CTNF 18/304,740 CTNF 84410 DETAILED ACTION Status of Case 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This Office Action is in response to the RCE filed on 4/13/2026. Claims 1-30 are pending. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 4/13/2026 has been entered. Response to Arguments 07-38 Applicant’s arguments filed on 4/2/2026 with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-4, 10-14, 20-22, 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yli-Kotila (USPN 5,539,925) in view of Hsu (USPN 9,237,523) . Consider claims 1 and 27, Yli-Kotila discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (see figures 1-2 (reproduced below for convenience, and figure 3, wherein disclosed is a mobile station (MS) for a radio telephone) , and a corresponding method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (see see col. 3 line 45 to col. 4 line 7, wherein disclosed is said method) , configured to: receive a burst transmission including one or more packets (see col. 3 lines 7-18: “Each burst contains a frame…”) ; and transition from a first communication state to a second communication state based at least in part on receiving a power control indication triggered by an end of burst indication associated with burst metadata accompanying the burst transmission, wherein a power of the second communication state is different from a power of the first communication state (see col. 3 line 45 to col. 4 line 7: “… a turn-off message is transmitted to the radio telephone MS at the end of each signalling burst transmitted by the base station BS during its transmission period. The turn-off message permits the radio telephone MS t o turn off its unnecessary power-consuming portions for a turn-off period indicated by the message . Typically, the turnoff period is equal to the period of time after which the next transmission period of the respective base station BS begins at the earliest. The turn-off message may also contain an information field which defines the radio telephones MS to which the turn-off message applies. The information field may contain, e.g. part of the calling number of the radio telephone MS, e.g the three least significant bits of the calling number. Such a selective turn-off message allows predetermined radio telephones MS to be switched to the low-power state for a desired period of time ...”) . PNG media_image1.png 462 446 media_image1.png Greyscale Yli-Kotila does not specifically disclose that the end of burst indication is included in a header of at least one packet of the one or more packets. Hsu discloses that an end of burst indication is included in a header of at least one packet (see claim 4: the MAC header indicates an end of a burst of data packets). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yli-Kotila and combine it with the noted teachings of Hsu. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for power saving class and sleep mode operation that reduces network resources (see col. 1 lines 16-60 of Hsu) . Consider claims 2 and 11, Yli-Kotila discloses that the power control indication is a power saving indication (see col. 3 line 45 to col. 4 line 7: “… a turn-off message is transmitted to the radio telephone MS at the end of each signalling burst transmitted by the base station BS during its transmission period. The turn-off message permits the radio telephone MS to turn off its unnecessary power-consuming portions for a turn-off period indicated by the message). Consider claims 3 and 12, Yli-Kotila discloses that the power of the second communication state is less than the power of the first communication state (see col. 3 line 45 to col. 4 line 7: the power turn off mode or the low-power mode are both power states that are less than the normal, active mode) . Consider claim 4, Yli-Kotila discloses that the end of burst indication comprises an indicator in a packet that indicates that the packet is a last packet of the burst transmission (see col. 3 line 45 to col. 4 line 7: the turn-off message is transmitted “at the end of each signalling burst”) . Consider claim 10, Yli-Kotila discloses a network entity for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (see figures 1-2 (reproduced below for convenience, and figure 3, wherein disclosed is a base station (BS)) , configured to: receive an end of burst indication, associated with burst metadata accompanying a burst transmission of one or more packets, identifying an end of the burst transmission of one or more packets; and transmit a power control indication, in connection with the burst transmission of the one or more packets, to indicate a transition from a first communication state to a second communication state, wherein a power of the second communication state is different from a power of the first communication state (see col. 3 lines 7-18: “Each burst contains a frame…”; see col. 3 line 45 to col. 4 line 7: “… a turn-off message is transmitted to the radio telephone MS at the end of each signalling burst transmitted by the base station BS during its transmission period. The turn-off message permits the radio telephone MS t o turn off its unnecessary power-consuming portions for a turn-off period indicated by the message . Typically, the turnoff period is equal to the period of time after which the next transmission period of the respective base station BS begins at the earliest. The turn-off message may also contain an information field which defines the radio telephones MS to which the turn-off message applies. The information field may contain, e.g. part of the calling number of the radio telephone MS, e.g the three least significant bits of the calling number. Such a selective turn-off message allows predetermined radio telephones MS to be switched to the low-power state for a desired period of time ...”) . PNG media_image1.png 462 446 media_image1.png Greyscale Yli-Kotila does not specifically disclose that the end of burst indication is included in a header of at least one packet of the one or more packets. Hsu discloses that an end of burst indication is included in a header of at least one packet (see claim 4: the MAC header indicates an end of a burst of data packets). