DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued
examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the
finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's
submission filed on 06/01/2026 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on 06/01/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-10, 34, 36-43 and 64-65 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-10, 34, 36-43 and 64-65 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 34, 36-42 and 64-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2023/0413380 A1), hereinafter “ZHANG” in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0389049 A1), hereinafter “KIM”
Regarding claim 1, ZHANG teaches, ‘A method for receiving multicast broadcast service (MBS) by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless network, comprising:’ (Paragraph [0005], Apparatus and methods are provided for the UE to receive multicast transmission in RRC INACTIVE state. In
one embodiment, the UE joins a multicast session, receives an MRB configuration for a multicast service, establishes an MRB for reception of the multicast service in the RRC INACTIVE state… and receives data transmission of the multicast service):
‘receiving a first message comprising a first MBS configuration associated with the MBS from a first network element of the wireless network, wherein the first message comprises a dedicated radio resource control (RRC) message…’ (Paragraph [0005]: In one embodiment, the MRB configuration is received in an RRC release message. In one embodiment, the multicast MRB configuration is delivered in the suspendconfig)…
‘wherein the notification configuration is received prior to releasing the UE to an RRC inactive (RRC_INACTIVE) state,’ (Paragraph [0005], the multicast MRB configuration is delivered in the suspendconfig; Paragraph [0028]: the UE receives an RRC Release message with the multicast configuration indicated with the suspend configuration. The RRC release message puts the UE into the RRC INACTIVE state),
ZHANG does not explicitly teach but KIM teaches, ‘…including a notification configuration corresponding to receiving an MBS configuration update notification and a reception configuration corresponding to receiving an updated MBS configuration on a broadcast control channel,’ (KIM – Paragraph [0161]: the base station or the network may configure, to a terminal, at least one of bearer
configuration information for the MBS service, or transmission resource information for the MBS service… via system information, an RRC message ( e.g., an RRCSetup message, an RRCResume message, an RRCReconfiguration message, an RRCRelease message, or a newly defined RRC message),
or a control message for an MBS channel),
‘and wherein the notification configuration comprises at least one of a notification cycle, radio frame information, sub-frame information, or an on-duration timer;’ (KIM – Paragraph [0156]: the RRC message; Paragraph [0158]: may configure a function (a power saving mode) to reduce power consumption of the terminal, or may configure configuration information such as a Discontinuous
Reception (DRX) cycle [cycle], an offset [radio frame information], an on-duration period on-duration timer] (a period in which the terminal needs to monitor the PDCCH), time information [sub-frame information], and/or the like for MBS service reception);
‘receiving, based on the notification configuration, the MBS configuration update notification from the first network element;’ (KIM – Paragraph [0158]: when receiving the MBS service, the terminal applies the DRX configuration information configured for the MBS service to periodically determine the interval for PDCCH monitoring based on the configuration information, and does not always perform PDCCH monitoring, thereby reducing power consumption; Paragraph [0757]: A terminal identifier, an MBS service identifier, MBS service-related configuration information change indicator, or system information change indicator is included in an RRC message, MAC control information, or an MBS control information message ( or an MBS control data channel) and transmitted so that the terminal receiving the RRC message, may identify that MBS service-related configuration information, MBS service control information… has been changed);
‘and receiving, based on the reception configuration, the updated MBS configuration sent from the first network element.’ (KIM – Paragraph [0760]: When a terminal identifies that MBS service-related configuration information, MBS service control information, or system information has been changed according to one embodiment or a combination of the embodiments, the terminal may perform a procedure for obtaining system information again).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of KIM with ZHANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of KIM into ZHANG is that KIM provides the precise micro-timing sub-elements required to regulate background monitoring windows during Multicast Broadcast Services (MBS), and when a terminal is set up to interact with or receive an MBS channel configuration via an RRC signaling message path, the notification configuration profile natively contains power-saving timing parameters. Restricting the background active receiver time of an Inactive UE to highly predictable, periodic windows directly prevents the rapid battery drain that occurs when a device continuously loops blind-decoding tasks on the physical layer (See Paragraph [0158], KIM).
