DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 04/20/2026 is being entered. Claims 1, 3, 7, 9, and 16 are amended. Claims 23 is canceled. Claims 26-27 are new. Claims 1-4, 6-11, 14-17, 19, 21-22, and 24-27 are pending, and rejected as detailed below.
Response to Arguments
Liu Does Not Anticipate Claims 1, 7, 14, and 16
Independent Claim 1
Applicant respectfully submits that Liu fails to disclose at least "determining map data comprising geometric data associated with at least one feature of the environment," as recited by amended claim 1. That is, Applicant respectfully submits that the "second image data indicative of a second image associated with a second image sensor" of Liu cannot reasonably be said to teach or suggest "map data comprising geometric data associated with at least one feature of the environment." Accordingly, Applicant submits that Liu does not anticipate claim 1 and respectfully requests that the Office reconsider and withdraw the § 102 rejection of claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments, as amended herein, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 under 35 U.S.C. §102 have been fully considered and not persuasive as Liu (US 20210258611 A1) [para. 0054] and [para. 0056] teach about the “geometric data”. More specifically, Liu teaches “The sensor data 118 can include image data, radar data, LIDAR data, and/or other data acquired by the vehicle sensor(s) 116. For example, the vehicle sensor(s) 116 can include a front-facing RGB camera mounted on top of the vehicle 102 and the sensor data 118 can include an RGB image depicting the surrounding environment of the vehicle 102. In addition, or alternatively, the vehicle sensor(s) 116 can include one or more LIDAR sensor(s) and the sensor data 118 can include one or more sparse sets of LIDAR measurements.” [para. 0054]. It is inherent that geometric data of surrounding environment (road signs, traffic lights, building, etc.) is received via the LIDAR so that the 3D modeling of building and landscape can be completed. Furthermore, Liu teaches “For example, the map data 132 can provide the vehicle 102 relative positions of the elements of a surrounding environment of the vehicle 102. The vehicle 102 can identify its position within the surrounding environment (e.g., across six axes, etc.) based at least in part on the map data 132. For example, the vehicle computing system 110 can process the sensor data 118 (e.g., LIDAR data, camera data, etc.) to match it to a map of the surrounding environment to get an understanding of the vehicle's position within that environment.” in [para. 0056]. It is also inherent that geometric data such as building is received as sensor data 118 so that the received building data can be correctly match with the received map data 132 to determine the exact location of the vehicle. In particular, the amendments to claims 1 are addressed in the instant office action.
Independent Claim 7
Applicant respectfully submits Liu fails to disclose at least a confidence score "indicating a likelihood that the at least one of the semantic segmentation, the object detection, the depth to the object, the localization error, or the false positive indication is accurate," as recited by amended claim 7. That is, Applicant respectfully submits that Liu's "cost volume," which measures the probability "of a correct disparity" between two stereo images for the purpose of image compression, cannot reasonably be said to teach or suggest a "confidence score indicating a likelihood that the at least one of the semantic segmentation, the object detection, the depth to the object, the localization error, or the false positive indication is accurate" as recited by amended claim 7. Accordingly, Applicant submits that Liu does not anticipate claim 7 and respectfully requests that the Office reconsider and withdraw the § 102 rejection of claim 7.
Applicant’s arguments, as amended herein, with respect to the rejections of claims 7 under 35 U.S.C. §102 have been fully considered and persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection for claims 7 under 35 U.S.C. §103 is made in view of Liu and Bojarski (US 20200324795 A1). In particular, the amendments to claims 7 is addressed in the instant office action.
Dependent Claim 14
Applicant respectfully submits that claim 14 ultimately depends from independent claim 7. As discussed above, claim 7 is not anticipated by Liu, and is therefore allowable over the cited document. Therefore, claim 14 is allowable over the cited document of record for at least its dependency from an allowable base claim, and also for the additional features that it recites.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the Office withdraw the § 102 rejection of claim 14.
Applicant’s arguments, as amended herein, with respect to the rejections of claims 14 under 35 U.S.C. §102 have been fully considered and persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection for claims 14 under 35 U.S.C. §103 is made in view of Liu and Bojarski. In particular, the amendments to claims 14 is addressed in the instant office action.
Independent Claim 16
Applicant respectfully submits that Liu fails to disclose all of the features of claim 16, either as previously presented or as currently amended. Liu is discussed above with respect to claims 1 and 7. For reasons similar to those above with respect to at least independent claim 7, Liu fails to anticipate claim 16. Accordingly, Applicant submits that Liu does not anticipate claim 16 and respectfully requests that the Office reconsider and withdraw the § 102 rejection of claim 16.
Applicant’s arguments, as amended herein, with respect to the rejections of claims 16 under 35 U.S.C. §102 have been fully considered and persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection for claims 16 under 35 U.S.C. §103 is made in view of Liu and Bojarski. In particular, the amendments to claims 16 is addressed in the instant office action.
Claims 2, 8, and 17 Would Not Have Been Obvious over Liu and De Andrade
Applicant respectfully submits that claims 2, 8, and 17 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly being obvious over a combination of Liu and De Andrade. Claims 2, 8, and 17 ultimately depend from independent claims 1, 7, and 16, respectively. As discussed above, claims 1, 7, and 16 are allowable over the cited document. The Office cites De Andrade as allegedly teaching the additional features of dependent claims 2, 8, and 17. Without conceding the propriety of the combination of Liu and De Andrade, the combination fails to teach or suggest one or more features of independent claims 1, 7, and 16. Therefore, claims 2, 8, and 17 are allowable over the cited documents of record for at least their dependency from an allowable base claim, and also for the additional features that each recites. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the Office withdraw the § 103 rejection of claims 2, 8, and 17.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of dependent claims 2 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and not persuasive as claim 1 is anticipated by Liu. Therefore, rejection for claim 2 is maintained in view of the combination of Liu and De Andrade. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of dependent claims 8 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection for claims 8 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. §103 is made in view of the combination of Liu, Bojarski, and De Andrade.
Claims 3, 4, 6, 9, 10, and 19 Would Not Have Been Obvious over Liu, De Andrade, Arditi, and Qin
Applicant respectfully submits that claims 3, 4, 6, 9, 10, and 19 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly being obvious over a combination of Liu, De Andrade, Arditi, and Qin. Claims 3, 4, 6, 9, 10, and 19 ultimately depend from independent claims 1, 7, and 16, respectively. As discussed above, claims 1, 7, and 16 are allowable over Liu. The Office cites Arditi and Qin as allegedly teaching the additional features of dependent claims 3, 4, 6, 9, 10, and 19. Without conceding the propriety of the combination of Liu, De Andrade, Arditi, and Qin, the combination fails to teach or suggest one or more features of independent claims 1, 7, and 16. Therefore, claims 3, 4, 6, 9, 10, and 19 are allowable over the cited documents of record for at least their dependency from an allowable base claim, and also for the additional features that each recites. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the Office withdraw the § 103 rejection of claims 3, 4, 6, 9, 10, and 19.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of dependent claims 3, 4, and 6 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and not persuasive as claim 1 is anticipated by Liu. Therefore, rejection for claims 3, 4, and 6 is maintained in view of the combination of Liu, De Andrade, and Arditi. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of dependent claims 9, 10, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection for claims 9, 10, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. §103 is made in view of the combination of Liu, Bojarski, De Andrade, Arditi, and Qin.
Claim 11 Would Not Have Been Obvious over Liu, De Andrade, and Boiarski
Applicant respectfully submits that claim 11 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly being obvious over a combination of Liu, De Andrade, and Bojarski. Claim 11 ultimately depends from independent claim 7. As discussed above, claim 7 is allowable over Liu. The Office cites Bojarski as allegedly teaching the additional features of dependent claim 11. Without conceding the propriety of the combination of Liu, De Andrade, and Bojarski, the combination fails to teach or suggest one or more features of independent claim 7. Therefore, claim 11 is allowable over the cited documents of record for at least its dependency from an allowable base claim, and also for the additional features that it recites. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the Office withdraw the § 103 rejection of claim 11.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of dependent claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and not persuasive as claim 8 is rejected in view of the combination of Liu, Boiarski, and De Andrade. Therefore, rejection for claim 11 is maintained in view of the combination of Liu, De Andrade, and Boiarski.
Claim 15 Would Not Have Been Obvious over Liu, De Andrade, and Luvan Liu
Applicant respectfully submits that claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly being obvious over a combination of Liu, De Andrade, and Luyan Liu. Claim 15 ultimately depends from independent claim 7. As discussed above, claim 7 is allowable over Liu. The Office cites Luyan Liu as allegedly teaching the additional features of dependent claim 15. Without conceding the propriety of the combination of Liu, De Andrade, and Luyan Liu, the combination fails to teach or suggest one or more features of independent claim 7. Therefore, claim 15 is allowable over the cited documents of record for at least its dependency from an allowable base claim, and also for the additional features that it recites. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the Office withdraw the § 103 rejection of claim 15.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of dependent claim 15 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection for claim 15 under 35 U.S.C. §103 is made in view of the combination of Liu, Bojarski, and Luyan Liu
Claim 21 Would Not Have Been Obvious over Liu and Qin
Applicant respectfully submits that claim 21 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly being obvious over a combination of Liu in view of Qin. Claim 21 ultimately depends from independent claim 1. As discussed above, claim 1 is allowable over the cited documents. The Office cites Qin as allegedly teaching the additional features of dependent claim 21. Without conceding the propriety of the combination of Liu and Qin, the combination fails to teach or suggest one or more features of independent claim 1. Therefore, claim 21 is allowable over the cited documents of record for at least its dependency from an allowable base claim, and also for the additional features that it recites. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the Office withdraw the § 103 rejection of claim 21.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of dependent claim 21 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and not persuasive as claim 1 is anticipated by Liu. Therefore, rejection for claim 21 is maintained in view of the combination of Liu and Qin.
