DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-8 and 11, 15, 17-19 and 20-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,410,765 in view of Terumoto US 2012/0150047. Claim 1 of ‘765 discloses all the features of the current claim 1 and 14 except the multi-function watch. The multi-function watch is only really defined by having a visual display device. Terumoto discloses a similar wrist mounted physiological monitoring device that can display watch information and has multiple functions ([¶109]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of ‘765 with the teachings of Terumoto in order to display more useful information to the user.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,410,765 in view of Terumoto US 2012/0150047 and Al-Ali et al. US 2013025334. The multi-function watch is only really defined by having a visual display device. Terumoto discloses a similar wrist mounted physiological monitoring device that can display watch information and has multiple functions ([¶109]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of ‘765 with the teachings of Terumoto in order to display more useful information to the user. The combination does not specifically disclose a processor in the modular unit. Al-Ali teaches a similar monitoring system that has a battery in its modular battery unit ([¶139]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of ‘765 with the teachings of Al-Ali in order to improve the quality of the signal transferred to the based unit ([¶139]). See the following table to claim concordance.
Current Application
11,410,765
1
1 in view of Terumoto
2
2
3
3
4
4
5
5
6
6
7
7
8
8
9
1 in view of Terumoto and Al-Ali
10
11
11
15
12
23
13
17
14
1, 2 or 18 in view of Terumoto
15
19
16
20. claim recites PPG data which is inclusive of heart rate data.
17
21
18
22
19
17
20
8
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terumoto 2012/0150047 in view of Defant et al. 2007/0046258 and Al-Ali et al. US 2013/0253334.
Regarding claim 1, 2 and 14, Terumoto discloses a wearable physiological measurement system, comprising:
a wearable strap configured to be couplable to an appendage of a user, the wearable strap comprising ([FIG. 3, 7] device 1):
a bracelet ([FIG. 3, 7] housing 50 is a bracelet/band);
a head portion of the bracelet ([FIG3,4] head portion 61), the head portion including;
a screen on the bracelet for displaying physiological data ([¶109] display portion 62);
a physiological sensor including one or more light emitters for emitting light toward a skin of the user ([¶35,46,101] one or more emitters can be used in the sensor) and one or more light detectors for receiving reflected light from the skin of the user ([¶35,46,101][FIG. 16] multiple detectors or receivers can be used with the emitters);
an electronic circuit board including a processor configured by instructions stored in a memory ([¶26] processing unit) to analyze data corresponding to the reflected light for automatically and continually determining a heart rate of the user ([¶121,195] the processor determines heart rate) wherein the physiological sensor is position on the electronic circuit board proximal to the skin of the user when the bracelet is placed for use on the user ([FIG4]); and
a first set of one or more batteries for supplying electrical power to the one or more light emitters, the one or more light detectors, and the electronic circuit board ([¶122,123] power source 20 can have a battery); and
Terumoto does not specifically disclose a modular housing comprising a second battery. Defant teaches a similar wearable device that has a modular housing removably couplable to the head portion of the wearable strap, the modular housing comprising a second set of one or more batteries chargeable by an external power source ([FIG. 2, 5, 7][¶26-28] battery pack 30 is a modular housing containing a battery cell charged by AC power), and the modular housing comprising the second set of one or more batteries configured to recharge the first set of one or more batteries in the wearable strap ([FIG. 5, 7][¶27,30-31] the detachable battery 30 charges the internal battery 112) and wherein the first and second set of one or more batteries are configured to cooperatively facilitate continuous monitoring of the heart rate of the user by the wearable strap by recording data from the user under power of the first set of one or more batteries when the modular housing is removed from the wearable strap for recharging of the second set of one or more batteries, and recharging the first set of one or more batteries from the second set of one or more batteries while the wearable strap continues to determine the heart rate of the user when the modular housing is coupled to the wearable strap, wherein the modular housing provides a recharging power source including the second set of one or more batteries for recharging the first set of one or more batteries while the physiological sensor of the head portion continuously monitors the user ([¶27-31] the second battery provides power to charge the main battery for continued operation. ¶31 shows the device operates as normal without the secondary battery attached). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of Terumoto with the teachings of Defant in order to allow the device to charge with connecting the main housing to an outlet ([¶22]).
Terumoto as modified does not disclose the modular housing covers a display device of the bracelet when removably coupled thereto, and wherein the modular housing provides a multi-function watch including a visual display device. Al-Ali teaches a similar body worn device that has a screen on the battery module that is attached directly to the housing on the band ([FIG. 12, 16][¶166-168,178] the battery modules have screens for displaying the measured physiological parameters and other information making them multi-functional). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing combine the device of Terumoto with the teachings of Al-Ali in order to allow for touch controls ([¶166-169,178]).
