Note, rejections and objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Receipt is acknowledged of IDS filed on 09/05/2025.
Claims 20 and 21 have been added.
Claims 1, 3-13 and 15-21 are pending.
Claims 2, 14, 15 are cancelled.
Claims 5, 7-13, 16-19 and 21 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the B-cell". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this is in reference to B-cell immune tolerance and it is unclear how this limits claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JONES (Folate and Inflammation – links between folate and features of inflammatory conditions. Journal of Nutrition and Intermediary Metabolism. 2019.).
Regarding claim 1, JONES teaches that low folate levels are commonly observed with chronic inflammatory diseases, indicating that inadequate folate may be involved in the pathogenesis of inflammatory conditions (abstract). Folate supplementation can be a treatment for these inflammatory conditions (abstract). Folate may prevent endothelium dysfunction by maintaining levels of homocysteine (Hcy) (Page 1, paragraph 2). At elevated levels, Hcy can cause endothelial dysfunction, resulting in a shift towards a pro-inflammatory state (page 2, paragraph 3). 5-10 mg/day of folic acid over 6-8 weeks improved endothelial function in subjects with elevated Hcy (Page 4, paragraph 2). This reads on a method for treatment of hypersensitivity comprising administering an effective amount of folic acid to a subject.
Regarding claim 3, note: claim 1 only requires B-cell immune tolerance for transplant rejection not hypersensitivity, therefor claim 3 does not apply.
Regarding claim 4, note: the art is towards treating a hypersensitivity not the production against an immunogenic substance, therefor claim 4 does not apply.
Claims 1, 3, 6 and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by SANDHAUS (Organ Transplantation. Life Extension. 2010.).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, SANDHAUS teaches that immunosuppressive drugs must be taken in order to avoid organ transplant rejection (Section 8, paragraph 2). Immunosuppressive drugs can cause an increase in homocysteine levels, which damages endothelial cells (Section 7, paragraph 3). A method of administering folic acid significantly reduced the levels of homocysteine (Hcy) to assist in organ transplant patients (Section 7, paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 1, 3 and 20, although the reference is silent about inducing B-cell immune tolerance, where the B-cell is a spleen or lymph node B-cell expressing mIgm, it does not appear that the claim language or limitations result in a manipulative difference in the method steps when compared to the prior art disclosure. See Bristol-Myers Squibb Company v. Ben Venue Laboratories, 58 USPQ2d 1508 (CAFC 2001). “It is a general rule that merely discovering and claiming a new benefit of an old process cannot render the process again patentable.” In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Granting a patent on the discovery of an unknown but inherent function would remove from the public that which is in the public domain by virtue of its inclusion in, or obviousness from, the prior art. /n re Baxter Travenol Labs, 21 USPQ2d 1281 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See M.P.E.P. 2145. On this record, it is reasonable to conclude that the subject is being administered the same active agent, folic acid, by the same mode of administration in both the instant claims and the prior art reference. The fact that Applicant may have discovered yet another beneficial effect from the method set forth in the prior art does not mean that they are entitled to receive a patent on that method. Thus, the references teaches, either expressly or inherently, each and every limitation of the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SANDHAUS (Organ Transplantation. Life Extension. 2010.) in view of CHOWDHURY (Post-transplant diabetes mellitus. Royal College of Physicians. 2019).
SANDHAUS teaches Applicant’s invention as discussed above.
SANDHAUS does not teach administering insulin with the folic acid.
CHOWDHURY teaches that post-transplant diabetes mellitus (PTDM) is common following organ transplantation (abstract). Administering insulin after transplantation has been found to reduce risk of post-transplant diabetes mellitus (page 394, paragraph 6).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate administering insulin with the folic acid. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because it prevents PTDM in patients, and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as medicines for organ transplants.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618