Claims 22-24 Would Not Have Been Obvious over Liu and Boiarski
Applicant respectfully submits that claims 22-24 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly being obvious over a combination of Liu and Bojarski. Claim 23 is canceled herein without prejudice or disclaimer of the subject matter, rendering the rejection of this claim moot. Claims 22 and 24 ultimately depend from independent claims 1 and 7, respectively. As discussed above, claims 1 and 7 are allowable over the cited documents. The Office cites Bojarski as allegedly teaching the additional features of dependent claims 22 and 24. Without conceding the propriety of the combination of Liu and Bojarski, the combination fails to teach or suggest one or more features of independent claims 1 and 7. Therefore, claims 22 and 24 are allowable over the cited documents of record for at least their dependency from an allowable base claim, and also for the additional features that each recites. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the Office withdraw the § 103 rejection of claims 22 and 24.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of dependent claims 22 and 24 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and not persuasive as claim 1 is anticipated by Liu and claim 7 are rejected in view of the combination of Liu and Bojarski. Therefore, rejection for claims 22 and 24 are maintained in view of the combination of Liu and Bojarski.
Claim 25 Would Not Have Been Obvious over Liu, Qin, and Boiarski
Applicant respectfully submits that claim 25 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly being obvious over a combination of Liu, Qin, and Bojarski. Claim 25 ultimately depends from independent claim 16. As discussed above, claim 16 is allowable over Liu. The Office cites Qin and Bojarski as allegedly teaching the additional features of dependent claim 25. Without conceding the propriety of the combination of Liu, Qin, and Bojarski, the combination fails to teach or suggest one or more features of independent claim 16. Therefore, claim 25 is allowable over the cited documents of record for at least its dependency from an allowable base claim, and also for the additional features that it recites. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the Office withdraw the § 103 rejection of claim 25.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of dependent claim 25 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and not persuasive as claim 16 are rejected in view of the combination of Liu and Bojarski. Therefore, rejection for claim 25 is maintained in view of the combination of Liu, Bojarski, De Andrade, and Qin.
New Claims 26 and 27
Applicant adds new claims 26 and 27. Claims 26 and 27 ultimately depend from independent claim 1. As discussed above, claim 1 is allowable over the cited document. Therefore, claims 26 and 27 are allowable over the cited documents of record for at least their dependency from an allowable base claim, and also for the additional features that each recites. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests expedient allowance of claims 26 and 27.
Applicant’s arguments, as amended herein, with respect to the rejections of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. §102 have been fully considered and not persuasive as Liu anticipate claims 1. In particular, claims 26-27 are addressed in the instant office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (US 20210258611 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches (Currently Amended) A system (Liu, at least one para. 0002; “The present disclosure relates generally to improving the ability of computing devices to compress image data.”) comprising:
one or more processors (Liu, at least one para. 0044; “one or more processors”); and
non-transitory memory storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations (Liu, at least one para. 0044; “An autonomous vehicle according to an example aspect of the present disclosure can include a plurality of vehicle sensors including a first image sensor and a second image sensor, one or more processors, and one or more tangible, non-transitory, computer readable media that collectively store instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to perform operations.”) comprising:
receiving sensor data associated with an environment surrounding a vehicle (Liu, at least one para. 0054; “The vehicle sensor(s) 116 can be configured to acquire sensor data 118. This can include sensor data associated with the surrounding environment of the vehicle 102. ”);
determining map data comprising geometric data associated with at least one feature of the environment based (Liu, at least one para. 0055; “In addition to the sensor data 118, the autonomy computing system 130 can retrieve or otherwise obtain map data 132. The map data 132 can provide static world representations about the surrounding environment of the vehicle 102. For example, in some implementations, a vehicle 102 can exploit prior knowledge about the static world by building very detailed maps (HD maps) that represent not only the roads, buildings, bridges, and landmarks, but also traffic lanes, signs, and lights to centimeter accurate three-dimensional representations.”), (Liu, at least one para. 0054; “The sensor data 118 can include image data, radar data, LIDAR data, and/or other data acquired by the vehicle sensor(s) 116. For example, the vehicle sensor(s) 116 can include a front-facing RGB camera mounted on top of the vehicle 102 and the sensor data 118 can include an RGB image depicting the surrounding environment of the vehicle 102. In addition, or alternatively, the vehicle sensor(s) 116 can include one or more LIDAR sensor(s) and the sensor data 118 can include one or more sparse sets of LIDAR measurements.”, wherein it is inherent that geometric data of surrounding environment (road signs, traffic lights, building, etc.) is received via the LIDAR so that the 3D modeling of building and landscape can be completed), and (Liu, at least one para. 0056; “For example, the map data 132 can provide the vehicle 102 relative positions of the elements of a surrounding environment of the vehicle 102. The vehicle 102 can identify its position within the surrounding environment (e.g., across six axes, etc.) based at least in part on the map data 132. For example, the vehicle computing system 110 can process the sensor data 118 (e.g., LIDAR data, camera data, etc.) to match it to a map of the surrounding environment to get an understanding of the vehicle's position within that environment.”, wherein it is also inherent that geometric data such as building is received as sensor data 118 so that the received building data can be correctly match with the received map data 132 to determine the exact location of the vehicle.) at least in part on a first pose of the vehicle and a second pose of a sensor associated with the vehicle (Liu, at least one para. 0054; “The sensor data 118 can include image data, radar data, LIDAR data, and/or other data acquired by the vehicle sensor(s) 116. For example, the vehicle sensor(s) 116 can include a front-facing RGB camera mounted on top of the vehicle 102 and the sensor data 118 can include an RGB image depicting the surrounding environment of the vehicle 102.”);
determining, by a first encoder based at least in part on at least a first portion of the sensor data, a first embedding (Liu, at least one para. 0067; “FIG. 2 depicts an example computing environment including a machine-learned image compression system 200 according to example embodiments of the present disclosure. Image compression system 200 includes a machine-learned image compression model 210 that is configured to jointly compress two or more inputs such as a first image 202 and a second image 204 having at least partially overlapping fields of view.”);
determining, by a second encoder based at least in part on a first portion of the map data, a second embedding, wherein the first portion of the sensor data and the first portion of the map data are associated with a region of the environment (Liu, at least one para. 0068; “The set of one or more parametric skip function(s) 228 can be provided in order to propagate information from feature maps 224 generated by the encoder 212 from the first image 202. In some examples, a parametric skip function can be provided for each encoding layer 214 except for a first encoding layer of encoder 212. The propagated information from the feature maps 224 is provided to encoder 242.”);
determining, by a transformer-based machine-learned model comprising the first encoder and the second encoder and based at least in part on determining a dot product associated with the first embedding and the second embedding (Liu, at least one para. 0165; “the machine-learned models 1010 can be or can otherwise include various machine-learned models such as, for example, neural networks (e.g., deep neural networks or other types of models including linear models and/or non-linear models. Example neural networks include feed-forward neural networks, recurrent neural networks (e.g., long short-term memory recurrent neural networks), convolutional neural networks, or other forms of neural networks.”) and (Liu, at least one para. 0036; “In some examples, the machine-learned image compression model can include an end-to-end deep architecture where implicit depth estimation and compression are performed jointly.”, wherein the dot product is inherent feature in the linear models of the machine-learning and the machine learning image compression model that include end-to-end deep architecture), an attention score (Liu, at least one para. 0101; “In Equation 2, C.sub.d,i represents the cost of disparity d at pixel i. The pixel index that is d pixels to the right of pixel i is represented by (i, d). The volumetric warping provides a warped feature map g.sub.2.sup.t−1 which better aligns with the feature map of the second image. This can also be seen as an attention mechanism for each pixel i into the first image's feature map within a disparity range”) indicating a relationship between the first portion of the sensor data and the first portion of the map data (Liu, at least one para. 0069; “A conditional entropy model can be used to model the correlation between the two image codes of the two images to reduce the joint entropy, and hence the joint bitrate, of the two image codes.”);
determining, based at least in part on the attention score, an output comprising at least one of a semantic segmentation associated with the sensor data, an object detection indicating a detection of an object represented in the sensor data (Liu, at least one para. 0166; “the computing system 1002 can implement the machine-learned model(s) 1010 to generate uncertainty data for object detections, predictions, and motion plan generation based on sensor data.”), a depth to the object (Liu, at least one para. 0041; “In some examples, an end to end deep architecture for multiple image compression (e.g., stereo image compression) is provided. The architecture can provide implicit depth estimation and compression that are performed jointly in the machine learned image compression model”), or a false positive dynamic object indication; and
controlling the vehicle based at least in part on the output (Liu, at least one para. 0058; “For example, the autonomy computing system 130 can obtain the sensor data 118 from the vehicle sensor(s) 116, process the sensor data 118 (and/or other data) to perceive its surrounding environment, predict the motion of objects within the surrounding environment, and generate an appropriate motion plan through such surrounding environment. The autonomy computing system 130 can communicate with the one or more vehicle control systems 120 to operate the vehicle 102 according to the motion plan.”).
Regarding claim 26, Liu teaches (New) The system of claim 1, wherein the geometric data is stored in a memory accessible by the vehicle and comprises at least one of a polygon representation, a mesh representation, or a wireframe representation of the environment (Liu, at least one para. 0054; “The vehicle sensor(s) 116 can be configured to acquire sensor data 118. This can include sensor data associated with the surrounding environment of the vehicle 102. For instance, the sensor data 118 can include two-dimensional data depicting the surrounding environment of the vehicle 102. In addition, or alternatively, the sensor data 118 can include three-dimensional data associated with the surrounding environment of the vehicle 102.”).
Regarding claim 27, Liu teaches (New) The system of claim 1, wherein the map data comprises previously generated map data (Liu, at least one para. 0055; “In addition to the sensor data 118, the autonomy computing system 130 can retrieve or otherwise obtain map data 132. The map data 132 can provide static world representations about the surrounding environment of the vehicle 102”), the operations further comprising retrieving, based at least in part on the first pose of the vehicle, the previously generated map data from a memory associated with the vehicle (Liu, at least one para. 0056; “For example, the map data 132 can provide the vehicle 102 relative positions of the elements of a surrounding environment of the vehicle 102. The vehicle 102 can identify its position within the surrounding environment (e.g., across six axes, etc.) based at least in part on the map data 132. For example, the vehicle computing system 110 can process the sensor data 118 (e.g., LIDAR data, camera data, etc.) to match it to a map of the surrounding environment to get an understanding of the vehicle's position within that environment.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, and further in view of COIMBRA DE ANDRADE (US 20220067485 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which the instant claim depends, as discussed supra. Further, Liu teaches (Previously Presented) The system of claim 1, wherein determining the attention score (Liu, at least one para. 0069; “A conditional entropy model can be used to model the correlation between the two image codes of the two images to reduce the joint entropy, and hence the joint bitrate, of the two image codes.”) and (Liu, at least one para. 0101; “In Equation 2, C.sub.d,i represents the cost of disparity d at pixel i. The pixel index that is d pixels to the right of pixel i is represented by (i, d). The volumetric warping provides a warped feature map g.sub.2.sup.t−1 which better aligns with the feature map of the second image. This can also be seen as an attention mechanism for each pixel i into the first image's feature map within a disparity range”) comprises:
determining a query vector based at least in part on multiplying the first embedding with a first set of learned weights;
determining a key vector based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a second set of learned weights; and
determining a first dot product between the query vector and the key vector.