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yli-Kotila and combine it with the noted teachings of Hsu. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for power saving class and sleep mode operation that reduces network resources (see col. 1 lines 16-60 of Hsu) . Consider claims 13 and 21, Yli-Kotila discloses that the end of the burst indication is included in the burst metadata (see col. 3 line 45 to col. 4 line 7: the turn-off message is transmitted “at the end of each signalling burst”; “the turn-off message may also contain an information field which defines the radio telephones MS to which the turn-off message applies”) . Consider claims 14, 22, and 28, Yli-Kotila discloses that the end of burst indication comprises an indicator, in a packet associated with the burst transmission, that indicates that the packet is a last packet of the burst transmission (see col. 3 line 45 to col. 4 line 7: the turn-off message is transmitted “at the end of each signalling burst”) . Consider claim 20, Yli-Kotila discloses a network entity for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (see figures 1-2 (reproduced below for convenience, and figure 3, wherein disclosed is a base station (BS)) , configured to: receive application data for transmission to a user equipment (UE) via another network entity; and transmit the application data with an end of burst indication, associated with burst metadata accompanying a burst transmission of one or more packets of the application data, identifying an end of the burst transmission of one or more packets (see col. 3 lines 7-18: “Each burst contains a frame…”; see col. 3 line 45 to col. 4 line 7: “… a turn-off message is transmitted to the radio telephone MS at the end of each signalling burst transmitted by the base station BS during its transmission period. The turn-off message permits the radio telephone MS t o turn off its unnecessary power-consuming portions for a turn-off period indicated by the message . Typically, the turnoff period is equal to the period of time after which the next transmission period of the respective base station BS begins at the earliest. The turn-off message may also contain an information field which defines the radio telephones MS to which the turn-off message applies. The information field may contain, e.g. part of the calling number of the radio telephone MS, e.g the three least significant bits of the calling number. Such a selective turn-off message allows predetermined radio telephones MS to be switched to the low-power state for a desired period of time ...”) . PNG media_image1.png 462 446 media_image1.png Greyscale Yli-Kotila does not specifically disclose that the end of burst indication is included in a header of at least one packet of the one or more packets. Hsu discloses that an end of burst indication is included in a header of at least one packet (see claim 4: the MAC header indicates an end of a burst of data packets). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yli-Kotila and combine it with the noted teachings of Hsu. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for power saving class and sleep mode operation that reduces network resources (see col. 1 lines 16-60 of Hsu) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5, 15, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yli-Kotila (USPN 5,539,925) in view of Hsu (USPN 9,237,523) and Harrang (USPAN 2014/0105019) . Consider claims 5, 15, and 29, although Yli-Kotila discloses transitioning from the first communication state to the second communication state (see above) , but does not disclose to transition from the first communication state to the second communication state based at least in part on a detection of packet loss and an expiration of a timer. Harrang discloses to transition from the first communication state to the second communication state based at least in part on a detection of packet loss and an expiration of a timer (see paragraph 65: “…a computer system may reach in an idle state when one or more lower protocol layers or algorithms is prepared to apply or enforce non-steady-state flow control mechanisms, for reasons that may include the amount of time elapsed since the last packet was sent (e.g., timer expired); an undesirable amount of packet loss due to error or congestion”) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yli-Kotila and combine it with the noted teachings of Harrang. