DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 04/01/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined in this office action.
Claims 1, 10-12 have been amended.
No new claim has been added and no claim have been canceled.
In view of the applicant’s argument, objection to the claims has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filled on 04/01/2026, with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See DIAO et al. (US 20230224698 A1; hereinafter as “DIAO”, which has priority date April 9th, 2020).
Appropriate action required.
Examiner’s NOTE: Many claim limitations have “OR” options. The examiner will address only first or any one of the “OR” option unless explicitly mention by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU et al. (US 20230284246 A1; hereinafter as “XU”) in view of DIAO et al. (US 20230224698 A1; hereinafter as “DIAO”, which has priority date April 9th, 2020).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to XU unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 10, XU teaches, A communication apparatus, which is a distributed unit (DU) of a second integrated access and backhaul (IAB)-donor (second IAB-donor-DU) (see fig. 1: Fourth Device 140 with is a IAB-Donor-DU of IAB-Donor-CU/Second Device , fig. 3 Second-Path IAB-Donor-DU; “the fourth device 140 comprises a DU of the second IAB donor,”: [0049] or included in the second IAB-donor-DU,
wherein the communication apparatus comprises at least one processor (see Fig. 8: Processor: [0177]),
wherein the at least one processor is coupled to at least one memory stores a computer program for execution by the at least one processor to cause the communication apparatus to (processor with memory and computer program : [0177]-[0181]) perform operations comprising:
receiving, an F1 application protocol (F1AP ) message and a quality of service (QoS) attribute corresponding to the F1AP message from a central unit (CU) of a first IAB-donor (first IAB-donor-CU) (aforesaid First Device is IAD-Donor-CU as shown in Fig. 2 element 210 :: [0056]-[0057]; “ the first device 110 comprises a Centralized Unit (CU) of a first IAB donor,”: [0049];
(see fig. 1: Fourth Device 140 with is a IAB-Donor-DU of IAB-Donor-CU/Second Device , fig. 3 Second-Path IAB-Donor-DU; “the fourth device 140 comprises a DU of the second IAB donor,”: [0049]; “ a second-path IAB-donor-DU 230”[ 0056]); (F1AP interface between First Device and Fourth Device in Fig. 1, F1AP interface between IAD-DONOR-CU and Second Path IAD-DONOR-DU/Fourth Device : “A DU setups an F1AP interface only with one CU.”: [0049]; Aforesaid “ IAB-donor-CU 210 may configure new UL backhaul information on the second path for F1 Application Protocol (F1AP) messages”: [0070]; “ IAB-donor-CU 210 sends (303) the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST (==F1AP Message) message to the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230, to create the UE context for the IAB node 240 and to set up one or more bearers (==QoS attributes). These bearers can be used by the IAB node 240 for its own signalling, and optionally for data traffic (==Quality or QOS attribute).”:{ 0062]; F1AP has UE-associated traffic with QOS information : “ the information concerning traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140 may comprise Quality of Service (QoS) information of F1-C traffic or F1-U traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140. In some example embodiments, the information concerning the non-F1-U traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140 may comprise the traffic type, for example, UE-associated F1AP traffic, non-UE-associated F1AP traffic, non-F1 traffic, BAP control PDU traffic, etc.”: [0085]).
While XU teaches, “receiving, an F1 application protocol (F1AP ) message and a quality of service (QoS) attribute corresponding to the F1AP message from a central unit (CU) of a first IAB-donor (first IAB-donor-CU)” ;
AAAAA does not expressively disclose:
wherein an F1 interface is a communication interface between the first IAB- donor-CU and a DU of an IAB-node to which an internet protocol (IP) address is allocated by the second IAB-donor-DU or
receiving user plane data and a quality of service (QoS) attribute corresponding to the user plane data from a first IAB-donor-central unit (CU) (NOTE: This is OR function and does not need to be addressed).
