DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 04/21/2023 in which claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 05/05/2023 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jonker et al. (US 2012/0178488) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Jonker”.
As to claim 1, Jonker teaches a method of operating a user equipment device (Jonker, Fig. 2, [0034], a method performed by the software client on the mobile device), the method comprising:
receiving, at a receiver (Jonker, Fig. 2, [0026], Fig. 3 shows the mobile device comprising an antenna/interface for reception and transmission), network configuration data aggregated from a set of additional user equipment devices (Jonker, Fig. 2, [0034], “The signals obtained in operation 200 are compared to the software client's configuration in operation 202. This configuration is previously sent from a central server infrastructure to tell the software client what networks the central server knows about that the software client can use. This configuration is stored locally on mobile device 100”. Fig. 5, [0078], “the data collected and stored by software clients running on mobile devices which, in turn, is sent to collection server 340 and that is aggregated by aggregation server 342”, where the mobile devices include 311, 321 and 331, for example. [0084], the aggregated information is updated, [0085], the updated aggregated data is stored by the aggregation server and, based on successful connections, the aggregated data is added to the configuration to be used by the mobile device, [0086], the configuration is sent to the configuration server and to the software clients on the mobile device (i.e. mobile device 301)); and
transmitting, using one or more antennas (Jonker, Fig. 2, [0026], Fig. 3 shows the mobile device comprising an antenna/interface for reception and transmission), a request to a wireless base station to perform wireless communications using a network configuration that is selected based on the network configuration data aggregated from the set of additional devices (Jonker, Fig. 2, [0040], the mobile device selects the connection instructions provided through central configuration for the signal marked for use, [0041], where the mobile device attempts to associate, login to, the network using a method based on the configuration parameters provided in the configuration. [0042], if connection method does not exist in the configuration, the mobile device performs a generic approach to attempt to access the network/access point. [0149], for the connection to the network/access point 1510 and internet 1513, the mobile device 1500 transmits a request to the access controller 1511 via the network/access point 1510. Fig. 4, [0073], the column 408 in the configuration includes the connection process for each of the networks/access points).
As to claim 2, Jonker teaches wherein the network configuration comprises an entry of the network configuration data that is selected from the network configuration data based on contextual information associated with operation of the user equipment device (Jonker, Fig. 4, the configuration includes different entries including location, date & time, status, performance, connection process information, etc. [0069], the location in the network configuration is used by the aggregation server to provide the mobile device with specific configuration data that relates to the surroundings of their immediate location).
As to claim 5, Jonker teaches wherein the contextual information comprises a location of the electronic device (Jonker, Fig. 4, the configuration includes different entries including location, date & time, status, performance, connection process information, etc. [0069], the location in the network configuration is used by the aggregation server to provide the mobile device with specific configuration data that relates to the surroundings of their immediate location).
As to claim 6, Jonker teaches wherein receiving the network configuration data comprises receiving the network configuration data from a server that aggregates the network configuration data from the set of additional user equipment devices (Jonker, Fig. 2, [0034], “The signals obtained in operation 200 are compared to the software client's configuration in operation 202. This configuration is previously sent from a central server infrastructure to tell the software client what networks the central server knows about that the software client can use. This configuration is stored locally on mobile device 100”. Fig. 5, [0078], “the data collected and stored by software clients running on mobile devices which, in turn, is sent to collection server 340 and that is aggregated by aggregation server 342”, where the mobile devices include 311, 321 and 331, for example. [0084], the aggregated information is updated, [0085], the updated aggregated data is stored by the aggregation server and, based on successful connections, the aggregated data is added to the configuration to be used by the mobile device, [0086], the configuration is sent to the configuration server and to the software clients on the mobile device (i.e. mobile device 301)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jonker et al. (US 2012/0178488) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Jonker” in view of Fitzpatrick (US Patent No. 10,051,533) (provided in the IDS).
Jonker teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jonker does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 3, wherein the contextual information comprises: an application usage type associated with an application that is executed by the or more processors and that requires the wireless communications.
