperature of the battery is within a second range, to determine that the time rate of temperature increase is greater than a second slope, the second slope being determined based upon the second range, and to discharge the battery to below the threshold RSOC in response to the determining that the time rate of temperature increase is greater than the second slope (Figure 13B, Paragraphs 187-188).
As to Claim 11, Fasching discloses a method, comprising: determining, by a processor of an information handling system, that a relative state of charge (RSOC) on a battery of the information handling system is above a threshold RSOC; and when the RSOC is above the RSOC threshold: determining that an initial temperature of the battery is within a temperature range; and discharging the battery to below the threshold RSOC in response to the determining that the time rate of temperature increase is greater than the first slope (Paragraph 187-188). Van Phouc discloses determining that a time rate of temperature increase on the battery is greater than a first slope, the first slope being determined based upon the first range (Column 2, lines 6-59). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this invention to take the teachings of Van Phouc’s temperature monitoring and control and add it to the device of Fasching in order to more accurately control and monitor the RSOC of the battery.
As to Claim 12, Fasching and Van Phouc discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: selectably coupling a first load to the battery; and coupling a second load to the battery, the second load being associated with an operation of the information handling system (Fasching Paragraphs 109-111).
As to Claim 13, Fasching and Van Phouc discloses the method of claim 2, wherein, in discharging the battery, the method further comprises: discharging the battery by coupling the first load to the battery (Fasching Paragraph 111).
As to Claim 14, Fasching and Van Phouc discloses the method of claim 2, wherein, in discharging the battery, the method further comprises: discharging the battery by increasing a current on the second load (Fasching Paragraph 66).
As to Claim 15, Fasching and Van Phouc discloses the method of claim 2, wherein, in discharging the battery, the method further comprises: discharging the battery by coupling the first load to the battery and by increasing a current on the second load (Fasching Paragraphs 66 and 102).
As to Claim 16, Fasching and Van Phouc discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the processor includes a battery management unit associated with the battery (Fasching Paragraph 77).
As to Claim 17, Fasching and Van Phouc discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the processor includes a baseboard management controller (Fasching Figure 1B, Element 112).
As to Claim 18, Fasching and Van Phouc discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the baseboard management controller includes a BIOS application programming interface (Fasching Figure 1B, Element 112)).
As to Claim 20, Fasching discloses an information handling system, comprising: a baseboard management controller a battery module including a battery and a battery management unit, wherein the battery management unit is configured, when a relative state of charge (RSOC) of the battery is above a threshold RSOC, to determine that an initial temperature of the battery is within a first range, to discharge the battery to below the threshold RSOC in response to the determining that the time rate of temperature increase is greater than the first slope, and to provide an indication to the baseboard management controller that the battery is being discharged (Paragraphs 187-188). Fasching does not expressly disclose determining that a time rate of temperature increase on the battery is greater than a first slope, the first slope being determined based upon the first range.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT GRANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859