DIAO, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein an F1 interface is a communication interface between the first IAB- donor-CU and a DU of an IAB-node to which an internet protocol (IP) address is allocated by the second IAB-donor-DU ( “transmitting, to a second network node, an address request information based on an F1 application protocol (F1AP) message; and obtaining, from the second network node, a first address information related to at least one IP address or at least one IPsec address of a third network node in response to the address request information. The first network node and the second network node are connected via an F1 interface in an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) network”: [0006], ]0008[; “ generator 321 may generate a second address information based on the first address information; and transmit, via the transmitter 312 to the IAB donor CU, the second address information based on a RRC message or an F1AP message. The second address information comprises information related to at least one of the following: at least one IPsec address used for a control plane, at least one IP address used for the control plane, at least one IPsec address used for a user plane, at least one IP address used for the user plane, at least one control plane IP address associated with each control plane IPsec address, or at least one user plane IP address associated with each user plane IPsec address.”: [0039]; “ the donor CU may send the IP address, assigned by the donor CU or obtained from a donor DU, to the IAB node via an RRC message. The IAB node determines the control plane IP address associated with each control plane IPsec address, and the user plane IP address associated with each user plane IPsec address, and sends the association results to the donor CU-CP via an RRC or F1 message. In another embodiment, the donor CU or donor DU indicates the IPsec address and IP address for the control plane and/or user plane. The IAB node determines by itself the control plane IP address associated with each control plane IPsec address, and the user plane IP address associated with each user plane IPsec address, and sends the association results to the donor CU-CP via an RRC or F1 message. In yet another embodiment, the donor CU or donor DU determines and configures the control plane IP address associated with each control plane IPsec address, and the user plane IP address associated with each user plane IPsec address. The donor CU sends the configuration result to the IAB node through an RRC message. If the IP address is assigned by the donor DU, the donor CU can first obtain the configuration result from the donor DU through an F1AP message.”{0075]; “ In a second scenario, the donor CU sends the address request related information or the IPsec address request information to the donor DU through an F1AP message. The donor DU feeds back the allocated IPsec address, or indicates the IPsec addresses for the control plane and user plane. The donor CU determines the IP address for the control plane and/or the user plane. Further, if the donor DU does not distinguish between the control plane and the user plane IPsec addresses, the donor CU determines the IPsec address for the control plane and/or the user plane. The donor CU sends the IPsec address and IP address for the control plane and/or user plane to the IAB node through an RRC message. The IAB node determines the control plane IP address associated with a control plane IPsec address and/or the user plane IP address associated with a user plane IPsec address, and then sends the association result to the donor CU through an RRC or F1AP message.”: [0090]) or
receiving user plane data and a quality of service (QoS) attribute corresponding to the user plane data from a first IAB-donor-central unit (CU) (NOTE: This is OR function and does not need to be addressed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of AAAAA to include the above recited limitations as taught by DIAO. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide NR cell networks that can be deployed more flexibly without the need to increase the dense deployment of transmission networks and without the need of laying a large number of optical fibers, which saves network deployment costs.: (DIAO; [0002]).
Regarding claim 11, XU teaches the invention of claim 10 as set forth above. Further, XU teaches, The communication apparatus according to The communication apparatus according to wherein the QoS attribute comprises at least one of a differentiated services code point (DSCP) or a flow label; and wherein the operations comprise: performing routing and bearer mapping on the FlAP message based on a route configuration and a bearer configuration that correspond to the QoS attribute, or performing routing and bearer mapping on the user plane data based on a route configuration and a bearer configuration that correspond to the QoS attribute. (“the context comprises the routing ID for the uplink traffic of the third device 130 for F1-U traffic, the first device 110 transmits the context in an F1AP message. In some example embodiments, the RRC message may not contain any access stratum (AS) configuration.”: [0093]; [0096], “ In some example embodiments, the request comprises at least one of the following: an identity of the third device assigned by the first device, information of the fourth device, information concerning a transport layer address to be assigned by the second device, or information concerning traffic of the third device to be routed via the fourth device.”: [0130] ; NOTE : Routing information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU et al. (US 20230284246 A1; hereinafter as “XU”) in view of CHEN et al. (US 20220225129 A1; hereinafter as “CHEN”, using priority date September 30, 20219).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to XU unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 1, XU teaches, An apparatus (see fig. 1: First Device 110 or Fig. 2: IAD-Donor-CU 210), which is a central unit (CU) of a first integrated access and backhaul (IAB)-donor (first IAB-donor-CU) (aforesaid First Device is IAD-Donor-CU as shown in Fig. 2 element 210 :: [0056]-[0057]; “ the first device 110 comprises a Centralized Unit (CU) of a first IAB donor,”: [0049]) or included in the first IAB- donor-CU,
wherein the apparatus (see fig. 1: First Device 110 or Fig. 2: IAD-Donor-CU 210), comprises at least one processor (aforesaid IAD-Donor-CU with processor as shown in Fig. 8 : [0177]),