As to claim 3, Fitzpatrick teaches wherein the contextual information comprises: an application usage type associated with an application that is executed by the or more processors and that requires the wireless communications (Fitzpatrick, col 9 ln 57-67, col 10 ln 1-6, col 10 ln 19-22, contextual information is used in an enhanced network selection rule for the UE to select radio link properties of the first and/or second wireless communication networks. The contextual information includes analytics data (e.g., application usage), etc. Col 22 ln 15-20, “application state and contextual information, such as if a specific application is streaming audio or video, and which applications are currently not running, being run in the foreground, and being run in the background. Contextual information may include information relating to services and daemons that are running on the user equipment”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jonker to have the features, as taught by Fitzpatrick in order to prevent undesired Wi-Fi offload decisions during periods of relatively high mobility, thereby improving the subscriber's quality of experience and reducing unnecessary signaling (Fitzpatrick, col 17 ln 55-58).
Jonker teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jonker does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 7, further comprising:
transmitting, using a transmitter, a request to the server for the network configuration data based on contextual information associated with operation of the user equipment device.
As to claim 7, Fitzpatrick teaches further comprising:
transmitting, using a transmitter, a request to the server for the network configuration data based on contextual information associated with operation of the user equipment device (Fitzpatrick, Fig. 1B, the UE includes a WLAN module and Telco module to transmit and receive signals. See also Fig. 4A, request from UE to server. Col 21 ln 44-54, “the processor may receive an ENS Rule Request message from a wireless device. The ENS Rule Request message may include location information, profile information, and an international mobile station equipment identity (IMEI) value”, col 22 ln 1-12, “the processor may generate and send an ENS Rule Response message that includes ENS rules/policies to the wireless device in block 712”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jonker to have the features, as taught by Fitzpatrick in order to prevent undesired Wi-Fi offload decisions during periods of relatively high mobility, thereby improving the subscriber's quality of experience and reducing unnecessary signaling (Fitzpatrick, col 17 ln 55-58).
As to claim 17, Jonker teaches a method of operating a server (Jonker, Fig. 3, [0062], Fig. 5, [0079], a method performed by an aggregation server in a central server for data aggregation), the method comprising:
receiving, at a receiver (Jonker, Fig. 3, the server receives and transmit data via corresponding connections and interfaces), contextual information from a set of user equipment devices, the contextual information identifying locations and application data transmission patterns of the user equipment devices in the set of user equipment devices (Jonker, Fig. 5, [0080], “aggregation server 342 obtains the complete list of network information from collection server 340. This is the list of all information gathered by the software clients running on mobile devices as they are discovering and using networks…this list will contain information about the network, (ESSID or Service name), hardware identifier and/or address (BSSID), location (latitude and longitude) if available, date and time of the connection attempt, results of the connection attempt, steps used when connecting, performance of the connection if a connection was made, and information about other network access points visible while the connection is being made”. The information received includes location and performance of the connection. Fig. 4, column 404 shows the location information and column 407 shows the performance of data transmissions to test server);
aggregating, using one or more processors, the contextual information into entries of a data structure, each entry of the data structure identifying a network configuration exhibiting peak aggregate wireless performance for a different respective combination of the locations and the application data transmission patterns (Jonker, Fig. 4, Fig. 5, [0080], the server obtains the network information. Fig. 3, [0058], the data received is aggregated and stored in database 343, The data is aggregated as shown in Fig. 4. The network information obtained is aggregated in a table format with different entries/rows, where each entry/row identifies, for example, peak download speed in megabits per second, peak upload speed in megabits per second, latency in milliseconds, and percentage of IP packets dropped, etc. for the corresponding location and service connections);
transmitting, using a transmitter (Jonker, Fig. 3, the server receives and transmit data via corresponding connections and interfaces), the set of entries from the data structure to the given user equipment device (Jonker, Fig. 2, [0034], “The signals obtained in operation 200 are compared to the software client's configuration in operation 202. This configuration is previously sent from a central server infrastructure to tell the software client what networks the central server knows about that the software client can use. This configuration is stored locally on mobile device 100”. Fig. 5, [0078], “the data collected and stored by software clients running on mobile devices which, in turn, is sent to collection server 340 and that is aggregated by aggregation server 342”, where the mobile devices include 311, 321 and 331, for example. [0084], the aggregated information is updated, [0085], the updated aggregated data is stored by the aggregation server and, based on successful connections, the aggregated data is added to the configuration to be used by the mobile device, [0086], the configuration is sent to the configuration server and to the software clients on the mobile device (i.e. mobile device 301)).