Liu does not explicitly teach determining a query vector based at least in part on multiplying the first embedding with a first set of learned weights;
determining a key vector based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a second set of learned weights; and
determining a first dot product between the query vector and the key vector.
However, COIMBRA DE ANDRADE in the same field of endeavor (COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, at least one para. 0008; “A machine learning model may be trained to process data to perform a task. For example, a machine learning model may be included in an autonomous driving system of a vehicle. The machine learning model trained to process an image and/or to detect an object (e.g., a vehicle, a traffic sign, and/or the like) depicted in the image and/or the video. The autonomous driving system may utilize an output of the machine learning model (e.g., information indicating the detected object) to control an operation of the vehicle (e.g., to cause the vehicle to stop based on the machine learning model detecting a stop sign in the image and/or the video).”) teaches determining a query vector based at least in part on multiplying the first embedding (COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, at least one para. 0042; “The episodic DNN model may determine a similarity between the query vector and the key vector”) with a first set of learned weights (COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, at least one para. 0035; “As shown in FIG. 1C, and by reference number 125, the training system 110 processes the input data, with a convolutional neural network (CNN) model, to determine output data from the input data. The CNN model may include a residual neural network (ResNet) model, a GoogLeNet model, and/or the like. The CNN model may include multiple layers of bi-dimensional convolutional filters. The bi-dimensional convolutional filters may be associated with a set of weights. The CNN model may determine values for the weights based on processing the input data as part of a training process for training the CNN model.”);
determining a key vector based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding (COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, at least one para. 0042; “The episodic DNN model may determine a similarity between the query vector and the key vector”) with a second set of learned weights (COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, at least one para. 0035; “As shown in FIG. 1C, and by reference number 125, the training system 110 processes the input data, with a convolutional neural network (CNN) model, to determine output data from the input data. The CNN model may include a residual neural network (ResNet) model, a GoogLeNet model, and/or the like. The CNN model may include multiple layers of bi-dimensional convolutional filters. The bi-dimensional convolutional filters may be associated with a set of weights. The CNN model may determine values for the weights based on processing the input data as part of a training process for training the CNN model.”); and
determining a first dot product between the query vector and the key vector (COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, at least one para. 0042; “The episodic DNN model may determine a similarity between the query vector and the key vector. In some implementations, the episodic DNN model may perform a dot product operation with the query vector and the key vector to determine a similarity score associated with the sample. The episodic DNN model may determine a similarity score for each sample included in the set of input data in a similar manner..”).
Liu and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field as the image processing through a machine learning as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the determination of the scoring of the Liu with teaching of COIMBRA DE ANDRADE. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, the results would have been obvious so that the semantic DNN model may process the output data to determine one or more features sets associated with the output data. The semantic DNN model may generate a feature vector that includes a series of information associated with the determined feature sets. The semantic DNN model may predict a classification associated with the samples based on the determined feature sets (COIMBRA DE ANDRADE; 0043).
Claim(s) 3-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, and further in view of Arditi (US 20230132889 A1) and QIN (US 20210110234 A1).
Regarding claim 3, The combination of Liu and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE teaches the limitations of claim 2, upon which the instant claim depends, as discussed supra. Further, Liu teaches (Currently Amended) The system of claim 2, wherein the output (Liu, at least one para. 0166; “the computing system 1002 can implement the machine-learned model(s) 1010 to generate uncertainty data for object detections, predictions, and motion plan generation based on sensor data.”) comprises the semantic segmentation and determining the semantic segmentation based at least in part on the attention score comprises at least one of:
determining to associate a semantic label with the first portion of the sensor data based at least in part on determining that the attention score meets or exceeds a threshold score;
determining a value matrix based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a third set of learned weights;
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a second dot product of the attention score and the value matrix; and
determining, by a decoder or a threshold value and based at least in part on the context vector, the semantic label to associate with the first portion of the sensor data.
The combination of Liu and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE does not explicitly teach the semantic segmentation and determining the semantic segmentation based at least in part on the attention score comprises at least one of:
determining to associate a semantic label with the first portion of the sensor data based at least in part on determining that the attention score meets or exceeds a threshold score;
determining a value matrix based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a third set of learned weights;
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a second dot product of the attention score and the value matrix; and
determining, by a decoder or a threshold value and based at least in part on the context vector, the semantic label to associate with the first portion of the sensor data.
However, Arditi in the same field of endeavor (Arditi, at least one para. 0015; “Subject matter described herein is generally directed to generating and updating HD maps using data from different, heterogeneous sources. As described above, HD maps may be used by autonomous vehicles for driving and navigation, and as such, HD maps need to include highly accurate and detailed information to ensure the safe operation of autonomous vehicles.”) teaches the semantic segmentation and determining the semantic segmentation based at least in part on the attention score (Arditi, at least one para. 0021; “A training sample may further be associated with a known, target output, which in particular embodiments may be existing HD map data 480 at that particular location (x, y), which may include labeled segments or bounding boxes that indicate particular types of objects (e.g., curbs, walls, dividers, buildings, structures, etc.) in the HD map data. As an example, a labeled segment or bounding box may indicate that a known lane divider, for example, is within a boundary of a particular three-dimensional region in the HD map.”) comprises at least one of:
determining to associate a semantic label with the first portion of the sensor data based at least in part on determining that the attention score meets or exceeds a threshold score (Arditi, at least one para. 0048; “for each detected object, the system may check whether that object exists in the map data. In particular embodiments, the system may generate a confidence score representing the likelihood of the detected object being accounted for in the map data. The confidence score may be based on, for example, a similarity comparison of the measured size, dimensions, classification, and/or location of the detected object with known objects in the map data. At step 745, if the comparison results in a determination that the detected object(s) exists or is known in the HD map (e.g., the confidence score in the object existing in the map is higher than a threshold)”);
determining a value matrix based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a third set of learned weights;
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a second dot product of the attention score and the value matrix; and
determining, by a decoder or a threshold value and based at least in part on the context vector, the semantic label to associate with the first portion of the sensor data (Arditi, at least one para. 0049; “The map-updating operation may begin at step 750, where the system may send sensor data and associated data gathered at that particular location to a server.”).
The combination of Liu and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, along with Arditi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field as the image processing through a machine learning as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the output of Liu with the semantic segmentation of Arditi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art so that the system can determine the map-updating operation is necessary or not (Arditi; 0048).
The combination of Liu, COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, and Arditi does not explicitly teach determining a value matrix based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a third set of learned weights;
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a second dot product of the attention score and the value matrix; and
However, QIN in the same field of endeavor (QIN, at least one para. 0004; “Embodiments of the disclosure provide a computer-implemented method for executing an activation function of a neural network. The method can include: receiving a plurality of input vectors of input data; generating, among the plurality of input vectors, an estimation value associated with a subset of an input vector based on a weight vector of the activation function; determining whether the estimation value associated with the subset of the input vector satisfies a threshold condition; and determining an output of the activation function based on the estimation value.”) teaches determining a value matrix based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a third set of learned weights (QIN, at least one para. 0070; “In some embodiments, the neural network can perform the dot production on the second subset of weight elements and the second subset of input elements to generate a second dot product, and generate the output by adding the estimation value and the second dot product.”);
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a second dot product of the attention score and the value matrix (QIN, at least one para. 0070; “In some embodiments, the neural network can perform the dot production on the second subset of weight elements and the second subset of input elements to generate a second dot product, and generate the output by adding the estimation value and the second dot product.”); and
The combination of Liu, COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, Arditi, and QIN are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field as the image processing through a machine learning as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the output of Liu with the teaching of QIN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art so that the system can save computational resources (QIN; 0070).
Regarding claim 4, The combination of Liu and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE teaches the limitations of claim 2, upon which the instant claim depends, as discussed supra. Further, Liu teaches (Previously Presented) The system of claim 2, wherein the output comprises the detection and determining the detection based at least in part on the attention score (Liu, at least one para. 0166; “the computing system 1002 can implement the machine-learned model(s) 1010 to generate uncertainty data for object detections, predictions, and motion plan generation based on sensor data.”) comprises at least one of:
determining that the first dot product does not meet a threshold;
determining a value matrix based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a third set of learned weights;
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a second dot product of the attention score and the value matrix; and
determining, by a decoder based at least in part on the context vector, the object detection.
The combination of Liu and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE does not explicitly teach the attention score comprises at least one of:
determining that the first dot product does not meet a threshold;
determining a value matrix based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a third set of learned weights;
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a second dot product of the attention score and the value matrix; and
determining, by a decoder based at least in part on the context vector, the object detection.
However, Arditi in the same field of endeavor (Arditi, at least one para. 0015; “Subject matter described herein is generally directed to generating and updating HD maps using data from different, heterogeneous sources. As described above, HD maps may be used by autonomous vehicles for driving and navigation, and as such, HD maps need to include highly accurate and detailed information to ensure the safe operation of autonomous vehicles.”) teaches the score comprises at least one of:
determining that the first dot product does not meet a threshold (Arditi, at least one para. 0048; “for each detected object, the system may check whether that object exists in the map data. In particular embodiments, the system may generate a confidence score representing the likelihood of the detected object being accounted for in the map data. The confidence score may be based on, for example, a similarity comparison of the measured size, dimensions, classification, and/or location of the detected object with known objects in the map data. At step 745, if the comparison results in a determination that the detected object(s) exists or is known in the HD map (e.g., the confidence score in the object existing in the map is higher than a threshold)”); or
determining a value matrix based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a third set of learned weights;
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a second dot product of the attention score and the value matrix; and
determining, by a decoder based at least in part on the context vector, the object detection (Arditi, at least one para. 0049; “In particular embodiments, the server may also perform a comparison of the received data (and any objects detected therefrom) with a server-copy of the HD map to determine whether a mismatch exists.”).
