DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
Preliminary Amendment that was filed on 05/01/2023 is entered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/15/2023, 12/15/2023, 08/25/2025 IDS Considered have been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: Specifically,
Claim 11 line 1: replace “the apparatus according to claim 10” with " -- “the communication apparatus according to claim 10”.
Appropriate action required.
Examiner’s NOTE: Many claim limitations have “OR” options. The examiner will address only first or any one of the “OR” option unless explicitly mention by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) ) as being anticipated by XU et al. (US 20230284246 A1; hereinafter as “XU”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to XU unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 10, XU teaches, A communication apparatus, which is a distributed unit (DU) of a second integrated access and backhaul (IAB)-donor (second IAB-donor-DU) (see fig. 1: Fourth Device 140 with is a IAB-Donor-DU of IAB-Donor-CU/Second Device , fig. 3 Second-Path IAB-Donor-DU; “the fourth device 140 comprises a DU of the second IAB donor,”: [0049] or included in the second IAB-donor-DU,
wherein the communication apparatus comprises at least one processor (see Fig. 8: Processor: [0177]),
wherein the at least one processor is coupled to at least one memory stores a computer program for execution by the at least one processor to cause the communication apparatus to (processor with memory and computer program : [0177]-[0181]) perform operations comprising:
receiving, an F1 application protocol (F1AP ) message and a quality of service (QoS) attribute corresponding to the F1AP message from a central unit (CU) of a first IAB-donor (first IAB-donor-CU) (aforesaid First Device is IAD-Donor-CU as shown in Fig. 2 element 210 :: [0056]-[0057]; “ the first device 110 comprises a Centralized Unit (CU) of a first IAB donor,”: [0049];
(see fig. 1: Fourth Device 140 with is a IAB-Donor-DU of IAB-Donor-CU/Second Device , fig. 3 Second-Path IAB-Donor-DU; “the fourth device 140 comprises a DU of the second IAB donor,”: [0049]; “ a second-path IAB-donor-DU 230”[ 0056]); (F1AP interface between First Device and Fourth Device in Fig. 1, F1AP interface between IAD-DONOR-CU and Second Path IAD-DONOR-DU/Fourth Device : “A DU setups an F1AP interface only with one CU.”: [0049]; Aforesaid “ IAB-donor-CU 210 may configure new UL backhaul information on the second path for F1 Application Protocol (F1AP) messages”: [0070]; “ IAB-donor-CU 210 sends (303) the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST (==F1AP Message) message to the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230, to create the UE context for the IAB node 240 and to set up one or more bearers (==QoS attributes). These bearers can be used by the IAB node 240 for its own signalling, and optionally for data traffic (==Quality or QOS attribute).”:{ 0062]; F1AP has UE-associated traffic with QOS information : “ the information concerning traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140 may comprise Quality of Service (QoS) information of F1-C traffic or F1-U traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140. In some example embodiments, the information concerning the non-F1-U traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140 may comprise the traffic type, for example, UE-associated F1AP traffic, non-UE-associated F1AP traffic, non-F1 traffic, BAP control PDU traffic, etc.”: [0085]),
wherein an F1 interface is a communication interface between the first IAB- donor-CU and a DU of an IAB-node (see fig. IAB-Donor-CU and second-path IAD-DONOR DU has F1 interface : “A DU setups an F1AP interface only with one CU.”: [0049]). or
receiving user plane data and a quality of service (QoS) attribute corresponding to the user plane data from a first IAB-donor-central unit (CU) (NOTE: This is OR function and does not need to be addressed).