Jonker teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jonker does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 17, receiving, at the receiver, a request from a given user equipment device for a set of entries from the data structure.
However, Fitzpatrick teaches receiving, at the receiver, a request from a given user equipment device for a set of entries from the data structure (Fitzpatrick, Fig. 17, col 45 ln 58-67, col 46, ln 1-2, the server includes a network access ports to receive data. See also Fig. 4A, request from UE to server. Col 21 ln 44-54, “the processor may receive an ENS Rule Request message from a wireless device. The ENS Rule Request message may include location information, profile information, and an international mobile station equipment identity (IMEI) value”, col 22 ln 1-12, “the processor may generate and send an ENS Rule Response message that includes ENS rules/policies to the wireless device in block 712”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jonker to have the features, as taught by Fitzpatrick in order to prevent undesired Wi-Fi offload decisions during periods of relatively high mobility, thereby improving the subscriber's quality of experience and reducing unnecessary signaling (Fitzpatrick, col 17 ln 55-58).
Jonker teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jonker does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 19, further comprising:
transmitting, using the transmitter, a table to the given user equipment device that maps different applications to the application data transmission patterns.
As to claim 19, Fitzpatrick teaches further comprising:
transmitting, using the transmitter, a table to the given user equipment device that maps different applications to the application data transmission patterns (Fitzpatrick, Fig. 4A, col 15 ln 51-67, col 16 ln 1-6, the server transmits the ENS rule response message to the UE, where the response includes one or more END rules, policies, rules or criteria. Col 22 ln 13-18, “The various embodiments may enable the network selection policy server to provide differentiated policies based upon application state and contextual information, such as if a specific application is streaming audio or video, and which applications are currently not running, being run in the foreground, and being run in the background”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jonker to have the features, as taught by Fitzpatrick in order to prevent undesired Wi-Fi offload decisions during periods of relatively high mobility, thereby improving the subscriber's quality of experience and reducing unnecessary signaling (Fitzpatrick, col 17 ln 55-58).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jonker et al. (US 2012/0178488) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Jonker” in view of Karlsson et al. (US 2010/0250443), hereinafter “Karlsson”.
Jonker teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jonker does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 4, wherein the contextual information comprises: a battery state of the user equipment device.
As to claim 4, Karlsson teaches wherein the contextual information comprises: a battery state of the user equipment device (Karlsson, [0035], “For example, contextual information can include the local time where the user device is, the UTC (Coordinated Universal Time) time where the user device is, the semantic name of the user device's location, the user device's absolute location (e.g., GPS coordinates), whether the user device is busy, available, disconnected, the proximity of others in user communities which the user device is a participant, the battery state of the device, the history of usage with a particular service provider…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jonker to have the features, as taught by Karlsson in order to warn a user that there may not be sufficient power left for a pending transaction to be completed or to send a warning message to nearby community members that the user device is going offline (Karlsson, [0038]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jonker et al. (US 2012/0178488) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Jonker” in view of Fitzpatrick (US Patent No. 10,051,533) (provided in the IDS) and further in view of Youn et al. (US 2021/0120596), hereinafter “Youn”.
Jonker and Fitzpatrick teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Jonker and Fitzpatrick do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 8, wherein the request comprises a request for entries of a network configuration database stored on the server, the entries corresponding to a network operator and a location identified by the contextual information.
As to claim 8, Youn teaches wherein the request comprises a request for entries of a network configuration database stored on the server, the entries corresponding to a network operator and a location identified by the contextual information (Youn, Fig. 9, [0398], [0400], the UE transmits a LADN policy request to the AMF and PCF, where the request includes a registration area of the UE or positional information of the UE. [0402], the PCF receives the request and generates the LADN policy for the UE based on the positional information of the UE. The generated LADN policy includes the information in Table 7. [0385]-[0387], the Table 7 includes different entries related to the serving PLMN and the LADN service area, and includes priority information, application IDs and LADN DNN for the corresponding application IDs and priorities. [0051], The LADN in a DN that the UE uses for an application at a corresponding location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jonker and Fitzpatrick to have the features, as taught by Youn in order to solve a problem in that the UE which is roaming may not establish the PDU session by using the LADN DNN (Youn, [0373]).
