DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Response After Final as filed on 11/18/2025.
This action is made Final.
Claims 1, 3-15 and 17, 18, 20-23 are pending. Claims 1, 18, and 20 are independent claims. Claims 1, 15, 18 and 20 are amended. Claims 2 and 19 are cancelled and new claims 22 and 23 have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-15, 17, 18 and 21-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-14 and 17, 18 and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn (USPUB 20110175855 A1) in view of Shuto (USPUB 20150067469 A1) and further in view of Moscovich (USPAT 9256588 B1).
Claim 1:
Youn discloses An annotation display method implemented by an electronic device and comprising: receiving a first operation of a user (0085: the e-book apparatus 100 may provide an underlining function for underlining a selected area when a menu is selected and a block is set with respect to the selected area); displaying an annotation layer on a display interface in an overlay manner when receiving the first operation (0085: the e-book apparatus 100 may provide an underlining function for underlining a selected area when a menu is selected and a block is set with respect to the selected area; 0095: if a specific scribble (310) is selected from the displayed list of scribbles (320), as illustrated in FIG. 3B, the screen may change to the corresponding content page or area. In this case, the scribble file may be overlain on the screen); receiving a second operation of the user on the annotation layer, wherein the second operation is to annotate content on the display interface (Fig 2B and 0087: if the user attempts to input a scribble using the fingertip or stylus pen as described above, in the absence of previously-set scribble font, the current display font, i.e. size "2", is set as the scribble font); identifying one or more targets on the display interface and corresponding to the second operation by (Fig 2B and 0087: “value of Korea” is the identified target of the scribble annotation discussed): storing an annotation style of the one or more targets corresponding to the second operation, wherein the annotation style comprises an annotation type; storing a binding relationship between the annotation style [and first location information and second location information] and displaying, based on the annotation style, a first rendering of an annotation on the display interface and corresponding to the one or more targets (Fig 3A and 0090-95: “a list of scribbled contents, i.e. listing the contents to which scribbles are added, may be provided... he list of scribbled contents may include a list of different scribbled contents... the list of scribbled contents may include a list of contents, pages, or sentences for which other annotation functions such as memo, underlining, or the like are inputted... if a specific scribble (310) is selected from the displayed list of scribbles (320), as illustrated in FIG. 3B, the screen may change to the corresponding content page or area. In this case, the scribble file may be overlain on the screen using the registered metadata”).
Youn, by itself, does not seem to completely teach receiving a third operation of the user, wherein the third operation comprises one or more of an operation of changing a window size of the display interface or an operation of changing a window shape of the display interface; and displaying, based on the annotation style and the binding relationship, and in response to the third operation, a second rendering of the annotation at a position on the display interface corresponding to the one or more targets.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Shuto.
Shuto teaches receiving a third operation of the user, wherein the third operation comprises one or more of an operation of changing a window size of the display interface or an operation of changing a window shape of the display interface; and displaying, based on the annotation style and in response to the third operation, a second rendering of the annotation at a position on the display interface corresponding to the one or more targets (0089-91: even if the position and size of an element in a document are changed (reflowed), an annotation having an appropriate size can be displayed at an appropriate position... if the layout of elements on the first screen 40 has been changed (reflowed) to the layout of elements on a second screen 80 as shown in FIG. 11, where the positions and sizes of the elements in the document have been changed (reflowed), an annotation 8A on the second screen 80 corresponding to the annotation 4A on the first screen 40 is displayed at an appropriate position with an appropriate size... The above-mentioned changes of the annotation display position and display size are also applicable to the reflow of elements caused by change of a window size, rotation of the screen, change of a font size, etc., during display of a document).
Youn and Shuto are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, presenting annotations on a display.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Youn and Shuto before him or her, to combine the teachings of Youn and Shuto. The rationale for doing so would have been to obtain the benefit of optimizing content presentation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Youn and Shuto to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Youn, by itself, does not seem to completely teach obtaining first coordinate information of an operation track corresponding to the second operation; and matching the first coordinate information with second coordinate information of display content corresponding to the one or more targets; storing a binding relationship between the annotation style, the first coordinate information, and the second coordinate information.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well known as taught Moscovich.
