DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1 and 13-14 is/are independent.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged. The prior-filed application is U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/333,998 (filed on 4/22/2022).
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 4/21/2023 and 8/1/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
each instance of a “controller configured to” perform some action in claims 1-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 13-14 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jin et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0119579) (hereinafter “Jin”).
Regarding claim 1, Jin teaches a system comprising: a first energy source configured to provide a first energy output; (Fig. 1 - - second energy storage device 122 is a first energy source which provides a first energy output)
a second energy source configured to provide a second energy output, (Fig. 1 - - first energy device 120 is a second energy source which provides second output)
the first energy source capable of changing the first energy output more quickly than the second energy source is capable of changing the second energy output; (Fig. 9, Para. 25 - - second energy device 122 is faster, i.e. capable of changing energy output more quickly, than first energy device 120)
and a controller configured to: receive a request signal indicative of a requested amount of energy; (Fig. 1, Para. 41 - - regulation signal is a signal requesting an amount of energy)
generate a first control signal at least partially responsive to the request signal, the first control signal indicative of a first portion of the requested amount of energy to be provided by the first energy source; provide the first control signal to the first energy source; (Fig. 1 - - controller generates first control signal for energy device 122, i.e. first energy source, which depends on, i.e. indicative of, requested regulation signal 112, and where the first control signal is provided to the first energy source, i.e. second energy device 122)
generate a second control signal at least partially responsive to the request signal, the second control signal indicative of a second portion of the requested amount of energy to be provided by the second energy source; and provide the second control signal to the second energy source. (Fig. 1 - - controller generates second control signal for energy device 120, i.e. second energy source, which depends on, i.e. indicative of, requested regulation signal 112, and where the second control signal is provided to the second energy source, i.e. first energy device 120)
Regarding claim 2, Jin further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to generate the first control signal at least partially responsive to a first capability of the first energy source to change the first energy output (Para. 25 - - controller controls first energy source to change energy output based on the fast capability of the fast unit, i.e. first energy source)
and wherein the controller is further configured to generate the second control signal at least partially responsive to a second capability of the second energy source to change the second energy output. (Para. 25 - - controller controls second energy source to change energy output based on the slower capability of the slow unit, i.e. second energy source)
Regarding claim 3, Jin further teaches wherein the first energy source comprises one or more of: one or more batteries and one or more ultracapacitors (Para. 25 - - fast unit, i.e. first energy source, can be battery, super capacitor, etc.)
and wherein the second energy source comprises one or more generators. (Para. 25 - - second energy source is the slow unit that can be a conventional generation unit, i.e. generator)
Regarding claim 4, Jin further teaches wherein the request signal is a control signal from a servicing authority. (Para. 25 - - regulation signal 112 indicates output change needed in the system in order to meet an imbalance on an electrical power grid, where such a regulation signal, i.e. control signal, is generated by servicing authorities in order to maintain electrical power grids)
Regarding claim 13, Jin teaches a controller comprising: a first output terminal configured to provide a first control signal to a first energy source; (Fig. 1 - - second energy storage device 122 is a first energy source which provides a first energy output)
a second output terminal configured provide a second control signal to a second energy source; (Fig. 1 - - first energy device 120 is a second energy source which provides second output)
and circuitry configured to: generate the first control signal to be provided to the first energy source via the first output terminal at least partially responsive to a request signal and at least partially responsive to a first capability of the first energy source to change a first energy output of the first energy source, the first control signal indicative of a first portion of a requested amount of energy to be provided by the first energy source; (Fig. 1 - - controller generates first control signal for energy device 122, i.e. first energy source, which depends on, i.e. indicative of, requested regulation signal 112, and where the first control signal is provided to the first energy source, i.e. second energy device 122; Fig. 1, Para. 41 - - regulation signal is a signal requesting an amount of energy)
and generate the second control signal to be provided to the first energy source via the second output terminal at least partially responsive to the request signal and at least partially responsive to a second capability of the second energy source to change a second energy output of the second energy source, the second control signal indicative of a second portion of the requested amount of energy to be provided by the second energy source. (Fig. 1 - - controller generates second control signal for energy device 120, i.e. second energy source, which depends on, i.e. indicative of, requested regulation signal 112, and where the second control signal is provided to the second energy source, i.e. first energy device 120; Fig. 1, Para. 41 - - regulation signal is a signal requesting an amount of energy)
