DETAILED ACTION
Non Final
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Claims 1-9, 11-18, 20-30 and 32 are pending. Claims 1, 12, 21 and 22 are currently amended. It appears that no new matter has been entered. The replacement figures have overcome the drawing objections. The amendments have required further search and/or consideration and adjustment of the rejections to meet the amended limitations. In particular, the primary reference Stobbs is not modified via Nishimoto as seen below to meet the claim amendments, for the reasons discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, 12, 15-18, 20, 22-24 and 27-30, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stobbs (US 5011113) in view of Nishimoto (US 5056556);
Claim(s) 4, 5, 13, 14, 25 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stobbs in view of Nishimoto and/or as applied to claims 1, 12 and 22 above, and further in view of Schneider (US 11408519);
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stobbs in view of Nishimoto and Nishinosono (US 6220275).
Stobbs discloses in claim 1: A variably damped flow control solenoid comprising: (12, figures 2, 4, 6 and 9, variably regulated Col 14 ln 40-45, and see at least annotated figure 6 below)
an armature (at 24/68/110/610/928/930 as applied to figures 2, 6 and 9) with an orifice (at 70/958, this “orifice” matches applicants rendition of orifice in the original written description filed 4/21/2024 at ph 0114 at element 310, the armature orifice), said orifice comprising a portion of a fluid flow path (from 36 to 38 and vice versa there through the path…) of said armature, said fluid flow path extending through said armature (as shown); a plate (at 1002/924); and a pin (at 84/942) coupled with said plate, wherein said pin extends (axially) from said plate toward said armature (via extension 90/957), said pin configured to [surround] said orifice of said armature to provide a controlled annular gap (between 82/86 and 935/957) with respect to said orifice and said fluid flow path of said armature for a portion of travel of said armature (via flow there through the gap), wherein a rate of velocity of fluid flow to said fluid flow path of said armature is at least partially controlled by a shape of said pin in conjunction with said orifice (the slope of the pin and orifice exit end between 82/86 and 935/957…) and said fluid flow path of said armature (as discussed, the differential pressure forces along with momentum and coil control the fluid flow rates per Col 14 ln 42 to Col 15 ln 8), such that said shape (slope) of said pin provides a variable and axial dependent rate of said velocity of said fluid flow to said fluid flow path of said armature for said portion of travel of said armature (i.e. as the armature 24/930 moves to the pin, the rate of fluid flow increases between the end of the armature and the pin based on the pressure differential between the higher and lower sides of the gap there between and so the dependent rate of velocity of the fluid flow to the armature varies there through, where it is also noted that armature face 935 is 30.deg. opposed to the 45.deg. pin face for variable fluid flow as variably regulated by the solenoid Col 14 id, where it is noted that the equivalency is met where the pin configuration is arranged with equivalent structure (the frustoconical areas) to operate in the same way (via variable gap) so as to achieve the same result (fluid flow rate control) as claimed.) Stobbs does not disclose: a pin configured to be inserted into said orifice of said armature; Nishimoto teaches: a pin (22) configured (as a conical protruding seat) to be inserted into the orifice (at 3a) of said armature (3, for the purpose of fluid flow characterization and fluid flow velocity control.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Stobbs as taught in Nishimoto with a pin that is configured as a conically protruding seat and that can be inserted into the orifice of said armature as taught in Nishimoto, for the purpose of fluid flow characterization and fluid flow velocity control (as arguably taught in both Nishimoto and Stobbs.)