Moscovich teaches obtaining first coordinate information of an operation track corresponding to the second operation; and matching the first coordinate information with second coordinate information of display content corresponding to the one or more targets; storing a binding relationship between the annotation style, the first coordinate information, and the second coordinate information (Fig 7, Col 6 ln 59-65, Col 7 ln 12-27: an underline input gesture is received via input from the touch sensor 102 and the one or more magnetometers 118 detecting the magnetic field from the magnetic stylus 110. The touch sensor 102 provides X-Y coordinates on the touch sensor 102, and may provide other information such as shape of the touch, area of the touch, pressure of the touch, and so forth... At 606, a processed underline associated with words proximate to the input gesture is presented. Continuing the example, the irregular hand-drawn line presented on the display 104 in FIG. 3 may be replaced with a straight horizontal line under the text. The processed underline results in a cleaner display of information, as well as providing an unambiguous selection... FIG. 7 depicts a user selecting clip content and creating a virtual notebook containing the clip content. Users may create virtual notebooks based at least in part on content presented on the device. As shown here, in a first mode 702 the user interface module 304 is presenting text including clip content 704 at a clip location 706. The clip content 704 comprises those words which have been selected, such as by underlining).
Youn and Moscovich are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, presenting annotations on a display.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Youn and Moscovich before him or her, to combine the teachings of Youn and Moscovich. The rationale for doing so would have been to obtain the benefit of optimizing annotated content presentation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Youn and Moscovich to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 3:
Youn discloses displaying the annotation corresponding to the one or more targets on the display interface comprises displaying an updated display interface based on the annotation style, wherein the updated display interface comprises the annotation corresponding to the one or more targets (Figs 3A-3B and 0090-95: “a list of scribbled contents, i.e. listing the contents to which scribbles are added, may be provided... he list of scribbled contents may include a list of different scribbled contents... the list of scribbled contents may include a list of contents, pages, or sentences for which other annotation functions such as memo, underlining, or the like are inputted... if a specific scribble (310) is selected from the displayed list of scribbles (320), as illustrated in FIG. 3B, the screen may change to the corresponding content page or area. In this case, the scribble file may be overlain on the screen using the registered metadata”).
Claim 4:
Youn discloses displaying the annotation corresponding to the one or more targets on the display interface comprises displaying, by the electronic device, the annotation on the annotation layer based on the stored annotation style, wherein the annotation displayed on the annotation layer corresponds to the one or more targets on the display interface (Figs 3A-3B and 0090-95: “a list of scribbled contents, i.e. listing the contents to which scribbles are added, may be provided... he list of scribbled contents may include a list of different scribbled contents... the list of scribbled contents may include a list of contents, pages, or sentences for which other annotation functions such as memo, underlining, or the like are inputted... if a specific scribble (310) is selected from the displayed list of scribbles (320), as illustrated in FIG. 3B, the screen may change to the corresponding content page or area. In this case, the scribble file may be overlain on the screen using the registered metadata”).
Claim 5:
Youn discloses the one or more targets corresponding to the second operation on the display interface comprise one or more words or one or more pictures (Figs 2B, 3A and 3B).
Claim 6:
Youn discloses the annotation type comprises any one of: a highlight line, an underline, a strikethrough, a selection, a graphic mark, or a text annotation (0085).
Claim 7:
Youn discloses the annotation style further comprises a line shape of the highlight line, the underline, the strikethrough, the selection, the graphic mark, or a line shape of a connection line between the text annotation and a corresponding target of the one or more targets (0086-89: annotation font is discussed).
