DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 11, 14, 15, and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakurada et al. (US Pat. 3,931,088) in view of Shukla et al. (Construction and Building Materials 34 (2012) 593-601).
Considering Claims 9, 11, and 14: Sakurada et al. teaches a method for making a composite comprising wood/lignocellulose material in two or more discrete parts bonded together (Examples 1-4) with an binder composition comprising soy powder/fluor (6:48-56) and an adhesive formulation comprising an emulsion of a polymer and a isocyanate crosslinker (1:62-2:5), where the adhesive and the additive are mixed together (4:21-24); applied to the wood material (Examples 1-4); and cold pressing the wood material together for 20 minutes to form the composite (Examples 1-4). Sakurada et al. teaches the additive (soy powder) as being 15 to 50 weight percent of the binder (6:67-7:22).
Sakurada et al. teaches that sufficient strength of adhesion can be achieved by cold pressing (7:33-36). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have prepared a composite in the process of Sakurada et al. without hot pressing, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Sakurada et al. teaches, sufficient strength of adhesion can be achieved by the cold pressing step, and the additional energy and time expense can be avoided.
Sakurada et al. does not teach that the lignocellulose is pre-treated with a copper based preservative. However, Shukla et al. teaches pretreated wood for a wood composite with copper azole prior to forming the composite (pg. 594). Sakurada et al. and Shukla et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely wood composites. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have pre-treated the wood of Sakurada et al. as in Shukla et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Shukla et al. suggests, to reduce the microbial growth in the composite (pg. 593-94).
Considering Claim 15: Sakurada et al. teaches adding the additive in a dry form (Example 5).
Considering Claims 18 and 19: Sakurada et al. teaches pressing three layers of wood material (Examples 1-4).
Considering Claim 21: Sakurada et al. teaches an example comprising clay/a filler and water (Example 1).
Considering Claim 22: Sakurada et al. teaches composite as being plywood (7:37-42).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakurada et al. (US Pat. 3,931,088) in view of Shukla et al. (Construction and Building Materials 34 (2012) 593-601) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Via et al. (US 2017/0266930).
Considering Claims 16 and 17: Sakurada et al. teaches the process of claim 9 as shown above.
Sakurada et al. does not teach adding the soy material in a suspension. However, Via et al. teaches that the soy fluor can be in powder form/dry form or a slurry form/in a water suspension (¶0048). Via et al. teaches a moisture content of 1 to 80 weight percent (¶0032). Sakurada et al. and Via et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely wood composites. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added the soy flour of Sakurada et al. in the form of a suspension as in Via et al., and the motivation to do would have been, as Via et al. suggests, it is functionally equivalent to adding the additive in the dry form (¶0048).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakurada et al. (US Pat. 3,931,088) in view of Shukla et al. (Construction and Building Materials 34 (2012) 593-601).
Considering Claim 23: Sakurada et al. teaches a product prepared by a method for making a composite comprising wood/lignocellulose material in two or more discrete parts bonded together (Examples 1-4) with an binder composition comprising soy powder/fluor (6:48-56) and an adhesive formulation comprising an emulsion of a polymer and a isocyanate crosslinker (1:62-2:5), where the adhesive and the additive are mixed together (4:21-24); applied to the wood material (Examples 1-4); and cold pressing the wood material together for 20 minutes to form the composite (Examples 1-4). Sakurada et al. teaches the additive (soy powder) as being 15 to 50 weight percent of the binder (6:67-7:22).
Sakurada et al. teaches that sufficient strength of adhesion can be achieved by cold pressing (7:33-36). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have prepared a composite in the process of Sakurada et al. without hot pressing, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Sakurada et al. teaches, sufficient strength of adhesion can be achieved by the cold pressing step, and the additional energy and time expense can be avoided.
Sakurada et al. does not teach that the lignocellulose is pre-treated with a copper based preservative. However, Shukla et al. teaches pretreated wood for a wood composite with copper azole prior to forming the composite (pg. 594). Sakurada et al. and Shukla et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely wood composites. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have pre-treated the wood of Sakurada et al. as in Shukla et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Shukla et al. suggests, to reduce the microbial growth in the composite (pg. 593-94).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, because:
The applicant’s argument that Sakurada et al. requires a hot pressing step is not persuasive. Sakurada et al. teaches that sufficient strength of adhesion can be achieved by cold pressing (7:33-36). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have prepared a composite in the process of Sakurada et al. without hot pressing, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Sakurada et al. teaches, sufficient strength of adhesion can be achieved by the cold pressing step, and the additional energy and time expense can be avoided.
"A known or obvious composition does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior to some other product for the same use." In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551, 554, 31 USPQ2d 1130, 1132 (Fed. Cir. 1994). See MPEP § 2123.
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767