DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 11/26/2025 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1-30 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 15, 27, and 29 (See Remarks at 11-12) have been considered but are not persuasive. The arguments rely on a newly recited limitation, whereas the new ground of rejection relies on newly cited paragraph [0300] of Grossmann for the teaching specifically challenged in the arguments.
Claim Interpretation
The broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of “carrier indicator field (CIF)” recited in Claims 1-30 includes any field that somehow indicates a carrier in a wireless network (See the instant specification, “[0003] Wireless communication systems are widely deployed to provide various telecommunication services such as telephony, video, data, messaging, and broadcasts…. LTE/LTE-Advanced is a set of enhancements to the Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS) mobile standard promulgated by the Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP). [0004] A wireless network may include one or more network nodes that support communication for wireless communication devices,… Some wireless networks may support device-to-device communication, such as via a local link (e.g., a sidelink (SL), a wireless local area network (WLAN) link, and/or a wireless personal area network (WPAN) link, among other examples). [0018] FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating an example of a wireless network, in accordance with the present disclosure.”). As a result, BRI of “CIF” includes, but is not limited to “carrier indicator field” as in 3GPP TS 38.213.
Under the BRI of “CIF”, the limitation “carrier indicator field (CIF) value that indicates a slot” recited in Claims 1-30 is interpreted as requiring the value of the field indicating a carrier in a wireless network to also indicate a slot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13:
The phrase “in order of the CIF value” in the limitation “wherein the DCI is decoded in order of the CIF value” renders the claim indefinite because ordering requires at least two values, and it is unclear how a single value (the CIF value) can be ordered. The specification states ([0092]) that “the UE 120 may decode DCI in order of CIF value, as the CIF values are ordered,” making clear that a plurality of CIF values is contemplated. For purposes of examination, the limitation “wherein the DCI is decoded in order of the CIF value” is interpreted as “wherein the DCI is decoded in an order associated with the CIF value.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11-12, 14-19, and 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Grossmann et al. (US 20230125672 A1, hereafter Grossmann) in view of Lee (US 20210377996 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Grossmann discloses:
A user equipment (UE) (Fig.10, UE 1000) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories (Fig.10, memory module 1020); and one or more processors (Fig.10, 1010, 1030, 1040, 1050, 1060), coupled to the one or more memories, which are configured, individually or in any combination, to: receive physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration information (a configuration of one or more search space sets … wherein each search space set comprises a number of PDCCH candidates) indicating a set of PDCCH candidates (a set of a number of PDCCH candidates comprised in one or more search space sets) for decoding in a PDCCH monitoring occasion (one or more monitoring occasions for the reception of the PDCCH(s) on the search space set(s)) and indicating a set of groupings of PDCCH candidates (a number of PDCCH candidates comprised in each search space set) of the set of PDCCH candidates (Figs.7&8; [0184] In accordance with an embodiment, the UE is configured to receive an association of one or more TCI-state(s) with one or more search space set pool(s). The UE may be configured to receive the indication of the association via a PHY-layer indication, a MAC-CE message (i.e., MAC-CE layer indication), or via a higher layer. In another alternative, the association may be fixed and provided in the 3GPP NR specifications. After the UE has obtained the association of one or more TCI-state(s) with a search space set pool, the UE may apply the QCL assumption(s) provided in the TCI-state(s) during one or more monitoring occasions for the reception of the PDCCH(s) on the search space set(s) associated with the search space set pool. [0370] (801) receiving from a network node (or gNB), via a higher layer, a configuration of one or more search space sets which are associated with one or more CORESETs, for one or more PDCCHs, wherein each search space set comprises a number of PDCCH candidates and each PDCCH candidate comprises or is made up of a number of resource elements, also called control channel elements (CCEs) and the UE monitors for one or more DCIs of a specific format or formats as indicated via a higher layer in the configured PDCCH candidates; [0377] The method further comprises monitoring the at least two PDCCH candidates on one or more search space sets. The method may further comprise combining or jointly processing at least two PDCCHs received on said at least two PDCCH candidates to decode the DCI. The combining or jointly processing of the at least two PDCCH candidates is performed during the decoding of the DCI.), wherein the set of groupings is associated with a set of prioritizations ([0163] In accordance with an embodiment, an ordering of the aggregation levels is performed in each search space set in the search space set pool, either in ascending or descending order, wherein the i-th PDCCH candidates of the l-th ordered aggregation level of two or more search space sets in the search space set pool are associated with the same DCI content. [0188] the UE applies the QCL assumptions from sm≤sn TCI-states to sn search space sets after a certain ordering of the TCI-states and/or mapping between the TCI-states and the search space sets for the reception of at least one PDCCH in the sn search space sets in the CORESET, or [0189] the UE applies the QCL assumptions from tm≤tn TCI-states to sn search space sets after a certain ordering of the TCI-states and/or mapping between the TCI-states and the search space sets for the reception of at least one PDCCH in the sn search space sets in the CORESET.; See also Figs.9&11, [404]-[413], [418]-[421]); and receive, in a first bandwidth (an active downlink bandwidth part … on which UE … monitoring a set of PDCCH candidates) and in the PDCCH monitoring occasion (one or more monitoring occasions for the reception of the PDCCH(s) on the search space set(s)) associated with the set of PDCCH candidates (a set of a number of PDCCH candidates comprised in one or more search space sets), downlink control information (DCI) (DCI) scheduling resources (resources assigned by the time domain resource assignment) on a second bandwidth (a downlink bandwidth part where PDSCH is scheduled or an uplink bandwidth part where PUSCH is scheduled) ([0122] Each PDCCH candidate may be associated with a DCI of a particular format, wherein all the DCIs have the same functionality, i.e., all the DCIs may schedule the same PDSCH, PUSCH, sidelink, provide the same slot format indication, transmit power control command(s) or availability of soft resources, etc. The information carried by each DCI can be in part different with respect to at least one other DCI. In one example, the TCI-state settings indicated by the DCI may be different for the DCIs that schedule the same PDSCH or PUSCH. In another example, the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment (e.g., slot offset, symbol starting index and PDSCH/PUSCH length) in the DCIs for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH may be different. For instance, depending on the slot in which the DCI is transmitted, the slot offset value in the DCIs may be different.), wherein the DCI is decoded from the set of PDCCH candidates (a set of a number of PDCCH candidates comprised in one or more search space sets) (Figs.7&8; [0184] the UE may apply the QCL assumption(s) provided in the TCI-state(s) during one or more monitoring occasions for the reception of the PDCCH(s) on the search space set(s) associated with the search space set pool. [0370] the UE monitors for one or more DCIs of a specific format or formats as indicated via a higher layer in the configured PDCCH candidates; [0377] The method further comprises monitoring the at least two PDCCH candidates on one or more search space sets. The method may further comprise combining or jointly processing at least two PDCCHs received on said at least two PDCCH candidates to decode the DCI. The combining or jointly processing of the at least two PDCCH candidates is performed during the decoding of the DCI. [0385] According to an embodiment, a method performed by the UE comprises monitoring a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more CORESETs on an active downlink bandwidth part on each activated serving cell configured with PDCCH monitoring according to corresponding search space sets.) in an order associated with the set of prioritizations ([0300] For example, the UE may be configured to attempt blind decoding of the PDCCH candidate with the highest aggregation level in the group first, or to attempt blind decoding of only the PDCCH candidate with the highest aggregation level in the group. When multiple PDCCH candidates are configured with the highest aggregation level value in the group, the UE may attempt decoding of either one of them or may perform soft-combing and/or joint processing of them.), and wherein the DCI (DCI) includes a parameter value (the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment) that indicates a time domain resource assignment that is scheduled by the DCI ([0122] In another example, the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment (e.g., slot offset, symbol starting index and PDSCH/PUSCH length) in the DCIs for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH may be different.).
