DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohtaki (US 5917660 A) in view of Yasuki (JP 2001282446 A, see Espacenet Machine Translation).
Re Claim 1, Ohtaki discloses om Fig. 1(a-b), a light device comprising: a light source (semi-conductor laser LD); and an optical lens (Converting lens 2) having an incidence plane (incident surface 3) extending in both a first axis (Fig. 1a is a cross section in the X-Z plane, and surface 3 extends in the X direction) and a second axis (Fig. 1b is a cross section in the YZ plane; it can be seen Fig 1a and 1b surface 3 is extending in the Y direction) intersecting the first axis and an emission plane (incident surface 4 also extends in the X-Y direction ) extending in both the first axis and the second axis , wherein the optical lens converts incident light emitted from the light source and incident on the incidence plane into parallel light and emits the parallel light from the emission plane (light from laser LD is converted by lens 2 into parallel light that is emitted from surface 4), and wherein the incidence plane has a convex portion provided in a first direction (Fig. 1a shows surface 3 being convex in a X direction) in which the first axis extends and a concave portion provided in a second direction in which the second axis extends (Fig. 1a-1b show surface 3 being concave in a Y direction), and wherein the convex portion (convex portions can be seen in Fig. 1a and Fig. 2 below) is provided in a central portion of the optical lens in the second direction (Fig. 1(a) and 2 show surface 3 and the convex portion of surface 3 located at the junction to the periphery of lens 2 are in a central portion of the lens, wherein surface 3 has depth in the Y direction as shown in Fig. 1 ), and the concave portion (portion of surface 3 that is not at the junction of the periphery of lens 2) is provided in a central portion of the optical lens (surface 3 has a concave portion in the central portion of optical lens 2) in the first direction (surface 3 extends in the Y direction as can be seen in Fig. 2).
Examiner Annotated Figure 1a of Ohtaki
Examiner Annotated Figure 2 of Ohtaki
But Ohtaki does not explicitly disclose, wherein the convex portion is provided in the center of the incident plane of the lens when viewed from the first direction, and the concave portion is in the center of the incident plane of the lens when viewed from the second direction.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Yasuki teaches, on Fig. 1 and 3, that it is desirable in lenses for the convex portion (convex portion on incident side surface )[Par 56] to be provided in the center of the incident plane (“…the first surface 9a, which is one of the light incident and exit surfaces, has a convex shape in the Z-axis direction”, when viewed from y axis lens 9 is convex at z=0)[Par 26] of the lens when viewed from the first direction ( y-axis direction)[Par 26],
and the concave portion (a concave shape running in the Y-axis direction) to be provided in the center of the incident plane of the lens when viewed from the first direction (“…a concave shape in the Y-axis direction”, concave shape would be in the central portion at y=0 and viewed from the z direction) [Par 26].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Ohtaki with Yasuki in order to provide, a parallel luminous beam in the first direction and a widely diffused luminous beam in the second direction, as taught by Yasuki [Par 29].
Re Claim 2, Ohtaki in view of Yasuki discloses, the light device according to claim 1, and Ohtaki further discloses on Fig. 4d wherein a far-field pattern of the incident light is elliptical (laser LD produces an oval cross-sectional beam ) [Col 2, Lines 40-50].
Re Claim 3, Ohtaki in view of Yasuki discloses, the light device according to claim 1, and Ohtaki further discloses on Fig. 1a-1b, wherein the parallel light emitted from the emission plane of the optical lens is a circular beam (lens 2 converts the light beam into a circular beam)[Col 2, Lines 40-50].
Re claim 4, Ohtaki in view of Yasuki discloses, the light device according to claim 1, and Ohtaki further discloses, wherein the emission plane (surface 4) of the optical lens has a first convex portion provided in the first direction (Fig. 1a: X direction) and a second convex portion provided in the second direction (Fig. 1a: Z direction), and wherein a curvature of the first convex portion and a curvature of the second convex portion are different from each other (Ohtaki teaches that either surface 3 or 4 can be non-circular or oval shaped in the XZ plane, and are referred to as a “non-spherical cylindrical lens” surface, hence they definitely have different curvatures across the plane, and thus have different curvatures across directions) [Col 3, Lines 45-60].
Re Claim 5, Ohtaki in view of Yasuki discloses, the light device according to claim 1, and Ohtaki further discloses, wherein the optical lens is made of glass (Fig. 1a-1b: Ohtaki teaches glass molding as an efficient method for production of the lens embodiment) [Col 4, Lines 0-5].
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohtaki in view of Yasuki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schmid (DE 3830119 A1).
Re Claim 6, Ohtaki in view of Yasuki discloses the light device according to claim 1 .
But Ohtaki in view of Yasuki, does not explicitly disclose, wherein the light source has an end face including a waveguide of an optical element, wherein the light device further comprises an aspherical lens having a flat plane being bonded to the end face of the light source; and wherein the incident light emitted from the aspherical lens is incident on the incidence plane of the optical lens.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Schmid teaches, on Fig. 1c, that it is desirable in light generators for the light source (generated light passed through waveguide 20, for example laser chip 11 from Fig. 1A) to have an end face including a waveguide (wave guide 20) of an optical element, wherein the light device further comprises an aspherical lens (aspherical lens 10) having a flat plane (lens 10 is plano-convex) being bonded to the end face of the light source (See Fig. 1c); and wherein the incident light emitted from the aspherical lens is incident on the incidence plane of the optical lens (light emitted from lens 10 is incident on the plane of the opposite lens 10) [Page 2, Par 14-16].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Ohtaki with Schmid in order to provide lens simplification and reduced manufacturing cost, as taught by Schmid [Page 2, Par 3].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim (US 20130128369 A1) teaches a variety of aspheric surfaces that are both convex, and concave in different directions.
/RAY ALEXANDER DEAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872