DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakurada et al. (US Pat. 3,931,088) in view of Shukla et al. (Construction and Building Materials 34 (2012) 593-601).
Considering Claims 1, 3, and 6: Sakurada et al. teaches a composite comprising wood/lignocellulose material in two or more discrete parts bonded together (Examples 1-4) with an binder composition comprising soy powder/fluor (6:48-56) and an adhesive formulation comprising an emulsion of a polymer and a isocyanate crosslinker (1:62-2:5). Sakurada et al. teaches the additive (soy powder) as being 15 to 50 weight percent of the binder (6:67-7:22).
Sakurada et al. does not teach that the lignocellulose is pre-treated with a copper based preservative. However, Shukla et al. teaches pretreated wood for a wood composite with copper azole prior to forming the composite (pg. 594). Sakurada et al. and Shukla et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely wood composites. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have pre-treated the wood of Sakurada et al. as in Shukla et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Shukla et al. suggests, to reduce the microbial growth in the composite (pg. 593-94).
Considering Claim 7: Sakurada et al. teaches an example comprising clay/a filler and water (Example 1).
Considering Claim 8: Sakurada et al. teaches composite as being plywood (7:37-42).
Claims 9, 11, 14, 15, and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakurada et al. (US Pat. 3,931,088) in view of Shukla et al. (Construction and Building Materials 34 (2012) 593-601).
Considering Claims 9, 11, and 14: Sakurada et al. teaches a method for making a composite comprising wood/lignocellulose material in two or more discrete parts bonded together (Examples 1-4) with an binder composition comprising soy powder/fluor (6:48-56) and an adhesive formulation comprising an emulsion of a polymer and a isocyanate crosslinker (1:62-2:5), where the adhesive and the additive are mixed together (4:21-24); applied to the wood material (Examples 1-4); and pressing the wood material together to form the composite (Examples 1-4). Sakurada et al. teaches the additive (soy powder) as being 15 to 50 weight percent of the binder (6:67-7:22).
Sakurada et al. does not teach that the lignocellulose is pre-treated with a copper based preservative. However, Shukla et al. teaches pretreated wood for a wood composite with copper azole prior to forming the composite (pg. 594). Sakurada et al. and Shukla et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely wood composites. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have pre-treated the wood of Sakurada et al. as in Shukla et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Shukla et al. suggests, to reduce the microbial growth in the composite (pg. 593-94).
Considering Claim 15: Sakurada et al. teaches adding the additive in a dry form (Example 5).
Considering Claims 18 and 19: Sakurada et al. teaches pressing three layers of wood material (Examples 1-4).
Considering Claim 20: Sakurada et al. teaches cold pressing the composite material for 20 minutes (Examples 1-4).
Considering Claim 21: Sakurada et al. teaches an example comprising clay/a filler and water (Example 1).
Considering Claim 22: Sakurada et al. teaches composite as being plywood (7:37-42).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakurada et al. (US Pat. 3,931,088) in view of Shukla et al. (Construction and Building Materials 34 (2012) 593-601) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Via et al. (US 2017/0266930).
Considering Claims 16 and 17: Sakurada et al. teaches the process of claim 9 as shown above.
Sakurada et al. does not teach adding the soy material in a suspension. However, Via et al. teaches that the soy fluor can be in powder form/dry form or a slurry form/in a water suspension (¶0048). Via et al. teaches a moisture content of 1 to 80 weight percent (¶0032). Sakurada et al. and Via et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely wood composites. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added the soy flour of Sakurada et al. in the form of a suspension as in Via et al., and the motivation to do would have been, as Via et al. suggests, it is functionally equivalent to adding the additive in the dry form (¶0048).
Claims 1, 3, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Via et al. (US 2016/0264781) in view of Shukla et al. (Construction and Building Materials 34 (2012) 593-601).
Considering Claims 1 and 3: Via et al. teaches a composite comprising a lignocellulose material in two or more discrete parts and a binder composition comprising soy fluor and a synthetic resin (¶0016) that is preferably phenol formaldehyde, urea formaldehyde or methylene diisocyanate/adhesive formulation (¶0032). Via et al. teaches the soy fluor as being 1 to 50 weight percent of the binder composition (¶0032).