Grossmann does not disclose the parameter is a carrier indicator field (CIF) and the time domain resource assignment comprises a slot.
However, Lee discloses:
a parameter is a carrier indicator field (CIF) (information in DCI 2103 that schedules the PDSCH 2102 on the cell B (hence indicates the cell or carrier B) on slot #n and/or schedules the PDSCH 2105 on the cell A (hence indicates the cell A) on slot #n) and a time domain resource assignment comprises a slot (Fig. 21A, Slot #(n-1), Slot #n; Fig. 21B, Slot #n, Slot #(n+1)) (Figs.21A&21B; [0135] Referring to FIG. 21A, the UE 100 may transmit HARQ-ACK 2101 in response to the PDSCH 2102 scheduled on the cell B by the first DCI 2103 on a slot # (n+K1), wherein n is the slot index of the PDSCH 2102, and K1 may be indicated by the first DCI 2103. Referring to FIG. 21B, in response to the PDSCH 2105 scheduled on the cell A by the first DCI 2103, the UE 100 may transmit HARQ-ACK 2104 on a slot # (n+K1), wherein n is the slot index of the PDSCH 2105, and K1 may be indicated by the first DCI 2103.; See also [0038] which states “Each cell 105 may be referred to one component carrier in CA.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the parameter of Grossmann to be a carrier indicator field (CIF) and modify the time domain resource assignment of Grossman to comprise a slot as taught by Lee, in order to increase the overall system throughput by flexibly utilizing aggregated bandwidth via scheduling (Lee, [004]).
Regarding claim 15, Grossmann discloses:
A network entity (Fig.11, network node (or gNB) 1100) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories (Fig.11, memory module 1120); and one or more processors (Fig.11, 1110, 1130, 1140, 1150, 1160), coupled to the one or more memories, which are configured, individually or in any combination, to:
transmit physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration information (a configuration of one or more search space sets … wherein each search space set comprises a number of PDCCH candidates) indicating a set of PDCCH candidates (a set of a number of PDCCH candidates comprised in one or more search space sets) for decoding in a PDCCH monitoring occasion (one or more monitoring occasions for the reception of the PDCCH(s) on the search space set(s)) and indicating a set of groupings of PDCCH candidates (a number of PDCCH candidates comprised in each search space set) of the set of PDCCH candidates (Figs.7&8; [0184] In accordance with an embodiment, the UE is configured to receive an association of one or more TCI-state(s) with one or more search space set pool(s). The UE may be configured to receive the indication of the association via a PHY-layer indication, a MAC-CE message (i.e., MAC-CE layer indication), or via a higher layer. In another alternative, the association may be fixed and provided in the 3GPP NR specifications. After the UE has obtained the association of one or more TCI-state(s) with a search space set pool, the UE may apply the QCL assumption(s) provided in the TCI-state(s) during one or more monitoring occasions for the reception of the PDCCH(s) on the search space set(s) associated with the search space set pool. [0370] (801) receiving from a network node (or gNB), via a higher layer, a configuration of one or more search space sets which are associated with one or more CORESETs, for one or more PDCCHs, wherein each search space set comprises a number of PDCCH candidates and each PDCCH candidate comprises or is made up of a number of resource elements, also called control channel elements (CCEs) and the UE monitors for one or more DCIs of a specific format or formats as indicated via a higher layer in the configured PDCCH candidates; [0377] The method further comprises monitoring the at least two PDCCH candidates on one or more search space sets. The method may further comprise combining or jointly processing at least two PDCCHs received on said at least two PDCCH candidates to decode the DCI. The combining or jointly processing of the at least two PDCCH candidates is performed during the decoding of the DCI.), wherein the set of groupings is associated with a set of prioritizations ([0163] In accordance with an embodiment, an ordering of the aggregation levels is performed in each search space set in the search space set pool, either in ascending or descending order, wherein the i-th PDCCH candidates of the l-th ordered aggregation level of two or more search space sets in the search space set pool are associated with the same DCI content. [0188] the UE applies the QCL assumptions from sm≤sn TCI-states to sn search space sets after a certain ordering of the TCI-states and/or mapping between the TCI-states and the search space sets for the reception of at least one PDCCH in the sn search space sets in the CORESET, or [0189] the UE applies the QCL assumptions from tm≤tn TCI-states to sn search space sets after a certain ordering of the TCI-states and/or mapping between the TCI-states and the search space sets for the reception of at least one PDCCH in the sn search space sets in the CORESET.; See also Figs.9&11, [404]-[413], [418]-[421]); and transmit, in a first bandwidth (an active downlink bandwidth part … on which UE … monitoring a set of PDCCH candidates) and in the PDCCH monitoring occasion (one or more monitoring occasions for the reception of the PDCCH(s) on the search space set(s)) associated with the set of PDCCH candidates (a set of a number of PDCCH candidates comprised in one or more search space sets), downlink control information (DCI) (DCI) scheduling resources (resources assigned by the time domain resource assignment) on a second bandwidth (a downlink bandwidth part where PDSCH is scheduled or an uplink bandwidth part where PUSCH is scheduled) ([0122] Each PDCCH candidate may be associated with a DCI of a particular format, wherein all the DCIs have the same functionality, i.e., all the DCIs may schedule the same PDSCH, PUSCH, sidelink, provide the same slot format indication, transmit power control command(s) or availability of soft resources, etc. The information carried by each DCI can be in part different with respect to at least one other DCI. In one example, the TCI-state settings indicated by the DCI may be different for the DCIs that schedule the same PDSCH or PUSCH. In another example, the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment (e.g., slot offset, symbol starting index and PDSCH/PUSCH length) in the DCIs for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH may be different. For instance, depending on the slot in which the DCI is transmitted, the slot offset value in the DCIs may be different.), wherein the DCI is decoded from the set of PDCCH candidates (a set of a number of PDCCH candidates comprised in one or more search space sets) (Figs.7&8; [0184] the UE may apply the QCL assumption(s) provided in the TCI-state(s) during one or more monitoring occasions for the reception of the PDCCH(s) on the search space set(s) associated with the search space set pool. [0370] the UE monitors for one or more DCIs of a specific format or formats as indicated via a higher layer in the configured PDCCH candidates; [0377] The method further comprises monitoring the at least two PDCCH candidates on one or more search space sets. The method may further comprise combining or jointly processing at least two PDCCHs received on said at least two PDCCH candidates to decode the DCI. The combining or jointly processing of the at least two PDCCH candidates is performed during the decoding of the DCI. [0385] According to an embodiment, a method performed by the UE comprises monitoring a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more CORESETs on an active downlink bandwidth part on each activated serving cell configured with PDCCH monitoring according to corresponding search space sets.) in an order associated with the set of prioritizations ([0300] For example, the UE may be configured to attempt blind decoding of the PDCCH candidate with the highest aggregation level in the group first, or to attempt blind decoding of only the PDCCH candidate with the highest aggregation level in the group. When multiple PDCCH candidates are configured with the highest aggregation level value in the group, the UE may attempt decoding of either one of them or may perform soft-combing and/or joint processing of them.), and wherein the DCI (DCI) includes a parameter value (the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment) that indicates a time domain resource assignment that is scheduled by the DCI ([0122] In another example, the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment (e.g., slot offset, symbol starting index and PDSCH/PUSCH length) in the DCIs for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH may be different.).