wherein the at least one processor is coupled to at least one memory that stores a computer program for execution by the at least one processor (aforesaid IAD-Donor-CU with processor and memory communicate with each other along with computer program; as shown in Fig. 8 : “ A computer program 830 includes computer executable instructions that are executed by the associated processor 810. The program 830 may be stored in the ROM 820. The processor 810 may perform any suitable actions and processing by loading the program 830 into the RAM 820.”: [0177]; [0181]), to cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising:
sending the F1AP message and the QoS attribute corresponding to the F1AP message to a distributed unit (DU) of a second IAB-donor (second IAB-donor-DU) (see fig. 1: Fourth Device 140 with is a IAB-Donor-DU of IAB-Donor-CU/Second Device , fig. 3 Second-Path IAB-Donor-DU; “the fourth device 140 comprises a DU of the second IAB donor,”: [0049]; “ a second-path IAB-donor-DU 230”[ 0056]); (F1AP interface between First Device and Fourth Device in Fig. 1, F1AP interface between IAD-DONOR-CU and Second Path IAD-DONOR-DU/Fourth Device : “A DU setups an F1AP interface only with one CU.”: [0049]; Aforesaid “ IAB-donor-CU 210 may configure new UL backhaul information on the second path for F1 Application Protocol (F1AP) messages”: [0070]; “ IAB-donor-CU 210 sends (303) the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST (==F1AP Message) message to the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230, to create the UE context for the IAB node 240 and to set up one or more bearers (==QoS attributes). These bearers can be used by the IAB node 240 for its own signalling, and optionally for data traffic (==Quality or QOS attribute).”:{ 0062]; F1AP has UE-associated traffic with QOS information : “ the information concerning traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140 may comprise Quality of Service (QoS) information of F1-C traffic or F1-U traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140. In some example embodiments, the information concerning the non-F1-U traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140 may comprise the traffic type, for example, UE-associated F1AP traffic, non-UE-associated F1AP traffic, non-F1 traffic, BAP control PDU traffic, etc.”: [0085]),
wherein an F1 interface is a communication interface between the first IAB-donor-CU and a DU of an IAB-node (see fig. IAB-Donor-CU and second-path IAD-DONOR DU has F1 interface : “A DU setups an F1AP interface only with one CU.”: [0049]); or
determining a quality of service (QoS) attribute corresponding to user plane data, and sending the user plane data and the QoS attribute corresponding to the user plane data to a distributed unit (DU) of a second IAB-donor (second IAB-donor-DU) (NOTE: This is OR function and does not need to be addressed).
While XU teaches, “An apparatus, which is a central unit (CU) of a first integrated access and backhaul (IAB)-donor (first IAB-donor-CU)”; XU does not expressively disclose:
first IAB-donor-CU …… determining a quality of service (QoS) attribute that indicates priority corresponding to an F1 application protocol (F1AP) message.
CHEN, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
first IAB-donor-CU …… determining a quality of service (QoS) attribute that indicates priority corresponding to an F1 application protocol (F1AP) message (Donor CU 205 (==first IAB-donor CU in claim ) transmit PDCUP DU to Donor DUC 205 using F1-U tunnel which include different QOS : “ Upon receiving the DL data packets, the adaptation layer of the donor DU 205 may perform the routing and bearer mapping”: [0039]; NOTE: indicates priority with F1AP message; “ the control signaling type may include at least one of the following type: non UE associated F1AP signaling, MT associated F1AP signaling, UE associated F1AP signaling, UE SRB0 F1AP, UE SRB1 F1AP, UE SRB2 F1AP, UE SRB3 F1AP, UE non SRB F1AP, MT SRB0 F1AP, MT SRB1 F1AP, MT SRB2 F1AP, MT SRB3 F1AP, MT non SRB F1AP. For the BH RLC channel QoS info, it may contain at least one of the following info: 5QI, ARP, GBR QoS Information, logical channel priority, etc”: [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of XU to include the above recited limitations as taught by CHEN. The suggestion/motivation would be enabling a network to allocate resources in a flexible manner to provide customized connectivity for different type of services that is desirable to meet various demands on network communication (CHEN; [0002]).
Regarding claim 2, XU in view of CHEN teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, CHEN teaches, the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the determining a QoS attribute corresponding to an F1AP message comprises determining, based on an F1AP message type of the F1AP message, the QoS attribute corresponding to the F1AP message ( ‘” For each BH RLC channel to be setup/modify/release, the first configuration may include at least one of the following fields: BH RLC channel ID, BH RLC channel type (also referred to as bearer type), BH RLC channel QoS info, RLC mode, and so on. Among them, the BH RLC channel type may be one of the following: user plane data/UE bearer, control signaling, default BH RLC channel, BH RLC channel for exceptional case, OAM traffic, etc. The control signaling type may include at least one of the following type: non UE associated F1AP signaling, MT associated F1AP signaling, UE associated F1AP signaling, UE SRB0 F1AP, UE SRB1 F1AP, UE SRB2 F1AP, UE SRB3 F1AP, UE non SRB F1AP, MT SRB0 F1AP, MT SRB1 F1AP, MT SRB2 F1AP, MT SRB3 F1AP, MT non SRB F1AP. For the BH RLC channel QoS info, it may contain at least one of the following info: 5QI, ARP, GBR QoS Information, logical channel priority, etc. For the OAM traffic, the donor CU 204 may configure the parent IAB node 206a DU with default BH RLC channel or BH RLC channel specific for the OAM traffic.”: [0060]; “ . In order to support the QoS flows of the access UE, the core network 202 sends a PDU session resource setup/modify request message to donor CU 204. Upon receiving the PDU session resource setup/modify request message, the donor CU 204 determines to establish one or more DRBs and associates BH RLC channel. The donor CU 204 sends a BH RLC channel setup/modify/release info via F1AP message to donor DU 205 as well as IAB node 206d DU along the data forwarding path. The BH RLC channel setup/modify/release info containing a list of BH RLC channels to be setup/modify/release. To be specific, it may include at least one of the following fields: BH RLC channel ID, BH RLC channel type, BH RLC channel QoS info, RLC mode, and so on. Among them, BH RLC channel type should be user plane data/UE bearer.”: [0066]) or
wherein the determining a QoS attribute corresponding to user plane data comprises determining, based on the user plane data, the QoS attribute corresponding to the user plane data (NOTE: This is OR function and does not need to address this function).
