DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The proposed reply amendments filed 02/16/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-8 and 10-21 are currently pending where claim 21 is newly added. Claim 9 has been cancelled from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 12-15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9909249 (Kim hereinafter) in view of CN 107762971 (Fang hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a laundry device that discloses a cabinet defining an interior volume for receiving one or more articles for washing or drying (Cabinet 1 in Figure 1 with drum 2 in Figures 1-3), the cabinet having a cabinet inlet and a cabinet outlet (Interior of drum 2); an airflow path defined between the cabinet inlet and the cabinet outlet (Airflow path from 27 to 29 per Column 3 Lines 12-24); a blower assembly configured for directing airflow through the cabinet and along the airflow path (Blower 57 in Figure 2), the blower assembly comprising a housing defining a housing inlet and a housing outlet (Figure 2 with housing 57 with inlet connected to 59 and outlet connected 55), a motor (Column 3 Lines 43-46), and a centrifugal impeller arranged within the housing and mechanically coupled to the motor for rotating the impeller in a circumferential direction (Evident form Figure 2 with the fan structure and inlet/outlet directions for the impeller of Column 3 Lines 43-46 to be a centrifugal impeller); and a heat exchanger arranged adjacent to the blower assembly along the airflow path (Heat exchanger 59 per Figure 2), wherein, during operation of the laundry appliance, the blower assembly directs the airflow through the cabinet outlet, across the heat exchanger, through the cabinet inlet, and back into the cabinet (Column 3 Lines 12-24).
Kim is silent with respect that the centrifugal impeller comprising a plurality of backwardly curved prismatic blades spaced apart along the circumferential direction and having an outlet blade angle of at least 100 degrees.
However, Fang teaches a centrifugal fan that discloses comprising a housing defining a housing inlet and a housing outlet (Figure 6 with housing 111/112 with inlet 1121 and outlet 1111 [in a similar orientation as Kim]), a motor (Mount 1123 per “the shell inlet flow opening 1121 set on a power base 1123, for bearing a power source (not shown), in this embodiment, the power source is a motor” of the accompanying translation), and a centrifugal impeller arranged within the housing and mechanically coupled to the motor for rotating the impeller in a circumferential direction (Impeller 12 per Figure 6), the centrifugal impeller comprising a plurality of backwardly curved prismatic blades spaced apart along the circumferential direction and having an outlet blade angle of at least 100 degrees (Figures 8 and 9, “Referring to FIG. 8 and FIG. 9, view and blade 122 of impeller 12 the parameter model diagram of the impeller 12 radially. the vane 122 is backward bent type blade arranged along the impeller rotation direction w is front and back impeller rotation direction w is close to the impeller shaft is in the far away from the impeller shaft is outside” and “outside seem, that is tangent with the round angle between radius of 1 end of blade 122 at starting end forming the blade inlet angle α1 of the flow passage 124, the inlet angle α1 of blade 122 to the starting end. outside seeming, included angle tangent of the impeller rotation direction w is tangent with the circle 2 over the end and blade 122 between the end forming the blade outlet angle α2 of inner flow channel 124, the outlet angle α2 is blade 122 end. to ensure the balance of flow and diffusion effect, in this embodiment, the inlet angle α1 and the size of the outlet angle α2 is set as: α1 = 60, α2 = 165 degrees to 175 degrees.” Of the accompanying translation of Fang).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the impeller of Kim with the teachings of Fang to ensure balance of the flow and diffusion effects per Fang.
Regarding claim 2, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where Kim further discloses that the blower assembly is located on top of the cabinet (Evident of Figure 2 of Kim).
Regarding claim 3, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 2 where Kim further discloses that the blower assembly and the heat exchanger are positioned on top of the cabinet (Evident of Figure 2 of Kim).