The combination of Liu and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, along with Arditi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field as the image processing through a machine learning as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the output of Liu with teaching of Arditi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art so that the system can determine the map-updating operation is necessary or not (Arditi; 0048).
The combination of Liu, COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, and Arditi does not explicitly teach
determining a value matrix based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a third set of learned weights;
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a second dot product of the attention score and the value matrix; and
However, QIN in the same field of endeavor (QIN, at least one para. 0004; “Embodiments of the disclosure provide a computer-implemented method for executing an activation function of a neural network. The method can include: receiving a plurality of input vectors of input data; generating, among the plurality of input vectors, an estimation value associated with a subset of an input vector based on a weight vector of the activation function; determining whether the estimation value associated with the subset of the input vector satisfies a threshold condition; and determining an output of the activation function based on the estimation value.”) teaches determining a value matrix based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a third set of learned weights (QIN, at least one para. 0070; “In some embodiments, the neural network can perform the dot production on the second subset of weight elements and the second subset of input elements to generate a second dot product, and generate the output by adding the estimation value and the second dot product.”);
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a second dot product of the attention score and the value matrix (QIN, at least one para. 0070; “In some embodiments, the neural network can perform the dot production on the second subset of weight elements and the second subset of input elements to generate a second dot product, and generate the output by adding the estimation value and the second dot product.”); and
The combination of Liu, COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, Arditi, and QIN are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field as the image processing through a machine learning as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the output of Liu with the teaching of QIN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art so that the system can save computational resources (QIN; 0070).
Regarding claim 6, The combination of Liu and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE teaches the limitations of claim 2, upon which the instant claim depends, as discussed supra. Further, Liu teaches (Previously Presented) The system of claim 2, wherein the output comprises the depth and determining the depth based at least in part on the attention score (Liu, at least one para. 0041; “In some examples, an end to end deep architecture for multiple image compression (e.g., stereo image compression) is provided. The architecture can provide implicit depth estimation and compression that are performed jointly in the machine learned image compression model”) comprises:
determining that the first dot product meets or exceeds a threshold;
determining a surface associated with the first portion of the map data; and
associating a distance from a position of the sensor to the surface with the first portion of the sensor data as the depth.
The combination of Liu and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE does not explicitly teach determining that the first dot product meets or exceeds a threshold;
determining a surface associated with the first portion of the map data; and
associating a distance from a position of the sensor to the surface with the first portion of the sensor data as the depth.
However, Arditi in the same field of endeavor (Arditi, at least one para. 0015; “Subject matter described herein is generally directed to generating and updating HD maps using data from different, heterogeneous sources. As described above, HD maps may be used by autonomous vehicles for driving and navigation, and as such, HD maps need to include highly accurate and detailed information to ensure the safe operation of autonomous vehicles.”) teaches the determining that the first dot product meets or exceeds a threshold (Arditi, at least one para. 0048; “for each detected object, the system may check whether that object exists in the map data. In particular embodiments, the system may generate a confidence score representing the likelihood of the detected object being accounted for in the map data. The confidence score may be based on, for example, a similarity comparison of the measured size, dimensions, classification, and/or location of the detected object with known objects in the map data. At step 745, if the comparison results in a determination that the detected object(s) exists or is known in the HD map (e.g., the confidence score in the object existing in the map is higher than a threshold), then the system may not perform any map-updating operation and return to obtaining sensor data (e.g., step 710)”);
determining a surface associated with the first portion of the map data (Arditi, at least one para. 0049; “the server may prioritize autonomous vehicles that are in the region (e.g., within a threshold distance) of where the new object is detected or have trajectories that would result in the vehicles being in that region in the near future.”, wherein the autonomous vehicle is seen as the associated surface with the first portion of the map data); and
associating a distance from a position of the sensor to the surface with the first portion of the sensor data as the depth (Arditi, at least one para. 0049; “the server may prioritize autonomous vehicles that are in the region (e.g., within a threshold distance) of where the new object is detected or have trajectories that would result in the vehicles being in that region in the near future.”, wherein the region within a threshold distance is seen as the distance from a position of a sensor to the surface with the first portion of the sensor data as the depth).
The combination of Liu and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, along with Arditi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field as the image processing through a machine learning as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the output of the Liu with teaching of Arditi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art so that the system can identify any mismatch between the existing HD map and the current sensor measurement of the world (Arditi; 0049).
Claim(s) 7, 14, 16, 22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, and further in view of Bojarski (US 20200324795 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches (Currently Amended) One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing processor- executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (Liu, at least one para. 0044; “An autonomous vehicle according to an example aspect of the present disclosure can include a plurality of vehicle sensors including a first image sensor and a second image sensor, one or more processors, and one or more tangible, non-transitory, computer readable media that collectively store instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to perform operations.”), perform operations comprising:
receiving sensor data (Liu, at least one para. 0054; “The vehicle sensor(s) 116 can be configured to acquire sensor data 118. This can include sensor data associated with the surrounding environment of the vehicle 102.”);
receiving map data associated with a portion of an environment (Liu, at least one para. 0055; “In addition to the sensor data 118, the autonomy computing system 130 can retrieve or otherwise obtain map data 132. The map data 132 can provide static world representations about the surrounding environment of the vehicle 102. For example, in some implementations, a vehicle 102 can exploit prior knowledge about the static world by building very detailed maps (HD maps) that represent not only the roads, buildings, bridges, and landmarks, but also traffic lanes, signs, and lights to centimeter accurate three-dimensional representations.”) associated with the sensor data (Liu, at least one para. 0054; “The sensor data 118 can include image data, radar data, LIDAR data, and/or other data acquired by the vehicle sensor(s) 116. For example, the vehicle sensor(s) 116 can include a front-facing RGB camera mounted on top of the vehicle 102 and the sensor data 118 can include an RGB image depicting the surrounding environment of the vehicle 102.”);
determining, by a first machine-learned model based at least in part on the sensor data, a first embedding (Liu, at least one para. 0067; “FIG. 2 depicts an example computing environment including a machine-learned image compression system 200 according to example embodiments of the present disclosure. Image compression system 200 includes a machine-learned image compression model 210 that is configured to jointly compress two or more inputs such as a first image 202 and a second image 204 having at least partially overlapping fields of view.”);
determining, by a second machine-learned model based at least in part on the map data, a second embedding (Liu, at least one para. 0068; “The set of one or more parametric skip function(s) 228 can be provided in order to propagate information from feature maps 224 generated by the encoder 212 from the first image 202. In some examples, a parametric skip function can be provided for each encoding layer 214 except for a first encoding layer of encoder 212. The propagated information from the feature maps 224 is provided to encoder 242.”);
determining, based at least in part on the first embedding and the second embedding (Liu, at least one para. 0165; “the machine-learned models 1010 can be or can otherwise include various machine-learned models such as, for example, neural networks (e.g., deep neural networks or other types of models including linear models and/or non-linear models. Example neural networks include feed-forward neural networks, recurrent neural networks (e.g., long short-term memory recurrent neural networks), convolutional neural networks, or other forms of neural networks.”), an output comprising at least one of a semantic segmentation associated with the sensor data, an object detection indicating a detection of an object represented in the sensor data (Liu, at least one para. 0166; “the computing system 1002 can implement the machine-learned model(s) 1010 to generate uncertainty data for object detections, predictions, and motion plan generation based on sensor data.”), a depth to the object (Liu, at least one para. 0041; “In some examples, an end to end deep architecture for multiple image compression (e.g., stereo image compression) is provided. The architecture can provide implicit depth estimation and compression that are performed jointly in the machine learned image compression model”), a localization error, or a false positive indication; and
determining a confidence score (Liu, at least one para. 0099; “A softmax layer can be applied to ensure the cost is normalized along the disparity dimension per pixel. Each value in the cost volume can be seen as a probability/confidence measure of the correct disparity at that coordinate.”) indicating a likelihood that the at least one of the semantic segmentation, the object detection, the depth to the object, the localization error, or the false positive indication is accurate; and
controlling a vehicle based at least in part on the output and the confidence score (Liu, at least one para. 0058; “For example, the autonomy computing system 130 can obtain the sensor data 118 from the vehicle sensor(s) 116, process the sensor data 118 (and/or other data) to perceive its surrounding environment, predict the motion of objects within the surrounding environment, and generate an appropriate motion plan through such surrounding environment. The autonomy computing system 130 can communicate with the one or more vehicle control systems 120 to operate the vehicle 102 according to the motion plan.”).
Even though Liu teach a confidence score, Liu does not explicitly teach determining a confidence score indicating a likelihood that the at least one of the semantic segmentation, the object detection, the depth to the object, the localization error, or the false positive indication is accurate
However, Bojarski in the same field of endeavor (Bojarski, at least one para. 0019; “Systems and methods are disclosed related to leveraging map information for generating ground truth data for training neural networks for autonomous machine applications.”) teaches indicating a likelihood that the at least one of the semantic segmentation, the object detection, the depth to the object, the localization error, or the false positive indication is accurate (Bojarski, at least one para. 0101; “The DLA may be used to run any type of network to enhance control and driving safety, including for example, a neural network that outputs a measure of confidence for each object detection. Such a confidence value may be interpreted as a probability, or as providing a relative “weight” of each detection compared to other detections. This confidence value enables the system to make further decisions regarding which detections should be considered as true positive detections rather than false positive detections.”).