Grossmann does not disclose the parameter is a carrier indicator field (CIF) and the time domain resource assignment comprises a slot.
However, Lee discloses:
a parameter is a carrier indicator field (CIF) (information in DCI 2103 that schedules the PDSCH 2102 on the cell B (hence indicates the cell or carrier B) on slot #n and/or schedules the PDSCH 2105 on the cell A (hence indicates the cell A) on slot #n) and a time domain resource assignment comprises a slot (Fig. 21A, Slot #(n-1), Slot #n; Fig. 21B, Slot #n, Slot #(n+1)) (Figs.21A&21B; [0135] Referring to FIG. 21A, the UE 100 may transmit HARQ-ACK 2101 in response to the PDSCH 2102 scheduled on the cell B by the first DCI 2103 on a slot # (n+K1), wherein n is the slot index of the PDSCH 2102, and K1 may be indicated by the first DCI 2103. Referring to FIG. 21B, in response to the PDSCH 2105 scheduled on the cell A by the first DCI 2103, the UE 100 may transmit HARQ-ACK 2104 on a slot # (n+K1), wherein n is the slot index of the PDSCH 2105, and K1 may be indicated by the first DCI 2103.; See also [0038] which states “Each cell 105 may be referred to one component carrier in CA.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the parameter of Grossmann to be a carrier indicator field (CIF) and modify the time domain resource assignment of Grossman to comprise a slot as taught by Lee, in order to increase the overall system throughput by flexibly utilizing aggregated bandwidth via scheduling (Lee, [004]).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Grossmann discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: tune to the second bandwidth (a downlink bandwidth part where PDSCH is scheduled or an uplink bandwidth part where PUSCH is scheduled) to communicate on the second bandwidth using the resources (resources assigned by the time domain resource assignment) ([0043] Demodulation reference signals (DMRS) are embedded for the coherent demodulation of the PDCCH/PDSCH at the UE. The DMRS consists of a set of DMRS ports. The number of DMRS ports determines the number of transmission layers contained in a PDSCH. [0044] A parameter in the transmission of the PDCCH and the PDSCH is the ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’-state (TCI-state); [0122] In another example, the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment (e.g., slot offset, symbol starting index and PDSCH/PUSCH length) in the DCIs for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH may be different. [0181] The DCI has to be decoded before the PUSCH transmission or the PDSCH reception, and hence all the PDCCH candidates associated with the DCI should be received at the same time or at least within a specific time duration to complete the decoding of the DCI and carry out the instructions in the DCI.).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Grossmann discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit one or more communications (PUSCH transmission by UE, PDSCH transmission by network node) on the second bandwidth (a downlink bandwidth part where PDSCH is scheduled or an uplink bandwidth part where PUSCH is scheduled) using at least a portion of the resources (resources assigned by the time domain resource assignment) ([0043] Demodulation reference signals (DMRS) are embedded for the coherent demodulation of the PDCCH/PDSCH at the UE. The DMRS consists of a set of DMRS ports. The number of DMRS ports determines the number of transmission layers contained in a PDSCH. [0044] A parameter in the transmission of the PDCCH and the PDSCH is the ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’-state (TCI-state); [0122] In another example, the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment (e.g., slot offset, symbol starting index and PDSCH/PUSCH length) in the DCIs for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH may be different. [0181] The DCI has to be decoded before the PUSCH transmission or the PDSCH reception, and hence all the PDCCH candidates associated with the DCI should be received at the same time or at least within a specific time duration to complete the decoding of the DCI and carry out the instructions in the DCI.).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Grossmann discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive one or more communications (PUSCH reception by network node, PDSCH reception by UE) on the second bandwidth (a downlink bandwidth part where PDSCH is scheduled or an uplink bandwidth part where PUSCH is scheduled) using at least a portion of the resources (resources assigned by the time domain resource assignment) ([0043] Demodulation reference signals (DMRS) are embedded for the coherent demodulation of the PDCCH/PDSCH at the UE. The DMRS consists of a set of DMRS ports. The number of DMRS ports determines the number of transmission layers contained in a PDSCH. [0044] A parameter in the transmission of the PDCCH and the PDSCH is the ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’-state (TCI-state); [0122] In another example, the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment (e.g., slot offset, symbol starting index and PDSCH/PUSCH length) in the DCIs for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH may be different. [0181] The DCI has to be decoded before the PUSCH transmission or the PDSCH reception, and hence all the PDCCH candidates associated with the DCI should be received at the same time or at least within a specific time duration to complete the decoding of the DCI and carry out the instructions in the DCI.).
Regarding claim 5, Grossmann discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, in the second bandwidth (a downlink bandwidth part where PDSCH is scheduled), data communications (data communications via PDSCH reception by UE) scheduled by the DCI (DCI) ([0043] Demodulation reference signals (DMRS) are embedded for the coherent demodulation of the PDCCH/PDSCH at the UE. The DMRS consists of a set of DMRS ports. The number of DMRS ports determines the number of transmission layers contained in a PDSCH. [0044] A parameter in the transmission of the PDCCH and the PDSCH is the ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’-state (TCI-state); [0181] The DCI has to be decoded before the PUSCH transmission or the PDSCH reception, and hence all the PDCCH candidates associated with the DCI should be received at the same time or at least within a specific time duration to complete the decoding of the DCI and carry out the instructions in the DCI.), wherein the data communications (data communications via PDSCH reception by UE) are received on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (PDSCH).