Stobbs discloses in claim 12: A variably damped flow control solenoid (12, figures 2, 4, 6 and 9, variably regulated Col 14 ln 40-Col 15 ln 8 as applied to each) comprising: an armature (at 24/68/110/610/928/930) with an orifice (at 70/958), said orifice comprising a portion of a fluid flow path (from 36 to 38 and vice versa and through the armature passage an orifice of 70/958) of said armature, said fluid flow path extending through said armature (as shown); a motive component (solenoid coil 16/986) configured to change a position of said armature (via controller 62 and as discussed above Col 14 id); a plate (at 1002/924); and a pin (at 84/942) coupled with said plate, wherein said pin extends (axially from the bottom to the top) from said plate toward said armature (via extension 90/957), said pin configured to [surround] said orifice of said armature to provide a controlled annular gap (between 82/86 and 935/957 as discussed above Col 14 id) with respect to said orifice and said fluid flow path of said armature for a portion of travel of said armature (via flow through the armature and gap), wherein a rate of velocity of fluid flow to said fluid flow path of said armature is at least partially controlled by a shape of said pin in conjunction with said orifice ( the slope of the pin and orifice exit end between 82/86 and 935/957…) and said fluid flow path of said armature, such that said shape (slope) of said pin provides a variable and axial dependent rate of said velocity of said fluid flow to said fluid flow path of said armature for said portion of travel of said armature (i.e. as the armature 24/930 moves to the pin, the rate of fluid flow increases based on the pressure differential between the higher and lower sides of the gap there between and so the dependent rate of velocity of the fluid flow to the armature varies there through, where it is also noted that armature face 935 is 30.deg. opposed to the 45.deg. pin face for variable fluid flow as variably regulated by the solenoid Col 14 id, where it is noted that the equivalency is met where the the pin configuration is arranged with equivalent structure (the frustoconical areas) to operate in the same way (via variable gap) so as to achieve the same result (fluid flow rate control) as claimed.) Stobbs does not disclose: a pin configured to be inserted into said orifice of said armature; Nishimoto teaches: a pin (22) configured (as a conical protruding seat) to be inserted into the orifice (at 3a) of said armature (3, for the purpose of fluid flow characterization and fluid flow velocity control.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Stobbs as taught in Nishimoto with a pin that is configured as a conically protruding seat and that can be inserted into the orifice of said armature as taught in Nishimoto, for the purpose of fluid flow characterization and fluid flow velocity control (as arguably taught in both Nishimoto and Stobbs.)
Stobbs discloses in claim 21: A variably damped flow control solenoid (12, figures 2, 4, 6 and 9, variably regulated Col 14 ln 40-45) comprising: an armature (at 24/68/110/610/928/930) with an orifice (at 70/958), said orifice comprising a portion of a fluid flow path (from 36 to 38 and vice versa) of said armature, said fluid flow path extending through said armature; a plurality of protrusion[[s]] (both 86 and 935 are protrusions) extending axially from said armature, said protrusion[[s]] configured to reduce a contact area between said armature and a plate (at 1002 or body of 942) and provide an amount of leakage (there is a small amount of leakage as discussed, Col 14 ln 40-45 for pressure balancing purposes) between said armature and said plate; a motive component (16/986) configured (via controller 62) to change a position of said armature; said plate; and a pin (at 84/extension of 924/942 and 957) coupled with said plate (via coupling 92 figure 4 or integrally), wherein said pin configured to [surround] said orifice of said armature to provide a controlled annular gap (between 82/86 and 935/957) with respect to said orifice and said fluid flow path of said armature for a portion of travel of said armature (via 70/958 and the gap between 82/86 and 935/957), wherein a rate of velocity of fluid flow to said fluid flow path of said armature is at least partially controlled by a shape of said pin in conjunction with said orifice and said fluid flow path of said armature (Co 14 id), such that said shape (slope) of said pin provides a variable and axial dependent rate of said velocity to said fluid flow path of said armature for said portion of travel of said armature (i.e. as the armature 24/930 moves to the pin, the rate of fluid flow increases based on the pressure differential between the higher and lower sides of the gap there between and so the dependent rate of velocity of the fluid flow to the armature varies there through, where it is also noted that armature face 935 is 30.deg. opposed to the 45.deg. pin face for variable fluid flow as variably regulated by the solenoid Col 14 ln 40-45, where it is noted that the equivalency is met where the the pin configuration is arranged with equivalent structure (the frustoconical areas) to operate in the same way (via variable gap) so as to achieve the same result (fluid flow rate control) as claimed);
Stobbs does not disclose: a plurality of protrusions: a pin configured to be inserted into said orifice of said armature; but Nishinosono teaches: providing a plurality of protrusions (via 62C figure 4) on the armature end, for the purpose of for example, to maintain armature pressure balancing, lubrication and to reduce impact and dampen movement during reciprocal action, thus making for a more responsive valve; Nishimoto teaches: a pin (22) configured (as a conical protruding seat) to be inserted into the orifice (at 3a) of said armature (3, for the purpose of fluid flow characterization and fluid flow velocity control)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Stobbs as taught in Nishinosono, with a plurality of protrusions (via 62C figure 4) on the armature end, for the purpose of for example, to maintain armature pressure balancing, lubrication and to reduce impact and dampen movement during reciprocal action, thus making for a more responsive valve;
Accordingly, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Stobbs as taught in Nishimoto with a pin that is configured as a conically protruding seat and that can be inserted into the orifice of said armature as taught in Nishimoto, for the purpose of fluid flow characterization and fluid flow velocity control (as arguably taught in both Nishimoto and Stobbs.)