The combination of Liu and Bojarski are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field as the image processing through a machine learning as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the attention score of the Liu with teaching of Bojarski. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art so that the system prevent vanishing gradients and gain numerical stability during the machine-learning process. Furthermore, the claim would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element (confidence value) for another (softmax layer) would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Liu and Bojarski teaches the limitations of claim 7, upon which the instant claim depends, as discussed supra. Further, Liu teaches (Original) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 7, wherein the map data comprises geometric data and a third embedding associated with the geometric data and the operations (Liu, at least one para. 0056; “the map data 132 can provide the vehicle 102 relative positions of the elements of a surrounding environment of the vehicle 102. The vehicle 102 can identify its position within the surrounding environment (e.g., across six axes, etc.) based at least in part on the map data 132.”) further comprise:
receiving training data indicating ground truth associated with the output (Liu, at least one para. 0176; “In particular, the model trainer 1060 can train a machine-learned model 1010 and/or 1040 based on a set of training data 1062. The training data 1062 can include, for example, ground truth data including annotations for sensor data portions and/or vehicle state data.”);
determining a loss based at least in part on a difference between the ground truth and the output (Liu, at least one para. 0175; “The model trainer 1060 can train the machine-learned models 1010 and/or 1040 using one or more training or learning algorithms. One example training technique is backwards propagation of errors.”); and
altering the third embedding to reduce the loss (Liu, at least one para. 0175; “The model trainer 1060 can perform a number of generalization techniques to improve the generalization capability of the models being trained. Generalization techniques include weight decays, dropouts, or other techniques.”).
Regarding claim 16, Liu teaches (Currently Amended) A method (Liu, at least one para. 0002; “The present disclosure relates generally to improving the ability of computing devices to compress image data.”) comprising:
receiving sensor data (Liu, at least one para. 0054; “The vehicle sensor(s) 116 can be configured to acquire sensor data 118. This can include sensor data associated with the surrounding environment of the vehicle 102. ”);
receiving map data associated with a portion of an environment (Liu, at least one para. 0055; “In addition to the sensor data 118, the autonomy computing system 130 can retrieve or otherwise obtain map data 132. The map data 132 can provide static world representations about the surrounding environment of the vehicle 102. For example, in some implementations, a vehicle 102 can exploit prior knowledge about the static world by building very detailed maps (HD maps) that represent not only the roads, buildings, bridges, and landmarks, but also traffic lanes, signs, and lights to centimeter accurate three-dimensional representations.”) associated with the sensor data (Liu, at least one para. 0054; “The sensor data 118 can include image data, radar data, LIDAR data, and/or other data acquired by the vehicle sensor(s) 116. For example, the vehicle sensor(s) 116 can include a front-facing RGB camera mounted on top of the vehicle 102 and the sensor data 118 can include an RGB image depicting the surrounding environment of the vehicle 102.”);
determining, by a first machine-learned model based at least in part on the sensor data, a first embedding (Liu, at least one para. 0067; “FIG. 2 depicts an example computing environment including a machine-learned image compression system 200 according to example embodiments of the present disclosure. Image compression system 200 includes a machine-learned image compression model 210 that is configured to jointly compress two or more inputs such as a first image 202 and a second image 204 having at least partially overlapping fields of view.”);
determining, by a second machine-learned model based at least in part on the map data, a second embedding (Liu, at least one para. 0068; “The set of one or more parametric skip function(s) 228 can be provided in order to propagate information from feature maps 224 generated by the encoder 212 from the first image 202. In some examples, a parametric skip function can be provided for each encoding layer 214 except for a first encoding layer of encoder 212. The propagated information from the feature maps 224 is provided to encoder 242.”);
determining, based at least in part on the first embedding and the second embedding (Liu, at least one para. 0165; “the machine-learned models 1010 can be or can otherwise include various machine-learned models such as, for example, neural networks (e.g., deep neural networks or other types of models including linear models and/or non-linear models. Example neural networks include feed-forward neural networks, recurrent neural networks (e.g., long short-term memory recurrent neural networks), convolutional neural networks, or other forms of neural networks.”), an output comprising at least one of a semantic segmentation associated with the sensor data, an object detection indicating a detection of an object represented in the sensor data (Liu, at least one para. 0166; “the computing system 1002 can implement the machine-learned model(s) 1010 to generate uncertainty data for object detections, predictions, and motion plan generation based on sensor data.”), a depth to the object (Liu, at least one para. 0041; “In some examples, an end to end deep architecture for multiple image compression (e.g., stereo image compression) is provided. The architecture can provide implicit depth estimation and compression that are performed jointly in the machine learned image compression model”), a localization error, or a false positive indication, the output associated with a confidence score (Liu, at least one para. 0099; “A softmax layer can be applied to ensure the cost is normalized along the disparity dimension per pixel. Each value in the cost volume can be seen as a probability/confidence measure of the correct disparity at that coordinate.”) indicating a likelihood that the output is accurate; and
controlling a vehicle based at least in part on the output (Liu, at least one para. 0058; “For example, the autonomy computing system 130 can obtain the sensor data 118 from the vehicle sensor(s) 116, process the sensor data 118 (and/or other data) to perceive its surrounding environment, predict the motion of objects within the surrounding environment, and generate an appropriate motion plan through such surrounding environment. The autonomy computing system 130 can communicate with the one or more vehicle control systems 120 to operate the vehicle 102 according to the motion plan.”).
Liu does not explicitly teach indicating a likelihood that the output is accurate
However, Bojarski in the same field of endeavor (Bojarski, at least one para. 0019; “Systems and methods are disclosed related to leveraging map information for generating ground truth data for training neural networks for autonomous machine applications.”) teaches indicating a likelihood that the output is accurate (Bojarski, at least one para. 0101; “The DLA may be used to run any type of network to enhance control and driving safety, including for example, a neural network that outputs a measure of confidence for each object detection. Such a confidence value may be interpreted as a probability, or as providing a relative “weight” of each detection compared to other detections. This confidence value enables the system to make further decisions regarding which detections should be considered as true positive detections rather than false positive detections.”).
The combination of Liu and Bojarski are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field as the image processing through a machine learning as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the attention score of the Liu with teaching of Bojarski. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art so that the system prevent vanishing gradients and gain numerical stability during the machine-learning process.
Regarding claim 22, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which the instant claim depends, as discussed supra. Further, Liu teaches (Previously Presented) The system of claim 1, wherein determining the attention score (Liu, at least one para. 0101; “In Equation 2, C.sub.d,i represents the cost of disparity d at pixel i. The pixel index that is d pixels to the right of pixel i is represented by (i, d). The volumetric warping provides a warped feature map g.sub.2.sup.t−1 which better aligns with the feature map of the second image. This can also be seen as an attention mechanism for each pixel i into the first image's feature map within a disparity range.”) further comprises:
determining, based at least in part on scaling the attention score according to a function, a scaled attention score; and
determining, based at least in part on applying a softmax function to the scaled attention score, the attention score.
Liu does not explicitly teach determining, based at least in part on scaling the attention score according to a function, a scaled attention score; and
determining, based at least in part on applying a softmax function to the scaled attention score, the attention score.
However, Bojarski in the same field of endeavor (Bojarski, at least one para. 0019; “Systems and methods are disclosed related to leveraging map information for generating ground truth data for training neural networks for autonomous machine applications.”) teaches determining, based at least in part on scaling the attention score according to a function, a scaled attention score (Bojarski, at least one para. 0041; “Although input layers, convolutional layers, pooling layers, ReLU layers, and fully connected layers are discussed herein with respect to the DNN 116, this is not intended to be limiting. For example, additional or alternative layers may be used in the DNN 116, such as normalization layers, SoftMax layers, and/or other layer types.”); and
determining, based at least in part on applying a softmax function to the scaled attention score, the attention score (Bojarski, at least one para. 0041; “Although input layers, convolutional layers, pooling layers, ReLU layers, and fully connected layers are discussed herein with respect to the DNN 116, this is not intended to be limiting. For example, additional or alternative layers may be used in the DNN 116, such as normalization layers, SoftMax layers, and/or other layer types.”).
The combination of Liu and Bojarski are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field as the image processing through a machine learning as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the attention score of the Liu with teaching of Bojarski. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art so that the system prevent vanishing gradients and gain numerical stability during the machine-learning process.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Liu and Bojarski teaches the limitations of claim 7, upon which the instant claim depends, as discussed supra. Further, Liu teaches (Previously Presented) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 7, wherein the output (Liu, at least one para. 0166; “the computing system 1002 can implement the machine-learned model(s) 1010 to generate uncertainty data for object detections, predictions, and motion plan generation based on sensor data.”) comprises the false positive indication and, the operations further comprising: determining the false positive indication based at least in part on determining that an attention score associated with the first embedding and the second embedding meets or exceeds a threshold.
Liu does not explicitly teach the false positive indication and, the operations further comprising: determining the false positive indication based at least in part on determining that an attention score associated with the first embedding and the second embedding meets or exceeds a threshold.
However, Bojarski in the same field of endeavor (Bojarski, at least one para. 0019; “Systems and methods are disclosed related to leveraging map information for generating ground truth data for training neural networks for autonomous machine applications.”) teaches the false positive indication and, the operations further comprising: determining the false positive indication based at least in part on determining that an attention score associated with the first embedding and the second embedding meets or exceeds a threshold (Bojarski, at least one para. 0101; “The DLA may be used to run any type of network to enhance control and driving safety, including for example, a neural network that outputs a measure of confidence for each object detection. Such a confidence value may be interpreted as a probability, or as providing a relative “weight” of each detection compared to other detections. This confidence value enables the system to make further decisions regarding which detections should be considered as true positive detections rather than false positive detections.”).
The combination of Liu and Bojarski are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field as the image processing through a machine learning as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the object detection of the Liu with teaching of Bojarski. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art so that the system eliminate undesirable driving conditions (Bojarski; 0101).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu and Bojarski, and further in view of Luyan LIU (US 20220215558 A1).
Regarding claim 15, The combination of Liu and Bojarski teaches the limitations of claim 14, upon which the instant claim depends, as discussed supra. Further, Liu teaches (Previously Presented) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14, wherein:
the first machine-learned model comprises a first encoder (Liu, at least one para. 0029; “According to example aspects of the present disclosure, a machine-learned image compression model can include a first encoder configured to encode a first image into an image code such as a first latent image code in a latent space and a second encoder configured to encode a second image into a second image code such as a second latent image code in the latent space.”);
the second machine-learned model comprises a second encoder (Liu, at least one para. 0029; “According to example aspects of the present disclosure, a machine-learned image compression model can include a first encoder configured to encode a first image into an image code such as a first latent image code in a latent space and a second encoder configured to encode a second image into a second image code such as a second latent image code in the latent space.”);
a third encoder determines the third embedding, the operations further comprising a pre-training stage that comprises:
determining, by the third encoder based at least in part on a portion of the geometric data and a feature associated therewith, a training embedding;
determining, by a training decoder based at least in part on the training embedding,
a reconstruction of the portion of the geometric data and the feature;
determining a second loss based at least in part on a difference between the reconstruction and the geometric data and the feature; and
altering at least one of the third encoder, the training embedding, or the training decoder to reduce the second loss.