Regarding claim 3, Terumoto discloses the first set of one or more batteries is structurally configured to power the one or more light emitters, the one or more light detectors, and the electronic circuit board during at least one sleep interval of the user ([¶102,201,220] the battery can run the monitoring all day and monitor sleep).
Regarding claim 4, Terumoto discloses the first set of one or more batteries is structurally configured to power the one or more light emitters, the one or more light detectors, and the electronic circuit board for at least one day ([¶201] the battery can run the monitoring all day).
Regarding claim 5, Defant teaches a combination of the first set of one or more batteries and the second set of one or more batteries is configured to enable continuous monitoring of the heart rate of the user by the head portion ([¶27,30] the second battery charges the first to maintain operation).
Regarding claim 6, Terumoto discloses the electronic circuit board includes a storage device for storing data corresponding to the light reflected from the wrist of the user ([¶129] memory 32).
Regarding claim 7, Terumoto discloses the electronic circuit board includes a wireless transmitter for transmitting data corresponding to the light reflected from the wrist of the user to an external computational device ([¶129,130] communication circuit 33 transmits the collected data).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Defant teaches the modular housing includes a global positioning system (GPS) sensor ([¶30]).
Regarding claim 9, Al-Ali teaches the modular housing includes a processor ([¶139] the battery or the wireless monitor unit can have a processor).
Regarding claim 10, Defant teaches a press-fit mechanism configured to removably couple the modular housing to the wearable strap ([¶23] detent 56 engages with hole 36 resulting in a press-fit).
Regarding claim 11, Terumoto discloses the head portion with a display ([¶142,143] bracelet can have a display or not). Defant teaches the secondary battery housing covering or attaching to the face of the worn device, either of which having indicator LEDs ([FIG2][¶32]) and Al-Ali teaches the battery housing having a display itself ([FIG. 12, 16][¶166-168,178] the battery modules have screens for displaying the measured physiological parameters).
Regarding claims 12 and 19, Al-Ali teaches the visual display device of the modular housing includes a user interface for the wearable physiological measurement system ([¶167] screen on the modular housing is a touch screen to allow interaction).
Regarding claim 13, Terumoto discloses the visual display device of the modular housing includes a user interface configured to display an indication of the heart rate of the user ([¶121,195] the processor determines heart rate).
Regarding claim 15, Terumoto discloses the electronic system is configured to acquire physiological data from the user ([¶121,195] the processor determines heart rate).
Regarding claim 16, Terumoto discloses the electronic system is configured to acquire heart rate data from the user ([¶121,195] the processor determines heart rate).
Regarding claim 17, Defant teaches the processor is configured to be powered by the first battery to continue collecting and processing data from the user while the modular housing is removed ([FIG. 7][¶27,30] the second battery charges the first to maintain operation).
Regarding claim 18, Defant teaches the modular housing couples to the head portion on a surface away from the wrist of the user to permit continued contact of the one or more sensors with the wrist of the user when the modular housing is coupled to the head portion ([FIG. 2] the battery housing couples on the outside).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/6/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument the 103 rejection, specifically that the combination of references do not disclose “the modular housing provides a combination of a multi-function watch including a visual display device and a recharging power source for the first set of one or more batteries for supplying electrical power to components of the bracelet while continuously monitoring the user,” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Terumoto disclose the wrist worn physiological monitor with sensors and a display but not a separate modular housing with a second set of batteries. Defant teaches an ankle worn monitor with a removable secondary battery module and shows in ¶31 that the wearable device still functions normally when the secondary battery is not attached for recharging the primary battery of the ankle device. Thus in combination with Terumoto the device would continue sensing the pulse signals and the modular housing includes the recharging power source.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that the combination of references do not teach a multi-function display, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Terumoto discloses a monitoring device that has a multifunction display and is worn on the wrist like a watch ([¶109]). Terumoto does not disclose the modular housing with additional batteries and a display of its own. Defant is relied on for the second battery module Al-Ali teaches a similar physiological monitoring device that has a display on its removable modular housing where the screen can show multiple parameters or configurations of information so it is considered multi-function ([¶166-170]).
Regarding Applicant’s argument that the Al-Ali is not analogous art, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Like Terumoto, Al-Ali is directed to a limb worn health monitoring device that allows for freedom of movement ([¶52,59]). Applicant argues that Al-Ali does not teach a wrist worn device that has integrated sensors but Al-Ali is not relied on to teach this aspect and not having this particular configuration does not make it non-analogous to Terumoto. Terumoto discloses the multi-function wristwatch like monitoring device with integrated sensors. Al-Ali is relied on to teach a display on the modular housing that holds the second set of batteries.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL A CATINA/Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /TSE CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791