DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 5/1/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/1/2026.
Claims 1-15 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 11-12 recite that the photocatalyst (i.e. anode composition) comprises a semiconductor and that the semiconductor comprises platinum or a platinum alloy.
A platinum or a platinum alloy are not a semiconductor. Platinum is a precious/noble metal.
For the purpose of examination it will be assumed that the photocatalyst comprises a composition that can include platinum or a platinum alloy.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rioja-Cabanillas et al “Hydrogen from wastewater by photocatalytic and photoelectrochemical treatment” Journal of Physics: Energy, 3, 2021, 012006 in view of Alarawi, et al “Enhanced photoelectrochemical hydrogen production efficiency of MoS2-Si heterojunction” Optics Express, Vol 27, No 8, 2019, p. A352-A363.
As to claims 1-12, Rioja teaches of a method for hydrogen generation from a wastewater stream, comprising:
providing a photocathode electrically connected by a wire to a photocatalyst, where both the photocathode and the photocatalyst are at least partially immersed in an electrolyte solution that comprises an aqueous fluid (Rioja, p. 6, Section 3.1 and Fig. 4);
illuminating the photocathode with first light thereby causing the photocathode to generate a first plurality of electron-electron hole pairs (Rioja, p. 2-4, Section 2.1);
illuminating a photocatalyst with second light thereby causing the photocathode to generate a second plurality of electron-electron hole pairs, wherein the photocatalyst comprises a semiconductor and additionally includes platinum (Rioja, p. 2-4, Section 2.1 and p. 4-5, Section 2.2); and
photochemically converting wastewater to hydrogen gas and oxygen (Rioja, Abstract and Fig. 1).
Rioja teaches that photoelectrochemical cell systems can utilize either semiconductor photoanodes with a metallic cathode, semiconductor photocathodes with a metallic anode, or both photoanode and photocathode. Within all these systems, the anode is connected to the cathode and the electrodes are immersed in the electrolyte.
Rioja teaches that materials for the photoanode include titanium dioxide and that a metallic co-catalyst is typically used, like platinum. In systems where both the anode and cathode are photolytic, they would both be illuminated to generate the desired electron-electron hole pairs.
Rioja does not teach that the photocathode comprises a silicon-based heterojunction.
Alarawi teaches of enhanced hydrogen generation by using a photocathode comprising a silicon-based heterojunction (Alarawi, Abstract).
Alarawi teaches that p-type Si has been widely used as photocathodes in hydrogen generation system (PEC system) however, the p--Si/H2O junction causes issues such that p-n junctions can boost the photovoltage. Systems that further include n+-layer and p+ layer further facilitate overall performance. Within these heterojunction system catalytic materials like MoS2 have excellent HER activity and favorable band-gap alignment such that a photocathode of the MoS2/Si-HJ is an improved photocathode in relation to catalytic activity and improved light harvesting characteristic (Alarawi, p. A352-353, Introduction, p. A358 and p. A361).
Alarawi teaches that the heterojunction is formed of n-type layer of crystalline silicon (100) silicon wafer with a n+-Si on one side and p+-Si on the other side of the silicon wafer. The layered structured is formed comprising Al-2O3 and Si3N4 (used as pattern mask being etched) and then a silver (Ag) layer. The heterojunction further has the co-catalyst as a sulfide (molybdenum sulfide) for hydrogen generation and a micro-pyramidal surface structure (Alarawi, A353-A354, 2.2 Fabrication of MoS2/Si-HJ photocathode and Figs. 3(b) and 4(a)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rioja as per Alarawi so as to utilize the desired photocathode as it has improved catalytic activity, corrosion protection and enhanced hydrogen generation and light harvesting ability.
As to claim 13, Rioja in view of Alarawi teaches to the method of claim 1.
Rioja teaches that the wastewater includes sacrificial agents such as alcohols including ethanol or propanol, such that oxidation of pollutants within wastewater is energetically more favorable than water splitting (Rioja, p. 13-14, Section 4.4 and p. 16 Section 5).
As to claim 14, Rioja in view of Alarawi teaches to the method of claim 1.
Rioja teaches that the system absorb light in the visible (400 nm to 800 nm region) as well as the UV region (100 nm to 400 nm) of solar radiation (Rioja, p. 4, Section 2.1 last paragraph).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rioja in view of Alarawi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 4,160,479 of Richardson et al
As to claim 15, Rioja teaches that hydrogen can be generated from wastewaters from industrial processes including paper making, farming, oil refining, petrochemicals and general industrial wastewaters (Rioja, p. 9, 11, 12 and 13, Sections 4.1, 4.2, 4.3 and 4.4).
Rioja does not specifically teach a gas-oil separation plant.
Richardson teaches that oil refining for producing chemicals (Richardson, col 1 lines 4-24).
Richardson also shows that hydrogen can be generated from a waste stream from a oil-gas separation system such that hot water is injected into a well, generating an oil-water-gas mixture that is when separated into its various components such that hydrogen is generated from the separated water to be used in other processes of the system for improved flexibility and reduced overall energy consumption of the system (Richardson, col 3 line 28 thru col 4 line 36, col 7 line 42 thru col 8 line 35, col 9 line 19-53).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rioja as per Richardson so as to utilize wastewater from gas-oil separation system as part of an overall oil refining in allowing for improved flexibility and energy consumption as well as hydrogen generation from the desired water source.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/305,113 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they each perform a photoelectrochemical generation of hydrogen in an aqueous solution. While sulfur is actively recited as being produced in ‘113 and oxygen is actively recited as being produced in ‘221, the methods are not distinct because each process is performed in water (as a wastewater from an gas-oil separation plant as per the claims) such that in the sulfur generating system, oxygen would also be produced and in the oxygen generating system sulfur would also be produced as hydrogen sulfide is a waste product from the gas-oil separation plant.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
BRIAN W. COHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/BRIAN W COHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759