The combination of Liu and Bojarski does not explicitly teach that a third encoder determines the third embedding, the operations further comprising a pre-training stage that comprises:
determining, by the third encoder based at least in part on a portion of the geometric data and a feature associated therewith, a training embedding;
determining, by a training decoder based at least in part on the training embedding,
a reconstruction of the portion of the geometric data and the feature;
determining a second loss based at least in part on a difference between the reconstruction and the geometric data and the feature; and
altering at least one of the third encoder, the training embedding, or the training decoder to reduce the second loss.
However, Luyan LIU in the same field of endeavor (Luyan LIU, at least one para. 0032; “Specifically, the computer device may process each two-dimensional slice of the three-dimensional image by using a method of performing object detection on a two-dimensional image, to obtain the two-dimensional object detection result of each two-dimensional slice of the three-dimensional image; and process each two-dimensional slice of the three-dimensional image by using an algorithm of performing edge detection on the two-dimensional image, to obtain the two-dimensional edge detection result of each two-dimensional slice of the three-dimensional image..”) teaches a third encoder determines the third embedding, the operations further comprising a pre-training stage that comprises (Luyan LIU, at least one para. 0096; “Specifically, the computer device may respectively pre-train the object detection model and the edge detection model under supervision. After pre-training, the two models are connected by using the mutual learning module, to obtain a mutual object and edge detection network, which is then further trained.”):
determining, by the third encoder based at least in part on a portion of the geometric data and a feature associated therewith, a training embedding (Luyan LIU, at least one para. 0097; “The object detection model and the edge detection model obtained through pre-training are used to obtain an initial two-dimensional detection result (a two-dimensional initial object detection result and a two-dimensional initial edge detection result) of a two-dimensional image according to the two-dimensional image.”);
determining, by a training decoder based at least in part on the training embedding,
a reconstruction of the portion of the geometric data and the feature (Luyan LIU, at least one para. 0097; “The mutual object and edge detection network obtained through further training is used to obtain a two-dimensional detection result of the two-dimensional image according to the two-dimensional image. The two-dimensional detection result is used to be stacked into a three-dimensional detection result, to be used in steps such as S106 and S108.”);
determining a second loss based at least in part on a difference between the reconstruction and the geometric data and the feature (Luyan LIU, at least one para. 0113; “In a specific embodiment, the loss function trained under supervision may be a binary classification category cross-entropy loss function”); and
altering at least one of the third encoder, the training embedding, or the training decoder to reduce the second loss (Luyan LIU, at least one para. 0112; “Specifically, a computer device may train the object detection model under supervision according to a training sample (a two-dimensional image) and a training label (an object detection label) of the training sample and by constructing a loss function.”).
The combination of Liu and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, along with Luyan LIU are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field as the image processing through a machine learning as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the object detection of the Liu with teaching of Luyan LIU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art so that accuracy of the detection results can be improved (Luyan LIU; 0082).
Claim(s) 8, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu and Bojarski (US 20200324795 A1), and further in view COIMBRA DE ANDRADE (US 20220067485 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Liu and Bojarski teaches the limitations of claim 7, upon which the instant claim depends, as discussed supra. Further, Liu teaches (Original) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of
wherein:
the operations further comprise determining, by a transformer-based machine- learned model and based at least in part on the first embedding and the second embedding (Liu, at least one para. 0165; “the machine-learned models 1010 can be or can otherwise include various machine-learned models such as, for example, neural networks (e.g., deep neural networks or other types of models including linear models and/or non-linear models. Example neural networks include feed-forward neural networks, recurrent neural networks (e.g., long short-term memory recurrent neural networks), convolutional neural networks, or other forms of neural networks.”), a score indicating a relationship between the sensor data and the map data (Liu, at least one para. 0069; “A conditional entropy model can be used to model the correlation between the two image codes of the two images to reduce the joint entropy, and hence the joint bitrate, of the two image codes.”);
determining the output is based at least in part on the score (Liu, at least one para. 0166; “the computing system 1002 can implement the machine-learned model(s) 1010 to generate uncertainty data for object detections, predictions, and motion plan generation based on sensor data.”); and
determining the score comprises:
determining a query vector based at least in part on multiplying the first embedding with a first set of learned weights;
determining a key vector based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a second set of learned weights; and
determining a first dot product between the query vector and the key vector.
The combination of Liu and Bojarski does not explicitly teach determining the score comprises:
determining a query vector based at least in part on multiplying the first embedding with a first set of learned weights;
determining a key vector based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a second set of learned weights; and
determining a first dot product between the query vector and the key vector.
However, COIMBRA DE ANDRADE in the same field of endeavor (COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, at least one para. 0008; “A machine learning model may be trained to process data to perform a task. For example, a machine learning model may be included in an autonomous driving system of a vehicle. The machine learning model trained to process an image and/or to detect an object (e.g., a vehicle, a traffic sign, and/or the like) depicted in the image and/or the video. The autonomous driving system may utilize an output of the machine learning model (e.g., information indicating the detected object) to control an operation of the vehicle (e.g., to cause the vehicle to stop based on the machine learning model detecting a stop sign in the image and/or the video).”) teaches determining the score comprises: determining a query vector based at least in part on multiplying the first embedding (COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, at least one para. 0042; “The episodic DNN model may determine a similarity between the query vector and the key vector”) with a first set of learned weights (COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, at least one para. 0035; “As shown in FIG. 1C, and by reference number 125, the training system 110 processes the input data, with a convolutional neural network (CNN) model, to determine output data from the input data. The CNN model may include a residual neural network (ResNet) model, a GoogLeNet model, and/or the like. The CNN model may include multiple layers of bi-dimensional convolutional filters. The bi-dimensional convolutional filters may be associated with a set of weights. The CNN model may determine values for the weights based on processing the input data as part of a training process for training the CNN model.”);
determining a key vector based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding (COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, at least one para. 0042; “The episodic DNN model may determine a similarity between the query vector and the key vector”) with a second set of learned weights (COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, at least one para. 0035; “As shown in FIG. 1C, and by reference number 125, the training system 110 processes the input data, with a convolutional neural network (CNN) model, to determine output data from the input data. The CNN model may include a residual neural network (ResNet) model, a GoogLeNet model, and/or the like. The CNN model may include multiple layers of bi-dimensional convolutional filters. The bi-dimensional convolutional filters may be associated with a set of weights. The CNN model may determine values for the weights based on processing the input data as part of a training process for training the CNN model.”); and
determining a first dot product between the query vector and the key vector (COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, at least one para. 0042; “The episodic DNN model may determine a similarity between the query vector and the key vector. In some implementations, the episodic DNN model may perform a dot product operation with the query vector and the key vector to determine a similarity score associated with the sample. The episodic DNN model may determine a similarity score for each sample included in the set of input data in a similar manner..”).
the combination of Liu, Bojarski, and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because all of them are in the same field as the image processing through a machine learning as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the determination of the scoring of the Liu with teaching of COIMBRA DE ANDRADE. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, the results would have been obvious so that the semantic DNN model may process the output data to determine one or more features sets associated with the output data. The semantic DNN model may generate a feature vector that includes a series of information associated with the determined feature sets. The semantic DNN model may predict a classification associated with the samples based on the determined feature sets (COIMBRA DE ANDRADE; 0043).
Regarding claim 11, The combination of Liu, Bojarski, and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE teaches the limitations of claim 8, upon which the instant claim depends, as discussed supra. Further, Liu teaches (Original) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 8 wherein: the operations further comprise receiving a dynamic object detection associated with a first sensor, the dynamic object detection indicating existence of a dynamic object in the environment based on first sensor data received from the first sensor (Liu, at least one para. 0054; “The vehicle sensor(s) 116 can be configured to acquire sensor data 118. This can include sensor data associated with the surrounding environment of the vehicle 102. ”);
the output comprises the false positive indication indicating that the object detection is a false positive dynamic object; and
determining the false positive indication comprises determining that the first dot product meets or exceeds a threshold.
The combination of Liu and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE does not explicitly teach the output comprises the false positive indication indicating that the object detection is a false positive dynamic object; and
determining the false positive indication comprises determining that the first dot product meets or exceeds a threshold.
However, Bojarski in the same field of endeavor (Bojarski, at least one para. 0019; “Systems and methods are disclosed related to leveraging map information for generating ground truth data for training neural networks for autonomous machine applications.”) teaches the output comprises the false positive indication indicating that the object detection is a false positive dynamic object (Bojarski, at least one para. 0101; “The DLA may be used to run any type of network to enhance control and driving safety, including for example, a neural network that outputs a measure of confidence for each object detection. Such a confidence value may be interpreted as a probability, or as providing a relative “weight” of each detection compared to other detections. This confidence value enables the system to make further decisions regarding which detections should be considered as true positive detections rather than false positive detections.”); and
determining the false positive indication comprises determining that the first dot product meets or exceeds a threshold (Bojarski, at least one para. 0101; “the system may set a threshold value for the confidence and consider only the detections exceeding the threshold value as true positive detections. In other words, it is obvious that the system can identify the false positive when the first dot product meets the threshold value.”).
The combination of Liu, Bojarski, and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because all of them are in the same field as the image processing through a machine learning as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the object detection of the Liu with teaching of Bojarski. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art so that the system eliminate undesirable driving conditions (Bojarski; 0101).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Liu and Bojarski teaches the limitations of claim 16, upon which the instant claim depends, as discussed supra. Further, Liu teaches (Original) The method of claim 16, wherein: the method further comprises determining, by a transformer-based machine-learned model and based at least in part on the first embedding and the second embedding (Liu, at least one para. 0165; “the machine-learned models 1010 can be or can otherwise include various machine-learned models such as, for example, neural networks (e.g., deep neural networks or other types of models including linear models and/or non-linear models. Example neural networks include feed-forward neural networks, recurrent neural networks (e.g., long short-term memory recurrent neural networks), convolutional neural networks, or other forms of neural networks.”), a score indicating a relationship between the sensor data and the map data (Liu, at least one para. 0069; “A conditional entropy model can be used to model the correlation between the two image codes of the two images to reduce the joint entropy, and hence the joint bitrate, of the two image codes.”);
determining the output is based at least in part on the score (Liu, at least one para. 0166; “the computing system 1002 can implement the machine-learned model(s) 1010 to generate uncertainty data for object detections, predictions, and motion plan generation based on sensor data.”); and
determining the score comprises:
determining a query vector based at least in part on multiplying the first embedding with a first set of learned weights;
determining a key vector based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a second set of learned weights; and
determining a first dot product between the query vector and the key vector.
