DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claims 4, 14-16, and 29 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Each of claims 4, 14 and 29 assumes GFIC specifications, including the level of current at which the GFIC opens the power supply circuit (“trips”), but neither an express value of amperage that functions as claimed, nor heater structure suggesting such a value, is recited, rendering the claims indefinite. Moreover, the conditional phrase, “current leakage… if not returned to the GFCI”, allows that said current leakage need not be returned, in which case the use of said current leakage is indefinite. Claims 15-16 are rejected for depending upon a rejected base claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1 - 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wiese (US 5,361,183) . Regarding claim 1 , Wiese (Fig. 4, 6-8; Col. 3, lines 49-62) discloses a n electrically shielded heated component comprising: a conductor (12) , wherein the conductor (12) is a heating element powered and protected through a GFCI (ground fault circuit interrupter) (30; Col. 2, lines 40-50, Col. 3, lines 49-62) ; and a shield (10) proximate the conductor (12) , wherein the shield (10) receives a portion of current from the conductor (12) and returns the portion of the current received to the GFCI (30) . Regarding claim 2 , Wiese discloses t he electrically shielded heated component of claim 1, wherein Wiese (Fig. 4 and 6-8) further discloses the shield (10) returns the portion of the current to the GFCI (30) by way of a neutral conductor (22) . Regarding claim 3 , Wiese discloses t he electrically shielded heated component of claim 2, wherein Wiese (Fig. 4 and 6-8 ; Col. 3, lines 24-28 ) further discloses that the neutral conductor (22) shares electrical communication with the heating element ( 1 2) . Regarding claim 4 , Wiese discloses t he electrically shielded heated component of claim 1, wherein the portion of the current received at the shield comprises current leakage from the conductor, and wherein the current leakage is above an amperage that would result in the GFCI tripping if not returned to the GFCI by the shield. Regarding claim 5 , Wiese discloses t he electrically shielded heated component of claim 1, wherein Wiese (Fig. 4 and 6-8; Col. 3, lines 19-32) further discloses that the conductor (12) and the shield (10) are at least one of embedded within, partially embedded within, or affixed to the electrically shielded heated component. Claim(s) 10-13, 17-19, 21-22, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Curtila (EP 0141688). Regarding claim 10 , Curtila (Fig. 2-3) discloses a heated refractory component comprising: a core material (13, 15) forming the heated refractory component; a working surface (11) of the heated refractory component; a heating element (12) disposed within the core material (13) ; and electrically conductive shielding (14) between the working surface (11) and the heating element (12) , wherein current leaking from the heating element (12) toward the working surface is substantially absorbed by the shielding (Paragraphs 12 and 15 of translation) . Regarding claim 11 , Curtila discloses t he heated refractory component of claim 10, wherein Curtila (Fig. 2-3) further discloses that the heating element ( 12 ) is encapsulated within the core material (13) and the shielding is encapsulated within the core material (13 and 15) . Regarding claim 12 , Curtila discloses t he heated refractory component of claim 10, wherein Curtila (Fig. 2-3) further discloses a first conductive lead (one end of 12a) for the heating element (12) ; a second conductive lead (opposite end of 12a) for the heating element (12) ; and a third conducive lead (lead of 14a) for the electrically conductive shielding (14) . Regarding claim 13 , Curtila discloses t he heated refractory component of claim 12, wherein Curtila (Fig. 2-3) further discloses that the second conductive lead (12a) for the heating element (12) is in electrical communication with the third conductive lead (14a) for the electrically conductive shielding (14) at a circuit powering the heating element (at 16) . Regarding claim 17 , Curtila discloses t he heated refractory component of claim 10, wherein Curtila (Fig. 2-3) further discloses that the heating element comprises a coiled resistance heating wire (12) . Regarding claim 18 , Curtila discloses t he heated refractory component of claim 17, wherein Curtila (Fig. 2-3; Paragraph 15) further