Regarding claim 11, XU teaches the invention of claim 10 as set forth above. Further, XU teaches, The apparatus according to claim 10,
wherein the QoS attribute comprises at least one of a differentiated services code point (DSCP) or a flow label (DSCP or traffic class code point for a traffic or flow label : “ the flow label or DSCP may only be used by the first device 110 when the first device 110 sends the downlink (DL) traffic to the third device 130 via the fourth device 140. ”: [0091]-[0092]); and
wherein the operations comprise:
performing routing and bearer mapping on the F1AP message based on a route configuration and a bearer configuration that correspond to the QoS attribute, or performing routing and bearer mapping on the user plane data based on a route configuration and a bearer configuration that correspond to the QoS attribute (routing ID with routing information (“the context comprises the routing ID for the uplink traffic of the third device 130 for F1-U traffic, the first device 110 transmits the context in an F1AP message. In some example embodiments, the RRC message may not contain any access stratum (AS) configuration.”: [0093]; [0096], “ In some example embodiments, the request comprises at least one of the following: an identity of the third device assigned by the first device, information of the fourth device, information concerning a transport layer address to be assigned by the second device, or information concerning traffic of the third device to be routed via the fourth device.”: [0130] ; NOTE : Routing information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU et al. (US 20230284246 A1; hereinafter as “XU”) in view of MILDH et al. (US 20230292204 A1; hereinafter as “MILDH”, using priority date July 17, 2020).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to XU unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 1, XU teaches, An apparatus (see fig. 1: First Device 110 or Fig. 2: IAD-Donor-CU 210), which is a central unit (CU) of a first integrated access and backhaul (IAB)-donor (first IAB-donor-CU) (aforesaid First Device is IAD-Donor-CU as shown in Fig. 2 element 210 :: [0056]-[0057]; “ the first device 110 comprises a Centralized Unit (CU) of a first IAB donor,”: [0049]) or included in the first IAB- donor-CU,
wherein the apparatus (see fig. 1: First Device 110 or Fig. 2: IAD-Donor-CU 210), comprises at least one processor (aforesaid IAD-Donor-CU with processor as shown in Fig. 8 : [0177]),
wherein the at least one processor is coupled to at least one memory that stores a computer program for execution by the at least one processor (aforesaid IAD-Donor-CU with processor and memory communicate with each other along with computer program; as shown in Fig. 8 : “ A computer program 830 includes computer executable instructions that are executed by the associated processor 810. The program 830 may be stored in the ROM 820. The processor 810 may perform any suitable actions and processing by loading the program 830 into the RAM 820.”: [0177]; [0181]), to cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising:
sending the F1AP message and the QoS attribute corresponding to the F1AP message to a distributed unit (DU) of a second IAB-donor (second IAB-donor-DU) (see fig. 1: Fourth Device 140 with is a IAB-Donor-DU of IAB-Donor-CU/Second Device , fig. 3 Second-Path IAB-Donor-DU; “the fourth device 140 comprises a DU of the second IAB donor,”: [0049]; “ a second-path IAB-donor-DU 230”[ 0056]); (F1AP interface between First Device and Fourth Device in Fig. 1, F1AP interface between IAD-DONOR-CU and Second Path IAD-DONOR-DU/Fourth Device : “A DU setups an F1AP interface only with one CU.”: [0049]; Aforesaid “ IAB-donor-CU 210 may configure new UL backhaul information on the second path for F1 Application Protocol (F1AP) messages”: [0070]; “ IAB-donor-CU 210 sends (303) the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST (==F1AP Message) message to the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230, to create the UE context for the IAB node 240 and to set up one or more bearers (==QoS attributes). These bearers can be used by the IAB node 240 for its own signalling, and optionally for data traffic (==Quality or QOS attribute).”:{ 0062]; F1AP has UE-associated traffic with QOS information : “ the information concerning traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140 may comprise Quality of Service (QoS) information of F1-C traffic or F1-U traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140. In some example embodiments, the information concerning the non-F1-U traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140 may comprise the traffic type, for example, UE-associated F1AP traffic, non-UE-associated F1AP traffic, non-F1 traffic, BAP control PDU traffic, etc.”: [0085]),
wherein an F1 interface is a communication interface between the first IAB-donor-CU and a DU of an IAB-node (see fig. IAB-Donor-CU and second-path IAD-DONOR DU has F1 interface : “A DU setups an F1AP interface only with one CU.”: [0049]); or
determining a quality of service (QoS) attribute corresponding to user plane data, and sending the user plane data and the QoS attribute corresponding to the user plane data to a distributed unit (DU) of a second IAB-donor (second IAB-donor-DU) (NOTE: This is OR function and does not need to be addressed).