Regarding claim 6, Grossmann discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine, based at least in part on the DCI (DCI), resources (resources assigned by the time domain resource assignment) on which to receive the data communications (data communications via PDSCH reception by UE) ([0122] In another example, the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment (e.g., slot offset, symbol starting index and PDSCH/PUSCH length) in the DCIs for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH may be different. [0181] The DCI has to be decoded before the PUSCH transmission or the PDSCH reception; resource assigned by the time domain resource assignment in DCI is determined by decoding DCI); and wherein the one or more processors, to receive the data communications, are configured to: receive the data communications (data communications via PDSCH reception by UE) based at least in part on determining the resources (resources assigned by the time domain resource assignment) on which to receive the data communications (data communications via PDSCH reception by UE) ([0043] Demodulation reference signals (DMRS) are embedded for the coherent demodulation of the PDCCH/PDSCH at the UE. The DMRS consists of a set of DMRS ports. The number of DMRS ports determines the number of transmission layers contained in a PDSCH. [0044] A parameter in the transmission of the PDCCH and the PDSCH is the ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’-state (TCI-state); [0122] In another example, the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment (e.g., slot offset, symbol starting index and PDSCH/PUSCH length) in the DCIs for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH may be different. [0181] The DCI has to be decoded before the PUSCH transmission or the PDSCH reception, and hence all the PDCCH candidates associated with the DCI should be received at the same time or at least within a specific time duration to complete the decoding of the DCI and carry out the instructions in the DCI.), wherein the resources (resources assigned by the time domain resource assignment) on which to receive the data communications (data communications via PDSCH reception by UE) are on the second bandwidth (a downlink bandwidth part where PDSCH is scheduled).
Regarding claim 7, Grossmann discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine, based at least in part on the PDCCH configuration information (a configuration of one or more search space sets … wherein each search space set comprises a number of PDCCH candidates), the set of PDCCH candidates (a set of a number of PDCCH candidates comprised in one or more search space sets) in which to receive the DCI (DCI) ([0370] (801) receiving from a network node (or gNB), via a higher layer, a configuration of one or more search space sets which are associated with one or more CORESETs, for one or more PDCCHs, wherein each search space set comprises a number of PDCCH candidates and each PDCCH candidate comprises or is made up of a number of resource elements, also called control channel elements (CCEs) and the UE monitors for one or more DCIs of a specific format or formats as indicated via a higher layer in the configured PDCCH candidates; [0377] The method further comprises monitoring the at least two PDCCH candidates on one or more search space sets. The method may further comprise combining or jointly processing at least two PDCCHs received on said at least two PDCCH candidates to decode the DCI. The combining or jointly processing of the at least two PDCCH candidates is performed during the decoding of the DCI.; a set of a number of PDCCH candidates comprised in one or more search space sets is determined by receiving a configuration of one or more search space sets); and wherein the one or more processors, to receive the DCI, are configured to: receive the DCI (DCI) based at least in part on determining the set of PDCCH candidates (a set of a number of PDCCH candidates comprised in one or more search space sets) in which to receive the DCI ([370] [377]; DCI is received by monitoring for one or more DCIs of a specific format or formats as in the configured PDCCH candidates and by combining or jointly processing of the at least two PDCCH candidates, which are based on determining a set of a number of PDCCH candidates comprised in one or more search space sets ).
Regarding claims 11 and 23, Grossmann discloses:
wherein the DCI (DCI) schedules data (data on PDSCH/PUSCH) according to a time domain resource assignment (the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment) ([0122] In another example, the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment (e.g., slot offset, symbol starting index and PDSCH/PUSCH length) in the DCIs for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH may be different.).
Grossmann does not disclose the time domain resource assignment is on a plurality of cells of the second bandwidth, wherein the scheduling of data on the plurality of cells includes scheduling of data in a first slot or timing of a first cell and in a second slot or timing of a second cell, wherein the first slot or timing is different from the second slot or timing.
However, Lee discloses:
a time domain resource assignment is on a plurality of cells (Cell A, Cell B) of a second bandwidth (bandwidth comprising bandwidth of Cell A and bandwidth of Cell B; See also Fig.3 and [0045]), wherein the scheduling of data on the plurality of cells includes scheduling of data in a first slot or timing (Fig. 21A, Slot #(n-1); Fig. 21B, Slot #n) of a first cell (Cell A) and in a second slot or timing (Fig. 21A, Slot #n; Fig. 21B, Slot #(n+1)) of a second cell (Cell B), wherein the first slot or timing is different from the second slot or timing (Fig. 21A, Slot #(n-1) is different from Slot #n; Fig. 21B, Slot #n is different from Slot #(n+1))).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the time domain resource assignment and the second bandwidth of Grossman so that the time domain resource assignment is on a plurality of cells of the second bandwidth as taught by Lee, in order to increase the overall system throughput by flexibly utilizing aggregated bandwidth via scheduling (Lee, [004]).
Regarding claim 12, Grossmann and Lee disclose:
wherein the parameter is the CIF as in claim 1 above.
Grossmann further discloses:
wherein the parameter value (the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment) identifies a time domain resource assignment that are scheduled from a scheduling cell on which the DCI is received ([0122] In another example, the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment (e.g., slot offset, symbol starting index and PDSCH/PUSCH length) in the DCIs for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH may be different.).
Grossmann does not disclose the time domain resource assignment comprises a set of slots of a set of scheduled cells, wherein the set of slots includes the slot.
However, Lee discloses:
a time domain resource assignment comprises a set of slots (Fig. 21A, Slot #(n-1), Slot #n; Fig. 21B, Slot #n, Slot #(n+1)) of a set of scheduled cells (Cell A, Cell B) (Figs.21A&21B), wherein the set of slots (Fig. 21A, Slot #(n-1), Slot #n; Fig. 21B, Slot #n, Slot #(n+1)) includes the slot (Fig. 21A, Slot #(n-1), Slot #n; Fig. 21B, Slot #n, Slot #(n+1)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the time domain resource assignment of Grossman to comprise a set of slots as taught by Lee, in order to increase the overall system throughput by flexibly utilizing aggregated bandwidth via scheduling (Lee, [004]).
Regarding claims 14 and 26, Grossmann and Lee disclose:
wherein the parameter is the CIF as in claims 1 and 15 above.
Grossmann further discloses:
wherein the parameter value (the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment) identifies a time domain resource assignment ([0122] In another example, the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment (e.g., slot offset, symbol starting index and PDSCH/PUSCH length) in the DCIs for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH may be different.)
Grossman does not disclose the time domain resource assignment maps to a set of scheduled cells, and wherein time domain resource assignment maps to a first slot or symbol for a first cell, of the set of scheduled cells, and maps to a second slot or symbol, that is different from the first slot or symbol, for a second cell of the set of scheduled cells.