discloses that the electrically conductive shielding (14) comprises a wire mesh (14) disposed between the working surface (11) and the heating element (12) . Regarding claim 19, Curtila discloses t he heated refractory component of claim 10, wherein Curtila (Fig. 2-3, Paragraph 15) further discloses that the electrically conductive shielding (14) comprises wire (14) disposed between the working surface (11) and the heating element (12) . Regarding claim 21 , Curtila discloses t he heated refractory component of claim 10, wherein Curtila (Fig. 2-3; Paragraph 13) further discloses that the heating element is configured to heat the working surface of the heated refractory component to at least 400 degrees Celsius ( Curtila was interpreted as disclosing this since the heated component includes a nuclear reactor test heater which operates over 400 degrees Celsius) . Regarding claim 22 , Curtila (Fig. 2-3; Paragraph 12 and 15 of translation) discloses a method for heating a heated refractory component comprising: supplying current to a heating element (12) embedded within a core material (13 and 15) forming the heated refractory component; and receiving current leaking from the heating element (12) at electrically conductive shielding (14) embedded within the core material (13) , between the heating element (12) and a working surface (11) of the heated refractory component. Regarding claim 26 , Curtila discloses t he method of claim 22, wherein Curtila (Fig. 2-3) further discloses heating a working surface (11) of the heated refractory component with the heating element (12) to a temperature of at least 400 degrees Celsius ( Curtila was interpreted as disclosing this since the heated component includes a nuclear reactor test heater which operates over 400 degrees Celsius) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 1-9, 14-16, 23-2 5 , and 27 - 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curtila (EP 0141688) in view of Wiese (US 5,361,183) . Regarding claim 1 , Curtila (Fig. 2-3) discloses a n electrically shielded heated component comprising: a conductor ( 1 2 ) , wherein the conductor ( 1 2 ) is a heating element (12) ; and a shield ( 14 ) proximate the conductor ( 12 ) , wherein the shield ( 14 ) receives a portion of current from the conductor ( 12 ). Curtila fails to disclose that the heating element is protected through a GFCI and the portion of current from the conductor is returned to the GFCI. However, Curtila (Paragraph 13) does disclose that heaters are subject to excessive temperature/power levels that require means to automatically open the power circuit, i.e., a GFCI. Wiese teaches shielding (10) that returns leakage current absorbed by the shielding (10) to a GFCI (30) by way of a neutral conductor (22; Fig. 4; Col. 3, lines 39-62). Adapting the shielding circuitry of Wiese to the shielding of Curtila would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to maintain normal heater function when the refractory component (13 and 15) of Curtila becomes sufficiently conductive, with increasing temperature, to reach leakage current levels that would otherwise trip the GFCI. Regarding claim 2 , Curtila , as modified discloses t he electrically shielded heated component of claim 1, wherein Curtila (Fig. 2-3; Wiese: Fig. 4 and 6-8), as modified, further discloses the shield (14) returns the portion of the current to the GFCI (30) by way of a neutral conductor ( Wiese : 22) . Regarding claim 3 , Curtila , as modified, discloses t he electrically shielded heated component of claim 2, wherein Curtila (Fig. 2-3; Wiese: Fig. 4 and 6-8), as modified, further discloses that the neutral conductor ( Wiese : 22) shares electrical communication with the heating element (12) . Regarding claim 4 , Curtila , as modified, discloses t he electrically shielded heated component of claim 1, wherein Curtila (Fig. 2-3; Wiese: Fig. 4 and 6-8, Col. 2, lines 44-51), as modified, further discloses the portion of the current received at the shield (14) comprises current leakage from the conductor (12) , and wherein the current leakage is above an amperage that would result in the GFCI ( Wiese : 30) tripping if not returned to the GFCI by the shield (14) . Regarding claim 5 , Curtila , as modified, discloses t he electrically shielded heated component of claim 1, wherein Chiles (Fig. 2-3) further discloses that the conductor (12) and the shield (14) are at least one of embedded within, partially embedded within, or affixed to the electrically