Regarding claim 4, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where Kim further discloses that the cabinet extends between a top portion and a bottom portion along a vertical direction and between a front portion and a rear portion along a transverse direction (Relative spacing as shown in Figures 1 and 2), the cabinet inlet being located proximate at least one of the front portion or the top portion (Figure 2 shows Kim’s inlet 29 is located at a front and top area), the cabinet outlet being located proximate at least one of the rear portion or the top portion (Figure 2 of Kim shows the outlet at the rear and top area).
Regarding claim 5, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where Kim further discloses that the blower assembly defines that the heat exchanger is disposed between the cabinet outlet of the cabinet and the housing inlet of the blower assembly (Evident form Figures 2-4B of Kim).
Regarding claim 12, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where Kim further discloses that the laundry appliance is a washer-dryer combination appliance (Kim Column 2 Lines 10-19).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches a laundry device that discloses a cabinet for receiving one or more articles for washing or drying (Cabinet 1 in Figure 1 with drum 2 in Figures 1-3), the airflow system comprising: a duct assembly defining an airflow path between an air inlet for receiving air from the cabinet and an air outlet for returning air into the cabinet (Ducting from 27 to 29 in Figure 2 of Kim per Column 3 Lines 12-24); a heat exchanger disposed between the air inlet and the air outlet (Heat exchanger 59 in Kim Figure 2); and a blower assembly for directing airflow along the airflow path (Blower 57 in Figure 2 of Kim), the blower assembly comprising a housing defining a housing inlet and a housing outlet (Figure 2 with housing 57 with inlet connected to 59 and outlet connected 55), a motor (Column 3 Lines 43-46), and a centrifugal impeller arranged within the housing and mechanically coupled to the motor for rotating the impeller in a circumferential direction (Evident form Figure 2 with the fan structure and inlet/outlet directions for the impeller of Column 3 Lines 43-46 to be a centrifugal impeller); wherein, during operation of the laundry appliance, the blower assembly directs the airflow through the air outlet, across the heat exchanger, through the air inlet, and back into the cabinet (Column 3 Lines 12-24 and 43-46 of Kim).
Kim is silent with respect that the centrifugal impeller comprising a plurality of backwardly curved prismatic blades spaced apart along the circumferential direction and having an outlet blade angle of at least 100 degrees.
However, Fang teaches a centrifugal fan that discloses comprising a housing defining a housing inlet and a housing outlet (Figure 6 with housing 111/112 with inlet 1121 and outlet 1111 [in a similar orientation as Kim]), a motor (Mount 1123 per “the shell inlet flow opening 1121 set on a power base 1123, for bearing a power source (not shown), in this embodiment, the power source is a motor” of the accompanying translation), and a centrifugal impeller arranged within the housing and mechanically coupled to the motor for rotating the impeller in a circumferential direction (Impeller 12 per Figure 6), the centrifugal impeller comprising a plurality of backwardly curved prismatic blades spaced apart along the circumferential direction and having an outlet blade angle of at least 100 degrees (Figures 8 and 9, “Referring to FIG. 8 and FIG. 9, view and blade 122 of impeller 12 the parameter model diagram of the impeller 12 radially. the vane 122 is backward bent type blade arranged along the impeller rotation direction w is front and back impeller rotation direction w is close to the impeller shaft is in the far away from the impeller shaft is outside” and “outside seem, that is tangent with the round angle between radius of 1 end of blade 122 at starting end forming the blade inlet angle α1 of the flow passage 124, the inlet angle α1 of blade 122 to the starting end. outside seeming, included angle tangent of the impeller rotation direction w is tangent with the circle 2 over the end and blade 122 between the end forming the blade outlet angle α2 of inner flow channel 124, the outlet angle α2 is blade 122 end. to ensure the balance of flow and diffusion effect, in this embodiment, the inlet angle α1 and the size of the outlet angle α2 is set as: α1 = 60, α2 = 165 degrees to 175 degrees.” Of the accompanying translation of Fang).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the impeller of Kim with the teachings of Fang to ensure balance of the flow and diffusion effects per Fang.