Regarding claim 3, XU in view of CHEN teaches the invention of claim 2 as set forth above. Further, XU teaches, The apparatus according to claim 2, wherein a correspondence between the F1AP message type and the QoS attribute or a correspondence between the user plane data and the QoS attribute is obtained by the first IAB- donor-CU from a CU of the second IAB-donor (second IAB-donor-CU) (“The decision may be made for instance based on at least one of any one or more of: an amount of and/or type of traffic (==QOS attributes ) communicated on the radio network layer application protocol connection 24, an amount of and/or type of wireless devices supported by the radio network layer application protocol connection 24, and an amount of and/or type of bearers of a certain quality of service profile supported by the radio network layer application protocol connection 24.”: [0102]; IAB-donor-CU1 has F1AP connection with another IAB-Donor DU : [0195]).
Regarding claim 4, XU in view of CHEN teaches the invention of claim 2 as set forth above. Further, XU teaches, The apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the F1AP message type is a user equipment associated type or a non-user equipment associated type (“UE-associated F1AP Traffic or No-UE associated F1AP traffic : [0085]).
Regarding claim 5, XU in view of CHEN teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, XU in view of CHEN teaches, The apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the sending the F1AP message and the QoS attribute corresponding to the F1AP message to a second IAB-donor-DU comprises (aforesaid F1AP from IAB-Donor-CU to second IAB-Donor-DU F1AP in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2, Fig. 3):
encapsulating the F1AP message into an internet protocol (IP) packet ( “ The IAB-donor-CU 210 sends (305) a UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message to the first-path IAB-donor-DU 220, which includes a generated RRCReconfiguration message. The RRCReconfiguration message may contain one or more TNL addresses for the IAB node 240, which are anchored at the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230. The IAB-donor-CU 210 can proactively obtain these TNL addresses from the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230. In case IPsec tunnel mode is used to protect the F1 and non-F1 traffic, the allocated TNL address is the outer IP address.”: [0064]; “ In some example embodiments, the request comprises at least one of the following: an identity (ID) of the third device 130 assigned by the first device 110, information of the fourth device 140, information concerning a transport layer address to be assigned by the second device 120, or information concerning traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140. In some example embodiments, the transport layer address may comprise an IP address.”: [0081]);
-including the QoS attribute corresponding to the F1AP message to an IP header of the IP packet (CHEN: QOS information in header : [0141]-[043]) ; and
_sending the IP packet to the second IAB-donor-DU in an IP routing manner ( “ second device 120 may configure a mapping of the traffic of the third device 130 to a backhaul radio link control (RLC) channel in the fourth device 140 and configure a routing of the traffic via the fourth device 140 in the fourth device 140 based on the information concerning the traffic.”: [0088]); or
wherein the sending the user plane data and the QoS attribute corresponding to the user plane data to a second IAB-donor-DU comprises:
_encapsulating the user plane data into an internet protocol (IP) packet;
_including the QoS attribute corresponding to the user plane data to an IP header of the IP packet; and _sending the IP packet to the second IAB-donor-DU in an IP routing manner (NOTE: This is OR function and will not be addressed).
Regarding claim 6, XU in view of CHEN teaches the invention of claim 5 as set forth above. Further, XU teaches The apparatus according to claim 5, wherein a destination IP address of the IP packet is set to an IP address allocated by the second IAB-donor ( “ In case IPsec tunnel mode is used to protect the F1 and non-F1 traffic, the allocated TNL address is the outer IP address (==destination IP address to second IAB-Donor). The TNL address allocation is not necessary if the first and second paths use the same IAB-donor-DU”: [0064]).
Regarding claim 7, XU in view of CHEN teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, XU teaches The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operations comprise: sending the F1AP message or the user plane data to the IAB-node through a second transport network layer association (TNLA) between the first IAB-donor-CU and the DU of the IAB-node, wherein the second TNLA corresponds to an internet protocol (IP) address allocated by the second IAB-donor to the IAB-node (“ he IAB-donor-CU 210 sends (305) a UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message to the first-path IAB-donor-DU 220, which includes a generated RRCReconfiguration message. The RRCReconfiguration message may contain one or more TNL addresses for the IAB node 240, which are anchored at the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230. The IAB-donor-CU 210 can proactively obtain these TNL addresses from the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230. In case IPsec tunnel mode is used to protect the F1 and non-F1 traffic, the allocated TNL address is the outer IP address. The TNL address allocation is not necessary if the first and second paths use the same IAB-donor-DU.”: [0064]; [0081], “ When the terminal device 250 is connected to the IAB node 240 and needs to establish a data radio bear (DRB) and F1-U tunnel, the DU of the IAB node 240 selects IP address #A11 or #A12. For example, if the IAB-Donor1-CU 210 wants to route the UL/DL F1-U via the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230, the DU of the IAB node 240 shall provide #A12 as part of the DL F-TEID to the IAB-Donor1-CU 210.”: [0105]).