While XU teaches, “An apparatus, which is a central unit (CU) of a first integrated access and backhaul (IAB)-donor (first IAB-donor-CU)”; XU does not expressively disclose:
first IAB-donor-CU …… determining a quality of service (QoS) attribute corresponding to an F1 application protocol (F1AP) message.
MILDH, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
first IAB-donor-CU (“ the first radio network equipment 14A comprises a first IAB donor”: [0110]) …… determining a quality of service (QoS) attribute corresponding to an F1 application protocol (F1AP) message (see fig. 5 , aforesaid first IAB Donor CU “deciding (==determining in claim ) whether and/or when to migrate the radio network layer application protocol connection 24 from the first radio network equipment 14A (==first IAB Donor CU )to the second radio network equipment 14B (==second IAD Donor DU )(Block 400). The decision may be made for instance based on at least one of any one or more of: an amount of and/or type of traffic (==QOS attributes ) communicated on the radio network layer application protocol connection 24, an amount of and/or type of wireless devices supported by the radio network layer application protocol connection 24, and an amount of and/or type of bearers of a certain quality of service profile supported by the radio network layer application protocol connection 24.”: [0102]; IAB-donor-CU1 has F1AP connection with another IAB-Donor DU : [0195]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of XU to include the above recited limitations as taught by MILDH. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide uninterrupted wireless communication service (MILDH; [0004]-[005]).
Regarding claim 2, XU in view of MILDH teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, MILDH teaches, the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the determining a QoS attribute corresponding to an F1AP message comprises determining, based on an F1AP message type of the F1AP message, the QoS attribute corresponding to the F1AP message (“The decision may be made for instance based on at least one of any one or more of: an amount of and/or type of traffic (==QOS attributes ) communicated on the radio network layer application protocol connection 24, an amount of and/or type of wireless devices supported by the radio network layer application protocol connection 24, and an amount of and/or type of bearers of a certain quality of service profile supported by the radio network layer application protocol connection 24.”: [0102]; IAB-donor-CU1 has F1AP connection with another IAB-Donor DU : [0195]); or
wherein the determining a QoS attribute corresponding to user plane data comprises determining, based on the user plane data, the QoS attribute corresponding to the user plane data (NOTE: This is OR function and does not need to address this function).
Regarding claim 3, XU in view of MILDH teaches the invention of claim 2 as set forth above. Further, XU teaches, The apparatus according to claim 2, wherein a correspondence between the F1AP message type and the QoS attribute or a correspondence between the user plane data and the QoS attribute is obtained by the first IAB- donor-CU from a CU of the second IAB-donor (second IAB-donor-CU) (“The decision may be made for instance based on at least one of any one or more of: an amount of and/or type of traffic (==QOS attributes ) communicated on the radio network layer application protocol connection 24, an amount of and/or type of wireless devices supported by the radio network layer application protocol connection 24, and an amount of and/or type of bearers of a certain quality of service profile supported by the radio network layer application protocol connection 24.”: [0102]; IAB-donor-CU1 has F1AP connection with another IAB-Donor DU : [0195]).
Regarding claim 4, XU in view of MILDH teaches the invention of claim 2 as set forth above. Further, XU teaches, The apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the F1AP message type is a user equipment associated type or a non-user equipment associated type (“UE-associated F1AP Traffic or No-UE associated F1AP traffic : [0085]).
