DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . As per the remarks of 05/04/2026, no claim has been amended; claims 1-20 are pending. Examiner appreciated for typographical error of (2019/01318120) inadvertently associated with Holgersson, where the proper number is (US2021/0037703) as described and listed in PTO-892. Applicant further argues that “… neither Dower nor Holgersson teach or render obvious such a charging station including a pad having a top surface and a hub extending from the tope surface to produce a distal end….” See ‘Response to Argument” section for details.
Information Disclosure Statment
The Information Disclosure Statements dated 03/19/2026 and 06/25/2026 are acknowledged and the cited references have been considered in this examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dower (US 2010/0308768) in view of Holgersson et al. (US 2021/0037703).
With respect to claims 1, 10 and 18, Dower discloses a charging station for use with a robotic garden tool (See reproduced drawing below: Fig. 14,200 and vehicle 800) having a charging port (Fig. 14, 820/822), the charging station (Fig. 14, 200) comprising: a pad having a top surface (Fig. 14, 201); a hub extending from the top surface to produce a distal end (Fig. 14, from ‘distal end top to bottom; Para. # 0068); a charging terminal (Fig. 14, 220 and 222) configured to form a temporary electrical connection with the charging port (vehicle tool and charging port 820 and 822), wherein the charging terminal is adjustable relative to the pad (charging terminal 220/222 is connected to arm 202 which is movable).
Dower, does not expressly disclose a robotic garden tool.
Holgersson, on the other hand, discloses a robotic garden tool or a robotic lawnmower.
DOWER and Holgersson are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor namely docking bays for recharging batteries and system for navigating robotic lawnmower into a docking station.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a robotic battery powered garden tool (lawnmower) to automatically cut grass or plant within the referenced limits and return to docking station recharge rechargeable batteries and continuously working on the garden efficiently saving ample time by working continuously.
With respect to claims 2 and 13-14, the combined references of Dower and Holgersson disclose the charging station as described above, further Dower discloses wherein the charging terminal defines a docking axis, wherein the charging terminal is configured to engage the charging port in a direction parallel to the docking axis, and wherein the docking axis is adjustable relative to the pad thereto (Fig. 14, charging terminals 220 and 222 constant distance from bay/pad 200 and movement can be adjusted, charging port in moving tool engage somewhat parallel to the docking axis 200).
With respect to claims 3 and 11, the combined references of Dower and Holgersson disclose the charging station as described above, further Dower discloses, wherein the hub defines a hub axis, and wherein the docking axis extends radially from the hub axis (See Fig. 14, where the docking axis 202 extends from hub 200).
With respect to claim 4, the combined references of Dower and Holgersson disclose the charging station as described above, further Dower discloses wherein the hub axis is normal to the top surface (Fig. 14, hub 200 has distal end hub 201).
With respect to claims 5, 15-17 and 19, the combined references of Dower and Holgersson disclose the charging station as described above, further Holgersson discloses wherein the top surface of the pad includes an alignment mechanism configured to align the robotic power tool relative to the charging terminal (Para. #. 0025 and 0026; see also Fig. 1A/1B).
With respect to claim 6, the combined references of Dower and Holgersson disclose the charging station as described above, further Holgersson discloses , wherein the alignment mechanism includes a pair of tracks formed into the top surface of the pad (See Para. # 0040: the controller 110 of the robotic lawnmower 100 to determine how the robotic lawnmower 100 is aligned with relation to the boundary; and a guide cable 260 for enabling the robotic lawnmower to find the entrance of and to dock with the charging station 210).
With respect to claim 7, the combined references of Dower and Holgersson disclose the charging station as described above, further Dower discloses wherein the charging terminal is a first charging terminal, the charging station further comprising a second charging terminal configured to form a temporary electrical connection with the robotic garden tool (Para. # 0035, 0040-0041: a pair of electrical contacts 420, 422; contact between contacts 20, 22 and 420, 422 is a fundamental requisite to enable power flow from the docking bay to the vehicle 400).
With respect to claim 8, the combined references of Dower and Holgersson disclose the charging station as described above, further Dower discloses wherein the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal are both independently adjustable relative to the pad (Fig. 11, 420 and 422 is operable based on switching activities 40/41 to single or multiple charging as required).
With respect to claims 9, 12 and 20, the combined references of Dower and Holgersson disclose the charging station as described above, further Dower discloses wherein the charging terminal maintains a constant distance from the top surface of the pad when being adjusted relative thereto (Fig. 14, charging terminals 220 and 222 constant distance from bay/pad 200 and movement can be adjusted to fit the docking with recharging element, vehicle or moving tool in this case).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that “… neither Dower nor Holgersson teach or render obvious such a charging station including a pad having a top surface and a hub extending from the tope surface to produce a distal end….”
The primary reference, Dower, discloses charging station having a top surface and a hub extending from the top surface to produce a distal end (para. # 0047: a vehicle 400A can also be considered as a robotic moving vehicle contains a deployable fap 471-a pad like material, as depicted in Fig. 6, which is a flexible material that extends from a hinged forward or proximal end 472 to distal end 473. Raising and lowering the flap about the proximal end 472 for adjusting the proper position for contacts (Various rubber-like materials are suitable for flap 471-pad like). The rechargeable vehicle (robot like vehicle) moves in the direction of 401, of figure 2 so as to be connected to the docking station (bay) 10 as clearly depicted in Fig. 6. This is a direction of a vehicle going to be charged at the docking station where the terminals are adjusting itself in order to fit in charging performance (see Para. # 0045-0047).
For more details of the terminal contact of the charging station and the moving vehicle body, para. # 0048 describes, a pair of electrical contact modules 475, also forming part of vehicle 400A, are mounted to flap 471--one for making abutment contact with electrical contact 20 of the docking bay; the other for making abutment contact with electrical contact 22 of the docking bay.
But, as applicant stated in the argument, Dower doesn’t expressly disclose a robotic garden tool in spite of the fact that the vehicle, considered as being obvious, to a moving robotic garden too (robotic mower), the second reference, Holgersson describes a robotic lawnmower that navigates to a docking station for recharging purpose as described in details.
Furthermore, as the rejection is based on two references combined in obviousness 103 rejections, the second reference describes the positive/negative connection cover as indicated above. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In response to applicant's argument that “… the rejections require clear articulation of the reasons why the claimed invention would have been obvious … ‘, the fact that applicant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Therefore, applicant arguments in this regard are found improper.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Contact Information
/YALKEW FANTU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859