Claims 9-10, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jonker et al. (US 2012/0178488) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Jonker” in view of Fitzpatrick (US Patent No. 10,051,533) (provided in the IDS) and further in view of Guday et al. (US 2015/0271640), hereinafter “Guday”.
Jonker and Fitzpatrick teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Jonker and Fitzpatrick do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 9, wherein the request comprises a request for entries of a network configuration database stored on the server, the entries corresponding to a set of geographic tiles identified by the contextual information.
As to claim 9, Guday teaches wherein the request comprises a request for entries of a network configuration database stored on the server, the entries corresponding to a set of geographic tiles identified by the contextual information (Guday, Figs. 1, 4, [0045], the request component 114 of the mobile device 104 send a list of detected Wi-Fi networks within geographic proximity of the mobile device 104 to the tile management system 102. Then, the delivery component 112 of the tile management system 102 sends a portion of the geospatial tile 108 to the mobile device 104. Fig. 5, [0049]-[0050], the mobile device 104 performs a gesture (request) to the disparate mobile device 502 to obtain the geospatial tiles for downtown Seattle. Responsive to the gesture (request), the disparate mobile device shares the geospatial tiles for downtown Seattle to the mobile device 104. Fig. 1, [0050], additionally, a token is transferred to the mobile device 104, so the mobile device 104 can retrieve the geospatial tiles from tile management system 102 (data repository 106) using the request component 114. [0022], [0031]-[0032], [0049], the data repository and tile cache 512 stores the geospatial tiles, which include the tiles with corresponding locations, identifiers, and other configuration parameters).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jonker and Fitzpatrick to have the features, as taught by Guday in order to automatically connect to a particular Wi-Fi network from the plurality of Wi-Fi networks utilizing the data for the particular Wi-Fi network included in the geospatial tile stored in the tile cache when the mobile device is positioned within a geographic coverage area of the particular Wi-Fi network (Guday, [0004]).
Jonker and Fitzpatrick teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Jonker and Fitzpatrick do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 10, wherein the set of geographic tiles comprise geographic tiles neighboring a location of the user equipment device.
As to claim 10, Guday teaches wherein the set of geographic tiles comprise geographic tiles neighboring a location of the user equipment device (Guday, [0004], Fig. 1, [0027], [0045], Fig. 5, [0049]-[0050], the geospatial tiles correspond to a proximity location of the mobile device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jonker and Fitzpatrick to have the features, as taught by Guday in order to automatically connect to a particular Wi-Fi network from the plurality of Wi-Fi networks utilizing the data for the particular Wi-Fi network included in the geospatial tile stored in the tile cache when the mobile device is positioned within a geographic coverage area of the particular Wi-Fi network (Guday, [0004]).
Jonker and Fitzpatrick teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Jonker and Fitzpatrick do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 12, wherein the geographic tiles comprise geographic tiles along a navigation route for the user equipment device set by a navigation application executed by one or more processors on the user equipment device.
As to claim 12, Guday teaches wherein the geographic tiles comprise geographic tiles along a navigation route for the user equipment device set by a navigation application executed by one or more processors on the user equipment device (Guday, Fig. 1, [0027], the request for geographic tiles is based on a location and navigation profile of the mobile device. [0036], based on a before traveling to a geographic location using a map displayed in a mapping component on the display screen 206. [0049], the geospatial tiles of a location such as downtown Seattle, where the mobile device is traveling).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jonker and Fitzpatrick to have the features, as taught by Guday in order to automatically connect to a particular Wi-Fi network from the plurality of Wi-Fi networks utilizing the data for the particular Wi-Fi network included in the geospatial tile stored in the tile cache when the mobile device is positioned within a geographic coverage area of the particular Wi-Fi network (Guday, [0004]).