Regarding claim 14, Jin teaches a method comprising: generating a first control signal at least partially responsive to a request signal and at least partially responsive to a first capability of a first energy source to change a first energy output of the first energy source, the first control signal indicative of a first portion of a requested amount of energy to be provided by the first energy source; (Fig. 1 - - controller generates first control signal for energy device 122, i.e. first energy source, which depends on, i.e. indicative of, requested regulation signal 112, and where the first control signal is provided to the first energy source, i.e. second energy device 122; Fig. 1, Para. 41 - - regulation signal is a signal requesting an amount of energy)
and generating a second control signal at least partially responsive to the request signal and at least partially responsive to a second capability of a second energy source to change a second energy output of the second energy source, the second control signal indicative of a second portion of the requested amount of energy to be provided by the second energy source. (Fig. 1 - - controller generates second control signal for energy device 120, i.e. second energy source, which depends on, i.e. indicative of, requested regulation signal 112, and where the second control signal is provided to the second energy source, i.e. first energy device 120; Fig. 1, Para. 41 - - regulation signal is a signal requesting an amount of energy)
Regarding claim 16, Jin further teaches receiving the request signal; providing the first control signal to the first energy source; and providing the second control signal to the second energy source. (Fig. 1, Para. 41 - - regulation signal, i.e. request signal is received; Fig. 1 - - the first control signal is provided to the first energy source, i.e. second energy device 122, and the second control signal is provided to the second energy source, i.e. first energy device 120)
Regarding claim 17, Jin further teaches providing the first control signal to the first energy source comprises providing the first control signal to one or more of: one or more batteries and one or more ultracapacitors; (Para. 25 - - fast unit, i.e. first energy source, can be battery, super capacitor, i.e. ultracapacitor)
and providing the second control signal to the second energy source comprises providing the second control signal to one or more generators. (Para. 25 - - second energy source is the slow unit that can be a conventional generation unit, i.e. generator)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, 9-12, 15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0119579) (hereinafter “Jin”) in view of Short et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0287422) (hereinafter “Short”).
Regarding claim 5, Jin teaches all the limitations of the base claim(s) 1.
But Jin does not explicitly teach to generate the first control signal and the second control signal at least partially based on a variational mode decomposition of the request signal.
However, Short further teaches to generate the first control signal and the second control signal at least partially based on a variational mode decomposition of the request signal. (Para. 167 - - signal decomposition is used)
Jin and Short are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain processing control signals in electrical grids.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Jin, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by Short.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide near real time signal separation, as suggested by Short (Para. 8).
Regarding claim 6, Jin teaches all the limitations of the base claim(s) 1.
Jin further teaches a difference between the second portion of the requested amount of energy indicated by the second control signal and the second energy output of the second energy source; (Para. 32 - - change of output needed to meet an imbalance is a difference between amount of energy needed, i.e. requested, and output of second energy source)
But Jin does not explicitly teach teaches to: generate a residual error signal at least partially responsive to a difference…; and provide the residual error signal to the first energy source.
However, Short further teaches to: generate a residual error signal at least partially responsive to a difference (Para. 156, 244 - - residual error is based on a difference)
and provide the residual error signal to the first energy source. (Para. 156, 244 - - residual error is used)
Jin and Short are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain processing control signals in electrical grids.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Jin, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by Short.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide near real time signal separation, as suggested by Short (Para. 8).
Regarding claim 9, Jin teaches all the limitations of the base claim(s) 1.
Jin further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to generate a third control signal at least partially responsive to the first control signal, and wherein the controller is further configured to generate a fourth control signal at least partially responsive to the first control signal. (Fig. 1 - - two more control signals, i.e. third and fourth, depend upon first control signal which is used to control first energy device 122)
But Jin does not explicitly teach wherein the first energy source comprises a third energy source and a fourth energy source,
However, Short further teaches wherein the first energy source comprises a third energy source and a fourth energy source, (Para. 167 - - signal decomposition is used)
Jin and Short are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain processing control signals in electrical grids.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Jin, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by Short.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide near real time signal separation, as suggested by Short (Para. 8).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Jin and Short teaches all the limitations of the base claim(s) 1 and 9.
