Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “sliding element” (claim 1); “fixing element” (claims 1, 2 and 5); “connection portion” (claim 2); “sliding element connection portion” (claim 2); “one-touch fixing connection element” (claim 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Conston et al. (US 2006/0149194).
Regarding claim 1, Conston et al. disclose a hollow shaft assembly (1; Figure 1) capable of use with an implantation device having a housing comprising: a hollow shaft (1) having a distal end and a proximal end and being configured to be mounted over the distal end of a fixed shaft (4; e.g. the shaft is fixed to member 5) and to be connected to a sliding element at its proximal end (a sliding element of some design could be connected to member 1 or 2; the sliding element being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as being a structure capable of sliding over a fixed shaft in order to guide movement of a hollow shaft connected thereto), the hollow shaft being configured to retain an implant within a portion thereof at its distal end (¶[0033], [0043]), the hollow shaft being configured to be retracted over the fixed shaft by movement of the sliding element from its first to second positions to release the implant from within distal end of the hollow shaft (a sliding element and housing of some design could be made to retract the hollow shaft over the fixed shaft as claimed); an implant positioned in the distal end of the hollow shaft (¶[0033], [0044]); and a fixing element (2; interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as any structure capable of fixing a fixed shaft to a housing) to which the hollow shaft is connected, wherein the fixing element is configured for insertion into the housing over the fixed shaft and for engagement with a sliding element within the housing (a housing and sliding element could be designed to allow for the claimed insertion).
Regarding claim 2, the fixing element comprises a connection portion (any of the cylindrical portions of 2, distal to the proximal end, can be regarded as an indented fixing portion as claimed) configured to engage with a sliding element connection portion.
Regarding claim 3, the connection portion of the fixing element comprises an indent providing at least two engagement surfaces, and, the sliding element connection portion comprises at least two end portions configured to be pushed apart by the insertion of the fixing element, the at least two end portions being configured to provide engagement surfaces which engage with the engagement surfaces of the fixing element (any of the cylindrical portions of 2, distal to the proximal end, can be regarded as an indented fixing portion having engagement surfaces capable of mating with an appropriately designed sliding element as claimed).
Regarding claim 4, the fixing element comprises a body portion having a surface thereof configured to indicate a correct orientation for insertion of the fixing element into the housing (any surface of 2 can be regarded as the body portion and its relative alignment with a suitably constructed housing can be used to indicate a correct orientation for insertion as claimed).
Regarding claim 5, the fixing element comprises a one-touch fixing connection element (e.g. the proximal end flange can be connected within a suitably designed sliding element for one-touch insertion to serve as the connection element as claimed).
Regarding claim 7, the hollow shaft comprises a biocompatible metal material (¶[0025]).
Regarding claim 9, the distal end of the hollow shaft is configured to be flexible to match the curvature of ocular tissues of the eye where the implant is to be implanted (¶[0021]).
Regarding claim 10, the hollow shaft comprises at least one marker indicating an insertion depth for the posterior space with respect to an anterior chamber of the eye (¶[0023]).
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hickingbotham et al. (US 2013/0178822).
Regarding claim 1, Hickingbotham et al. disclose a hollow shaft assembly (6/8; Figure 4) for use with an implantation device having a housing (4) comprising: a hollow shaft (6/8) having a distal end and a proximal end and being configured to be mounted over the distal end of a fixed shaft (1) and to be connected to a sliding element (11) at its proximal end, the hollow shaft being configured to retain an implant (103) within a portion thereof at its distal end Figure 12), the hollow shaft being configured to be retracted over the fixed shaft by movement of the sliding element from its first to second positions to release the implant from within distal end of the hollow shaft (¶[0239]); an implant (103) positioned in the distal end of the hollow shaft); and a fixing element (12) to which the hollow shaft is connected, wherein the fixing element is configured for insertion into the housing over the fixed shaft and for engagement with a sliding element within the housing (e.g. if 24 is removed).
Regarding claim 2, the fixing element comprises a connection portion configured to engage with a sliding element connection portion (13).
Regarding claim 3, the connection portion of the fixing element comprises an indent providing at least two engagement surfaces, and, the sliding element connection portion comprises at least two end portions configured to be pushed apart by the insertion of the fixing element, the at least two end portions being configured to provide engagement surfaces which engage with the engagement surfaces of the fixing element (any of the cylindrical portions of 2, distal to the proximal end, can be regarded as an indented fixing portion having engagement surfaces capable of mating with an appropriately designed sliding element as claimed).
Regarding claim 4, the fixing element comprises a body portion having a surface thereof configured to indicate a correct orientation for insertion of the fixing element into the housing (the fixing element is asymmetrically shaped and can therefore indicate a correct orientation as claimed).