However, Lee discloses:
a time domain resource assignment maps to a set of scheduled cells (Cell A, Cell B), and wherein the time domain resource assignment maps to a first slot or symbol (Fig. 21A, Slot #(n-1); Fig. 21B, Slot #n) for a first cell (Cell A), of the set of scheduled cells (Cell A, Cell B), and maps to a second slot or symbol (Fig. 21A, Slot #n; Fig. 21B, Slot #(n+1)), that is different from the first slot or symbol (Fig. 21A, Slot #(n-1); Fig. 21B, Slot #n), for a second cell (Cell B) of the set of scheduled cells (Cell A, Cell B).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the time domain resource assignment of Grossman to perform the mappings as taught by Lee, in order to increase the overall system throughput by flexibly utilizing aggregated bandwidth via scheduling (Lee, [004]).
Regarding claim 19, Grossmann discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, in the second bandwidth (a downlink bandwidth part where PDSCH is scheduled), data communications (data communications via PDSCH transmission by network node) scheduled by the DCI ([0043] Demodulation reference signals (DMRS) are embedded for the coherent demodulation of the PDCCH/PDSCH at the UE. The DMRS consists of a set of DMRS ports. The number of DMRS ports determines the number of transmission layers contained in a PDSCH. [0044] A parameter in the transmission of the PDCCH and the PDSCH is the ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’-state (TCI-state); [0181] The DCI has to be decoded before the PUSCH transmission or the PDSCH reception, and hence all the PDCCH candidates associated with the DCI should be received at the same time or at least within a specific time duration to complete the decoding of the DCI and carry out the instructions in the DCI.), wherein the data communications (data communications via PDSCH transmission by network node) are transmitted on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (PDSCH).
Regarding claim 24, Grossmann and Lee disclose:
wherein the parameter is the CIF as in claim 15 above.
Grossmann further discloses:
wherein the parameter value (the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment) identifies a time domain resource assignment that are scheduled from a scheduling cell on which the DCI is received ([0122] In another example, the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment (e.g., slot offset, symbol starting index and PDSCH/PUSCH length) in the DCIs for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH may be different.).
Grossmann does not disclose the time domain resource assignment comprises a set of slots of a set of scheduled cells.
However, Lee discloses:
a time domain resource assignment comprises a set of slots (Fig. 21A, Slot #(n-1), Slot #n; Fig. 21B, Slot #n, Slot #(n+1)) of a set of scheduled cells (Cell A, Cell B) (Figs.21A&21B).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the time domain resource assignment of Grossman to comprise a set of slots as taught by Lee, in order to increase the overall system throughput by flexibly utilizing aggregated bandwidth via scheduling (Lee, [004]).
Regarding claim 25, Grossmann and Lee disclose:
wherein the parameter is the CIF as in claim 15 above.
Grossmann further discloses:
wherein the parameter value (the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment) identifies a time domain resource assignment ([0122] In another example, the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment (e.g., slot offset, symbol starting index and PDSCH/PUSCH length) in the DCIs for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH may be different.).
Grossmann does not disclose the time domain resource assignment maps to a common slot or symbol for a set of scheduled cells.
However, Lee discloses:
a time domain resource assignment maps to a common slot or symbol (Fig.6, slot of 602&603; Fig.7, slot of 605&606, slot of 608&609, slot of 611&612; Fig.8, slot of 614&615, slot of 617&618, slot of 620&621) for a set of scheduled cells (Fig.6, Cells A&B; Fig.7, Cells A&B, B&C, B&D; Fig.8, Cells A&B, B&C, A&D) (Figs. 6-8).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the time domain resource assignment of Grossman to map to a common slot as taught by Lee, in order to increase the overall system throughput by flexibly utilizing aggregated bandwidth via scheduling (Lee, [004]).
Regarding claim 27, Grossmann discloses:
A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig.10, UE 1000), comprising: receiving physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration information (a configuration of one or more search space sets … wherein each search space set comprises a number of PDCCH candidates) indicating a set of PDCCH candidates (a set of a number of PDCCH candidates comprised in one or more search space sets) for decoding in a PDCCH monitoring occasion (one or more monitoring occasions for the reception of the PDCCH(s) on the search space set(s)) and indicating a set of groupings of PDCCH candidates (a number of PDCCH candidates comprised in each search space set) of the set of PDCCH candidates (Figs.7&8; [0184] In accordance with an embodiment, the UE is configured to receive an association of one or more TCI-state(s) with one or more search space set pool(s). The UE may be configured to receive the indication of the association via a PHY-layer indication, a MAC-CE message (i.e., MAC-CE layer indication), or via a higher layer. In another alternative, the association may be fixed and provided in the 3GPP NR specifications. After the UE has obtained the association of one or more TCI-state(s) with a search space set pool, the UE may apply the QCL assumption(s) provided in the TCI-state(s) during one or more monitoring occasions for the reception of the PDCCH(s) on the search space set(s) associated with the search space set pool. [0370] (801) receiving from a network node (or gNB), via a higher layer, a configuration of one or more search space sets which are associated with one or more CORESETs, for one or more PDCCHs, wherein each search space set comprises a number of PDCCH candidates and each PDCCH candidate comprises or is made up of a number of resource elements, also called control channel elements (CCEs) and the UE monitors for one or more DCIs of a specific format or formats as indicated via a higher layer in the configured PDCCH candidates; [0377] The method further comprises monitoring the at least two PDCCH candidates on one or more search space sets. The method may further comprise combining or jointly processing at least two PDCCHs received on said at least two PDCCH candidates to decode the DCI. The combining or jointly processing of the at least two PDCCH candidates is performed during the decoding of the DCI.), wherein the set of groupings is associated with a set of prioritizations ([0163] In accordance with an embodiment, an ordering of the aggregation levels is performed in each search space set in the search space set pool, either in ascending or descending