Jonker and Fitzpatrick teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Jonker and Fitzpatrick do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 18, wherein the request from the given user equipment identifies a set of geographic tiles and the set of entries from the data structure includes entries from the data structure corresponding to the set of geographic tiles.
As to claim 18, Guday teaches wherein the request from the given user equipment identifies a set of geographic tiles and the set of entries from the data structure includes entries from the data structure corresponding to the set of geographic tiles (Guday, Figs. 1, 4, [0045], the request component 114 of the mobile device 104 send a list of detected Wi-Fi networks within geographic proximity of the mobile device 104 to the tile management system 102. Then, the delivery component 112 of the tile management system 102 sends a portion of the geospatial tile 108 to the mobile device 104. Fig. 5, [0049]-[0050], the mobile device 104 performs a gesture (request) to the disparate mobile device 502 to obtain the geospatial tiles for downtown Seattle. Responsive to the gesture (request), the disparate mobile device shares the geospatial tiles for downtown Seattle to the mobile device 104. Fig. 1, [0050], additionally, a token is transferred to the mobile device 104, so the mobile device 104 can retrieve the geospatial tiles from tile management system 102 (data repository 106) using the request component 114. [0022], [0031]-[0032], [0049], the data repository and tile cache 512 stores the geospatial tiles, which include the tiles with corresponding locations, identifiers, and other configuration parameters. [0027], Fig. 9, [0061], Fig. 11, [0063], the geospatial tile can be requested from a tile management system based upon the indicator, the indicator corresponds to a geospatial tile for retrieval by the mobile device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jonker and Fitzpatrick to have the features, as taught by Guday in order to automatically connect to a particular Wi-Fi network from the plurality of Wi-Fi networks utilizing the data for the particular Wi-Fi network included in the geospatial tile stored in the tile cache when the mobile device is positioned within a geographic coverage area of the particular Wi-Fi network (Guday, [0004]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jonker et al. (US 2012/0178488) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Jonker” in view of Fitzpatrick (US Patent No. 10,051,533) (provided in the IDS) and further in view of Guday et al. (US 2015/0271640), hereinafter “Guday” and further in view of Lindquist et al. (US 2017/0295463), hereinafter “Lindquist”.
Jonker and Fitzpatrick teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Jonker and Fitzpatrick do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 11, wherein the set of geographic tiles comprise geographic tiles overlapping and neighboring a predicted future location of the user equipment device.
As to claim 11, Guday teaches wherein the set of geographic tiles comprise geographic tiles neighboring a predicted future location of the user equipment device (Guday, [0033], “the delivery component 112 can infer a future geographic location of the mobile device 104. Following this example, the delivery component 112 can project the future geographic location of the mobile device 104 to be within a geographic region specified in the geospatial tile 108. Thus, the projected future geographic location of the mobile device 104 can be used to identify and retrieve the geospatial tile 108 from the data repository 106 for delivery to the mobile device 104”, [0041], “use future calendar items to download geospatial tiles based on the schedule of the user (e.g., the future calendar items) and geographic location information corresponding to the future calendar items (e.g., specified in a location field of the calendar item)”, [0049], “A user of the mobile device 104 can plan to travel to downtown Seattle; however, the tile cache 120 of the mobile device 104 may lack the geospatial tiles for downtown Seattle (e.g., the user of the mobile device 104 may or may not have previously visited downtown Seattle, the tile cache 120 may include other geospatial tiles for downtown Seattle, etc.)...the sharing component 516 can cause the geospatial tiles for downtown Seattle to be sent to the mobile device 104”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jonker and Fitzpatrick to have the features, as taught by Guday in order to automatically connect to a particular Wi-Fi network from the plurality of Wi-Fi networks utilizing the data for the particular Wi-Fi network included in the geospatial tile stored in the tile cache when the mobile device is positioned within a geographic coverage area of the particular Wi-Fi network (Guday, [0004]).