Regarding claims 3 and 36, ZHANG and KIM teach, The method of claim 1, ZHANG further teaches, ‘wherein the first message releases the UE to the RRC inactive (RRC_INACTIVE) state.’ (Paragraph [0005]: In one embodiment, the MRB configuration is received in an RRC release message. In one embodiment, the multicast MRB configuration is delivered in the suspendconfig; Paragraph [0028]: In another embodiment (291), the UE receives an RRC Release message with the multicast
configuration indicated with the suspend configuration. The RRC release message puts the UE into the RRC INACTIVE state).
Regarding claims 4 and 37, ZHANG and KIM teach, The method of claim 1, ZHANG further teaches, ‘wherein each of the first MBS configuration and the updated MBS configuration is used by the UE to receive the MBS and comprises at least one of: an MBS identifier (MBS ID) identifying the MBS; an MBS index identifying the MBS in a scope of the UE;’ (Paragraph [0034]: At step 821, the UE sends RRCResumeRequest to the target gNB 802, providing the inactive RNTI (I-RNTI), allocated by the last serving gNB and an appropriate cause value. In one embodiment, the cause value is specific to update multicast reception in RRC INACTIVE… At step 840, target gNB 802 keeps the UE in RRC_INACTIVE state by sending RRCRelease with suspend indication. In one embodiment, the multicast MRB configuration is delivered in the suspend indication, which indicates the MTCH information for the multicast session which UE is interested in);
‘a bearer configuration, comprising: a radio bearer configuration; a radio link control (RLC) bearer configuration; and at least one radio bearer identifier (RBID), at least one logical channel identifier (LCID), and an association between the at least one RBID and the at least one LCID;’ (Paragraph [0025]: An MRB controller 172 controls to establish/add, reconfigure/modify and release/remove a DRB based on different sets of conditions for MRB establishment, reconfiguration and release. A protocol stack controller 173 manages to add, modify or remove the protocol stack for the MRB. The protocol stack includes SDAP layer 175, PDCP layer 176, RLC layer 177, MAC layer 178 and PHY layer 179 [Note: MRB configuration and protocol stack controllers link the higher-layer radio bearer boundaries (administered by the SDAP and PDCP layers) directly down to the logical channel boundaries administered by the RLC layer and MAC layer. This binding represents the architectural equivalent of associating a radio bearer identifier with its underlying logical channel identifier to facilitate proper upper/lower layer routing]);
ZHANG does not explicitly teach but KIM teaches, ‘resource allocation information;’ (KIM – Paragraph [0161]: the base station or the network may configure, to a terminal, at least one of bearer
configuration information for the MBS service, or transmission resource information for the MBS service (e.g., a time resource, a frequency resource, a bandwidth or a frequency, a partial bandwidth (or a partial bandwidth identifier) or a bandwidth, subcarrier spacing, a transmission resource period, and an RNTI identifier for each MBS service or a logical channel identifier for each MBS service) via system information, an RRC message);
‘the notification configuration used to receive the MBS configuration update notification;’ (KIM – Paragraph [0156]: the RRC message; Paragraph [0158]: may configure a function (a power saving mode) to reduce power consumption of the terminal, or may configure configuration information such as a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle, an offset, an on-duration period (a period in which the terminal needs to monitor the PDCCH), time information, and/or the like for MBS service reception… the terminal applies the DRX configuration information configured for the MBS service to periodically determine the interval for PDCCH monitoring based on the configuration information, and does not always perform PDCCH monitoring, thereby reducing power consumption);
‘or the reception configuration used to receive the MBS configuration from a broadcast control channel. (KIM – Paragraph [0136]: Configuration information for PDCCH monitoring for each bandwidth. For example, CORESET information, search space resource information, or a PDCCH transmission resource, a period, a subframe number information, and/or the like).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of KIM with ZHANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of KIM into ZHANG is that KIM provides the precise micro-timing sub-elements required to regulate background monitoring windows during Multicast Broadcast Services (MBS), and when a terminal is set up to interact with or receive an MBS channel configuration via an RRC signaling message path, the notification configuration profile natively contains power-saving timing parameters. Restricting the background active receiver time of an Inactive UE to highly predictable, periodic windows directly prevents the rapid battery drain that occurs when a device continuously loops blind-decoding tasks on the physical layer (See Paragraph [0158], KIM).