Regarding claim 14, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 13 where Kim further discloses that the blower assembly and the heat exchanger are positioned on top of the cabinet (Evident of Figure 2 of Kim).
Regarding claim 15, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 13 where Kim further discloses that the heat exchanger is disposed between the air outlet and the housing inlet of the blower assembly (Evident form Figures 2-4B of Kim).
Regarding claim 21, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 13 where Fang further discloses that the outlet blade angle is at least 140 degrees (“that is tangent with the round angle between radius of 1 end of blade 122 at starting end forming the blade inlet angle α1 of the flow passage 124, the inlet angle α1 of blade 122 to the starting end. outside seeming, included angle tangent of the impeller rotation direction w is tangent with the circle 2 over the end and blade 122 between the end forming the blade outlet angle α2 of inner flow channel 124, the outlet angle α2 is blade 122 end. to ensure the balance of flow and diffusion effect, in this embodiment, the inlet angle α1 and the size of the outlet angle α2 is set as: α1 = 60, α2 = 165 degrees to 175 degrees.” Of the accompanying translation of Fang).
Claims 6-8, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9909249 (Kim) in view of CN 107762971 (Fang) and further in view of
Regarding claim 6, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect that the housing of the blower assembly comprises a front wall spaced apart from a rear wall along an axial direction to define a volute within which the impeller is positioned, the front wall defining the housing inlet upstream of the impeller to permit air therethrough, the rear wall defining an annular receptacle for receiving the motor.
However, Jones teaches a centrifugal fan that discloses a housing of the blower assembly comprises a front wall spaced apart from a rear wall along the axial direction to define a volute within which the impeller is positioned (Figures 1-3 with front wall 24 and rear wall 26 showing a volute in Figures 2-3), the front wall defining the housing inlet upstream of the impeller to permit air therethrough (Inlet at 61 as seen in Figures 2 and 3) the rear wall defining an annular receptacle (Receptacle for motor 40 in Figures 2 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the centrifugal blower of Kim with the centrifugal blower of Hayamitsu via simple substitution to obtain the well-known and predictable result of providing airflow through the dryer.
Regarding claim 7, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 6 where the combination of Kim, Fang, and Hayamitsu would further disclose that the volute comprises a rectangular cross section (A portion of Fang’s volute 112 in Figure 6 is rectangular as is a portion of the volute of Hayamitsu is rectangular in cross-section as seen in Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 8, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 6 where the combination of Kim and Hayamitsu would further disclose that the rear wall of the housing has an exterior surface defining the annular receptacle (Rear surface of 22 in Figures 2 and 3), the annular receptacle having a receptacle depth extending in the axial direction and a receptacle diameter concentrically aligned with the impeller (Evident from Figures 2-3 of Hayamitsu), the motor being at least partially enclosed by the exterior surface of the rear wall when received by the annular receptacle (Evident from Figure 3 of Hayamitsu with motor 40).
Regarding claim 16, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 13 but are silent with respect that the housing of the blower assembly comprises a front wall spaced apart from a rear wall along an axial direction to define a volute within which the impeller is positioned, the front wall defining the housing inlet upstream of the impeller to permit air therethrough, the rear wall defining an annular receptacle for receiving the motor.
However, Jones teaches a centrifugal fan that discloses a housing of the blower assembly comprises a front wall spaced apart from a rear wall along the axial direction to define a volute within which the impeller is positioned (Figures 1-3 with front wall 24 and rear wall 26 showing a volute in Figures 2-3), the front wall defining the housing inlet upstream of the impeller to permit air therethrough (Inlet at 61 as seen in Figures 2 and 3) the rear wall defining an annular receptacle (Receptacle for motor 40 in Figures 2 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the centrifugal blower of Kim with the centrifugal blower of Hayamitsu via simple substitution to obtain the well-known and predictable result of providing airflow through the dryer.