Jonker, Fitzpatrick and Guday teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Jonker, Fitzpatrick and Guday do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 11, wherein the set of geographic tiles comprise geographic tiles overlapping
However, Lindquist teaches wherein the set of geographic tiles comprise geographic tiles overlapping (Lindquist, Fig. 2, [0074], “A pre-defined geographical area 110-116 may be defined as a geographic tile 110-114, e.g. by latitude and longitude coordinates of opposing corners of the tile”, [0075], “The pre-defined geographical areas 110-116 may overlap”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jonker, Fitzpatrick and Guday to have the features, as taught by Lindquist in order to improve the calculation of the accuracy estimate which is continuously provided to the database, such that the accuracy estimate may always be calculated based on all available information. This may be particularly useful when crowd-sourced information is provided to the database (Lindquist, [0077]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jonker et al. (US 2012/0178488) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Jonker” in view of Youn et al. (US 2021/0120596), hereinafter “Youn”.
Jonker teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jonker does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 13, wherein the network configuration data comprises a set of table entries each corresponding to a respective combination of location and network operator.
As to claim 13, Youn teaches wherein the network configuration data comprises a set of table entries each corresponding to a respective combination of location and network operator (Youn, [0376], Table 6, the LADN information is transmitted to the UE and includes a set of table entries with corresponding tracking area (TA) and local area data network (LADN) data network name (DNN) information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jonker to have the features, as taught by Youn in order to solve a problem in that the UE which is roaming may not establish the PDU session by using the LADN DNN (Youn, [0373]).
Claim 15-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jonker et al. (US 2012/0178488) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Jonker” in view of Tsai et al. (US 2019/0045404), hereinafter “Tsai”.
Jonker teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jonker does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 15, wherein the request comprises radio resource control (RRC) user assistance information (UAI) identifying one or more settings of the network configuration.
As to claim 15, Tsai teaches wherein the request comprises radio resource control (RRC) user assistance information (UAI) identifying one or more settings of the network configuration (Tsai, Fig. 4, [0030], “In step 432, UE 401 sends an RRC connection request message to its master node MeNB 402”, “UE 401 also sends UE assistant information to MeNB 402 via the RRC message. The UE assistant information comprises a set of parameters of the DC configuration before the re-directing”. The UE assistant information can also be transmitted in the RRCConnectionSetupComplete message in step 434).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jonker to have the features, as taught by Tsai in order to support a fast Dual-Connectivity (DC) configuration after fallback in a 4G/5G network (Tsai, [0022]).
Jonker teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jonker does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 16, further comprising: receiving, using the one or more antennas, an RRC response to the request from the wireless base station.
As to claim 16, Tsai teaches further comprising:
receiving, using the one or more antennas (Tsai, Fig. 2, [0023], the UE includes antennas to receive signals), an RRC response to the request from the wireless base station (Tsai, Fig. 4, [0030], the UE receives an RRCConnectionSetup message from the MeNB in response to the RRCConnectionRequest message with UE assistant information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jonker to have the features, as taught by Tsai in order to support a fast Dual-Connectivity (DC) configuration after fallback in a 4G/5G network (Tsai, [0022]).