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for a computer system to understand the capacity of a network at any given time, such as end-to-end throughput performance in a manner that does not distort the measurements (see paragraph 4 of Harrang) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6-8, 16-18, 23-25, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yli-Kotila (USPN 5,539,925) in view of Hsu (USPN 9,237,523) and Joisten-Pieritz (USPAN 2022/0219559) . Consider claims 6 and 30, Yli-Kotila does not specifically disclose that the end of burst indication is based at least in part on at least one of: a burst service flow parameter, a burst sequence number parameter, an end of burst flag, a parameter identifying a quantity of packets in the burst transmission, or a parameter identifying a sequence number of the one or more packets in the burst transmission. Joisten-Pieritz discloses that the end of burst indication is based at least in part on at least one of: a burst service flow parameter, a burst sequence number parameter, an end of burst flag, a parameter identifying a quantity of packets in the burst transmission, or a parameter identifying a sequence number of the one or more packets in the burst transmission (see paragraph 80: In order for the recipient to identify the beginning and end of a burst, a known bit pattern (three zeros) is also sent, known as a “tail,” i.e. which is taken to be either a burst sequence number parameter or an end of burst flag) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yli-Kotila and combine it with the noted teachings of Joisten-Pieritz. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for charging electrically operated vehicles and providing an identification for an end of burst packet (see paragraphs 1 and 80 of Joisten-Pieritz) . Consider claims 7, 17, and 24, although Yli-Kotila discloses an end of burst indication is based at least in part on burst metadata included in a packet radio service tunnelling user plane header of at least one packet (see above) , Yli-Kotila does not disclose a general packet radio service tunnelling protocol user plane header of at least one packet Joisten-Pieritz discloses a general packet radio service tunnelling protocol user plane header of at least one packet (see paragraph 89: message information of GPRS protocol) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yli-Kotila and combine it with the noted teachings of Joisten-Pieritz. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for charging electrically operated vehicles and providing an identification for an end of burst packet (see paragraphs 1 and 80 of Joisten-Pieritz) . Consider claims 8, 18, and 25, Yli-Kotila does not specifically disclose that the burst metadata includes a burst service flow parameter, a burst sequence number parameter, a parameter indicating one or more last application data units (ADUs) of a burst, or an ADU sequence number parameter. Joisten-Pieritz discloses that the burst metadata includes a burst service flow parameter, a burst sequence number parameter, a parameter indicating one or more last application data units (ADUs) of a burst, or an ADU sequence number parameter (see paragraph 80: In order for the recipient to identify the beginning and end of a burst, a known bit pattern (three zeros) is also sent, known as a “tail,” i.e. a burst sequence number parameter ) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yli-Kotila and combine it with the noted teachings of Joisten-Pieritz. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for charging electrically operated vehicles and providing an identification for an end of burst packet (see paragraphs 1 and 80 of Joisten-Pieritz) . Consider claims 16 and 23, Yli-Kotila does not specifically disclose that the burst metadata associated with the end of burst indication includes at least one of: a burst service flow parameter, a burst sequence number parameter, an end of burst flag, a parameter identifying a quantity of packets in the burst transmission, or a parameter identifying a sequence number of the one or more packets in the burst transmission. Joisten-Pieritz discloses that the burst metadata associated with the end of burst indication includes at least one of: a burst service flow parameter, a burst sequence number parameter, an end of burst flag, a parameter identifying a quantity of packets in the burst transmission, or a parameter identifying a sequence number of the one or more packets in the burst transmission (see paragraph 80: In order for the recipient to identify the beginning and end of a burst, a known bit pattern (three zeros) is also sent, known as a “tail,” i.e. a burst sequence number parameter) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yli-Kotila and combine it with the noted teachings of Joisten-Pieritz. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for charging electrically operated vehicles and providing an identification for an end of burst packet (see paragraphs 1 and 80 of Joisten-Pieritz) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yli-Kotila (USPN 5,539,925) in view of Hsu (USPN 9,237,523), Joisten-Pieritz (USPAN 2022/0219559) and Liou (USPAN 2002/0147834) . Consider claims 9 and 19, although Yli-Kotila discloses the burst metadata includes information (see above) , Yli-Kotila does not specifically disclose that it includes an application data unit (ADU) content policy parameter, an ADU discard time parameter, or an ADU size parameter. Liou discloses an application data unit (ADU) content policy parameter, an ADU discard time parameter, or an ADU size parameter (see paragraph 62: ADU with size parameter limitation of “up to 1 Mbyte”) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yli-Kotila and combine it with the noted teachings of Liou. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a metho for data transmission over low bitrate wireless networks (see paragraph 3 of Liou) . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Jamal Javaid whose telephone number is 571-270-5137 and email address is Jamal.Javaid@uspto.gov. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Jiang, can be reached on 571-270-7191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). /JAMAL JAVAID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/304,740 Page 2 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/304,740 Page 3 Art Unit: 2412