Regarding claim 17, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 16 where the combination of Kim, Fang, and Hayamitsu would further disclose that the volute comprises a rectangular cross section (A portion of Fang’s volute 112 in Figure 6 is rectangular as is a portion of the volute of Hayamitsu is rectangular in cross-section as seen in Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 18, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 16 where the combination of Kim and Hayamitsu would further disclose that the rear wall of the housing has an exterior surface defining the annular receptacle (Rear surface of 22 in Figures 2 and 3), the annular receptacle having a receptacle depth extending in the axial direction and a receptacle diameter concentrically aligned with the impeller (Evident from Figures 2-3 of Hayamitsu), the motor being at least partially enclosed by the exterior surface of the rear wall when received by the annular receptacle (Evident from Figure 3 of Hayamitsu with motor 40).
Regarding claim 20, Kim teaches a laundry device that discloses a cabinet defining an interior volume for receiving one or more articles for washing or drying (Cabinet 1 in Figure 1 with drum 2 in Figures 1-3), the cabinet having a cabinet inlet and a cabinet outlet (Inlet 29 and outlet 27 of Figure 2); a laundry basket rotatably mounted within the cabinet, the laundry basket defining a chamber for receipt of articles for treatment (Drum 2); an airflow path defined between the cabinet inlet and the cabinet outlet (Figure 2 shows the ducting from 27 to 29 with Column 3 Lines 12-24); a blower assembly defining a radial direction, a circumferential direction, and an axial direction (Blower 57 as seen in Figures 2-4B), the blower assembly being configured for directing airflow through the cabinet and along the airflow path (Evident from Figures 2-4B), the blower assembly comprising: a housing defining a housing inlet and a housing outlet (Housing surrounding the impeller of 57 with the inlet connected to the heat exchanger side and the outside connected to inlet 29); a motor (Motor per Column 3 Lines 43-46); a centrifugal impeller being mechanically coupled to the motor for rotating the centrifugal impeller about an axis of rotation on the circumferential direction to urge an airflow from the cabinet outlet to the cabinet inlet along the airflow path (Centrifugal impeller per Column 3 Lines 43-46 inherently driven by the motor to create the air flow); and a heat exchanger configured to heat and remove moisture from the airflow passing therethrough (Heat exchanger 59); and a duct system comprising an intake duct and a return duct (Column 3 Lines 3-46), the duct system providing fluid communication between the cabinet outlet and the housing inlet via the intake duct and between the housing outlet and the cabinet inlet via the return duct (Evident form Figure 2 and Column 3 Lines 12-24), wherein the duct system, the blower assembly, and the chamber define the airflow path (Evident from Figure 2), and wherein, during operation of the laundry appliance, the blower assembly directs the airflow through the cabinet outlet, across the heat exchanger, through the cabinet inlet and back into the cabinet (Column 3 Lines 12-24 and 43-46 with Figure 2).
Kim is silent with respect that the centrifugal impeller comprising a plurality of backwardly curved prismatic blades spaced apart along the circumferential direction and having an outlet blade angle of at least 100 degrees.
However, Fang teaches a centrifugal fan that discloses comprising a housing defining a housing inlet and a housing outlet (Figure 6 with housing 111/112 with inlet 1121 and outlet 1111 [in a similar orientation as Kim]), a motor (Mount 1123 per “the shell inlet flow opening 1121 set on a power base 1123, for bearing a power source (not shown), in this embodiment, the power source is a motor” of the accompanying translation), and a centrifugal impeller arranged within the housing and mechanically coupled to the motor for rotating the impeller in a circumferential direction (Impeller 12 per Figure 6), the centrifugal impeller comprising a plurality of backwardly curved prismatic blades spaced apart along the circumferential direction and having an outlet blade angle of at least 100 degrees (Figures 8 and 9, “Referring to FIG. 8 and FIG. 9, view and blade 122 of impeller 12 the parameter model diagram of the impeller 12 radially. the vane 122 is backward bent type blade arranged along the impeller rotation direction w is front and back impeller rotation direction w is close to the impeller shaft is in the far away from the impeller shaft is outside” and “outside seem, that is tangent with the round angle between radius of 1 end of blade 122 at starting end forming the blade inlet angle α1 of the flow passage 124, the inlet angle α1 of blade 122 to the starting end. outside seeming, included angle tangent of the impeller rotation direction w is tangent with the circle 2 over the end and blade 122 between the end forming the blade outlet angle α2 of inner flow channel 124, the outlet angle α2 is blade 122 end. to ensure the balance of flow and diffusion effect, in this embodiment, the inlet angle α1 and the size of the outlet angle α2 is set as: α1 = 60, α2 = 165 degrees to 175 degrees.” Of the accompanying translation of Fang).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the impeller of Kim with the teachings of Fang to ensure balance of the flow and diffusion effects per Fang.