order, wherein the i-th PDCCH candidates of the l-th ordered aggregation level of two or more search space sets in the search space set pool are associated with the same DCI content. [0188] the UE applies the QCL assumptions from sm≤sn TCI-states to sn search space sets after a certain ordering of the TCI-states and/or mapping between the TCI-states and the search space sets for the reception of at least one PDCCH in the sn search space sets in the CORESET, or [0189] the UE applies the QCL assumptions from tm≤tn TCI-states to sn search space sets after a certain ordering of the TCI-states and/or mapping between the TCI-states and the search space sets for the reception of at least one PDCCH in the sn search space sets in the CORESET.; See also Figs.9&11, [404]-[413], [418]-[421]); and receiving, in a first bandwidth (an active downlink bandwidth part … on which UE … monitoring a set of PDCCH candidates) and in the PDCCH monitoring occasion (one or more monitoring occasions for the reception of the PDCCH(s) on the search space set(s)) associated with the set of PDCCH candidates (a set of a number of PDCCH candidates comprised in one or more search space sets), downlink control information (DCI) (DCI) scheduling resources (resources assigned by the time domain resource assignment) on a second bandwidth (a downlink bandwidth part where PDSCH is scheduled or an uplink bandwidth part where PUSCH is scheduled) ([0122] Each PDCCH candidate may be associated with a DCI of a particular format, wherein all the DCIs have the same functionality, i.e., all the DCIs may schedule the same PDSCH, PUSCH, sidelink, provide the same slot format indication, transmit power control command(s) or availability of soft resources, etc. The information carried by each DCI can be in part different with respect to at least one other DCI. In one example, the TCI-state settings indicated by the DCI may be different for the DCIs that schedule the same PDSCH or PUSCH. In another example, the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment (e.g., slot offset, symbol starting index and PDSCH/PUSCH length) in the DCIs for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH may be different. For instance, depending on the slot in which the DCI is transmitted, the slot offset value in the DCIs may be different.), wherein the DCI is decoded from the set of PDCCH candidates (a set of a number of PDCCH candidates comprised in one or more search space sets) (Figs.7&8; [0184] the UE may apply the QCL assumption(s) provided in the TCI-state(s) during one or more monitoring occasions for the reception of the PDCCH(s) on the search space set(s) associated with the search space set pool. [0370] the UE monitors for one or more DCIs of a specific format or formats as indicated via a higher layer in the configured PDCCH candidates; [0377] The method further comprises monitoring the at least two PDCCH candidates on one or more search space sets. The method may further comprise combining or jointly processing at least two PDCCHs received on said at least two PDCCH candidates to decode the DCI. The combining or jointly processing of the at least two PDCCH candidates is performed during the decoding of the DCI. [0385] According to an embodiment, a method performed by the UE comprises monitoring a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more CORESETs on an active downlink bandwidth part on each activated serving cell configured with PDCCH monitoring according to corresponding search space sets.) in an order associated with the set of prioritizations ([0300] For example, the UE may be configured to attempt blind decoding of the PDCCH candidate with the highest aggregation level in the group first, or to attempt blind decoding of only the PDCCH candidate with the highest aggregation level in the group. When multiple PDCCH candidates are configured with the highest aggregation level value in the group, the UE may attempt decoding of either one of them or may perform soft-combing and/or joint processing of them.), and wherein the DCI (DCI) includes a parameter value (the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment) that indicates a time domain resource assignment that is scheduled by the DCI ([0122] In another example, the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment (e.g., slot offset, symbol starting index and PDSCH/PUSCH length) in the DCIs for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH may be different.).
Grossmann does not disclose the parameter is a carrier indicator field (CIF) and the time domain resource assignment comprises a slot.
However, Lee discloses:
a parameter is a carrier indicator field (CIF) (information in DCI 2103 that schedules the PDSCH 2102 on the cell B (hence indicates the cell or carrier B) on slot #n and/or schedules the PDSCH 2105 on the cell A (hence indicates the cell A) on slot #n) and a time domain resource assignment comprises a slot (Fig. 21A, Slot #(n-1), Slot #n; Fig. 21B, Slot #n, Slot #(n+1)) (Figs.21A&21B; [0135] Referring to FIG. 21A, the UE 100 may transmit HARQ-ACK 2101 in response to the PDSCH 2102 scheduled on the cell B by the first DCI 2103 on a slot # (n+K1), wherein n is the slot index of the PDSCH 2102, and K1 may be indicated by the first DCI 2103. Referring to FIG. 21B, in response to the PDSCH 2105 scheduled on the cell A by the first DCI 2103, the UE 100 may transmit HARQ-ACK 2104 on a slot # (n+K1), wherein n is the slot index of the PDSCH 2105, and K1 may be indicated by the first DCI 2103.; See also [0038] which states “Each cell 105 may be referred to one component carrier in CA.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the parameter of Grossmann to be a carrier indicator field (CIF) and modify the time domain resource assignment of Grossman to comprise a slot as taught by Lee, in order to increase the overall system throughput by flexibly utilizing aggregated bandwidth via scheduling (Lee, [004]).
Regarding claim 28, Grossmann discloses:
receiving, in the second bandwidth (a downlink bandwidth part where PDSCH is scheduled), data communications (data communications via PDSCH reception by UE) scheduled by the DCI (DCI) ([0043] Demodulation reference signals (DMRS) are embedded for the coherent demodulation of the PDCCH/PDSCH at the UE. The DMRS consists of a set of DMRS ports. The number of DMRS ports determines the number of transmission layers contained in a PDSCH. [0044] A parameter in the transmission of the PDCCH and the PDSCH is the ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’-state (TCI-state); [0181] The DCI has to be decoded before the PUSCH transmission or the PDSCH reception, and hence all the PDCCH candidates associated with the DCI should be received at the same time or at least within a specific time duration to complete the decoding of the DCI and carry out the instructions in the DCI.), wherein the data communications (data communications via PDSCH reception by UE) are received on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (PDSCH).