Via et al. does not teach that the lignocellulose is pre-treated with a copper based preservative. However, Shukla et al. teaches pretreated wood for a wood composite with copper azole prior to forming the composite (pg. 594). Via et al. and Shukla et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely wood composites. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have pre-treated the wood of Via et al. as in Shukla et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Shukla et al. suggests, to reduce the microbial growth in the composite (pg. 593-94).
Considering Claim 7: Via et al. teaches adding a viscosity modifying additive to the binder (¶0033).
Considering Claim 8: Via et al. teaches preparing oriented strand board/strand laminated timber (¶0034).
Claims 9, 11, 15-19, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Via et al. (US 2016/0264781) in view of Shukla et al. (Construction and Building Materials 34 (2012) 593-601).
Considering Claims 9 and 11: Via et al. teaches a method making composite comprising a lignocellulose material in two or more discrete parts and a binder composition comprising soy fluor and a synthetic resin (¶0016) that is preferably phenol formaldehyde, urea formaldehyde or methylene diisocyanate/adhesive formulation (¶0032), the method comprising mixing the soy product and the adhesive (¶0037), applying the binder to the lignocellulose material (¶0037), and pressing the mixture under pressure to form the pressed wood composite (¶0037; 0044). Via et al. teaches the soy fluor as being 1 to 50 weight percent of the binder composition (¶0032).
Via et al. does not teach that the lignocellulose is pre-treated with a copper based preservative. However, Shukla et al. teaches pretreated wood for a wood composite with copper azole prior to forming the composite (pg. 594). Via et al. and Shukla et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely wood composites. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have pre-treated the wood of Via et al. as in Shukla et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Shukla et al. suggests, to reduce the microbial growth in the composite (pg. 593-94).
Considering Claims 15 and 16: Via et al. teaches that the soy fluor can be in powder form/dry form or a slurry form/in a water suspension (¶0031).
Considering Claim 17: Via et al. teaches a moisture content of 1 to 80 weight percent (¶0032).
Considering Claims 18 and 19: Via et al. teaches bonding a plurality of strands (¶0044).
Considering Claim 21: Via et al. teaches adding a viscosity modifying additive to the binder (¶0033).
Considering Claim 22: Via et al. teaches preparing oriented strand board/strand laminated timber (¶0034).
Claims 1, 3, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Via et al. (US 20170266930) in view of Shukla et al. (Construction and Building Materials 34 (2012) 593-601).
Considering Claims 1 and 3: Via et al. teaches composite comprising a lignocellulose material in two or more discrete parts and a binder composition comprising soy fluor and a synthetic resin (¶0030) that is preferably phenol formaldehyde, urea formaldehyde or methylene diisocyanate/adhesive formulation (¶0050). Via et al. teaches the soy fluor as being 1 to 50 weight percent of the binder composition (¶0049).
Via et al. does not teach that the lignocellulose is pre-treated with a copper based preservative. However, Shukla et al. teaches pretreated wood for a wood composite with copper azole prior to forming the composite (pg. 594). Via et al. and Shukla et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely wood composites. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have pre-treated the wood of Via et al. as in Shukla et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Shukla et al. suggests, to reduce the microbial growth in the composite (pg. 593-94).
Considering Claim 7: Via et al. teaches adding a viscosity modifying additive or wax to the binder (¶0051-52).
Considering Claim 8: Via et al. teaches preparing oriented strand board/strand laminated timber (¶0062).
Claims 9, 11, 15-19, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Via et al. (US 2017/0266930) in view of Shukla et al. (Construction and Building Materials 34 (2012) 593-601).
Considering Claims 9 and 11: Via et al. teaches a method making composite comprising a lignocellulose material in two or more discrete parts and a binder composition comprising soy fluor and a synthetic resin (¶0030) that is preferably phenol formaldehyde, urea formaldehyde or methylene diisocyanate/adhesive formulation (¶0050), the method comprising mixing the soy product and the adhesive (¶0064), applying the binder to the lignocellulose material (¶0064), and pressing the mixture under pressure to form the pressed wood composite (¶0064; 0076). Via et al. teaches the soy fluor as being 1 to 50 weight percent of the binder composition (¶0049).