Regarding claim 5, XU in view of MILDH teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, XU in view of MILDH teaches, The apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the sending the F1AP message and the QoS attribute corresponding to the F1AP message to a second IAB-donor-DU comprises (aforesaid F1AP from IAB-Donor-CU to second IAB-Donor-DU F1AP in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2, Fig. 3):
encapsulating the F1AP message into an internet protocol (IP) packet ( “ The IAB-donor-CU 210 sends (305) a UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message to the first-path IAB-donor-DU 220, which includes a generated RRCReconfiguration message. The RRCReconfiguration message may contain one or more TNL addresses for the IAB node 240, which are anchored at the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230. The IAB-donor-CU 210 can proactively obtain these TNL addresses from the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230. In case IPsec tunnel mode is used to protect the F1 and non-F1 traffic, the allocated TNL address is the outer IP address.”: [0064]; “ In some example embodiments, the request comprises at least one of the following: an identity (ID) of the third device 130 assigned by the first device 110, information of the fourth device 140, information concerning a transport layer address to be assigned by the second device 120, or information concerning traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140. In some example embodiments, the transport layer address may comprise an IP address.”: [0081]);
-including the QoS attribute corresponding to the F1AP message to an IP header of the IP packet (MILDH: QOS information in header : [0141]-[043]) ; and
_sending the IP packet to the second IAB-donor-DU in an IP routing manner ( “ second device 120 may configure a mapping of the traffic of the third device 130 to a backhaul radio link control (RLC) channel in the fourth device 140 and configure a routing of the traffic via the fourth device 140 in the fourth device 140 based on the information concerning the traffic.”: [0088]); or
wherein the sending the user plane data and the QoS attribute corresponding to the user plane data to a second IAB-donor-DU comprises:
_encapsulating the user plane data into an internet protocol (IP) packet;
_including the QoS attribute corresponding to the user plane data to an IP header of the IP packet; and _sending the IP packet to the second IAB-donor-DU in an IP routing manner (NOTE: This is OR function and will not be addressed).
Regarding claim 6, XU in view of MILDH teaches the invention of claim 5 as set forth above. Further, XU teaches The apparatus according to claim 5, wherein a destination IP address of the IP packet is set to an IP address allocated by the second IAB-donor ( “ In case IPsec tunnel mode is used to protect the F1 and non-F1 traffic, the allocated TNL address is the outer IP address (==destination IP address to second IAB-Donor). The TNL address allocation is not necessary if the first and second paths use the same IAB-donor-DU”: [0064]).
Regarding claim 7, XU in view of MILDH teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, XU teaches The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operations comprise: sending the F1AP message or the user plane data to the IAB-node through a second transport network layer association (TNLA) between the first IAB-donor-CU and the DU of the IAB-node, wherein the second TNLA corresponds to an internet protocol (IP) address allocated by the second IAB-donor to the IAB-node (“ he IAB-donor-CU 210 sends (305) a UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message to the first-path IAB-donor-DU 220, which includes a generated RRCReconfiguration message. The RRCReconfiguration message may contain one or more TNL addresses for the IAB node 240, which are anchored at the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230. The IAB-donor-CU 210 can proactively obtain these TNL addresses from the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230. In case IPsec tunnel mode is used to protect the F1 and non-F1 traffic, the allocated TNL address is the outer IP address. The TNL address allocation is not necessary if the first and second paths use the same IAB-donor-DU.”: [0064]; [0081], “ When the terminal device 250 is connected to the IAB node 240 and needs to establish a data radio bear (DRB) and F1-U tunnel, the DU of the IAB node 240 selects IP address #A11 or #A12. For example, if the IAB-Donor1-CU 210 wants to route the UL/DL F1-U via the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230, the DU of the IAB node 240 shall provide #A12 as part of the DL F-TEID to the IAB-Donor1-CU 210.”: [0105]).
Regarding claim 8, XU in view of MILDH teaches the invention of claim 7 as set forth above. Further, XU in view of MILDH teaches, The apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the operations comprise:
receiving the IP address from a CU of the second IAB-donor (second IAB-donor- CU') ( [0101]-[0106]) ; and
wherein the sending the F1AP message or the user plane data to the IAB-node through a second transport network layer association (TNLA) between the first IAB-donor-CU and the DU of the IAB-node comprises (MILDH “. IAB topology adaptation requires reconfiguring the endpoints of any transport layer tunnels or other connections associated with a migrating IAB node that hands over to a new serving IAB node. ”[0004]; “ the source CU becoming aware of the transport layer address of the donor DU2 and vice versa. Such direct forwarding is thereby applied to the inter-CU migration scenario between the new IAB-DU serving the migrated IAB node and the source CU. The direct forwarding may carry both F1-C and F1-U traffic. For this purpose, similar to the above, a modification of an existing procedure or a newly defined procedure can be used. Furthermore, a single message in such a procedure can be used to carry all F1 traffic pertaining to a single UE/IAB node or to a multitude of UEs/IAB nodes. Also, one message may carry only F1-C traffic or only non-UE-associated F1-C traffic or only UE-associated F1-C traffic or only F1-U traffic or a combination of any of the abovementioned traffic types pertaining to a single UE/IAB node or to a multitude of UEs/IAB nodes”: [0189]):
sending the F1AP message or the user plane data to the IAB-node through the second TNLA by using the IP address allocated by the second IAB-donor to the IAB-node ( “ In some example embodiments, the first device 110 transmits the context in a radio resource control (RRC) message or an F1 application protocol (F1AP) message, to the third device 130. For example, in case where the context comprises the transport layer address of the third device 130 assigned by the second device 120 for F1-C traffic, the first device 110 transmits the context in an RRC message (for example, an RRCReconfiguration message) or an F1AP message (for example, a GNB-CU CONFIGURATION UPDATE message). In case where the context comprises the routing ID for the uplink traffic of the third device 130 for F1-U traffic, the first device 110 transmits the context in an F1AP message. In some example embodiments, the RRC message may not contain any access stratum (AS) configuration.”: [0093]).