Claim 8:
Youn discloses the annotation style further comprises a relative position between the highlight line, the underline, the strikethrough, the selection, the graphic mark, or the text annotation and the corresponding target (Figs 6A-6B and 0101-103: “if a previously-stored scribble `star` pattern is inputted in proximity to a word of a sentence, the referenced word `value`, a phrase including `value`, i.e. value of Korea, or a sentence or paragraph containing `value`, i.e. `On the . . . country`, may be set as the corresponding content area... if the previously-stored `star` scribble pattern is inputted in front of a paragraph, the entire paragraph may be set to be the corresponding content area according to the previously-set information... if the previously-stored `star` scribble pattern is inputted over a plurality of lines, the content from the uppermost spot (610) to the lowermost spot (620) may be set as the corresponding content area”).
Claim 9:
Youn discloses identifying the one or more targets corresponding to the second operation on the display interface comprises: obtaining first coordinate information, wherein the first coordinate information is of an operation track corresponding to the second operation in a preset coordinate system; obtaining second coordinate information, wherein the second coordinate information is of all content on the display interface in the preset coordinate system; and determining the one or more targets corresponding to the second coordinate information that matches the first coordinate information (Figs 6A-6B and 0101-103: “if a previously-stored scribble `star` pattern is inputted in proximity to a word of a sentence, the referenced word `value`, a phrase including `value`, i.e. value of Korea, or a sentence or paragraph containing `value`, i.e. `On the . . . country`, may be set as the corresponding content area... if the previously-stored `star` scribble pattern is inputted in front of a paragraph, the entire paragraph may be set to be the corresponding content area according to the previously-set information... if the previously-stored `star` scribble pattern is inputted over a plurality of lines, the content from the uppermost spot (610) to the lowermost spot (620) may be set as the corresponding content area”).
Claim 10:
Youn discloses before storing the annotation style of the one or more targets corresponding to the second operation, the annotation display method further comprises modifying the annotation corresponding to the second operation (0088-89: in the presence of the previously-set scribble font, a message may be displayed informing that the current display font is not the scribble font and/or a message may be displayed inquiring as to whether to change the scribble font... if the user, after attempting to input a scribble in the scribble font, wishes to change the display font, a predetermined icon () may appear with an explanation at the scribble font indicating that the referenced font currently is the scribble font. Additionally, a message inquiring whether to change the scribble font may be displayed).
Claim 11:
Youn discloses modifying the annotation corresponding to the second operation comprises modifying, by the electronic device, a line shape entered by the second operation that corresponds to a standard line shape (0088-89: in the presence of the previously-set scribble font, a message may be displayed informing that the current display font is not the scribble font and/or a message may be displayed inquiring as to whether to change the scribble font... if the user, after attempting to input a scribble in the scribble font, wishes to change the display font, a predetermined icon () may appear with an explanation at the scribble font indicating that the referenced font currently is the scribble font. Additionally, a message inquiring whether to change the scribble font may be displayed).
Claim 12:
Youn discloses modifying the annotation corresponding to the second operation comprises modifying a graphic entered by the second operation that corresponds to a standard graphic (0088-89: in the presence of the previously-set scribble font, a message may be displayed informing that the current display font is not the scribble font and/or a message may be displayed inquiring as to whether to change the scribble font... if the user, after attempting to input a scribble in the scribble font, wishes to change the display font, a predetermined icon () may appear with an explanation at the scribble font indicating that the referenced font currently is the scribble font. Additionally, a message inquiring whether to change the scribble font may be displayed).
Claim 13:
Youn discloses modifying the annotation corresponding to the second operation comprises modifying a text annotation entered by the second operation to text in a standard font (0088-89: in the presence of the previously-set scribble font, a message may be displayed informing that the current display font is not the scribble font and/or a message may be displayed inquiring as to whether to change the scribble font... if the user, after attempting to input a scribble in the scribble font, wishes to change the display font, a predetermined icon () may appear with an explanation at the scribble font indicating that the referenced font currently is the scribble font. Additionally, a message inquiring whether to change the scribble font may be displayed).