Regarding claim 29, Grossmann discloses:
A method of wireless communication performed by a network entity (Fig.11, network node (or gNB) 1100), comprising:
transmitting physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration information (a configuration of one or more search space sets … wherein each search space set comprises a number of PDCCH candidates) indicating a set of PDCCH candidates (a set of a number of PDCCH candidates comprised in one or more search space sets) for decoding in a PDCCH monitoring occasion (one or more monitoring occasions for the reception of the PDCCH(s) on the search space set(s)) and indicating a set of groupings of PDCCH candidates (a number of PDCCH candidates comprised in each search space set) of the set of PDCCH candidates (Figs.7&8; [0184] In accordance with an embodiment, the UE is configured to receive an association of one or more TCI-state(s) with one or more search space set pool(s). The UE may be configured to receive the indication of the association via a PHY-layer indication, a MAC-CE message (i.e., MAC-CE layer indication), or via a higher layer. In another alternative, the association may be fixed and provided in the 3GPP NR specifications. After the UE has obtained the association of one or more TCI-state(s) with a search space set pool, the UE may apply the QCL assumption(s) provided in the TCI-state(s) during one or more monitoring occasions for the reception of the PDCCH(s) on the search space set(s) associated with the search space set pool. [0370] (801) receiving from a network node (or gNB), via a higher layer, a configuration of one or more search space sets which are associated with one or more CORESETs, for one or more PDCCHs, wherein each search space set comprises a number of PDCCH candidates and each PDCCH candidate comprises or is made up of a number of resource elements, also called control channel elements (CCEs) and the UE monitors for one or more DCIs of a specific format or formats as indicated via a higher layer in the configured PDCCH candidates; [0377] The method further comprises monitoring the at least two PDCCH candidates on one or more search space sets. The method may further comprise combining or jointly processing at least two PDCCHs received on said at least two PDCCH candidates to decode the DCI. The combining or jointly processing of the at least two PDCCH candidates is performed during the decoding of the DCI.), wherein the set of groupings is associated with a set of prioritizations ([0163] In accordance with an embodiment, an ordering of the aggregation levels is performed in each search space set in the search space set pool, either in ascending or descending order, wherein the i-th PDCCH candidates of the l-th ordered aggregation level of two or more search space sets in the search space set pool are associated with the same DCI content. [0188] the UE applies the QCL assumptions from sm≤sn TCI-states to sn search space sets after a certain ordering of the TCI-states and/or mapping between the TCI-states and the search space sets for the reception of at least one PDCCH in the sn search space sets in the CORESET, or [0189] the UE applies the QCL assumptions from tm≤tn TCI-states to sn search space sets after a certain ordering of the TCI-states and/or mapping between the TCI-states and the search space sets for the reception of at least one PDCCH in the sn search space sets in the CORESET.; See also Figs.9&11, [404]-[413], [418]-[421]); and transmitting, in a first bandwidth (an active downlink bandwidth part … on which UE … monitoring a set of PDCCH candidates) and in the PDCCH monitoring occasion (one or more monitoring occasions for the reception of the PDCCH(s) on the search space set(s)) associated with the set of PDCCH candidates (a set of a number of PDCCH candidates comprised in one or more search space sets), downlink control information (DCI) (DCI) scheduling resources (resources assigned by the time domain resource assignment) on a second bandwidth (a downlink bandwidth part where PDSCH is scheduled or an uplink bandwidth part where PUSCH is scheduled) ([0122] Each PDCCH candidate may be associated with a DCI of a particular format, wherein all the DCIs have the same functionality, i.e., all the DCIs may schedule the same PDSCH, PUSCH, sidelink, provide the same slot format indication, transmit power control command(s) or availability of soft resources, etc. The information carried by each DCI can be in part different with respect to at least one other DCI. In one example, the TCI-state settings indicated by the DCI may be different for the DCIs that schedule the same PDSCH or PUSCH. In another example, the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment (e.g., slot offset, symbol starting index and PDSCH/PUSCH length) in the DCIs for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH may be different. For instance, depending on the slot in which the DCI is transmitted, the slot offset value in the DCIs may be different.), wherein the DCI is decoded from the set of PDCCH candidates (a set of a number of PDCCH candidates comprised in one or more search space sets) (Figs.7&8; [0184] the UE may apply the QCL assumption(s) provided in the TCI-state(s) during one or more monitoring occasions for the reception of the PDCCH(s) on the search space set(s) associated with the search space set pool. [0370] the UE monitors for one or more DCIs of a specific format or formats as indicated via a higher layer in the configured PDCCH candidates; [0377] The method further comprises monitoring the at least two PDCCH candidates on one or more search space sets. The method may further comprise combining or jointly processing at least two PDCCHs received on said at least two PDCCH candidates to decode the DCI. The combining or jointly processing of the at least two PDCCH candidates is performed during the decoding of the DCI. [0385] According to an embodiment, a method performed by the UE comprises monitoring a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more CORESETs on an active downlink bandwidth part on each activated serving cell configured with PDCCH monitoring according to corresponding search space sets.) in an order associated with the set of prioritizations ([0300] For example, the UE may be configured to attempt blind decoding of the PDCCH candidate with the highest aggregation level in the group first, or to attempt blind decoding of only the PDCCH candidate with the highest aggregation level in the group. When multiple PDCCH candidates are configured with the highest aggregation level value in the group, the UE may attempt decoding of either one of them or may perform soft-combing and/or joint processing of them.), and wherein the DCI (DCI) includes a parameter value (the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment) that indicates a time domain resource assignment that is scheduled by the DCI ([0122] In another example, the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment (e.g., slot offset, symbol starting index and PDSCH/PUSCH length) in the DCIs for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH may be different.).
Grossmann does not disclose the parameter is a carrier indicator field (CIF) and the time domain resource assignment comprises a slot.
However, Lee discloses:
a parameter is a carrier indicator field (CIF) (information in DCI 2103 that schedules the PDSCH 2102 on the cell B (hence indicates the cell or carrier B) on slot #n and/or schedules the PDSCH 2105 on the cell A (hence indicates the cell A) on slot #n) and a time domain resource assignment comprises a slot (Fig. 21A, Slot #(n-1), Slot #n; Fig. 21B, Slot #n, Slot #(n+1)) (Figs.21A&21B; [0135] Referring to FIG. 21A, the UE 100 may transmit HARQ-ACK 2101 in response to the PDSCH 2102 scheduled on the cell B by the first DCI 2103 on a slot # (n+K1), wherein n is the slot index of the PDSCH 2102, and K1 may be indicated by the first DCI 2103. Referring to FIG. 21B, in response to the PDSCH 2105 scheduled on the cell A by the first DCI 2103, the UE 100 may transmit HARQ-ACK 2104 on a slot # (n+K1), wherein n is the slot index of the PDSCH 2105, and K1 may be indicated by the first DCI 2103.; See also [0038] which states “Each cell 105 may be referred to one component carrier in CA.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the parameter of Grossmann to be a carrier indicator field (CIF) and modify the time domain resource assignment of Grossman to comprise a slot as taught by Lee, in order to increase the overall system throughput by flexibly utilizing aggregated bandwidth via scheduling (Lee, [004]).
Regarding claim 30, Grossmann discloses:
transmitting, in the second bandwidth (a downlink bandwidth part where PDSCH is scheduled), data communications (data communications via PDSCH transmission by network node) scheduled by the DCI ([0043] Demodulation reference signals (DMRS) are embedded for the coherent demodulation of the PDCCH/PDSCH at the UE. The DMRS consists of a set of DMRS ports. The number of DMRS ports determines the number of transmission layers contained in a PDSCH. [0044] A parameter in the transmission of the PDCCH and the PDSCH is the ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’-state (TCI-state); [0181] The DCI has to be decoded before the PUSCH transmission or the PDSCH reception, and hence all the PDCCH candidates associated with the DCI should be received at the same time or at least within a specific time duration to complete the decoding of the DCI and carry out the instructions in the DCI.), wherein the data communications (data communications via PDSCH transmission by network node) are transmitted on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (PDSCH).
Claims 8-10 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossmann in view of Lee, and in further view of Nimbalker et al. (US 20220150734 A1, hereafter Nimbalker).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Grossmann and Lee do not disclose:
wherein the first bandwidth includes one or more carriers in (is) frequency range 1 (FR1) and the second bandwidth includes one or more carriers in (is) frequency range 2 (FR2).