Regarding claim 8, XU in view of CHEN teaches the invention of claim 7 as set forth above. Further, XU in view of CHEN teaches, The apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the operations comprise:
receiving the IP address
wherein the sending the F1AP message or the user plane data to the IAB-node through a second transport network layer association (TNLA) between the first IAB-donor-CU and the DU of the IAB-node comprises (CHEN “. IAB topology adaptation requires reconfiguring the endpoints of any transport layer tunnels or other connections associated with a migrating IAB node that hands over to a new serving IAB node. ”[0004]; “ the source CU becoming aware of the transport layer address of the donor DU2 and vice versa. Such direct forwarding is thereby applied to the inter-CU migration scenario between the new IAB-DU serving the migrated IAB node and the source CU. The direct forwarding may carry both F1-C and F1-U traffic. For this purpose, similar to the above, a modification of an existing procedure or a newly defined procedure can be used. Furthermore, a single message in such a procedure can be used to carry all F1 traffic pertaining to a single UE/IAB node or to a multitude of UEs/IAB nodes. Also, one message may carry only F1-C traffic or only non-UE-associated F1-C traffic or only UE-associated F1-C traffic or only F1-U traffic or a combination of any of the abovementioned traffic types pertaining to a single UE/IAB node or to a multitude of UEs/IAB nodes”: [0189]):
sending the F1AP message or the user plane data to the IAB-node through the second TNLA by using the IP address allocated by the second IAB-donor to the IAB-node ( “ In some example embodiments, the first device 110 transmits the context in a radio resource control (RRC) message or an F1 application protocol (F1AP) message, to the third device 130. For example, in case where the context comprises the transport layer address of the third device 130 assigned by the second device 120 for F1-C traffic, the first device 110 transmits the context in an RRC message (for example, an RRCReconfiguration message) or an F1AP message (for example, a GNB-CU CONFIGURATION UPDATE message). In case where the context comprises the routing ID for the uplink traffic of the third device 130 for F1-U traffic, the first device 110 transmits the context in an F1AP message. In some example embodiments, the RRC message may not contain any access stratum (AS) configuration.”: [0093]).
Regarding claim 9, XU in view of CHEN teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, XU teaches The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the QoS attribute is comprises at least one of a differentiated services code point (DSCP) or a flow label (DSCP : [0091]-[0092]).
Regarding claim 12, XU teaches, A system (fig. 1-3: System ), wherein the system comprises a central unit (CU) of a first integrated access and backhaul (IAB)-donor (first IAB- donor-CU) apparatus (see fig. 1: First Device 110 or Fig. 2: IAD-Donor-CU 210), (aforesaid First Device is IAD-Donor-CU as shown in Fig. 2 element 210 :: [0056]-[0057]; “ the first device 110 comprises a Centralized Unit (CU) of a first IAB donor,”: [0049]) and a distributed unit (DU) of a second IAB-donor (second IAB-donor-DU) (see fig. 1: Fourth Device 140 with is a IAB-Donor-DU of IAB-Donor-CU/Second Device , fig. 3 Second-Path IAB-Donor-DU; “the fourth device 140 comprises a DU of the second IAB donor,”: [0049];
wherein the first IAB-donor-CU (aforesaid First Device is IAD-Donor-CU as shown in Fig. 2 element 210 :: [0056]-[0057]; “ the first device 110 comprises a Centralized Unit (CU) of a first IAB donor,”: [0049]) is configured to:
send the F1AP message and the QoS attribute corresponding to the F1AP message to a second IAB-donor-distributed unit (DU) (see fig. 1: Fourth Device 140 with is a IAB-Donor-DU of IAB-Donor-CU/Second Device , fig. 3 Second-Path IAB-Donor-DU; “the fourth device 140 comprises a DU of the second IAB donor,”: [0049]; “ a second-path IAB-donor-DU 230”[ 0056]); (F1AP interface between First Device and Fourth Device in Fig. 1, F1AP interface between IAD-DONOR-CU and Second Path IAD-DONOR-DU/Fourth Device : “A DU setups an F1AP interface only with one CU.”: [0049]; Aforesaid “ IAB-donor-CU 210 may configure new UL backhaul information on the second path for F1 Application Protocol (F1AP) messages”: [0070]; “ IAB-donor-CU 210 sends (303) the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST (==F1AP Message) message to the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230, to create the UE context for the IAB node 240 and to set up one or more bearers (==QoS attributes). These bearers can be used by the IAB node 240 for its own signalling, and optionally for data traffic (==Quality or QOS attribute).”:{ 0062]; F1AP has UE-associated traffic with QOS information : “ the information concerning traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140 may comprise Quality of Service (QoS) information of F1-C traffic or F1-U traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140. In some example embodiments, the information concerning the non-F1-U traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140 may comprise the traffic type, for example, UE-associated F1AP traffic, non-UE-associated F1AP traffic, non-F1 traffic, BAP control PDU traffic, etc.”: [0085]),
