DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: display unit in claims 1, 3 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morimura, US Patent Application Publication no. 2004/0044434.
a display unit configured to display working time information as information obtained by collecting information on working data of a factory or a production line including an injection molding machine for a predetermined period [injection molding machine quality information or other various history information received from various injection molding machine sensors is collected by a managing program and displayed on a display apparatus, paragraphs 0040, 0045 and 0046],
wherein the display unit displays, as the working time information, two or more continuous pieces of information in a band shape with time length directions aligned among first information as information on a planned stop time of the injection molding machine and second information as information on a preparation time of the injection molding machine or information on an abnormal stop time of the injection molding machine, third information as time information on a performance loss of the injection molding machine, fourth information as time information on a defect loss of the injection molding machine, and fifth information as information on a value working time of the injection molding machine [a 24-hour operations status graph displays operations conditions of the injection molding machine for the past 24 hours with color codes corresponding to operation status types including “normal stop (standby)” and “stop due to occurrence of abnormality”, elements 22-3 in Figure 2 and 23-2 in Figure 3 and paragraphs 0054 and 0060. Examiner notes that the claim require two or more of the claimed pieces of information to be displayed in a band shape with time length directions aligned. Morimura, as described above, discloses displaying planned stop time of the injection molding machine and abnormal stop time of the injection molding machine].
Regarding claim 2, Morimura further discloses that the working time information includes information on working data of the injection molding machine when the injection molding machine produces an identified molded item, and the first information includes information on a time during which the injection molding machine produces a molded item other than the identified molded item [item display part 23-4 in Figure 3 indicates a different color when condition of injection or mold-opening has changed, paragraph 0062].
Regarding claim 5, Morimura further discloses that the predetermined period is a period represented by any unit of year, month, day, time, minute, and second [a 24-hour operations status graph displays operations conditions of the injection molding machine for the past 24 hours with color codes corresponding to operation status types including “normal stop (standby)” and “stop due to occurrence of abnormality”, elements 22-3 in Figure 2 and 23-2 in Figure 3 and paragraphs 0054 and 0060].
Regarding claim 6, Morimura further discloses that the predetermined period is a period represented by a time related to an order reception of a molded item, or a period represented by a production unit of the molded item [the 24 hour time period aligns with the item display part 23-4 in Figure 3 indicates a different color when condition of injection or mold-opening has changed, paragraph 0062].
Regarding claim 7, Morimura further discloses that the predetermined period is represented by a time related to an order reception of the molded item, and the predetermined period is (1) a period from an order reception date to a shipping delivery date, or (2) a period from an order reception date to a predetermined date after the order reception date [the 24 hour time period aligns with the item display part 23-4 in Figure 3 indicates a different color when condition of injection or mold-opening has changed, paragraph 0062].
Regarding claim 8, Morimura further discloses that the display unit displays, in a band shape with time length directions aligned, information on an operation time of the injection molding machine, information on a load time of the injection molding machine, information on a working time of the injection molding machine, and information on a net working time of the injection molding machine [a 24-hour operations status graph displays operations conditions of the injection molding machine for the past 24 hours with color codes corresponding to operation status types including “operation”, “normal stop (standby)”, “stop due to occurrence of abnormality” and “electric power shut off”, elements 22-3 in Figure 2 and 23-2 in Figure 3 and paragraphs 0054 and 0060. Examiner notes that operation time is corresponds to the 24-hour period, the load time corresponds to the “operation” status, the working time corresponds to the difference between the “operation” time and the “stop due to occurrence of abnormality” time and the net working time corresponds to the difference between the “operation” time and the “normal stop (standby)” time].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimura, US Patent Application Publication no. 2004/0044434 and Ohigashi et al., US Patent Application Publication no. 2023/0384759 [Ohigashi], in view of Koyama, US Patent Application Publication no. 2015/0012119.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Morimura discloses an injection molding machine management system comprising:
a display unit configured to display information obtained by collecting information on working data of an injection molding unit including an injection molding machine for a predetermined period [injection molding machine quality information or other various history information received from various injection molding machine sensors is collected by a managing program and displayed on a display apparatus, paragraphs 0040, 0045 and 0046],
wherein the display unit displays, in a band shape with time length directions aligned, information on a planned stop time of the injection molding unit and information on a preparation time of the injection molding machine or information on an abnormal stop time of the injection molding machine [a 24-hour operations status graph displays operations conditions of the injection molding machine for the past 24 hours with color codes corresponding to operation status types including “normal stop (standby)” and “stop due to occurrence of abnormality”, elements 22-3 in Figure 2 and 23-2 in Figure 3 and paragraphs 0054 and 0060].
Morimura does not disclose monitoring and displaying time information on a performance loss of the injection molding machine, time information on a defect loss of the injection molding machine and information on a value working time of the injection molding machine. Like Morimura, Ohigashi discloses a system for monitoring operation status of an injection molding machine. Ohigashi further discloses monitoring performance loss, defect loss and value working time of an injection molding machine [setup loss time, defect loss time and the difference between operating time and defect loss time, Figure 1 and paragraphs 0055-0059]. Since it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to monitor performance loss, defect loss and value working time of injection molding machines, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the Ohigashi teachings to Morimura by additionally monitoring and displaying injection molding machine performance loss, defect loss and value working time in order to allow for a more comprehensive representation of the operational efficiency of the injection molding machine.
Morimura and Ohigashi do not disclose monitoring and displaying operational statuses of peripheral devices in the injection molding system. Like Morimura and Ohigashi, Koyama discloses monitoring operation status of injection molding machines. Koyama further discloses monitoring the operation status of peripheral devices in the injection molding system, such as robots that conduct work including workpiece changes and carriers that carry workpieces [paragraphs 0004 and 0026-0027]. Since it was known in the art before the effective filing date to monitor operation statuses of peripheral devices in addition to injection molding machines, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the Koyama teachings to Morimura and Ohigashi by monitoring and displaying operation status metrics for peripheral devices in along with injection molding machines in order to allow for a more comprehensive representation of operational efficiency for the entire injection molding system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hano, US Patent Application Publication no. 2008/0184114 discloses monitoring and displaying operation statuses of injection molding machines over predetermined time periods.
/PAUL B YANCHUS III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115 January 9, 2026