However, Nimbalker discloses:
wherein a first bandwidth (bandwidth of scheduling carrier in FR1) includes one or more carriers (carriers in FR1) in (is) frequency range 1 (FR1) and a second bandwidth (bandwidth of scheduled carrier in FR2) includes one or more carriers (carriers in FR2) (is) frequency range 2 (FR2) ([0236] The UE 100 may be configured with cross-carrier scheduling—so denote n11, n12, n21, n22, as the number of carriers that have scheduling carrier and scheduled carrier in (FR1, FR1), (FR1, FR2), (FR2, FR1), and (FR2, FR2), respectively.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first bandwidth and the second bandwidth of Grossman and Lee to be respectively that of FR1 and FR2 as taught by Nimbalker, in order to improve reliability of control channel by using low FR1 for DCI while increase system capacity and peak rate by using high FR2 for data transmission (Nimbalker, [0177]).
Regarding claims 9 and 21, Grossmann and Lee do not disclose:
wherein the first bandwidth is associated with a first cell and the second bandwidth is associated with a plurality of second cells.
However, Nimbalker discloses:
wherein a first bandwidth (bandwidth of scheduling carrier in FR1) is associated with a first cell (scheduling carrier in FR1; Fig.7A, a CC in FR1; Fig.7B, any of CC4 and CC5) and a second bandwidth (bandwidth of scheduled carrier in FR2) is associated with a plurality of second cells (CC6 – CC10; FR2 is associated with CC6 – CC10) (Figs.7A&7B; [0236] The UE 100 may be configured with cross-carrier scheduling—so denote n11, n12, n21, n22, as the number of carriers that have scheduling carrier and scheduled carrier in (FR1, FR1), (FR1, FR2), (FR2, FR1), and (FR2, FR2), respectively.; [0289] An example (e.g. based on above Text Proposal) is schematically illustrated in FIG. 7A, wherein an embodiment of the UE 100 is configured with five CCs in FR1 (e.g., three CCs with 15 kHz SCS and two CCs with 30 kHz SCS) and five CCs in FR2 (e.g., with 120 kHz SCS). Furthermore, one CC in FR2 is scheduled from a CC in FR1. [0292] Another example is schematically illustrated in FIG. 7B. In this case, there are two carriers (e.g., CC6 and CC7) that are cross-carrier scheduled from (CC4 and CC5). The BD split is shown in the FIG. 7B, indicating that the CC6, CC7 belong to the numerology pair (i.e the combination of scheduling cell numerology and scheduled cell numerology) given by the SCS pair of 30 kHz and 120 kHz.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first bandwidth and the second bandwidth of Grossman and Lee to be respectively associated with a first cell and a plurality of second cells as taught by Nimbalker, in order to take advantage of a carrier aggregation of component carriers in different frequency ranges using cross-carrier scheduling and/or different numerologies (Nimbalker, [0083] [0084]).
Regarding claims 10 and 22, Grossmann and Lee do not disclose:
wherein the first bandwidth is associated with a first subcarrier spacing and the second bandwidth is associated with a second subcarrier spacing that is smaller than the first subcarrier spacing.
However, Nimbalker discloses:
wherein a first bandwidth (bandwidth of scheduling carrier in FR2) is associated with a first subcarrier spacing (120 kHz SCS) and a second bandwidth (bandwidth of scheduled carrier in FR1) is associated with a second subcarrier spacing (15 kHz SCS, 30 kHz SCS) that is smaller than the first subcarrier spacing ([0289] FR1 (e.g., three CCs with 15 kHz SCS and two CCs with 30 kHz SCS) and five CCs in FR2 (e.g., with 120 kHz SCS). Furthermore, one CC in FR2 is scheduled from a CC in FR1.) ([0236] The UE 100 may be configured with cross-carrier scheduling—so denote n11, n12, n21, n22, as the number of carriers that have scheduling carrier and scheduled carrier in (FR1, FR1), (FR1, FR2), (FR2, FR1), and (FR2, FR2), respectively.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first bandwidth and the second bandwidth of Grossman and Lee to be respectively associated with a first subcarrier spacing and a second subcarrier spacing as taught by Nimbalker, in order to take advantage of a carrier aggregation of component carriers in different frequency ranges using cross-carrier scheduling and/or different numerologies (Nimbalker, [0083] [0084]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossmann in view of Lee, and in further view of Satori et al. (US 20230180262 A1, hereafter Satori).
Regarding claim 13, Grossmann and Lee disclose:
wherein the parameter is the CIF as in claims 1 and 15 above.
Grossmann further discloses:
wherein the parameter value (the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment) identifies a time domain resource assignment ([0122] In another example, the parameters associated with the time domain resource assignment (e.g., slot offset, symbol starting index and PDSCH/PUSCH length) in the DCIs for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH may be different.).
Grossmann does not disclose the time domain resource assignment maps to a common slot or symbol for a set of scheduled cells, and wherein the DCI is decoded in order of the CIF value.
However, Lee discloses:
a time domain resource assignment maps to a common slot or symbol (Fig.6, slot of 602&603; Fig.7, slot of 605&606, slot of 608&609, slot of 611&612; Fig.8, slot of 614&615, slot of 617&618, slot of 620&621) for a set of scheduled cells (Fig.6, Cells A&B; Fig.7, Cells A&B, B&C, B&D; Fig.8, Cells A&B, B&C, A&D) (Figs. 6-8).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the time domain resource assignment of Grossman to map to a common slot as taught by Lee, in order to increase the overall system throughput by flexibly utilizing aggregated bandwidth via scheduling (Lee, [004]).
Grossmann and Lee do not disclose: wherein the DCI is decoded in order of the CIF value.
However, Satori discloses:
wherein a DCI is decoded in order of a CIF value (nCI, carrier indicator field value) ([0030] The UE attempts to decode the PDCCH candidate (step 306) corresponding to value indicated by the candidate counter and determines whether the DCI is found in the decoded PDCCH candidate (step 308). [0031] If it is determined that the DCI is found in the decoded PDCCH candidate, the UE continues to process the DCI (step 310). If the DCI is not found in the decoded PDCCH candidate,… the UE may continue to decode the next PDCCH candidate based on the candidate order number. In one example, the UE can continue to examine a PDCCH candidate having a candidate order number that matches the current value indicated by the candidate counter. [0034] For a search space set s associated with CORESET p, the CCE indexes for aggregation level L corresponding to PDCCH candidate ms,nCI of the search space set in slot ns,fμ for an active DL BWP of a serving cell corresponding to carrier indicator field value nCI are given by …nCI is the carrier indicator field value; [0035] The CCE index depends on C-RNTI and therefore is UE specific. In some cases, the CCE indexes can be used “as is” for determining the ordering of the PDCCH candidates. In some cases, the UE can start with a lowest CCE index value (e.g., 0) of a PDCCH candidate… This index could be used for the ordering of the PDCCH candidates.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the DCI and the CIF value of Grossman and Lee so that the DCI is decoded in order of the CIF value as taught by Lee, in order to reduce power consumption for blind decoding of DCI (Satori, Abstract, [0022]).
Conclusion
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418