DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and accompanying remarks filed January 29, 2026 are acknowledged.
Examiner acknowledges amended claims 1 and 6.
Examiner acknowledges cancelled claims 2-4.
Examiner acknowledges withdrawn claims 8-12.
The rejection of claims 1 and 5-7 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murata et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2020/0026013 is overcome by Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rendered indefinite because it is unclear if the claim is directed to a product [a colored optical fiber] OR a method [wherein the colored optical fiber is additionally irradiated with ultraviolet light of 1000 mW/cm2 and 500 mJ/cm2 is smaller than 70% with respect to the saturated Young’s modulus of the primary layer. For purposes of examination, Examiner is interpreting claim 1 to refer to the colored optical fiber prior to the “additionally irradiating”. Claims 5-7 are rendered indefinite as the claims depend upon indefinite claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murata et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2020/0026013
Regarding claim 1, Murata teaches a colored optical fiber [numeral 1, Figure 1 and [0014] comprising a bare optical fiber 2; a primary layer 3 formed of a first ultraviolet curing resin covering the bare optical fiber.; a secondary layer 4 formed of a second ultraviolet curing resin covering the primary layer [Figure 1 and 0015]. Paragraph 0033, Table 1, Comparative Example 2 discloses a primary Young's modulus before coloring at 0.70 MPa and saturated primary Young's modulus at 1.10 MPa providing for the primary Young's modulus being 64% smaller than the saturated primary modulus. Comparative Example 2 reads on claim 1 when the Young's modulus of the primary layer is 0.70 MPa [smaller than or equal to 1.12 MPa]; the saturated Young's modulus of the primary layer is 1.10 MPa [larger than or equal to 0.84 MPa] and the Young's modulus of the primary layer is smaller than 70% with respect to a saturated Young's modulus of the primary layer. Paragraph 0026 discloses that the primary layer is irradiated with UV light.
Comparative
Comparative
Comparative
Comparative
Comparative
Example 1
Example 2
Example 3
Example 4
Example 5
Primary Young's modulus
0.62/78%
0.70/64%
0.57/69%
0.27/45%
0.12/50%
before coloring [MPa]
Primary Young's modulus
0.67/84%
0.88/80%
0.59/71%
0.37/62%
0.15/62%
after coloring [MPa]
Primary Young's modulus
0.73/91%
1.01/92%
0.61/73%
0.42/70%
0.17/71%
after ribbonization [MPa]
Saturated primary
0.80
1.10
0.83
0.60
0.24
Young's modulus [MPa]
Microbending characteristic
0.16
0.21
0.17
0.04
0.02
before coloring [dB/km]
Microbending characteristic
0.19
0.32
0.18
0.07
0.02
in colored state [dB/km]
Microbending characteristic
0.26
0.40
0.18
0.11
0.04
in ribbon state [dB/km]
Cable characteristic
NG
NG
OK
OK
NG
Warm water immersion
OK
OK
NG
NG
NG
test (60° C.) of ribbon
Applicant’s claim 1 has been amended to include a colored optical fiber that has a Young’s modulus of the primary layer is smaller than 70% with respect to a saturated Young’s modulus of the primary layer after irradiation with UV light. Applicant’s claim recites a post-process limitation on a product claim. Applicant’s claim 1 recites “additionally irradiated”. Applicant’s claim 1 is directed to the product [a colored optical fiber]. Murata discloses the same product [Comparative example 2] as Applicant’s claimed colored optical fiber. A process directed onto a product is a method. Applicant’s claim 1 is directed to the product and not the method.
Regarding claim 5, the abstract discloses an optical fiber ribbon formed by connecting a plurality of optical fiber colored core wires to each other with a connector formed of a UV curable resin [adhesive]. Applicant's claim 5 is not specific to the adhesive resin.
Regarding claims 6-7, paragraph 0030 discloses that the optical fiber ribbon is housed in a sheath to obtain the optical fiber cable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 1 to recite the limitation “wherein a Young’s modulus of the primary layer after the colored optical fiber is additionally irradiated with ultraviolet light of 1000 mW/cm2 and 500 mJ/cm2 is smaller than 70% with respect to the saturated Young’s modulus of the primary layer”. Applicant’s amended claim includes a process placed onto the product [colored optical fiber]. Applicant’s claim 1 is directed to a colored optical fiber. Murata discloses the same product [Comparative 2] as claimed. Applicant’s amended claim 1 recites a process directed onto a product is a method. Applicant’s claim 1 is directed to the product [a colored optical fiber] and not the method. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786