Regarding claim 9, XU in view of MILDH teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, XU teaches The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the QoS attribute is comprises at least one of a differentiated services code point (DSCP) or a flow label (DSCP : [0091]-[0092]).
Regarding claim 12, XU teaches, A system (fig. 1-3: System ), wherein the system comprises a central unit (CU) of a first integrated access and backhaul (IAB)-donor (first IAB- donor-CU) apparatus (see fig. 1: First Device 110 or Fig. 2: IAD-Donor-CU 210), (aforesaid First Device is IAD-Donor-CU as shown in Fig. 2 element 210 :: [0056]-[0057]; “ the first device 110 comprises a Centralized Unit (CU) of a first IAB donor,”: [0049]) and a distributed unit (DU) of a second IAB-donor (second IAB-donor-DU) (see fig. 1: Fourth Device 140 with is a IAB-Donor-DU of IAB-Donor-CU/Second Device , fig. 3 Second-Path IAB-Donor-DU; “the fourth device 140 comprises a DU of the second IAB donor,”: [0049];
wherein the first IAB-donor-CU (aforesaid First Device is IAD-Donor-CU as shown in Fig. 2 element 210 :: [0056]-[0057]; “ the first device 110 comprises a Centralized Unit (CU) of a first IAB donor,”: [0049]) is configured to:
send the F1AP message and the QoS attribute corresponding to the F1AP message to a second IAB-donor-distributed unit (DU) (see fig. 1: Fourth Device 140 with is a IAB-Donor-DU of IAB-Donor-CU/Second Device , fig. 3 Second-Path IAB-Donor-DU; “the fourth device 140 comprises a DU of the second IAB donor,”: [0049]; “ a second-path IAB-donor-DU 230”[ 0056]); (F1AP interface between First Device and Fourth Device in Fig. 1, F1AP interface between IAD-DONOR-CU and Second Path IAD-DONOR-DU/Fourth Device : “A DU setups an F1AP interface only with one CU.”: [0049]; Aforesaid “ IAB-donor-CU 210 may configure new UL backhaul information on the second path for F1 Application Protocol (F1AP) messages”: [0070]; “ IAB-donor-CU 210 sends (303) the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST (==F1AP Message) message to the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230, to create the UE context for the IAB node 240 and to set up one or more bearers (==QoS attributes). These bearers can be used by the IAB node 240 for its own signalling, and optionally for data traffic (==Quality or QOS attribute).”:{ 0062]; F1AP has UE-associated traffic with QOS information : “ the information concerning traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140 may comprise Quality of Service (QoS) information of F1-C traffic or F1-U traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140. In some example embodiments, the information concerning the non-F1-U traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140 may comprise the traffic type, for example, UE-associated F1AP traffic, non-UE-associated F1AP traffic, non-F1 traffic, BAP control PDU traffic, etc.”: [0085]),
wherein an F1 interface is a communication interface between the first IAB-donor-CU and a DU of an IAB-node (see fig. IAB-Donor-CU and second-path IAD-DONOR DU has F1 interface : “A DU setups an F1AP interface only with one CU.”: [0049]); and
wherein the second IAB-donor-DU (see fig. 1: Fourth Device 140 with is a IAB-Donor-DU of IAB-Donor-CU/Second Device , fig. 3 Second-Path IAB-Donor-DU; “the fourth device 140 comprises a DU of the second IAB donor,”: [0049] is configured to:
