DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action is response to communications received on 04/21/2023. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and addressed below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 & 13-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,314,726. The elements of the instant application are to be found in the Patent and therefore are anticipated. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent and the instant application all recite the same basic structure with a permutation of similar elements throughout.
Regarding Claim 1, patent claim 1 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claims 2, 4 & 20, patent claim 4 recite the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 3, patent claim 3 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 5, patent claim 5 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 6-12, patent claims 6-8 recite the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 13, patent claim 9 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 14, patent claim 13 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 15, patent claim 14 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 16, patent claim 15 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 17, patent claim 16 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 18, patent claim 17 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 19, patent claim 18 recites the same limitations.
Claims 1, 3, 5 & 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, 8 & 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,660,215. The elements of the instant application are to be found in the Patent and therefore are anticipated. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent and the instant application all recite the same basic structure with a permutation of similar elements throughout.
Regarding Claim 1, patent claim 1 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 3, patent claims 2 & 6 recite the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 5, patent claim 8 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 13, patent claim 12 recites the same limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-10, 12, 18 & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jantzen et al. (US 8,764,813). Please refer to the annotated figure below in consideration of rejection of claims 1, 3, 5-10 & 12:
Regarding Claim 1, Jantzen teaches a medical stent (Fig 3b) comprising: a tubular support structure (outlined in red) including a plurality of struts (shown), the plurality of struts defining a plurality of cells disposed between the plurality of struts; and a polymeric (Col 8: lines 15-38) coating (140, 240) disposed over the tubular support structure defining a plurality of closed cells (shown) that are completely covered by the polymeric coating, and a plurality of open cells (shown) that are open to allow fluid flow or tissue ingrowth therethrough; wherein the polymeric coating extends over and laterally beyond each of the plurality of struts and partially into each of the plurality of open cells (Fig 3b).
Regarding Claims 3 & 5, only the product will be examined. (Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)); see MPEP 2113). To the extent that the process steps further define the structure of the device, they have been considered. In the instant case, none of the process steps recited in claim 3 further define or add any structural limitations to the component.
Regarding Claim 6, Jantzen teaches wherein the plurality of closed cells are located in at least a first region of the tubular support structure, and the plurality of open cells are located in at least a second region of the tubular support structure.
Regarding Claim 7, Jantzen teaches wherein the plurality of closed cells are located in at least first (shown) and second (shown) regions of the tubular support structure, and the plurality of open cells are located in at least third (shown) and fourth (shown) regions of the tubular support structure, wherein the third region is disposed between the first and second regions (as shown).
Regarding Claim 8, Jantzen teaches wherein the fourth region is adjacent the second region (as shown).
Regarding Claim 9, Jantzen teaches wherein the stent further comprises a fifth region of closed cells disposed adjacent the fourth region (as shown).
Regarding Claim 10, Jantzen teaches wherein the tubular support structure is a woven, braided or knitted structure (Col 5: lines 46-48).
Regarding Claim 12, Jantzen teaches wherein each of the plurality of closed cells is adjacent to at least one of the plurality of open cells (Fig 3b).
Please refer to the figure below in consideration of the rejection of claims 18 & 19:
Regarding Claim 18, Jantzen teaches a medical stent (Fig 3b) comprising: a tubular support structure including a plurality of struts (shown), the plurality of struts defining a plurality of cells (shown) disposed between the plurality of struts, each of the cells extending from an outer surface of the tubular support structure to an inner surface of the tubular support structure; and a polymeric (Col 8: lines 15-38) coating (140, 240) coated onto the plurality of struts of the tubular support structure such that some of the plurality of cells are closed (shown) by the polymeric coating and some of the plurality of cells remain open (shown) to fluid flow or tissue ingrowth therethrough; wherein at least some of the plurality of struts coated with the polymeric coating extend between adjacent open cells (as shown).
Regarding Claim 19, Jantzen teaches wherein the polymeric coating extends laterally beyond (as shown) the plurality of struts coated with the polymeric coating and partially into the open cells.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jantzen et al. (US 8,764,813) in view of Ryan (US 2011/0319980).
Regarding Claim 13, as set forth supra, Jantzen discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Further, Jantzen teaches wherein the polymeric coating material (140, 240) may be made from any biodegradable or non-biodegradable polymer material (Col 8: lines 9-11). However, Jantzen does not specifically disclose wherein the polymeric coating comprises polyurethane or silicone.
Ryan teaches a stent with a framework defining both covered and uncovered stent cells (Fig 1) in the same field of endeavor to impart the desired stent performance [0021]. Said covering material comprising at least silicone or polyurethane [0027].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the polymeric coating, as taught by Jantzen, from either polyurethane or silicone, as taught by Ryan, in order to effectively mask the desired cells while providing the desired stent performance. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
/BRIAN A DUKERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774