Jin does not explicitly teach, but Short further teaches to generate the third control signal and the fourth control signal at least partially based on a variational mode decomposition of the first control signal. (Para. 167 - - signal decomposition is used)
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Jin and Short teaches all the limitations of the base claim(s) 1 and 9.
Jin further teaches to generate the third control signal at least partially responsive to a capability of the third energy source; and wherein the controller is further configured to generate the fourth control signal at least partially responsive to a capability of the fourth energy source. (Fig. 1 - - third and fourth signals, i.e. branching out of first energy device which depends or is controlled by first control signal, are according to the needs of the third and fourth entities respectively)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Jin and Short teaches all the limitations of the base claim(s) 1, 9 and 11.
Jin further teaches wherein the third energy source comprises one or more batteries and wherein the fourth energy source comprises one or more ultracapacitors. (Para. 25 - - fast unit, i.e. first energy source, can be battery, super capacitor, i.e. ultracapacitor)
Regarding claim 15, Jin teaches all the limitations of the base claim(s) 14.
But Jin does not explicitly teach to generate the first control signal and the second control signal at least partially based on a variational mode decomposition of the request signal.
However, Short further teaches performing a variational mode decomposition relative to the request signal to generate the first control signal and the second control signal. (Para. 167 - - signal decomposition is used)
Jin and Short are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain processing control signals in electrical grids.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Jin, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by Short.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide near real time signal separation, as suggested by Short (Para. 8).
Regarding claim 18, Jin teaches all the limitations of the base claim(s) 14.
Jin further teaches a difference between the second portion of the requested amount of energy indicated by the second control signal and the second energy output of the second energy source; (Para. 32 - - change of output needed to meet an imbalance is a difference between amount of energy needed, i.e. requested, and output of second energy source)
But Jin does not explicitly teach teaches generating a residual error signal at least partially responsive to a difference…; and provide the residual error signal to the first energy source.
However, Short further teaches to: generate a residual error signal at least partially responsive to a difference (Para. 156, 244 - - residual error is based on a difference)
and providing the residual error signal to the first energy source. (Para. 156, 244 - - residual error is used)
Jin and Short are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain processing control signals in electrical grids.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Jin, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by Short.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide near real time signal separation, as suggested by Short (Para. 8).
Regarding claim 19, Jin teaches all the limitations of the base claim(s) 14.
But Jin does not explicitly teach generating the first control signal and the second control signal comprises generating the first control signal and the second control signal at least partially based on a variational mode decomposition of the request signal.
However, Short further teaches generating the first control signal and the second control signal comprises generating the first control signal and the second control signal at least partially based on a variational mode decomposition of the request signal. (Para. 167 - - signal decomposition is used)
Jin and Short are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain processing control signals in electrical grids.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Jin, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by Short.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide near real time signal separation, as suggested by Short (Para. 8).
Regarding claim 20, Jin teaches all the limitations of the base claim(s) 14.
Jin further teaches further comprising: generating a third control signal at least partially responsive to the first control signal; generate a fourth control signal at least partially responsive to the first control signal; providing the third control signal to the third energy source; and providing the fourth control signal to the fourth energy source. (Fig. 1 - - two more control signals, i.e. third and fourth, depend upon first control signal which is used to control first energy device 122, where the third and fourth control signals control third and fourth entities)
But Jin does not explicitly teach wherein the first energy source comprises a third energy source and a fourth energy source,
However, Short further teaches wherein the first energy source comprises a third energy source and a fourth energy source, (Para. 167 - - signal decomposition is used)
Jin and Short are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain processing control signals in electrical grids.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Jin, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by Short.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide near real time signal separation, as suggested by Short (Para. 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim(s), but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim(s) and any intervening claim(s).
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/SAAD M KABIR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119