Stobbs discloses in claim 22: A suspension (hydraulic shock absorber for vehicle suspension system figure 1 and see Col 4 ln 25-30) comprising: at least one shock assembly (at 26) comprising: a housing (30, 32, 34) comprising a main chamber (in 36) with a working fluid therein; a main piston (28) coupled with a piston shaft (the body thereof), said main piston within said main chamber; a reservoir (in 38); a fluid pathway (between 36 and 38 as applied to figures 2, 4, 6 and 9, the flow via 20, 70, 74/612, 116 and 22/604 figures 4 and 6 (and the same structure in figure 9, where the fluid pressure balances the armature as shown) fluidly coupling said main chamber with said reservoir; and a variable damped flow control solenoid (12) fluidly coupled with said fluid pathway, said variable damped flow control solenoid comprising: an armature (at 24/68/110/610/928/930) with an orifice (via 70/958), said orifice comprising a portion of a fluid flow path (from 36 to 38 via 70/958) of said armature, said fluid flow path extending through said armature (id); a plate (at 1002); and a pin (at 84/942) coupled with said plate (as shown), wherein said pin extends from (from the top to the bottom of) said plate toward said armature , said pin configured to [surround] into said orifice of said armature to provide a controlled annular gap (between 82/86 and 935/957) with respect to said orifice and said fluid flow path of said armature for a portion of travel (via flow there through) of said armature, wherein a rate of velocity of fluid flow to said fluid flow path of said armature is at least partially controlled by a shape of said pin in conjunction with said orifice (the slope of the pin and orifice exit end between 82/86 and 935/957 where the differential pressure forces along with momentum and coil control the fluid flow rates per Col 14 ln 42 to Col 15 ln 8) and said fluid flow path of said armature, such that said shape of said pin (the pin slope is 45 degrees) provides a variable and axial dependent rate of said velocity of said fluid flow to said fluid flow path of said armature for said portion of travel of said armature (i.e. as the armature 24/930 moves to the pin, the rate of fluid flow increases based on the pressure differential between the higher and lower sides of the gap there between and so the dependent rate of velocity of the fluid flow to the armature varies there through, where it is also noted that armature face 935 is 30.deg. opposed to the 45.deg. pin face for variable fluid flow as variably regulated by the solenoid Col 14 id.) Stobbs does not disclose: a pin configured to be inserted into said orifice of said armature; Nishimoto teaches: a pin (22) configured (as a conical protruding seat) to be inserted into the orifice (at 3a) of said armature (3, for the purpose of fluid flow characterization and fluid flow velocity control.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Stobbs as taught in Nishimoto with a pin that is configured as a conically protruding seat and that can be inserted into the orifice of said armature as taught in Nishimoto, for the purpose of fluid flow characterization and fluid flow velocity control (as arguably taught in both Nishimoto and Stobbs.)
Stobbs discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 2 and 23: wherein said portion of travel of said armature is proximate said orifice of said armature (the armature is proximally opening or closing the orifice during its travel.)
Stobbs discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 3 and 24: wherein said portion of travel of said armature is a closing of said armature (the armature is opening or closing during its travel.)