shielded heated component. Regarding claim 6 , Curtila , as modified, discloses t he electrically shielded heated component of claim 5, wherein Curtila (Fig. 2-3; Paragraph 5), as modified, further discloses that the electrically shielded heated component becomes increasingly electrically conductive at temperatures exceeding 400 degrees Celsius. Regarding claim 7 , Curtila , as modified, discloses t he electrically shielded heated component of claim 6, wherein Curtila (Fig. 2-3; Paragraph 5), as modified, further discloses that the portion of the current comprises current leakage resulting from the electrical conductivity at elevated temperature exceeds 5mA. Regarding claim 8 , Curtila , as modified, discloses t he electrically shielded heated component of claim 5, wherein Curtila (Fig. 2-3), as modified, further discloses that the conductor (12) is configured to heat a surface (11) of the electrically shielded heated component to at least 400 degrees Celsius ( Curtila was interpreted as disclosing this since the heated component includes a nuclear reactor test heater which operates over 400 degrees Celsius) . Regarding claim 9, Curtila , as modified, discloses t he electrically shielded heated component of claim 8, wherein Curtila (Fig. 2-3), as modified, further discloses that the electrically shielded heated component is configured to contact molten metal ( Curtila was interpreted as disclosing this since Curtila allows for operating temperatures up to a few thousand degrees C, and would thus be intrinsically “configured to contact molten metal” such as aluminum) . Regarding claim 14 , Curtila discloses t he heated refractory component of claim 12, but fails to disclose a circuit powering the heating element comprises a GFCI (ground fault circuit interrupter), and wherein the current leaking from the heating element is sufficient to trip the GFCI if not returned to the circuit powering the heating element by the third conductive lead for the electrically conductive shielding. However, Curtila (Paragraph 13) does disclose that heaters are subject to excessive temperature/power levels that require means to automatically open the power circuit, i.e., a GFCI. Wiese teaches shielding (10) that returns leakage current absorbed by the shielding (10) to a GFCI (30) by way of a neutral conductor (22; Fig. 4; Col. 3, lines 39-62). Adapting the shielding circuitry of Wiese to the shielding of Curtila would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to maintain normal heater function when the refractory component (13 and 15) of Curtila becomes sufficiently conductive, with increasing temperature, to reach leakage current levels that would otherwise trip the GFCI. Regarding claim 15 , Curtila , as modified, discloses t he heated refractory component of claim 14, wherein Curtila (Fig. 2-3, Paragraph 4), as modified, further discloses that the heated refractory component contacts molten metal, and wherein the molten metal acts as a ground. Regarding claim 16 , Curtila , as modified, discloses t he heated refractory component of claim 15, wherein Curtila (Fig. 2-3, Paragraph 4), as modified, further discloses that the electrically conductive shielding (14) is disposed between the heating element (12) and a non-working surface (11) which will contact molten metal in response to a molten metal leak. Regarding claim 23 , Curtila t he method of claim 22, but fails to disclose supplying current to a heating element embedded within the core material comprises supplying current from a circuit protected with a GFCI (ground fault circuit interrupter). However, Curtila (Paragraph 13) does disclose that heaters are subject to excessive temperature/power levels that require means to automatically open the power circuit, i.e., a GFCI. Wiese (Fig. 4) teaches shielding (10) that returns leakage current absorbed by the shielding (10) to a GFCI (30) by way of a neutral conductor (22; Fig. 4; Col. 3, lines 39-62). Adapting the shielding circuitry of Wiese to the shielding of Curtila would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to maintain normal heater function when the refractory component (13 and 15) of Curtila becomes sufficiently conductive, with increasing temperature, to reach leakage current levels that would otherwise trip the GFCI. Regarding claim 24 , Curtila , as modified, discloses t he method of claim 23, wherein Curtila (Paragraph 12 and 15; Wiese : Fig. 4), as modified, further discloses that the method further comprising: receiving the