Regarding claim 5, the fixing element comprises a one-touch fixing connection element (a single touch can be part of the procedure of connecting the fixing connection element - screw hole).
Regarding claim 6, the hollow shaft comprises a substantially transparent plastics material, the substantially transparent plastics material comprising one of: a thermosetting plastics material and a thermoplastics material (¶[0034],[0095],[0234],[0267]).
Regarding claim 7, the hollow shaft comprises a biocompatible metal material (¶[0097]).
Regarding claim 8, the hollow shaft comprises a beveled tip (tip 91, Figure 19b, forms a bevel or angle with the remainer of the shaft).
Regarding claim 9, the distal end of the hollow shaft is configured to be flexible to match the curvature of ocular tissues of the eye where the implant is to be implanted (¶[0070], [0072]).
Regarding claim 10, the hollow shaft comprises at least one marker indicating an insertion depth for the posterior space with respect to an anterior chamber of the eye (member 33, Figure 6, can be regarded as a marking as claimed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conston et al. (US 2006/0149194) in view of Silvestrini (US 2012/0310137).
Regarding claim 11, Conston et al. disclose that the implant is an intraocular implant for providing a drainage pathway between the anterior chamber of the eye to a posterior part of the eye (Abstract, ¶[0033], [0032], [0043]) but fail to disclose that the implant comprises a biocompatible polymer scaffold that defines an array of interconnected pores having similar diameters wherein the implant has a substantially cylindrical shape with an elliptical cross-section.
Silvestrini discloses an intraocular implant (100, 500) for providing a drainage pathway between the anterior chamber of the eye to a posterior part of the eye (¶[0041]) comprising a biocompatible polymer scaffold that defines an array of interconnected pores (¶[0060]) having similar diameters (claim 5) wherein the implant has a substantially cylindrical shape with an elliptical cross-section (¶[0042]). The implant promotes tissue ingrowth, prevents scarring and prevents unwanted migration (¶[0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adapted the implant of Silvestrini to serve as the implant of Conston et al. in order to promote tissue ingrowth, prevents scarring and prevent unwanted migration.
Regarding claim 12, Silvestrini discloses that the mean diameter of the pores is 20-60 μm but fails to specifically disclose that the mean diameter of the pores is in a range between 25 μm and 36 μm.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the implant such that the mean diameter of the pores is between 25 μm and 36 μm since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Silvestrini discloses that the implant has a length between 3 mm and 9 mm (¶[0100]) but fails to disclose that it has a thickness between 0.3 mm and 1 mm and a width between 0.5 mm and 2 mm. However, Silvestrini discloses that the implant may be rectangular or oval (¶[0042]) and can have a cross-sectional area within 0.1 mm2 to 3.0 mm2 (¶[0100]; the cross-sectional areas produced by the dimensions claims 13 and 14 being within this range). It is well-known in the art that the size of biomedical implants is a result effective variable, where changing the dimensions results in an implant that fits patients with differing anatomies with the least amount of disruption or discomfort. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the implant of Silvestrini (as applied to Conston et al.) by making the length 5mm and the width and thickness within the claimed range as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, Applicant has placed no criticality on these claimed values/ranges, simply stating that the implant “may” utilize the claimed ranges for the dimensions and that a “preferred embodiment” has the specific recited dimensions (Specification, ¶[0110]).
Regarding claim 15, a marker or markers are located in a proximity of a proximal end of the implant (¶[0072], [0116] of Silvestrini).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 3rd 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has argued that the fixing element (2) of Conston et al. is intended to receive tubing and therefore oppositely configured for insertion into a housing. It is not understood how this intended function of the fixing element would prevent its insertion into a housing over a fixed shaft and prevent it from engaging a sliding element as claimed. Applicant has argued that the fixing element of Conston et al. is unsuitable for insertion into a housing because this would reduce the usable length of the cannula (1) for insertion into a Schlemm’s canal. The fixing element (2) of Conston et al. does not insert into a Schlemm’s canal and has an adequate length such that it could be entirely placed into a housing for sliding movement without reducing the insertable length of the hollow shaft (1). Applicant has argued that the hollow shaft of Hickingbotham et al. has a radial dimension too large (assuming that this is due to the presence of the fixing element 12) for removal of end the end cap (24). Complete removal of the end cap from the hollow shaft is not required for the fixing element to be inserted into the housing over the fixed shaft. Clearly this function could be accomplished with the end cap removed from the housing but still attached to the hollow shaft. For the above reasons the previous grounds of rejection are respectfully maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If there are any inquiries that are not being addressed by first contacting the Examiner or the Supervisor, you may send an email inquiry to TC3700_Workgroup_D_Inquiries@uspto.gov.
/THOMAS MCEVOY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771