Regarding claims 5 and 38, ZHANG and KIM teach, The method of claim 4, ZHANG further teaches, ‘wherein the resource allocation information comprises at least one of:’ (Paragraph [0005]: receives an MRB configuration for a multicast service, establishes an MRB for reception of the multicast service in the RRC INACTIVE state based on the MRB configuration, and receives data transmission of the multicast service):
‘a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with the MBS;’ (Paragraph [0034]: the UE sends RRCResumeRequest to the target gNB 802, providing the inactive RNTI (I-RNTI), allocated by the last serving gNB and an appropriate cause value. In one embodiment, the cause value is specific to update multicast reception in RRC INACTIVE);
‘cell information of a cell transmitting the MBS;’ (Paragraph [0027]: Central unit 211 connects with distributed units 221, 222, and 221. Distributed units 221, 222, and 223 each corresponds to a cell 231, 232, and 233, respectively);
ZHANG does not explicitly teach but KIM teaches, ‘a group RNTI (G-RNTI) associated with the MBS;’ (KIM – Paragraph [0174]: this is because the MBS data may be distinguished in the physical layer device or the MAC layer device even without the MAC header when a first RNTI is allocated or determined for the MBS data… The first RNTI for the MBS data may be allocated or designated as a 1-1 RNTI for MBS control data (or an MBS control data channel) or a 1-2 RNTI for MBS user data ( or an MBS user data channel), respectively);
‘time domain and frequency domain information for the MBS;’ (KIM – Paragraph [0156]: the RRC message; Paragraph [0158]: may configure a function (a power saving mode) to reduce power consumption of the terminal, or may configure configuration information such as a Discontinuous
Reception (DRX) cycle, an offset, an on-duration period (a period in which the terminal needs to monitor the PDCCH), time information, and/or the like for MBS service reception);
‘or physical layer channel configuration of the MBS.’ (KIM – Paragraph [0136]: [The RRC message] Configuration information for PDCCH monitoring for each bandwidth. For example, CORESET
information, search space resource information, or a PDCCH transmission resource, a period, a subframe number information, and/or the like).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of KIM with ZHANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of KIM into ZHANG is that KIM provides the precise micro-timing sub-elements required to regulate background monitoring windows during Multicast Broadcast Services (MBS), and when a terminal is set up to interact with or receive an MBS channel configuration via an RRC signaling message path, the notification configuration profile natively contains power-saving timing parameters. Restricting the background active receiver time of an Inactive UE to highly predictable, periodic windows directly prevents the rapid battery drain that occurs when a device continuously loops blind-decoding tasks on the physical layer (See Paragraph [0158], KIM).
Regarding claims 6 and 39, ZHANG and KIM teach, The method of claim 4, ZHANG further teaches, ‘wherein the MBS configuration update notification comprises at least one of:’ (Paragraph [0005]: In one embodiment, the UE receives a notification for the multicast session starting in the RRC INACTIVE state and establishes the MRB based on the stored MRB configuration):
‘a notification that the MBS is about to start;… a notification that the MBS is about to resume;’ (Paragraph [0028]: At step 289, the UE receives a notification in the RRC INACTIVE state for the start/activation of the multicast session. In one embodiment, the notification is a group paging notification);
ZHANG does not explicitly teach but KIM teaches, ‘a notification that the MBS configuration is about to be modified;… a notification that a Point to Multipoint (PTM) configuration, or a Point to Point (PTP) configuration is about to be modified;’ (KIM – Paragraph [0201]: to facilitate base station implementation, the window variables may initialized to each initialization value (reference values or initial values) for the variables included in the indication information (an RRC message, system information, MAC control information, or PDCP control data) indicated by the base station; Paragraph [0758]: A terminal identifier, an MBS service identifier, MBS service-related configuration information change indicator, or system information change indicator… is included in… ( e.g., a short message) in a PDCCH and transmitted so that the terminal receiving the PDCCH may identify that MBS service-related configuration information, MBS service control information, or system information has been changed);
‘a notification that the MBS is about to stop; a notification that the MBS is about to suspend;’ (KIM – Paragraph [0477]: Indicator that the terminal receiving the MBS service no longer desires service reception for the MBS service, an indicator for stopping the MBS service reception, an indicator for continuing performing the MBS service reception);
‘or a notification that a transmission mode switching between PTP and PTM is required.’ (KIM – Paragraph [0239]: preference between a multicast bearer and a unicast bearer, or whether bearer change is preferred (whether it wants to receive the MBS service via the multicast bearer or whether it wants to receive the IBS service via the unicast bearer); Paragraph [0198]: For example, the base station may indicate the switching or changing procedure of the MBS service type for an MBS bearer configured for a terminal for which the fourth bearer structure is configured or which receives the MBS service based on at least one of an RRC message, an MBS control message, MAC control information, PDCP control data, or RLC control data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of KIM with ZHANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of KIM into ZHANG is that KIM provides the precise micro-timing sub-elements required to regulate background monitoring windows during Multicast Broadcast Services (MBS), and when a terminal is set up to interact with or receive an MBS channel configuration via an RRC signaling message path, the notification configuration profile natively contains power-saving timing parameters. Restricting the background active receiver time of an Inactive UE to highly predictable, periodic windows directly prevents the rapid battery drain that occurs when a device continuously loops blind-decoding tasks on the physical layer (See Paragraph [0158], KIM).