current leaking to the electrically conductive shielding (14) embedded within the core material (13 and 15) at the GFCI ( Wiese : 30) . Regarding claim 25 , Curtila , as modified, discloses t he method of claim 24 , wherein Curtila (Fig. 2-3; Wiese: Fig. 4; Col. 3, lines 39-62), as modified, further discloses that the current leaking to the electrically conductive shielding (14) embedded within the core material (13, 15) prevents the GFCI (Wiese: 30) from tripping due to the current leaking from the heating element (12) . Regarding claim 27 , Curtila (Fig. 2-3) a ceramic component comprising: a conductor (12); and a shield (14) proximate the conductor (12). Curtila fails to disclose that the conductor is protected by a GFCI (ground fault circuit interrupter) and that the shield receives a portion of current from the conductor and returns the portion of the current received to the GFCI . However, Curtila (Paragraph 13) does disclose that heaters are subject to excessive temperature/power levels that require means to automatically open the power circuit, i.e., a GFCI. Wiese (Fig. 4) teaches shielding (10) that returns leakage current absorbed by the shielding (10) to a GFCI (30) by way of a neutral conductor (22; Fig. 4; Col. 3, lines 39-62). Adapting the shielding circuitry of Wiese to the shielding of Curtila would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to maintain normal heater function when the refractory component (13 and 15) of Curtila becomes sufficiently conductive, with increasing temperature, to reach leakage current levels that would otherwise trip the GFCI. Regarding claim 28 , Curtila , as modified, discloses t he ceramic component of claim 27, wherein Curtila (Fig. 2-3; Wiese : Fig. 4), as modified, further discloses that the shield (14) returns the portion of the current to the GFCI ( Wiese : 30) by way of a neutral conductor ( Wiese : 20) . Regarding claim 29, Curtila , as modified, discloses t he ceramic component of claim 27, wherein Curtila (Fig. 2-3; Wiese : Fig. 4, Col. 2, lines 44-51), as modified, further discloses that the portion of the current received at the shield (14) comprises current leakage from the conductor (12) , and wherein the current leakage is above an amperage that would result in the GFCI ( Wiese : 30) tripping if not returned to the GFCI by the shield. Regarding claim 30, Curtila , as modified, discloses t he ceramic component of claim 27, wherein Curtila (Fig. 2-3; Paragraph 5), as modified, further discloses that the ceramic component becomes increasingly electrically conductive at temperatures exceeding 400 degrees Celsius ( Curtila was interpreted as disclosing this since the heated component includes a nuclear reactor test heater which operates over 400 degrees Celsius) . Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curtila (EP 0141688) in view of in view of Eckert (US 6,444,165) . Regarding claim 20 , Curtila discloses t he heated refractory component of claim 10, but fails to disclose that the heated refractory component comprises a trough section extending from a first end of the trough section to a second end of the trough section, the trough section configured to abut at least one additional trough section at the second end, wherein the electrically conductive shielding extends around the heating element, between the heating element and the second end of the trough section. Eckert (Fig. 1 and 2; Col. 5, lines 9-48) discloses a refractory “trough” (1) section having a first and second ends, and comprising heating elements (32) analogous to those of Curtila . It would have been obvious to adapt the heating elements with shielding as disclosed by Curtila , to the trough of Eckert, to provide enhanced user safety by the grounded shielding of Curtila . The shielding of Curtila surrounds the heating element and is therefore between the heating element and a second end of a trough section. Moreover, a trough comprising plural sections would have been obvious since such a modular structure allows adaptation to a variety of manufacturing contexts. Con tact Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT DANIELLE M CHRISTENSEN whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-3275 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 9-5 PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Courtney Heinle can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-3508 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Danielle M. Christensen/ Examiner, Art Unit 3745