__receive the F1AP message and the QoS attribute corresponding to the F1AP message from the first IAB-donor-CU(see fig. 1: First Device 110 or Fig. 2: IAD-Donor-CU 210), (aforesaid First Device is IAD-Donor-CU as shown in Fig. 2 element 210 :: [0056]-[0057]; “ the first device 110 comprises a Centralized Unit (CU) of a first IAB donor,”: [0049]) (see fig. 1: Fourth Device 140 with is a IAB-Donor-DU of IAB-Donor-CU/Second Device , fig. 3 Second-Path IAB-Donor-DU; “the fourth device 140 comprises a DU of the second IAB donor,”: [0049]; “ a second-path IAB-donor-DU 230”[ 0056]); (F1AP interface between First Device and Fourth Device in Fig. 1, F1AP interface between IAD-DONOR-CU and Second Path IAD-DONOR-DU/Fourth Device : “A DU setups an F1AP interface only with one CU.”: [0049]; Aforesaid “ IAB-donor-CU 210 may configure new UL backhaul information on the second path for F1 Application Protocol (F1AP) messages”: [0070]; “ IAB-donor-CU 210 sends (303) the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST (==F1AP Message) message to the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230, to create the UE context for the IAB node 240 and to set up one or more bearers (==QoS attributes). These bearers can be used by the IAB node 240 for its own signalling, and optionally for data traffic (==Quality or QOS attribute).”:{ 0062]; F1AP has UE-associated traffic with QOS information : “ the information concerning traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140 may comprise Quality of Service (QoS) information of F1-C traffic or F1-U traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140. In some example embodiments, the information concerning the non-F1-U traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140 may comprise the traffic type, for example, UE-associated F1AP traffic, non-UE-associated F1AP traffic, non-F1 traffic, BAP control PDU traffic, etc.”: [0085]), or
wherein the first IAB-donor-CU is configured to:
determine a quality of service (QoS) attribute corresponding to user plane data, and send the user plane data and the QoS attribute corresponding to the user plane data to a second IAB- donor-DU; and
wherein the second IAB-donor-DU is configured to: _receive the user plane data and a QoS attribute corresponding to the user plane data from the first IAB-donor-CU (NOTE: This is OR function and does not need to be addressed).
XU does not expressively disclose:
the first IAB-donor-CU …… _determine a quality of service (QoS) attribute corresponding to an F1 application protocol (F1AP ) message.
the first IAB-donor-CU (“ the first radio network equipment 14A comprises a first IAB donor”: [0110]) …… …… _determine a quality of service (QoS) attribute corresponding to an F1 application protocol (F1AP ) message (see fig. 5 , aforesaid first IAB Donor CU “deciding (==determining in claim ) whether and/or when to migrate the radio network layer application protocol connection 24 from the first radio network equipment 14A (==first IAB Donor CU )to the second radio network equipment 14B (==second IAD Donor DU )(Block 400). The decision may be made for instance based on at least one of any one or more of: an amount of and/or type of traffic (==QOS attributes ) communicated on the radio network layer application protocol connection 24, an amount of and/or type of wireless devices supported by the radio network layer application protocol connection 24, and an amount of and/or type of bearers of a certain quality of service profile supported by the radio network layer application protocol connection 24.”: [0102]; IAB-donor-CU1 has F1AP connection with another IAB-Donor DU : [0195]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of XU to include the above recited limitations as taught by MILDH. The suggestion/motivation would be to provide uninterrupted wireless communication service (MILDH; [0004]-[005]).