Kim is silent with respect to the housing comprising a front wall spaced apart from a rear wall along the axial direction to define a rectangular volute, the rear wall defining an annular receptacle; the motor positioned within the annular receptacle; the impeller being positioned within the rectangular volute. Fang does show in Figure 6 a rectangular volute 112.
However, Hayamitsu teaches a centrifugal fan that discloses a housing comprising a front wall spaced apart from a rear wall along the axial direction to define a rectangular volute (Figures 1-3 with front wall 21 and rear wall 22 showing a generally rectangular volute in Figure 3), the rear wall defining an annular receptacle (Receptacle for motor 40); the motor positioned within the annular receptacle (Figure 3); the impeller being positioned within the rectangular volute (Figure 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the centrifugal blower of Kim with the centrifugal blower of Hayamitsu via simple substitution to obtain the well-known and predictable result of providing airflow through the dryer.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9909249 (Kim) in view of CN 107762971 (Fang) and further in view of US 2012/0102781 (Beers hereinafter).
Regarding claim 10, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect that the blower assembly provides a drying air flow rate of at least about 200 cubic feet per minute (cfm).
However, Beers teaches a centrifugal fan that discloses a the blower assembly provides a drying air flow rate of at least about 200 cubic feet per minute (cfm) (¶ 91).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the operation of the fan of Kim with the operational range of Beers to create a strong airflow within the laundry device to facility drying and replacing the air within the drum.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9909249 (Kim) in view of CN 107762971 (Fang) and further in view of DE 102007022097 (Holzer hereinafter).
Regarding claim 11, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect that the blower assembly provides a pressure difference of at least about 600 Pa.
However, Holzer teaches a centrifugal fan that discloses forming a pressure differential of at least above 600 Pa is possible with a centrifugal fan (Paragraph between pages 3 and 4 of the provided translation being “Preferably, with the fan…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the operation of the fan of Kim with the operational range of Holzer to create pressure differential within the laundry device to facility drying and replacing the air within the drum.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9909249 (Kim) in view of CN 107762971 (Fang) in view of US 2016/0290358 (Hayamitsu) in view of US 2012/0102781 (Beers) and further in view of DE 102007022097 (Holzer).
Regarding claim 19, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 18 but are silent with respect that the blower assembly provides a drying air flow rate of at least about 200 cubic feet per minute (cfm).
However, Beers teaches a centrifugal fan that discloses a the blower assembly provides a drying air flow rate of at least about 200 cubic feet per minute (cfm) (¶ 91).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the operation of the fan of Kim with the operational range of Beers to create a strong airflow within the laundry device to facility drying and replacing the air within the drum.
Kim is silent with respect that the blower assembly provides a pressure difference of at least about 600 Pa.
However, Holzer teaches a centrifugal fan that discloses forming a pressure differential of at least above 600 Pa is possible with a centrifugal fan (Paragraph between pages 3 and 4 of the provided translation being “Preferably, with the fan…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the operation of the fan of Kim with the operational range of Holzer to a create pressure differential within the laundry device to facility drying and replacing the air within the drum.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 and 10-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CONNOR J TREMARCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762