Regarding claims 7 and 40, ZHANG and KIM teach, The method of claim 6, ZHANG does not explicitly teach but KIM teaches, ‘wherein after receiving the MBS configuration update notification from the first network element, the method further comprises sending a confirmation message to the first network element.’ (KIM – Paragraph [0492]: Upon receiving the control information from the base station 1202b, the terminal 1201b may transmit feedback corresponding to the control information to the base station 1202b as feedback information or indication information; Paragraphs [0479]-[0480]: the feedback information… Indicator ( e.g., HARQ ACK or NACK feedback)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of KIM with ZHANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of KIM into ZHANG is that KIM provides the precise micro-timing sub-elements required to regulate background monitoring windows during Multicast Broadcast Services (MBS), and when a terminal is set up to interact with or receive an MBS channel configuration via an RRC signaling message path, the notification configuration profile natively contains power-saving timing parameters. Restricting the background active receiver time of an Inactive UE to highly predictable, periodic windows directly prevents the rapid battery drain that occurs when a device continuously loops blind-decoding tasks on the physical layer (See Paragraph [0158], KIM).
Regarding claims 8 and 41, ZHANG and KIM teach, The method of claim 6, ZHANG does not explicitly teach but KIM teaches, ‘wherein receiving the MBS configuration update notification sent from the first network element comprises receiving the MBS configuration update notification via a physical layer notification.’ (KIM – Paragraph [0758]: A terminal identifier, an MBS service identifier, MBS service-related configuration information change indicator, system information change indicator… is included in a message ( e.g., a short message) in a PDCCH and transmitted so that the terminal receiving the PDCCH may identify that MBS service-related configuration Information… has been changed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of KIM with ZHANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of KIM into ZHANG is that KIM provides the precise micro-timing sub-elements required to regulate background monitoring windows during Multicast Broadcast Services (MBS), and when a terminal is set up to interact with or receive an MBS channel configuration via an RRC signaling message path, the notification configuration profile natively contains power-saving timing parameters. Restricting the background active receiver time of an Inactive UE to highly predictable, periodic windows directly prevents the rapid battery drain that occurs when a device continuously loops blind-decoding tasks on the physical layer (See Paragraph [0158], KIM).
Regarding claims 9 and 42, ZHANG and KIM teach, The method of claim 8, ZHANG does not explicitly teach but KIM teaches, ‘wherein the physical layer notification comprises a Downlink Control Information (DCI)’ (KIM - Paragraph [0158]: Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle, an offset, an on-duration period (a period in which the terminal needs to monitor the PDCCH); Paragraph [0758]: A terminal identifier, an MBS service identifier, MBS service-related configuration information change indicator… is included in a message ( e.g., a short message) in a PDCCH and transmitted [Note: In 5G NR, any message or configuration indicator transmitted within the Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) is structurally defined as being carried via a Downlink Control Information (DCI) format payload])
‘associated with an identifier, the identifier comprising at least one of the MBS ID, a MBS group including the MBS, or the MBS index.’ (KIM – Paragraph [0758]: A terminal identifier, an MBS service identifier, MBS service-related configuration information change indicator, system information change indicator… is included in a message… in a PDCCH and transmitted so that the terminal receiving the PDCCH may identify that MBS service-related configuration Information… has been changed [Note: PDCCH physical layer notification contains an “MBS service identifier” corresponds to identifier comprising at least one of the MBS ID, an MBS group, or an MBS index]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of KIM with ZHANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of KIM into ZHANG is that KIM provides the precise micro-timing sub-elements required to regulate background monitoring windows during Multicast Broadcast Services (MBS), and when a terminal is set up to interact with or receive an MBS channel configuration via an RRC signaling message path, the notification configuration profile natively contains power-saving timing parameters. Restricting the background active receiver time of an Inactive UE to highly predictable, periodic windows directly prevents the rapid battery drain that occurs when a device continuously loops blind-decoding tasks on the physical layer (See Paragraph [0158], KIM).