wherein an F1 interface is a communication interface between the first IAB-donor-CU and a DU of an IAB-node (see fig. IAB-Donor-CU and second-path IAD-DONOR DU has F1 interface : “A DU setups an F1AP interface only with one CU.”: [0049]); and
wherein the second IAB-donor-DU (see fig. 1: Fourth Device 140 with is a IAB-Donor-DU of IAB-Donor-CU/Second Device , fig. 3 Second-Path IAB-Donor-DU; “the fourth device 140 comprises a DU of the second IAB donor,”: [0049] is configured to:
__receive the F1AP message and the QoS attribute corresponding to the F1AP message from the first IAB-donor-CU(see fig. 1: First Device 110 or Fig. 2: IAD-Donor-CU 210), (aforesaid First Device is IAD-Donor-CU as shown in Fig. 2 element 210 :: [0056]-[0057]; “ the first device 110 comprises a Centralized Unit (CU) of a first IAB donor,”: [0049]) (see fig. 1: Fourth Device 140 with is a IAB-Donor-DU of IAB-Donor-CU/Second Device , fig. 3 Second-Path IAB-Donor-DU; “the fourth device 140 comprises a DU of the second IAB donor,”: [0049]; “ a second-path IAB-donor-DU 230”[ 0056]); (F1AP interface between First Device and Fourth Device in Fig. 1, F1AP interface between IAD-DONOR-CU and Second Path IAD-DONOR-DU/Fourth Device : “A DU setups an F1AP interface only with one CU.”: [0049]; Aforesaid “ IAB-donor-CU 210 may configure new UL backhaul information on the second path for F1 Application Protocol (F1AP) messages”: [0070]; “ IAB-donor-CU 210 sends (303) the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST (==F1AP Message) message to the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230, to create the UE context for the IAB node 240 and to set up one or more bearers (==QoS attributes). These bearers can be used by the IAB node 240 for its own signalling, and optionally for data traffic (==Quality or QOS attribute).”:{ 0062]; F1AP has UE-associated traffic with QOS information : “ the information concerning traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140 may comprise Quality of Service (QoS) information of F1-C traffic or F1-U traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140. In some example embodiments, the information concerning the non-F1-U traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140 may comprise the traffic type, for example, UE-associated F1AP traffic, non-UE-associated F1AP traffic, non-F1 traffic, BAP control PDU traffic, etc.”: [0085]), or
wherein the first IAB-donor-CU is configured to:
determine a quality of service (QoS) attribute corresponding to user plane data, and send the user plane data and the QoS attribute corresponding to the user plane data to a second IAB- donor-DU; and
wherein the second IAB-donor-DU is configured to: _receive the user plane data and a QoS attribute corresponding to the user plane data from the first IAB-donor-CU (NOTE: This is OR function and does not need to be addressed).
XU does not expressively disclose:
the first IAB-donor-CU …… _determine a quality of service (QoS) attribute indicates priority corresponding to an F1 application protocol (F1AP ) message.
CHEN, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
first IAB-donor-CU …… determining a quality of service (QoS) attribute that indicates priority corresponding to an F1 application protocol (F1AP) message (Donor CU 205 (==first IAB-donor CU in claim ) transmit PDCUP DU to Donor DUC 205 using F1-U tunnel which include different QOS : “ Upon receiving the DL data packets, the adaptation layer of the donor DU 205 may perform the routing and bearer mapping”: [0039]; NOTE: indicates priority with F1AP message; “ the control signaling type may include at least one of the following type: non UE associated F1AP signaling, MT associated F1AP signaling, UE associated F1AP signaling, UE SRB0 F1AP, UE SRB1 F1AP, UE SRB2 F1AP, UE SRB3 F1AP, UE non SRB F1AP, MT SRB0 F1AP, MT SRB1 F1AP, MT SRB2 F1AP, MT SRB3 F1AP, MT non SRB F1AP. For the BH RLC channel QoS info, it may contain at least one of the following info: 5QI, ARP, GBR QoS Information, logical channel priority, etc”: [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of XU to include the above recited limitations as taught by CHEN. The suggestion/motivation would be enabling a network to allocate resources in a flexible manner to provide customized connectivity for different type of services that is desirable to meet various demands on network communication (CHEN; [0002]).