Stobbs discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 4 and 25: wherein said portion of travel of said armature is [a small distance at 83]. Stobbs does not explicitly disclose: the travel distance of about 0.020-0.030 inches; Schneider teaches: a small travel distance of about 0.4 to 2 mm where the fluid flow through the device can be controlled by small distance valve reciprocation, all for high pressure hydraulic applications Col 6 ln 11-17;
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Stobbs as suggested in Schneider, based on the high pressure hydraulic application, a travel distance of about 0.02 to 0.03 inches, all for the purpose of accurately controlling the fluid through the valve at the desired rate of fluid flow transfer, all especially considering that a change in size and/or function is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976);
Stobbs discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 5 and 26: wherein a full travel distance of said armature is [small distance at 83); but Stobbs does not disclose: the travel distance of about 0.060-0.100 inches.
Schneider teaches: a small travel distance of about 0.4 to 2 mm where the fluid flow through the device can be controlled by small distance valve reciprocation, all for high pressure hydraulic applications Col 6 ln 11-17;
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Stobbs as suggested in Schneider, based on the high pressure hydraulic application, a travel distance of about 0.060-0.100 inches, all for the purpose of accurately controlling the fluid through the valve at the desired rate of fluid flow transfer; all especially considering that a change in size and/or function is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976);
Stobbs discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 6 and 27: wherein said shape of said pin is circular with an axially changing radius (a circular top and frusto-conical annular recessed changing radius seat.)
Stobbs discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 7, 16 and 28: wherein said armature further comprises: at least one protrusion extending axially toward said plate, said at least one protrusion (both 86 and 935 are protrusions) configured to reduce a contact area between said armature and said plate and provide an amount of leakage between said armature and said plate (there is a small amount of leakage as discussed, Col 14 ln 40-45.)
Stobbs discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 8, 17 and 29: wherein said shape of said at least one protrusion is selected from a group consisting of: a trapezoid, a triangle, a square, and a curve (both in cross section and plan view, the shape/s is/are triangular, and circular.)
Stobbs discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 9, 18 and 30: wherein said plate further comprises: an opening (at 92/96 figure 4, and see figure 3 for the arrangement) therein to adjustably retain said pin.
Stobbs discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 11, 20 and 32: wherein said plate further comprises: at least one opening (20 and see figure 3) therethrough, said at least one opening configured to allow a fluid to flow therethrough.
Stobbs discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) claim 13: The variably damped flow control solenoid of claim 12, wherein said portion of travel of said armature is a first [small distance] (at 83) of movement of said armature, from a fully closed position, away from said pin; Stobbs does not explicitly disclose: the travel distance of about 0.020-0.030 inches; Schneider teaches: a small travel distance of about 0.4 to 2 mm where the fluid flow through the device can be controlled by small distance valve reciprocation, all for high pressure hydraulic applications Col 6 ln 11-17;
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Stobbs as suggested in Schneider, based on the high pressure hydraulic application, a travel distance of about 0.02 to 0.03 inches, all for the purpose of accurately controlling the fluid through the valve at the desired rate of fluid flow transfer, all especially considering that a change in size and/or function is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976);
Stobbs discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 14: The variably damped flow control solenoid of claim 12, wherein said portion of travel of said armature is a last [small distance] (at 83) movement of said armature, toward said pin, to reach a fully closed position; Stobbs does not explicitly disclose: the travel distance of about 0.020-0.030 inches; Schneider teaches: a small travel distance of about 0.4 to 2 mm where the fluid flow through the device can be controlled by small distance valve reciprocation, all for high pressure hydraulic applications Col 6 ln 11-17;
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Stobbs as suggested in Schneider, based on the high pressure hydraulic application, a travel distance of about 0.02 to 0.03 inches, all for the purpose of accurately controlling the fluid through the valve at the desired rate of fluid flow transfer, all especially considering that a change in size and/or function is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976);
Stobbs discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 15: The variably damped flow control solenoid of claim 12, wherein said shape of said pin includes a size and a length of said pin calculated with respect to a size and a shape of said flow path of said armature (to provide the desired fluid flow rate and damping effect, and see equation 1 Col 6 ln 60 to Col 7 ln 20 or Col 10 ln 65 – Col 11 ln 25 for figure 7.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Matthew W Jellett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753