The combination of Liu and Bojarski does not explicitly teach determining a query vector based at least in part on multiplying the first embedding with a first set of learned weights;
determining a key vector based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a second set of learned weights; and
determining a first dot product between the query vector and the key vector.
However, COIMBRA DE ANDRADE in the same field of endeavor (COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, at least one para. 0008; “A machine learning model may be trained to process data to perform a task. For example, a machine learning model may be included in an autonomous driving system of a vehicle. The machine learning model trained to process an image and/or to detect an object (e.g., a vehicle, a traffic sign, and/or the like) depicted in the image and/or the video. The autonomous driving system may utilize an output of the machine learning model (e.g., information indicating the detected object) to control an operation of the vehicle (e.g., to cause the vehicle to stop based on the machine learning model detecting a stop sign in the image and/or the video).”) teaches determining a query vector based at least in part on multiplying the first embedding (COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, at least one para. 0042; “The episodic DNN model may determine a similarity between the query vector and the key vector”) with a first set of learned weights (COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, at least one para. 0035; “As shown in FIG. 1C, and by reference number 125, the training system 110 processes the input data, with a convolutional neural network (CNN) model, to determine output data from the input data. The CNN model may include a residual neural network (ResNet) model, a GoogLeNet model, and/or the like. The CNN model may include multiple layers of bi-dimensional convolutional filters. The bi-dimensional convolutional filters may be associated with a set of weights. The CNN model may determine values for the weights based on processing the input data as part of a training process for training the CNN model.”);
determining a key vector based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding (COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, at least one para. 0042; “The episodic DNN model may determine a similarity between the query vector and the key vector”) with a second set of learned weights (COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, at least one para. 0035; “As shown in FIG. 1C, and by reference number 125, the training system 110 processes the input data, with a convolutional neural network (CNN) model, to determine output data from the input data. The CNN model may include a residual neural network (ResNet) model, a GoogLeNet model, and/or the like. The CNN model may include multiple layers of bi-dimensional convolutional filters. The bi-dimensional convolutional filters may be associated with a set of weights. The CNN model may determine values for the weights based on processing the input data as part of a training process for training the CNN model.”); and
determining a first dot product between the query vector and the key vector (COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, at least one para. 0042; “The episodic DNN model may determine a similarity between the query vector and the key vector. In some implementations, the episodic DNN model may perform a dot product operation with the query vector and the key vector to determine a similarity score associated with the sample. The episodic DNN model may determine a similarity score for each sample included in the set of input data in a similar manner..”).
The combination of Liu, Bojarski, and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because all of them are in the same field as the image processing through a machine learning as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the determination of the scoring of the Liu with teaching of COIMBRA DE ANDRADE. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, the results would have been obvious so that the semantic DNN model may process the output data to determine one or more features sets associated with the output data. The semantic DNN model may generate a feature vector that includes a series of information associated with the determined feature sets. The semantic DNN model may predict a classification associated with the samples based on the determined feature sets (COIMBRA DE ANDRADE; 0043).
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Bojarski, and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, and further in view of Arditi (US 20230132889 A1) and QIN (US 20210110234 A1).
Regarding claim 9, The combination of Liu, Bojarski, and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE teaches the limitations of claim 8, upon which the instant claim depends, as discussed supra. Further, Arditi teaches (Currently Amended) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 8, wherein the output (Liu, at least one para. 0166; “the computing system 1002 can implement the machine-learned model(s) 1010 to generate uncertainty data for object detections, predictions, and motion plan generation based on sensor data.”) comprises the semantic segmentation and determining the semantic segmentation based at least in part on the score comprises at least one of:
determining to associate a semantic label with the sensor data based at least in part on determining that the score meets or exceeds a threshold score;
determining a value matrix based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a third set of learned weights;
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a second dot product of the score and the value matrix; and
determining, by a decoder or a threshold value and based at least in part on the context vector, the semantic label to associate with the sensor data.
The combination of Liu, Bojarski, and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE does not explicitly teach the semantic segmentation and determining the semantic segmentation based at least in part on the score comprises at least one of:
determining to associate a semantic label with the sensor data based at least in part on determining that the score meets or exceeds a threshold score;
determining a value matrix based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a third set of learned weights;
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a second dot product of the score and the value matrix; and
determining, by a decoder or a threshold value and based at least in part on the context vector, the semantic label to associate with the sensor data.
However, Arditi in the same field of endeavor (Arditi, at least one para. 0015; “Subject matter described herein is generally directed to generating and updating HD maps using data from different, heterogeneous sources. As described above, HD maps may be used by autonomous vehicles for driving and navigation, and as such, HD maps need to include highly accurate and detailed information to ensure the safe operation of autonomous vehicles.”) teaches the semantic segmentation and determining the semantic segmentation based at least in part on the score (Arditi, at least one para. 0021; “A training sample may further be associated with a known, target output, which in particular embodiments may be existing HD map data 480 at that particular location (x, y), which may include labeled segments or bounding boxes that indicate particular types of objects (e.g., curbs, walls, dividers, buildings, structures, etc.) in the HD map data. As an example, a labeled segment or bounding box may indicate that a known lane divider, for example, is within a boundary of a particular three-dimensional region in the HD map.”) comprises at least one of:
determining to associate a semantic label with the sensor data based at least in part on determining that the score meets or exceeds a threshold score (Arditi, at least one para. 0048; “for each detected object, the system may check whether that object exists in the map data. In particular embodiments, the system may generate a confidence score representing the likelihood of the detected object being accounted for in the map data. The confidence score may be based on, for example, a similarity comparison of the measured size, dimensions, classification, and/or location of the detected object with known objects in the map data. At step 745, if the comparison results in a determination that the detected object(s) exists or is known in the HD map (e.g., the confidence score in the object existing in the map is higher than a threshold)”);
determining a value matrix based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a third set of learned weights;
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a second dot product of the score and the value matrix; and
determining, by a decoder or a threshold value and based at least in part on the context vector, the semantic label to associate with the sensor data (Arditi, at least one para. 0049; “The map-updating operation may begin at step 750, where the system may send sensor data and associated data gathered at that particular location to a server.”).
The combination of Liu, Bojarski, and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, along with Arditi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because all of them are in the same field as the image processing through a machine learning as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the output of Liu with the semantic segmentation of Arditi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art so that the system can determine the map-updating operation is necessary or not (Arditi; 0048).
The combination of Liu, Bojarski, COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, and Arditi does not explicitly teach determining a value matrix based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a third set of learned weights;
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a second dot product of the score and the value matrix; and
However, QIN in the same field of endeavor (QIN, at least one para. 0004; “Embodiments of the disclosure provide a computer-implemented method for executing an activation function of a neural network. The method can include: receiving a plurality of input vectors of input data; generating, among the plurality of input vectors, an estimation value associated with a subset of an input vector based on a weight vector of the activation function; determining whether the estimation value associated with the subset of the input vector satisfies a threshold condition; and determining an output of the activation function based on the estimation value.”) teaches determining a value matrix based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a third set of learned weights (QIN, at least one para. 0070; “In some embodiments, the neural network can perform the dot production on the second subset of weight elements and the second subset of input elements to generate a second dot product, and generate the output by adding the estimation value and the second dot product.”);
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a second dot product of the score and the value matrix (QIN, at least one para. 0070; “In some embodiments, the neural network can perform the dot production on the second subset of weight elements and the second subset of input elements to generate a second dot product, and generate the output by adding the estimation value and the second dot product.”); and
The combination of Liu, Bojarski, COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, Arditi, and QIN are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because all of them are in the same field as the image processing through a machine learning as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the output of Liu with the teaching of QIN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art so that the system can save computational resources (QIN; 0070).
Regarding claim 10, The combination of Liu, Bojarski, and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE teaches the limitations of claim 8, upon which the instant claim depends, as discussed supra. Further, Liu teaches (Previously Presented) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 8, wherein the output comprises the detection and determining the detection based at least in part on the score (Liu, at least one para. 0166; “the computing system 1002 can implement the machine-learned model(s) 1010 to generate uncertainty data for object detections, predictions, and motion plan generation based on sensor data.”) comprises at least one of:
determining that the first dot product does not meet a threshold;
determining a value matrix based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a third set of learned weights;
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a second dot product of the score and the value matrix; and
determining, by a decoder based at least in part on the context vector, the object detection.
The combination of Liu, Bojarski, and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE does not explicitly teach the score comprises at least one of:
determining that the first dot product does not meet a threshold;
determining a value matrix based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a third set of learned weights;
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a second dot product of the score and the value matrix; and
determining, by a decoder based at least in part on the context vector, the object detection.
However, Arditi in the same field of endeavor (Arditi, at least one para. 0015; “Subject matter described herein is generally directed to generating and updating HD maps using data from different, heterogeneous sources. As described above, HD maps may be used by autonomous vehicles for driving and navigation, and as such, HD maps need to include highly accurate and detailed information to ensure the safe operation of autonomous vehicles.”) teaches the score comprises at least one of:
determining that the first dot product does not meet a threshold (Arditi, at least one para. 0048; “for each detected object, the system may check whether that object exists in the map data. In particular embodiments, the system may generate a confidence score representing the likelihood of the detected object being accounted for in the map data. The confidence score may be based on, for example, a similarity comparison of the measured size, dimensions, classification, and/or location of the detected object with known objects in the map data. At step 745, if the comparison results in a determination that the detected object(s) exists or is known in the HD map (e.g., the confidence score in the object existing in the map is higher than a threshold)”);
determining a value matrix based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a third set of learned weights;
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a second dot product of the score and the value matrix; and
determining, by a decoder based at least in part on the context vector, the object detection (Arditi, at least one para. 0049; “In particular embodiments, the server may also perform a comparison of the received data (and any objects detected therefrom) with a server-copy of the HD map to determine whether a mismatch exists.”).
