DETAILED ACTION
The present application has been transferred to examiner Fan Tsang.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lien et al. US8719033 (hereinafter Lien) in view of Mayer et al., US 2012/0304509 (hereinafter Mayer).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Lien discloses a greeting card having record feature with a circuit board (56, Fig.4). The circuit board of is used to process and perform recording/playing audio messages features. Lien’s circuit board receives an indication (i.e. tearing the trial mode panel 26 in Fig.1 apart from the card) of a user manipulation of a mode of operation switch (third switch 60, Fig.4 and column 5, lines 38-55); then switches from a safe mode (trial mode) to a recipient mode (use mode). It is noted that the claimed “safe mode” provides a different recording/playback feature from the “recipient mode” as disclosed in the specification (see para 19 of the specification. Lien’s “trial mode” and “use mode” are performing similar functions corresponding to the claimed “safe mode” and “recipient mode”; thus, Lien’s “trial mode” and “use mode” read on the claimed “safe mode” and the “recipient mode”. While the card in the recipient mode (use mode), the card will play a pre-recorded sound (see column 7, lines 20-24) continuously until a battery runs out of power. The card/circuit board of Lien will ignore any second or subsequence indication of user manipulation of the mode of operation switch (third switch 60, Fig.4) because the third switch 60 is opened during the recipient mode (use mode). Therefore, the second/subsequence manipulation of switch 60 will have no effect on the card, including when the card is playing a message during the recipient/use mode. However, Lien’s circuit board does not show the claimed processor and computer medium.
On the other hand, Mayer discloses a greeting card having a circuit board with a processor and computer memory in Fig.4 for controlling recording/playing feature of an audio message (see para 27 and 28). Since both Lien and Mayer disclose a similar type of greeting cards, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use processor/memory as taught by Mayer in the circuit board of Lien because using IC processors in a circuit board would greatly reduce the complexity of the required hardware circuits to perform the audio message recording/playing features.
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Lien’s switch 60 is a one-time use switch (see columns 5, line 48-55).
Regarding claims 3 and 9, see Lien’s trial mode panel 26, fig.1.
Regarding claims 4 and 10, see Lien column 7, lines 51-55.
Regarding claims 5 and 11, it is inherent that the tab (trial mode panel of Lien) is attached to the insulator.
Regarding claims 6 and 12, see Lien’s column 7, lines 1-6 discloses that the user recorded sound is only played once during the trial mode.
Regarding claim 13, Lien discloses a greeting card apparatus having recording feature with a circuit board (56, Fig.4). Lien’s card comprising a switch (third switch 60, Fig.4 and column 5, lines 38-55) for switching the card from a safe mode (trial mode) to a recipient mode (use mode). It is noted that the claimed “safe mode” provides a different recording/playback features (see paragraph 19 of the specification) from the claimed “recipient mode” as disclosed in the specification; and Lien’s “trial mode” and “use mode” are performing similar functions corresponding to the claimed “safe mode” and “recipient mode”. Therefore, Lien’s “trial mode” and “use mode” read on the claimed “safe mode” and the “recipient mode”. The third switch 60 of Lien is a tear switch such that when a user tears the trial mode panel 26 from the card (see column 5, line lines 38-55), the card will be changed from “trial mode” to “use mode”. It is also noted that the card cannot be returned to the “trial mode” once the card is on the “use mode”. Once the card is on the “use mode”, a pre-record sound, such as a songs or a recorded message from a user, can be played according to the corresponding switches are pressed or a card is opened. It is also noted that the pre-recorded sound cannot be modified if the switch, i.e. switch 60 is manipulated by the user since this switch is merely control the card changing from the ”trial mode” to the “use mode”. However, Lien’s circuit board does not show the claimed controller.
On the other hand, Mayer discloses a greeting card having a circuit board with a processor and computer memory in Fig.4 for controlling recording/playing of an audio message (see para 27 and 28). Since both Lien and Mayer disclose a similar type of greeting cards, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use processor/memory as taught by Mayer in the circuit board of Lien because using IC processors in a circuit board would greatly reduce the complexity of the circuits inside the circuit board.
Regarding claim 14, see cavity/pocket 34 in Fig.2 and column 4, line 2 of Lien.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, see Lien, Fig.2 for two panels 14 and 20; and the fold line 24.
Regarding claim 17, see rejection for claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, see rejection for claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, the trial mode panel 26 (tab) of Lien is pulled out by the user.
Regarding claim 20, see Lien, Fig.4 of the claimed slit between 62 and 60.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 10625531, claims 1-19 od U.S. Patent 11376881 and claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent 11633973. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim in the pending application is broader than the one in patents. For example, the subject matter claimed in claim 1 of the pending application, which reciting a controller for controlling the safe mode and the recipient mode switching feature and continuously playing a message till the battery being out of power, is covered by claim 1 of the above three patents. Therefore, the pending claim 1 is anticipated by the claim 1 and/or its dependent claims of the above three patents.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lien et al. US2009/0259474 teaches a greeting card having audio recording capabilities with trial mode feature.
/FAN S TSANG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2694