Regarding claim 13, XU in view of MILDH teaches the invention of claim 12 as set forth above. Further, MILDH teaches, The system according to claim 12, wherein the first IAB-donor-CU is configured to: determine, based on an F1AP message type of the F1AP message, the QoS attribute corresponding to the F1AP message; or determine, based on the user plane data, the QoS attribute corresponding to the user plane data (“The decision may be made for instance based on at least one of any one or more of: an amount of and/or type of traffic (==QOS attributes ) communicated on the radio network layer application protocol connection 24, an amount of and/or type of wireless devices supported by the radio network layer application protocol connection 24, and an amount of and/or type of bearers of a certain quality of service profile supported by the radio network layer application protocol connection 24.”: [0102]; IAB-donor-CU1 has F1AP connection with another IAB-Donor DU : [0195]).
Regarding claim 14, XU in view of MILDH teaches the invention of claim 13 as set forth above. Further, XU teaches, The system according to claim 13, wherein a correspondence between the F1AP message type and the QoS attribute or a correspondence between the user plane data and the QoS attribute is obtained by the first IAB- donor-CU from a CU of the second IAB-donor (second IAB-donor-CU) ) (“The decision may be made for instance based on at least one of any one or more of: an amount of and/or type of traffic (==QOS attributes ) communicated on the radio network layer application protocol connection 24, an amount of and/or type of wireless devices supported by the radio network layer application protocol connection 24, and an amount of and/or type of bearers of a certain quality of service profile supported by the radio network layer application protocol connection 24.”: [0102]; IAB-donor-CU1 has F1AP connection with another IAB-Donor DU : [0195]).
Regarding claim 15, XU in view of MILDH teaches the invention of claim 13 as set forth above. Further, XU teaches, The system according to claim 13, wherein the F1AP message type is a user equipment associated type or a non-user equipment associated type (“UE-associated F1AP Traffic or No-UE associated F1AP traffic : [0085]).
Regarding claim 16, XU in view of MILDH teaches the invention of claim 12 as set forth above. Further, XU teaches, The system according to claim 12, wherein the first IAB-donor- CU is configured to (aforesaid F1AP from IAB-Donor-CU to second IAB-Donor-DU F1AP in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2, Fig. 3):
encapsulate the F1AP message into an internet protocol (IP) packet ( “ The IAB-donor-CU 210 sends (305) a UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message to the first-path IAB-donor-DU 220, which includes a generated RRCReconfiguration message. The RRCReconfiguration message may contain one or more TNL addresses for the IAB node 240, which are anchored at the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230. The IAB-donor-CU 210 can proactively obtain these TNL addresses from the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230. In case IPsec tunnel mode is used to protect the F1 and non-F1 traffic, the allocated TNL address is the outer IP address.”: [0064]; “ In some example embodiments, the request comprises at least one of the following: an identity (ID) of the third device 130 assigned by the first device 110, information of the fourth device 140, information concerning a transport layer address to be assigned by the second device 120, or information concerning traffic of the third device 130 to be routed via the fourth device 140. In some example embodiments, the transport layer address may comprise an IP address.”: [0081]);
include the QoS attribute corresponding to the F1AP message to an IP header of the IP packet [0141]-[043]); and
send the IP packet to the second IAB-donor-DU in an IP routing manner ( “ second device 120 may configure a mapping of the traffic of the third device 130 to a backhaul radio link control (RLC) channel in the fourth device 140 and configure a routing of the traffic via the fourth device 140 in the fourth device 140 based on the information concerning the traffic.”: [0088]); or
encapsulate the user plane data into an internet protocol (IP) packet; [[and ]]include the QoS attribute corresponding to the user plane data to an IP header of the IP packet; and send the IP packet to the second IAB-donor-DU in an IP routing manner(NOTE: This is OR function and will not be addressed).
Regarding claim 17, XU in view of MILDH teaches the invention of claim 16 as set forth above. Further, XU teaches, The system according to claim 16, wherein a destination IP address of the IP packet is set to an IP address allocated by the second IAB-donor ( “ In case IPsec tunnel mode is used to protect the F1 and non-F1 traffic, the allocated TNL address is the outer IP address (==destination IP address to second IAB-Donor). The TNL address allocation is not necessary if the first and second paths use the same IAB-donor-DU”: [0064]).