Claim 14:
Youn discloses receiving a fourth operation of the user; and updating the annotation style in response to the fourth operation, wherein the fourth operation is an editing operation performed on the annotation (0071: the control unit 150 may display a message through the user interface unit 130 to inquire whether to change the font for scribble input. In this case, the control unit 150 may change the information of settings stored in the storage unit 140, if a command is inputted, directing to change the current font to the scribble font).
Claim 17:
Youn discloses a sliding operation above, below, around, or on the one or more targets (0057).
Claim 18:
Claim 18 essentially recites an electronic device comprising components and executable instructions for completing the steps of claim 1. Youn discloses the claimed electronic device (0085) therefore claim 18 is rejected over Youn, Shuto and Yun using the same rationale used above in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 20:
Claim 20 essentially recites a computer program product for completing the steps recited in claim 1. Youn discloses A computer program product comprising computer-executable instructions that are stored on a computer-readable medium (0006) therefore claim 20 is rejected over Youn, Shuto and Yun using the same rationale used above in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 21:
Youn, by itself, does not seem to completely teach the third operation further comprises one or more of an operation of changing content on the display interface or an operation of changing a size of content on the display interface.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Shuto.
Shuto teaches the third operation further comprises one or more of an operation of changing content on the display interface or an operation of changing a size of content on the display interface (0089-91: even if the position and size of an element in a document are changed (reflowed), an annotation having an appropriate size can be displayed at an appropriate position... if the layout of elements on the first screen 40 has been changed (reflowed) to the layout of elements on a second screen 80 as shown in FIG. 11, where the positions and sizes of the elements in the document have been changed (reflowed), an annotation 8A on the second screen 80 corresponding to the annotation 4A on the first screen 40 is displayed at an appropriate position with an appropriate size... The above-mentioned changes of the annotation display position and display size are also applicable to the reflow of elements caused by change of a window size, rotation of the screen, change of a font size, etc., during display of a document).
Youn and Shuto are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, presenting annotations on a display.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Youn and Shuto before him or her, to combine the teachings of Youn and Shuto. The rationale for doing so would have been to obtain the benefit of optimizing content presentation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Youn and Shuto to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 22:
Youn teaches the stored binding relationship further comprises time information associated with the second operation, and wherein the method further comprises determining, when a plurality of annotations are displayed on the display interface, an order or priority of re-rendering the annotation based on the time information (Fig 3A: the figure shows a list of annotated portions of a document presented in an ordered list, the displayed list ordered according to a “latest adding” order which is equivalent to the claimed limitations).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn (USPUB 20110175855 A1) in view of Shuto (USPUB 20150067469 A1) and Moscovich (USPAT 9256588 B1) and further in view of Yun (USPAT 9285903 B1).
Claim 15:
Youn, Shuto and Moscovich teach every feature of claim 1.
Youn by itself does not seem to completely teach wherein the first operation comprises selecting a virtual stylus type, and wherein the virtual stylus type further comprises a virtual pencil a virtual fountain pen a virtual ball-point pen, or a virtual marker.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Yun.
Yun teaches wherein the first operation comprises selecting a virtual stylus type, and wherein the virtual stylus type further comprises a virtual pencil a virtual fountain pen a virtual ball-point pen, or a virtual marker (Col 10 ln 20-25 and ln 53-56: User input 1008 may be used by the page formatting module 1004 to determine a page format for application. As shown here, the user has grown a crude grid with a first tool type 1010, such as a simulated felt-tip pen having a relatively large width. At least partly in response to the user input 1008, the page formatting module 1004 and the tool selection module 1006 may reconfigure the page format and tool type... the stylus tool type may be configured to simulate a physical marking device, such as a pen, pencil, marker, and so forth).
Youn and Yun are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, presenting annotations on a display.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Youn and Yun before him or her, to combine the teachings of Youn and Yun. The rationale for doing so would have been to obtain the benefit of optimizing content presentation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Youn and Yun to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Note
The Examiner cites particular columns, line numbers and/or paragraph numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED H ZUBERI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178