The combination of Liu, Bojarski, and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, along with Arditi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because all of them are in the same field as the image processing through a machine learning as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the output of Liu with teaching of Arditi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art so that the system can determine the map-updating operation is necessary or not (Arditi; 0048).
The combination of Liu, Bojarski, COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, and Arditi does not explicitly teach
determining a value matrix based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a third set of learned weights;
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a second dot product of the score and the value matrix; and
However, QIN in the same field of endeavor (QIN, at least one para. 0004; “Embodiments of the disclosure provide a computer-implemented method for executing an activation function of a neural network. The method can include: receiving a plurality of input vectors of input data; generating, among the plurality of input vectors, an estimation value associated with a subset of an input vector based on a weight vector of the activation function; determining whether the estimation value associated with the subset of the input vector satisfies a threshold condition; and determining an output of the activation function based on the estimation value.”) teaches determining a value matrix based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a third set of learned weights (QIN, at least one para. 0070; “In some embodiments, the neural network can perform the dot production on the second subset of weight elements and the second subset of input elements to generate a second dot product, and generate the output by adding the estimation value and the second dot product.”);
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a second dot product of the score and the value matrix (QIN, at least one para. 0070; “In some embodiments, the neural network can perform the dot production on the second subset of weight elements and the second subset of input elements to generate a second dot product, and generate the output by adding the estimation value and the second dot product.”); and
The combination of Liu, Bojarski, COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, Arditi, and QIN are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because all of them are in the same field as the image processing through a machine learning as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the output of Liu with the teaching of QIN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art so that the system can save computational resources (QIN; 0070).
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Bojarski, and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, and further in view of Arditi (US 20230132889 A1).
Regarding claim 19, The combination of Liu, Bojarski, and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE teaches the limitations of claim 17, upon which the instant claim depends, as discussed supra. Further, Liu teaches (Original) The method of claim 17, wherein the output comprises the depth and determining the depth based at least in part on the score (Liu, at least one para. 0041; “In some examples, an end to end deep architecture for multiple image compression (e.g., stereo image compression) is provided. The architecture can provide implicit depth estimation and compression that are performed jointly in the machine learned image compression model”) comprises:
determining that the first dot product meets or exceeds a threshold;
determining a surface associated with the map data; and
associating a distance from a position of a sensor to the surface with the sensor data as the depth.
The combination of Liu, Bojarski, and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE does not explicitly teach determining that the first dot product meets or exceeds a threshold;
determining a surface associated with the map data; and
associating a distance from a position of a sensor to the surface with the sensor data as the depth.
However, Arditi in the same field of endeavor (Arditi, at least one para. 0015; “Subject matter described herein is generally directed to generating and updating HD maps using data from different, heterogeneous sources. As described above, HD maps may be used by autonomous vehicles for driving and navigation, and as such, HD maps need to include highly accurate and detailed information to ensure the safe operation of autonomous vehicles.”) teaches determining that the first dot product meets or exceeds a threshold (Arditi, at least one para. 0048; “for each detected object, the system may check whether that object exists in the map data. In particular embodiments, the system may generate a confidence score representing the likelihood of the detected object being accounted for in the map data. The confidence score may be based on, for example, a similarity comparison of the measured size, dimensions, classification, and/or location of the detected object with known objects in the map data. At step 745, if the comparison results in a determination that the detected object(s) exists or is known in the HD map (e.g., the confidence score in the object existing in the map is higher than a threshold), then the system may not perform any map-updating operation and return to obtaining sensor data (e.g., step 710)”);
determining a surface associated with the map data (Arditi, at least one para. 0049; “the server may prioritize autonomous vehicles that are in the region (e.g., within a threshold distance) of where the new object is detected or have trajectories that would result in the vehicles being in that region in the near future.”, wherein the autonomous vehicle is seen as the associated surface with the first portion of the map data); and
associating a distance from a position of a sensor to the surface with the sensor data as the depth (Arditi, at least one para. 0049; “the server may prioritize autonomous vehicles that are in the region (e.g., within a threshold distance) of where the new object is detected or have trajectories that would result in the vehicles being in that region in the near future.”, wherein the region within a threshold distance is seen as the distance from a position of a sensor to the surface with the first portion of the sensor data as the depth).
The combination of Liu, Bojarski, and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, along with Arditi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because all of them are in the same field as the image processing through a machine learning as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the output of the Liu with teaching of Arditi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art so that the system can identify any mismatch between the existing HD map and the current sensor measurement of the world (Arditi; 0049).
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, and further in view of QIN (US 20210110234 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which the instant claim depends, as discussed supra. Further, Liu teaches (Previously Presented) The system of claim 1, wherein determining the output (Liu, at least one para. 0166; “the computing system 1002 can implement the machine-learned model(s) 1010 to generate uncertainty data for object detections, predictions, and motion plan generation based on sensor data.”) further comprises comparing the attention score to a threshold score.
Liu does not explicitly teach comparing the attention score to a threshold score.
However, QIN in the same field of endeavor (QIN, at least one para. 0004; “Embodiments of the disclosure provide a computer-implemented method for executing an activation function of a neural network. The method can include: receiving a plurality of input vectors of input data; generating, among the plurality of input vectors, an estimation value associated with a subset of an input vector based on a weight vector of the activation function; determining whether the estimation value associated with the subset of the input vector satisfies a threshold condition; and determining an output of the activation function based on the estimation value.”) teaches comparing the attention score to a threshold score (QIN, at least one para. 0054; “Estimator 302 can further determine whether the estimation value associated with the input vector is less than a given threshold. For example, when the estimation value is greater than or equal to the given threshold, it can indicate that it is very likely the dot product associated with the input vector is positive and can be used as the output. Otherwise, when the estimation value is less than the given threshold, it is indicated that it is very likely the dot product associated with the input vector can be set to zero by a rectifier.”).
The combination of Liu and QIN are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field as the image processing through a machine learning as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the output of Liu with the teaching of QIN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art so that the system can save computational resources (QIN; 0055).
Claim(s) 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Bojarski, and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE, and further in view of QIN (US 20210110234 A1).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Liu, Bojarski, and COIMBRA DE ANDRADE teaches the limitations of claim 17, upon which the instant claim depends, as discussed supra. Further, Liu teaches (Previously Presented) The method of claim 17, wherein the score represents an attention score, and wherein determining the attention score (Liu, at least one para. 0101; “In Equation 2, C.sub.d,i represents the cost of disparity d at pixel i. The pixel index that is d pixels to the right of pixel i is represented by (i, d). The volumetric warping provides a warped feature map g.sub.2.sup.t−1 which better aligns with the feature map of the second image. This can also be seen as an attention mechanism for each pixel i into the first image's feature map within a disparity range.”) comprises:
determining a value matrix based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a set of weights;
scaling the value matrix by a scaling factor and applying a softmax function to determine a normalized attention score;
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a dot product of the normalized attention score and the value matrix; and
determining, based at least in part on the context vector, the attention score indicating a correlation strength between a region of the sensor data and the region of the map data.
Liu does not explicitly teach determining a value matrix based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a set of weights;
scaling the value matrix by a scaling factor and applying a softmax function to determine a normalized attention score;
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a dot product of the normalized attention score and the value matrix; and
determining, based at least in part on the context vector, the attention score indicating a correlation strength between a region of the sensor data and the region of the map data.
However, QIN in the same field of endeavor (QIN, at least one para. 0004; “Embodiments of the disclosure provide a computer-implemented method for executing an activation function of a neural network. The method can include: receiving a plurality of input vectors of input data; generating, among the plurality of input vectors, an estimation value associated with a subset of an input vector based on a weight vector of the activation function; determining whether the estimation value associated with the subset of the input vector satisfies a threshold condition; and determining an output of the activation function based on the estimation value.”) teaches determining a value matrix based at least in part on multiplying the second embedding with a set of weights (QIN, at least one para. 0070; “In some embodiments, the neural network can perform the dot production on the second subset of weight elements and the second subset of input elements to generate a second dot product, and generate the output by adding the estimation value and the second dot product. ”);
scaling the value matrix by a scaling factor and applying a softmax function to determine a normalized attention score;
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a dot product of the normalized attention score and the value matrix; and
determining, based at least in part on the context vector, the attention score indicating a correlation strength between a region of the sensor data and the region of the map data (QIN, at least one para. 0070; “In some embodiments, the neural network can perform the dot production on the second subset of weight elements and the second subset of input elements to generate a second dot product, and generate the output by adding the estimation value and the second dot product. ”).
The combination of Liu and QIN are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field as the image processing through a machine learning as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the output of Liu with the teaching of QIN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art so that the system can save computational resources (QIN; 0070).
The combination of Liu and QIN does not explicitly teach scaling the value matrix by a scaling factor and applying a softmax function to determine a normalized attention score;
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a dot product of the normalized attention score and the value matrix; and
However, Bojarski in the same field of endeavor (Bojarski, at least one para. 0019; “Systems and methods are disclosed related to leveraging map information for generating ground truth data for training neural networks for autonomous machine applications.”) teaches scaling the value matrix by a scaling factor and applying a softmax function to determine a normalized attention score (Bojarski, at least one para. 0041; “Although input layers, convolutional layers, pooling layers, ReLU layers, and fully connected layers are discussed herein with respect to the DNN 116, this is not intended to be limiting. For example, additional or alternative layers may be used in the DNN 116, such as normalization layers, SoftMax layers, and/or other layer types.”);
determining a context vector based at least in part on determining a dot product of the normalized attention score and the value matrix (Bojarski, at least one para. 0052; “The method 400, at block B408, includes generating, based at least in part on the HD map data and the localizing, ground truth data corresponding to the sensor data. For example, the ground truth generator 112 may generate the ground truth data corresponding to the instance of the sensor data 102 using the map data. In some embodiments, this may include transforming or shifting a coordinate system of the HD map 104 to a coordinate system of the vehicle 500, correlating the map data with the sensor data 102, and/or other processes described herein with respect to the coordinate transformer 108, the correlator 110, and/or the ground truth generator 112.”); and
The combination of Liu and QIN, and Bojarski are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because all of them are in the same field as the image processing through a machine learning as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the attention score of the Liu with teaching of Bojarski. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement, and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art so that the system prevent vanishing gradients and gain numerical stability during the machine-learning process.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/U.P.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3665 /CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665