Regarding claim 18, XU in view of MILDH teaches the invention of claim 12 as set forth above. Further, XU teaches, The system according to claim 12, wherein the first IAB-donor-CU is further configured to send the F1AP message or the user plane data to the IAB-node through a second transport network layer association (TNLA) between the first IAB-donor-CU and the DU of the IAB-node, wherein the second TNLA corresponds to an internet protocol (IP) address allocated by the second IAB-donor to the IAB-node (“ the IAB-donor-CU 210 sends (305) a UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message to the first-path IAB-donor-DU 220, which includes a generated RRCReconfiguration message. The RRCReconfiguration message may contain one or more TNL addresses for the IAB node 240, which are anchored at the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230. The IAB-donor-CU 210 can proactively obtain these TNL addresses from the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230. In case IPsec tunnel mode is used to protect the F1 and non-F1 traffic, the allocated TNL address is the outer IP address. The TNL address allocation is not necessary if the first and second paths use the same IAB-donor-DU.”: [0064]; [0081], “ When the terminal device 250 is connected to the IAB node 240 and needs to establish a data radio bear (DRB) and F1-U tunnel, the DU of the IAB node 240 selects IP address #A11 or #A12. For example, if the IAB-Donor1-CU 210 wants to route the UL/DL F1-U via the second-path IAB-donor-DU 230, the DU of the IAB node 240 shall provide #A12 as part of the DL F-TEID to the IAB-Donor1-CU 210.”: [0105]).
Regarding claim 19, XU in view of MILDH teaches the invention of claim 18 as set forth above. Further, XU in view of MILDH teaches, The system according to claim 18,
wherein the first IAB-donor-CU is further configured to
receive the IP address allocated by the second IAB-donor to the IAB-node from a CU of the second IAB-donor (second IAB-donor-CU) ([0101]-[0106]); and
wherein the first IAB-donor-CU is configured to send the F1AP message or the user plane data to the IAB-node through the second TNLA by using the IP address allocated by the second IAB-donor to the IAB-node (MILDH “. IAB topology adaptation requires reconfiguring the endpoints of any transport layer tunnels or other connections associated with a migrating IAB node that hands over to a new serving IAB node. ”[0004]; “ the source CU becoming aware of the transport layer address of the donor DU2 and vice versa. Such direct forwarding is thereby applied to the inter-CU migration scenario between the new IAB-DU serving the migrated IAB node and the source CU. The direct forwarding may carry both F1-C and F1-U traffic. For this purpose, similar to the above, a modification of an existing procedure or a newly defined procedure can be used. Furthermore, a single message in such a procedure can be used to carry all F1 traffic pertaining to a single UE/IAB node or to a multitude of UEs/IAB nodes. Also, one message may carry only F1-C traffic or only non-UE-associated F1-C traffic or only UE-associated F1-C traffic or only F1-U traffic or a combination of any of the abovementioned traffic types pertaining to a single UE/IAB node or to a multitude of UEs/IAB nodes”: [0189]).
Regarding claim 20, XU in view of MILDH teaches the invention of claim 12 as set forth above. Further, XU teaches, The system according to claim 12,
wherein the QoS attribute comprises a differentiated services code point (DSCP) or a flow label (DSCP or traffic class code point for a traffic or flow label : “ the flow label or DSCP may only be used by the first device 110 when the first device 110 sends the downlink (DL) traffic to the third device 130 via the fourth device 140. ”: [0091]-[0092]), and
wherein the second IAB-donor-DU is configured to: perform routing and bearer mapping on the F1AP message based on a route configuration and a bearer configuration that correspond to the QoS attribute, or perform routing and bearer mapping on the user plane data based on a route configuration and a bearer configuration that correspond to the QoS attribute (“the context comprises the routing ID for the uplink traffic of the third device 130 for F1-U traffic, the first device 110 transmits the context in an F1AP message. In some example embodiments, the RRC message may not contain any access stratum (AS) configuration.”: [0093]; [0096], “ In some example embodiments, the request comprises at least one of the following: an identity of the third device assigned by the first device, information of the fourth device, information concerning a transport layer address to be assigned by the second device, or information concerning traffic of the third device to be routed via the fourth device.”: [0130] ; NOTE : Routing information).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure in PTO-892.
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411