Regarding claim 13, XU in view of CHEN teaches the invention of claim 12 as set forth above. Further, CHEN teaches, The system according to claim 12, wherein the first IAB-donor-CU is configured to: determine, based on an F1AP message type of the F1AP message, the QoS attribute corresponding to the F1AP message ; or determine, based on the user plane data, the QoS attribute corresponding to the user plane data ( ‘” For each BH RLC channel to be setup/modify/release, the first configuration may include at least one of the following fields: BH RLC channel ID, BH RLC channel type (also referred to as bearer type), BH RLC channel QoS info, RLC mode, and so on. Among them, the BH RLC channel type may be one of the following: user plane data/UE bearer, control signaling, default BH RLC channel, BH RLC channel for exceptional case, OAM traffic, etc. The control signaling type may include at least one of the following type: non UE associated F1AP signaling, MT associated F1AP signaling, UE associated F1AP signaling, UE SRB0 F1AP, UE SRB1 F1AP, UE SRB2 F1AP, UE SRB3 F1AP, UE non SRB F1AP, MT SRB0 F1AP, MT SRB1 F1AP, MT SRB2 F1AP, MT SRB3 F1AP, MT non SRB F1AP. For the BH RLC channel QoS info, it may contain at least one of the following info: 5QI, ARP, GBR QoS Information, logical channel priority, etc. For the OAM traffic, the donor CU 204 may configure the parent IAB node 206a DU with default BH RLC channel or BH RLC channel specific for the OAM traffic.”: [0060]; “ . In order to support the QoS flows of the access UE, the core network 202 sends a PDU session resource setup/modify request message to donor CU 204. Upon receiving the PDU session resource setup/modify request message, the donor CU 204 determines to establish one or more DRBs and associates BH RLC channel. The donor CU 204 sends a BH RLC channel setup/modify/release info via F1AP message to donor DU 205 as well as IAB node 206d DU along the data forwarding path. The BH RLC channel setup/modify/release info containing a list of BH RLC channels to be setup/modify/release. To be specific, it may include at least one of the following fields: BH RLC channel ID, BH RLC channel type, BH RLC channel QoS info, RLC mode, and so on. Among them, BH RLC channel type should be user plane data/UE bearer.”: [0066]) .
Regarding claim 14, XU in view of CHEN teaches the invention of claim 13 as set forth above. Further, XU teaches, The system according to claim 13, wherein a correspondence between the F1AP message type and the QoS attribute or a correspondence between the user plane data and the QoS attribute is obtained by the first IAB- donor-CU from a CU of the second IAB-donor (second IAB-donor-CU) ) (“The decision may be made for instance based on at least one of any one or more of: an amount of and/or type of traffic (==QOS attributes ) communicated on the radio network layer application protocol connection 24, an amount of and/or type of wireless devices supported by the radio network layer application protocol connection 24, and an amount of and/or type of bearers of a certain quality of service profile supported by the radio network layer application protocol connection 24.”: [0102]; IAB-donor-CU1 has F1AP connection with another IAB-Donor DU : [0195]).
Regarding claim 15, XU in view of CHEN teaches the invention of claim 13 as set forth above. Further, XU teaches, The system according to claim 13, wherein the F1AP message type is a user equipment associated type or a non-user equipment associated type (“UE-associated F1AP Traffic or No-UE associated F1AP traffic : [0085]).
Regarding claim 16, XU in view of CHEN teaches the invention of claim 12 as set forth above. Further, XU teaches, The system according to claim 12, wherein the first IAB-donor- CU is configured to (aforesaid F1AP from IAB-Donor-CU to second IAB-Donor-DU F1AP in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2, Fig. 3):
encapsulate the F1AP message into an internet protocol (IP) packet ( “ The IAB-donor-CU 210 sends (305) a UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message to the first-path IAB-donor-DU 220, which includes a generated RRCReconfiguration message. The RRCReconfiguration message may contain one or more TNL addresses for the IAB node 240, which are anchored at the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230. The IAB-donor-CU 210 can proactively obtain these TNL addresses from the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230. In case IPsec tunnel mode is used to protect the F1 and non-F1 traffic, the allocated TNL address is the outer IP address.”: [0064]; “ In some example embodiments, the request comprises at least one of the following: an identity (ID) of the third device 130 assigned by the first device 110, information of the fourth device 140, information concerning a transport layer address to be assigned by the second device 120, or information concerning traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140. In some example embodiments, the transport layer address may comprise an IP address.”: [0081]);
include the QoS attribute corresponding to the F1AP message to an IP header of the IP packet [0141]-[043]); and
send the IP packet to the second IAB-donor-DU in an IP routing manner ( “ second device 120 may configure a mapping of the traffic of the third device 130 to a backhaul radio link control (RLC) channel in the fourth device 140 and configure a routing of the traffic via the fourth device 140 in the fourth device 140 based on the information concerning the traffic.”: [0088]); or
encapsulate the user plane data into an internet protocol (IP) packet; [[and ]]include the QoS attribute corresponding to the user plane data to an IP header of the IP packet; and send the IP packet to the second IAB-donor-DU in an IP routing manner(NOTE: This is OR function and will not be addressed).