Regarding claim 34, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1. The claim is mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the perspectives by a network infrastructure provider, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
ZHANG teaches, ‘A method for transmitting multicast broadcast service (MBS) by a first network element in a wireless network, comprising:’ (Paragraph [0023]: control module 155 is configured to receive a joining request for a multicast service from a UE in a wireless network, transmit a multicast radio bearer (MRB) configuration/PTM configuration to the UE for the multicast service preparing for a multicast reception in a UE RRC INACTIVE state for the UE, transmit the multicast to the UE in the RRC INACTIVE state):
Regarding claim 64, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1. The claim is mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding apparatus, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
ZHANG teaches, ‘A device comprising a memory for storing computer instructions and a processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the processor executes the computer instructions, the processor is configured to cause the device to:’ (Paragraph [0025]: UE 111 also includes a set of control modules that carry out functional tasks. These control modules can be implemented by circuits, software, firmware, or a combination of them. An RRC State controller 171 controls UE's RRC state according to network's command and UE conditions):
Regarding claim 65, ZHANG teaches, ‘A device comprising a memory for storing computer instructions and a processor in communication with the memory, wherein the processor, when executing the computer instructions, is configured to implement a method of claim 34.’ (Paragraph [0023]: FIG. 1 further illustrates simplified block diagrams of a base station and a mobile device/UE for data/control transmissions… Processor 152 processes the received baseband signals and invokes different functional modules to perform features in gNB 102. Memory 151 stores program instructions and data 154 to control the operations of gNB 102. gNB 102 also includes a set of control modules 155 that carry out functional tasks to communicate with mobile stations).
Claims 10 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG in view of KIM in view of Fujishiro (US 2023/0261970 A1), hereinafter “FUJISHIRO”.
Regarding claims 10 and 43, ZHANG and KIM teach, The method of claim 6, ZHANG further teaches, ‘wherein receiving the MBS configuration update notification sent from the first network element comprises receiving the MBS configuration update notification’ (Paragraph [0005]: In one embodiment, the UE receives a notification for the multicast session starting in the RRC INACTIVE state)
ZHANG and KIM do not explicitly teach but FUJISHIRO teaches, ‘via a Medium Access Control layer Control Element (MAC CE), wherein the MAC CE is associated with a predefined logical channel ID.’ (FUJISHIRO – Paragraph [0105]: FIG. 11 is a diagram illustrating an example of a MAC CE (one octet) storing an indication value for each bearer identifier (or logical channel identifier) according to an embodiment. As illustrated in FIG. 11, in the MAC CE, M1 to M8 correspond to bearers #1 to #8 (or logical channels #1 to #8); Paragraphs [0088]-[0089]: Here, the MAC entity of the gNB 200 may transmit a MAC control element (MAC CE) including the indication to the UE 100… MAC CE or DCI may include an identifier… associated with the MBS session (split MBS bearer) to be indicated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FUJISHIRO with ZHANG and KIM because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FUJISHIRO into ZHANG and KIM is that FUJISHIRO provides utilizing a Medium Access Control layer Control Element (MAC CE) tied to specific logical channel identities to carry and route dynamic MBS session update indicators, and establishes how this control element delivers dynamic session modification indicators directly over the air interface. Delivering a configuration update notification or dynamic state indicator inside a MAC CE allows the base station to flexibly multiplex the control warning directly alongside active user-plane down-link data within a single, shared physical transport block. This eliminates the need to schedule separate, high-overhead RRC connection tracking blocks (See Paragraph [0088], [0105], FUJISHIRO).
Conclusion
/HAESHIL JESSICA CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479
/JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479