Via et al. does not teach that the lignocellulose is pre-treated with a copper based preservative. However, Shukla et al. teaches pretreated wood for a wood composite with copper azole prior to forming the composite (pg. 594). Via et al. and Shukla et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely wood composites. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have pre-treated the wood of Via et al. as in Shukla et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Shukla et al. suggests, to reduce the microbial growth in the composite (pg. 593-94).
Considering Claims 15 and 16: Via et al. teaches that the soy fluor can be in powder form/dry form or a slurry form/in a water suspension (¶0048).
Considering Claim 17: Via et al. teaches a moisture content of 1 to 80 weight percent (¶0032).
Considering Claims 18 and 19: Via et al. teaches bonding a plurality of strands (¶0076).
Considering Claim 21: Via et al. teaches adding a viscosity modifying additive or wax to the binder (¶0051-52).
Considering Claim 22: Via et al. teaches preparing oriented strand board/strand laminated timber (¶0062).
Double Patenting
Claims 9, 11, 18, 19, 21, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 10,899,039 in view of Shukla et al. (Construction and Building Materials 34 (2012) 593-601). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Considering Claims 9 and 11: Claim 1 of Patent ‘039 teaches a method of preparing a pressed wood composite comprising mixing a soy product and a synthetic resin that is MDI/an adhesive formulation to form a binder; applying the binder to a lignocellulose material; and pressing the mat with heating to form the composite. Claim 5 of Patent ‘039 teaches the soy product as being soy flour. Claim 6 of Patent ‘039 teaches the soy product as being 10 to 50 weight percent of the binder.
Patent ‘039 does not teach that the lignocellulose is pre-treated with a copper based preservative. However, Shukla et al. teaches pretreated wood for a wood composite with copper azole prior to forming the composite (pg. 594). Patent ‘039 and Shukla et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely wood composites. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have pre-treated the wood of Patent ‘039 as in Shukla et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Shukla et al. suggests, to reduce the microbial growth in the composite (pg. 593-94).
Considering Claims 18 and 19: Claim 4 of Patent ‘039 teaches three layers of wood material.
Considering Claim 21: Claim 3 of Patent ‘039 teaches adding a wax to the binder.
Considering Claim 22: Claim 1 of Patent ‘039 teaches the composite as being a laminated strand lumber.
Claims 9, 11, 18, 19, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 10,266,694 in view of Shukla et al. (Construction and Building Materials 34 (2012) 593-601). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Considering Claims 9 and 11: Claim 1 of Patent ‘694 teaches a method of preparing a pressed wood composite comprising mixing a soy product and a synthetic resin that is MDI/an adhesive formulation to form a binder; applying the binder to a lignocellulose material; and pressing the mat with heating to form the composite. Claim 1 of Patent ‘694 teaches the soy product as being soy flour. Claim 7 of Patent ‘694 teaches the soy product as being 10 to 50 weight percent of the binder.
Patent ‘039 does not teach that the lignocellulose is pre-treated with a copper based preservative. However, Shukla et al. teaches pretreated wood for a wood composite with copper azole prior to forming the composite (pg. 594). Patent ‘039 and Shukla et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely wood composites. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have pre-treated the wood of Patent ‘039 as in Shukla et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Shukla et al. suggests, to reduce the microbial growth in the composite (pg. 593-94).
Considering Claims 18 and 19: Claim 2 of Patent ‘694 teaches three layers of wood material.
Considering Claim 22: Claim 1 of Patent ‘694 teaches the composite as being a laminated strand lumber.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,266,694 as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Shukla et al. (Construction and Building Materials 34 (2012) 593-601).
Considering Claims 10 and 11: Patent ‘694 teaches the process of claim 9 as shown above.
Patent ‘694 does not teach that the lignocellulose is pre-treated with a copper based preservative. However, Shukla et al. teaches pretreated wood for a wood composite with copper azole prior to forming the composite (pg. 594). Patent ‘694 and Shukla et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely wood composites. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have pre-treated the wood of Patent ‘694 as in Shukla et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Shukla et al. suggests, to reduce the microbial growth in the composite (pg. 593-94).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, because:
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767