Regarding claim 17, XU in view of CHEN teaches the invention of claim 16 as set forth above. Further, XU teaches, The system according to claim 16, wherein a destination IP address of the IP packet is set to an IP address allocated by the second IAB-donor ( “ In case IPsec tunnel mode is used to protect the F1 and non-F1 traffic, the allocated TNL address is the outer IP address (==destination IP address to second IAB-Donor). The TNL address allocation is not necessary if the first and second paths use the same IAB-donor-DU”: [0064]).
Regarding claim 18, XU in view of CHEN teaches the invention of claim 12 as set forth above. Further, XU teaches, The system according to claim 12, wherein the first IAB-donor-CU is further configured to send the F1AP message or the user plane data to the IAB-node through a second transport network layer association (TNLA) between the first IAB-donor-CU and the DU of the IAB-node, wherein the second TNLA corresponds to an internet protocol (IP) address allocated by the second IAB-donor to the IAB-node (“ the IAB-donor-CU 210 sends (305) a UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message to the first-path IAB-donor-DU 220, which includes a generated RRCReconfiguration message. The RRCReconfiguration message may contain one or more TNL addresses for the IAB node 240, which are anchored at the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230. The IAB-donor-CU 210 can proactively obtain these TNL addresses from the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230. In case IPsec tunnel mode is used to protect the F1 and non-F1 traffic, the allocated TNL address is the outer IP address. The TNL address allocation is not necessary if the first and second paths use the same IAB-donor-DU.”: [0064]; [0081], “ When the terminal device 250 is connected to the IAB node 240 and needs to establish a data radio bear (DRB) and F1-U tunnel, the DU of the IAB node 240 selects IP address #A11 or #A12. For example, if the IAB-Donor1-CU 210 wants to route the UL/DL F1-U via the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230, the DU of the IAB node 240 shall provide #A12 as part of the DL F-TEID to the IAB-Donor1-CU 210.”: [0105]).
Regarding claim 19, XU in view of CHEN teaches the invention of claim 18 as set forth above. Further, XU in view of CHEN teaches, The system according to claim 18,
wherein the first IAB-donor-CU is further configured to
receive the IP address allocated by the second IAB-donor to the IAB-node from a CU of the second IAB-donor (second IAB-donor-CU) ([0101]-[0106]); and
wherein the first IAB-donor-CU is configured to send the F1AP message or the user plane data to the IAB-node through the second TNLA by using the IP address allocated by the second IAB-donor to the IAB-node (CHEN “. IAB topology adaptation requires reconfiguring the endpoints of any transport layer tunnels or other connections associated with a migrating IAB node that hands over to a new serving IAB node. ”[0004]; “ the source CU becoming aware of the transport layer address of the donor DU2 and vice versa. Such direct forwarding is thereby applied to the inter-CU migration scenario between the new IAB-DU serving the migrated IAB node and the source CU. The direct forwarding may carry both F1-C and F1-U traffic. For this purpose, similar to the above, a modification of an existing procedure or a newly defined procedure can be used. Furthermore, a single message in such a procedure can be used to carry all F1 traffic pertaining to a single UE/IAB node or to a multitude of UEs/IAB nodes. Also, one message may carry only F1-C traffic or only non-UE-associated F1-C traffic or only UE-associated F1-C traffic or only F1-U traffic or a combination of any of the abovementioned traffic types pertaining to a single UE/IAB node or to a multitude of UEs/IAB nodes”: [0189]).
Regarding claim 20, XU in view of CHEN teaches the invention of claim 12 as set forth above. Further, XU teaches, The system according to claim 12,
wherein the QoS attribute comprises a differentiated services code point (DSCP) or a flow label (DSCP or traffic class code point for a traffic or flow label : “ the flow label or DSCP may only be used by the first device 110 when the first device 110 sends the downlink (DL) traffic to the third device 130 via the fourth device 140. ”: [0091]-[0092]), and
wherein the second IAB-donor-DU is configured to: perform routing and bearer mapping on the F1AP message based on a route configuration and a bearer configuration that correspond to the QoS attribute, or perform routing and bearer mapping on the user plane data based on a route configuration and a bearer configuration that correspond to the QoS attribute (“the context comprises the routing ID for the uplink traffic of the third device 130 for F1-U traffic, the first device 110 transmits the context in an F1AP message. In some example embodiments, the RRC message may not contain any access stratum (AS) configuration.”: [0093]; [0096], “ In some example embodiments, the request comprises at least one of the following: an identity of the third device assigned by the first device, information of the fourth device, information concerning a transport layer address to be assigned by the second device, or information concerning traffic of the third device to be routed via the fourth device.”: [0130] ; NOTE : Routing information).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411 /DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411