As to claim 20, Jonker teaches an electronic device comprising:
one or more processors configured to execute an application that requires conveying wireless data (Jonker, [0043], “the software client running on the mobile device 100 will check for the validity of the Internet connection by contacting the connection test server 105”. [0032]-[0033], the mobile device contacts the connection test server by transmitting traffic and HTTP request);
a radio (Jonker, Fig. 2, [0034], the mobile device includes a radio) configured to convey the wireless data at a geographic location using a set of different network configurations (Jonker, [0030], “specific location information, such as latitude and longitude information of mobile device 100 at the time of the connection attempt”. The mobile device is at particular location when transmitting traffic and request to the connection test server. The communication is performed using a Network Name or ESSID, Media Access Control (MAC) address of the air interface, or BSSID, of AP131, specific information regarding the specific steps used, timing, and traffic exchanged, in the negotiation between the software client running on mobile device 100 and the access controller 112 in the process of negotiation. [0043], “the software client running on the mobile device 100 will check for the validity of the Internet connection by contacting the connection test server 105”. [0032]-[0033], the mobile device contacts the connection test server by transmitting traffic and HTTP request. Fig. 2 shows steps 201-208 which include the use of configurations for performing the connection and communication, such as connection method, business rules, quality and information required to successfully associate with the networks), the radio being further configured to gather wireless performance metric data associated with the wireless data conveyed by the radio (Jonker, [0030], “Knowledge stored in database 106 includes the Network Name or ESSID, Media Access Control (MAC) address of the air interface, or BSSID, of AP131, the date and time of the connection attempt, and, if available, any specific location information, such as latitude and longitude information of mobile device 100 at the time of the connection attempt, as well as specific information regarding the specific steps used, timing, and traffic exchanged, in the negotiation between the software client running on mobile device 100 and the access controller 112 in the process of negotiation. In case of s successful connection, speed and latency information for a connection between the software client running on mobile device 100 and speed test server 105 are also stored”); and
one or more antennas (Jonker, Fig. 2, [0034], the mobile device includes a radio and antenna as shown in Fig. 3) configured to
transmit a signal to a wireless base station, the signal including a message identifying a network configuration that is selected from the set of different network configurations based on the wireless performance metric data (Jonker, Fig. 2, [0040], the mobile device selects the connection instructions provided through central configuration for the signal marked for use, [0041], where the mobile device attempts to associate, login to, the network using a method based on the configuration parameters provided in the configuration. [0042], if connection method does not exist in the configuration, the mobile device performs a generic approach to attempt to access the network/access point. [0149], for the connection to the network/access point 1510 and internet 1513, the mobile device 1500 transmits a request to the access controller 1511 via the network/access point 1510. Fig. 4, [0073], the column 408 in the configuration includes the connection process for each of the networks/access points. Fig. 2 shows in steps 203 and 205, [0034], [0036], that the signals and configurations are ranked based on quality, such as the mobile device 100 will end up with an updated signal list in which the signal with the highest chance of success, based on previous experience for this user or mobile device 100, can be set to be the first attempt on the connection list, which should result in the most efficient connection process for the mobile device 100. [0037], “the list of signals can be ranked and/or ordered by criteria of configuration (i.e., business rules and cost information obtained from operation 203), and based on previous experience with the signals (i.e. success, failure, speed, etc.) obtained from operation 205, where the first signal in the ordered list is now the most likely signal to yield a connection”), and
convey the wireless data with the wireless base station using the identified network configuration while the electronic device is at the geographic location (Jonker, [0030], “specific location information, such as latitude and longitude information of mobile device 100 at the time of the connection attempt”. The mobile device is at particular location when transmitting traffic and request to the connection test server. The communication is performed using a Network Name or ESSID, Media Access Control (MAC) address of the air interface, or BSSID, of AP131, specific information regarding the specific steps used, timing, and traffic exchanged, in the negotiation between the software client running on mobile device 100 and the access controller 112 in the process of negotiation. [0032]-[0033], the mobile device contacts the connection test server by transmitting traffic and HTTP request. Fig. 1, [0032]-[0033], [0040]-[0042], Fig. 2, [0046], the mobile device transmits traffic to the connection test server via the AP using the first configuration in the ordered list which yield a connection in the current location of the mobile device).
Jonker teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Jonker does not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 20, transmit a radio resource control (RRC) signal to a wireless base station, the RRC signal including a user equipment assistance information (UAI) message identifying a network configuration.
However, Tsai teaches transmit a radio resource control (RRC) signal to a wireless base station, the RRC signal including a user equipment assistance information (UAI) message identifying a network configuration (Tsai, Fig. 4, [0030], “In step 432, UE 401 sends an RRC connection request message to its master node MeNB 402”, “UE 401 also sends UE assistant information to MeNB 402 via the RRC message. The UE assistant information comprises a set of parameters of the DC configuration before the re-directing”. The UE assistant information can also be transmitted in the RRCConnectionSetupComplete message in step 434).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jonker to have the features, as taught by Tsai in order to support a fast Dual-Connectivity (DC) configuration after fallback in a 4G/5G network (Tsai, [0022]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yang et al. U.S. Patent No. 9,003,046 – Network access method, terminal device, server, and communication system.
Shi et al. U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2018/0324888 – Fast user equipment reconfiguration signaling in wireless communication.
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473